Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

i tried iui for 2 times and was told i have blocked tubes so i went for natural ivf (with clomid) and then a lap and so-iui cos not supposed to use clomid for more than 12 times.

i m DAY 6 after iui..thanks hazeline ... i am feeling down cos no discharge..dry.. trying to hang on

hi gillian,

if i remember correctly, the injection starts D2. so should be ok if you inform him on D1. there's no preparation needed prior.

Gillian
Yeap.. IUI injections, if u ned them, starts on day2. So usually u'll call ur clinic once ur menses come on D1, then u go down the nex day and they'll teach u everything.

Dun worry abt the jab. The 1st jab is usually the hardest... I'm one who nv dare to look at the needle poking in during jabs! But insist on doing it urself, in front of the nurse. So u'll know if u're doing it right or not.

If u're a lucky one who can get ur HB to do it for u, then ask him to do it in front of the nurse. Dun ask the nurse to jab the 1st jab for u.. then u go back... u'd start to freak out a bit on ur own!

Abt going for natural IUI or SO-IUI, really depends on ur situation. U shd talk to ur doc over wot is best for u.

But of course... u might hv to go thru all these if u strike this time. : )

felixcat
U've got 7 follicles! I only got 2 for my 1st try n 1 on my last. Both times failed. How much did u jab? I jabbed 75 for 1st & 75, then 100 for my 2nd try.

toy collector
Dun worry too much... like I said, discharge can be affected by a lot of things. As long as ur AF doesn't come knocking aft ur 2ww, then chances r high. : ) Good luck!

Actually I hv very high hopes for this 2nd try.. but stil not successful. If u r ovulating, ur tubes r fine, ur HB's sperm is fine.. wot else could be wrong? Ur eggs rite? Or maybe.. the fertilised eggs can't latch on to ur womb? I really dun wot's wrong with me le...

hi haze1ine,

it was 7 follicles in each ovary, so ttl 14. so many follicles also no use, also failed.

my jab was 100.

the tcm medicine really tastes horrible but no choice, now taking every day. 6 more days to go...

i tried taking my temperature in the morning but found that the temperature taken from left/right ear is different. which one should be the correct one? also, i'm a light sleeper so i don't really know when is considered awake. i can be awake at 6 am, just that i don't get up and try to sleep again. so, a bit confuse as to when i should take the temperature... just before i want to get up? and only once? because sometimes i take another time and the reading immediately changed.

Hi gals, I read previously somewhere that our BBT will be affected if we are on medication... So why does the sinseh pay so much attention to BBT if it's not going to be accurate? Unless u are not on medication right?

felixcat
U do hv pretty good reactions to the jabs then.. wonder why it doesn't work. Wot did u gynae said?

I'm going back on 23rd to discuss abt IVF with mine. Guess bopian liao.. my only choice left.

Actually, u do notice that the temp changes pretty fast, that's why they want u to take it as soon as u're awake. Since u're a light sleeper, I suggest u take it when u're awake, if u're not going back to sleep again.

TCM nv taste good lah! haha I guess u jus hv to bear with it n swollow lor.

Oh.. u're using the ear themometer? Reading does defers from both ears. Jus stick to one n keep to that, dear.. dun confused urself.

strawbearbi
I guess sinseh jus want a rough gauge to c how ur body is reacting at diff days of ur cycle. And u're told to do at least 3 so they can average out the reading. They can tell one lor.. by these charts. Though it's not 100% accurate but they dun do scans or bloodtest like western ones.. so they can only read ur pulse, observe ur outlook (tougue etc). That's why TCM wil take a longer time. But a lot of ppl say, they wil cut down a lot of side effects.

