Advice: How to increase breastmilk amount?

I supposed if you pump/latch more often you'll have better milk flow. This is demand and supply cycle.

Remember to rest and drink well, it's always good to take a hot drink before you bf or pump.

hi ladies, annissa is right... in fact, it's better to latch on OFTEN to increase milk ss. it's the only sure way. supplementing is a tough choice becos it causes your ms to dip, for sure since that means bb latches on less frequently.

TANWAWAS - your bb may simply be slowing down in growth. my boy started slowing down in weight after 3 mos. from 3 mos to 6 mos, he put on only 1-1/2 kg. you mentioned latching on during day. how about nite? what happens at nite? if you don't nurse or pump, your ss will go down then.

happycat - if you switch to fm, your ms will go down becos you are latching on fewer times. if you want ss to maintain or increase, you either latch on frequently or pump regularly.

marshywoodie - aiyoh, i have only one word for you: PATIENCE!!!
it takes a while to establish ms. if you are nursing on demand, there will be little to pump out. i was like that and only at about 5 to 6 weeks did i manage to yield more than a few drops of liquid gold with nursing AND pumping. after 6 weeks, (FOR ME - everyone is diff), i was then able to pump more.

annissa, i think you're doing just fine. don't worry so much. if your bb is happy after a feed, she has enuf milk. loss of weight after delivery is usu attributed to loss of water. remember all that bloatedness? it takes about 6 mos to get rid of all that water retained.
i lost 6kg after delivery and another 4kg during the first month even tho i ate like a cow!!!

just one thot for everyone here....

my aunt asked me what was the most important thing for breastfeeding. and i had one word:

PERSEVERANCE!!!

IMHO, in order for bf-ing to be successful, one must of cos be armed with INFO prior to delivery, have a firm COMMITMENT TO TBF (the hospital is the first place you lose some faith becos they always ask, "can we give fm or glucose?" i rejected it completely.), have lots of SUPPORT from hubby and bf friends, and above all, PATIENCE AND PERSEVERANCE.

maybe it's just our society to always be chasing after numbers and then we all get hung up about HOW MUCH we are PUMPING. i was like that too.

we have perhaps forgotten to learn to read our bb's signals or be sensitive to their difference cries. every cry in their early months is attributed to HUNGER which then sets up a vicious cycle. every cry causes the in-law to insist that bb is hungry and leads to mummy's insecurity abt her ability to provide ALL that her bb needs.

i want to encourage all brave bf-ing mums to be steadfast in their determination to bf and to be secure and sure of their ability to provide for BB UTTERLY AND COMPLETELY. If at any point your instincts tell you something different, do seek out professional advice from a lactation consultant.

MORE POWER TO US BF-ing MUMS!!!

Hi Snort,

Sorry for the late reply and thanks for responding to my questions.

My bb was 2.875 at birth and at the last check up last week (bb is 1 mth old), she is only 3.2 kg. PD didnt tell me to give formula but ensure more feeds and pump to get more milk out. He gives me 2 weeks before the next appointment to assess the situation.

I used to feed her every 3-4 hours. Being ignorant, I thought the schedule applies to breastfed babies as well. And hubby thought I was over-feeding her as she is always wailing (he reckons that she has too much gas & Im compounding to the problem by feeding her on top of that) and still is.

Its been 4 weeks that Ive been starving my baby and with my low supply of milk, Im feeling more depressed by the day. Yesterday, I went to see the gynae and she prescribed me the Domperidone. Hope this helps. Im also forcing myself to eat more and healthily too. Before, I must admit, I didnt really care about my fluid or food intake. My appetite was very low.

So today, my cleaning lady hinted that the constant wailing/screaming means that my baby is hungry. And that my milk is not enough and I should give formula to my bb as the poor thing is starving. After the session with the PD, my mums call this morning to voice out her concern and the cleaning ladys disapproving remarks that Im not feeding my child and the babys constant wailing, I decided for the first time, to give her a bottle of formula that I keep just in case.

When the cleaning lady fed my baby, she suckled and drank so hungrily, my heart broke. So I left to just calm myself down and encourage let down later as Im still hoping that my milk will improve with the medication given.

