Advice pls: Starting on Solids

the oats must be cook, if nt hv to use hot boiling water to soak for a while to soften it.

if u want to just add warm fm, can try nature farm, they hv instant oatmeal cereal. just need to add warm water.

Need some help and advises here. I juz started my boy on solids yest and he finish all his rice cereal..Can i know how long shld i be feeding him plain rice cereal and when can i intro him to cubes of veggies and fruits etc. I am a working mummy and hence i may need to freeze the veggies n fruits and get my mum to feed my boy..also wat timing shld i be feeding my boy the rice cereal and how often a day...Pls pls help...confused n troubled..

forgot to add that he is now 5.5mths..also wat veggies and fruits shld i be introducing to him now as first food as he juz started on solids..n is there any thing i need to take note of etc allergy and how much veggies or fruits shld i intro per time..totally lost...

augbaby, the rule of thumb is to introduce new food every 4 days so as to watch for any allergic reactions. I actually fed my girl rice cereal for a week, then later on introduced the fruits and vegies.

I think the safest fruit to try for now is pears. For a list of solid foods to introduce, you may wish to refer to this site www.wholesomebabyfood.com

hi there?
my 9mths old bb doesn't like to eat cereals at all...have prob feeding her cereals, she loves brown rice though...wondering if she can eat bread now, and what type of bread is recommended now?
anyone any advise?

can i check if it is ok to freeze avacado, apples and sweet potato etc? Is there any fruits or veggies that shld not be freeze into the cube tray for bb?

Hi Moomooko,

yes you can feed your baby bread. Wholemeal will be good. For me, I only buy from bakery. I don't buy those in supermarkets cos of preservatives.

Hi Jackie

which bakery shop you patronise?
wholemeal from bakery you will not know the ingredients rite?
heard tt bb cannot take wheat products at 9mths must wait till 1 year? most wholemeal bread contain wheat also rite?
anyone any advise?

Hi Moomooko,

So far I buy from Four Leaves and the swiss bakery in some Coldstorage. Yes, we won't know ingredient so I don't give alot or everyday. I started giving her when she was 8 months and she's ok. She likes it too cos it's very fresh and soft. She'll always open her mouth and ask for more. I put cheddar cheese on top at times.

Hi Moomooko,

I gave cheese when she was 7.5 months. Very little at the begining.

I gave broccoli when she was 6 months.

Hi Missk,

Cheddar cheese can be bought from any super market. Kraft will do. Don't buy the low fat type.

Hi Jackie...happy new year to you!

How much bread can you bb eat?
my gal love it so much every breakfast i'll feed her 1 piece of bread...is it too much or not?
do you cut the cheddar cheese into small pieces when you put on top of the bread?

Hi MooMooKo,

Gong Hei Fatt Choy!

I usually give her 3/4 to one full slice of bread cos the bread from bakery are very soft & light...and she loves it too. And I only give her in the morning for breakfast...not everyday though. She'll have bread with cereal.

For cheese, if I buy the cube ones I'll slice it into smaller pieces for her. If it's the slice form, I'll just break it & feed wihout bread. Tried putting it in her hands and encourage her to self feed,...she doesn't like it. She love cheese too. She will reject cereal or porridge bit not bread or cheese.

You can give her yogurt too! She may like it.

My ger is 8mths+, coming 9mths. When can start yogurt? original plain one? usually which kind and where u all buy it?

Btw anyone knows wat is e difference between cereal & porridge? cos i m grinding my own white & brown rice into powder n then cook it myself. Some ppl told me tat is cereal while others say its porridge. Anyone can enlighten me?

How abt Oats & barley? when can i start, both contain gluten? Also which kind of oats/barley to buy? rolled oats or other kinds? anyone of u homemade oats/barley n grind yourself?

anyone knows where to buy Hipp Organic white rice cereals except brown rice paradise?

BRP sold out liao so would like to know where other places can I get the white rice cereals...

jackie, i give up finding suitable cheese here in jkt. In the end, I bought shredded cheddar cheese from Australia. I reaf the ingredients for cheddar ...most contan salt. I decided to close an eye.

My son kinda likes yoghurt..thank god (he's usually rather fussy). Yah..moomookoo, you can try giving yoghurt. Very nutritional stuff!

do I need to feed my baby rice cereals if he is sick?

I am confused. How many times per time I should give rice cereal to a 7 mths old baby & how many times per day to give porridge? Should I feed him milk after giving the rice cereal/porridge?

My baby is coming 7mths but I onli give him rice cereal & is not on a daily basis.

blueblue
I continue to feed my boy cereal n porr when he's sick. but appetite may nt be gd as he's nt feeling well

I started to give rice cereal twice a day 3 weeks after i started him rice cereal. Start him on porr when he was abt 7.5mths. started him on 1 meal porr, 1 meal cereal initially to finish the cereal. then twice porr a day.

Ur bb is now 7mths, hv to give him cereal / porr with veg daily. after 6 mths they need more than milk to grow

Start with half a cup...if no allergies then you may give more. My girl was taking a full cup (yoplait) when she was 10 months.

when can we give cheese to bb? i wanted to bake pasta wif some cheese for him to eat but when i go to places like cold storage, i saw that most cheese has alot of sodium which is salt rite? a friend told me we can give my bb who is 9mths + cottage cheese..but i only saw 2 brands n 1 is bulla which has only low fat cheese..thou not so gd to give bb low fat..where n wat type of cheese can i give my 9mths plus bb and also where can i get those abc pasta for him..pls advise...many thanks

thks ylyl!

