Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

thks janet!

FILIPINO MAIDS
btw who hired filipino helpers? ive a concern.

the embassy agreement says "1 day off per wk", "compensate $12 for every off day forfeited". but agency say only 1 offday per mth to pay $20 extra if dowana give offday. but we hafta sign as per embassy contract. lidat how?? can we trust the agency? will maid complain to embassy?

I have a question too: do any of you ask your maid to wash her clothes and yours separate, ie. don't soak them together? All the while I thought this is understood and need not be specified. But I'm worried that she'll soak her undies together with all our clothes.

Hi herbal, we did ask our maid to separately wash her clothes. we told her from day 1 to wash her clothes after she bathes.

Thanks Tinklebell. That's what my mom ask me to do. I never with the first maid. And I wonder how she washes our clothes. That's one time when she used the washer and dump her undies together with our clothes. I was shocked and from then I asked her to hand wash all clothes. Anyway she's leaving, I will ask the new maid to obey the new rule.
thanks again.

herbal,
I told every maid on the first day they come, that they must wash their own clothes by hand, and cannot use our washing machine at all. Every household has different rules, that's why it is important to state your rules clearly to the maid right at the beginning.

Personally I think it is best to follow the embassy rule. If the embassy want to sue you, the agency will never help you.

SY,
My maid is only allowed to use the common toilet in the kitchen. She prefers to use cold water. Before my baby is born, I also put my maid at my mother's house because I don't want her to be alone at my house. My mother help me to train her since I am not good at housework.

Hi Tamarind,
thanks for your answers. so it depends on whether the maid wants to use hot water right? i know most of them dun really use the hot water but i thought if she needs, then it's the common toilet along the corridor that she will use.

so you put your maid at your mum's house till baby is born? then how does she know what to do in your house? i tot of bringing her home on weekends so she will be familiar with where we put all the cleaning stuff.

Hi SY,
Actually I know many employers who do not allow their maids to use hot water. So it is really up to you.

At that time, my maid came to my house during the weekend to do the cleaning. Actually now that I think of it, MOM rules states that a maid is only allowed to work at the address written on her work permit card. So it is actually not legal for me to let her work at my mother's place. But my mother's place is very small, and she does not have much to do, and I am lucky she did not report me. Just let you know so you be careful.

hi Tamarind/Sy
for my case, I have to bring my daughter and maid to parent-in-law house everyday cos' I don't feel safe to leave my daughter in my maid's care alone at home. I'm not sure if this is infringing the rule...but i think the rule should make some adjustments to accomodate such instances. I have heard of so many horrible stories of maids abusing kids at home... and i really don't like the idea of leaving my daughter at home alone with the maid.

Hi Tamarind,
how come employers dun let their maids use hot water? i never heard that one before.

actually my mum has a maid. just thinking of putting here there during weekdays cos no one at home. but once we observe her and find that she's ok i will have to let her stay alone at home. even after bb comes, she will be staying at home alone with my maid. i know that is not the best option but i stay very far from my parents and in laws.

SY,
People want to save money mah ! Use hot water means use more electricity.
You should ask your mother to observe the maid, and talk to her as much as possible to see if she has any problems.
My first maid stayed at my mother's house for about 3 months before my baby is born. When she came over to my house, I discovered she has weird problems, like crying for no reason very frequently, so I have to send her back. Then my mother told me she already knew that this maid is funny, but she didn't want to tell me because she wanted me to find out myself !

herbal,
Agree with you. There are so many people making their maids go to work at 2 houses, I suspect MOM is already closing one eye. But just have to make sure your maid is OK with the arrangement, I think if she reports to MOM, then they will follow the rules.

tamarind,
thanks. will ask my mum to observe the maid for a while. dun think i will put her there for too long. i need the help at home also.

your current maid is your second one?

SY,
My current maid is my 5th one already ! I had 4 incompetent and problematic maids in a row, very unlucky right ? It is not that I am fussy, it is just that they all give me a lot of headache.

Tamarind,
what kind of potential problems can maids give? my mum's maids so far dun have any major problems. i remember we got a really fierce one before and no one dare to ask her to do something. then got another her eyesight really bad and she din want to admit even though we keep asking her. so we can't help her. the new one is very good. my mum always tell me most impt is that the maid must be honest and not rude. and since my main priority is for her to care for bb, cannot expect her to do housework. i m just afraid i can't manage a maid cos the maid that i m getting is older than me.

