Any civil servants deliver at KKH?

gcherny

Hi. I would like to find out the civil service benefits that a civil servant gets if she choose to deliver at KKH. Tks.

Hi gcherny, it will depends on wat kind of med scheme you are in. Are you in SAF or step-board? Best to chk with ur HR Dept.

Gcherny

You have to check which medical scheme you are under. If you are under the MSO Scheme (Medisave-Subsidy-Outpatient), it means you are only entitled to $350 per annum for outpatient charges only, and the claiming is on co-share per visit. I am not sure about Mindef, but this applies to the whole of Civil Service and Stat Boards throughout. People who automatically comes under the MSO scheme are those who joined service after certain date in 1994.

It's best you check with your HR on your scheme and eligibility. You can also refer to the IM.

hi may & hwey,

tks for ur advice. just want to know what items are reimbursable (85% by govt) from the mthly gynae visit. i understand the limit of $350 for MSO and no limit for CCS. i've also read IM2 but they only say delivery fee and HIV test not reimbursable. what abt other items such as consultation, ultrasound, supplements, urine tests, blood tests, detailed scan, etc?

hi gcherny, maybe u would like to call kkh's bills enquiry tel:6394 2370 to find out more. My fren is oso holding the CCS card but she's not eligible for the 85% reimbursement.

May, i think it is useless to chk with KKH. They cannot give you the answer. What I understand was that it all depends on the Govt sector that you/spouse are in and the scheme you/spouse are in.

I am holding a CSC card cos hubby frm civil servant. For CSC card, it was really very good in the sense that you need not pay any amt out-front as long as you are going for outpatient treatment. What I understand from NUH when i went for my heart check-up, this amt will be deducted from my hubby's pay. The nurse said she was not too sure, but this is what she heard frm those card holder.

Think there is a percentage of reimbursement, but subj to a max of $350 per year. So the best is to check with the admin/hr dept of the minisitry that you are in.

Hi Ocean, but the other time i called up kkh to chk. They are quite informative. Mayb kkh and NUH are dif. However I agreed, its best to check with the HR.

I think it depends how your tax invoice mentioned it. If these are routine tests, and tests that are ordered by the doctor, then they are reimbursable. Consultations are reimbursable.

As for purchase of supplements (standard and non-standard drugs), it depends whether they are purchased with prescription or from retail pharmacy.

hi ladies. tks for all your advices. my admin/HR has no idea of what is reimbursable cos they dont get to see the billing details (only the staff themselves get to keep the bill and staff dont bother to check what items are reimbursable). only can see a lumpsum amt charged under medical block billing report. nevertheless, let's see who is willing to share the bill details with us.

I thought tax invoice must be submitted to HR when making a claim and the onus is on claimant to make a truthful application? If future audit checks revealed that claimant claimed for stuff that are non-reimbursable, then the amount of money will be recovered from claimant.

My husband is also a civil servant & i'm visiting KKH for checkup. Fact: There is no subsidy at all. The cost is just deducted from his salary, at full price, be it consultation, ultra-scans, blood tests, medicine, etc.
Where are the good old days when civil servants & families get subsidies?

I believe how much subsidy all depends on where the person is working (goverment also have many sectors rite?), as well as things like what scheme the person is covered under and ranking (eg, a ssg's wife and a LTC's wife of course all subsidied differently). It all varies greatly. The best thing to do is to check with the HR dept for most accurate info.

My husband is a civil servant, so am i. I converted from MSO to CSC scheme thinking its better if one day i'm warded in hospital. But i'm not pregnant thou. Another colleague's wife of his is pregnant thou. Will get my hubby to check with him and update.

If there's isn't any subsidy, then i suay liao.

Estacy, is the amount deducted exactly the same as what you are charged for?? You can get your hubby to check his medical statement in the intranet together with the payslip segment. Get him to print a copy. I believe they should have subsidise to a certain percentage, the rest will deduct from his pay. Unless if it's totally refer from the medical center, then i think its totally subsidise. Me too will get hubby to check his payslip and statement cos 2 mths back, i went to TTSH for checkup and was refer by medical centre. I ever as the medical centre if i need to pay, they say no need. Well???? will wait and see

Hello All,
I saw all your posting abt the benefit things. I went home and digged out all my receipts. My husband was from a Civil Servant and I am holding a CSC card.
I dunno whether the scheme still applies now. I will give a brief summary of what my experience. I went for all my check-up in KKH from July 01 to Jan 02 and also delivered there. At that time, there is a co-pay between how much my husband has to pay and is deducted through his monthly pay. Its everything...from consultation, urine test etc. The % depends of co-pay depends on the rank, i think.
But at that time, nobody in KKH recommends the classic/premier package that they have now. I dont know these packages are applicable for civil servant (CSC scheme) too.

