Advice pls: Starting on Solids

mybabydream,
tsp = teaspoon
tbsp = tablespoon

Think it's up to u whether to use scoop or metal spoon, the qty of solids (eg. cereal) no need to be so precise. If fm, yes, must be precise that's why they always come with a scoop.

sp,
aiyoh, your MIL's method is wrong you know. babies below 6mths old should get most of their nutrients from milk, but after 6mths it needs to come mostly from solid foods. for your niece to be drinking milk 6x/day at that age is ridiculuous leh. the reason your niece loves her milk so much now is because she's probably become a milkaholic!

sorry gotta go feed my dd now, will post again later

I just finish reading this thread yesterday and really learn a lot from the posting...

Gina Ford
The book on Contented of BB Weaning is out of stock in Borders... Don't know whether to order or wait for the new version...

Need to check, my son is 5mth and 1week old, he don't like to drink milk probably take about 500ml in the day time and I latch him when I am back his drinking schedule is as follow :-
8am -- 180ml
1230am -- 150ml
5pm -- 170ml
8pm -- Latch on
1130 -- Latch on
(occassionall will ask for milk at 2am)

Plan to introduce some solid food to him next weeks should I start with cereal or fruits?
I read from the thread I should start off in the afternoon. But his milk drink session in the afternoon is quite late so shall I feed him 100ml and then follow by cereal I tbsp with EBM?

sp,
ok i can continue now as my dd just went to bed. let me address your niece's situation 1st, as i think it's rather serious. a MAJOR reason your niece is drinking so much milk and so frequently is because she is GENUINELY hungry. your MIL could be inadvertently starving her you know, that's why your niece has to drink so much milk and so frequently in order to satisfy her hunger. at 10.5mths old, babies MUST be taking 2-3 solid meals a day, and only 3 milk feeds a day. they MUST eat 2-3 solid meals a day because milk ALONE (no matter how much or how often you feed them) WILL NOT satisfy their hunger. aiyoh...doesn't your SIL know what your MIL is doing to her daughter? there could be long-term medical repurcussions here, as your niece could be slowly starving, and may not grow properly as she is NOT getting the proper nourishment that she needs for her age.

ok, you imagine being in her situation. in the morning you wake up and have 1 meal, then for the rest of the day don't eat anything except just drink liquids (be it milk, juice, water, etc) every 1.5-2.5hrs. wouldn't you be hungry too, and then need to keep drinking every 1.5-2.5hrs in order to satisfy that hunger? would you do this to yourself? do you think you would be getting proper nourishment if you just take 1 meal a day and drink milk the rest of the day? if you won't then can you bear it being done to a little baby?

i feel that you also need to do something about this, becuase if you don't then i'm afraid your MIL might end up doing the same thing to your son!

the reason your PD was probably not too concerend about your bb's milk intake at that age is because he should be eating solids already, and so long as he takes 16-20oz of milk per day, he is getting enough. i think if your PD found out that your MIL is refusing to feed your bb solids at this age, then he WILL be concerned, becuase by 6 mths all babies MUST be fed solids already. i doubt any PD would be giving you tips on how to increase your bb's milk intake at 6mths, as usually from this age onwards they will naturally decrease their milk intake.

you know, sometimes these old folks mean well, but they really do not know that some of the things they're doing may be wrong and detrimental to the health of our babies. eg last time our grandmas used to feed our parents diluted condensed milk! they said ok what, bb still survive and grow. but would you feed that to your bb now??

btw, how much milk in total does your bb drink per day, and how many feeds does he get? i seriously think you need to revamp his feeding lah...

if you want to get an idea of what a 6mth old's daily feeding schedule is like, look at this plan from KKH: http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/FoodnNutrition/Weaning.htm
as you can see, even nutritionists from KKH are recommending that at 6mths old, babies eat 2 solid meals a day, and have 4 milk feeds a day, and that by the time they are 7mths old, they have 3 solid meals a day and 3 milk feeds a day. so you see, the way your MIL is feeding both your bb and your niece is NOT the right way. you need to do something about this, and do it FAST.

poko,
if you plan to start weaning soon then get the book now, so that you can start reading and planning before the weaning process starts.

and when you wean, ALWAYS start off w/ rice cereal first, then can introduce fruits. never do it the other way around.

you said your bb's afternoon feeding time is late. but looking at your schedule, 12.30pm is ok what? that's not late. that is the lunch feed, so that would be the BEST time to start weaning, ie. introducing the 1st solid meal. and when you want to introduce the 2nd solid meal, i would say the 8pm feeding time would be best (or whenever you feed your bb dinner). then 3rd solid meal would be breakfast.

btw, 500ml of FM per day (not including BM) is ok. your bb is definitely drinking enough.

