A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Winnie,

yes it do help if u have irregular menses...
because u cant judge/ cal ur O dates manually...
when u tested postive u can BD liao...

i tot it is suppose to be a easy thing, i saw alot of ppl, give birth 1 le and get pregnant so fast again. my mum actually give birth to 6 leh... dun understand y so easy, and some of us so diff

ya loh some plp can just 'pop' one so easily...
for us like so 'ma fan'

Winnie: no pro... i got it from watson clearblue brand...
$69.90 comes with 2 free digital HPT

good luck~

Jvenus,
its better to reduce water intake 2hrs b4 you use the OPK, LH more concentrate. u dip the strip in the urine for 10s (i ks dip for at least 15s), then read the result in around 3 to 8 mins time (tis is the reaction time), result considered not accurate after 10 min.

lol my dad oso asking y i still haben pop, then say, last time giving birth is like hatching egg so easy.
i told him last time ppl got no entertainment, no tv, nothing to do, sleep early early n eating habit oso much much healthier, lesser meat n lots of veggie (organic some more). so more conducive for them loh.

ya loh ... my grandma have 10 children...
every yr pop one out... so productive loh lolz
last time plp the only entertainment is only BD hehe~
true lah.. now plp lifestyle, diet so diff...
and more ever stress here and there... harder
to conceive ba~

jazz, oh! still must reduce water intake? alamak, i pee once oredi forgot to collect, so drink some more water to pee again.
i guess i hv to wait till next month. btw, i tot need to leave the strip in the urine until result can be read? u mean can remove from cup?

Hi Chessy, sorry to bother you again, can you kindly explain further about the device you get from Watson? Is it sold over the counter or display out there? Is it saliva test? Or it is just strips for testing urine? Thanks

yes Jvenus, u need to remove the strip from the urine after 10s. n there's a marking on the strip, do not dip beyond tis marking.

Winnie: u can find the test kit at any watson/ guardian. i think they place it somewhere near to the 'condom' section...

no need saliva... just pee on it for 5 - 7s or collect ur urine with a container. dip with ur urine for 15s. then wait for the result. remember to follow the instruction carefully.
if not, it wont work de...

Regards to the "environment" aiding the little soilders, our mucus should be alkaline. Acidic mucus will kill the soilders. A few posts ago, i did post the food recommended to increase alkaline mucus. However if you follow the list carefully some food are actually cooling in TCM terms. So its up to u to adjust to your body condition.

Cheesycake,
cos my mens very irregular, so now im going for TCM to help me on ttc. Sinseh give me herbs to help me on my mens, then on day2 of mens i will go and do a hormone blood test to chk my LH and many more other hormones, then sinseh will re-prescribe me the herbs.

She wan to regulate my cycle to 30-35 days for at least 3mths, then by then she said then can BD to get preggy

Basically, men produce two types of sperms, the X (female) and Y (male). According to Dr. Shettles' studies the y-sperms are smaller, weaker, but faster than their siblings x-sperms, which are bigger, stronger, but slower.

Based on this fact, there are several things you can do to "favor" the conception of boys or girls:

(1) The most important aspect of all is timing of intercourse during the monthly cycle. The closer to ovulation you have sex, the better the chances to have a boy, because the y-sperms are faster and tend to get to the egg first. If you have sex 3 days or more before ovulation, the better your chances to conceive a girl, because the weaker y-sperms tend to die sooner and the x-sperms will be available in greater quantity whenever the egg is released. On the other hand, having sex from 2 days before ovulation, through a few days after ovulation, is better for conceiving a boy. Around the 2-day point -- 48 hours before ovulation -- seems to be the 50/50 mark.

(2) The pH of the women's tract is also very important. A more acidic environment favors girls, since it will kill the weaker y-sperms first, leaving a greater quantity of x-sperms available to fertilize the egg. On the other hand, a more alkaline environment favors boys. Shettles recommends a douche of water and vinegar (acid) immediately before intercourse to favor a girl; a douche of water and baking soda (alkaline) will help for a boy.
(Don't try this without reading Shettles! You have to dilute the douches properly, according to his formula, or they won't help and might hurt you.)

Note: Some women are naturally very acidic and have a hard time conceiving boys.

(3) Position of intercourse and depth of penetration are important, partly because of pH. The closer to the entrance to the vagina, the more acidic the women's tract is. Also, deep penetration places the sperm closer to the egg, and gives those aggressive boy sperms a head start :). So, a shallow penetration will favor girls and a deeper will favor boys. Shettles recommends missionary-position for a girl, and rear-entry (dog-style) for a boy.

(4) Women's orgasms can also be important. It also has to do with pH. When a woman has an orgasm, the body releases some kind of substance that makes the environment more alkaline, favoring boys. He recommends no orgasms when trying for girls!

(5) The sperm count is another factor. Obviously, a low sperm count to begin with doesn't favor either sex. But a high sperm count favors boys. Shettles recommends three things:

a. When trying for a boy, don't have sex for 3- 4 days before you reach the target date a day or two before ovulation! For girls, have sex everyday from day=1 or day=5 ("cleaner" :)), and stop 3 days before ovulation.
b. Shettles recommends that for boys, the man wear loose underwear only -- that is, men who usually wear briefs or other tight underwear should switch to boxers. The idea is the same as wearing boxers to increase overall fertility -- the testicles need cooler temperatures for sperms to survive, and the Y-sperms, since they are weaker, will be helped more than the X-sperms by this method. However, Shettles does NOT recommend the opposite, that men wear briefs for a girl -- this will just decrease overall fertility.
c. Also, for a girl, the man is supposed to take a hot bath immediately before intercourse. "Room temperature" is fine for a boy. The idea is the same as the briefs versus boxers -- give the X- sperms an advantage.