I still want to breastfeed but times like this make me want to give up.

Oh, my baby is wailing again. Got to go!

Honeygem,
What my hospital did for me was wonderful in helping me establish my milk flow. Let me share with you.

They made some formula milk in a milk bottle and placed one end of a very tiny tube in it. After my baby has latched on for say 10-15 minutes, the nurse will place the other end of the tube into the corner of my daughter's mouth whilst she is suckling me. In this way, to my daughter, it's like she is drinking milk from me (hence no nipple confusion issues) and for me, it helped to trick my brain into producing more since she is still suckling.

Medela has a system like that that can be bought over the shelf. It looks like this : http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/specialtyfdg.html I've seen it in some places in SG, but can't recall where. You can also go back to the hospital or your PD to ask for such a tube, they use it very often in the medical fields.

I hope this helps. Doctors tend to be very hung up on weight, mine was too, but after a few weeks, she gave up, cos obviously my baby was putting on weight. Hope my experience helps you.
463463.jpg

Come on ladies, PERSEVERANCE, dont give up so easily, have faith in yourself that you CAN MAKE IT.

I only managed to exclusively bf my girl at end of week 3, she is 5mth now, just 1 more month to WHO bf recommendation. I'm DETERMINE to bf her till year end, that is 9mth.

dear ladies, thank you for your encouraging replies. I wont give up breastfeeding totally and will still continue until at least, hopefully 6 months.

furryfurry - Thanks for your tip however, I've started supplementing my bb with formula twice a day (once in the morning and before bedtime). Thankfully, there's no nipple confusion and she is still suckling well for the rest of her feeds (1 1/2 - 3hrs).

BB has marked improvement in sleeping, wet diapers and screaming much much less, wich goes to show how little my milk supply is and how dedydrated she was.

Meanwhile, Im also trying to pump while I nurse which still is in the amateur stage. At its worst, I can barely go 2oz both sides!!!!

I can forget about being abundant with milk like some girls can. Nonetheless, Im still trying to get my supply to a more acceptable level. As it's all in the brain and Im stressing much less now (maybe thats the problem), I hope Im milking. ha.

In any case, thanks for all of your support.

honeygem, sorry i didn't offer my support over the past few days. i know it's a trying time and as i mentioned, remarks by well-intentioned parents, and others can be discouraging. that's why i say you MUST surround yourself with pp who support bf-ing.

if you want to increase ms, latch on feverishly. for newborns, they usu drink every 1-1/2 to 2 hours. your initial start of 3 to 4 hours was rather long and not enuf to bring in the milk in a hurry. can you slowly drop the fm and latch on more? if she still fusses after a long nursing session, you might want to give half strength fm to encourage her to get hungry faster so you can latch on within 2 hours. my 7 mo old still drinks every 1-1/2 to 2 hours sometimes.

at the same time, you might want to pump every 2 hours since your it's been a month and you want to cut fm (i presume?). never mind the quantity, if you keep feeding/pumping every 2 hours, you'll have an abundant ss in abt a week or two. give your body time to react.

so it might look like this... nurse and then pump. never mind if it's 1/4 oz. still store. after 2 hours, pump if bb doesn't drink. if bb wakes up after pump, latch on. she'll still have sth to drink, don't worry. breasts are never empty, they make milk even as bb drinks. if you do this, i believe your ms will come quickly.

after you have established ms, you can slowly increase time between pumping to 3 hours and then longer if you are comfortable.

just to encourage you... try and read more. bb have diff reactions when they have diff needs. TRACY HOGG mentions how to tell if bb is hungry, tired, feeling gassy etc by looking at the way their legs move or arch. by listening to the cries. by looking at body language.

let me tell you, i learnt alot reading a lot. i just discovered how impt it is to put bb on a nap routine. all these no one really shared with me and it's been trial and error and LOTS OF READING on my own.

with all this, on hindsight, i feel i want to share with pp who want some help so that we can go thro the initial first year with more understanding and not muddle our way thro.

pl feel free to ask me if you need more info.

hi snort
can i check with you what book you recommend for putting baby on a nap routine? my 5 mth old still does not have a routine for napping in the day, but for sleeping i try to keep the last feed and bedtime consistent...thanks.