SY,
Fierce and bad eyesight are both major problems to me ! What did your mum do to those maids ? Did she continue to use them ?
The problems I have encountered with my ex-maids are:
1. Very unstable, cry for no reason, even cry in front of baby
2. Refused to take care of baby, want to do housework instead
3. Sweat very easily, like raindrops coming out of body
4. Don't understand and cannot speak English even though she is a Filipino maid
5. Insist on shaking baby very hard, even though we told her not to
6. Refuse to squat down to clean the floor when there are spills, use the leg to kick the towel instead
7. Refuse to acknowledge me when I told her to do something, give me black face instead
8. Too lazy to cook for herself, eat maggie noodles everyday, in the end accused us of making her sick and weak
9. Bang things to make a lot of noise
10. Refuse to play or read books to the baby, only want to carry her and sit on a chair and do nothing
11. Very unsteady hands, cannot even train her to take temperature using the ear thermometer, or even wipe baby bottom in the correct direction
12. Shake uncontrollably from fear when she hears the thunder
13. Told me she has high blood pressure and feels faint easily

These are the lists of problems compiled from my 4 ex-maids. I can't believe how unlucky I was. I told myself to tahan, so when I had my 4th maid (giving me problems 11-13), I was prepared to keep her. But luckily she asked to go home herself.

It is really very tough to keep an incompetent maid. I end up doing a lot of work myself, and still have to pay her salary.

tamarind, i am more unlucky than u. me 1st time get maid. 1st filipino maid talk back/ argue, want to do her own way, lazy. send her back after 2wks.

2nd one a transfer maid came less than a day cry and say cannot look after baby as she nvr done before (has 2 children, told me got experience). she look after him less than 1hr that evening only.

3rd one 1st day tell me her salary that singapore agent said is lower than her agent said, tell me to increase her pay! told her stated in contract already. next day ask me for off day!

somemore can say my 1 1/2 yr old son naughty want to do housework only. Housework also cant do, teach her how to sweep mop floor etc. simple english also dont understand (i think she act blur so no need to do).

my mum cook she complain no taste. cook rice without asking when she knows already cook porridge.

say no privacy cos have to sleep with bb, want own room.

agent(who is the boss) tell me have to keep her at least a mth and will look out for replacement for me. when i call ask if theres new bio, she said no. when i call other branch they told me many came in 2dys ago!

a bad maid + a bad agency = a bad headache!!!

Wah, tamarind and joyce,
both your maid sounds real bad. Mine was rude, talk back and refuse to obey our instructions even if we told her over and over. Always sulk. Very emotional, cry over little sad or happy news. Other than that no other major problems. As for housework, I close both eyes, never really monitor what she's doing...only knows that she does everything very fast... don't know what shortcuts she take. She's an Indon, I'm getting a burmese maid this time. Wonder if it would be a better decision?

tamarind,
what my mum did was she will send them back. for her, she can tolerate if the housework is not to a certain standard but if maid is rude, she will not hesitate to send them back. she say no point putting up with them.

i remember the fierce one was not sent back immediately. her work was ok and she just looks black face all the time but other than that she's usually quiet and keep to herself. but in the end, things din work out and she got sent back. the bad eyesight one was sent back quite fast cos she can't iron properly and do things properly.

actually seems like most of hte problems stem from maid's attitude. that's why i m praying for a maid with good attitude. never mind if she can't cook and clean fantastic but most impt is good attitude.

herbal,
i remember when i was young, my mum had a thai maid. she's very good. we really love her and my bro was very close.

Joyce,
I think we are the same in terms of unluckyness in hiring maids. Always envy those whose 1st or 2nd maid turns out to be good.
I cannot stand a bad agency. I ended up losing $500 in maid's loan because I didn't want to get another maid from the same agency.

herbal,
You are very good can tahan a rude maid. You use her for how long already ? I think no matter what nationality, the important thing is that you can communicate effectively with her, otherwise you will need a lot of patience.

SY,
I agree with your about having good attitude. Other things still can train, but it is difficult to change someone's attitude.

I think i will have to get another maid real soon since my no 2 is due in June next year.

my previous maid was ok in terms of looking after my elder son but also there are problems lah.

1) Wakes up later and later. first few weeks she wakes up at 6 am.. then becomes later and later sometimes 7 plus! i have told her a few times to wake up early to clean the house before my son wakes up but she insisted on doing it during the nights when we are back! **FAINT** But bec i feel she takes care of my son well, i have to close one eye.

