After 30, Safe to Conceive?

chinchilla

hi i m 32 this year. just got married n thking of having bb soon as i m getting old.

but i m very worry becos of my age, will my bb be healthy? i read somewhere that if u r in your 30s, the chances of getting a down syndrome bb is high.

i wanted to have a bb soon. but the fear of keeping in suspense for 9 mths to have the bb due n wonder if its healthy n normal is making me very paranoid.

any advise gals?

<font color="0000ff">Hi chin chin</font>
Zoe Tay gave birth at age 36.
Wong Lilin at 31.
My female boss at age 40 having her 1st... so far it's been ok.

You still got chance lah! don't worry!

Hi Chin Chin,

Just relax and take it easy! It's actually above age 35 that the chance is higher. Anyway, there'll be a lot of options for testing at various stages during pregnancy, and the rate of getting it is not high. Just see the example given by Oreo above. So don't worry ok?!

Hi Chin Chin

Dun worry ! there are many test during pregnancy.
I gave birth at age 32 and my boy is very healthy

wah gals!! thanks for all the encouragement. i feel so much more assured. cos my health is on the weak side. plus since young i alway eat alot of rubbish n i used to be a smoker (quit last year). so i am not sure my body is healthy enough to give birth to a healthy bb.

Hi Chin Chin,

Me aso the same. im now 29 yrs old liao. Having married for abt 5 yrs &amp; yet, i dun hv any baby yet. Now planning to hv one but was given some advise by my hubby's sis that i shld go &amp; hv a medical checkup on my wombs lor.

Chin Chin,

I had my 1st baby at 33yrs old... everything went well and I don't even have morning sickness or any discomfort. My boy is very healthy too.

You don't have to wait 9 months till the baby is due, to know whether baby is fine or not, coz we need to undergo some blood tests and scans to make sure baby is ok inside.

If you are planning for a baby, i would advise u to start taking folic acid. Don't wait till pregnant already then start.

it seems to be a rather ironic thing. one don't wanna have kids too soon but on the otherhand oso scared about being a mid or post 30's mother.

i'm 32 now and getting married soon. oso very anxious about this topic. think the best is to see a gynae before doing something wrong (as haven't seen one in my life!!).

hi anna,

can i oso take folic acid if we were planning to have a kid in about 11 months time?? what benefit will it afford??

hi ccjna,

its not me who suggested it but Anna (see thread above).

i could have asked the doc this morning but i have forgotten. materials from the web sounded very commercial and i dunno which is which.

hi ccjna / Lizhen...
take folic acid no harm one...forgot what it's for if no preggie, but with bb -> it's for the development i think...

It's very cheap, not a commercial thing...can get @ pharmacies like guardian..

hi aimee

tks for info. in accordance with medical info from the web, its good for cells and spine development for your bb. will get some tmrow.

It's wise to hv a pre-pregnancy check up to ensure yr body is ok, regardless of age. U never know what's goin on inside u. My SIL lost her bb because many cysts were found, wish she had gone for check-up. Before u start trying a bb, take folic 3 mths before. Keep &amp; build yr body strong, will need that extra energy once u get pregnant esp in the 1st trimester. Had my 1st born at 32. The longer u wait, the less stamina u hv as u age. Healing may be slower. It also depends on individual health condition. Don worry to much, let nature takes it course.

I had my first baby at 34 and second baby at 35 with no problems. But after 35 your doctor will ask you to go for Amniocentesis test for down syndrome, and this is risky because it involves sticking a needle into the uterus.

tamarind, I think if I were to hv a 2nd one, it will most likely be after I've hit 35. Juz wanna check wif u, did yr doc insist that u do the amniocentesis test? Or can we opt out? since it's already our 2nd and juz hit 35?

Mum05, my doctor did not insist that I do the test. She told me that she knew a 20 year old woman who cannot take the risk of having a down baby and took the test. It is all up to me. I did the blood test and the probability is low, so I opt out.

dear tamarind
my friend just rec'd the triple-test-risk result and shown that dome syndrome risk increased due to her age. she's 36. she's going for amniocentsis test tomolo. she's very worry. any advise?

hi chin chin,

lin ching hsia gave birth at the age of 40. just be careful and go for routine checkups.

oh... looking at this I am so afriad. I will probably be same case as mum05. This one, I had a c-sec so i cannot have my 2nd so soon. We are planning to wait till my baby is at least one year old then say. by then i will be 35 yos liao...

Hi Chin Chin, don't think nor worry too much. Just pray hard for a healthy baby.

Medical research indicates that women above 35 have higher chances of babies born with DS but it does not mean every woman will be unlucky.
Besides, you are only 32. However, be careful with your health since you are planning to have a baby. That would include your hubby as well.

