Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ?

Yah, this week 2nd week. Actually i very kiasu, i on waiting list since like May, edd in aug. Tink they called me ard June period to say got space, ask me call again in Sept/Oct..

ur place near the Agape? fo me it would be too far.. Hope eveythings goes smoothly for our babies!

if u in JP, we can go shopping tog liao.. heee.. u go back work already? Me gg back next wek...

Hihi Mummies,

I also placed my son IFC when he is 2mths plus, now already coming 14mths. Mine is at Whispering Hearts at Blk 688 Jurong West Central.

Yes, I agree initially he fall sick quite often becos' there are other babies, sometimes fall sick, tend to pass the virus to others. But I not choice, no MIL and no good baby sitter, so I've to put in IFC. So far, the teachers there ok. I even more kiasu, that time when I EDD in Oct, I already reserved in May.

I was also on waiting list with Whispering Hearts :p but they din call me leh.. hehe.. but actually i prefer inside JP, abit nearer for me

great to find quite a few j.west mummy here.
aiyo for my case, my bb aldy 7 mths liao.
initially is MIL taking care but have lotsa issue with her so decided to put IFC.

that why so last min loh..called all IFC around my area, only agape & safra got 1 vacancy so no choice loh but safra kinds exp loh..JP will be more convenient for me as i stay near pioneer mrt..Agape is at jalan bahar there so I have to take bus 185, then the bus waiting time is always very long, wait until fed up. maybe will trsf to JP if got space..whaha..
But agape is so far so good lah, teachers are nice.

ioroios
the infant care ur baby in is in JP?
JP=Jurong point??
not reali familiar wif jurong side.
if is Jurong point i maybe can c if can b put on waitin list

Hi Sandy,

Ya, baby now in My First Skool in Jurong Point already. U are also living somewhere near? The teachers so far are nice n rather experienced.

Actually this location is the best for me .. cos afte sending him to school, i can go take train directly. Dun hav to walk so much :p

janiemin: tink u can call them to be place on the waiting list first. Thir number: 6795 5144

Hi ioroios,

Oh that time I actually pay the deposit to comfirm a place in whispering Hearts cos' I know if on waiting list, chances are slimmer they will call me. No choice, have to be kiasu. Tat time the little skool hse in JP not yet open, so did not registered there..but I think last time was under NTUC at Blk 671, later shift to JP.

Sandy Dee, the IFC inside the new JP extension is called the little skook house at level 3.

If you confirm you wan to put in IFC, kiasu abit like me, pay the deposit to confirm a place.

No leh, the one in JP, level 3 is My First Skool... they have one more branch at Blk 671...

the little skook house is at Safra...

ioroios/snowyee
hihi. i stayin at yishun but hubby workin at pioneer wor so thinkin to put her ther hehe. u all will b always in JP? i currently not workin almost everyday go ther wait 4 hubby finish work mayb we find 1 day mit up

oh ya can the ifc look frm outside? not comfortable wif unable to c wanna peek at baby once in a while to ensure everythin is ok

Sandy :
i starting work next week le...
actually u can call up the principal to bring u for a "tour" on the IFC side, but they do it on a Sat whereby most babies are not in.. if u wan, i will be fetching my baby about 6+ tdy n tmr, if u wan, u can join me to fetch him so that u can have a quick glance in the inside
Will send u a PM with my hp.

ioroios,

thanks..will try to put my bb on their waiting list. I actually ask for a tour in JP but the prinicipal dun allow due to H1N1 unless when you are confirmed for the waiting list then u can go n see n decide if you want.

icic... tink that time the N1H1 not so serious yet.. erm,,, then am i on the waiting list b4 May then... haaa.. KS me