2) Doesnt eat a lot of food such as beancurd, duck, peas, fish finger... some of these food we eat very often. we eat simple food. so everytime we cook, we have to take into consideration what she eats...very troublesome.

3) Takes 3 hrs just to iron and sits to iron... my mother scolded her a few times for that... later the habit comes back in again. We had told her to schedule her ironing to alternate nights but she listen. would rather mop the floor at night.

I must say i had been very patient and kind. If i am fussy, would have scolded her many times. But no ill feelings for her lah. She did indeed look after my son well. When she left in Feb this year, we had to take over the housework after a busy day at work. Not an easy task. now with no2 coming, i am contemplating whether to employ another one. It's really not easy to live with another stranger in the house. sometimes i wonder if i should ask her to come back. she wanted to go back bec she wanted to work in HK wh pays a lot more but til now, still no luck.

Tamarind,
So nice to see you here again!
Girls, tamarind is a good adviser and listener...for maid's problems.

To share my maids stories to:
(1) 1st maid: transfer indo maid...can do household. But cannot click with my kid, like to talk back, forgetful.
(2) 2nd maid. transfer indo maid. Too experienced and 'keng', 'run away' after 2nd month and stole the passport, w/permit and my mrt card.
(3) 3rd maid: also transfer maid. Filippino maid. cant do household properly, dont know how to cook (we patiently taught her for 2 months). Scarli, have an bad intention on my family member. Eat a lot too. Breakfast, morning teabreak, Lunch (sometime with coffee for her porridge), afternoon teabreak and dinner. She even have to cheek to tell us a few times that she eat until
her stomache want to explode, too full!
(4) 4th one: current one.. so far she is the best one! Can do household, got initative, english can also, can take care of my children, I pray to whatever God she will remain like that for at least 2 yrs.

Haiz, finding a maid is like finding a gem.

Hi Tamarind

I've been following the thread cos I'm thinking of getting a domestic helper. Guess my concern is the same is everyone else .....getting a wrong maid....that's the reason why I have been hesitating. Good to hear that you have found a good maid now. Could I ask which agency did you use for this 5th maid? I think it is important to get a maid from a good agency.

last time my mum got a maid who eats a lot!! she will cook very nice breakfast for herself everyday and we just eat bread. funny right? but my mum always just close one eye. as long as they are honest etc, she's ok with them. then the last one even funnier. she doesn't need to eat! complete opposite of that one. she doesn't eat lunch and eats very little for dinner and yet she grew fatter. we always dunno how she managed not to eat but still have energy....

KC,
Pai seh pai seh. I got too many painful experiences and need some place to vent. Thanks for listening to my problems too. You are so right to say that finding a maid is like finding a gem.

BabyC,
I got the 5th maid from the same agency as my 4th maid. I was very angry with that agency because I told them clearly I wanted a maid to take care of my baby, and they gave me someone who has medical problems.
Another mommy Lenny has recommended the following agency in this thread.
http://www.lucky.com.sg/
Actually no agency can guarantee that you get a good maid. The agents themselves have not used the maid in their homes before, so how can they be so sure that the maid is good ? Even if they promise you a super maid, don't believe in them entirely. Always use your own judgement. You should find an agency which accepts post-dated cheques, so that you don't need to pay the $2000 maid loan upfront.

SY,
You can control how much or how little a maid eats. You can either buy for her, or give her a budget to buy her own food to cook. If she is a big eater, tell her she cannot eat any other things without your permission. Always make sure she eats healthily, otherwise she will not have the strength to take care of your baby.

mommies,
Here's more experience to share, I learnt from my cousin who has changed to about 10 maids now. You should change your maid if she exhibits the following behaviour:
1. insists on eating maggie noodles everyday
2. is obsessed with your baby, thinks your baby is her own
3. ask to go back to her country or to the agency
4. carries a knife into the room for no reason at all (no joke this really happened)

Hi Tamarind
my current maid has been with me for two years, just renewed her contract... but now tell me she wants to go back to indonesia cos' her father is in hospital. But i think she bullshit, cos' she asked my father in law whether HK is cold at this time. She must be wanting to go and work in HK due to higher pay there. Her family has been calling my house early in the morning... i think rushing her to go back (either to HK or really to visit her sick father). But I can't let her go like this until I find a burmese maid. Have got one recently, the agency said she'd arrive in two weeks' time. Will let u all know of new maid problems then... ha ha...

