Advice on Myanmar Maid

Hi Fion,

My worries r exactly same as u stated above.
Now my only concern is how should i tell her that i'll only send a partial amount to her now?
I need to think of a good way to explain to her so that she wun feel uncomfortable.

as u knw, buying last minute airfare for her costs me $400+ and inital budget airtix i saw was only $230. For this i didn't mention to her at all although i feel heartpain for e $$ but i know it's my duty to send her home cos if my family were to meet with any mishap, i would appreciate my employer's understanding too.

secondly, when she comes back, should i let her sign an agreement/contract for another 2 years of service?

i have a friend whose maid came back from homeleave, based on mutual trust, my fren didnt let her sign any agreement, after few months, she told my fren she wants to go back and she doesn't wanna work here anymore. and ended up my fren paid for her renewal(from agency).

What should i include in the agreement that i'm going to draft out? anybody has a sample copy which i can refer to??

Hi mummy_baby2008 (mummy_baby2008),

I think you can use the contract that the agency pass to you 2 yrs ago and just change the date n change the header (If the agency did pass to you). Let me go google and see if I can find any....else just take out employment letter n modify here n there....

Just wanna to "create" the feeling that she had signed another 2 yrs contract liao....lolz...

Anyway, even if they wanna end the contract halfway, we also cannot say anything....

With maid is full of worries...haiz...me too...

I post this first, den tell my story in next hahahah...

Hi mummy_baby2008 (mummy_baby2008),

It's always good to have s contract (in black and white) in case of any dispute that may arise in the future.

You can download the word document (under Standard Employment Contract - for FDW & employers) from CASE website:
http://www.casetrust.org.sg/Downloads/tabid/69/Default.aspx#EAStdContracts

They also have a document with some explantory notes.

I agree with with MommyBaby that despite signing 2 years contract, either parties can still terminate contract by giving the stated notice. No guarantee they will stay for full 2 years - new maid or renewed maid.

All the best.

ok ok, my turn.....

For me, finally I bring in another maid after almost 2 months without a maid...

My maid arrived on 8th April.....NOW, i'm waiting for a replacement...

Can you imagine, within less den 1 week, she keep crying and tell me she wan to go back agency....

Here's the story:
8 Apr - Pickup at agency in evening, bring out for welcome dinner den home with all new mattress, bedsheets, pillow, etc.
I purposely took 2 days leave on Mon and Tue to train her, so in all, she have 4 days with me around full day to guide her in the beginning.
We printed out and lamination the time table with picture on every hour to show her what she's supposed to do froom Mon-Fri, pasted on the fridge.

12 Apr - My 1yr+ boy was stung by some insect n his left foot was swollen, red, hard n black on the stung area. He's down with high fever, so bo bian lor, kkh give 5 day MCs. I took an extra day on wed to see him cos i'm worried to leave my boy with the new maid alone.

13 Apr - My HB volunteer to take leave also, cos he also very worried with the maid n my boy...

14 Apr (Fri) - We have no choice, have to go work but I "assigned" my 6yr daughter at home (I din let her go school) cos at least she's able to tell the maid what my boy wants if he wants anything...

Ok, the drama happens....
My daughter call my HB (cos I din pick up phone) n tell him the maid's crying...
I den called my daughter and ask her y she cry? she say,"Dunno , Didi wan biscuit, she don't give him cos yesterday one and Didi cry, den she cry also."
I ask her where is she, den she say in the toilet...I ask my daughter to get her to the phone. I try to see thru my internet camera and i saw my daughter calling her outside the toilet but she din come out.. My daughter say she don wan to come out....den wad can i do...can only wait lor. After some time, i call my daughter, and ask if she's ok, she say she come out liao, no cry. Den i try to get the maid to the phone wanna to hear her voice see if she's ok, den she's quite ok over the phone. I can't ask her what happen cos she also totally cannot speak n understand english. We got to show her pictures or use white board to write.
So, I can't really ask her what happen...
After some time, my daughter called my HB again..she say the maid is crying again...haiz..

That evening, when i go back, she is as per normal. Den I ask her how izit..she is like a "parrot", she will repeat my words...cant talk at all...For the whole day, my 1yr old kid is wearing only 1 Pull ups. She DID NOT change him at all. The urine even come out and wet his pants n clothes.

Saturday morning (16 Apr), my hb n I went to the market, wanna to buy some vege n also for breakfast as kids are still asleep. However, after taking breakfast, we din do our marketing and decide to head home. Upon reaching home, the maid is changing my boy's diaper and I go over, she is CRYING AGAIN!! I ask her why, den she cry even louder and trying to talk. I tell her slowly, slowly but she is so work up and cry more loudly. Seeing her wanna to talk but cant, I called my sister and ask her maid (myanmar also). I get my sis's maid to talk to her and ask what happen. After a long conversation, I took over the phone. I ask my sis's maid what did she tell you, why she cry.

My sis's maid says my maid tell her, she don wan to take care of children. She's scare. She only wanna to do housework, she wan to go back agency!!

Come on la, both my kids are at cc. It's bcos my boy is sick with high fever, thus he can't go. Moreover, on the job proposal they send to her, already stated our family got kids and she need to see kids n housework.