Hi Sandy,

My IFC cannot see from outside but that time when I'm on waiting list, they bring me inside and show me where they bathe the infant / where the infant sleep and what they do during the day..that time no H1N1, so they allowed..now not sure can they allow? If you are breastfeeding, you just give them the breast milk in a few bottles, they are able to help you to feed. If you are interested, can call them to enquire. Tel:67922321, principal name is Mdm Kaur. School fees is $500 after subsidies(for S'pore citizen), quite reasonable. Now I use BB CDA account to pay, I only pay $250 each mth, then the MCYS will match $250.

snowyee11:
$500 is cheap leh.. they dun chage GST? hhe... cos My First Skool charge leh.. become $737.59... $200 diff leh... shitty!

oh. i went to a IFC near my place to 'tour' saw somethin not veri happy a baby was in a bouncer den tis teacher threw a pillow across the room nearly hit the baby & she jux hack care

I think no IFC will let parents c de ba

snowyee 11
500 bucks is very cheap..maybe they increase the fee now for new comers.I oso got check whispering hearts but unconvenient for me as no direct bus for me. Whispering heart is near the JMC ist?

Mine is already 700 bucks..ok shall place my bb in JP for waiting list if dun have infant then i wait until toddler 18mths..haha..JP is so convenient..

Ioroios, good to be KS..if can, i meet u sometime to go peep at ur IFC ok?

janiemin
tat time when I registered is $400 only(after $600 subsidy). later they increased to $500. Think will not increase bah as they jist increased this year. Yes, it is just next to JMC. 3mins walk to JP, just cross over the overhead bridge, then will reach JP.

aiyo..seems very near to JP hor.tat time i choose Agape cos i tot got direct bus for me so quite convenient.who knows the stupid bus waiting time is damn long.i leave my house n fetch son back needs 1 hr..then seems like whispering heart is convenient as well.I take mrt fm pioneer to boon lay, cut through J.pt will rch..haha..what to do, i just put my bb there as same ioroios, oni 2 weeks there..

Janiemin,
You staying near pioneer mrt? Actually got direct bus reach whispering hearts. Can take bus 257/192/193. Alight then walk abit will reach..I stay St 93, next to JW sports complex.. if you interested, I helped you to check later how many on waiting list.

hi snowyee11,

I stay at st 93 as well leh.i stay blk 987.
Alamak, want to faint liao..initially i tot 257/192/193 will be long but when i wait for the bus 185 to come, quite a few 192 & 193 cos lotsa industry ppl..aiyo..

janiemin,
I stayed at blk 989, few blocks away oni. Maybe we met each other before. =). Oh bus 257 quite fast. If my hubby cannot fetch, I fetch. I reached hme at 6pm, I quickly bathe and reached bustop ar 6.25pm, then less then 5mins, the bus came. Reached there around 6.35pm. Very fast..

janiemin,
ermm, will be abit diff already, cos i starting work next week le and hubby will be the on fetching, cos i only knock off 6.30pm! ARGHH...

unless sat or wat?

snowyee11,
seems very fast man..so the total time u spent is around hw long to and back to home? mine took 45 mins..sigh..this morn, i still complain to my hubby that the bus waiting time is so long, asked him to buy a bicycle for me, he said cycle so far..I told him i reach IFC the bus still havnt reach, waste my time waiting for the bus..
haha, yes maybe we met before. I called whispering heart, only feb then got vacancy..i will go there n fill up the waiitng list and see which is faster loh J.pt or whispering heart.Can i ask how many infants are there now and hw many teachers? i forgot to ask.

ioroios,
no worries, i filled up the waiting list liao..wait for them to call me and i shall see how.thanks.

janiemin,

I think to and fro ar 1/2 an hr bah. Usually I will take bus 257(less then 10mins will arrive)or if not will take bus 192/193. Usually I go home I will also take bus 257 cos oni walk a bit to the bus stop near the IFC. Oh over at whispering hearts there are 15 babies, got 5 teachers. Usually the teachers will rotate their shifts. I think if you ar really intersted aft you've seen the environment, maybe you can check if they can take in 1 more now as your bb now older, so maybe got chance. Cos' u see huh, when your bb is older liao, it will be more difficult to get used to the environment esp when they start to recognise faces liao.

snowyee11

I called and they told me its full even thought they asked me hw ols is my bb..oic, 15 babies..
nw agape oni has 10 babies, most of them moved to the 18 mths grp liao.

janiemin,

Yes, over at whispering Hearts and My first skool(JP), quite full. Ur ifc got max can take in 10 babies? What is the ratio?

