Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

Kutu, last time my family got one Filipino maid always go galavanting with guys. My mum make her do home pregnancy test every month.

Some maids you need to be v strict.

Kutu, Mrs Wong,
From what I read, the employer only loses the $5K bond if the maid is pregnant AND the employer fails to send her back. If the employer send the maid back as soon as the pregnancy is known, then there is no problem.

Anyway I think every employer should buy the bond protector so that they don't have to pay the $5K even if the maid runs away.

I agree that it is unfair to us. Those people making all these rules don't seem to have employed maids before.

Tamarind, I'm not too sure if you will have to pay the bond if the maid is pregnant or not. But from what I know, if the maid is found to be preggie during the medical check up, we will need to pay the bond, regardless of whether the maid is sent back immediately or not. This is what the agent told us.

Part of my package with the agency include the insurance for the bond. I think most agencies include it now.

Mrs Wong,
I found a copy of the security bond.

http://www.lucky.com.sg/phtm/secbond.htm

And whereas Visit Pass has been granted to her on the following conditions to be observed by her namely:

1. That she shall comply with the provisions of the Immigration Act and any regulations made thereunder;
2. That she shall not get married to a Singapore citizen or a permanent resident during her stay in Singapore;
3. That she shall not become pregnant during her stay in Singapore;

But in the event the said person breaching any of the conditions to be observed by her and myself failing to repatriate her, or in the event of myself breaching any of the the further conditions to be observed by me, then this obligation shall be in full force and effect to the extent of the same herein before stated.

The insurance for the security is so that we don't need to pay the $5K upfront. This is not the same as the bond protector. If we don't buy the bond protector, we are still liable to pay the $5K.

Tamarind, the one we got is different. It is S$120 per year. In event that maid run away or anything, we dunnid to fork out the S$5k. Not too sure about the terms but my mum is v clear about all these and she checked for us, we just paid

tam..

just send my 2nd maid back to agency today. realli cant tahan her. have given her so many chances but she just take us for granted n refuse to listen to instructions. i hv oso warn her that shld she refuse to take instructions again, i will send her back. she dun take my warning at all.. so out she goes.

being a fresh maid, i hv been very patient with her. teach her faster way to do her things. but she just want to do things her way.. very "ti ki". clean windows for 1 room can take her 2 hours. gave her daily schedule that she hv to sweep n mop floor everyday n get it dry b4 7am. she didnt do as told .. somemore lie she did. she wash things not clean at all.. stains here n there n yet claim that the stain doesnt come off.. till my mum carried my son n do the washing at the same time.. n the stain was being removed.. maid just kept quiet.

this morning, asked her to take care my son while my mum prepare apple juice for my boy. instead of playing with my son in the living room.. she stick close to my mum.. see how she prepare.. n she stood so near to the stove carrying my boy. my boy was then reaching out to the pots behind her.. good thing my mum wasnt cooking anything.. can u imagine.. wat will happen if the pots are hot n it drops onto the floor? my mum, maid n my son will all get hurt. i was so angry when i know that.. n immediately, i brought my bb over to mum's place.. asked maid to packed up n bring her back to agency.

she cried in my presence n plead to stay.. say she will take instructions. i told her no point when i hv oredi warn her so many times.. she refused to listen. somemore, she tot my sis wld b able to save her.. told me she wants to talk to my sis. i told maid.. no one in the house will b able to save her cos i m the one who employ her. i told her i simply cant tahan the way she take care of my boy. she just cry n cry.. i told her she cry oso no use. my decision is made n my patience oredi hit limit. she have to go.. still she take her own sweet time to pack. i look at her n start to raise my voice.. told her, u not gg to pack fast.. i will do the packing for her. onli then she quickly packed n i send her back to agency.

she kana bad scolding when she reached the agency. again she cried. sigh! thou she is definitely much better than my 1st maid.. but once she dun take care of my son well.. out they go. i waiting to pick my 3rd maid on 19jul, keep my fingers cross that this one dun give me problem again.

do we hv to recourse if we change maid for the 4th time onwards?

If I fire my maid, do I need to give her notice? If no notice, then do I immediately cancel her work permit and tell her to leave our house? But then where will she go? Do I have to provide for her ticket home?

