advice needed on breastfeeding

Y'day i cooked ikan bilis stock cube with soya beans, ripe papaya & beancurd soup, packed to work for my lunch, it taste sweet w/o any seasonings.. Ripe papaya also can be cooked right?

Fennel taste bitter? If they dont' understand how ah?

Hello mummies, got a question..

Usually when I am pumping, the milk is like gushing out. But these two days, its like tickling very slowly. So instead of usual 15mins, it will take me 30mins to pump the same amount. Is that normal?

vera,
"gushing out", is it a let-down?

May not get a let-down if you are not relex,
stressful, etc...

Leng Leng,

Its like everytime I put the pump on, the milk will gush out like tap effect, then will continue until its slowly tickling effect. I not sure if that's let-down? So now it suddenly stop "gushing" when I pump, I was like wondering if something's wrong..

Yes, everything is the same.. so I am quite worried, is it my supply ending already? By the way I am using an electrical pump.. not sure if a manual pump is better?

vera,
eat well, rest well, sleep well, drink enough...
if your rest the same, eat the same & everything the same...mmm...

Menses?
When menses comes BM drops too...

PS: Unless you are pregnant? hee hee...

Hmm, think most probably I lack of sleep? Cant get to sleep much as every other moment either need to pump or feed baby..

Cant be menses/pregnant cos I still in confinement, ending tomorrow! Haha..

vera,
sleep when baby sleeps,
don't go round doing chores when baby sleeps,
when he wakes up, you'll be tired.

Supple=demand
As long as there's demand, there'll be breastmilk.

JIA YOU.

hi i never experience "gushing" out. it's always "ticking out", like a leaking tap. is it normal? i'm pumping about 30 - 60 per session. it's quite unstable. is it normal?

Hi Geberra, how old is your baby now? You pump for how long per pumping session and how many hrs interval?

hi, my baby is coming to 3 weeks ago. morning, sometimes can pump 60 ml from 2 breasts. but thereafter sessions in the day, i can only manage 30-40 ml from 2 breasts.

baby always not enough, so i supplement with formula.

Try to latch baby as much as possible and as long as he/she wants.. If you supplement with formula, your breasts will thought your baby won't need so much milk and it will produce less milk in return..

In the beginning, my girl also very fussy, so i latch her whenever she wants it. Sometimes i even latch her every hour.. Luckily my girl and i passed that phase liao. Now i'm also facing supply problem. She don't like to latch during the day, so i express out for her to drink and make her sleep. Night time then i latch her directly.

geberra,
I agree with PrincessOctober,
latch on more,
supply=demand

Do you feel that you are able to express more after you wake up from sleep?
Try to rest & sleep more.

Also rem to drink enough liquid,
Milk, Milk, Soup, red date tea,
need about 2L for ourself & 1L for baby.

hi, yes i do feel that i can express more after i wake up from sleep. normally my "best volume" is in the morning.

sometimes i do latch on in between pumping (if i "catch" her wake-up timings). but she sometimes refuses to suckle at breast.

Hi geberra,
baby drinks about every 2-3 hours time,
quite accurate timings, if you had recorded down the drinking timings.

Your baby had tried drinking from bottle,
which is much easier, no need to suck as hard as from mummy's teat.
Perhaps that's why she refuses to suckle?

If you are intending to return to work & will be expressing milk for baby,
you may want to start from now?
There are lots of babies who are on Total Expressed Breastmilk,
which are as good as from the mummy.

Now you have to deligently pump every 3 hourly to kick the volume,
rest/sleep as much as possible,
it helps to produce more milk.

Jia You,
Leng Leng

Tell you guys something i'm quite embarassed abt: My left breast can produced 100-150ml bm while my right breast can only produced 20-40ml bm.. Isn't that funny? I tried to pump more on the right side, but still no avail. Think i'll have to accept that my left side is more productive..

Hi Princess...

Before you reach the conclusion that your right breast is less productive, perhaps you would like to try Mdm Rokiah service to rule out block ducts issue? Im in similar shoe as you until i engage her service. she told me that luckily i rectify my problem early coz block ducts will really have an adverse effect on milk supply...

All the best to you yah?

Hi Munchies, but not only that, i don't feel any fullness/leaking/letting down on my right breast, and my right breast is very small compared to my left breast, half the size of it leh..

Hi Jayce, hmmm.. not too sure about the fullness or leakage thingy but i just feel that it is good to find out the real reason i/o assuming that one side is less productive than the other.

Hi Munchies, yes thanks for your advise. I now continuing to pump more at the lesser side, while check out with the doc for the real reason. Thanks!

thanks Leng Leng..will focus on expressing the milk then.

munchies, did u experience an immediate surge in the volume after the massage? will the blocked ducts come back again?

Can I know if we can coloured our hair if we are still breastfeeding ?

I think highlighting the hair is ok, cos it didn't touch the root. But colouring is not ok.

Any advice from mummies or gynae's view. thanks.

Hi SWM, i read from somewhere that it's ok to colour our hair even if we're breastfeeding coz the amount of chemical that might get into our blood, thus through bm is very minimal. Is of an insignificant amount. If you're worried, maybe can colour an inch away from the scalp? I'm breastfeeding and i did my rebonding & diy colouring..

Thanks PrincessOctober. I dare not to do anything to my hair during pregnancy.

Now, due to breastfeeding, also worried about colouring my hair.