Hi Lani,

Just wondering if u have fed your bb oatmeal like Quaker's instant oatmeal? My bb is 6mths+ & I have just introduced it. I'm oso thinking getting "Origins" Oat brans (it is organic) but not too sure how to prepare it. Or anyone knows how to prepare it?

When can we introduce other types of grains? Like Wheat or mix grains? Must wait till 8mths or 1 year? Thanks

LSM,
i have not introduced Quaker Oats to my dd yet, but i hope to do so. I am just not sure at what age they can eat that. i asked some other mummies, and they all told me their babies can't eat it yet, or don't really like it, so i thought i'd wait a while more. does your bb like it?

Hi Lani
Thank you very much, it really solve my problem keep asking myself which one to start first keekee
btw I got a box of healthy time cereal can I know how long can I keep after it is open?

hi Lani,

I really like to read this thread. You are always sharing valuable info with all the mummies here. I learnt so much from you. Thanks for that and pls continue sharing.

Hi, Lani,
I'm more worried after reading what u wrote. Will get my hb to talk with my FIL and MIL today.

It was my FIL who asked us to stop feeding cereal/ puree since Monday 13/2. On the other hand, my hb has arranged with his mum to start porridge. Mon morning 13/2 our bb took a bit of porridge, Tue 14/2 he was not keen (refused to open mouth) but in the end got eat a bit. Wed onwards no more porridge.

What we heard was, Mon & Wed his milk intake was poor, other days ok. His feeding schedule varies depending on the time of his 1st feed. He's very naughty, he won't drink milk when he wakes up.

On good days, 1st feed will be 9am. On bad days, will be as late as 10+am. Thereafter, will be intervals of 2.5 hrs for fm or 1.5 hrs for bm. Each feed will offer 4oz but he will only finish 1 feed per day on average. The other feeds he'll waste between 1/2 to 2oz of milk.

Rough feeding schedule:
9am - 4oz fm
11.30am - 4oz fm
2pm - 4oz fm
4.30pm - 4oz bm
6pm - 4oz bm
thereafter will be latch on.
He's hard to feed when he's awake, we often hv to wait till he's sleepy before we manage to feed him milk.

Lani, what is the best way to revamp his feeding schedule?

My niece's feeding schedule is more predictable:
6+am wake up - 5oz
8+am - porridge
10am - 7oz
1pm - 7oz
4pm - 7oz
7pm - 7oz
9+pm before sleep - 6oz
She doesn't finish her milk all the time though.

hi lani,
do you mix your veges up or serve them to your gals one by one? I am running out of ideas cos cannot give too much carrot, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, potatoes and peas cos either too much beta carotene or too much "wind". Think will have to expand the reportiore soon. does your bb like zuchinni? haven't tried that yet. My gal just turned 7 months - guess it is time to stop pureeing but am so scared she will choke. Any idea how i should start mashing and what is the best food to start with? can I also double check what's the min. milk intake required for 7 month old? lately, she has been showing less interest in her milk - time to increase the solids intake. I am still giving milk first before solids - u think it is time to switch the order?

sp,
hmm.. I also think it is not a good idea to not give solids. but think you will have a bit of difficulty explaining to your inlaws right? hai.. have to do it tactfully since they are helping you take care of hh.

today i only have time to read postings (no time to post anything) cause tonight is my sis' wedding. so to sp & tuffy, i will address your concerns late tonight or tomorrow ok?

tigger,
you're most welcome. i am always happy to share. i remember, when i wanted to start weaning too, i searched the whole of this forum looking for tips on how to go about it, but there wasn't any thread, so no choice, i had to go read tons of books and websites and do it all on my own. but i guess it was a blessing in disguise, cause now i can share what i've learnt with other mummies who are now in the same situation i was in. my hubby even told me i should write a book on weaning for s'porean mummies...hee...