Shd be useful to a certain extend else why ppl stil want to go to TCM, rite? : )

hi strawbearbi,

i'm also wondering abt the accuracy as the temperature is also subject to how you sleep - on your left side or right. i noted that my right ear usually records a higher temperature because i'm always sleeping on it.

i recorded an increase in temperature for my left ear today but i was wondering if it was because i was sleeping on my left.

felixcat...
The more u dwell on it.. the more confused u'd be! Why not u take using those oral ones? Put in ur mouth.. then u dun hv to worry abt which ear lor... rite? : )

felixcat, im using the oral one leh.. is your thermometer BBT? coz i haven come across one that use ear one leh..

oh, btw, is it that you have tried IUI with KKH? what's the reason switching to private gynae?

strawbearbi.. as for my case, if i dun ovulate, my chart will not show clear O.. and when i went again for my blood test, my chart show i did O and its really true.. so i quite trust BBT

hi haze1ine,

yah, you're right. i'm super confused now and think my bbt project failed. haha.

hi gillian,

the ear one is from Braun, normally used on children.

i've tried kkh for a yr and hv just switched. i didn't like kkh because all the iuis were not adminstered by my doc. they were all done by the junior doctors and each iui, i hv a different doc performing the iui. i only saw my doc 4 times in that 1 yr. i did not see my doc after each iui and thus there were no follow-up or review.

the 1st time i went, he ordered 2 natural iui so it's after 2 cycles that i see him again. then he ordered 3 clomid iuis, so i only saw him after i finished 3 cycles. then he ordered a hsg to check the tubes. then the last time, he suggested either so-iui or ivf.

the scans were also adminstered at the ivf centre, not by the doc himself. thus i wonder why i'm paying the higher rate of a senior consultant when all the scans/iuis are done by somebody else.

at the private gynae, even though the cost is higher, it's all administered by the doc and he takes time to explain what he sees in the scan. at kkh, they will take the scan and then you will wait to see the junior doc who just tell you when to come back for more scan or when to do iui.

so i guess you get what you pay. are you using a private gynae or kkh?

oh i see.. as for your thermometer, i suggest you get one oral thermometer at guardian.. it will specify in the box that this is basal body thermometer.. it will be more accurate and also wont confuse you with right or left ear temperature. this is what i get from website

Basal Thermometer vs. Regular Thermometer
A basal thermometer is different from a regular fever thermometer which measures temperatures in degrees. A basal thermometer measures temperatures by 10th's of a degree whereas most fever thermometers measure in two-tenth degree increments.

A basal thermometer is more reliable and accurate than a simple glass thermometer since glass thermometers are only accurate to .2 degrees Fahrenheit. You really need it to be accurate to .1 degrees Fahrenheit.

Another advantage of the digital basal thermometer over a fever measuring body thermometer is speed. The basal body digital thermometer is more accurate than a fever based thermometer, and it only takes 30-60 seconds.
In addition, a digital basal thermometer is harder to break and remembers the temperature for you if you don't want to chart it immediately.

Here are some tips to help use your basal thermometer effectively for optimum accuracy:

Use your basal thermometer first thing in the morning before you get out of bed.
Try to take the temperature at as close to the same time each day as possible.

felixcat
Woah... u did a lot of IUIs leh. I wil stop at 2 SO-IUI... since both failed. I dun thk I shd waste anymore time on IUIs. Wil go straight to IVF lor.

I'm not young anymore, cannot wait liao.

Gillian
I do agree private gynaes r more attentive n follow ur course of treatment better... but also hv good n bad private ones lor. Some only interested in ur $... Some jus rush thru ur consultations... u really hv to find one u're comfortable with.

