A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

mooniie- yes, you will still get CM even dun hv ovulation, but the CM might not those fertile kind (EWCM or watery). looks like your doc is going to put you on clomid. i cant advise you more on clomid but there are many of us here taking it now. you can check with them.

i rem there is a link provided in earlier page where to buy opk. you can check it out.

how does it work? check out here:
http://www.babyhopes.com/ovustripinfo.html

alien, thks for your info.

any gals can advise me about fertility pills?
will it only be effective if i take them during 1st few days of cycle?
are there any other pills that i can take now to increase my chances of pregnancy since now is supposed to be my fertile period?
thank you.

does anyone know of any good gynae??
how do we define good??
male better or female better??
anyone with dr wk tan from tmc??

DarEve,
be patient lor, me also cycle very long, sometimes 3 months then have menses, tats y i went to see doc then realise i have pcos...

but does anyone know if taking contraceptive pills will cause pcos?? cos b4 tat i was on the pill for many years but dun rem tat i had such long cycles leh last time...

mooniiie,
if you are talking abt clomid, u need to start the course of 5 tablets/days on the 2nd day of your menses

hi sleepystar,

thkq

wat are the chances of conceiving if take clomid?
how much does it cost?
i forgot to ask the doc the other day, as he seemed to be in a hurry.. that's why i've many questions but didn't have chance to ask

anyway, do you all have any good gynaes to recommend in the north area?

Jadefeet- partly i guess its my working envt. me in chemical industry

yupz, will have the cough cured.

thanks for your encouragement. how many months r u now into ure pregnancy?

for urinary infection,u can try drinking more cranberry juice daily for prevention.

mooniie,
ha, nice name. Thats exactly the name my colleague confer to my husband.

DarEve,
Dun be despaired. heard some manage to conceive even without the cervical muscus. must be positive okie...

ceraine,
i am only at 6 weeks. still small small..havent hear heartbeat yet so duno how is the little fella doing... :p
cure the cough ok, dun wait.

mooniie,
there is no guarantee how clomid will help in TTC, it all depends on how well your body reacts to it. Clomid helps the egg to grow to ideal size and doctor may give you a jab at CD 14-15 to push the ripe egg out. Then it also depends on your hubby's soldiers to find their way in the batterfield to the egg...and if 1 of them managed to drill a hole into it... there are many factors to get preggie.. luck and timing is absolutely essential. I would suggest you write all the questions down before the next visit to the doct and go online to do reseach. Every medication has its side effect, you have to find out on your own to know as much a possible.
I never trust 100% whatever doct give me, i always go home to check out in the net cos I experienced before "lousy but self-proclaimed specialisst"...

Mooniie and also remember, the most fertile time to fertilise the egg is only 12hrs after its release from the ovary. After that it will start to slowly disintegrate...

But most importantly when it come to TTC, knowledge and relaxation are very very important.

Congrats tweetie,it's good to ehar good news again. Spread your baby dust to us all yeah?

Hello ceraine,jadefeet,applemyffin, babyhope, vivian, melody, ant and alien
We are doing fine and alien is right, it's prob just a rumour that woman conceive easily after a m/c but we got to believe and try ah.... doc told us to wait for a cycle but tink we just let nature take its course now...

hi ant, how's the result? got O boh?

hi moonie
is sembawang considered north? heard dr lawrence ang is not bad.. and quite cheap also..

hi dareve
ceraine is right, i do no have any cervical mucus but also got pregnant... joy's mum dun have any too but she has delivered 2 healthy baby girls... so dun dispair

hi jadefeet,

thks for your advice and info!
did you get pregnant coz of taking clomid too?
my hubby's SA is very good, according to the doc.. but i always can't seem to relax though i know it's a very impt factor

hi roxyz,

yes, sembawang is considered north. thkq for the recommendation

if i do hit the jackpot, i may consider him, coz now the doc i'm seeing is in paragon, and his charges are very high

mooniie,
i did not take clomid for the cycle i strike. But i had a low dosage before that cycle cos i did SO-IUI. doct say may have residue effect..
bearing in mind, my bb was made after i had a relaxing holidays..
don't worry since your DH's SA is good.. that is 1 less barrier... i had to work with DH's poor spermies in the beginning and his had improved alot.. so we concluded his spermies became better after less stressful at work too..
FYI, i took more than 2 yrs to succeed.. take your time, dun rush. enjoy BD ok

wah jadefeet,

i really admire your faith leh.
and what u said is really right, really need to relax.
in the past i was very kancheong leh, then many at times when the time come, i got irritated very easily and had arguments with my hubby, so much so that we turned face and didnt BD on that day

then after tat i got more frustrated and blamed myself for not controlling my emotions and wasted another cycle, then had to wait for few more months for the next cycle.

btw, when u say low dosage, how much is that??
i am also on clomid, and can u pls advise what side effects may clomid have??

wah jadefeet,

i really admire your faith leh.
and what u said is really right, really need to relax.
in the past i was very kancheong leh, then many at times when the time come, i got irritated very easily and had arguments with my hubby, so much so that we turned face and didnt BD on that day

then after tat i got more frustrated and blamed myself for not controlling my emotions and wasted another cycle, then had to wait for few more months for the next cycle.

btw, when u say low dosage, how much is that??
i am also on clomid, and can u pls advise what side effects may clomid have??

roxyz- i din test on opk leh, dun wan to stress myself by doin tat. jus BD only lor.. waitin to go gynae tmw. hope to see tat i'm o'ing well.