For the first time, I'm so pissed. Firstly, I never met a FDW that will choose job. On top of that, she came to a family with kids, how can you say u don wan see kids. For 1 week, whenever my boy cries or they make noise, she never go over to see or wad. she continue doing her things.

Ask her fold clothes, she can fold for 2 days havent finish. She is so slow. Give her time table, she never follow. Do things, like gu niang like tat, so slow n walk like those u know, trying to act lady...All these i keep quiet.. Now, she's telling me don wan to see kids. How can, tat's y i employ her. I need a helping hand. at least help to see n play with them. I never let her bath them also. Only housework, prep school bag, Oversee when I'm busy. Like tat also not happy...say don wan to see kids..

From then on, I'm really very unhappy. I called the agency on the moment that they open n ask for a replacement. Now, still waiting for the updates on the approval...haiz..

Yesterday I just told my hb, I don feel happy going home now. Cos seeing her make me feel very unhappy. And yet, i still cannot send her back cos I really need someone to help with my laundry n prep dinner. I don wan to be hanging clothes at mid night after my day job working till 8pm...

Now, daily, the maid totally nothing to do. she will do nothing, sit down, cut her nails, dig her ears or just read her books and still get paid...

Dinner also wont prep unless we told her wad to cook. every morning i need to tell her this how that how to cook before i left for work. If din tell her, no dinner for us... go home, she also wont help see kids. everything need me to say. If say liao for the beginning it's okay..the thing is, after all these teaching, it's all going to throw into the drain cos she's leaving.

I don wish to keep her already. Like my hb says, she already tell u she don wan to see kids, if under some circumstances, where kids cry or wad, n for tat moment, she suddenly lost her mind, open the window n throw my little boy or girl down HOW...haiz..so confirm, i don wan to keep her...

Paiseh...very long story haha...wish me good luck for my next one!!..GOD BLESS!!

Hi MommyBaby (MommyBaby),

All the best to you for your replacement maid.

Pressure your agent to give you more reliable bios of maids who want to take care of children and do housework (i.e. these 2 areas must be the maid's top 2 preference of work).

My brother got one Indo maid - got hair lice ("gutu") after 1 week, quickly sent back to agent to treat her. After another week or so of mixing with other maids in the agency, told my bro she didn't want to work for them (with 1 tot & 1 newborn), so my bro return her to agent to get replacement and agent told her they will then look for employers that need maid to look after elderly, she also said dun want. Agent scolded her that she cannot be choosy if she wants to work in S'pore and some more she is new maid with no experience. Haiz...Good thing my bro get a replacement, his current Indo one has ex-Saudi experience, so cooking and housework no need to do much training, so only need to "train" her on how to take care of tot (as in knowing tot's needs and wants and temperament) while baby mostly cared for by his MIL.

I sincerely hope your this replacement will be a blessing in disguise.

Hi Allison (mom_of_2_princes),

Ya, hope your bro can have a good one n i hope i get one too... cos kids are the most precious to us - working parents. We will not be around to oversee so we can only depend on the maid...so it's so worrying if they got problem or no heart to work one...some really come here to find bf or play play...zzzz haiz...

Sorry for my missing for past few weeks as I was busy going around various agencies to search new maids as well as website searching, calling etc. Also, coaching my son coming exam.

Hi Sylvie3, my agent office is at King's George. I am not going backt o my agent anymore. Firstly, he lied to me several things. He told me that this maid could cook, does housework and take care of children before. But in fact, she never touch any housework. All did by her 13 year old sister. She only work in her mother shop. Her dad does the cooking. Her mother does the laundry. She will sleep from 8pm to 7am. As for children, needless to say. She doesnt take care at all. She told me she doesnt like children only my bb girl??? Thats why she will quarrel with my 7 year old son ever since she came to my house!!! The two never get along. My boy sometimes even "sing" this tune "This maid doesnt like me, she doesnt like me"...my goodness! I felt so upset and heartpain to see such scene as sometimes I could see my maid pushed my son away when he wanna to take my daughter's toys to play. Why cant they talk? Secondly, when my maid is having problem, he never never counsel or speak to her at all. All these while, we r the ones who have counsel her so many times. We even talk to her after our kids slept till 3am when we saw something serious! Another, the bio-data that he forwarded to us are really limited so till now, we can't find any suitable for our replacement becos he din screen down to our needs. Finally, though in the contract, we r suppose to have free replacement but he said we need to top-up his agent fee as there is a rise recently! We thought we r old customer? What to do even there is a rise recently??

Hi Fion, u r good that u cld stand ur maid behaving like a QUEEN for 11/2 years!

Hi Alison, my maid is someone who really know Singapore and the maid operation well. Because she has a neighbour aunty who was the one encouraged her to come here to work. Hence, at the very beginning, my maid has a lot of drama stories.

2nd day - wanna to call back her hometown. So I brought her along to buy international calling card and used public phone to call. But unsuccessful as the connection between Yangon and Singapore, sometimes quite bad. So she called her aunty who works in Singapore for ten years and I spoke to her too.

5th day - asked me could she buy a handphone? She would like her family to call her from Yangon. I told her the cost of a handphone and the house rules of having a handphone. Only able call at night before she sleeps.