My maid is lucky I got a good temper... that's how I tolerate her for two years. Now she said she's leaving, I'm more than happy... otherwise I have to pay for her air ticket if i sack her... hehe.. she's my second maid already actually. My first one was worst. Bang the fridge door when she gets angry to show off her anger, and my hubby sacked her after a few months.

Hi tinklebell,
hey my no. 2 also due in June next year... and my current maid who's leaving also got the same problem, getting up later and later. Most of the time, recently, I have to go and wake her up, otherwise I'll be late for work. We usually leave house to MIL house at 7.30am and I wake up at 7.00am to find that she's still sleeping. When she wakes up early, she'd hide in a blind spot in the house, until she hear some noise knowing that we have waken up, then pretend to walk out from that blind spot, pretending to be busy with some clothes. Once I woke up without noise, went to that blind spot and saw her sitting there shaking legs on the sofa. Literally shaking legs, ok. She panick when i saw her and just stood up and walk away. I kept quiet. Frankly she does things very fast, so I can't blame her for finishing her work fast and then shaking legs.

I hope the burmese maid will be a good one. I really don't like the idea of hiring a live-in maid, but has no choice. If the burmese maid still cannot make it. I think I will get a part-time helper instead.

tamarind,
actually for me, as long as the maid takes care of my kid well, i can close one eye to a lot of things. i dun have much of a choice cos it is inconvenient for me to put with in laws and parents. can only pray hard for a good maid.

tinklebell, herbal,
reading abt all your experiences is also an eye opener. i have seen a lot of maids cos my mum will change every 2 years. she doesn't like to renew their contracts cos they get too familar with the surroundings.

SY, u are right, after two years they became too familiar and ya-ya, and tend to climb over our heads. But I have heard of some of my colleagues'renewal after two years and another two years... and doesn't have problems... just so lucky of them.

herbal,
yah, my uncle's maid has been with them for like more than 10 years. so her pay quite high now (amg maids).

I think all the maids are highly motivated by money. If u pay her a high salary, they will be nice. Anyone who pay their maid a high salary and get a bad return?

But with the high living standard here, who would give a very high salary other than that prescribed by the govt/agency?

herbal,
Yes most maids are motivated by money. That's why your maid wants to go to Hong Kong, they pay more than SGD700 there I think. I heard in this forum, one mommy pays her maid $480. But we still have to pay $200 maid levy, if the government reduce this to $50 I don't mind giving the $150 to my maid hahaha

SY,
Yes I agree the important thing is that the maid takes good care of the baby.

tinklebell,
If you can find a good maid, she can really be a great relief to you. I believe there are many good, kind hearted and hardworking maids out there. But the problem is it is difficult to find one.

2005, i give my maid her own toiletries coz she use d common bathrm. i gave her shampoo, shower gel, facial cleanser, toothbrush & toothpaste. she requested deodorant which i told her tt she hv 2 buy herself. wld suggest tt u buy 4 her, but get d cheaper stuff. no pt using d gd stuff which u guys r using. tink my maid bathes once a day in d evening. if she is sweaty after doing d hsewk, i told her tt she can't touch my boy at all til she has a bath. my boy sleeps wif me & my maid sleeps in d balcony, so no issue abt her sleeping in d aircon rm.

sy, mayb u can let ur maid use d toilet in d backyard. mine uses our common toilet, but we dun hv water heater thr. if u wan 2 leave ur child alone at hm, mayb can get ur parents or ILs 2 drop by once in a while 2 spot chk. better b safe than sorry. if u r worried tt u can handle ur new maid, then dun let her noe ur age it's easier tis way.

herbal, on my maid's 1st day here, we told her tt she'll hv 2 wash her own clothes by hand. no mixing her clothes wif ours & she's not allowed 2 use d washing machine.

tamarind, i'm aso in d same situation as u.
my current maid is my 3rd 1 oledi & i hv every intention 2 change her. will send her back 2 d agency once my new maid arrives.

joyce, i can uderstd ur frustrations. getting a gd maid really depends on luck!!

Sigh.... reading this thread is making me fear for the worst!! Anyine has positive stories to share about their maids?? Hahaha....

Will be fetchin gmy Filipino maid tomorrow night. Keeping fingers and toes crossed that she has a positive attitude. Will be leaving my 5 year old daughter and newborn son with her alone at home when I go back to work in February. No other help available and staying really far from parents and PIL.

kelly
my situation is like yours.

i believe there are also good maids ard. i have colleagues who have good maids and they leave their kids with their maids since birth.

vone,
i will try to get someone to spot check and hopefully can ask neighbours as well. we are also thinking of installing security cameras. do u think that will help? my mum stays very far (one east, one west) and my in laws work.

kelly, dun worry okie. mayb ur maid will b d positive story?? hehe... gd luck 2 u!!

sy, asking neighbours 2 help & installing cameras will definitely help. 4 me, if i got a choice, i'll not hire a maid aso. spend $$ 2 give me headache. sigh...