Hi babyhope,

My HB SA is at 1% morphology and count only 9 during the recent one. I have no idea how we strike but prior to that, my sinseh n gynae did caution me that even if I heng heng strike, chances of mc is v v high due to my pcos and his poor soldiers. So nw, I m juz keeping my fingers crossed tat it shd b ok.

My MS is v bad, it last a whole day n gets worse after a meal. The whole feeling is like as if i m hvg a stomach flu. The whole digestive system seems to be at strike. Whenever i lie down, it gets worse and coz of tat, i cant sleep at all. Is this normal?

ya jadefeet, i will try to relax

you did SO-IUI only after trying a few rounds of unsuccessful clomid rite? this is wat i read, coz clomid will cause bloating, etc rite?
are your side effects serious?

btw, is taking clomid the most common way to treat infertility problems for beginners?

hi moonie
Dr Lawrence Ang pacakge is very cheap.. $550 for unlimited visits and it's considered very cheap. Last time I saw Dr HK Ho, 1 visit already set me back by $250

Hi Tweetie
Dun worry so much and quickly see a gynae. The gynae can prescribe Duphaston for you to stablisie your pregnancy.

Hi Ant
Dun wory.. let's jia you together!! Now I'm only wondering when will my AF come... haiz, dun even know whether the m/c has messed up my AF cycle or not... I hope not...

Tweetie, what is count 9? My HB SA morphology is also 1% and doc told us very... very hard to strike on our own leh. So we giving up on western medication and turn to TCM. Now, you have given me another spark of hope. Thanks.
Hmmm.... I want to plan a holiday soon too.

sleepystar.. i used to be like you, its DH who is taking things in his stride even his morphology used to be only 2-3%!!! but he is very coorperative, taking all the supplements religiously..
ok, if you find yourself very kan cheong at the critical period, i suggest you and DH watch some R movies... help to bring on the mood hehehe...
gynae told me men got "tonight's the night symptoms" so if they know its battle's time, they will lagi have difficulty performing... Relax seduce him... :p very notti i know, but no choice.. invest in some sexy lingerie loh...

I been following the thread for sometime and started ttc for abt 2 months. I was supposed to have O-ed last week, so we BD on day 12 and day 16. too tired to do it on day 14 actual day... but after BD, i was spotting and felt slight cramps like AF cramps in the tummy.

anyone has the same experience? or knows why? thanks!

as for clomid, minimum dosage is 50mg. i think.
side effects: thining of uterus lining, so even conception take place, the lining will be too thin for implantation. so gynae must monitor, hence he give me low dosage clomid + purgeon to compensate...
last time my previous gynae didnt tell me all this, wasted all my $ on IUI leh...
other side effects: hot flushes,headaches, dry CM which i used Preseed to combat that... no issue :p of cos gynae must monitor for over-stimulation of ovaries, and cause too many follicles to grow at 1 time...
you can take maximum 6 months of clomid then must rest the womb for another 6 mths if not successful... of cos I hope you will strike soon..
i realise for me even if i take higher dosage for mth 4 onwards, the eggs aso not very stimulated...

Another +VE view:
there are so many millions or billions or sperm per ejaculation, even your DH has low morphology or low sperm quantity, you only need 1.
Imagine how many are there even its only 1%???
Just need 1 good one...Don't give up!!! Jia You...

Jadefeet, u sound very experience in the naughty acts.... <cheeky>
Must listen to all of the successful ones out there. So the trick is to buy something sexy and go for a holiday.....

I duno if you gals believe this but i think God has his plan for us. Regardless what religion you are in.
Look at me, when I first TTC 2 yrs ago, i was so stressed with the wedding, job and then my mum had cancer, and the stressed of her in and out of hospital..later she passed on so I was so so depressed for a while, how to BD? Entire cycle went crazy...
then i was so stressed with moving to a new house, everyday quarrel with contractors.. the last 1 yr aso very busy with job, fly here and there... so only now take a nice holiday and planning to stop TTC then I strike...
so i think God think that I am finally ready and time to take on a new project... :p

babyhope,
i read somewhere that if the gal experience orgasm during BD, the contractions of the womb will suck the spermies towards the egg.. and its like putting them on an aeroplane rather than swimming on breaststroke hahahahah...
and if DH enjoy, he will also send in his marines instead of normal soon-to-be retired soldiers hahahahahh

jadefeet, hmm... maybe time for me to go back and question my DH if he is not enjoying BD so far, how come send all the old and handicapped soldiers in.......<ha.....>
I heard abt tis before. And thats why at one time, I just give up on using the strips cos he is so stress when I tell him today got two lines so we have to BD. Its only recently, I found I have O problem that I have no choice but to use the strip to increase the chance. So I must say, he prob very stress everytime we BD cos he knows there is a mission to be accomplished.