After my boy turns 18mth, I will be moving him to another childcare.

snowyee11,
ya,my ifc will only take in max 10 babies.now got oni 6-7 babies as most shift to 18 mths grp 2 weeks ago.keke.now got 3 teachers, if got 10 babies will have 4 teachers.

oh why u plan to move to another childcare? can share with me? cos of location?

janiemin,

so ur one still ok, as least the ratio is lesser.
Less babies, can concentrate better on taking care.

Yeah, location and nearer to my MIL hse. So sometimes, she can help to pick up aft work so we no need so rush and the ciriculumn of the other childcare seems better.

Actually I have already reserved a place liao. I super kiasu wan. When my boy turns 1 year, I already staring hunting. The principal told me before me, there is another parent already reserved a place for his child enroling for next year's in June 2010. It's at Cherie Hearts at Blk 721 Jurong West. I like becos of the playground is smaller for the toddlers so that the teachers have more concentration of taking care of the young toddlers. They also promote healthy eating as cherie hearts was awarded by HPB for healthy eating meals. One of my colleague's daughter also in the PG now, so she told me not bad. Plus they open until 7.30pm so I also no need to rush if I cannot make it before 7pm.

snowyee11,
Thanks for sharing the information.Ha where is blk 721?wat bus u take?haha.cos we stay very near each other so wan to know fm u.Location is impt dun wan to spent time traveling like me

haha,not KS, we have to be KS. mine too last min, in fact last time i aldy search for IFC when im pregnant but MIL insist taking care so u see lah, took care for 6 mths lotsa issue better put in IFC. cos very last min, no place at IFC.

My boy will onli turn 18 mths in oct2010, can start searching in april then
Do you know if the stadium one is for 18mths and above?

janiemin,

Oh tat blk 721 can take bus 192/193. Just need to walk 5mins will reach. I think around 3 stops from our busstop.

I think should be fine lah, you can start after CNY bah if you more KS.Haha. The 1 at the stadium is MMI, yes for 18mths and above. Quite expensive. I enquire before, I think after govt. subsidy, still have to pay $700plus. But convenient cos' walking distance from our hse. Don't know now got increase price anot? Mine is $350 only.

Hi ioroios,

I chance upon this thread and read that your bb is in my first skool in JP. They are opening new centre in Clementi, am interested to shift my bb from the current IFC to the Clementi centre, so thought of asking you how was the overall expereience in my first skool? What was the caregiver to bb ratio?

snowyee11,
haha, yes after CNY..can find slowly.quite a few childcare around.its IFC not much..wah almost double the price.when bb move to toddler is cheaper rite, which u said urs is 350 bucks. yes MMI is super convenient but also super expensive.think if u calculate and take bus everyday to cherie hearts, will not add up to 700plus.
seems like a chatting place for us.I will pm u if i need any help can?

I tink 'My First Skool'is not bad but dun get confused with 'Little Skool House'@ SAFRA.... is a total turn off....

Hi ioroios,

Glad to hear that from you! I have enquired on the Clementi centre, it is not open yet.

How much do you pay every month? How was the daily activities like for the babies? Do they read story book or sing songs to the babies? I hope the Clementi centre facilities will be on par with JP, it is on a void deck actually...

Your bb is how many months old now?

Hi Yehyeh,
It is confusing, yes! I think Little Skool House is the more 'premium sister' of My First Skool is it? I went to Little Skool House at Buona Vista CC before deciding on my current IFC. From the brief tour, it is quite ok. You have bad experience with the SAFRA centre?