7th day - she asked me to see her arms. Both upper arms got many blue black. I said normally if she knocked onto something, so wanna to give her medication oil to rub. She said "no". Becos she never have such thing happened to her in her hometown but only here. I said dont believe so I asked her to let me press and rub. She said "no pain at all!" I got scare so next morning brought her to see doctor and the doc drew some blood for diagnose. She then told me she wanna to know the result which will be out within few days time. I paid S$60 for the test. Heartpain. The result that she is just normal, nothing serious. It is JUST BLUE BLACK!!! Y she doesnt know blue black? Never does housework before lah!

8th day - we scolded her as she pulled out the electric kettle plug with switching off the switch. It was so dangerous to her. She not happy! Then a while later, she carried the electric kettle to the bathroom to prepare my bb girl bath water without signal to my hubby n son so almost scalded my son. So, kenna scolding. Then she cried non-stop. She wanna to go back to agent. She even changed her clothing to go back. It was a Sunday, we called our agent but he chose to ignore our callings. So my sis-in-law brought along her maid to talk to her as she is more experience handling maids from various countries. Then we also called her aunty to talk to her. None of them can stop her crying until her aunty talked to her as the aunty said she has to find the money to pay the loan before she could go back her hometown. She immediately cool down and wanna to work again.

Afterthat, there were so many incidents that we decided to change her after two months. Finally, my agent got back to us through my countless calling for a replacement. Hence, started 3rd mth, my agent will send bio-data to me once every month. But none suitable till now. Hence, we decided to change him instead becos he is not giving us free replacement when told us recently. Service not good and wanna us to top-up. He goes and fly kite!

My current maid is letting us to find the new maid before she goes back to her hometown. Of course, during this period, her work performance sure drop. We cant expect much. Now, she can even sleep very well and dream well. Becos I dont really call her unless my bb girl wanna milk. Recently, these few nights, there will be drama show to see which I hardly believe. One of the nights, I called her. She woke up and went back to sleep after loo. I was surprised to see her doing that and asked her why. She said she was still sleeping when walking. My goodness! Another night, when I called to prepare the milk, she immediately told me my girl didnt want to drink anymore??? I was surprised because that night my bb girl and me slept together with my hubby and son in another room not my bb's room. So how she feed her? So I asked her again whether she came in to my room to feed my girl (i hope she din or else damn scarly as she could carry my bb out of the sarong without my notice), she then said "sorry, sorry". She just said from her dream. My gosh! Then the following night, she was crying in her sleep. I woke up from my sleep. Then I checked my bb girl and realised she was sleeping soundly. So I found funny as only three of us in the bb's room. Hence, after a while I confirmed not the cat or bb cry from neighbout. It was from my maid. She said she dreamed her dad passed away so she was crying in her dream. Hence, I asked me to do prayer immediately. Afterwhich, she went back to sleep. I really dont know what happened, she got so many funny drama actions these few nights after confirming that she is going back?

Afterall, I dont really bother with her too much nowadays. My son keeps asking when we r changing her. My daughter also wanna me to carry her more when she saw me. And also me to make her settle to sleep at night. My maid can't do it. She has no patience. So, till now I have to sleep with my girl and maid. Initially, before my maid came, my idea was to sleep with them first and slowly let the maid took over. Now, i think better not. I shall take care my bb girl myself. Cant trust!

Hi Alison, MommyBaby, Fion

Which part of the myanmar do your maids come from?

Hi mummy_baby2008,

Ur maid sound good. Which part of the state does she comes from?

I am now very dilemma. My mum wanna me to take part Myanmar maid as she thinks that they will take pork so cooking is not much of a hassle.

Anyone can advise me how should I choose the maid when seeing the bio-data? I.e. age, height, weight, family background, hometown, working experience, their preference etc?

Your advice is precious, thank you!

Hi autumnkumiko (autumnkumiko)

Sorry for the late reply as i just came back from my holiday. i'm not sure which part of myanmar my maid came from, but this "good" maid in my eyes became a horror after she came back from home leave. I'm still struggling if i wanna renew her or not as her work permit only expires on the 28July.

She became a totally changed person after coming back, cos the next day she came back, i went for my holiday for a week. when i returned home, i caught her quickly hang up the house phone when she saw me. In e end i called to activate call divert and realised that a guy kept calling her and the number is a local number(which means the guy is in singapore). She told me she did not wanna extend another 2 years, it's not the 1st time she's telling me this, she used to tell me and after a week or so, she will tell me, no she decided to stay.

Yesterday my son was calling her for few times in the car, she didnt reply my son and after about few minutes, she answer my son in a irritated manner "WHAT" i was so angry i told my son stop talking to pple who do not like u(actually i'm indirectly refering to my maid)

i just heard from my SIL today that when i'm away on a holiday, my maid didnt go home straight after fetching my son to sch, she reached home an hour late (which i have already said her before, she's not supposed to hang around the school to talk to other maid) and the other thing is, my sil told me that after my grandma goes to bed at night, my maid will bring my daughter out to the living room for TV and at the same time use the telephone.

When i'm back, my maid still have the guts to complain saying my grandma asked her to hang up when her brother called.

I was at home the whole of friday, during night time, the guy called for at least 10 times when we were talking to our maid as she told us she did not wanna renew her contract.i even asked my maid to answer the call and ask the guy to stop calling. but he just continued to call NON-STOP. we wanted to find out the reason why she wants to leave cos we r still prepared to forgive her if she wanna stay.