Do I still need to feed him milk after the cereal? Coz he is always impatient and cannot keep still thus he did not take much.

new to this thread.
Hav a question dun noe if itz been asked b4.

Can bbs starting to wean take those local produce like kailan, caixin, bakchoy etc?

I'm new too. my baby is 7mths now. can she take tofu? at 7mths fish is ok too? currently she's only eating cereal with fruits or vege. Thanks.

i thk fish is ok at 7 months.

any mum can advise how to encourage baby to eat more. my baby after eating several mouthfuls of porridge would start to blow out her food. My husband says that's a sign of her rejecting her food already and forbid me to force-feed her. its such a waste i always waste my effort cooking for her.

I just started my 5 month plus old bb on cereal - once a day - as he's refusing milk. It's a battle to feed him.

Does anyone know what is the minimum milk amt that a 6-month old bb should drink?

many thanks.

Hi DecBB,
Is ur bb borned in Dec?

6mths old bb shd b drinking 24-32oz per day.
But weaning bbs this age milk intake will drop to abt 18-24oz.

hello all,

if I want to cook home-made oatmeal, what kind of oat should I buy? I saw a brand "Origins" in NTUC that have a kind of oats called "Baby Oats".

thanks sungrapes. Do you know where can buy good organic rolled oats? Besides, do I need to grind them first before cooking or blend them after cooking?

jasda,
i dun noe where to get organic oats..i think some NTUC or most gd supermarts has organic section..

the grinding part depends on how old ur bb is. i will grind it b4 cooking,less messy since itz dry. my bb is cmg 10mo.

I just started my baby on solids today, at 5 mths.

Giving him Heinz rice cereal.

I find the feeding instructions confusing though. It says, mix a teaspoon of cereal to BM & mix till very runny. After that, feed 1 -2 teaspoon.

Isn't tat too little? I fed my baby at least half the total amt (after cereal has been mixed with BM)!! Gosh..hope I didn't overfeed him...but he seemed to like eating it tho!

Advice anyone ? On feeding instructions..thanks!

tare1919, there are no fixed rules when should bb start solids. recommended is after 4 months. as long as the bb can hold his/her head, that means the bb is ready. bb wil spit out more than swallow at first bcos its a new thing to learn to swallow. sucking is a reflex so no need to learn.

start with rice cereal or oats mized with milk as it is the least allergy causing food. then slowly add on yellow or orange coloured vegetables like carrot or potato etc, intoduce meat and fish after 8 months or so. some ppl choose to delay fish till 1 yr old.

my baby coming 5 months and she have eczema and she is allergy to barley as doc say she might allergy to wheat (barley is wheat also). Brown rice have gluten and she might be allergy to it also. Any mummies here have the same problems and which cereal did you intro to ur baby? My baby is on soy FM now, so her stools is very hard and she hates drinking water, tats y i haven intro her solids yet.

PLS HELP!!!

Joey, u can check out organic stores, they have alot of plain gluten-free products u can give baby. my boi also allergic to alot of things. i buy all his food fm organic shops

Hi ston's mama,

Can organic shop you can recommand? I bought the HT Brown rice cereal d=from NTUc but dont dare to let her try yet cos scare she is allergy to it. Heard brown rice also got gluten. And now due to her soy FM, her stools damm hard like marble lo. Scare if she take cereal can cause her constipation leh.

can i also ask - when the baby can be introduced to semi solids, can we wean them from the nipple bottles and move them to spout-shaped bottles to have water ?

I have just started my girl on solid and I gave her frisocream but I find it such a battle to feed her. She simply refused to open her mouth when the spoon is put near her and would even cry when we tried to put the cereal into her mouth. We tried by putting the bottle near her instead and she will open her mouth. Does it mean tat she is not ready for solid? She is 6 mths old oredi. Or cld it be tat she dun like frisocream?

My girl is now 6.5mths. i've started her on solids since 6mths. so far she's ok. so far she's taken the HT Cereals, pumpkin, potato, carrots. And some veg based jar food. she takes apples every morning.

i steamed potato yesterday and found that it's quite bitter tasting. how do mummies here make the potatos ?

when can give egg yolk ? i saw a recipe of egg yolk + potato

Hi Shippo,

I tried Heinz organic rice cereal instead and she is now taking it v well. Thanks.

Does anyone noe if Earthbest rice cereal is good?

I will be introducing porridge soon and I'm wondering if I should intro it as lunch or dinner? Currently she is taking cereal at 11am so if I intro porridge as lunch instead, when should she take her cereal? Can it be in the morng or evening instead?

Hi Happy,

I have only used HT with my baby and he likes it. I haven't used Earthbest before.

In response to your 2nd question, let me share with you my feeding schedule for my 7 month-old. Milk when he wakes at 8am, rice cereal+milk at 11am, oatmeal at 2pm+milk, porridge at 5pm, and milk at 8pm. You can switch the solids around the different time slots depending on your convenience - it doesn't make a difference to baby. He is eating solids well but I make sure he drinks a minimum of 20oz of milk/day.