Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Hi starlight74,

I don't pay for her haircut and dental expenses I think she should pay for her own thing since she is earning salary.

Matsu,
My maid wake up at 6pm and sleep around 11pm plus. But when we not at home in the day she'll definitely go n take afternoon nap.

Hi starlight74,

I don't pay for her haircut and dental expenses I think she should pay for her own thing since she is earning salary.

Matsu,
My maid wake up at 6pm and sleep around 11pm plus. But when we not at home in the day she'll definitely go n take afternoon nap.

Oh I am also worrying abt tea break and what time sld she wake and rest etc. My maid is coming tmr. Got to plan for her, actually i am thinking of what to let her do also as my condo is pretty small and I am living there alone now. Any gd idea?

Oh so my maid is really the spoilt one ya. just my luck.
Lani, you have a good maid hor not like my one. Those pork ribs that i buy to boil soup she also doesnt eat and she will throw away. Sometimes i wonder if she does that in her own ctry.

Becos of her i am thinking of not engaging a maid and become a stay at home mum but hee i am not sure if i can cope cos i have a dog too. My hubby said that we just engage a part time maid twice a week but very siong too leh financially.

Siman,
I think you should also fix the time for her if not will end up having a spoilt maid like mine but i guess mine is quite bold too. I remember last time my mum's maids are not like that one.

Matsu
ya, even my hubby said I must be stern to her. He keep stressing coz he know I'm not the kind who will scold people : p
I am now cracking head of what to let her do for the whole day. I have even thought of asking her not to wake up so early and can rest at 9pm but not sure if I will spoil her like that. This is only for time being as after the bb born, then she will be more busy

Shining
My bb is due only in Dec. ya, i sld. am just cracking my head of what to let her do now.. coz nobody will be at home when i go work. have asked my mum to stay with me for the 1st 2 weeks when she is here

Siman......just wondering, why did you get you maid in so early?

I got my maid in about 6weeks before delivery. I need her to handle my 2 dogs, house chore, cooking. Once all these is in control, it's about time my bb arrives. Now she is handling my bb, 2 dogs, house chores n cooking on certain days.

Ya siman, tik u get the maid too early liao, usually one month before hand is still ok as u need her to familiar with your house and work. Also if you not satisfy with her still got time to change another one.
Probably u can get your mother to guide her on her dialy activity and monitor her performance.

ya siman
i also think you engage your maid too early liao she will definitely be spolit like mine and can get out of control. Mine came one mth earlier she doesnt have much things to do since i have a confinement lady so she think she is the queen. She will watch television from 5.30pm onwards till 11pm in between she will go and wash dishes.I also tell her now is very relaxing for her but when i go back to my own hse it will be very tiring one got to take care of baby cook and do household chores. But until now she still think she got confinement lady to help her. So better not let her come in too early or it will become a habit lia.

Anyway i send her away yesterday.It is such a traumatic experience cos its quite XIN KU to send someone away but really got no choice she really got attitude. Ask her to wipe the window she can tell me she did it last time when i am not at home, so she is not wiping anymore.
Now without her i feel so relax.

did you read today's straits times? starting from 15th sept 2006 it will be mandatory to give maid minimum 1 off day per mth. if no off day then gotta give her pay in lieu, which should be ard. her 2 days' salary. all these will have to be stipulated in her contract. if you engage a maid before 15th sept then no need to include such clauses in the contract. it only takes effect for new or renewed maids w.e.f. 15th sept. so that also means if you already have a maid now, it doesn't apply to her contract yet until you renew it.

saw that news. But all along, I thought that we have to pay in lieu of no off days. So what's the diff? I don't understand

tch,
in the past it was NEVER mandatory, ie. it was up to employer & agency to set the terms & conditions. now they've made it mandatory, ie. there will be a standard contract which ALL agencies have to use from 15th sept onwards.

for me it's not a problem. hubby and i already discussed it and we have decided that when we want to renew our maid's contract in 2yrs' time, we want to offer her 1 off day a mth (if she wants it). if she doesn't want the off day then we would gladly increase her pay by $20.

Lani, ic. Cos I just hired a maid and most agents told me that I have to compensate for no off day which I did. So I thought the rule is already in place.

Hallo , I'm new in this thread.

