A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

seems alot of ladies here asking abt the IVI method. this method was very common in angmor country as they hv lots of lesbian. so they just search for suitable donor and tell them to produce a sample once they tested opk++. a sample can be survived in the clean (no need steriled) bottle for 1 hour.

how i use this method?
when my DH was 'mentally' ready, he will say ok, i going for prepare liao. then my part was only insert the Pre-Seed first to moisture vaginal... after DH done, sample collected into syringe and then inject in... simple, no pain, no stress. after insemination, tilt your buttock up with small pillow for 30mins. done

Pic attached:
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s151/alien77_1977/IVI.jpg

i found this on the net:

Intravaginal insemination
This is very rarely performed, but still has a place for couples in whom the females partner ovulates regularly. The male partner is unable to ejaculate into his wifes vagina but can ejaculate by other means such as by masturbation or by using a penile vibrator and the sperm count and quality are good.

Timing of intravaginal insemination
The precise timing of insemination is important. Inseminations should be timed to occur around ovulation. Ovulation predictors such as 'clear plan' to predict urine LH surge are more accurate than measurement of basal body temperature or evaluating your cervical mucus. Insemination is performed about 24 hours after the surge.

The intravaginal insemination procedure
The male partner collects his semen into a clean pot and then withdraws the whole specimen into syringe. Thereafter, the female partner or wife places the semen into her vagina using the syringe 'self insemination'. Care should be taken not to inject air into the vagina. The biggest advantages of this procedure are convenience and privacy of being performed at home and it only cost the price of a 'clear plan', a clean pot and a syringe.

Hey Alien,

Congrats!!! Realli happy for u... oh i didn't know tat we can DIY on that... but i thot the spermies will die once exposed to the air???

I am new to this thread but hv been following this thread. Hv been trying to ttcing for more than a year. HB has poor spermies and I hv just recovered from hormone imbalance.

Alien, the idea of IVI is really interesting. Can we do the collection in a disposable cup?
And congrats to u!

i just went back to my gynae to do ultrasound and virginal scan coz during a review with my GP, he found a cyst on my ovary... but gynae found nothing... anyway, he has schedule my hubby go for SA test and i will be going to do x-ray for tube when my next mense report and that's HSG right? mind to share what's the procedure like and do we get to know the result on that day? anymore other tests we need to take?

hi alien,

congrats to u,ask u,so u insert on ur own?can get hubby to insert,that way easier?how to take care not to inject air inside?if inject air inside,what will happen?

Alien, CONGRATS! When you first share your +ive with SMU test posts, i already had good vibes for you. Wow ... Oh, ya, now that you mention IVI, gave me a wild thot ... that i can have the syringe as a back up, can use it if hubby ever ejaculate outside me, to draw the spermies from my outside immediately and inseminate into myself instead of letting it all go wasted. Ha, good idea?

Hi Joline, i have done my HSG. Yes, thats the xray of our tubes. Its a rather painless and short procedure. Basically, you go after your menses and the doctor will lie you down and then insert a dye into your womb from your vagina and thru the cervix. As he does it, you should be able to see from a xray monitor, the oozing of the dye into your tubes. If the dye flows out to both ends of tubes, then there is no blockage. The image will be freezed and printed out as xray film for you together with a diagnosis letter stating bilateral spillage, meaning tubes ok. The whole thing took around 10 - 20 mins then can go home le. No pain at all, execpt when the dye was injected, may experience abit AF cramps as there is pressure in our womb. But must relax cos if too tense during the procedure may cause tubes to spasm thus inaccurate xray results.

But hor ... i am just confused. Since you managed to conceive the other time, meaning your tubes should be ok, why need to check leh? But check also good lah, at least peace of mind.

Im back from my consultation..My pap smear ok, everything okie except for my weak ovulation..Hmm, gynea said coz i underweight, so cant ovulate properly..Im trying to gain weight now. He has prescribe clomid for me in order for me to ovulate. So im waiting for my AF to come, then i can have clomid n "officially" start my TTC..

Hey alien,

One thing I want to know is how deep do we need to insert the syringe into our viginal?

