Advice pls: Starting on Solids

Ginger,

Basic equipment needed are:
1. Blender - get one that can blend both dry and wet foods. preferably those that come with different attachments for different foods.
2. Strainer - When starting on pureed foods, you will need to strain the food (blend, then press it through strainer) to ensure that your baby will not choke on the food.

Other things will be standard meal time items. Bowl, spoon, bib, etc.

Mrs Wong,

thanks for your reply.

for strainer are you talking about those that comes in a set? i saw piyo piyo n pigeon usu hae a set and most ppl ask me to get that saying it will be useful. but the looks of it just baffled me!!

any special spoon that we have to use? i know alot of moms recommend the pigeon feeding spoon?

Ginger, for strainer, I bought those normal strainers from houseware stores. Just put the food on it and use a spoon to press through.

Feeding spoon I feel pigeon's design is better. Size and shape wise, easier for baby to eat the food. However, my first nephew, we just use normal metal teaspoon to feed him, also v effective

hi mrs wong

i've not started on porridge, but is gathering and reading up on information that will be helpful when i do soon. but as i'm not the one making the preparation, so need to advise the caregiver too.

will come here when i've more qns. thanks.

My gal is 5mths liao. Been giving her gerber rice cereal. But she does not seem to like it very much. Thinking of trying dumex cereal. Any comments??? And can all cereal mix into milk and feed from the bottle???

Anyone try making potato puree b4? Do we steam or boil it?
Tried making it over the wkend by cutting it into small cubes and boil it for abt 30mins, but still very hard to mash it.
Please advise me how should i go abt it? Thanks.

Tricia, I believe in giving the best, even if the kid hates it. If you 'give in' to your child's taste buds from young, you will develop a fussy eater.
5 mths old you can start giving diluted cereal and slowly increase the texture to puree by 6 mths. once your gal can handle the puree texture, you can start cooking other foods to introduce to her. Try to start with veges

Brand wise, I dun believe in commercial formulas, so the choice is really yours

Ling, for potato puree, firstly, buy the right type of potato. The chinese potato (yellow flesh inside) is sweeter, but takes a longer time to boil. The American/Australian potatoes (white flesh) are bland and cook faster (tt's y they are commonly used for baking).

Whichever you choose, try to cut them into 2cm cubes and throw into boiling water. Try not to put too much water, just enough to cover the potatoes. Boil till they are soft (takes around 20-30minutes).

Allow to cool slightly, put into blender with some milk and cereal and blend until smooth. If your child is still on cereal onli, it is safer to strain it first. straining ensures smooth and easy to swallow consistency.

You can add more milk and cereal to let your child get accustomed to the potato taste before you give 100% potato (it does need some milk to be smooth)

Hi Mrs Wong,
Thanks. The potatoes that i bght is mini type frm Australia. I cut the potatoes in smaller than 2cm cubes and boil it for abt 30mins, but still quite hard. Is it normal? Or is it mini potatoes are much harder?

Ling, Usually I need to bake the potatoes in the oven for more than 45 minutes. These potatoes take quite some time to cook.

When you boil the potatoes, did you throw it into boiling water or you placed them in tap water then boil it? There is a difference in timing as if you did the latter, you need to include the time needed for water to boil, which means actual cooking might have been 15-20minutes only.

i'm also wondering when babies can take meats.. some material i read says fish, chicken and beef can be intro after 7m.. but others i read say chicken at 6m; white flesh fish and beef after 10m.. v confusing..

my baby just turned 8m today.. has eaten kurau and chicken.. think i can intro beef? what about salmon?

Fushiastar, the logic behind white fish and beef after 10 mths is cos these foods are high allergens, which means they have higher chances of developing allergies.

Normally I will intro in the following order:
Chicken > pork > white fish > other fish > beef.

Start chicken at 6 months. Introduce new meats at 1 week interval. Which means by the time you reach fish, it should be almost 7-8 months old as there are many types of fish you can introduce.

Regardless of what age the child is at now, it is better to intro things slowly. If your child can handle the texture of beef, then it should not be a problem. Beef tends to be tougher and harder to blend.

Mrs Wong,
Where can I get ikan bilis powder?
So we just add it into the porridge?
Can I add ikan bilis powder into every meal of porridge?