I'm 5 months pregnant now. And start looking for maid, hopefully can find the good one and she can start working begining sept'06.

Can any one give me your experience ( good one and bad exp also) taking maid from this agency :

Nation

and
A1- far east shopping centre 04-36

And how much their agency fee???

Can pm or email me at [email protected]

Hi blessinglauren,
I went to AT & T at far east shopping ctr. I find them quite irresponsible and they always play with their words so be careful in case you go hunting at far east shopping ctr.

I went to hougang green now there are more choice but was told bukit timah had more. I think its better where there are more agencies in a place that made it more competitive. Agency fee from hougang green there is one only $88 with unlimited transfer. Having discount now and there are $188 one and also $281

Also make sure the agency you choose does not require you to pay lodging fee should you want to transfer your maid

blessinglauren,
Nation's agency is about $500, A1 is $0.

I got 2 filipino maids from Nation before, the first one I sent back within 3 months, the second one within 1 week. What I hate about their service is that although I paid such a high agency fee, they want me to bring the maid down to their agency, so that they can bring the maid to MOM to make their work permit card. Then I have to fetch her back at the end of the day. I still have to go back to the agency to collect the work permit card. Since I had a very busy hubby, I had to do this by myself when I was 7 months pregnant ! After that I went to 2 other agencies which fetch and return the maid direct from my home, and I paid only about $300.

I haven't tried A1, because I thought for $0, I probably cannot expect any standard of service at all.

Actually it is the maid that is important, not the agency. No agency can always guarantee you a good maid. You just have to make sure that the agency will refund you the $2000 maid loan if you return the maid to them, and that they don't charge you food/lodging while waiting to find a new employer for your returned maid.

are, kutu, tamarind..

yah.. oredi sent back my 2nd maid. got a 3rd maid from the same agency. i onli pick her on this wed. immediately send her back on thur.. thats the very next day.

at the agency, check her bag onli.. i oredi quite unhappy with the clothes she bring. sleeveless tight top, transparent black top to act as a jacket. the staff confiscate the clothes, lotions n powder that i barred maid from bringing to my place. maid immediately gave me a black face.

hb n i left mum's place after dropping maid n bb there. that nite, came back to pick them.. she oredi kana complain. my sis told me.. CASE 1- "Walt (my eldest son) dropped the milk bottle on the floor. maid picked it up n left it on the sofa. BB cry. maid stuff the milk bottle straight into BB's mouth." my sis reprimanded maid for being dirty. maid in turn vent it on Walt by beating Walt's hand".. CASE 2- "Walt was playing near the standing fan. my sis told maid to take note on Walt's legs as he try to trap his own toes below the base of the standing fan.. maid's reaction "Wat? Wat?"..

that first nite, i told maid that she got to wake up at 6am.. give her a list of chores to do n expect her to finish by 9am. she start to tell me, "huh? got to finish in 3hours??" i told her.. "simple things like clean windows, tv rack, shoe rack, all doors, sweep n mop floor dun even need 3 hours to complete.. we going to ah ma house after that".

thur morning, i was up at 515am.. feed bb at 530am. sat on my bed till 6am.. didnt hear her opening door. step to the living room n sat at the sofa.. 615am, still didnt come out from room. i start to knock her door! onli then she open n gave me the blur look. i ask her "wat time oredi? u still sleeping.. n i hv wake u up!?!?!?" she still can talk back say "i was up since 5am+.." i told her off "i dun care wat time u wake up.. as long as i say 6am.. i expect u to be awake n oredi in toilet washing up.. by 630am.. start doing the chores!" somemore, i saw that instead of sleeping on the mattress i gave her.. she slept on an extra mattress that i put agst the wall in her room. told hb abt it, he was so angry.