After questioning her, we found out an even more shocking news, she's not back for the funeral. her dad passed away early April and she started crying saying her mum didnt inform her bout the death of her dad & i told her it's not my fault, cos when i found out that her dad passed away, i booked the next available flight(which is the next following morning. how can she sound as if we didnt let her go back to attend the funeral.) this really makes me think if everything was planned??? cos initially when we were talking about homeleave months back, she told me she wanted to go back in April as it's their holidays there. and thinking back, i was lucky i didnt remit all her $$ over to her when she called me from myanmar telling me she needs the $$ for her dad's issue.

I'm really disappointed and upset with her. it has been buzzing me for few days whether should i still accept her if she wants to stay.

If she leaves, can i minus off the expensive airticket which i paid last month? the 2 weeks homeleave which i gave her (as home leave is only to be given if she renews her contract) and lastly can i take back the $200 i gave her for her "DAD's FUNERAL"(which i feel cheated and i dun even feel like giving her $2 as a token.)

I'm really in a dillema now as
1) my girl likes the maid
2) $$.. i got to pay the upfront loan + agent fee.
3) Asking my 3year old daughter adapt to the new maid is not an easy job
4) Training the new maid.(myanmar maids r quite slow in learning, last time i used almost a year to train my current maid before stepping back to the working society again. But now i'm working, i cant take too many days of leave to train the new maid)

Does anybody knows if agents still accept PD cheque and which agency is cheaper because we have $ concerns.

I need advice now, if you were me, will u still "cyco" her to stay like how we used to persuade her to stay last few times when she wanted to leave?

Another thing is, if her "guy" friend comes to my house and look for her, can i call the police?? i have diverted all incoming phone calls to my handphone,so my maid is unable to receive any incoming calls. I'm afraid that the guy might come up when she cant contact my maid after so many times.

By the way, just to share something with all of u,
my maid managed to "skip" her tax when she exits myanmar and coming back to singapore after her home leave.

Now i'm still planning if i wanna renew for 1 year instead of 2 years and i can slowly look for another maid.

Frankly speaking i'm abit unhappy with her already and so i got my hubby to talk to her instead.

She agreed to renew for 1 year.

Initially we agreed on increase in her salary to $360. and now after so many "drama" from her, we told her that we will give her $380.
however, she got a small request after we told her about the increment.she wants to use the phone EVERYNIGHT!!

Somehow i feel that she's making use of our weakness dat we r in need of her and she's asking for more.

I'm still thinking if i should allow HP or not.
Will she ask for more?

Well, before i went out today, i specifically told her, HP is only for night time and during day time, i will keep the phone. and NO calling of the guy anymore as after we've scolded the guy, he stopped calling.

Having a maid is like having an extra "big baby" at home. Headache

mommybaby,
my maid also want to go back to agent at end may after 3 months with us. She said housework no problem, she can work non stop wont feel tired, but when it comes to my 3yr old boy, she cannot take it, cos my boy cries alot over nothing and she didnt know how to handle situation like that. I quite like her cos she seems to be able to handle him quite well. I dont know if this is an excuse or really stressful to care for my boy.
So frustrated if these maids always want to end contract after loan finish. (dont know is it that she can then ask for more pay from next employer cos she has 'experience'). Take those with huge loan, scare money stuck with agency if maid up to no good even before loan can finish.
Called up agent, he said got ex-sin at $400 but dunno good or bad, cos afterall they have 'been here'. If not new one got to wait for 3 weeks.
This is only my 2nd maid yet, I feel so 'emotional' over changing maid issue.
Is there a channel at MOM that I can complain and suggest to them to review some policies on maids.

Just got myself a Myanmar maid as my current Indonesian maid is leaving in end of May. Not sure whether I had make a big mistake as this Myanmar doesn't seems to understand what I'm telling her even though she kept saying "yes yes". So rite now, would appreciate if someone can enlighten me as to whether there is any translation website for Myanmar maid so probably I can translate from there or anyone have simple instruction in translating Burmese to English or English to Burmese in which I can show her... Also appreciate any advice on how I should go about training this new maid. Currently, my Indonesian maid is the one guiding the new maid but I think she also wanted to vomit blood liao. My Indon maid was quite weak in her English when she first came but luckily my mum can speak Malay. This time round I choose a Myanmar maid as mum felt that it was a hassle to cook separately, no pork, for the Indon maid... Not sure whether I can tahan any longer. She have problem in understanding even when I tried explaining simple stuff like to look after the children and make sure they dun get hurt.

hi jmtlam,
does your maid have those eng-myanmar dictionary? so far those myanmar maids that I knew had 1. so can start from there. otherwise I also dnno how. Cos I took my friend advise to take those with uni level, at least their english wont be that bad.

I new here i hav a myanmar maid and coming jun she will finish her contract and i thinking of renewing her contract but how should i go out renewing???

To me, i feel that myanmar maid is really much better than indo maid.. i think i am very lucky to have my myanmar maid, when she first came, there is really a lot of thing that she dunno and we hav to be patient for them, their learning skill is not that fast as in their country they are in a slower phase.. but now she is very good as she is capable in speaking chinese and even dialect... and also good in taking care of my two kids (aged 2 & 3).

my frenz recently got a myanmar maid and she got problem communicate wif her maid and she will even call my maid to help her translate..