But the cost for IVF really differs for KKH & private leh.

thks gillian!

hi haze1ine,

yah lor, i've to start thinking abt ivf already but my dh like not very keen on the idea. the cost is definitely a concern also.

hopefully more good news on 8th aug.

hi gillian, for my case I tried to monitor my BBT before but becos I was on medication, it's juz haywire and nothing made sense... or maybe coz I dunno how to read?? But i did refer to some books on fertility leh... anyway I know BBT dun work for me so I have already given up on that =p

felixcat
U stil hv hope as long as ur AF doesn't come knocking... ok? : )

Go buy that 8 mil toto.. hope to strike so I dun hv to worry abt the cost of IVF! haha

haze1ine,

don't know leh. no symptoms at all so far. when i was preggie with my son, i was throwing up after every meal for more than 1 week before I can do the hpt. i'm hoping it's because of the tcm medicine i'm taking that i'm not throwing up. but really, don't dare to place too much hope on this cycle.

think my dh very keen on that 8 mil toto also.

haha.. nvm. I not greedy. 1 mil for me can liao, enuff to share around...

But mus go buy 1st.. nv buy.. no chance.. no hope!

Btw which BBT termomether you all used? I'm using the 1 decimal point and like every day 36.5 so boring to see that number.
Or i can just go pharmacy and ask for 2 decimal point thermometer will do?

Vi4n
I thk it's from 'omron'. There's only one 2 decimal pt one at Guardian... the last time I checked. I bought mine some 2-3 yrs back. Thk cost abt $20.

Jus to check... when is the safe period to travel if u're undergoing IVF treatment? When ur tummy starts to feel bloated?

oh.. I check back the threads... she did mention abt the process. I thk maybe the 1st mense cycle is stil ok for travel.

But a lot of tests involved too... no wonder some told me hv to 'donate' blood many times!

I hope she's doing fine... according to her thread, she shd be doing her injections now.. similar to SO-IUIs. Wish her success!

I just came back from my overseas trip, that is why you never hear from me this past two days.

Hi, Haze1ine,

You are right, under the suppression period -either by oral contraceptive pills (my gynae's method) or by Lucrin injection (KKH method), it is quite safe to travel.

The 2 dangerous periods to avoid travelling during IVF treatment is when you start injecting Puregon and after the ER and ET period. This is because of the risk of OHSS (ovary hyper-simulation symptom) is very high and if you have very bad symptoms and don't seek medical help immediately, can die.

I actually wanted to do this business trip during my IVF 2ww period i.e. after my ET and ER so that I won't keep thinking of the results and go crazy but my gynae says no leh. She says becos I have PCOS so even higher chance of getting OHSS. Makes me very worried leh but have to wait and see.

I have finished my 21days of Yasmin oral contraceptive pills and have started on my daily Lucrin injection. Now waiting for menses to come, then will inject Puregon and Lucrin concurrently. Will keep all posted so everyone has an idea of the IVF procedure while keeping your options open.

Ruru Cat
Hope u've had a great trip...

And thx for letting me know ur progress. I wil only get to c my gynae to discuss abt IVF on 23rd.. stil a while to go.

It's not easy to work n stil do IVF, rite? Plus u stil hv to travel for work.

Did u tell ur co? I was wondering if I shd tell my immediate sup. If tell liao, not successful, very paisay n heartpain leh.. if she's not understanding. If nv tell, she lagi wun understand. A few of my close colleagues know lah. But I've nv told my immediate sup. She's not an easy person to work with so I nv tell her things like that.

Hi Haze1ine,

Hmm, so far so good for the travelling part. I also travelled (both for work and holiday) during my SO-IUI injection days. I just asked my gynae to write a letter for me so that in case I get stopped by immigration, at least can explain why I am carrying liquid medication and needles with me. I have my own ice box and ice pack (can buy both from carrefour). But must never hand-carry the medication, must put in check-in luggage. With the new terrorist law about liquid restriction, very "ma-fan". Touch wood, but I never get stopped by immigration so far!

Does your job entails travelling? If not, then not so bad.

Hmm, not too sure whether you should tell your immed supervisor or not leh. If you hold an outdoor sales job where your hours don't have to be accounted for, or you can think of a good excuse for your every alternate day half-day leave, then maybe can avoid telling her.