Other medical scheme I'm not sure. For MSO scheme which applies to all civil servants, including stat board employees, who joined after 1 Jan 1994, the employeer subsidises outpatient treatment at polyclinics, specialist outpatient clinics (that includes specialist clincis in KK) and private clinics.

For KK specialist clinics, the copayment rates is 15% for the civil servant, 85% for employer. For the wives of civil servants, the copayment rate is 40% and 60% respectively. First time consultation is not eligible for the subsidy. However, no upfront cash is needed if CSC card is produced upon payment since the amount borne by the patient is deducted from the civil servant's monthly salary.

The subsidy applies to all consultation charges (EXcluding first time consultation), medicine prescribed by your gynae, scans, all tests ordered by the hospital.

Regardess of what the rank of the civil servant, the annual subsidy the civil servant AND his wife can claim is $350 per calender year.

Hi Cathy, yes, i think your information is correct. My hubby checked with his friends and if wife is not civil servant, the co-payment is 40% and 60%, subject to a max of $350 per year.

If you see private specialist/doc, it is only $10 per visit regardless of whatever test you had done.

hi meow,

your ministry actually allows you to convert from MSO to CCS scheme? i thot only the other way round is allowable? if your ministry really allows the conversion, what criteria must be met?

gcherry,
i'm in the saf mah. Was with MSO, my hubby also with SAF but he join earlier than me. He's under the older scheme. Since we are married, i have a choice to choose for CSC or MSO. Since we think CSC is better, i convert lor.

I've checked with my hubby, he print out the medical statement too. Even yesterday i went to TTSH for a x-ray as well for consultation which cost $62++(i ask the nurse to print the reciept), but after deductions of the SAF scheme, i only pay $30++

gcherny

A female civil/public servant under the MSO scheme is allowed to go under her husband's medical scheme as a dependent, assuming her husband is also a civil/public servant. Once approval for the conversion is obtained, she relinguished her right to claim medical and dental expenses and claim as a dependent of her husband. As a dependent, the ministry/stat board pays 60%, as compared to the 85% subsidy if she is claiming for herself. But as a dependent, she is no longer allowed to claim dental benefits.

The conversion to be a dependent only make sense if your husband comes under the older medical scheme with no cap. If your husband and you are both MSO, then it doesn't make sense cos his total subsidy is still $350.

Is MSO and CSC has the same total subsidy claim up to $350 annually?

MSO scheme started in 1994 and the annual cap is $350 for outpatient charges and prescribed medication.

The 2 older schems are the CPW (oldest) and CCS. There aren't many CPW people around anymore as most would have retired or near retiremet age. Anyway CPW people are those whose medical expenses are fully subsidised. CCS people's medical expenses (including inpatient) are on a co-pay basis of 85% - 15%, with no cap.

Hwey,
Wow, u know a lot of this stuff. Thanks for your infor.

That means, under my husband's CSC scheme. We are liable to co-pay basis of 40%-60%, with no cap, rite?

KC

You have to check with your husband about his medical scheme. CSC means Civil Service Card and is also available to people on MSO scheme. He will not have any cap if he is on CCS.

One good gauge of what scheme he is under, is his date joined service. People who join civil service from 1994 onwards is definitely on the MSO.

hello ladies,
can i ask what is the difference one has to pay if she goes to a private hospital say TMC compared to KK or SGH?
What are the exact benefits?
Had a friend who delivered at NUH and she ended up paying cash $1k plus but hers was a single-bedded ward.
had another friend who delivered at MA and she ended up paying $1k plus in cash too. ...
so i am a little puzzled. What are the benefits?

krazbi, like what many have mentioned here, the benefits depends on what sector you/your hubby is working in (goverment also has many sectors right?), as well as your/his ranking. Best to check with the HR dept for detailed answers.

Are there any wives of SAF officers here? My hubby is an SAF officer and we just found out that for my hosp bills, after the usual claim from medisave (for the record, I'm delivering at TMC), we can pay the remaining outstanding amt using his Flex points instead of paying cash. So this means that we probably don't have to pay a single cent of hosp bills in cash. Good news indeed!

jess, not very sure about the details of flex point system, but all military officers should have. I believe they're given a certain no. of 'points' every year which they can either use or accumulate for 2 years max. Can be used to redeem certain insurance policies (only certain kinds I think) or use for travel (we normally use to for travel in the past) or for maternity related expenses, etc.
If your hubby is an SAF officer, best to ask him. He should know what flex points are.

Berrywife:
Hey, my husband is also an officer. I have heard about the flex points system also. How much was your hospital bill? I will most probably deliver at KKH.

I'm a civil servent under MSO scheme. The MSO scheme do co-pay 85% of your OUTPATIENT medical bills, up to a max of $350 a year. After you've reached the cap of $350, they do not subsidise anymore. The only benefit is you don't pay cash. They just deduct the full bills from your salary.

As for INPATIENT bills, there is NO subsidy. This means any hospitalisation bills are not claimable.