Hi Snort,

Thanks for your advise. Bb is back to bf again at night. Was worried that he will not latch on but he hesitated for a moment and guess wat, he latched on like a pro.

However, ss still low so have to supplement with formula. Currently expressing 4 - 5 times a day. Hoping to do away formula soon...

Thanks Snort. I'm happy to report that I now have good amount of milk! *jumps around in joy many many times*

After a few depressing days, I think the combination of 2 litres of water (recommended by a friend), Domperidone, food, reduced screamings of a baby (since on FM to supplement)and less stress, have come to good results.

I didnt pump for a couple of days cos when I saw the amount, it depressed me more. But yesterday, when I picked up pumping again, I saw milk spurting out properly, it was so encouraging!! I am so happy!

After each feeding, baby seems satiated and content. No screams after. So that shows something huh?

I'm currently reading "what to expect the first year", which is like a bible to me at the mo. I've been trying to get hold of the Baby Whisperer book but it seems to be out of stock at MPH but will try other bookstores.

I am a 1st time mom to my 1 week 3 days old DS. Like you guys, I am also trying to BF. However, my milk supply just doesn't seem to be enough to fill my DS's tummy. Hence, he ends up screaming as he is hungry. So, I had to sup with FM. He is huge eater : 15 min on each breast and still drinks at least 60ml of FM. DS will keep crying till he is full. Then he will rest and sleep. Anyone encounter this also?

I am also drinking the papaya fish soup and milk for BF moms to increase my milk supply. I am also trying to pump at least once in 3 hours. However, my milk supply is never alot...around 20-30ml (esp. in the morning). I was wondering if I can keep topping up the BM into the same container till it reaches 60ml and then store it into the freezer?

I also think that I am not latching properly coz I always feel the pain when DS latches on and sucks. However, the pain goes off after a a few sucks.

hi honeygem, GREAT NEWS INDEED!!! So happy for you, i know the feeling! yes, i forgot to mention drink lots of fluids. you can prob drop the FM now...
so that you can maintain ms.

I recommend you try ACMAMALL.COM if you know the books you want. then you don't have to go from one place to another to buy. Borders should have. i bought mine there. but the rest of the books like PLAYFUL PARENTING, NO-CRY SLEEP SOLUTION, all my DR Sears' books, i got online.

i used to like WHAT TO EXPECT but find some info there very irritating.

cordelia, i read Dr Marc Weissbluth's book HEALTHY SLEEP HABITS, HAPPY BABY. BUT i didn't like that he used the CIO method for sleep training. I did find his nap routine useful. but it's simple. basically the first morning nap is about 9 am. try and get bb awake by 7-ish becos the first nap is like a continuation of the night sleep. so now, my boy sleeps about 2 hours for 1st nap. GREAT!!!

second nap should be about 12 to 2pm, after about 1 to 2 hours of wakefulness. Then at your bb's age, prob a third nap at about early evening but a short one or it'll interfere with early bedtime. bedtime is recommended at 7 to 8pm.

Other than that, i've used No-CRY Sleep solution as my sleep training manual!
so far i've managed to get him to go back to sleep WITHOUT THe carrying... but still waiting for him to sleep longer stretches. when he's used to me not carrying him, i think it will come more naturally. I HOPE!!!!

Happy cat, JIA YU (add oil)!!!

Hi Snort and Mummies,
My baby is 13 days old but like many babies, she simply has no patience to latch on. For these 2 weeks, she only latched on 3x say 10 mins and after that she would scream. Thereafter, my mum will bottlefeed her with EBM. I really hope to latch her on but is such a challenge. Most of the time, she would simply suckle for few mouthfuls, pushes me away, then cries real loud for EBM. So tiring ... I really hope to get her latch on, do you think by going to TMC Parentcraft after 2nd week is still helpful in getting her to latch on considering she is already used to bottlefeed EBM?

hi lala, i went to tmc parentcraft and i think its worthwhile for the tricks of the trade. I was brought there in my 2nd week also cos my baby was crying far too much and I needed Mrs Wong to see what was I doing wrong.