I noticed some of you cook chicken for yr bb and can I know how to cook them? I do not have a blender currently so can I use other method or anyone can share the recipe of cooking chkn/meat? My son is currently 8mths old.

re- green veggies

Apart from spinach, broccoli, peas and cai xin, what other type of green veggies can i introduce to baby's porridge? any recommendations?

Mayday, ikan bilis powder is now widely available at medical halls and in fact, some supermarkets have them also. Add it in when cooking the porridge. Remember to taste it as too much ikan bilis powder may result in the porridge becoming salty. If you are adding it in every meal, you might develop a fussy eater as ikan bilis is very tasty.

If you have not started on introducing meat, I suggest you invest in a blender. A good one from braun that can blend both dry and liquid foods will cost around S$59-99, depending on model. Starting on meats means you need to blend the meat, then strain it. Alternatively, just buy prepared pureed from supermarkets.

I'm a mummy, I usually give my nephews any veges that are on offer. Sometimes it is kailan, at times, cai xin, cabbage, etc etc. Most are alright, except some elderly will tell you not to give kang kong.

Tricia

Not adviseable to put cereal into milk bottle to feed bb as it might cause choking and making bb too full and bb might not be able to tell cereal from milk.

When my bb was 4.5 mths old,wat I do is give my bb heniz plain rice cereal first and after two weeks, introduce veg and fruit veg. (eg: sweet potato, potato, carrot, brocoli, pea, sweet corn, apple, pear, papaya, peach, plum ) U can mix the puree into the rice cereal or give it on it own.

Hope this help and wish u success. Now my boi is coming 7 mths old and he is a greedy boi, watever put into his mouth, he juz take it and eat but lucky for me, he not picky yet.

Hi Mrs Wong,

Re : Stock

Do you freeze the stock in those ice cube tray? Hong long can we keep it?
Do we use one cube to cook porridge everytime?
Can 6mths bb eat porridge with stock?

Summer, it is alright to mix 1 level teaspoon of cereal with milk in a bottle to let the child get used to the taste before the texture. Many kids reject ceral because they do not like the taste, especially if you buy brands that are not flavoured.

Ling, If frozen, you can keep the stock for up to 6 months, but I usually use them up before 3 weeks.

I freeze the stock in ice cube trays, usually I use 2-3 cubes at one time.

at 6 months, you might need to blend and puree the porridge, depending on what you have been feeding your kid. If your kid has already been eating alot of solids, you can try giving v cooked porridge, but be careful.

could i check with you, to start solid,
1) it's better to give white rice cereal or brown rice cereal?
2) cook cereal and add milk? or after feeding cereal, then give milk?
3) the qty of milk to give should be lesser than normal intake (b4 starting solid)?
4) when to give porridge?

Sunny,

1. I personally prefer brown rice cereal due to higher nutritional value. It is also good to allow your kid to develop a liking for healthy alternatives.

2. I add cereal to milk (very diluted) to let the child get used to the taste of the cereal first. Later on, use milk as liquid instead of plain water.

3. Quantity of milk should remain the same due to increased needs (even if started on cereals). Your child might reject the milk as he/she might be full, it is alright.

4. Depends on the progress of your solid feeding. Some kids can handle the texture at 6 months, some can only handle it at 8 months or later.

Mrs Wong,
Thanks but today I went a few chinese medical hall all don't have.
Alternatively maybe I should buy the ikan bilis and blend it myself to store it. Or can I cook the ikan bilis and use the stock for porridge? Ya, will not put for every meal as do not want my bb to become fussy eater.

I will look around for a blender will can blend both dry/liquid food. We should blend the meat before cook or after cook? When you say strain means what?

Mayday,

Which area you try? I'm sure quite a few medical hall in AMK sell cos I buy from them regularly

If you intend to blend and store, make sure you dry the ikan bilis by sunning them very well or bake in oven. Blend them while they are cripsy is the best.

Ikan bilis stock might not keep very well. You can try it though.

Blender I prefer Braun. Personal preference. I have a set given to me 5 years ago, still using it everyday

Meat you should blend after cooking. Straining means you take a metal wire mesh (those we use to strain soup) and press the food through it with a spoon.

mrs wong
do you know where to find healthy times product? i heard that the pdt is good.
is blender really necessary har?