IVF must scan more closely than SO-IUI, so the scanning starts on 5th day of Puregon injection, follows by alternate days scan until around D14. So there is an estimated 5-6scans, follows by 2 weeks MC for the ET and ER. As it is the 1st time I do IVF, I am not sure if the MC is a general one, but sure will have either KKH or private gynae logo and doc's chop and signature right? Do you pass the MC to her or directly to HR (can bypass her)?

I ever read in a motherhood forum thread that this lady don't want her co to know about her IVF procedure as she felt the manager won't be understanding, so she use her own leave days and not the MC from the hosp. I think in the end it is a personal decision.

RuRu Cat
I dun usually ned to travel. But as my proj is only coordinate by me alone, if I'm not around, a bit of a problem. And u all know lah, it's always when u're not around, then ppl start to ask for this n that!

I've ever came back once to find my files all thrown across my table! I dun understand why she want to search for something, take liao, cannot put back properly. So u c lah, how I expect someone like her to be understanding, even though she's a mother herself.

We giv our MCs to our admin. My admin knows I'm doing some treatment. I dun usually take MC for that day, even though my gynae wil always ask if I ned one. I'll always ask for time chit n book an appt later in the pm to cause minimum disrruption to my wk.

But I dun thk all these matters to her lah. She dun really care.

I've even thought of taking unpaid leave to do IVF leh.
My leave is very miserable one, private co mah. If I were to take my own leave for my last few IUI treatments, thk long time use finish liao lor!

haze1ine,

understand your problem. it's always difficult when you're working. sometimes i'll take mc, sometimes time off (like you, afternoon appt, leave earlier), sometimes take leave lor.

luckily my company ang moh one so they respect yr privacy and won't probe so i can just say i need to go for my doc appt.

if i do ivf, will just hv to tell them that i need surgery lor since ruru_cat mentioned so many scans. that will prepare them that it's a very serious case. hehee.

if you don't think she'll be understanding, better not tell her the truth. maybe just tell her something growing in yr stomache and you need to remove it... which is true also. since the follicles are growing and you need to remove them to do fertilization ... she doesn't need to know that you'll be putting them back.

trying.. but don't think pregnant.
last night had a scare. did BD then when wanna clean, all blood. pool of it under me. fresh red blood. but i don't experience any pain/cramp. nothing.
so just clean and washed the duvet, cover, bedsheet, and mattress protector. but today my friends urged me to check with gynae. because from morning till now no show of red at all. so a bit weird.
i made appt to KKH women clinic, the only clinic i can find with night practice today. and got Dr Han How Chuan, read from review he is a very good gynae. so hopefully can find what is wrong.
then thinking if really period came, then maybe can get 1 cycle of clomid.
hoping to get good ovulation for next cycle.

felixcat
my friend told me if she ask, jus say it's 'woman problem'... I also dun thk I'll tell. Unless I'm ask to do like some urgant proj, then really hv to tell her I can't commit. No point I take on that proj, then halfway hv to go scan or MC during that ww2... then she'll thk I purposely one.

Vi4n
If it's midcycle bleeding, better go check. U hv endo problem? U sure it's not ur AF? U know sometime we stress.. our cycle wil also go haywire. So hormones really very diff to control. Keep ur spirits up... stay +ve and I'm sure u'll hv a better cycle.

Hi haze1ine,

yesterday was my DC 41 leh.. so def not mid-cycle bleeding. I'm hoping it is AF now. though never happened like this before. like out of sudden bleed so much, then stop till now.. weird, right?!
anyway, tonight going to check it out with gynae already.. so hoping to see some light. hahhaa..

Vi4n
DC41 is quite long... u sure u not preggie? Test liao? U O already?

When I was on clomid earlier, my menses doesn't come til almost 50days at one time! It jus varies too much lor, that's why doc all conclude clomid no use for me.