Lani
I bought the Earth Best oatmeal cereal from Brown Rice paradise already. I tasted the cereal and it had a sweet taste, unlike the Heinz rice cereal. Is it normal? My ds obviously loves it....

ixwong,
i've never tasted any of the bb cereal before, but i guess it should be normal lah. heehee...if your ds loves it then good lor, cause it's very healthy and good for him!

tuffy,
i mix up the veges and DO NOT serve them one by one. my dd LOVES zuchinni.

if you wanna start giving mashed food, what you can do is to pulse it in your blender - that way, it is not as fine as pureed food but still not as coarse as mashed up food (ie mashing using a potato masher or normal spoon/fork). you need to get your bb slowly used to the different texture. then once bb is used to it, you slowly make the food coarser and lumpier. if you notice your bb gagging too much when eating, that means the food is too lumpy/coarse, so you will need to make it finer.

maybe you can start with the "softer" veges, like sweet potato, carrot, zuchinni, pumpkin, cauliflower, brocolli, etc. don't start with leafy veges yet, as those can cause bb to choke easily if it is mashed up. remember hor, meats MUST still be pureed at this age.

as for milk, at 7mths intake should be around 16-20oz. and at this age you should be giving solids first before milk (ie at lunch and dinner). in fact, at 7mths i stopped giving my dd milk at lunch and dinner already. she only drank milk when wake up, in mid-afternnon at 3pm and 3rd feed before bedtime.

mybabydream,
sometimes you need to add a bit of water in order for the veggies/fruits to be blended properly. if you boiled the veggies/fruits, just add some of the leftover boiled water. if you actually steamed it, then you need to add boiled water or cooled boiled water (don't use tap water). do not add milk, cause if you plan to freeze the veggies/fruits, milk may cause it to turn bad faster, and you can't keep in freezer for that long.

sp,
here's my advice on how you can readjust your bb's feeding schedule:

in the morning (ie around 9am+) feed him FM (as much as he can take). if he drinks less than 4oz, what you can do is to stagger the feed into 2 parts, ie feed as MUCH as you can, then burp him, then feed the rest of the milk around 15-20mins later.

then don't feed anymore until around 12pm/12.30pm. at this feeding, you should give him solids too (esp now that he is already 6.5mths old). you have 2 choices - either just feed solids only (but if you choose this then must give a substantial amount) or you can feed some milk, followed by some solids. over time, decrease the amount of milk and increase the solids, until one day you eliminate the milk alltogether.

you said he does not eat much porridge. many bbs (my dd included) may not take a liking to the taste and texture of porridge immed. that's why when you first wean you start with rice cereal and pureed veggies first. then you can slowly introduce porridge. you need to perservere. if he rejects the porridge, then stop. continue feeding rice cereal with pureed veggies, then try introducing porridge again a few days later. you gotta be patient lor when weaning bbs. my dd didn't accept porrdge till she was 9mths old!

ok, then next feeding will be at 3pm/3.30pm. at this feeding just give milk only, and as much as he can take. if he doesn't want to drink too much don't worry, cause he just had lunch and will be having dinner soon. anyway this milk feeding is the least important of all the feeds, and most bbs would have dropped this feed after a year old.

then, next feeding will be at 6pm/6.30pm. you follow exactly what you did at the 12pm/12.30pm lunch feeding, ie. you should give him solids too (esp now that he is already 6.5mths old). you have 2 choices - either just feed solids only (but if you choose this then must give a substantial amount) or you can feed some milk, followed by some solids. over time, decrease the amount of milk and increase the solids, until one day you eliminate the milk alltogether.

and then before his bedtime, you give him one last milk feeding. at this feeding you can give either FM or latch on, and let him drink as much as he can take. if he doesn't drink that much, do what i advised you to do at the morning feeding. feed as much as he can take, then burp him, rest for a while (let him play, read books, etc), and continue feeding 15-20mins later.

don't worry too much about how much milk he is taking at this age. you need to be more concerned about introducing solids to him. as long as he is taking most of his milk, it's ok. at this age as long as he takes 16oz of milk a day (i/c any BM) is fine.

i hope the above method works out! good luck and keep me posted on the progress!

tuffy,
Thanks for yr kind words.
Sigh, my hh started mild diarrhea since fri. We have fed him medicine & he's on slightly diluted fm, hope he gets well soon.