Thanks - a lot of problems with my maid ....sigh

Tamarind,
You mean you pay the agency insurance for the bond plus the bond protector. If so, how much did you pay for each. I've checked with hb re maid preggie, since hb is the one who liase with the agency, and he said not to worry cos he paid $180/2 yr for waiver of the bond, but not too sure whether it merely waive upfront payment. I do remember coming across this "upfront" word somewhere in the paperwork.

agatha,
i think you can terminate immed. No need to give notice. YOu need to buy a 1-way tix back home for her and cancel her work permit. Then on the day of the flight, ask her to pack her bags then bring her straight to airport, so she got no time to try to contact anybody, or do "wayang" at your home, or worse still, sabotage you and your family. Unless of course she still has unpaid agency loan, then in that case better check with the agency 1st on the procedure.

hi agatha... DUN GIVE HER NOTICE!!! u nvr know wat they can come up w. someone once told me her maid jumped out of the car when they send her bac to agency!!! terrible but can happen, so dun risk it.

when i had to send my maid hm cos she stole, i had to break the news at night cos i went thru all the things & found the money, so cant pack bac. lucky i managed to book a 11am tix the nxt morn. so i warned if she stepped out of the rm, then i will call police & she will go jail. bluff her say dun noe how long then she wun get to see her bb anymore. so she v scared, juz cried in the rm while packing, din even dare to go toilet till we let her. & i had to sleep in living rm in case she go kitchen and take knife!!! when desperate u dun noe wat they can do!

all u need to do is to visit the mom website, u can cancel the work permit yourself, book air tix, then present the letter at the customs when she goes in. the approval letter from MOM is auto generated, mine took abt 30mins aft i sent in cancellation.

jo.. i also had 1 maid like yours... cant tahan her stubborn-ness. can use the same cloth to clean fridge to clean items on my balcony. i ask her if she will use a dirty cloth to clean her face, she say no. then turn ard & do some other things i oreadi told her not to. i sent her bac juz aft 10 days, cos i was boiling every day & going mad.

aft tat, i was v upset & kept asking hubby if i was too mean an employer. aft i calm down, i feel i am not, but i also feel i did not brief her properly cos rushing things all the time, & so happen she is a hard nut to crack, so i crack! so now i made sure i brief properly on 1st and 2nd day, proper timetable to follow, go thru black and white rules.

but i made another mistake w my last maid, allow her to keep calling hm. she keep saying she homesick. call hm every day. then on 6th day, her mum call & say her grandma sick, so she keep crying & say want to go bac!!! aft so much trouble, & she wasnt eating much cos she homesick, i told agency better send her hm, so her family actually sent $$ for her to buy tix hm. machiam like come here for holiday sia. then agency scold me lah, say i too kind. juz 1 call to say they safely reach can liao. no more calls fr then till she is settled, cos the more they hear their family's news, the more upset they will be & they will lose focus. agency's advice is once they r settled & happy, they will not worry abt their family.

sorry... 1 last post. juz spoke to my agency, the bond protector we pay is $120, only covers run away. once maid pregnant, hv to send bac. but hv to camo a bit cos if custom finds out and reports, then bond is gone. damn unfair, they sleep ard becomes our fault.

oh and agatha... dun let ur maid out of the hse anymore. cos she is still under your employment, u will be implicated watever she do. & when u cancel her work permit, u hv to submit the date of her flight, so meaning she cannot stay beyond tat, else will be considered illegal immigrant, then none of your biz liao.

Jo,
Good luck with your new maid. If your new maid make similar mistake maybe you cld show her how you want things done.

Fresh maid always seems to be afraid to ask when they don't quite understand your instructions. Their answer wld always be "Yes, maam" and ends up doing things incorrectly. With my maid, initially the wok wld still has a film of oil even though she said she has washed it thoroughly. I figure that perhaps they are trying to save detergent for me and that they use ash back at home to wash so they are fine with the oily-ness. I simply told them to use more detergent if they have to, just make sure it's clean. Then my maid spend hrs cleaning glass doors which ends up looking worse than before with streaks of soap stain. So I demonstrate to her the correct way of cleaning glass, and my glass doors has been sparkling clean ever since. Oh she still spend hrs with her task, but I suppose some people are just more detailed in their work.

Maybe your mum does not specifically told your maid to go play with your son in the living room so your maid thought she's suppose to stand and watch while carrying your son so that she wld know how to prepare apple juice in the future.

My advice is that, try to spell out every instructions as clearly as possible and give the maid a chance so long as it's not a serious mistake done on purpose. With time, the maid might just turns out to be your dream maid and it saves you the hassle of replacing maids.

have anyone ever complain to CASE or MOM about maid agency before?

I have change numerous maids from the same agency (paid $500 agency fee). All the maids got very serious problems like health issue, tell lies, go thru our personal stuff, keep wanting to sleep, scold our family members, etc.