9am she start knocking at my door.. i was sleeping then.. she kept knocking till woke my bb up. i open the door n she grin at me.. oredi shower n got changed.. getting ready to go out! she very gan chiong wanting to go out than to do work.. i asked her dun disturbed me.. i still want to rest n close the door.. 5mins later, she came knocking at my door.. say she wants a glass.. give her liao.. i went back to room.. she came knocking again.. say she wants water.. i damn fedup till i stare at her.. n asked her .. "anymore things u want?! i need to rest!" onli then she say no.. i didnt sleep after that.. too pissed off!

got myself n bb prepared.. i came out from the room n saw her sweeping floor.. somemore very dirty. asked if she got sweep n mop.. she insist yes.. i look at the mop.. totalli DRY! look at the basin.. my hb's drinking cup is still there not washed! rubbish not cleared! i then asked her.. did she beat my son's hand yest? she deny n kept looking away. i just carry on washing bb's milk bottle n bb start crying. instead of alerting me, she simply open my room door (oredi told her cannot enter my room) n went in to pacify bb. even attempt to sit on my bed! i stood at the door looking at her.

in the car, she was carrying bb while i drove. bb cried.. so i passed maid bb's pacifier. when we alighted from the car, i kept the pacifier in my bag. at my mum's place, again bb cried. she conveniently open my bag n took out the pacifier n stuff into bb's mouth again! i was so pissed that i asked her .. "hv u washed the pacifier? she kept quiet n gave me that "I DUN UNDERSTAND LOOK!".. i told her must wash first! so dirty! then she took n wash. my mum was feeding walt with porridge. maid insist to feed my son. my mum refused. onli then, i knew wat happen.. maid actualli kept stuffing the porridge into my son's mouth when he havent even finish munching away..

hearing all n seeing all.. i start to bowl within me.. i asked her to take her baggages n go out with me.

sent her back to agency.. staff were all shocked! persuade me to take her back.. say can b trained la.. blah blah blah.. asked maid to apologise to me.. but maid apologised reluctantly.. damn "buay gam wan" still tell me she play with my son.. didnt beat him. the more the staff asked her to apologise.. n she did.. the more i boil.. end up, i bang the table so hard n start screaming at maid. i carried on n on.. till a few customers around all ran away.. i simply refused to take her home again s i realli cant tahan that she can hit my son's hand.

now.. i decide to drop getting maid from this agency oredi. went to my sis's fr's agency to get a maid. hope everything will turn out well this time. its tiring to keep changing maid. its oso tiring to keep training them. they guai guai listen .. nevermind.. problem is they dun.. damn "ti ki" all the time.

today, i went hands on to clean up my masterbed room. clean window n change curtain, wipe cabinets, wardrobe, clean fan, change bedsheet covers, sweep n mop the floor.. i timed myself.. i onli took 1 hour to finish everything. my hb was impressed when he came into the room when i m done. guess, i m too used to doing housework. hahha

jo,
just read ur posts n feel sad to learn that u have gone through so much. u have just given birth not 2 long ago. i certainly hope u find urself a better maid soon. and that u can get ample rest so that u can take care of ur 2 princes.
i must say that u r very impressive to b able to do so much of the above in just 1 hr. but then again i feel tired for u. really hope that ur new maid is of help to u so that u can rest well.

Jo,
Sorry to hear that even your 3rd maid didn't work out. Me too will never tolerate my maid beating my kids, I will not even allow them to scold my kids.

Agree with Dramaqueen that you are very impressive at housework, I will probably take 2 days to do all those things.

It is very difficult to find a good maid who is super fast, and at the same time, honest, respectful and obedient. So sometimes we may have to "ren" a bit at small flaws, otherwise we will never get a maid that can work for us.

The problem with the way we choose maid now, is that all we have is their bio-data only. Most of the time they will just put "Housekeeping - good", "Cooking - good" which may not be true at all. It tells us nothing about their personality. I think this is the worst way to choose a maid.

daphne, tamarind..

if not for the fact that i need a maid to help my mum take care of my 2 boys when i return to work.. i wldnt even want to employ a maid.

seriously, i enjoy doing housework since young. so i wont mind having to take care of my boys, housework n full time job. even not enuff rest cos need to tackle so many things in a day, its ok with me too. as long as my boys are happy n healthy, no trouble from hb n mil.. lucky for now, i onli need to take care of Xander.. while Walt is full time with my mum.

dun be impressed la.. its just 1 bedroom.. take 1 hour to clean up. now, i feel so comfortable sitting in the room.. with Xander next to me on the bed. he kept looking at me.. guess he is looking more on the top i was wearing.. cos its RED.

tam.. u rite! i cant tahan maid beating n scolding my boys. if no respect to my parents.. they are out oso. the lady boss from the maid agency kinda try to threaten me that MOM will invite me for kopi la shld i keep changing maid.. i told her.. "i hv nothing to fear. simple to say, ur maid quality is realli bad! thats why kept changing. if MOM suspend me, i can oways get maid thru my brother.. whats the problem here?"

if the agency put "good" remarks.. still ok. few weeks back, i went to an agency at bt timah.. everyting in the biodata are in malay.. who the hell knows wat they writing?