Lani,
Wow, yr sister's wedding on sat! Very exciting & busy weekend for u ! How did u dress up yr dd?

Re: No solids?!
In the end we didn't say anything to in-laws as bb got diarrhea, got to wait till he's ok. What bad timing.

Re: my niece
Surprisingly, she's gaining weight very well on lots of milk & only 1 solids per day. She was 9+kg when she 9 MO, her PD said that's the weight of 1 yr old already.

I think that will make it even harder to convince my in-laws on the importance of solids.

Hi, Lani,
Just saw yr posting after I posted mine, keke. Thanks very much for yr help! Hope to implement it as soon as my bb's diarrhea is over. I'll keep u posted on the progress.

LSM, Lani,

Re: Quaker Oats
The porridge my MIL cooks is using the Quick Cooking (blue) Quaker Oats. She boils the soup stock using chicken breast meat & carrots, then when ready will put in the oats & bits of vege. She stirs marmite into it just before serving.

This is the "porridge" that my niece gets once a day. My bb got to taste it twice last Mon & Tue.

Lani
If you were to write a book on weaning, I would definitely buy your book. Hehe.. Thanks for your effort in explaining and sharing your experiences and knowledge. In fact, your hubby is rite lah.

Lani,
Hopefully the oatmeal cereal will help in his poo. I'm giving him more 4 scoops of oatmeal cereal w 1 scoop of rice cereal cos oatmeal cereal is v light, must use more to get 1/2 bowl....

Another question. Do u mix the veg together with cereal/porridge? I'm currently mixing abt 2 cubes of veg with the cereal when feeding ds.

Lani, sp

My bb takes the instant quaker's oatmeal (red tin) as breakfast to vary from gerber rice cereal. She refuses it the first day we let her try but on the 2nd day, she finishes 1 tablespoon. Then, on the 3rd, we increase to 3 tablespoon & she finishes it all! Nowadays, she takes 2 - 3 tablespoon for breakfast. I read a book on weaning meant for Asian parents called "Feed your child right" & it says we can introduce oatmeal from 6mths onwards. So, i thought it should be fine cos it's very nutritious.

ixwong,
Re the Earth best oatmeal cereal, is there indication on when we can feed bb oatmeal? Thinking of getting that for bb too. What about Healthy Times mixed grain? When can we give bb this? Thanks

Hi LSM,

Where did you buy the "Feed your child right" book from? I'm interested to get a copy too, if its meant for asian parents/babies

sp,
ok, must DEFINITELY give your son some solids VERY soon hor....it's really important to introduce solids to bbs properly so that it won't lead to future feeding problems.

if your son doesn't like the "porridge" that your MIL prepares then try rice cereal, or brown rice cereal or the regular rice porridge that we usually feed bbs.

my dd wore a red dress. nothing fancy lah. actually, the "busy" period is not over yet for us, it's only beginning! because this sat we are flying off to Melbourne to attend her wedding reception there! so now busy doing packing, etc.

btw, your niece is putting on weight is because of the milk intake. normally bbs who drink too much milk after a certain age tend to gain weight very fast and become overweight for their age/size.

ixwong,
yes, i mix in all the veggies with the rice cereal/porridge - makes the cereal/porridge nicer mah.

LSM,
baby oatmeal cereal can feed from 6mths onwards. multigrain also can feed from around 6-7mths onwards.

Lani
My bb is 8 mths now. She is on earthbest cereal with fruits for lunch and porridge for dinner. Is it ok or I should give her 2 porridge per day. Is brown rice cereal too old for her age now cos I feel that cereal is for beginners.

hi lani,
thanks for the tips! I tried giving her porridge with a mixture of veges. She didn't take to them v well. Today, will try to give with less variety, see if she likes it better. Maybe the tastebuds were overwhelmed.

sp,
good luck - hope hh's feeding pattern regularises soon. know how stressful it is for the mummy...

Hi, Lani,
I will re-start solids as soon as he's better. Can't afford to risk more feeding problems in future.