Hi Haze1ine,

remember i told you i had the middle range of ovulation (means the kit detected Lh surge) for 6-7 days from day 20 i think.
after that just waiting time loh.
i'm very sure no preggie one lah.. anyway, tonight will know also.

if i take clomid very juen one.. like 28 days sure AF come.
only after stop clomid then cycle sometimes short, sometime super long like the Feb cycle loh. only in May i took pill to induce it then come.

Hi Vi4n,

Hope tonite's check-up at KKH women's clinic will be good news!

Hi Haze1ine,

Hmm, I think if your supervisor so mean, then better don't tell her. Maybe you don't take half-day leave during your scanning and then just says your two weeks' MC is for a woman's medical procedure.

Aiyah, but don't think so negatively leh, maybe you strike this cycle then don't need to worry about IVF already!

Ruru Cat
Duno lah... I might hv a chance to change grp. So might not work with her again. Anyway, she flew today.. so I wun get to c her til nex Tues.. yeah!

Vi4n
Dun worry... u'll be fine.

Hi. I'm in fact fairly new to this portal. Just want to get to know more ladies out there who are on the 2nd attempt at IVF. I just had mine done in July. Yes, the 2ww is a killer. Beta HCG blood test was on 1 Aug but depressingly, it is negative. In fact, during the 2ww I was doing very fine and well, not feeling any discomfort or anything odd in particular. But in the wee hours of 1 Aug, (yes being anxious that later part of the morning, I am going for the blood test), I had so much difficulty in sleeping. Not just because of my anxiety, but I had a funny twisting feeling in my lower abdomen which I had never felt before. I didn't have a good feeling on that. True enough, when I woke up the next morning, there were slight brown discharge together with my Crinone gel. I asked myself so many times,why does it has to happen on the day of the blood test. So in fact, I don't know if implantation did occur. So after knowing the results in the afternoon, I cried myself to sleep. This Thursday, will be seeing my gynae again to discuss the next step. I am praying hard that 2nd attempt with FET works for me. It's physically, emotionally and financially draining. I have taken 1 month NPL in July and this month of Aug, I am on 1 mth hospitalisation leave. So planning to take 1 mth of hospitalisation leave and 1 mth of NPL in September and October respectively, or taking 2 months of NPL in Sept and Oct. Oh btw, I also have PCOs. So anyone in the same boat with me, let's share what we are going through to give the support we will need throughout the whole procedure. Thanks!Hoping to see some responses here.

Good morning girls,

me not pregnant lah.. i know already. so last night just a confirmation from gynae.
But nothing is wrong that can't be fixed. prescribed medicine for the period to come (i think??) then next cycle will take clomid again, then day 20 i have to go KKH to do hormone blood test loh. haiz..
i got scolding from changing gynae (he just can't understand that i went to him last night to check that nothing's wrong with my bleeding), taking TCM (so i have to stop for now), and went to GP to induce period when it didn't come after 100over days. Told him i didn't change gynae mah, just that my gynae no night pratice and i urgently wanna find out what's wrong. anyway i will stick with him for now since more convenient for me and only will change to IUI doctor if still no good news by end of this year.

HI mystyy, sorry to hear about your failed IVF attempt. at least your company is pretty good with your leave (NPL and all). For me if wanna take NPL will have to justify to the Director ah..
not so easy loh..

Halo mystyy...
Sorry to hear abt wot u've been thru.

I've yet to start my IVF journey but there's a lot of success stories out there too so do stay +ve, ok?

The imp thing is, we stil keep on trying n dun giv up. Only when we tried, then there's chance n hope.

It's not easy to go thru all these w/o support. I do hope I hv a lot of support too when my time comes.

Fyi: I've been married for 5+ yrs, TTCing for 3+ yrs, had PCOS, endo & went for op, being on clomid, metformin, tried TCM, 2 failed SO-IUIs...! I'm sure I'm not the worst here but ain't the most lucky one too.

We hv to be strong, gal!