(6) Finally, in trying for a boy, Shettles recommends a nice cup of caffeinated coffee for the man, right before sex -- he isn't clear on how or why this works, but apparently it gives the Y-sperms a jolt!

Well, these are the big ones. Read the book for other details. If you can determine the time of ovulation and follow the rules presented in his book, Dr. Shettles claims a success rate of 70-75% for girls and 75-80% for boys (better than the normal 50%). As you see, it's not 100%!!!

Also, Shettles recommends a "practice" period of 3-6 months, to make sure the couple has all the techniques down properly.

---END SHETTLES SUMMARY---

another 1

Choice of a baby BOY or GIRL
Hope it is useful for some of you in planning stage. For those of you do not have any plan in the near future, you can keep it for future reference.

Background:
Mans sperm consists of X & Y spermatozoa, X spermatozoon decides the female whereas Y is the male. Referring to these physiological properties of the spermatozoa, gynecologists set up the theory of Choice of a girl or a boy.

1st factor: Food
If you want a baby girl:
Husband must eat more alkaline food, wife eats more acidic food.
If you want a baby boy:
Husband eats more acidic food, wife eats more alkaline food.
Alkaline food: vegetables, fruits, egg white, milk, algae, etc.
Acidic food: meat, seafood, etc.
2nd factor: Timing (When to do it?)
If you want a baby girl:
Frequent copulation during pre-ovulation period.
If you want a baby boy:
Copulating just before ovulation or just after ovulation.
How to confirm ovulation period:
Body temperature increases (you may want to use SPC chart to monitor your body temperature here).
3rd factor: Penetration (How to do it?)
If you want a baby girl:
Husband to avoid deep penetration in the female vagina during copulation.
If you want a baby boy:
Deep penetration by the husband is suggested.
Reasoning:
Characteristics of X & Y spermatozoa
- X: Marathon runner with good stamina
- Y: Sprinter but poor stamina
So, with deep penetration, the chances for Y to reach destination will be higher.
4th factor: Stimulation
If you want a baby girl:
Wife should avoid stimulation during copulation. Secretion from female vagina becomes alkaline when stimulated, therefore this promotes the activity of Y spermatozoon.

If you want a baby boy:
Husband ejaculates after wife has been stimulated.
5th factor: Wifes Preparation
If you want a baby girl:
Rinse the vagina with solution dissolving 2 spoonfuls of white vinegar in 1 liter of water. Since an acidic condition decreases activity of Y spermatozoon.

If you want a baby boy:
Rinse the vagina with solution dissolving 2 spoonfuls of soda in 1 liter of water.
6th factor: Positioning
If you want a baby girl:
Female to be on the top position & male to be on the bottom position.
If you want a baby boy:
Male to be on the top position & female to be on the bottom position. This posture allows the Y spermatozoon to reach the destination faster.

have replied those who PMed me about the preseed, ovulation and pregnancy bulk purchase.

those who bought from http://help.u.ttc.blogspot.com, you can email them your queries and request that they call you back. They will answer your questions about how to use the tests and interpret the results.

cheesycake,

yup yup. thats why some aunties will tell you not to take to much "cooling" stuff cause it will increase discharge. When i was younger i thought discharge (mucus) was bad. acutally it is to help conception ".)

sTrawBerry: thankie... ya loh~
my mum told me having too much discharge means my body very weak..
hehe so now i know actually it helps in conceiving~

Cheesycake,
Yup mi too...As long as i can get preggie, im already v happy liao...Boy or girl doesnt matter, must be healthy am i right?

have anyone encountered If BD today, the next day u will have discharge that looks like the sperm?? Is it bcos it cant "swim" in, so it flows out the next day?

Melody: YES very TRUE!!! must be healthy baby and mum

chery1: i wont mind girl/boy... ur AF not here yet? and been naseous? high chance lah... so missed so many days... no spotting now also?

Cheesycake,
the sinseh is located at bt timah sc, if u need the deatils do pm me.

gals,
u r right lei, can give birth is already a blessing from god, boy or gal is fine with me.....

Melody: yes i do experience...
if i BD at night... then the next morning
wake up... there very wet... yes like sperm...
izzit the sperm very weak to swim in then flow out?

er, i heard those good ones will swim in, those bad ones will expel out loh.... but good ones who swim in shd be ard hundreds ba

yup, its correct. out of a men's ejaculation only 5% is sperm while 95% is fluid. Its normal to hv the discharge and they are normally just fluid. Weak sperm will be dispel cause they will be dead not because our body can select good n bad sperm. don't worry too much of the sperm discharging out, its very very normal :D

heh, np. initially i was also blur and very jittery. every single little thing i will think negatively. don't worry we are all here to help and give each other moral support ".)

sTrawBerry:
whenever i feel down/ think negatively i will come here for help..
glad many of us are supporting each other :D
i will follow the webby diet and see how...

Strawberry,
Thanks!! Phew!! I tot i got probs...
Cheesycake,
yup i find this thread very useful, help me learn a lot of stuffs n give each other support if "mission failed"..Everybody, jia you jia you. I believe we will graduate soon n promote to mummies...=)

"If you want a baby girl:
Husband must eat more alkaline food, wife eats more acidic food.
If you want a baby boy:
Husband eats more acidic food, wife eats more alkaline food. "

Base on the above it makess me very diffcult to cook on weekends lei.

Thanks to all who contribute to the food..I am not also trying to change my diet pattern and hope to be able to detect O day.

To those who have irregular menses like me dun be despair as I had managed to have a son after 2 years of TTC. Now trying for no 2, but it took so long now more than 3 years already..still trying and hopping to HIT one day.