She showed us how to burp the baby properly and later on, took me to the breastfeeding session with all the mummies with problems. I never planned to go there but in the end, I learned quite a bit about positioning, latching on, what to do with engorgement etc just by being there with all the mummies (& their babies)and nurses around.

Perhaps they can figure out why your baby wouldnt want to latch on and solve the problem...

JP - my baby (5weeks) is a huge eater too. At least 15-20mins each breast (maybe she keeps suckling but there's just little milk) and 90ml on FM (only 2x a day).

In the first few weeks, I also felt pain when she suckled but it goes away after a few mins. Make sure your baby latches with the whole areola in her mouth not just the nipple.

Give it time for your milk supply to be established. Keep latching on, even when there's not much milk. I started off with no milk, then around the 3rd week, my milk came quite a bit then it died off around the 4th week. Now Im back to normal. Talk about mood swings...

hi snort
thanks..my baby does sleep from abt 8plus at night to 7plus next morning...its just the naps that is hard to get it into a routine. i'm a FTWM and she's being cared for in an infant care centre in the day...they do chart her naptimes and i realise its not consistent till today. her naps can be 30 mins or 1 hr long...rarely 2 hrs!
to all mommies
for me what works for MS is a relaxed mind...the more concerned i am abt vol...the worse it is...if my mind is thinking of something else, the flow is better...

hi honeygem,
I went to Parentcraft once to resolve my engorgement prob... Mrs Wong did teach me how to latch her on, that day when I came home, my girl latched for 15mins, thereafter, she quitted again. This morning, I managed to latch her on again for 20 mins, thereafter I gave her EBM. My girl has huge appetite too, latching on seems not sufficient for her, she needs EBM after that. Do you give EBM after latching? Every feeding time is a struggle coz not sure will she latch or not.

lala, how often do you nurse? at just 2 weeks old, your bb will be prob nursing every 1-1/2 to 2 hours. that will ensure your ms comes in. she may be impatient becos the milk isn't flowing?

i suggest going to consultant to check on latching and milk flow issues. sometimes it may be an issue with bb's palate? my friend had this problem. try different positions to nurse? best to go early than late.

as honeygem says, latch on frequently. also make sure the areola is in the mouth and not just the nipple. if you don't think it's a latching issue, then it could be you just need to nurse more frequently to get the ms going. for some of us, it does take a while.

ensure a good diet, DO NOT CUT CALORIC INTAKE to pg lose weight; you need the calories for milk. drink plenty of fluids, rest when you can, relax during feeding.

Hi Snort, my baby drinks every 2.5 to 3hrly. Maybe she is taking EBM, thus zz longer. I don't know if there is milk flow issue but with expressing, I can pump out 60 to 140ml per time depending whether is day or night.

yes, she is latching on correctly. Latching this morning was a success but a complete flop just 1 hr ago. She was too hungry and no matter how I coax her, she just wailed and didn't suckle for long (just a few mouthfuls). I am not cutting down calorie, eating as per normal ...

really very trying ...

honeygem - Thanks for the info. Yup, I always make sure that my DS latches on correctly. But DH said that our DS has a small mouth, so cannot take the whole areola in his mouth. Anyway, I am trying my best. Yeah, its painful for the first few suckles but after that, no pain liao. Me on my 2nd week liao..its getting better..yeah!!!

lala - I know the feeling coz my DS is a huge eater too. When I latch him on and he doesn't get his milk, he will scream his lungs out. I have to try to latch him on again...its hard but I always tell myself that BM comes first. At least your can pump out 140ml per time. The max I could go is 90ml. Hopefully my milk production will increase soon. Hang in there, ok?

Hi JP,
I have taken the green papaya and fish head soup 3x liao....it does work. My milk ss increases every time I took it.