Pls advise what can I do? the agent simply dont care. I am really upset with their service.

Kutu,
The insurance for the security bond is included in the agency fee. The bond protector is extra $150, this amount seems to vary with different maid agencies. Since your hubby has already paid for the waiver of the bond, then you don't have to worry.

Jo,
Sorry to hear that you have to send your second maid back. You only used her for about 1 month, right ? I think for new maids you have to give them 6 months to a year to perform up to your satisfaction, and you really have to be patient and put up with whatever nonsense they do. But some maids, like yours, is really cannot be tahan.

mom88,
I don't think you can complain MOM because you did not get a good maid from an agency, afterall you chose the maid yourself, right ? Just don't go back to that agency.

Re: Security Bond
The copy I posted is the same copy signed by every employer. It is required by MOM.

Thanks Tamarind and Jojo747.
Decided not to take her lia. Went to another agency. The girl look sweet so i thought of taking her she is a fresh maid 23 yrs old. I was told her pay is $240 by one of their staff but when i went to their other branch which is nearer to my hse they say her pay is $280.
Is it true that their pay has increased. Cos my aunt 's maid whom she had just employed get $260 with no off day though her agency fee is high at $488,
And then their agency fee is $288 plus course fee of$50 which i find it abit strange still have to pay for their course fee.
I went to a agency at hougang green they only charge $188 unfortunately i didnt find any.It seems like over at hougang green their maid agency fee is quite low.

Hi mum88
I tried to go to CASE before cos my agency lied to me about the transfer period which caused my delay in changing my maid. But as usual CASE could not handle which i thought of it before when i went. So no point going, i think its a waste of time and money (even though its $10 for consultation). cos in the contract which we had signed, there are loopholes or the grey area where agencies can argue their point one.

I have a friend who was so urgently got her maid replaced by the agency and they chose one for her and with two years of singapore experience and say she is very good...guess what, upon desperation, hired her and find out that her salary has a big jump from 260 to 320...what is more,.....she is a lousy worker....so becareful when you go maid hunting, do not tell them that you are so desperate...or they will take advantage...

I am getting maid for the 1st time and am staying alone currently. She is coming this friday. Just a couple of question:
1) I am working and will leave her at home alone. I doubt I can do marketing for her sometimes as I am pregnant, do you allow your maid to do marketing her own?
2) I have thought of putting the maid with my mother but the agency said cannot. I ahve specify that she need not do household chores there. Need only to accompany my mum to go market so that she can learn to do marketing as well as cooking. She said cannot. I thought of telling the maid myself WITHOUT letting the agency know. One thing, she is an experiences Filipino so Im afraid she will complain.As I mentioned, I am staying alone, actually at the moment, nothing much to do yet so I thought she can learn cooking first.

Siman, which agency is that?

I will ask the maid if she is ok with the arrangement. If ok then I will just give her slightly more a month.

If really cannot, can you get your mum to come over instead?

For the first few weeks my maid was here, we went marketing together. After the market stallholders know she is my maid, I let her go alone with a shopping list written in mandarin which she will show the stallholders what I want.

Hi Mrs Wong
Im using SWIFT. located in Far East Plaza. Yes, agree that I will ask my maid. Another concern is that she will have to hold my hse key as I intend to let her go over in the afternoon when she free. She have to take bus there (about 20mins ride). Yes, have asked my mum to come over to stay but she is like abit relunctant.. so I do not wish to trouble her as well.
Oh, yap, thats what I planned to do. I will go marketing with her (though I will not know the stall here coz I have moved here not long too). I intend to show her where is the market and NTUC so that she can help me buy food or do her marketing. How much do you give her when go markerting? I hope i can trust her on that. AM praying hard that she will be good coz I will be giving her lots of freedom.

Siman, how much I give her depends on what she needs to buy. After going with her to market for the first few times, you roughly know the prices.

My maid is Indon, can't speak english or mandarin so I write shopping list for her. The stallholder will write the price he charged her on the shopping list if got from market.
If get from supermarket, my maid will show me reciept.

So far my maid v honest with money. And when we give her money to buy food for herself, she will choose the cheapest item in the market, vegetarian bee hoon (S$1.50).

You have to be stern with her from the start. Call home often to check on her. Warn her that if her behaviour is not satisfactory, you will send her back home straightaway.