Hi SY, Kelly
I think u shd seriously install security camera at home. However not sure if u shd let them know of the camera so that they won't try anything funny or install it secretly to observe them??? This part I'm not experience.

Hi Vone, yes, this time, i will lay down all the rules on the first day.

Kelly,
I do finally have a positive story after changing 4 maids.

My current maid is very good at taking care of babies and toddlers. She does all the feeding, bathing and plays with them when they are awake. When I gave up trying to get my girl to eat, she will be very patient, and think of ways to bluff her to eat. She has a way of positioning my baby boy in the bed, so he can sleep better. I imagine if she is a Singaporean, she will be a highly sought after nanny.

In addition to taking care of my children, she keeps the house clean, and is good at cooking too, she can ground spices to cook curry/assam etc. She has a good attitude and respects my mother. She has no problem with following instructions, and has initiatives.

On my part, I try as much as possible to lessen her workload. She does not need to iron any clothes at all. I wash and dry me and my hubby's clothes in the washing machine and dryer. I even change my own bedsheet. I give her $50 every week to buy whatever she wants to eat, but she always only use about $30.

Not everyone is as unlucky as me to get 4 bad maids in a row. But if you do get a good and hardworking maid, treat her reasonably well, otherwise she may ask to go home.

vone,herbal,
now i regret staying too far from my parents. if not i can leave my bb with them in the day cos my mum is not working. i think i will install security camera but not sure whether shd let them know. i discussed this with a colleague before and she said she will let her maid know.

anyone got any idea?

tamarind,
your current maid is good. my mum's new maid is also good except that she doesn't have experience with babies. if my maid doesn't work out, my mum is willing to swop with me but probably need to teach her to take care of babies. she did say she likes taking care of babies just that no experience. she cooks well, has initiative and cleans very well. and she's very polite.

tamarind, i hope i can find a good maid but some of them in front of u can act so good but behind your back nobody knows. my sil has one maid for example. she is like super maid in front of my sil and bil. they feel that she is indispensible and my parents in law do not dare to complain abt her. But one day, during my hubby grandma funeral, my fil collected some bai jin ard $400 and placed it on his dressing table. later, the money disappeared. That day, the maid was in the house and there were no other strangers at home. it was clear who took the money. My FIL did not even dare to tell SIL and BIL nor confront the maid abt it!!! ABSURB!

SY,
Personally I think it may be safer to use your mom's maid, because you have known her for some time already. Any woman of normal intelligence can be taught to be handle a baby. You do not know the character of your new maid, whether she is honest or reliable or not. Just my 2 cents thoughts.

For the security camera, if you tell your maid, she may carry the baby into the toilet and god knows what she will do there. You cannot install the camera in the toilet, because that will be intruding her privacy and is illegal.

tinklebell,
That is really absurb. Yes you are right that sometimes people will tolerate a maid if they think she is indispensible.

tamarind,
i also thought abt it. that's why my mum sounded her maid out and her maid is ok abt it. so when my maid comes i may just do a swop immediately so that i no need to bring her to my mum's place etc for training. and plus my mum got some time to observe her already. totally agree with u!

hmmm, then i have to install the cameras fast or else she will know i installing cameras right...

i will leave my NB wiv new maid wen i return to work in march. bo bian, both my mum n MIL dowana commit themselves aldou they wld pop by occasionally.

how much of the maid's time does a NB take up? wld she still have time to do housework? or only do hsework in the evening/ wkends when im around? how do i ensure she doesnt do hsewrk until sweaty den carry my bb?? wads a maid's typical daily time schedule like? can anyone kindly share with me?

2005, u giving birth soon? my mother last time didnt want to look after my bb initially and in laws live too far away. but after my son was born, she changed her mind seeing how cute he is. Before u leave the maid with NB, better observe her work competency. better still, install a camera to observe the situtation at home.

It depends on how fussy your baby is, and how competent your maid is. If your baby is that kind who eats and sleeps all day, then your maid will be able to do housework. But some babies may wake up and cry very easily, then your maid will be very busy.