Sometimes can be really vexed why some people can bf so successfully while mine is so tough. Thank you for the encouragement ...me hanging in

hey JP & Lala,

at least in such early weeks, you girls can pump so much. When I pumped before, it was 20-30ml max!!! So I think you both are doing so much better. Wait till a few more weeks, you both would be laughing.

I dont think, even now that my supply has improved, I can pump to even 60ml. *sigh* but im trying...

PD did advise me to EBM after each latching on so as to give BB all the milk she needs in case BB doesnt drain each breast. But it's just hard. Maybe Im just crap at pumping. I'm using the manual Avent pump. I find it more vexing than the actual breastfeeding.

Snort,
u are a gd advisor.

Honeygem,
My milk supply is abt 40ml each time i pump. i find Avent manual pump is quite painful althot it can achieve better let down.
Did u try hand express to empty ur breast? I read that pump can never empty our breast well.

lala, you definitely are doing ok with 140 ml at such an early stage.
yes, the soups help... i'm still drinking it 7 mos later!

lala and jp, maybe if you both have such impatient bb, you can express some milk first before feeding so that bb can get to the milk faster. sometimes it takes a while for letdown to occur and some bb just have no patience. my boy sometimes does that.. even tho my letdown occurs within 10 to 30 sec usu. when they're very hungry, that's what happens. so, you'd have to watch the clock and if your bb are going past the normal feeding hour, express some first.

if you want to easier pumping, do tandem pumping/feeding. it's a bit of manoeuvring becos you've to hold bb and pump at the same time. but i find the yield is good becos when you nurse, the other breast also lets down at the same time. so less work for you.

jp, the bb doesn't have to take in the entire areola becos some pp really do have BIG areolas...
LOL... poor bb. as long as the areola is in the mouth and he's not hanging by the nipple!

honeygem, is your pd a guy? or a non-nursing mum? i'm sorry for being so blunt. but i just feel that if you continually latch bb on, you will not have a problem with bb being hungry unless you have other underlying issues involved like blocked ducts. it's a vicious cycle becos you give bb more than she wants/needs? and of cos when you latch on next time, she'll need that same amount. you want your bb to drink more from your breast, pump after feeding.. more often.

hong, thanks. i try to help others becos i've been there before and i know the uphill climb to get to where we want.

yes, pumping is a very subjective matter. some can hand express successfully but i find that works if you already have a good ms going. some find manual pump ok for them but again, my personal feel is that it's prob good if your ms is stable. i just use the electric. i even found the hand pump (battery) painful... like someone just sucked out my nipple!

Hi Snort,
Thanks for your advise. Indeed, my baby is very impatient. I have tried expressing a bit 1st then let her suckles, sometimes it works and sometimes totally unsuccessful. At times she doesn't mind latching on after she has taken 60ml EBM - that's when she is almost full and contented... **haiz**

wah, you try so many things... maybe your bb confused?! you must remember, for a newborn, the rubber teat easy to suck. so if they are used to it, they might not want to suckle on your breast becos it certainly requires more effort and i reckon for a newborn, it's very tiring to suck. maybe that's why fussy... try just latching till another month or two. usu advice is that you don't offer bottle for about a month or so.

I totally agree with Snort. My bb will only suckle for 2-3 mouths then turn head away. Managed a few tries b4 bb get really upset and angry. Can't blame bb cos on bottle for more than 2 months. My milk flow is too slow for bb compared to bottle. *sign* Pumping frequently to increase ss. Keeping fingers crossed. Any suggestion how to shorten let-down period?

Snort....I've tried tandem pumping/feeding, unable to managed that. I used to cradle hold, unable to do football hold. Pump is in the way, how???

anissa, takes practice leh... sorry. they suggest football hold but i managed with cradle hold. you might find putting pillows under bb helpful so you don't have to worry about supporting her. angle her so she's kinda sloping downwards? you'll have to experiment.

happycat, pump or express first before feeding helps with letdown. if you want to nurse, better you cut out the bottle as soon as possible.

re:tandem pumping/feeding

i used cradle hold method only cos baby was unable to latch on properly with other positions. I used a manual avent isis with a 125ml bottle. the height is just right for me, ie i can rest the bottle lightly on baby's body when necessary. I crossed my leg to form a triangle so that baby is supported by the leg and is slightly slanted downwards.

happycat, to encourage letdown u can first massage ur breasts or place a warm towel over them before feeding.