Hi Jo

Sure hope you have a better luck in getting a good maid soon...

Maid are still maid...My maid is terrible in terms of eating...You asked her to eat she can say xian. Yesterday her lunch was only a small kueh and an apple.I told her off and tell her that she is only 23 but already starts to have wrinkle around...that does make her wori.....If I tell her usual stuff like she will fall sick etc, she does not buy it and kept saying I got eat......

Jo, use your gut feelings when you hired maid....

joy747..

thanks for the encouragement. i m pretty tired with the process of hiring a maid. stressful mentalli n financially..

i do hope that this new maid i got from sis's fr will do well in my family.

joy747

yup.. realli keep my fingers cross now. if my new maid still cant make it.. i realli going to hv problem getting back to work. my mum wont b able to manage my 2 active bbs, my dad as well as hsework n cooking..

Hi Jo,

Your maid is terrible!!! Never never tolerate a maid that dare to scold or hit your kid....

btw, who is yr agent? sound like mine...warn me that i go MOM for "coffee" if i keep change maid. I changed 5 from the same agency.. all the maids equally as bad as yrs!!

i also have so much headaches over the maids.. If only i am as good as u in doing housewk, i will not employ maid at all.

Anyone knows how to handle a maid who is so scared to eat for fear of putting on weight....My maid yet to fall sick since many months back...just worried that by not eating well, she will be ill again...

Just imagine, she can bargain with me when I asked her to eat a piece of cake, or apple or egg for lunch...she kept saying she is full...I suspect she has eating disorder as she eat one round of buffer yesterday, which is more than what she eat, she vomit....

Her lunch is very light, and dinner too....yet she has to help me in housework and baby care....anyone can help?

I have just got my first maid on Friday. She is good in housework and had worked in spore before. however, just yesterday, i found out that she took her HP (her HP was in my drawer for safe-keeping, the agent said she cannot use for the first 3wks) and use it secretly!!!! I was very angry because I told her before that if she want to use it before the 3 weeks, let me know. I will think abt it. i dont know if I can trust her anymore. My concern is that I will be leaving her alone in the house when I work so if she had breach my trust.. i wonder if i sld keep. She keep telling me she is sorry. any advice? : (

siman,
aiyoh! your maid very daring leh to go and open your drawer without asking for permission to take her HP!! for me i cannot tolerate such behaviour leh. if she can dare do this within the 1st week god only knows what else she will dare to do later on...

joy,
maybe you gotta use the threaten to send back to agency/indo tactic? tell her that you cannot tolerate her not eating, what if she falls sick then how? so tell her if she continues like that then you got no choice but to change to another maid who will eat properly.

Lani
Precisely! and my sis said im too gd to her so she "thought" she can bully me and it is barely 3 days!!! I really cannot believe it and she very sin nang somemore... just my luck. Abit probia for my first time

Hi Lani

Thanks and I have done it and she just bo chap....I just stormed up from downstair after scolding her as I have to nag at her to eat and watch over her....

I screamed and throw my temper and I told her to throw away all the food and no need to eat from today onwards and since she does not like to eat, I will not even buy bread for her and see who die first..She kept defend herself and tell me that she is eating...I told her up to her and will see who fall sick first....

joy,
I agree with Lani. It looks like your maid has eating disorder. What if she faints while carrying your baby ? If she falls ill you must pay for all her medical expenses. Other people may suspect you of ill-treating your maid. You should consider changing maid. Is she filipino or Indonesian ? I got one ex-filipino maid who is also very picky with food. After 6 months she got sick, and threatened to go to the embassy to sue us for making her sick !