Hi autumnkumiko (autumnkumiko),

Sorry for not replying earlier. My current maid is from Kachin state. My ex-maid is from Kayah state. I dun think the state they are from matters that much - it's more of the personality, education level, family backgroud, work experience (if any) that each has that affects how they perform as a foreign domestic worker.

We cannot really know the personality of that person by photos or other means (unless we trust fully the opinions of the recruiter who sourced her), it's a subjective thing or what we call "luck", as we also dunno if theirs can click with ours or our family members.

Assuming the data are accurate, those supposedly objective factors that we can use to help us will be:
1)education level (supposedly higher level is "smarter"/"faster"in learning new things),
2)work experience (with work experience - means work for other people (not mummy or daddy), 3)siblings position in the family (supposedly the elder ones especially those in bigger family are given more responsibility to help out in the house - will be responsible and more mature). 4)The maid's own indicated preferences of work also give the potential employers some idea, eg. like children care (must indicate children age group - infant, 1-3yrs, 4-6yrs, 7-12yrs). 5)Height and weight (an important factor if require to do certain duties like eldercare - need to help elderly in their
movement).
6)Marital status: some may prefer married with schooling children - have own childcare experience and supposedly more committed to complete contract - money for her schooling children, some may prefer single supposedly having less to worry for own children (assuming singles have no children) or husband back at home, or less home-sickness.
7)Altho' looks is not the most important, I would prefer one who is pleasant - as in not fierce looking or scary (if she has to look after children) and simple.

All the above I will take into considerations when I look at the bios(sometimes too many - got headaches looking at too many). I will use my criteria to narrow dowm the choices that meet my criteria. That's only my thoughts and opinions to share with you.

All the best in your maid selection.

Hi hopefully,

Yup, my maid brought along Englih-Myanmar dictionary... But some words cannot be found inside the dictionary. Still trying to communicate with her. I guess I just have to be more patient and to give her more chance. I understand from my maid that she had a Degree in Botany, she shown me a piece of paper, when she first arrived.

Hi hopefully (hopefully),

Maybe you try to find out the real reason of your maid's wanting to transfer out, because it does not make sense for her to transfer out just because she finished her loan...if I'm not wrong, the agency will charge her extra 1 or 2 months of loans if she is the one who request for tranfers (most agency does that to discourage maid to request for transfer), then she will be like have to work for another 1 or 2 months with no pay???

Unless she really does not like to take care of young children (like the case of Mommybaby(mommybaby)), her heart is not there then her performance will be affected, your young boy will not be in safe hands.

It takes a lot patience to take care of young children especially tots (they start to want to do things their way and if they dun get it, they will protest by way of whining, shouting, crying etc) and maids are not specially trained for childcare, moreover each child is different. Handling the child requires a bit of understanding of the child's temperament.

I was quite lucky that my current maid is rather patient and tries very hard to get close to my 3- years old son. Initially, my son keeps saying to my maid "I dun want you, I want my mommy or daddy or I do this myself", when my maid wants to feed him or bathe him. I encourage my maid to be patient and be discouraged by him, to give herself and my boy some time to get used to each other, afterall my boy was so used to my ex-maid for 3 years (since he's a baby). I also tell my maid about some of my boy's likes and dislikes and temperament while I also tell my boy that he has to listen and let the maid take care of him when mummy and daddy go to work. Now 2 months into employment with us, my maid and boy are getting along so much better.

Hi jmtlam (jmtlam),
I agree that communication is a concern and a lot patience is required. My current maid spoken english is not so good, she may understand my question but she cannot express her answers in english well. They can read better than their speech. If they are willing to learn, they should be able to pick up and improve given time.
Meantime, a lot of times is action and words together - "show and tell" is more effective.

If we want those fluent in English, it's either ex-Sin myanmar maids or maids from Phillipines.

Just to share some light moments of "miscommunications" -
In the 1st week of handover period, my 3-year old once "complained" to my ex-maid about my current maid that my current maid did not make milk for him when he asked for it, my current maid could not understand what he said so she ignore his request (my son rubbed his tummy and only said "milk", plus his diction is still not very clear yet). She didn't know that rubbing his tummy means he's hungry and wants milk. It's quite funny when I heard my son trying to tell me what happened - my 3-year-old learning to be complain king...hahaha.

All the best to both of you.

Hi vivien lim(mitogal),

It's really a blessings to be able to get a maid who works out fine for you and your family. It is great that your maid is also willing to renew with you. Keep it up on maintaining this good employer-employee relationship.

Renewing maid's contract:
Employer's part: renew work permit and maid insurance.
1)Do it yourself: for WP - you can do on-line via MOM using singpass. For maid insurance, you may purchase from the same insurance company. You pay for both WP and insurance premium. Collections of documents - self. I think NTUC has one whereby you can get them to do the work permit together with the insurance you buy from them (I am not from NTUC ok?).
OR
2)Do it via maid agency: pay agent service fee on top of the WP renewal fee and insurance premium. Collections of documents - from agent.

Please note that WP will be renewed up to 2 months before the maid's passport expiry date or 2 years (whichever is earlier).