Snort/ tingting.....I'll try it. I can save some time in the morning this way too. Sleep through the nite, morning only latch 1 side. Usually after latching, got to spend another 20-25min pumping.

Was thinking i may hurt her if my bottle touches her. She is still sleeping, i carried her to my breast!!!!

aiyoh, won't hurt her lah... why would it?!

1. prepare your pump etc. everything should be ready for pumping. when you are about ready to latch, you may even want to start up the pump first so that you only need to pop it on your breast to start without having to fiddle with the switch.

2. position bb.

3. when comfortable, take the bottle and start pumping!

simple right? *haha* takes practice but you'll get it!

Any mummies going to the Breastfest? I'm going. Hope to see you all there!

Just a reminder that the BreastFest organised by the Breastfeeding
Mothers' Support Group (Singapore) is on this Sunday. Do come by with your
nursing child, especially for the Lunch@Moms event to help set a
National Record for Breasfeeding!

Details:

WBW BreastFEST: 13 August 2006
Time: 10am to 4pm
Venue: Tampines West Community Club

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/events/latestevents.html

i have Medela Supplemental Nursing System for sale. Useful to stimulate breast milk production while ensuring that baby receives full nutrition in the proses. Can search in Google for more details. Bought at $66.95, used once only. pls PM me any reasonable offer. thanks..

Am a new first time mom and need some encouragement and support. My baby is now 9 days old, and i think she's suffering from nipple confusion. She was hospitalized for jaundice when 5 days old, and during that time, the hospital had to feed her formula as I cldn't get enough EBM to sustain her hunger. Now that she's home, she refuses to latch. She'll wail and scream and I hv no choice but to give her the bottle.

I'm currently using the Avent manual pump and getting at most 20ml after pumping for ard 1/2hr-1hr. I've always wanted to put her on TBF, but now hv to supplement w formula as she easily takes ard 60ml per feed. So disappointed. Thinking of investing in the Medela PIS to stimulate and improve my milk supply, but wonder if after spending all that money will still yield little results.

Hi alhana,

Did you drink a lot of water when u BF or express? I need to drink 3-4cups per hr in the day 'cos always thirsty and only goes to toilet a few times the whole day. When I express at nite I will hv a bottle nearby and I will drink b/f I go back to sleep.

Some says taking Fenugreek helps, about 6 capsules a day for a few days will increase MS. Maybe you can try that?

Also try to stimulate by expressing more often, maybe 3-4hrs interval in the day?

Hi Alhana
The nipple confusion can be solved by insisting to latch your baby to your breasts. Give only bottle once a day. There will be some struggle after the bottle feed but it will be ok.
As for increasing milk supply, try to pump after every feed. My supply increase from 60ml to 150ml

How do i get a balance between letting the baby latch on direct and getting enough milk? When i let my son latch on direct, he usually does not get enough and would wail, making me hysterical. I only could provide half his needs then. I gave up at 4months.

For my daughter, she refused to latch on and I was afraid of not producing enough so I expressed all her feeds. However, i found this very inconvenient especially when we have to go out; pump then feed through bottle.

Is there any way to allow the baby to latch on at times and yet still obtain enough milk and excess to store for the future?

I used to have to spend 1hr pumping every 3hourly. It's so tiring and now that I'm expecting my third, a boy, I hope I can totally breastfeed him and still store up a supply for times I'm not around.

How long should I pump for each time? How long do I allow the baby to latch on for? How do I noe the baby's getting enough?

Hope someone can help

Hi mag, try pumping "short but frequent" instead of "long pumping on a 3 hourly basis". Instead of pumping 1hr every 3 hourly, u can try 15min in every 45 to 60 min. that will increase your milk flow. Drink alot of water that will help too. However getting to baby to suck is still the fastest. Last of all, do NOT despair, your mood will affect the milk flow. BEST POSITIVE AND DONT GET ANGRY OR DEPRESS.