Another thing is where to buy Pre-seed? How does the box look like? Where is it place? Near where they place the condom?

Sorry ah, so many questions.

Thanks a lot.

I remember reading somewhere after miscarriage this lady have been trying for sometime until she went to see gynae and gynae gave her some injection or pills.
I had a miscarriage last year and now after ttcing for 6 months still no news.. I think i may not be ovulating...
i tested on ovulation kit.. but always negative somehow.. any of you have any idea ?

Hi ladies, i also have qn ... how come when i am 2 more days to AF, i have EWCM??? Huh?? Ovulate again and so late? I have a regular 28day cycle and today is CD26.

vivian- spermies wont die so easily. they are soooo strong until can live in the air for 1 hour. but do keep in mind they live longer in body temperature.

little hope- i guess any cup will do as long as it is clean, dry. just use water rinse it after used. no detergent or soap pls.

good gal- yes, i did it myself as we hv own feeling mah. DH might 'hand shake' keke... how to prevent air, just dip the syringe deep in the cup and slowly withdraws. no air in syringe.

apple lee- how deep? abt 5cm. it doesnt matter how deep. they will swim one mah remember.. keke.
Isetan supermarket got sell Pre-Seed. Just display at the pharmacy's cashier (near escalator) there.

Thanks alien for the infor.
Hv told HB about this method. He sounds intrigued. Ha.. ha cos we were really stressed out during BD at last cycle when I ovulated.

Apple, Pre-seed costs around $39.90 per box with 6 applicators.

maple babies- when i posted the SMU's post, i still not so hopeful and thinking it might not be real.. when came to 9dpo, the test already so darken compared to 6dpo. So i start to believe this could be real. Up till today, the test already same colour as the 1st day past the trigger. i 'witness' it fr super pink (1dpo) to white (6dpo) and super pink (10dpo). i hope this one stick... *worried*

alien, share with my hubby on the IVI but he not very keen to try leh. He felt "kill" the BD act. Bo bian... will try to coax him further.

goodgal,
i tink 1 applicator can onli use 1 time...but tt time me and hubby try to save $$, we use dropper to collect from out frm e applicator then use
so e applicator is still clean...heehee...cos 1 applicator for me i can use 2-3 times

Hi Wynston, but how to preserve or ensure the what's left in the applicator is ok for 2nd use? You know ... whether what's left opened will chemically alter or not after exposed to air? Since 2nd use may not be immediate? Store in airtight container? Store in fridge?

Sigh...

Just got a news today that my SIL is pregnant again after giving birth to a son 8 mths ago....

Ahahhaa....... why so easy? I have tried for 2+ years now still no news... really sian...
When will be my turn?

I try very hard not to think too much... but can't help... Every month I hope to get pregnant but everytime disappointed. I know it will put stress on myself on this TTC thing. But it's very difficult not to think. How to relax? Anyone got any idea how to relax and keep my mind away from TTC?

HELP......

hi Melody, Ceraine,

I am old bird in this thread, has not been posting since for many months.
I strongly discourage you to visit That JUrong EAST TCM again. She is not good at All. I had bad experience with her. She immediately diagnose me with PCOS without taking my pulse. she thought she is god meh.

Luckily I didn't follow-up with her then.

TTC is not a easy journey. I myself has been trying for about 2 years. Have enuff of dissapointment every month. now i just learn to take things easily.

melody and ceraine,

if you want to visit TCM, pm me. I will receomend my TCM to you. :D

I has been with her for about a year. though i am yet to preggie but at least she manage to tiao my body from hormone imbalance.

dropper can be bought from pharmacy...
i cap back and put in ziploc bag then keep in fridge... next time wanna use, take out to leave a room temp for a while (not so cold la..how to put cold lubricant into urself????)

Hi Hope For baby,
The TCM u mentioned at Jurong East is it the blk 2**??? Coz my hb's friend actually intro me to go there, she has been with her since her first child, now she is pregnant with third child, giving birth soon...As far as i know, she intro a lot of ppl go there lei...I will be gg there next week...