Ya, I saw healthy times at NTUC also.

Sunny, blender is good to have for introducing a variety of foods and flavours to your child starting from 5 months. It's not v expensive and is a good investment.

Simple one will cost around S$59-99, can use for very long time. Plus I use it very frequently now to make cookies and home made peanut butter

Fushiastar, what do you mean by how much tofu in tablespoon to give? You asking how much tofu you can give to 6 mth old?

Start with 1 tbsp to let him/her try out the flavour. Try not to give more than 2 tbsp per day.

mrs wong
i scare that after i bought liao, my mil doesn't wanna use 'cos at her old time, only use teaspoon to mash vege and fruits.
do you use pigeon bb food maker? munchkin manual grinder? and the munchkin net for bb to suck the juice from the mashed fruit?

Sunny, I feel the pigeon bb food maker waste more $$$....cos you can't use it for other uses.

My blender now is used to make home made chilies which we give to frens and relatives...My nephews already grow up, don't need to blend their food anymore, but we still use it everyday.

Fruits and vege can use spoon, but how about meat? I'm sure you don't want your child to lose out on starting on meat. Plus not all veges can be mashed by spoon, how about the green leafy veges?

You should get a easy to use, easy to wash blender so that your MIL will not be afraid to use. If she don't want to use, you can prepare the food over the weekend and freeze into ice cubes. Then just ask your MIL to heat up during meals.

mrs wong
thanks for your advice!
'cos i m a vegetarian, so, don't intend to let my gal have meat, too. hehe...
now great s'pore sales, lots of places got 20% discount, so tempted to buy.
do you buy any thermal pot to carry bb's food when you go out?

mrs wong.. thanks
yep.. was wondering about amount of tofu to give.. can give me suggestions on proteins i can intro now? my baby has tried kurau and chicken and now tofu.. thinking of peas and beans next.. but seems like v little variety..

i have a few questions....

1)i thought of buying the blender too. someone said philips mini blender is good, has anyone used it?

2)and what are the food that requires blending? and wen blended, do we need to add water?

3)and if i want to introduce fruits to my baby of 8mthd old, do i have to blend? if yes, do i have cook the fruits before blending? what fruits would u recommend for blending in order to get puree fruits? and what fruits are suitable to be made into fruit juice?

4)and when u feed bb with fish, how do u ensure there's is no bone? i mean can we trust the fishmonger that he will remove the bones?

5)can bb eat the toufu we adults eat?

6)wen can bb eat cheese? and is the cheese we eat suitable for bb?

Sunny,

I think it is best you talk to your PD regarding a vegetarian diet. Cos kids need the protein to grow up healthy and strong.

Anyway other sources of proteins like legumes will require blending too

Yes, now GSS getting a blender is worth it
You can use the blender to make juice, milk shakes and smoothies also
I feel it is a worthy investment
I usually make smoothies, freeze it into popsicles and use as reward for my nephew

Fushiastar, high protein sources: yoghurt, tofu, cheese, meat, fish, poultry, legumes (beans and peas), etc...

You can try different types of fish. You can also introduce frog... Chinese belief is that a kid will learn to walk and run fast if fed frog, true for me, my bro and my sis...We starting walking unaided at 11mths

When you go to the supermarket, take your time to walk the vege section, there are many veges we don't usually eat, but are good to intro to baby

mybabydream,

1. I personally prefer Braun. Mine has been used heavily by my family for the past 5 years, it is still in excellent condition. It is easy to use, easy to wash...take your time to go see demos at the department stores.

2. The texture to blend to depends on the age of your child and your child's ability to swallow the different textures.
Not all foods will require water when blending, so you must use your own judgement. If you find that the food is very dry when you blend, add some milk or stock

3. 8 months old, you don't need to cook the fruits. Just puree them and feed

If you are keen on introducing juices, you can try vege juices first. All fruits can be made into juice, just that some will require you to add some water/milk.

4. Do not trust your fish monger. No fish will be 100% bone free after deboning. You can buy whole fish from the fish monger, or fillets. Steam it and use a fork to mash it to sieve out bones before blending the fish.