But no matter how fussy the baby is, I believe that a competent maid should at least be able to cook her own meals, and do one task like mop the floor or do laundry (in washing machine). You can tell her to do housework only when the baby is asleep.

But if your maid is inexperienced or very slow, then you have no choice but to let her take care of the baby only. My colleague's baby is taken care by her maid alone at home, she does not even ask her to cook her own food, she will buy back for her everyday. The maid will do household chores only when my colleague is home. My colleague even has to bathe the baby when she returns from work.

tinklebell,
im due in dec

my mum's health is not v gd, so i'll also feel bad if she has to look after my bb. my MIL not close to me so i dnt tink she'll change her mind. but of cos my mum volunteered to come over supervise the maid on most days. hope my new maid will be competent, dowana go thru e hassle of switch maids/ incur extra costs/ retrain maids...

tamarind,
i c... i intend to ask maid cook her own meals everyday. as a guideline how much shd i give my maid to do marketing for her own meals a week? $20 enough?

i was telling my hubby in the day i want her to focus on bb. evening when i return den she do hsewrk. anw my hse v small la, nothing much for her to do oso...

i also think i will be doing the same thing as you. i think during my ML, i will work out a schedule for maid and BB so that at least when i go back to work, she knows what she needs to do. In the day, i will want her to focus on bb. and when bb sleeps, she can do some minor housework. then when i m home, i will want her to prepare dinner and i will take over from there. major things like mopping floor etc will leave to weekends. laundry also no need to do everyday so shd be quite simple.

the main thing will still be baby and preparation of dinner during weekdays. and weekends when i m at home will be the major cleaning.

SY,
then we can exchange tips n pointers!

ive started to draw up weekly schedule for the maid. mainly in the day she will be kept bz looking aft baby, plus minor hsewrk like washing clothes (machine +handwash) and sweeping the floor. in the evening when i return home she can rest n hv dinner, den resume looking aft bb. over the wkends, when im around she can then wash toilets, clean windows, mop floor etc..

my hsehold is v simple and my hse is clean. not much to do. no elderly at home, so i tink shes quite lucky n im paying gd $$ for her too!

whens ur maid arriving? how much r u paying n which agency did u use?

tamarind, glad 2 hear tt u found a gd maid after 4 bad 1s.

sy, dun regret. u can always move 2 b near ur parents.

2005, taking care of a nb bb doesn't take up much time coz they r always sleeping. she'll definitely hv time 2 do hsewk. 1 tip, get a note book 4 ur maid & asked her 2 write down ur bb's schedule 4 d day. eg, 8am - drink milk (60ml), 8.15am - sleep, 10am - wake up, etc. then u'll hv an idea of wat ur bb does in d day & aso 2 chk whether she is doing d correct thing. thru tis mtd, i realized tt my maid dun change my boy's diapers regularly, so i told her off abt it.

sy / 2005, jus 2 share, tink u shld ask ur maid 2 do hsewk such as sweeping or mopping d flr everyday. reason being, when ur bb noe how 2 crawl, hygience is veri impt. if u ask her 2 sweep or mop d flr then, she might not b happi abt it. it's always better 2 reduce her wkload rather than incr it, if u noe wat i meant. as 4 hsewk such as cleaning d windows, she can do it once a wk.

My maid usually buys about $25, but other maids may be different. You can give her $30, ask her to show you the receipt and return you all the change, then you can review what she is buying and see if it is reasonable.

One suggestion is ask her to batch cook meals for a few days at one time, then freeze it. When she wants to eat, she can take out and warm up. My maid is doing this, it's her own initiative and it saves a lot of time.

I agree with vone. Mopping floor should be done everyday, or at least on alternate days. Babies will definitely sleep for some time, she should have time to do this. Otherwise the maid will be very free and start chatting with her friends on the phone. By the way, I do not allow my maid to have handphone since she is taking care of young babies and may get distracted easily.

Hi Tinkerbell/first_mum, the work schedule for the maid is different when you are a FTWM.
Even though I'm a SAHM, I do monitor what my maid does from time to time.

Every family has a different system of doing work. But when there is a baby/toddler around, the most important criteria is SAFETY. I get my maid to clean 1 room first, so that my kids can stay inside while she mops the rest of the place.

I have 2 mops-one for the room and the other strictly for the kitchen. Mopping the house is alternate days but vacuum every day.

My maid doesn't eat duck, salted eggs, soupy stuff, vegetables and eggs which are not well-done.

I've told my maid she is not to eat food meant for the kids. Also, when testing whether food is hot or not, she is not allowed to taste it.