Enjoy yr coming trip to Melbourne! I love Melbourne, hope got chance to go there again.

Re: "Lani's weaning book"
kao_love.gif

Seriously, please consider writing a book on weaning, I want to buy leh!

tuffy,
thanks very much. How is jw's milk intake nowadays, is she taking same qty + solids (extra)?

Hi lani,
tis is my baby's schedule:

6-7am: 5oz (usually can't finish them)
10am: 5oz
1pm: porridge (blended fish, and sometimes carrots) eats abt 1/2 small bowl
4pm: 5oz
7pm: 4-5oz
will fall asleep before last milk feed, so she will wake up abt:
1am: 4-5oz

I am thinking of introducing more solid food coz she likes porridge but my MIL keeps saying can eat so much porridge meh? They shld be drinking more milk now...
And if I introduce more solid food, which schedule shld I let her eat?...

Thanks so much!

BTW: My baby is 6.5 months old.
Is it ok if baby eats very sticky porridge? My MIL will cook until very sticky... until the porridge is all stuck to the spoon one...

sp,
hmm.. lately her milk intake has gone down. when she first started on solids, the solids were extra and I managed to increase her milk intake too (not sure why). Now, trying to increase her solids without cutting back her milk intake too drastically.

bbrooster,
if your bb can eat porridge 2x/day then you can go ahead and give. but if she prefers to have the cereal for lunch then can still continue for about another mth lah. good to start training her to eat 2 proper meals a day at 8mths old, then later you can give b'fast too. btw b'fast got all kinds of cereals you can give. you can also give some fruits at b'fast time.

tuffy,
if your bb is not used to so much veges being miced to her cereal/porridge then add in 1 vege at a time. you're right, her tastebuds may be overstimulated so you gotta introduce slowly. remember, bbs are used to bland tastes and their tastebuds are very different from ours.

hoshi,
i address your questions later in the afternoon, cause i gotta go get my dd's lunch ready before she wakes up from her nap!

lani
my gal basically eats anything but I am lazy to wake up early in the morning to cook porridge so I feed cereal with fruits for lunch. She usually wakes up at 9 or 10am (sleeps about 11 hours straight). There is no time to squeeze in breakfast. And I read it is not good to wake up a sleeping baby. I guess as long as she is healthy and weighs normal should be fine right? At 8 mths she is 8.3kg.

Did you mention your daughter is eating 4 cubes of veg and 1 cube of meat? Do you mean for the day or for each feed. Cos I only cook 2 cubes of veg (e.g. pumpkin & spinach) a bit too little is it?

bbrooster,
if that's the case then it's fine! your dd seems very healthy and has a good attitude towards food/eating.
you're right, it's not good to wake up a sleeping baby, esp. in the middle of the night or in the mornings. you know, sleep is VERY important to bbs, cause that is the time when the brain development occurs.

the 4cubes + 1cube is per meal. aiyah, my dd is already past 11mths old, that's why she eats so much! hehe. i read that per day, they should have 3-4 servings of vege (1 serving is approx 2 tbsp), so based on that calculation that's why she gets 8 cubes of vege per day.

hoshi,
can i check what time your bb goes to bed at night? that way easier for me to gauge what is the best time for your bb to have dinner and bedtime milk.

hoshi,
i assume your bb goes to bed at 7pm right? i noticed you said that your bb usually will fall asleep before she finishes her 7pm feed. is that correct? if that's the case then you need to push that feeding slightly earlier, before your bb gets sleepy. the last feed of the night is VERY important, cause it determines if your bb will wake up for a middle of the night feed or not. if the bb does not get enough milk, she will definitely wake up in the middle of the night for another feeding. and seeing that your bb does wake up at 1am for another feed, i'm guessing this is what's happening in your case. so if you can, push the bedtime feeding to 6.30pm. once your bb drinks enough at this feeding, i can assure you in time she will stop waking up at 1am for a feed.

and another reason why your bb does not finish her 6/7am feed is also because she already had wuite fair bit of milk at 1am, so is therefore not that hungry at 6/7am. usually babies who sleep right thru the night would be hungry by the time they wake up in the morning and would drink quite a fair amount of milk. once the 1am feeding is eliminated, your bb will prob also drink more at 6/7am.