I see. Mine is a Filipino and she worked with an Ang Moh expat before so I guess her English is quite ok. Hey, good idea that I ask her to ask the stall holder to write the price for me then after a while I would know how much is the item. I will go mkt with her for the first few times. How much do you spend on her food each week? I was wondering if I should ask her to do marketing twice a week or daily. First, if weekly, sometimes, I dont know if I will have dinner at home. If daily, I thought that it would be tiring to walk all the way to market everyday : ) (ha ha ha, I wonder if Im too good to her, my friend said daily better, just like ourself, we also have to go out daily to work). I am also trying to draft a timetable for her, but like nothing to do leh for my hse... still thinking : )

Siman,
My maid does marketing on her own once a week. I will give her a list of items to buy, and ask her to show me the receipt. She buys everything from NTUC. I will double check to make sure she returns the correct amount of change to me. Her own food costs about $20 - $25 a week.

Tamarind
So she buy the items to cook for your family as well for the whole week? What if there's days when you dine out?

Siman,
I always eat dinner at home 3 times a week and during weekends, so it is easy to plan. If there are last minute changes, we will just keep the food in the freezer and cook another day.

matsu,
Can you enable your PM or let me know your email address ?

Siman, how many pple she gotta cook for everyday?

My maid does marketing on Tue, Thu, Sat. She cooks for me, my hubby and my 2 young nephews. I got another niece that is just starting on solids, she eats organic foods which I order from the organic store.

At my mum's place the maid cooks for 5 pple everyday for lunch and dinner so they do marketing everyday. My mum goes with the maid when she needs to get something special, eg. raw papaya to cook soup for me or special cut of meat to cook tonic for me.

When dine out, you can choose to bring your maid along, buy back for her or ask her to cook something simple for herself. I don't bring my maid out for lunch, she usually cooks something simple for herself or heat up leftovers to eat. She likes to put all the leftovers into claypot and make stew. Dinner-wise we will bring her along, unless we are leaving the kids at home.

She need to cook for me only for dinner, and occasionally my mum if she stays over. So I think no need to go market daily. hmm... if I go out for dinner on weekdays, usually I will be meeting my friend after work so not convenient to bring her out. On weekends, if I go to shop, I will bring her out and have dinner together. I will have to do quite alot of shopping for the beginning to buy household things : ) and also for her. Think we need to supply her the basics since I dont think she will bring them along when she is here.

Tamarind and Mrs Wong, thanks for sharing. Now I have some idea. If Im not gg to eat at night, I will call and let her know so that she can plan her dinner dishes. I am having headaches on what and how to plan for her... ha ha ha....

Dear Tamarind & Matsu,

thanks for yr reply. I was considering to go CASE cos the agent make me very mad. All the maids was chosen by her. She have limited biodata so I dont have a choice too. And her attitude is so bad..

mum88, which agency did you use?

Hey, anyone maid has car sick?Yesterday,bring her along with baby FROM EAST COAST TO JURNONG for a birthday celebration....Reached the destination, and I make sure she is eaten before me as I want her to take care of my baby ....She take her own sweet time to eat, and I told her I need her to take care of baby...she pour away the whole plate...I later realised she has car seat but I told her she should not pour the food away as its wasteful....not sure, she is throwing temple ....anyway, I try to understand that she is having car seat...anyway, will not bring her out anymore

matsu, mum88,
I have emailed you.
Actually the agency is not so important, no agency can always guarantee good maids for you. My advise is try to get a maid who has worked for the same family for at least 4 years in Singapore. Make sure the family is as similar to your own family as possible. For example, if you are Chinese, don't take those who have worked for expats or other races. If you live in HDB, try not to take those who worked in bungalows.

Look around for a maid that meets the above criteria. Then make sure that the agent will refund you the maid loan if you don't want to get another maid from them. Also make sure they don't ask you to pay for food/lodging if you return the maid to them.

Siman,
You should teach your maid to batch cook. For example, she can cook a pot of curry chicken, enough for a few meals at one time, and put it in the fridge. Then when she wants to eat, take out heat up in the microwave oven. This will save a lot of time. Especially when baby comes, you will want her to have more time looking after the baby.

Tamarind
yap, that would be good. she can keep and reheat. or cook stew or soup, these can be used for lunch... cant wait to see her on friday. she will be my companion now till my hubby returns : )

thanks tamarind got the contact.