Siman,
Did you tell her where you put her HP ? Did she open every drawer to search for it ? It is really very sian to get a maid like this, in future you will never know what she is doing behind your back.

tarmind

Thanks and I am waiting for her to faint....If she continues after the storm today,I will send her back to indo and no need to come back to singapore anymore

Tamarind
No, I didnt tell her. I just put in any drawer and didnt lock coz the drawer cannot be locked. So i guess she have to open the drawers to see, but i put in the first drawer so very easy to search. Just called the agency and agency told me I should lock my things. I know that but if she is already like that for the first 3 days, then how am i gg to monitor her EVEN if i lock my things next time. This is also a good way to test her already....

hey all... me getting my 4th maid end wk... starting to get all stressed, esp aft reading all the horror stories here!!!

jo... wah, ur 3rd maid terrible leh. 1st day already like tat? tot usually they will kwai kwai for at least a mth, then show true colours. i also agree if she doesnt seem to like children, no pt keeping. tis is esp impt for me cos my child is sick & wun be able to tell me if she abuses her. so i always look for maids tat hv young siblings, so they r used to having children ard & wun be agitated by their pranks.

joy... think losing ur temper might not work with her. maybe u can talk to her & find out why she dun want to eat. or u can play the 'bad person' role & get someone else to be the gd guy & ask her. my previous 1-wk maid also refused to eat, & confessed tat she dun like our food when we finally force it out of her. so we ask her wat she like & buy those things, like sardines & bread. its funnie they r afraid to be fat cos they dun even get to eat well in their hm???

siman... i agree tat ur maid is terrible to look thru ur things. esp since she is ex-sgp, it might be real hard to control her. but did u allow her to make a call hm when she came? maybe she juz want to tell her family she is safe? agency always tell me no calls at all, but i feel tat tis 'i reached safely' call is essential & fair. but no other communication aft tat, so they dun miss hm, like my 1wk maid, who kept calling every day, then in the end say want to go bac.

anyways, juz want to share a few more pointers since i've already gone thru so many interviews & maids :
- always call to interview shortlisted maid. i dun seem to hear anyone do tat here? cos i call every shortlisted one, cos i need them to hv a reasonable standard of eng. 1 maid i called replied my qn of 'why u want to come to sgp' with 'hehehehe'. i hung up immed. another 1 told me she wants to work in sgp cos her mum is sick, when i ask wat sickness, she said 'TB'! hung up aft saying thanks.

- do not allow her into the master bedroom, unless for cleaning, aft asking for permission. i rather hang up my own clothes than to hv her understand the system of my cupboards, & hv her look thru my things, juz in case i din lock properly. my 1st maid used to know wat each cupboard contain, even loose change, tats why she could steal easily.

- always chk belongings when she first arrive. wat she bring will give a v gd indication of her personality. my 1wk maid brought branded make-up, skincare pdts, enough clothes for 2wks. rich sia.

- never choose a single child. they r usually pampered & probably richer than most. same goes for degree holders. else where they get the $$ to study??

- dun be too kind to them upon arrival. really. it doesnt pay to be kind. we dun hv to impress them or make them feel like part of the family immed. juz be fair. leave lots of rm for rewards so she can appreciate. if u start showering affection in the beginning, she will ask for more. dun think of yourself as too mean. imagine a junior staff on her 1st day of work in ur office. u will definitely explain the rules & job responsibilities, then demo to her some of the work. some priviledges will also be out of qn like tea break or long lunch cos they r not in the position to enjoy. u also dun hv to be best pals with her, as yet. let her familiarise herself w work 1st. but come punctual, leave punctual. same as a maid. rem to maintain an employer-employee r/s 1st.

i also do not let my hubby handle her, unless its juz some offhand instructions. i find tat men tend to be v kind cos its v awkward for them to live w a female stranger, so they will b v nice. u dun want her to mistaken kindness for affection!

hope these help.

thanks are...I have just chatted with my maid ex employer and found out many things about her....Maid is with me for 6mths and with her for 5 years.....All maid's trick is not out yet as ex employer has pre warned me....saying that she is easily influence and also have eating problem...she used to take many choclates in her house but not in my house...strange....Maybe, all the bad issues is yet to surface...she also told me that she is one that will lie and never admit....all maids are like that

Siman,
I have used 6 maids before, I told them that they can only open the drawers for my kid's clothes. None of them dare to open any other drawers/cupboards in the house. I can understand your worries. How did your maid react when you confront her ?