Anyway, we can use our medisave to pay for the hospitalisation bills.

yup, what Wendy Ng stated is correct. if the $350 is not used up, they will credit the balance to yr medisave.

hi wendy,

just to check with u, if my hubby is under MSO scheme and i have the CSC card, tat mean we can only claim up to max $350 per calendar yr?

coz i now pregnant, need regular check-up at kkh, let say my check-up for 1 time is ard 100-200 plus,tat means the $350 can only be claim for 1-2 check-ups only?

if i giving birth at kkh, can it be claim too?

thanks for ur advice.

hi iceblue
Under MSO scheme, u cannot claim inpatient (hospital charges). U can only opt to pay the hospital through your payroll with ur CSC card, ie, cant claim hospital bills under MSO. You can only claim outpatient bills (gynae bills), up to $350, $10 each time. However, u can keep ur gynae bills and claim up to $400 under the new child scheme when ur baby is born.

Hi iceblue,

If u are a private patient in KKH, first consultation is not allow to claim, only subsequent consultations. But still, u can give them the CSC card when making payment. They will deduct the full payment from yr hubby salary.

From my experience, $350 will only able to last u till yr 5th mth or 6th mth consultation cause on the 4th mth blood test will cost abt $100 & 5th mth detailed scan will cost $200 plus. U can choose to take up the pre anatal package offered by KKH which is fully deductable from medisave for consultation. items like blood test, urine test, scans & medicine not inclusive.

claiming of $10 each time is only when one go to private clinic. if one go to gov hosptial or polyclinic via outpatient then by using the CSC card, one just pay 15% deducted from one's pay and 85% of the bills is deducted from $350. if the $350 is used up, then all bills will deduct from pay. if the $350 is unused or left over balance, the $ will be credited back to the medisave.

medisave can be used for inpatient. me never heard abt the new child scheme leh.

Sorry I've forgotten this thread refers to KKH. I was under a private gynae so I could only claim $10 per visit. afcai is correct. If under KKH, the govt will co-pay 85% of your bills, up to a total of $350. 15% will be deducted from your salary.

The new baby scheme I was talking about is the new baby package and medisave claim schemes made available since Aug 2004.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/PressRoom/PressReleases/Archived2004/20040907-StrongSupportForBabyPackage.htm
http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/hottopics/marriage/index.do

Does civil servant apply to SAF?

COs my hubby oso office sign on one... but he ask his HR seem no maternity pkg / discount for pregnant wife.

He definetly sign on after 2001 lor.

But me more keen to deliver @ TMC instead of KKH.
Does the scheme apply to TMC as well?

Cheers,Summer

Hi Sis,
for TMC i am not very sure. i am in the SAF.

My wife just gave birth to a baby girl in KK(ward class is A1)and my total bill is 6K+, Medisave paid half and i only need to folk out 1.6k cash as my wife went for C-section.
The above is for your reference.

Hi summer,
yup, civil sevant do apply to SAF. but yr hubby can claim those new born gift hampers.

dun think there is a maternity pkg lah, I myself also dun have. one can fully paid the maternity package thru cpf.

for TMC, dun think there is subsized etc cos one cannot use the saf card when gg for the checkup.

hi afcai,

for KKH Pd,we can have civil servant benefits as well??we need to get referral letter from polyclinic to see kkh's PD?

Goodbaby,

KKH with civil servant card, if see Clinic B - private gnane , you need not need a refer letter. Just book an appointment with the selected gnane you are interested with. As for Clinic C , yes a refer letter needed to have the subsidised using csc card as well as government sudsidised.
Hope it helps.

Hey everyone, i read all your posts and some of you were talking about the MSO scheme. Coincidentally, i have been stationed at NIE for quite sometime and have been raising awareness to all the trainee teachers on this particular scheme. It does not cover inpatient at all! It gives you an additional CPF medisave contribution of 1% on your gross monthly salary and subsidises outpatient services at govt based clinics and hospitals up to 85%... means you only pay 15%. Private clinics you can claim max of $10. All this subject to a cap of $350 per annum. But do you guys know that you can still cover for hospitalisation fully using this benefit???? Anyone wants to know??

Can I check if we are seeing gynae at The Private Suite, do we get the subsized rate as well under CCS scheme? I am thinking of going to Dr Benjamin Tham.

Is the discount rate only for consultation or include delivery charges and room rate?
Anyone can advise me?

Yes, if you yourself is civil servant and unders the CCS scheme, 85% subsidise 15% will be deducted from your pay. if you are the NOK of civil servant, you only get 60% subsidise 40% will be deducted from your NOK's pay

good day sis yuki,
yes it applies to all consultation and delivery. but you must show the CSC card whem making payment.

delivery can meh....but does it consider inpatient. tot csc card is for outpatient use. for my delivery, I used medisave.

Wilson, I would like to ask you some qns abt the CSC card benefit ...can i email you as I noticed u turn off ur PM.....