Pastries:
Its quite expensive though.
Its $737.59 after MCYS subsidy. For the inmobile bb, norm only drink, zzz. Then when they'r awake, they will either be placed in those playmat or those rockers.. teachers will attend to them, sometimes sing, talk.. read books tink only once in a while.. tink more towards the elder bb, they do more reading..

Yehyeh: lucky i din put him at Safra there then.. we were deciding as well.. but i lazy, cos already on waiting list for JP and another IFC

janiemin,

Yes, there are really quite a couple of CC around. You slowly take your time. I think there is one opp pioneer mall blk 641 also not bad. But my husband said it's more chinese speaking, haha he's quite particular so we did not enrol there.

Sure, no problem, can PM me anytime.

Ioroios,

Have got this very bad experience with this school!! Very fustrating!!! After much consideration, thinking tat such a 'big'organisation service provided shld not be worst off. I sent my BB to their Infant care in her 3rd mth cos i need to go back to work. I send her there one week earlier b4 i start work hoping she will get used to the environment. I have heavy heart everyday when i bring her there or when i fetch her home. Y? Either her dirty clothes is mixed with clean clothes or others bb stuff is inside my baby bag (to bring hm daily for washing), she is not fed properly & worst on the 4th days she got fever! OMG... i cant imagine this happen so fast... All in the roomare infant!!! HOW MUCH VIRUS INFANT HAS?? I even c them ignore a toddler who is crying for almost 10mins until i told the teacher 'itink she poo'then she bother to entertain her. I m a 1st time mother... for the passed 3mths i took care of her.. everyting is fine but send her there 4th days kena fever. Immediately, i got her out then there is a refund for the fees i paid.. now she is coming 5thmth.. haha the refund is still with them.. i lost the school number so got to call another branch for number.. guess wat... they dun have.. im so disappointed! such a big organisation tis is the type of ting igot! How comfortable can a mother be to send her kid to such a sch?Are the teacher there because they have passion or jus cos they wan to earn $ with other ppls'kid???

Mayb u wld say i m not flexible... but sometime is really hard to accept that the way they look after your bb is jus not sensitive enuf...

Hi Yehyeh...
Can understand ur frustration there...
My First Skool requested us to be inside the center for the first 3 days..(half day) so that baby can get used to the environment and also let us mothers have a feel of wats happening inside... During the 3 days, i felt secure enough loh... of cos bb do cry inside, but think they are quite good, the teachers..

Hi Pastries:
haa, tink all the IFC have similar activities.. cos babies cant do much :p
The principal was telling me that for IFC, they will forcus more on "talking" to the babies.

Hi ioroios,

'talking' will stimulate the bb brain development! :)

Because the new centre is not open yet, I emailed to their main enquiry and the reply was slow (infact, still waiting for a reply after the lst correspondence), I called the hotline for 2 days, nobody pick up the call at all.. Really getting abit skeptical about the service level..

Yr bb has being in the centre for how long?

Hi Yehyeh,
My bb keep falling sick at the current IFC, and there are some other issues which make me had the same thinking as you, they are not passionate or compassionate enough.. Sigh.. I tends to think most IFC or CC are like that..

Pastries,

U tot of changing? or even find a nanny? Initally i scare to find nanny i scare they 'torture' her... cos is like 1 to 1... but 'heng' my nanny is good... therefore if u were to ask me i wont encourage any ppl to place them with IFC... so sad & bad experiences..

Hi Yehyeh,

Yes, I am looking around for another IFC or nanny. Am now waiting for the nanny agent to get back to me and also will make a visit to the new IFC at my place.

I also had the same worry as you, I am afraid of nanny doing funny things to my bb.. You found your current nanny thru agency? You were so lucky to find a good nanny!

Hi Yehyeh,

Oh u so lucky to be able to find a good nanny from market! haha! I am thinking of asking my neighbour auntie but chances shd be slim.