Advisable to sign a new contract (using the current/existing contract as a guide to modify dates, salary etc.) in case of any disputes in the future.

Cheers.

Hi jmtlam,
then I guess it more of show and tell, if she cant write it down better still. After all their pronounciation is different from us, like 'wet' for them is 'wat'. So I more on point to the things and repeat a few times the word. even after 3 months, sometimes she still cannot understand, I still need to point and action.
Mine got a degree in physic, but certain thing she does, quite un-common sense, nothing seen like a graduate.

Hi Allison,
as of yesterday, she said she wish to continue cos she scare if go to another employer, they might not be as good as me. (Previously I told her, she might not get transfer to another employer immediately.) Then she mention she want off day next month.... After I said ok, she in very good mood! Hope next she wont come and ask for hp usuage freely.

Hi mommies, reading thru this thread and its archives, many detailed explanations re renewal of PP.

My helper' PP ends this aug, thus I must renew her PP soon tho her contract ends this dec. She called home and her parents prefer her to return home to do a new PP as it is cheaper. That is to say to declare that she has lost her PP and thus will make a new one. However, I gathered from friends that it might take up to 40 days for the new PP to be ready, depending on the officer doing the PP procedure. I nearly fainted hearing that. After discussion with hb, decided that hse has no choice but to renew here as we cannot afford to let her leave for so long. Plus her air ticket we cannot buy return ticket as her PP no will be diff. Then if she heart pain on money and not buy a ticket home, I also die.

Recently her father was admitted into hospital again. Apparently not in a very gd shape. Her mom wld like her to return home but I told her contract not over. Told her we wouldn't mind her to go home for a week in June. However that would mean her PP has to renew here.

Have some more enquiries re the renewal process:

Does anyone know of any agent that can help with the renew?

And if I were to do the renewal myself with the helper, do I rawly got to get to the embassy ard 6am to get a good q number?

TIA for clarifying. It's really giving unnecessary stress on the employers.

Hi Jules (jujules),

I think your maid's work permit should expire 1 month or 2 months b4 her PP expiry date. Please check.
In order for you to renew her work permit, you will have to renew her passport first (because her PP has to be valid at least 7 months from her existing WP expiry date before renewing WP). If she has to travel home in June, her PP has to be renewed prior to June(PP has to be valid for 6 months to travel overseas - else she reach home then cannot travel out/back to Singapore).
For renewal of PP in Singapore, she will have to pay her income tax to her Myanmar govt (embassy) plus PP renewal fees.
Question: Is your maid willing to pay for her tax here and PP renewal fees? If your maid not willing to pay for her income tax (bcos the amount can be quite significant; depending on her length of work in Singapore at 10% tax rate) ---> she will have to go home when her WP expires (within next 7 days of WP expiry date).

In my case, I agreed to pay for my ex-maid's PP renewal fees. She paid for her own income tax (with her own savings).

Did you check with your maid agency? I think my current maid agency provides the passport and WP renewal services but I am not sure about the charges. I have not used their services for renewal before.

Hi mummy_baby2008 (mummy_baby2008) and hopefully (hopefully),

When I engaged my ex-maid, although contractly agreed on no off-days and no hp, I did verbally let her know at the start that I may consider letting her have occassional 1 off-day a month with 2weeks to 1 month's notice (only after her 1 year employment and depending also on her work performance).
As for hp - only if she uses her own money (savings) and pay for her own usage (phone usage only after she has completed her work or during her personal rest time).
My ex-maid is sensible, so she didn't abuse her "freedom", like go out until midnight on off-days (I did state the latest time she has to be back in our home, more for her safety) or talk non-stop until wee hours.

I guess for those not so sensible ones, we have to very firm (not unreasonable) on how they should use their freedom (make it very clear at the start)e.g. phone usage - to restrict on certain hours or days for usage, and for off-days: can be out of house from what time to what time, of course the remaining hours at home, she is not required to do the housework for that day. If they dun comply, warn that these "freedom" can be taken away or you can also change maid (no one is indispenable) if they go off your limit.

As I'm writing these, I am at the same time reminding myself...my current maid is still in probation period (2nd month) so still need to observe and know her. I did not "promise" her anything, except that she may buy her own hp (if she wants to) provided she has enough savings after her loan repayments and after she opens her bank account with minimum S$500 (she must maintain this mim amount in the bank so bank won't charge extra bank charges), to encourage her to save up.

Employing and managing a maid is like employing and managing a working staff, except that the maid stays with us under the same roof 24hours everyday which can make managing our relationship more challenging.

All the best to you and cheers.

MommyBaby (mommybaby)

the first time i tried a myanmar maid. This exactly. --> "Give her time table, she never follow. Do things, like gu niang like tat, so slow n walk like those u know, trying to act lady...All these i keep quiet.. " LOL!!!!

Hi Allison,
Thank you for your info. I was more concerned with the procedure of renewing rather than about the $ which I have already reasoned out with her. Tricky qn now is she did not pay her tax when she was working for her previous employer for about 8mths. She went home after that and then came to singapore after i had selected her. not sure if embassy will charge her tax for that. then she will have alot to pay. she doesn't have much now as she had to send $ home regularly. told her to keep aside $30 every mth, never listen.