Hi Mooniie- Im seeing dr lawrence ang, went to him for pre-pregnancy check up... but u must be prepared coz his clinic is alwaz packed so u must call n make appt 1st...

by the way gals, i never used OPK in my life or take BBT before cos i find it very stressful.. but when i finaly order some when I was in US, I striked.
try to go without it. my DH used to freeze whenever he knows its O!!!

Babyhope and Vivian,
you could so the test without letting DH know and when you know it's the right time, then try and encorage DH to BD without telling him it's time. We went through a time when DH couldn't perform when it was the right time so I told him we would stop testing and just enjoy. It takes the stress off. We took a break and this month was the first time I tried out the OPK again (also was a new order). We actually went out to buy a BBT last sunday and Monday morning I found out we striked.

So the best thing is to relax and go with the flow.

As I dun O every mth, so when I find out I O that mth, I usually too excited to share the news with him. But, guess both of you are right. Will need to try to refrain fr letting him know lor.

check wif u all,
only 1 egg will be released per mth or both the left and right can produce 1 each,so that will be 2 per mth?

Hi Maple,

Thanks for your encouragement. Actually I was very dissapointed with the result cos he has done a SA test 6 months ago and as compared to the current test, it has became worst! Sigh.. Anyway, went to gynae yesterday. He actually told my DH straight in his face on how bad his test was. Gynae then prescribe 2 types of pills to help to booast the speamie. Will know the results is 2 months time.. (OMG!! another waiting game!)

And ya.. now i tried to packed all his pills in a medi box every night to let him bring to work the next day.. and oso brought some cordyceps yesteday. Intend to "duan" once every week. hopefully it'll help lor..

as for my gynae, ya.. he is actually very busy. I realise that his clinic is always pack with ppl when compare to his neighbouring ones. So, i assume he is quite good lor.. I oso did try to ask as many question as possible but recently begin to realise that he actually wanted me to get preggy in the safer way.. thats why he din increase my dosage unnecessary.. currently still taking 50mg of clomid. I haven do any HSG leh.. and have the same view as you to get the HSG done before we proceed to clomid.. dun know why he din push me to do 1. am curious now oso.. think will ask him again during my next visit..

Hi BabyDust,

ya.. agree that LUCK plays quite a big part in TTC. sometimes really feel like giving up but when i think of giving up, I might disappoint the parents of both sides.. sigh.. My mum keep saying a couple without a child is incomplete..
sad hor.. some more, my sis-in-law jus found out that she is preggy 2 days ago.. again.. happy for her but sad for me..

tweetie - congrats!! dun be too worried abt mc k.. i also have PCOS and was told very high risk of mc coz of PCOS plus being severely severely underwt.. now i'm already wk30 in my preg.. as for MS.. yes it's torturous.. but on e +ve side, it means ur hormones are kicking in.. lesser chance of mc.. =)

hi roxyz and vivian,

yup tink most likely i'll consider dr ang, since his is unlimited visits

any idea how much his ultrasound scan costs?

wah gals, all of you are very encouraging.... i'll keep trying, but can't take a holiday as schedule quite packed for both DH and I....

yes man gals, i should have came in here long ago.
i tot i was the only one having problems when detected the O. felt so depressed and demoralising earlier on. i muz say it is really very impt to relax but at times can be really difficult when im so anxious.

hi tweetie,
we're in the same boat. i have pcos too and i read tat will have a very high chance of mc. im now in my 6th week, will be seeing my gynae for the 1st time tmr. have been pretty worried for the past few days of what the gynae will tell me tmr, im really keeping my fingers crossed that there will be good news. worse thing is i dun have MS, tats y im very worried

then few days back i actually tried to move a very heavy metal cabinet in my office, after tat i realise tat i felt some pain in the stomach

anyway, let's all pray hard that we will be able to carry it thru the 10 months and have a healthy bb soon.

haha jadefeet, thanks for your advice leh..
really, i tink we have to praise our DH too. my DH also had a very bad SA result, but he is very positive (totally so unlike of me) and take his supplements faithfully. when he finished, he even went to the pharmacy to get it himself.

however when its time to action, i always spoilt it. then he in turn got affected too, and had difficulty performing
i really hate those days, and hope all can be over now.

hi all, when you all mention dr lawrence ang's package, you mean this is for the pre-pregnancy test and also fertility treatment?

Zenia,
if you DH like to go gym, lift heavy weights, or cycling long distance... all these are bad for the testicles. Cos the pressure on the blood vessels in them is too high and will spoil the soldiers. so tell him to change to other form of exercise. Esp those tight and poor ventilation gym/bicycle shorts, pls stay away... change to wearing boxer shorts, full cottom type.. got more ventilation n at night try to sleep without wearing shorts..let the little fellas breathe..
hahahah it works for my DH..
u can go robinsons or CK tang to get very good quality cotton boxers.. buy a few brands and let him try.. initially will not be used but after a while DH told me he wonder y did he wear brief last time.. :p

So contridictory, though giving both of us a break since we jus started on TCM, but cannot help but feel sad when I see my temp dropping which means AF coming. Another new cycle to go.....