Advice needed - Sarong good for baby?

yiyi

Not sure whether this has been asked before... Is sleeping in sarong good for baby ?

My baby is now 4 months old, the back of her head is a bit flat on one side, she always sleep on the right side no matter how we adjust her head. Heard dat sleeping in sarong will help to shape the head.

Also, she is currently sleeping in this baby seat (the sort that moves back and forth) in the day, which she is outgrowing, so thot of letting her sleep in sarong. She tends to get startled at little noises when she sleep in cot in the day.
Any ideas on where to let her sleep well in the day, besides using sarong ?

Thanks in advance !!

Yiyi,

My 1 year old sleeps longer in the sarong. If I put her in the cot, she doesn't sleep long. My own place doesn't have sarong, only my mum's place has, as we are there during the day. I'm not sure if sleeping the sarong will help shape her head. But the sarong gives her that 'secure' and being hugged feeling, that's why she sleeps longer (about 3 hrs).

yiyi, my boy also 4mth liao.
i use to like to sleep sarong but lately he change mood. dunno out of sudden dun 1 sarong.
so no choice, & he 1 me carry him. until he sleep liao then i can let him sleep on his bb cot

hi yiyi,

My girl oso hav difficulty to sleep on the cot, always get frighten easily whenever there is sound.
I agree with Janet that bb can sleep longer in sarong as it is like a mother's hug.

Serene,

I used to carry my son until he sleeps then put him in the sarong. But suddenly he just hated it and would wake up when we do that. That was 5 years ago.

hey janet, tat's wat i experience with my boy. he really like it during the 1st 3mths. then after that, whenever i try to put him in, he will start to cry liao.

Serene, it's strange huh ? All of a sudden, he just cried each time I put him inside when supposed to be sound asleep. My girl took some time to like the sarong too.

thanks for sharing your experience. mebe will let my girl try the sarong 1st at a fren's place before buying just in case she does not take to it.

Serene,
at nite, i also carry her until she falls asleep, then put her in cot. and when she wakes up in the middle of the nite, will put her on the bed with us. As it is dark and comfortable (with aircon), she will fall asleep on her own eventually.
This afternoon, she actually fell asleep on her own on the playmat :). so i am crossing my fingers that she will learn to sleep on her own soon...

yah veri strange
they will auto noe. once they see the sarong, they start to cry & rufuse to go in

Hi me also let my son sleep in sarong. But when he knows how to turn, I let him sleep on my bed instead. As he will get frighten when he turned in the sarong. So I trained him to sleep in my bed while i lie beside him. Therefore no need to carry. Save a lot of energy.

Hi Serene,

Recently my boy also cry, fuss & scream when put him in sarong .. so does it means he dun liked it?
But will dun care ... force him and eventually he cried till sleep ... so how huh?

Anyone facing problem with their bb so used to sarong and can't sleep anywhere? Carry, put on bed also cannot .. how to solve this problem?

hi mayday

brennan also like that n like u, we just pat him n make louder noise than his cries before he can sleep. unless he super tired, fuss abit will sleep liao.

but he fidgets alot. max he can sleep without rocking is half hour. so very siong, gotta have someone to rock him to sleep everytime he starts to fidget or scratch his face.

but at night, after his last feed, we will just put him on bed to sleep. he doesnt sleep in cot at all. perhaps its cooler at night so no need sarong. but at times he will fuss too n no choice have to put him into sarong n rock until he sleep then bring him out.

no choice, i bought sarong to put at my mum n inlaw pl. i hope to wean him off sarong or at least the rocking part soon.

tennyson mummy, u have to let him cool down 1st. when he doze off then u can put him in the sarong
else when tey see it, they refuse to sleep in it leh

Hi Tennyson,

Other than wat serene had suggest, u can oso try puttg yor bb on the mattress too.. cos in the past, i oso facing the same problem as u all leh... n sleepg on the mattress is safeter.. My boy ever "climb" dwn fr the sarong ar...

my boy oso used to sleep in sarong, since 2MO. He can sleep longer. He never like me to carry him to sleep cos too warm. Ever since he learnt how to flip, he started to prefer to sleep in cot cos can do side-sleeping....