Joy,
I agree with you that most maids will lie. Really cannot trust them 100%.

are,
Agree with your pointers. Especially the part where it doesn't pay to be kind. Really have to be strict with them from the beginning.

mum88

i got my maid from crislo. they supply maid to other agents in the market as well. did u happen to get from them?

i dun give a damn to the warning given by the agency.. since the maid no good n cant help.. sure got to change.. if not keep the maid for wat?? got to pay their salary n levy.. n they do nothing.. or create more problem. i cant tahan that!

thou i m good in hsework but i need to get back to work oso.. now still looking for job.. n realli need a maid to help my mum take care of my 2 boys n hsework.. i dun wish my mum to b stress out..

siman,
just like tamarind, my maid also not allowed to open ANY drawers/cupboards in the house except her own cupboard and those in the kitchen. after she folds all the laundry also she will just leave the clothes on the bed, and i will go keep them myself. she also not allowed to enter ANY of the bedrooms without permission. even when she wants to clean my room or toilet she always ask for my permission 1st before entering. the only time she enters my room without having to ask for my permission is when she is taking care of my 16mth old dd and she has to follow my dd into my bedroom. at the beginning she actually didn't dare go into the room when my dd run in - she will just stand at the doorway and watch my dd from there. then i had to tell her that if my dd enters my room, she has to follow her in, in case my dd climbs antyhing and falls down.

i am actually quite strict with my maid, but i am also very kind towards her. in fact for the 2mths since she's been here, i've never once scolded her. only just tell her clearly what needs to be done and what are my house rules.

are,
i agree with alot of the pointers you gave!!

are..

i totalli agree with all ur pointers here..

when i check the belongings of my 3rd maid at the agency.. she brought along those translucent top to go with sleeveless tight top.. then got cross back top somemore.. use ponds whitening lotion for face n body.. all kana confiscated by agent when i say "no" to all these..

duno they come here to work or to dress up??

are and Lani
Thanks for pointing out. Think maybe this is the first time im getting a maid so thought that I should treat them well and it is not me to raise my woice. Even when Im stern, my voice is not. It is a lesson to me. My sister told me the way i talk to maid is too good. I always say 'thanks", "sorry" etc!!! She said no need to do that. So this time round, I MUST REALLY show face when I talk so that they take me seriously. Will follow you ladies, TELL them NOT to enter the room without permission and NOT to open drawers as well. I have sent my maid back to agent yesterday. She keep saying sorry and I feel sorry for her but dont think i should give her a chance. My hubby is not in spore so i will stay with her alone so if i dont trust her, i dont think i sld keep her. Now have to choose another new maid with experience. Headache. The agent asked me to call them and interview... wat questions to ask?

Tamarind,
When I conforted her, she admitted that she took the HP from my drawer and use to sms her brother. Then she put it back. She said she is sorry, thats it.

hi Siman,
i recently hired an Indo maid, and she's 35 yrs old. she doesn't look that old in fact, and so far i've not had any issues with her not being able to perform her duties well bcos of her age. i guess it really depends on individual, some may think 'older' maids are more mature and 'stable'... some may think they are too experienced and difficult to manage/train.

siman... actually i say 'pls' & 'thank u' to my maid too. i find tat it makes her feel appreciated, & anyways, i mean it also. i dun think it will make them think can bully u. bt its when u give her things, or ask her to do things. if not right, means not right, NEVER say 'nevermind, like tat also can' or 'i'll do it myself'. then die liao, i tell u. my 1st maid was like tat lor. my mum dun like her style, do herself, so she happily shake leg. then when i qn her, she say 'ah po dun like i do'. win liao. actaully no need to show face when u talk to her also lah, it'll be so hard on u. oni need to show face if something not right. if not, juz pass on instructions in normal tone can liao. wat we r trying to say is no need to be 'extra' nice, no need to 'chit chat', no need to be overly concerned abt her. but still muz treat her nice, cos she is aft all an employee mah. like wat lani do.