Vi4n
As long as u're comfortable with ur current gynae, then good lor. I find it's very impt.

Some gynaes dun encourage TCM.. maybe urs doesn't that's why ask u to stop. TCM has to be rightly administrated else might interferred with western med. So it's good to get a trained TCM who also understands western meds.. or a gynae who understand a bit of TCM.

How much clomid r u taking? How many cycles liao? I always suspect clomid giv me endo u know! And I check on the net.. it does to some ppl. I dun hv endo problem b4.. not til I took clomid. Some ppl jus cant take clomid. And clomid cannot be taken too many times too.

Hi hazeline

As to clomid, it is true clomid cannot be taken more than one or two cycle. It is always not easy for doctor to tell a lady who dying to have a baby if she use eg clomid there is a risk involved, and truth has to be made known. This has been written in the book What your doc may not tell you about Premenopause.

From the book
Estrogen dominance and infertility are related. The reason being often lack of progesterone or not enough lead to higher FSH which in turn raise the estrogen high. If the follicles are unable to release an egg, no pregnancy can happen. However, when the follicle release an egg and fertilization has occurred but follicle now the corpus luteum) is unable to sustain continued progesterone production. the foetus cannot survive.

Anovulatory cycles mean no ovulation has taken place are now very common in woman as early as in their early twenties. (Just to let you know ladies still have menses even though no ovulation occur). Progesterone is the main hormone for the 2nd half of the mense cycle; and it release during ovulation.

That is why I am using natural progesterone cream to help my estrogen dominance symptoms.

Hi Ella
I guess u must be the same Ella from another forum.. cos they mentioned u introduced them to this very informative book.
I hv yet to find time to go down to town to search for it though.

I guess that's why my doc gave me progesterone during my ww2. But both IUI attempts stil fail leh. So wot is my problem.. I really duno.

Hi Hazeline

If you don't make the time to get the book to help yourself. Who will then? Why I quote it from the book so that if anyone really want to help themselves will definily find the time to get it and read it.

Your name was the one nearer to the posting of message. Lazy to stroll to the top to read. ALso what it ww2. What did your doc tell you.

hi girls, so frustrated.. duno what happen to my cycles... previously my AF will come on the dot on DPO15/16.. last cycle it came on DPO18... today already DPO18 and no sign of AF when temp did dip this morning from 36.93 to 36.68... in the past will have warning like brown staining, but dun have for this cycle.. hope that temp will dip further to 36.4+ and av come... hate it, duno why my LP extended beyond my normal 14 & 15 days... does anyone know long LP indicate what's wrong? now like kena stuck, duno what to do

Hi Vi4n and Haze1ine,

Thank you for your comforting words. Actually, I had told my boss since last year, that if I don't conceive by this year, I am trying for IVF. She was prepared for it, thus no questions asked when I applied for NPL. Actually I am in the teaching service. At first I was afraid she wouldn't allow me to go, coz there are 2 others on IVF journey with me and all of us leaving at the same time..hehe...guess she was nicer to me coz I told her way beforehand. hehe..

I'm starting another try at FET in September. I was happy with the consultation with my gynae just now. I had a list of questions prepared but without me asking, she addressed all of them! However, one thing she cannot know or tell is whether the embryo clinged on to my uterus or not. I have read through numerous sites and no answer too were given as to reasons why that happens. Anyway, she said she was glad that my blood hormone level, progesterone level and uterus lining were all good, thus she cannot explain why it was unsuccessful. Anyway I don't blame her. Sometimes, these things are beyond our capacity to explain. Only God knows what happens. Only reasoning could be the quality of embryo. So the next round, they want to observe for another extra 2 days before ET. Just praying that out of 3, that all survive or at least 1 survuve, otherwise I have to go through the whole procedure again.

Hey ladies, weekends coming. Any plans or trips to be out of S'pore during National Day? Take care!