hoshi,
at 6.5mths, so long as your bb is drinking 16-20oz of milk per day, she is getting enough. try not to go over 24oz per day.

i am assuming that your dd wakes up at 6.30am and goes to bed at 7pm. in order to introduce 1 more solid meal, try to schedule her feeding this way:

6/7am wake up milk
9.30/10am mid morning snack (if you want to give milk can, but provided that her daily intake does not exceed 24oz) or you can give fruits or yoghurt.
12pm lunch porridge
2.30pm milk
5pm dinner porridge
6.30pm milk
7pm bedtime

btw, i think sticky porridge is alright, so long as your bb likes it it's ok.

hoshi,
forgot to tell you. if in future you wanna introduce b'fast to your bb, you can fit it in here:

6/7am wake up milk
9am breakfast (cereal or yoghurt or toasted bread)
12pm lunch porridge
2.30pm milk
5pm dinner porridge
6.30pm milk
7pm bedtime

pol/hoshi,
sorry, the daily milk intake should not exceed 32oz (ie 4 full bottles) for babies at 6-12mth, however i think most babies at this age drinks approx 24oz only per day (ie 3 feedings).
however, after 1 yr old, milk intake should be NO MORE than 20oz (ie should be b/w 12-20oz only). this is recommended by COMA.

I'm a mummy,

I got my book from popular. It's written by Lynn Alexander & Yeong Boon Yee & highly recommended by the National Book Development Council. It's a dark pink colour book.

Do your have prob with bb having hard stool or pinkish fluid coming out from bb's anus when u wipe it after bb has pooed? A bit worried it's blood & duno is it cos of heatiness due to brown rice porridge. I've been giving brown rice porridge for weeks already & recently 2 days got this problem.. what food is gd to ensure softer stool ha? Thanks.

Hi lani
Just want to check I steam-boil dried organic prunes till it is soft and pureed it with cooked organic apples together to give it to my 5.5 mth old son so far he loves it and there is no food allergy to it..but when I read the Gina Ford book it says best to give it as finger food at 8 mths and above..if that is the case, should I stop giving him this puree?

triniti,
i'm not too sure about this, cause i have never fed sarah any pureed prunes before. what was the reason given in Gina Ford's book about waiting till after 8mths? if it's because of food allergy and your son doesn't show any i guess it should be ok? but always good to be safer than sorry. until today i have not yet fed sarah any eggs, foods w/ honey or nuts, berry-fruits or citrus fruits yet. will prob wait till after she is 1yr old.

pol,
the contact is James Chan tel: 97887807

Hi lani,
u mention that after 1yr old, milk intake no more than 20oz, that is many feeds per day? can the pooh agar agar be given to 9mos dd? thks

Lani - thanks for sharing all the weaning tips. I am starting to read up on weaning cos my boy is almost 4 months. Plan to wait until 6months to start intoducing solids, unless my boy shows obvious signs of wanting solids. Will consult you more later..

beside threadfin, do you give your dd other kind of fish? mi only give my gal theadfin so far and she is eight mth plus.

as for peas, is it those frozen types ah? of snowpeas?

pol,
don't have website, but i think they can email you the pics. the price about $38 for a whole Pooh agar.

weiwei,
aiyoh, i don't think can give the agar to 9mth old bb lah. i'm sure they put sugar, artificial flavouring and colouring to it...

and for the milk feeds for those above 1 yr old. it's usually 3 feeds. 1x when wake up in the morning, 1x mid-afternoon (b/w lunch and dinner) and 1x before bedtime. in fact my dd has been on this milk feeding schedule since 7mths old. now she is around 11.5mths old and based on my calculation she drinks only 20oz per day. some days maybe 18-19oz only.

btw, the 20oz milk per day i/c milk you use in cooking and in your bb's foods too.

jasmine,
cod fish is highly recommended for bbs, i feed that to my dd. but it's quite expensive lah. at NTUC the price is like $4 for 100g!!!

peas would be the frozen peas, not snow peas. you can also buy fresh peas, but very leceh to prepare, cause you gotta remove the peas from the pods! don't use canned peas hor, cause the sodium content VERY high.