5. Yes, they can eat tofu. Try to get silken tofu as it has less salt.

6. cheese can be given after you introduce meat. Please note that cheese is salty, so you need to melt and mix. Take some time to look at the sodium content when buying cheese. Try to get those with lesser salt content. You can also give cottage cheese, it is soft and easier to feed. Don't give more than 1tbsp per day.

You can also get yoghurt
I buy plain yoghurt and blend it with fruits. Tastes yummy even I will sneak some

when to intro meat..
currently my son has been eating porridge (veg + fish) for abt 1mth since 7mths. as for veg, the choice would be broccoli, round spinach, pumpkin, spinach, carrot. As for fish, it is either cod fish, salmon or threadfin. i try potato but he dun like it. jus intro toufu recently.
any other food i can intro to him...tks
any recipe for pasta..

ixwong: can check how's the arrangement you make with your nanny on solids?
Do you puree the vege/fruits and passed to her for feeding Haowen?

Inc, you can start on meat since your son is already eating fish.

For potatoes, try mixing with some milk and butter. It makes it smoother and more yummy.

Pasta is a good addition to the diet instead of boring porridge everyday. What type of pasta sauce are you interested in introducing? I normally blanch tomatoes, remove the skin, roughly chop to stirfry with veges (carrots, peas, spinach, etc) add water then let it simmer into a nice sauce. I will blend it with cooked pasta, no sieving

Mayday, look out for sales!! I think Best Denki is having promo now

mrs wong
i will check with my PD for the balance diet.

what's the model number of braun you are using?

Mrs Wong,
Can guide me how to make potato puree?
Do I need to blend the potato first or just boil and mash it will do? Do we have to add anything like milk and butter u suggested?

Do we blend food that is cooked and not raw food?
Like chicken, pork and vege etc.

Sunny, I don't have the box anymore, so I'm not sure what is the model number
Anyway, it was bought 5 years ago, doubt they still have the same model

Mayday,

1. Put water to boil.
2. Cut potatoes into 2cm cubes.
3. Throw potatoes cubes into boiling water for 20-30 minutes (use fork to test if cooked).
4. Place potato in blender (mashing is ok if you do a thorough job) with some milk and butter.
5. Blend/mash until desired texture.

I usually blend food after cooking as blending before cooking does not give the desired texture once cooked.

Unless it is things like fruits, then of cos it will be raw

mrs wong: thanks
hubby has banned cheese and yoghurt for now cos of the way thsy are made.. can suggest veg high in protein other than peas and beans? my baby has tried:

rice, bread, oatmael, soya bean
kurau, chicken,
tofu
pumpkin,carrot,spinach,broccoli,xiao bai cai,zuchinni,cabbage
apple,pear,kiwi,watermelon,orange,papaya,mango,banana

gonna try peas, beans, pork, avocado, barley soon..

Mrs Wong thanks so much.

Just use the normal butter will do?
I can placed in ice cube tray and stored in freezer right? Normally do you use mircowave to thaw the frozen puree? At the same time do you heat it up or thawing will heat up the food as well? Paiseh coz never use mircowave to thaw food before.

Fushiastar, what does your hubby mean by the way they are made? They are made through fermentation of milk then pastaurised.

Proteins are available in all foods. it's just a matter of how digestible they are. Veges are poor sources of complete proteins, meat and milk are still the best source of protein a child needs.

Mayday,
I don't use microwave. There are alot of reports of harmful rays from microwave. I steam the frozen puree.

Mybabydream, you can use any type of pasta. Just don't add sauce

Fushiastar, cheese and yoghurt and actually good for the digestive system. Delaying introductino might lead to rejectino of foods.

tks mrs wong

how do u intro the meat.. jus steam it...
cook it wif porridge...normally give pork or chicken?
when to intro yoghurt?

will try pasta soon..

Tks.

just realised that my mil has been adding marmite to my 7mth old boy's porriage. is it ok? do any of you add that to baby porriage. i am worried becos i read that its a kind of yeast extract. can baby take this?

hi littlefire,
i replied u at your other thread. i guess if your MIL is the one feeding your baby when u're at work, u might have no choice. i know my SIL has no choice coz my mom looks after her dd when she's at work. hope u can find a solution!
maybe u can suggest to her to cook the porridge with carrots (or other veges) and a piece of pork rib or chicken to give the porridge some natural flavour instead of having to flavour it with Marmite which is high in sodium.