Ella
ww2 is the 2 wks aft ur ovulation... or the 2 wks b4 ur nex mense.

And...I did make an effort to find that book leh...
Just that I went to the local library instead. Hvn't got time to go to a bookstore in town yet.

Gillian
Dun get so stressed up... hormones is one thing that is very diff to understand. U can do everything right but it jus doesn't happen.

Mystyy
Glad u got ur confidence back. Jia you!

I got Mon off in-lieu for ND.. co shut down. But was told only abt 2 wks ago. Too late to make any plans for travel... waiting for good news 2molo! Wil stayed glued to the TV!

Woah, the thread moves v fast today leh!

Hi Mystyy,

I am undergoing IVF treatment for the 1st time. I have just finished my hormones oppression stage (my gynae prescribed me 21days of oral contraceptive pills, Yasmine). As I understood from other threads in motherhood forum, different gynaes have diff IVF protocols, some ladies in KKH has Lucrin injections instead of Yasmine. I will start my Puregon injection tomorrow as today is my 1st day of my menses.

Just a suggestion, if you want to meet ladies on their 2nd round of IVF, maybe you can go to ICSI/IVF thread in this motherhood forum, as most of the ladies in this thread are either in the SO-IUI stage and considering the IVF procedure only. I am the only one who has progressed from SO-IUI to IVF as of now. I am also reading and posting on the IVF/ICSI thread at the same time.

Haze1ine,

Wah your company nt fair leh, don't want to tell the off in lieu b4hand. Anyway think there are some good shows on tv during holidays.

Hi Ruru,

Thanks for the tip-off! Hehehe...actually I had problems remembering where I had posted, but this one, I remembered coz at least pple replied to my rantings..lol.

Yeah, diff gynaes have different protocols. I was not on Yasmine but on Diane pills. I read in so many threads that Puregon or Lucrin were given, but I don't remember either...perhaps different pple taking diff 'cocktail' shots. Mine were Gonal F, Cetrotide and Pregnyl.

Just to assure you that the self injections are not painful. When I first researched on the level of pain of self-injections, I was rather scared coz some said it's painful and stressful. But when I do it myself, it was a breeze. No kidding. But do insist on getting the nurse hold your hand while you do it yourself in the clinic.

All the best to you, ya!

All ladies,
By the way, does anyone know where I can get Korean drama dvds those that are shown on KBS world? I am hooked on this show Mom's Dead Upset. The other time was the hilarious show abt the pig feet's alley family...can't remember the show.

Hope to hear some tip-offs on where I can find those shows...but with Eng subtitles, hor.

Thankie!

Mystyy
haha.. wot to do... I work for them... they call the shots, not me

But today Fri liao.. so happy!

Hi Mystyy,

Ehh, during my 2 rounds of SO-IUI, I am already self injecting my Puregon medication, so the progression to IVF is not very frightening. Anyway I have tons of fats at my stomach area so the injection is like u say, painless. ha..ha..

I am actually more afraid of the side effects of high dosage of Puregon (I read that Gonal F is the same as Puregon) such as mood swing and OHSS (ovary hypersimulation symptom). I am not so scared of physical changes such as bloated stomach or black-blue on stomach injection site as I bought lots of loose-fitting dresses recently so can hide bloated stomach.

Dear ladies,

Based on my experience, I actually experience mood swing when eating my Yasmin (oral contraceptive pills) and when I inject Puregon during my 2 rounds of SO-IUI, I seem to be in a low-grade stage of anxiety all the time and small things can trigger me off, either I cry or I get angry.

It is only after I stopped the medication that I felt calmer and more at ease. So what is the point of me saying all this?

You know your gynae and well-meaning friends and relatives will tell you to "fan4 qing1 song1" during the treatment? It is simply NOT possible because we are under the influence of the hormone medication!!!

Hi Vi4n,

Why did your new gynae ask u to stop TCM medicine hah? He attribute the bloody discharge to TCM?