May i know does all your maid wash up your newborn clothes for the day or keep some for the next day to be washed. Cos my present maid will wash once in the late morning and then those that are changed in the afternoon and evening time she will wait till the next morning.
She dont have to take care of my baby at all
Basically her job scope is to cook lunch and dinner and do sweeping and mopping. our clothes are all machine washed so actually i thought hand wash baby clothes for the day wouldnt be too harsh on her rite.

matsu,
When my babies are small, because there were often milk stains/vomit/porridge dropped on the clothes, my maid will hand wash the clothes everyday. My maid also handwash her own clothes everyday. It's not too harsh lah.

Just to find out do u all restricted the portion of meal for your maid. Eg. no. of bread for breakfast. No of cup of rice to cook etc?
Do u all provide coffee for ur maid and tea break?

shining,
I don't have to restrict my maid's portion of rice or bread, because she always eat a reasonable amount. I give her a budget of $25 a week, she will buy and cook her own food, separate from our family. Her tea break is included in this budget also, I leave it up to her to buy whatever she likes.

If your maid eats together with your family, then you should take out a reasonable portion of meat,vegetable and rice for her. Don't have to let her take as much as she likes.

Thanks Tamarind. cos these days i had always been thinking is it too cruel to send her off. but i guess its ok cos i think she is slacking again. Told her to wash baby clothes and she will tell me tomorrow she will do it. I told her sternly last time to do it then she will do it and now she begin to slack again. She is beginning to rest earlier and earlier. yesterday she stop work at about 8pm when there are actually baby clothes to be washed. I cant imagine having her for a longer period i think her bad attitude will come back again. Give me black face or stare at me when i ask her to do something. I guess i really had to send her away. Will send her away on Friday.

shining,
At first i provide coffee for my maid but she drank 5 big packs of coffeemix within a mth so after that i did not provide anymore. I ask her to drink milo instead since my family dont drink coffee. But she dont want so she buy on her own and she dont waste her own coffee. previously she would threw half of the coffee away if she cant finish.

Have some questions here:
1.Do u pay for ur maid haircut?
2.What about dental expenses, say she has toothache?
thanks in advance

Hi tanmarind/matsu,
At first I also afraid that she might be hungry in the afternoon so bought her a packet of biscuit (contain abt 60pcs), in less than a wk she can finish it. I almost faint. i tot can at least last her 3wk to 1 mth.

She cook rice for my mum and herself can cook upto 1.5 cup of rice eat meal. warn her she also the same. Really dunno how to restrict them on the food. I also dun wan to let them hungry but on the other hand seem out of control.

hi shining,
same here, mine also finish a big pack of biscuit within a week. Yes she also cook a lot of rice and she even throw away those left over one. At first its worse she will let me eat the leftover one while she eat the new one until my confinement lady saw it and told her that i just gave birth cannot eat leftover one. Tell u my one is really ultimate. And now she will rest earlier and earlier. Today 7 plus she go bathing for half an hour and want to rest lia. I told her to wash babys clothes, i heard her mumble something. Tomorrow i definitely will send her away. Her three weeks is finally up.

may i know what time does your maid rest. Cos my brother in laws one either rest at nine plus or ten plus. But my one very special leh she herself automatically rest earlier and earlier

My maid schedueld to rest at 10pm...but she will continue to work and finish everything by 11 plus daily cos she help me with the baby till 9pm

food:
i never tell my maid how much rice to cook, but then again she is not the wasteful kind. in fact when i cook too much rice she will tell me don't cook too much, very wasteful one. and sometimes she cooks too little that i gotta end up telling her to cook a bit more. if got yesterday's leftover food she will always insist that she will eat that first, then eat the new food. i actually buy her coffee, biscuits, milo, tea, bread, jam, kaya, instant noodles, etc for her own consumption. so far 1 big loaf of bread it takes her a week to finish (she has bread for breakfast). i bought for her all the other stuff 2 mths ago and until today she still hasn't finished them liao! she seems to eat only when necessary. sometimes i worry about her food intake and will ask her to eat more. as for dinner, she eats what we eat, i will just scoop out her portions for her and put aside.

rest:
my maid usually has her shower ard 9.30pm and will start to rest ard 10pm. on her 1st day i gave her a schedule, and told her i need her to help me with chores till ard 9pm+, cause at that time i will spongebath my dd then feed her milk, so i will need the maid to help clean up everything after that. so she will not go bathe and rest till ALL her chores are done for the day.

matsu,
My maid rests at about 11pm, and wakes up at about 6am.

Your maid is really terrible. She simply has no respect for you. It's no point keeping a maid who does not follow your instructions.

For your new maid, you got to be strict with her right from the start.

Have some questions here:
1.Do u pay for ur maid haircut?
2.What about dental expenses, say she has toothache?
thanks in advance