SSL: If you bring him out to fren's hse w/o sarong how u settle him? My mum hse no space to put sarong so when go my mum hse he cried & cried for hrs leh ... I keep carrying & patting him till he's really tired and doze off but once put on bed cry & scream again.
Aiyo ... I headache dun dare bring him out!!! **Super Stress**

Serene/Inuovi/ixwong: These few nights I try to put him on his bed and let him sleep sideway by keep patting him till he fall asleep. He never cry or scream but fidgets alot lor ... I'm trying to let him learn how to sleep w/o sarong.

ixwong: same here loh. i remove my portable sarong liao.

tennyson, try to carry him upright position. dun carry sleeping position. it will helps. i learn from the mag. coz at this stage, the like to see stuffs. so u carry his this way & walk ard, they will cool down & stop crying

mayday

i never bring him to friend house! only mil or my mum house which already equipped with sarong. once went to relative house during cnym he want to sleep. no choice mil carry n rock him till he sleep lor... :p she uses pacifier. normaaly we go out, brennan will sleep in the car.

at night, brennan sleeps on bed after his last feed. think cooler so he can sleep. but will also fidget but after few seconds calm down n continue. i realised its his habit so i learn not to grab his hands when he fidgets but wait n see.

now he can flip, he actually turn to his side n sleep on his own! last night, he tried to turn but i think hand got stuck n he fuss for help. haha n i have to rescue him
really have to be careful now that he can flip from back to tummy

My 3 months-old girl is addicted to sarong. she can't fall asleep without swinging in it. So we don't dare to bring her out shopping anymore cuz she will just scream and cry as she can't fall asleep without her sarong. How??

hi meixue,

maybe u can consider buying the sarong sling cause the way of putting the baby to sleep is like as if she is in the sarong. Your movement will be something like the swinging sensation so I think maybe she shld be fine.. i don know...

actuali once tey noe how to flip, it's quite dangerous to let them continue sleep in sarong
so must tink twice

hi, actually i wasn't for the idea of letting my baby sleep in the sarong coz I was afraid he'd get so used to it that i'd have to bring the sarong everywhere i go jus to make him sleep. (It was like that with my SIL's son..she had to bring the sarong wherever she went so that he could sleep.) And yes, agree that once the babies know how to flip, its very dangerous coz they might fall from the sarong.

my gal is sleeping in sarong too and she just turn 7mth and learnt how to 'get down' from it 2 days ago. She'll grab the cloth at her head and shift her butt hard till near out of the sarong. when her feet touches the mattress (our sarong quite low) she'll give it a hard pull and drop herself out of it!
My MIL managed to grab her while falling in the middle of the night when sensing a shadow... after that MIL couldn't get back to sleep cos too shock and worry abt this. Really got to pin it properly and can't afford to forget to pin.

I tried to get her to sleep on bed directly at night... I've to let her crawl/turn for 1hr before she could let me hold her down to sleep.. *sigh*

btw. her head is quite round due to sleeping in sarong.

hi Ju
Ya it is cos she doesn't know how to sit/stand yet and sarong not too far from the wall. Now got to use a bigger piece of sarong and put small pillow under her knee to stop her butt from moving. She'll be angry when can't get down when woken and make noise (at least she make noise)... And again pls don't forget to pin up the edge.

paiseh..can i ask how to wean bb off sarong here or not hah..me lazy to start another thread..me gal already 10mths+ still sleeping in sarong..dont know how to wean her off leh..headache..anyone can help?

My baby also sleeps in sarong through the night, about 7-8 hours. I don't like it, but not much choice, since she sleeps better in the sarong. Scared if i move her to bed, she will wake very often/easily.

ixwong - ya lor..use to let her sleep in sarong thru the night..but now after she sleep..will carry her to the playpen..but she always wake up in the middle of the night and gotta put her back sarong leh..but will keep trying..afternoon no chance to carry her to the playpen at all leh..she will wake up immediately one..

meixue - me oso dont like but oso no choice..she does sleep better in sarong..how old your bb hah?

edksd - ya i heard tat it is not good for the spine cos no support..tat's why wanna wean her off but dont know how wor..haiii

Err, din most of us sleep in the sarong when we were younger? at least dat was wat my mum told me. dun tink it will affect the spine, coz if you use those netted ones, it has a natural curve t support ;)

My eldest(now 28mths) used to sleep nowhere BUT the sarong for his 1st 12mths! thereafter, I will move him out after he deep in sleep (ard 30min after he zzz).

To wean him off sarong at nite, i will lie down n tok to him till he sleepy. It took him ard 2wks to get used to no sarong at nite, althou daytime naps he still prefer sarong (cooler).

My 2nd boy Denzyl (now 3mths) no chance to use the sarong, coz Cedric (elder) say it is HIS sarong! good also lah, althou daytime Denzyl dun sleep well, but at nite he will sleep thru fr 10pm to 6am.

crystalmum, my baby is 4 months now. I really hope to wean her off from sarong, but when i carry her to playpen, she will wake in the middle of the night too. Sigh.... how old is your baby? I hope she will outgrow the sarong and like the playpen as she gets a bit older.