Take more leafy vegetables esp broccoli for folate. After you have discovered your pregnancy, do see a gynae asap and take the folic acid he prescribes you. It is very crucial in the complete formation of the foetus and preventing spina bifida.

Dear all, I am 33 years old and have been pregnant for 16 weeks. I got a Down Syndrome Triple-Test-Risk result with 1:374, which is higher than that of my age (1:503). I would like to have your suggestions that should I go for the amniocentsis test or not. By the way, I would like to know what afe the side-effects of amniocentsis test. Thanks so much in advanced

Hi Jocelyn, I was 32 when I was expecting my 2nd baby. The maternal serum test for Down Syndrome done at 16 weeks, only gives a ratio according to the gynae. It was optional. I thought about it and decided not to go for the test.

The amnio test will give an accurate answer, but waiting for the result is a mental torture according to my gf. This test carries a small % of miscarriage though and only specialised gynae are trained to do so.

Going for the amnio test (or not) is a decision which you have to make with your hubby.

hi joycelyn,

like wat janet mentioned, it's quite personal to comment.

How about discussing it thorougly with your hubby.

You got to think of the several factors as it involve a small % of risk of m/c. The test result will be out around a week, you will be mentally stress out during this week perhaps... The cost is also not cheap.

Dear Janet and bitbit:

Thanks so much for your reply. As mentioned by Janet, the serum test result for Down Syndrome only provides the possibility and not a confirmative test. I am discussing it with my hubby and will consider the points raised by both of you. Have a nice day!

Hi Joycelyn, my gf went for the amnio test thrice bcos her maternal serum tests all showed a high ratio of getting a baby with DS. BTW, she had 3 healthy children.

Going for the amnio tests gave her the assurance to proceed with the pregnancy - she is in her mid 30s.

That is the problem of going for the test - the result (high ratio) will make one feel uncomfortable. However, if you don't proceed with the amnio test, you worry for the next 6 months regarding the baby's health.

Discuss with your hubby. Ultimately the final decision lies in your hands.

I am turning 35 next week and I am expecting my first baby, now 17th week.

I had my NT scan and 1st blood test(some weeks back) and shows low risk of Down Syndrome.
Just had the 2nd test this week for maternal serum test, pending results in 3 weeks' time.
Gynae says that 1st result more accurate and 2nd only 60% accuracy.

I am still contemplating on whether to go for the amnio test but I worry abt the risk of miscarriage and am afraid of the pain, the long needle too.

Any advise from those who had gone thru amnio?

shint, not forgetting abt the cost also..btw, juz sharing a tot here as, if I am to hv a 2nd child, I'll most likely be having it at age 35 or after.

Has anyone wondered wat u gg to do IF the results come back negative should u go for the amniotic test? It's to be done at or after wk 16(since the triple test is done at e 16th wk), are u prepared to give it up if e results are not wat u wanted?
I think these r serious considerations we hv to make when making the decision as to whether to go for the test or not.
Plus, the test inself also imposes risk of miscarriage... Think it's best to discuss this with the attending gynae bah?

Hi mum05, I'm not sure if the IF you mentioned is same as the maternal serum tests (for Down Syndrome) done at 16 weeks. The m.s result is not accurate and gives you a percentage which is usually higher.

Honestly, this result will make many pregnant mothers very insecure whether to proceed with the amnio test or not. My gynae told me 70% of the women went for it (maternal serum). I guess I must be one of the 30% who dared not go for it. Like you mentioned, what if I am stuck in the situation when it is 50/50 ?

my gynane advise me not to go for the amnio test. just went for a detailed scan will do. and everything turns out ok. i was preggie at 35

Hi ritz, i am 29 this year and conceive after trying for 3 months. i think need to relax cos my GF also stress after trying for 3 years.

anyway jus like to share w u, when we were trying for the 1st 2 mth, after doing 'that' i have e tendency to wash off everything immediately.

however on the 3rd mth, we trying after doing, to lie on bed for 5-10mins before cleaning our seleves.. and bingo strike
i hope this may be useful for u

my mom had my brother when she was 39. he is the no. 5. he is ok and clever.
you cant worry yourself too much on this. its kind of like fate.

Im 33 and had just given birth 2 a healthy and bouncy bb. There wasnt any complication and discomfort during the pregancy too...
However, taking care of bb is really tiring...sometimes i wonder if age got 2 do wif my tiredness when looking aft bb.

Something to share.
My mum had my sis when she was 42. Imagine how high is the risk. She didn't go for the amino test because she believes that God knows best. If the baby has Down, well just take care of it. Can you bear aborting the baby at 4mths?

My sis was born healthy. You need to pray for the best and hope everything turns out for the best. But of cos you can always prefer to be on the safe side. Then if mentally you are stressed you'll affect the baby too.

Remember DS is a genetic disorder on the parents chromosomes. There are also many other disorders that can happen to a baby. If we worry toomuch, then don't have babies then.