Maybe, it's time to update my look.

Hi Geberra,

supply did improve only 2/3 days later, most noticeably in my left breast coz initially my left breast is less productive than the right even though it is slightly bigger... When she was here, she taught me how to feel for lumps and it is true that ive a lot of block ducts on my ampit area and she taught me how to clear those...

she told me that block ducts can come back again if we do not clear them diligently...

Hi Princesss.. no worries...

actually me think this is a good place to share or talk about our bf experience (in a way to encourage each other bah)

i find that bf is a very difficult thingy, especially if your family and relatives are not supportive of it coz there is a lot of scarifice, especially where "time" is concern..and it makes it even harder when hubby is not supportive.

Ya loe, i agree.. When do you think it's the best time to wean? Is it bfing beyond 1 year is not so nutritous, it's better to give formula milk? Now my girl seems so fussy, like she's always not full loe!

i dun know man.. i guess you have to answer a few questions first (for me lah):
- am i always eating healthily?
- am i willing to go that far coz for me, im not reallly bf FULLY.. im supplementing with FM at night coz my son is a BIG eater and if he is not full, he can really crank the whole night..
- is your family "GAME" for it? if you are latching, then i guess not so troublesome, for ppl like me who is dependent on a machine, then it is double the trouble and expenses as well... imagine the electrical bill and it does seems very stupid to outsiders, coz me pumping, then feeding.. =\

so for me, i will try to tahan until 6mths, after that then decide... i miss "Sushi", and "Chilli Crab" and "Oyster"... hai

Hi Jayce,

With regards to your child being fussy and not full...mine is also having the same issue le... my nanny told me that BM is not thick enough and the child tends to be more cranky coz when they are not fully "FILLED", i mean, then they can slp well..

I tried once givng my son an oz of FM after 4 oz of BM, and he slept like a log after that...can try yourself if you really cant stand the crankiness... i only try that when i cant stand it, otherwise, i just let him "crank"

hi munchies, i do put hot towel and massage breast beforehand. is there other ways to "clear block ducts"? pls share. thanks.

Munchies (oosh),
"intro" food slowly to your baby thru mummy,
take the same food for a week,
look for any allegy in your baby, or wind in tummy,
I can take any food I want now.

FM & BM can fill baby as well,
just rem to feed on a breast each time,
make sure BB drinks your hindmilk full full,
if really not enough, then switch.
Hindmilk is more "creamy" thus fill baby more.

If feed only foremilk on both sides on each feed,
baby will get hungry easily,
and will feed more frequently,
may not put on much weight/fats too.

Munchies,
Weekdays: I pump during work, direct feed when i got home.
Weekends: Direct feed + pumping throughout the day. Usually she will dozed off after i feed her ebm in bottle, but if direct latch, she won't sleep! So if it's time for her to nap, then i will feed her bottle, while i pump to maintain supply.

I'm always eating heathily during the day, only go haywire at night time. When i'm tired, i will look for junk food to keep up my energy =(

I'm still total bfing, but now need to use some of the frozen bm to keep up her intake liao.. Now only left a few packs of frozen bm..

My hubby is very supportive of me bfing. Ask me not to stop! I'm also dependent on my pump, no pump = miserable me. I agree it's double the trouble and expenses, need to sterilise, buy milk bags, warm milk, batteries, electricity etc. It's not stupid lah, i'm also pumping, then feeding mah. That means we love our babies very much coz we don't mind the trouble =)

I also eat whatever i like now. Spicy food, bubble milk tea, crab, etc, only try to limit my coffee..

How nice that your hubby is suppprtive.. mine is not so coz it is a lot of trouble and every where also cant go, especially during the weekend. When we go shopping, we have to look for shopping centre that has nursing room and there was once i was scolded by a lady who saw me coming out of the nursing room w/o the baby... so upset and embarrassed coz to me, i felt like a failure for not being able to feed directly ... =\

Munchies (oosh),
if not BFing...
Need to bring hot water, cold water,
milk powder, milk bottle, etc. etc...

More troublesome... Trust me.

Hi Geberra,

Cam try buying a hot stone... more effectivethan hot towel coz it stays hot for a long while and you can really use it to compress the ducts which Mdm Rokiah use... I have not gotten from her coz not many block ducts since her 1st/last visit... should i need her svc again, i will buy from her... otherwise, you can go to her store (somewhere near kovan area)..she is selling at 10+++ (if i dun remember wrongly)

Hi Leng Lng,

You are absolutely right... very troublesome and a lot a lot of things to bring.. Sometimes can find nursing room, have to pump in the car too.... im still contemplating whether to buy the car charger (that why you still have not receive my final order yet) Paiseh =P

hi Leng Leng,

with regards to BM/FM filling the baby and hindmilk and foremilk.... i believe mine should comprise of both hindmilk and foremilk bah coz i pump until nothing comes out le unless my hindmilk is more than my foremilk??? =P

Munchies, i bought a nursing cover at First few years, so i can bf wherever i want outside. But if i go out w/o my girl and i need to express bm, i also look for nursing room. If no nursing room, then i settle for toilet. Anyway, shopping centre toilets are vry clean.

Sorry can i ask you what is the reason that you can't direct feed? No need to feel embarrassed, you're a good mummy to make the effort to express the best for your baby.. You did not give up bfing and give your girl total fm..
By the way, you found fennels already?