Hi Apple Lee,
Dun give up...I believe miracles will happen, maybe u are to stressed up liao bah..most of them got pregnant when they went on holidays...Maybe u might want to plan for a holiday with your hb..=) For my case, i just started TCC-ing..Hmm, im a bit scared i might take longer time coz i have weak ovulation...

Hi Apple Lee,
Have faith, i'm sure your turn will come soon. I was also in the verge of giving up when the good news came last week.

I dun have any "secret recipes" to share, but I guess it boils down to good timing and most importantly both you and your hubby have to relax and enjoy bd. Is your hubby already wearing boxer? My hubby switched to wearing boxer when his colleague (father of 2) suggested to it and I guessed it helped cos' when he went for his SA, my gynae was very satisfied with the quality.

Other than that, maybe you could visit your gynae and get him to predict your ovulation period so that it is more accurate? For my case, I went on day 12 after my last period ended and he told me that I will ovulate around 17-19 Feb, so we bd on those days and striked! I think it was also CNY period, so we were more relaxed.

I hope the above helps and I wish you all the best

Hi Poissons,
Gong xi gong xi!! Another good news....I do agree with u, RELAX is very impt, that y most of them got pregnant when gg on holidays....

tweetie- i also haben seen a gynea yet. heard early u/s will harm our little ones inside. i only got the blood test done and i will monitor the beta hCG fr there. hv to see the numbers doubling up for every 48-72 hours. i input my data fr the net and got the EDD on 11th Dec.

Alien,
Don't worry, ultrasound scab does not harm the bb. The scans are done by emitting high frequency sound waves and there's no radiation involved. So it is safe to go see your gynae now

Melody,
Thanks! Actually i did plan a trip in Dec to try. But in the end, we were so exhausted with all the shopping and walking that we missed the window period! So if you are planning for a trip, pls go to those resort places where there's nowhere to shop, everyday juz laze around and bd...Hee!

how do you know if you are ovaluating without using a ovaluation kit? Is it must monitor temp for a few months and see the pattern and guess from there?

Apple - i also ttc for abt 2 years, every mth disappointed, how to take it easy? Its quite tough but now i sort of immune liao. No choice, i did most of the things i can so kind of take it naturally now.

Alien congrats !!! my estimated EDD is 4 Dec. BTW you might not see the much expect a little egg sag when you go for your scan next week.

Apple & BabyDust, I have been trying for 2.5 years and just strike so hand in there.

joline- i did my blood tests alrdy n everythin was fine too so went to tmc do scan. the gynae did the scan thru my stomach but cldnt reali see my womb n lining clearly so she did a v scan for me.

vernice- yup
she says i shd strike within these 6mths since all's clear for me. probably i hv been too stressed liao. if not thn get my hb to go for the SA test n also advised him to wear boxers instead.

Melody, similar to hope for baby, I also had bad exp with the TCM in Jurong. But of cos, like I say in previous thread, there are also successful ones under her. My advise is that if you decide to go, just go but take what she says with a pinch of salt if she diagnose you -ve. Seek a second opinion before u trust her totally. Also, do NOT seek second opinion fr the gyn she recommends you from Glenagles. You will not get a fair diagnose. Go to your own gyn or a second one.

poissons- yes. my DH's family history running twins

hazy nut- i called the gynea, they want me to go for 1st scan on 19th. means ard 6-7 weeks. i got my beta hCG result out, it was high at 42.3 for 3 weeks+. i hv done another beta test and result will be out tmr. *finger crossed*

roxyz- thanks
you can make it too. this is my 3rd mth after m/c. pray everything goes well..

congrats! seems like more n more good news!! kekeke..

Ant, tats good.. so expecting gd news from u soon! btw, u did the check without ur hubby? i am tinking of goin for a check too.. how much did u spend?

babycupid- keke.. reali prayin hard! last sat my frens came over to my hse n i brot my fren's bb to my bed to collect sm bb dust! hahaha =P
gynae says if stil dun strike by oct, thn get my hb to go for the test. i spent abt $140 for scan plus consultation..