Hi Jules (jujules,

I have called up the embassy 2 weeks ago and was adviced to reach the embassy before 9am and they will start giving out the Q numbers at 9.30am.
They have adviced that we will have to bring the following documents for submission during the 1st visit.
1) passport
2) employer's letter
3) passport sized photo.
I have also checked on the tax payable and was told that it's actually $25 per month for the number of months.Hope the above information helps.

U r really lucky to get a maid who knows how to appreciate. Apprantly my maid used to be quite sensible too but after her homeleave, everything is different. We have been trying to talk to her and finally we have "cyco" her to stay for 1 year. I have changed my house number and so far, no phone calls to my house for her yet and her attitude toward my kids changed abit better. At least she will answer my kids when they r talking to her now.
BUT..... sad to hear from my son that she actually borrowed 10cents from my son to make a phone call from the public phone opp my house. Well, I'm really very disappointed and am really wondering if i should let her go rather den to keep talking sense to her and make her stay.
Well, i can only say, maybe she's the 1st maid whom have worked with me for 2 years and that's part of the reason y i wanted her to extend.
Somehow, i was wondering, when will all these issue end?? or what should i do??

Hi Jules (jujules),

You are welcomed. If can get maid agency to do all PP & WP renewals for us, I won't mind paying them to do it. At least no need to take so many days'leave (at least 2 trips to the embassy - to apply, to pay tax and collect PP and plus 1 trip to MOM to collect WP), will save much hassle for working mums.

Hi mummy_baby2008(mummy_baby2008),

I know what you mean, my ex-maid (also my first) requested for extra off day when I renewed her after 2 years. I agreed to her request because at that time my son was 2 years old (cannot talk well yet), hence I can still do with alternate Sundays off for her and also I do not want to re-train a new maid or my young son to get used to each other.
After renewed for 1 year, she was determined to go back (which she already told me at the time of renewal) to get married, I was prepared and had agreed. As for my in-laws, they were still kinda reluctant and were thinking can persuade to come back to work for us again aftee she got married. Both of us were like put into a difficult position bcos I was prepared and promised to let her go and I can see she also made up her mind to go home (she didn't go home leave since she came to Spore). So I told my in-laws, I already booked tickets for her and told them the date for departure, I also have sourced for new maid etc...so that stopped their thoughts or request of persuading her to continue.

It's true experienced maids will of course want more (either off days or more money or both)- all wants some kind of upgrade/increment; even we would expect some increment or promotion after working for a year or 2.

Most important, the maid's heart to work must be there, else her work performance and attitude will drop. For me, if her attitude changes for the worse or her heart to work is not there, I will not want to renew her. I will get a new maid (who has to work for 2 years for the money). I have a friend who will always change a new maid upon expiry of the 2 years contract, it's her policy - so no emotional attachment to the maid by her or her family members. This arrangement is also good because at least she and her family are prepared (mentally and emotionally)for maid change every 2 years.

Maybe if you are prepared to renew her for 1 year, then so be it. Upon 1 year, get another one. However if your maid's heart is not there to continue anymore, maybe should consider changing asap, dun have to think too much. I would not want to spend too much of my time and energy to deal with the maid issues (like keep talking to her again and again), I would rather do that with my children (and their concerns). It's just my opinions.

Anyone has a idea how do the maids send money to their country in Myanmnar. Pls help me as my maid need to send to her family but we dont know what is the proceduers.

Hi Cheryl M (joybaby),

My ex-maid sent her money through one of the myanmar shops in Peninsula Plaza. I have the namecards of 2 of the shops. I only brought her to one of the shops for the 1st time when she sent money, after that she will go by herself.

I intend to bring my current new maid to one of these shops (when she finished her loans and have sufficient savings) when she wants to send money home, they speak in Myanmar language. They will give them SGD and then at the shop convert to Myanmar money (at the shop's exchange rate) to be sent home (name, address and bank account number - I think).

I can PM you the addresses if you want.

Thanks for your info. You knw wat i did bring my maid last mth to send money to her country but just 3days back her sister called to say she never rcvd the money. Hmmm..But after sending the money the next day i called asked my maid to call her family 1 of the sister says she rcvd. But now she clamis that she assume the other cousin sister had rcvd the money she she say rcvd liao...WTH right...dis really disturbing my maid and she is becoming very moody i can feel her situtaion but the agency in Peninsula Plaza confrims that Yangon bank rcvd the amount and the Yangon bank clamis that they already release the money to the PIC which we inidcated.
Sin to Yangon - has the proof that of bank slip
Yangon to her state(Lashore) - only via email says that the PIC already rcvd the amount. So what other option can i have to let her send the $ back safely. Can you please PM me the address

I am looking for Myanmar maid, any agency to recommend me, please help, at present my is INDO maid, very headache of INDO maid liao... think of changing to Myanmar, any one can advice me? thank you

@ sandra
Me too have been thinking of hiring a Myanmar new maid. And my search is still in process. I have interviewed few maids from the following agencies. JLK Emploment services and GRE agency(Global Recruit & Elevation Centre Pte,Ltd in PP). I am really not sure how their services are beacuse haven't experienced. In fact I was able to gathered some bad feedbacks about GRE so thought of dropping it. I am really not sure about JLK. Still asking some friends around in case they know anything about this agency. There is one more called United Channel but the agenct says she cannot arrange for telephonic talk with the helper as there is no facility in Myanmar (clear lie). I really don't prefer to be blind when hiring helper.