I'm 30 now and expecting for #3. I do worry sometimes but I must believe that God will give us strength in whatever he gave us. If you are a free-thinker, do and think what you is best for yourself and family. Nothing is a sure thing anyway.

Tiredness definitely have something to do with your age unless you are a fit person. Exercise, eat healthily etc. I am v tired this time around. My DD is in K1 and my DS is abt 32mths, active period.

Good luck ladies.

Sometimes, I think no point worrying, especially if we are anti-abortion. Just have to take things as they come. Just have good plans in place... like extra savings in the event the child is abnormal.

if possible, try not to delay having a child. cos with the pressure from media these days, and what people say these days, we will feel guilty if we have a child late and child is abnormal. We will think the child is abnormal only cos we had the child late. There will always be that elemenent of guilt within us.

My nephew is asthmatic and my SIL regrets not breast feeding him since birth.... although we all know breastfeeding doesn't eliminate asthma.

hi there

my sister conceived at 35, miscarried at 7 months because the umbilical cord somehow entangled. but at 37, she had a second pregnancy, and now has a healthy and lively boy!

one of the things to take care of other than taking good care of yourself physically and emotionally before and during pregnancy, is to be mentally prepared for pregnancy complications e.g. diabetes, hypertension, and eventually a c-section birth.

for me i'd an emergency c-section, even though i'm only 28 when i delivered. after delivery, my slipped disc recurred and i was hospitalised for a long time. Just the c-section costs 7+k and the slipped disc hospitalisation was another 4k. it was really not easy on the family.

i recently found out from my financial planner that there's a medishield covering pregnancy and delivery complications. you may want to consider, as it'll cover the non elective c-section costs. too bady i found out too late. can pm me, i can pass you the contacts of my financial planner.

We tried for a baby 1 year after our marriage at age 32. In the midst of trying, I was diagnosed with Hyperthyroid (which according to my internet research) hinders pregnancy.

However, God was very kind to us and I had my first baby at age 35+ and just had my no. 2 4 months ago. Both gals are very buddly and healthy.

With proper care during Pregnancy and the advance Medical technology nowadays, not to worry....Just go ahead and have babies...especially now that the Govt is giving away better Baby Bonuses :)

i m expecting twins &amp; in my 8 weeks of pregnancy. will be giving birth at age 37 &amp; worried abt abnormalities in my kids. both hubby n myself m sure that we cant accept a down syndrome child so the best test is amnio-centesis. but gynae said the risk of mis-carriage is twice higher since it is twins.

anyone got similar experience to share?

Hi bbgal,

Congrats on your twins.

Tho' I had my babies at 35 and 37, I did not do the amio test. Instead, my gynae recommended that I go for 2 genetic scans at 14 weeks and 22 weeks which is 100% safe. Almost ZERO risk of miscarriages as there is no needles or "poking" involved.

My genetic scan was done by a very experienced Prof (recommended by my gynae) and both he and my gynae were very reassuring, as me, as a first time mummy at 35, was also very worried.

The 1st genetic scan done at 14 weeks shows any abnormalities detected via certain measurements done on the babies. If there are abnormality detected, the Dr. will then recommend amio test. If not, the next scan is done a 22 weeks when all the babies' organs are more developed. With this scan, you can be pretty assured of a safe pregnancy.

Both my gals are hale and healthy.....medical sciences are so advanced now, do discuss with your gynae about your fears and how best to best handle this.

Emileeen,
Can share your gynae details and Proft that did the genetic scan? PM me. Thanks so much
Thinking of TCCing but 35 is approaching next year. Heaps of what if questions-- eg : gynae saying all the bad things about not doing the needle poking test and not assuring enough.

Humblebee,

I delivered my #1 &amp; #2 at ago 35 n 37, i did not go for amio test as well. just go for the normal scan performed by most of the mummies.

Normally the gynae only suggest the needle poking thingy if the scan result is not good.

^^

Shirley:

me too, deliever almost same timing as u and also did not do the amino test.

still remember I was shivering and so scare, perhaps nervous.

Also during my one of the important scan, my hb was not wif me coz he was in camp, so i am facing the "nervous breakdown" all by myself...

shirley, bitbit

Thanks for much for reassuring me. Got the 'guts' to at least to TTC next month. Just wondering if anyone can advise good female gyanes in Mt E?? I had my first bb in AUST so it will be my first time in SIN.

I had my child when I was nearly mid 30s. Simply lived my life as normal and didn't fuss over the pregnancy. Also avoided getting too much advice from all over and focused on staying happy/healthy/relaxed.

I had my #1 at age of 35 and is now expecting #2 at 39. My gal is a healthy and active gal.

I went ahead with amnio as I wanted a n almost 100% accuracy method to test for DS.

All turn out well. So dont worry so much !