My boy now 26mths still sleep in sarong (most of the time) for his afternoon nap and sometimes in the night on weekdays. On weekends when I bring him back, he sleeps on mattress. I don't see much disadvantage using sarong. My boy now an expert in sarong, sometimes he use it to perform strunts for us.

haha, talking abt performing stunts, mine too... so funny. he noes I scared he will fall out n knock his head, but he purposely wan to do it. althou I put a mattress underneath, ard the time he wake up fr naps I will listen hard. Once I suspect he waking up, I will go in, just in case.

crystalmum
My ds still sleeps in sarong but only for day naps cos cooler. Since birth, I never let him sleep in sarong at night, so he's now ok with sleeping in cot even during the day. I previously consulted some mummies and they all said babies will outgrown sarong on their own so no need to worry so much....

joyze - thanks for the tip for weaning off sarong..me will try soon! but then i got problem with my gal lying down on bed..as in she wont lie down at all! she always sits up after i lay her down flat on the bed leh..arghh...really dont know wat to do with her..haiii

meixue - mine is 10.5mths liao..and the sarong is getting a bit smaller for her leh..hehe..wan to wean her off so dont have to buy another bigger sarong..keke..

ixwong - i wish she really will outgrow..my niece took 2 years to outgrow wor..i hope my gal will not take so long!

hello all mummies.

wonder if anyone had purchased amby motion bed? the angmo version of sarong. wonder wat s the difference bet this and the normal sarong

Hello, would like to share my experience too. My son nw 4.5mths old & hv been sleeping in sarong since 1mth old. Yes bb head is more rounded when sleep in sarong (his head used to be one side bigger than e other cos he liked to sleep on one side) and yes it is difficult to go out cos scare he cry for sarong (which he did once during my SIL wedding dinner). Very paisay. Now aso is trying to wean him off. But very difficult cos he cried and I mean he really CRIED !!! So I wish all mummies (including me) who wish to wean their babies off sarong - GOOD LUCK!! Hope every1 see result soon!!

my boy sleeps in the sarong during the day..me oso feels it's cooler to sleep in sarong and he sleeps for 3-4hrs..used to let him sleep on the bed during the day and he woke up with his hair wet leh (sweating
) and he dun sleep long..

my ger ger in the day sleep in sarong. onli at nite.. if she too tired cannot stand then she will sleep on the bed. We intend to go on a holiday soon... so a bit worry when other places no sarong.......

Hi fern,
To wean bb off sarong take time, since sleeping in sarong more shiok and cooler. If you are going for a trip soon, think there is another thread about travelling with sarong bb that might interest you.
My last posting was when my boy is 4.5mths old. Now he is 7.5mths (3 mths later) and still not 100% wean off sarong.

ling76, tks. anyway..hehe!! we going back to visit my parents inlaw.. so my hubby decided to ask his mother to get a sarong to save our headache..

Are you guys talking about the sarong attached to the springs? A few weeks ago I bought one electric sarong bouncer and we hardly used it
Not to mention it cost us $225 for the whole set. My baby fusses a LOT at night so I was desperate and bought it on impulse when I heard that some babies liked it. My almost 8 weeks old girl don't seemed to enjoy it much *sigh* Now the thing is just being a display set in one of our room. What to do ah?

hi all, kindly contribute your comments to some of my doubts and myths i heard

- Sarong not gd for spine? heard that some child sleeps slanted and when they grow up, also not straight

- cannot rock too hard, will cause head concussion?

- child will drop off from sarong if not careful?

- child will get "addicted" and difficult to wean off? some dun wan to sleep bed anymore?

A lot of mothers in the past used the sarong to help put baby to sleep longer. If its really bad for the spine, then we would be seeing a lot of people who would be walking in a crooked manner all around us.

As for rocking, you should only bounce it moderately....of course if its so hard and vigourous you might hurt the baby.

If a child is big enough he/she might drop off but putting an extra mattress underneath might help.

As for addiction, you can probably curb this by not letting your baby sleep in it all the time...maybe use it for day time and let your baby sleep in her/his bed at night. I have an electric sarong cradle and I used it alternately with other sleeping arrangements and my baby (4 and a half months) is not addicted to it. We put her in the cradle or her rocker during the day and in her bed at night. So far she can sleep in her bed from 12 - 7/8 am without much problem. Earlier she seeemed to not like it so much. But after a few tries, she's ok with it. We put her in after she's asleep and the gentle motion helps to comfort her longer.