@All
Anyone who have any experience with JLK Employment services, pls share.

Dear RashmiJK

Do not try UNITED CHANNELS you may read my bad expericence above & my frds too had bad experiences with them.

I took from TM GLOBAL located at Hougang you can give it a try. So far my maid is with me for past 7mths. Looking after my newborn son. This agency you have to do afew follow ups like call them for the details but other den that they will do it all and send your maid to your door step. All the Best..

@ Cherly M
Thanks a ton

Thanks for your advice. I am still searching for new maid and pray to get a good one soon.

Hi mummy_baby2008,

Think your maid also not ideal but u r still willing to accept as there r certain characters u still can compromise. Mine is immature and through her 7 mths with me, there are at least 4 times didn't take her lunch or dinner becos she angry with me for scolding her doing wrong stuff.

Now, she even told me last week that she is like that even at her hometown. When her parents scold her during meal time, she will not take the meal and throw the bowl. I was shocked and told her off that her if she did her throwing of bowl while eating, I will send her off immediately. Then later, i told her she shld respect her own parents and her behaviour is kind of rude towards her parents. After telling her all these stuff, I was telling myself why am I telling her how to behave. Shldn't be taught by her parents? I am not the mother. My hubby will scold me again if he heard my talk to her becos he has heard many times that I told my maid on how to behave ... he said no use talking too much as she is not listening. Sigh.

Can anyone advise me on where I could help my maid or bring my maid to remit her money back to Myanmar other than going to Peninsula Plaza?

Hi autumnkumiko (autumnkumiko,

I have sent my maid back last friday as she admitted to my hub dat she stole our coins to purchase phone card. and upon sending her back, my kids told me even more. my maid has a handphone etc.. after going back for 2 days, my maid called my hubby and told him dat she is very bored in hometown, dunno wat to do over there. i guess she shd have expected dis outcome.

I'm currently with my new indo maid and everything is still fine at e moment

Hi Cheryl M,

I have emailed the addresses to you.

Hi autumnkumiko,

You are welcomed and all the best in your search.

I dun know of elsewhere to transfer money to Myanmar. I have checked Western Union, they dun transfer to Myanmar. They dun use banks bços very high charges and also the official exchange rate is like a joke - see this link : http://www.myanmar2day.com/myanmar-news/2009/01/weekly-update-of-us-dollars-exchange-rate-in-yangon/

My ex-maid sometimes pass her money and things to her myanmar friends (I guess must be someone she trusts)who work in S'pore and goes back for home leave or to renew passport or for good, to help her bring back to Myanmar.

Hi RashmiJK,

I also used TM Global HR, the branch at Bukit Timah - Serena, to get my current maid.

Hello Friends
I read many of you mentioned that TM Global HR Consultancy is reasonably good. But I read one horror story about this agency in the following link
http://singaporemaidagencyreviews.blogspot.com/2010/03/tailor-maid-employment-services.html
Looks like it happened some time back.
I stay pretty close to TM Global Hougang Branch.Has anyone tried hiring maid from this agency recently.A lady called Angel is handling my case. Has anyone got any suggestion for me?

@ Cherly M
I just noticed that you have hired maid from TM Global Hougang branch. Did you hired a new maid or tranfer maid? I tried sending you private message but it was blocked. Can you please guide me more.

Hi RashmiJK

yes i took from TM Global so far was ok for me. Let me just tell you getting a good maid is all depends on your luck. Trust me. I went thru 3indo maids & give up my good pay job due to all the maids sucks.(2yrs back)
I took from Hougang TM global too handle by serene & angel. So far they both r ok. but you need to keep calling them for details. If not they will proceed with everything & delivery the maid to your door step. I took a fresh maid can say i get this maid by God's grace. Once i choose the maid came all the way here, suppose to fetch her the next 1 dy before Serene call to say maid failed her entry test 3times. i was too upset & also emo due to preg 8mths..so i went dwn to choose another maid but get to see the old maid i choose whom failed her entry test..O really thanks god i nvr took her super thin and not pleasant look as per her passport photo.
not all in the data you can trust and even agy also the same position as us they will get the info from the other side Mynmmar agy which is some not true. Our local maid agy also nvr get to see the pic in person so we cannot blame them

Maybe you can email me @ [email protected]

hi Cheryl M, we spoke on past forums on maid and glad that you have finally found one that works well with you. can pm me the TM Global no at Hougang, may consider for next year. thanks!

Hi Onsansg,

Yes, i remember you.
Anyway how r u getting with your current maid.
Hope all is fine? Do update me?

Already PM you on TM Global number.

Cheers...

HI i am a bit confused about the procedures of renewing the work permit and passport.

How much will it cost for renewal of passport and why they give the queue no at 9.30?

can some kind mummy enlighten me the whole process? Thanks.

I have chosen my maid from SLF and will be here mid-July. Hopefully this one will be able to work and complete her two years contract.

Hi Sandra,

While my searching for myanmar maid, I did liaise with JLK. Not bad lah but no one suit my requirement. You could speak to Ann or Rebecca. They are friendly. Ann has recently went to Myanmar to interview some of them. Act fast!