Not sure if anyone is still reading this thread, but I need some advice.

My baby is now 1 week old. Started on latching for first few days, but, baby suck very hard, and my nipples got too sore, so switched to electric pumping. This was fine for about 4 days, I saw my milk SS go up gradually each day. But, today, my SS suddenly stopped. In the morning, it was fine, I could pump about 6 ozs, but in the afternoon, when I pump, there is no milk at all, I could only do 2 ozs in 2 pumps.

When I feel my right breast (which is the one that has more milk), I can feel that it is quite heavy, but there is just no milk coming out. Not sure if this is what u guys call blocked ducts.

Help!

Kym
this certainly sounds like blocked ducts. is ur bb still latching on? they r the best to clear blocked ducts. no pumps will b as gd.

trying hvg a hot drink 15 mins prior to expressing. use a hot towel to massage ur boobs prior to expressing helps a great deal oso. u hv to clear it, else it might escalate into a more serious condition later. not tryg to scare u here.

Hi Crystallized, thanks heaps. the good news is, my ducts have cleard! Yesterday, I massaged my boobs like what you said with a hot towel, and then the white gates opened.

The thing now is, my baby doesn't want to latch anymore!!! Actually, I never intended for her to latch on again, since expressing worked, but now that I know latching stimulates milk flow, then I need to get her to latch again. And, of course, there is that uncomfortable feeling of being rejected by my own baby..
any tips?

kym
i hv been tbfg my baby for 15 wks now. suddenly last 2 wks he went on nursing strike and it was hell trying to latch him on. i read tt it does happen and its reversible. read this article, hope it helps u.

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/baby/back-to-breast.html

most times expressing will clear blocked ducts (if u do it correctly) but i always feel tt baby is the best tt will clear it totally. and yes, latching on stimulates more milk flow, so its impt if u wish to BF long term.

i was so desperate to latch my baby back on again tt i kept trying, no matter how stressed it feels when he fussed so much the moment his mouth touched my nipple. so far, managed to coax him back and he is taking to latching again. it certainly feels so gd to latch again. i missed the feeling of closeness and bonding.

hi crystallized, yar, I just put him on the breast for like 10 minutes a day for the last 2 days.. think now, she is more used to it.

hey, by the way, do u mix the milk you express from different times? My first confinement nanny did not allow me to mix the milk expressed from different times, but my second nanny just asked me to mix.. like, not very good right?

kym
generally milk expressed on the same day can b mixed together, but i usually do tt for 2 expressions only, and i use it within 48 hrs according to the earlier time expressed. eg, expressed at 6am and 12 noon. i mixed these 2 sessions. i will use it by 48 hrs aft this 6am instead of following the 12 noon. but do note that when u mix, the temp has 2 b the same. so wat i do is i will chill in the fridge and mix it when they r both cold.
i think ur 1st CL juz wanted to b safe bah. perhaps she feels ur baby is till so young, best not to mix.
now they r older, shld b safe.

juz try not to mix too many sessions. unless u need abt 3 or 4 sessions in a day to make up a feed. as long as they r all of the same temp when mixing, it shld b fine. hope this helps.

gu crystallized.. thing is, my CL mix milk just expressed with milk from the fridge, then she warms it up and feeds to my baby. faint!

yar, this nanny is a nice old grandmotherly type of lady, but really cannot lor. Because diff temperature will have chance of bacteria right? Anyways, I will not let her do it again!!

im new to this tread. my baby is 14 days today and i am only on expressing, no latching as much as i wan to cos i always have sore nipples after every latch. my nipples went sore and slight bleeding in hospital for the first 2 days so i got phobia and stop latching for baby and turn to express.. but think due to this, i can only achieved 20-30ml of milk for both sides

read a lot from this tread, hopefully by giving it another few weeks, more will come in but feeling quite despair at times cos my confinement lady keeps saying i got no milk, got very irritated with her and each time only 20-30ml makes me very sad as well... i hope i can be positive and have more patience like u all.

heard some woman really dun have much milk and it normal, its just down to luck, is this true? not sure how long i can persevere..