can i ask why u need an experienced maid? cos i feel they r pretty easy to train. i actually dare not use ex-sgp cos they already know sgp, so not scared of anything. i used to tell my 1st maid tat if she steal, she will be sent to jail 4 v long so she scared. in the end, she go out w all her frens, also not scared liao, tats why stole. maybe ur maid was really trying to tell her family she reached safely u noe. i hv a list of qn i ask when i call for interviews. see if its useful for u. i find tat these qn can actaully reveal a lot more of the maid than juz the bio. anyways, always dun tally w bio one, so even birthday muz ask. cos sometimes they lie or make false claims, if u 'spot chk' them off-guard, they might slip & tell the truth. so when i chose maid, i prefer those who've worked in phili as maid b4, cos at least they noe their place in the family & wats requried of them. since i hv my own style of doing housework, i can train myself. even tho' my DD needs medical attention, i also dun take 'nursing b/grd' ones. all bluff one anyways. i make-do w my requirements for #3 cos she had nursing exp. turns out she oni took a 3wk course, then work in nursing hm is to help measure BP & do chores like changing diapers, bathing the patients. *faint*

anyways, tis is my list. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

qns to ask.doc (22.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

jo... agree w u. no pt keeping someone to make us angry when she is getting our hard-earned $$!!! when we decided to send maid #2 bac, also same reason. we dun feel justified tat we hv to put up w someone who is happily making us angry &amp; still collecting our $$!!! i also dun mind taking care of my DD &amp; household myself, wun get a maid if not need to work for $$.
actually if the maids come fr the city, they r quite dressy i realise. their dress sense like geylang those! real terrible. i confiscated my maid's revealing clothes too, say she cant wear in sgp. bt she v smart. she had 1 2-pc top which is a spag below, so she will remove the outer pc when she goes out. bt too bad, i smarter. found a pic she took w juz the spag, so told her cant wear tat anymore.
anyways, when she is busi or not at hm (sometimes at inlaws), i will look thru her things once in a while, juz to make sure she not hiding anything like hp, guy's numbrs or even condoms! *horror* i nearly fainted when i dug out my maid's stolen stash of $$ &amp; contraceptive pills! aft tis, i feel its justifed tat i look thru their things, cos its my $$ &amp; family's safety at stake here!!!

joy... err, pardon me, but ur maid sounds abit scary u noe. when my maid #2 came for a wk, she would stare at me fiercely when i scold her, &amp; still insist on doing things her way even when i lose my patience. so hubby &amp; i think she abit psycho, so quickly send her bac. *shudders*

Jo,
if u r going to return ur maid fr chrislo n not taking anymore maid fr her, kindly share with us wat the procedures r like. thanks

are..

in fact, i went thru my maid's stuff just like u too. although my maid do not hv off days.. but she shuttle btn me n my parent's place.. duno what she take from there n bring home here n kept inside the cabinets.. worst was when they actualli tell lots of lies.. i tested my 2nd maid b4 with some cash left in the laundry basket. she actualli picked it up n return to my mum. thou pleased with her actions.. still i hv to send her back to agent as she didnt fulfil her duties.

gummie
I have thought of that also. Actually frm the photo, they dont look old and I also feel that they will be more stable. franky, I dont think i need a really very strong maid because she will be doing housework and marketing only which even our mother at the age can do. Thanks for sharing. It is my father-in-law who suggested that i should get a young one who have more energy to work... hmmm..... dilemma...

are
Ya, i really hope i no need to "change" myself to be a "monster employer". I cannot bring myself to do it also. your points are good. I will take note , will also use your question list, look useful. Thanks for sharing. I dont know if i should get an experienced one or not. The agent said try one with experience since I am pregnant and have to work and there is no one to teach her my method. Based on your experience, they are easy to accomodate is it? maybe i sld ask the agent to give me some data to browse through

dramaqueen,

i realised one thing.. never never let the agents talked to the maid after we make any complain. everytime after the agents talked.. the maid's performance got worst..!! so everytime when i complain to agent n they request to counsel maid.. i will say.. nevermind.. will observe further. then i will just send maid back rite away.

actualli, think i went against crislo's terms n conditions.. i just send maid back to them.. they sure ask u wats wrong etc? for me, i told them.. in the first place after 2nd maid.. i dun need maid anymore (as i intend to get from other agents liao).. say i want to become a SAHM. but since cris guarantee.. i took up the 3rd. but once i return.. i asked them to return me the balance loan amt.. but they will need to wait till maid gets a new employer.. b4 they do refund