A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Hi Vernice,
Yes, blood test can tel.

"On the twenty-first day of your cycle, your progesterone levels may also be tested. The body increases its production of progesterone after releasing an egg, so a test will confirm whether ovulation has taken place."

http://www.gettingpregnant.co.uk/bloodtests.htm

Tweetie,
Congrats!!! Faster go see GP/gynae to confirm ur pregnancy. Take care!

Hi Maple,

I was only on Metformin this cycle. I even brought clomid there thinking to take it there when AF came. Waited n waited but no news at all.

Hvg v bad nausea since last week. I dunno if u call tat MS but it happens throughout the day and even when i sleep. But i dun puke out anything, juz hv that feeling.

My HB due for SA tomorrow, and he wants to go coz he doesnt believe the HPT. Now, I abit hesitant to believe also, might b a chemical pregnancy.

tweetie- perhaps u can go to doc for confirmation. but since u got nausea n pain boobs, high chance u reali bingo liao!

vernice- i v blur abt all these tests also. din noe blood test can chk if got O. tot only scan can see tat. my previous blood tests all ok n doc din mention tat i'm O-ing well anot. jus say i am healthy n can continue to ttc. but wat i wana noe is whether my womb inside everything ok anot n i guess only scan can see tat??

this is my understanding. correct me if i am wrong.

CD9-CD13 --> u/s for follicles' size and checking for thickness of uterus lining

CD21 --> D21 blood test to confirm the egg has been released. Progesterone is produced by the corpus luteum, which is the structure formed by the follicle after ovulation.

Tweetie, you have all the symptons of preg liao (nauseous, weight lost, missing AF after 51 days and BFP on your HPT), it should be pretty positive. Go see and gyn and share with us the confirmed news.

vernice,the test is done depending on your CD. For eg, my CD is on avg 36 days, so I did one blood test on the 25th day and one on the second day of AF. Both gyn that I went to did the same process, so I think its pretty std test for O.

ant,
remember we went for the blood test at kk.
that one only show we r relatively heathly to conceive.
so thats y from there, i request to do further test. therefore, the doc recommend blood test and SA test for my hubby.
But your scan should be different becoz you can monitor the growth of your follicles. So maybe on friday when you go and scan, and your follicles mature, maybe you can bd liao..
for me i cant monitor mah, i can only confirm whether i o or didnt

Tweetie,

Your symptoms sound very promising too. A pregnancy is called a chemical pregnancy if you test positive for pregnancy but start you period a few days later. Dun worry too much ya. Go for the GP for confirmation if you hv doubt.

Hmm ladies...how gynae manage to know whether we O a not ah? Tot of this when Vernice was posting about this blood test....

no tweetie, as long as AF is not here, its a good news for you. i was tested +ve. who knows temp dropped and AF came. Chemical pregnancy is actually tested +ve but turn -ve within a short period. Egg is fertilised but fails to implement. So its also equal to early miscarriage for me. You can just go to any of the GP to test first then book an appt with gynae if its a good new. Looks like u have a high chance of pregnancy

Tweetie, dont be negative, must be positive! Surely this baby is going to stick with you after all that roller coastal rides and hence unlikely chemical pregnancy. But also good to go gynae soon so that can take more vitamins for baby growth!

melody- D21 blood test can test. It will test progesterone level in our body. Before ovulation, progesterone is present only in small amounts. After ovulation, progesterone, produced by the corpus luteum, is present in higher amounts.

Hi babyhope,
Heheeee...My next appt with gynae is this weekend which is my CD24..=) See what my gynae said..Im quite scared n anxious at the same time coz i dunno what the gynae gg to tell me.....

melody- D21 is cycle day 21 blood test for those who hv regular 28days. you can still apply to the blood test but definitely not on CD21 liao. Did you BBT? BBT will tell if you hv O or not.

Tweetie,
congratulations in advance....

melody,
could it be migraine? or could it be sleeping patterns etc??
i have very sensitive nose recently and tends to be inflammed easily and blocked nose. till it sprads to the eye area and temple. unbearable.

Babydust,
agree with ure doc. me just back from clinic. she prescribed me with Clarinase (for flu) and advised me NOT TO TTC for the next cycle.me now 4th day into menses. coz by the time i finish my medicine(near CD11),, the toxins will still be inside body and not flushed out. If i happen to TTC and conceive, it wil affect the health of the baby.
this applies not only for Clarinase, but for all medication.
so TTC mummies,..do take note.

then i die lah..will fall sick almost twice a mth, with cough and flu. like tat dun need TTC laio...haha...

i actualli ignored Doc advise two mths back and continue TTC when sick. so i guess its a blessing i did not conceive.

btw, any POSITIVE delivery in NUH to share?

with my medical problem,doc advise me to seek gynae advise before i TTC. i am considering to seek gynae advis from NUH or elsewhere?
NUH coz my medical history are with them.but heard a few negative feedback on NUH in general. else i have to start all over again with another hospital. what do you guys think? if u were me, whats ure take?

Ok, I have called to make appt with gynae nxt week, he is packed this week.

Keep you all posted on any news!!! Really keep my tiny fingers crossed for this miracle to be true.

Babydust to all!!
kao_babydust2.gif
N remember the key to success is to go holidays, ha ha ha

Oh btw, I hv abt 45 midstream OPK which i bought intending for my nxt nxt cycles of fertility treatment use. But if confirmed by gynae nxt wk on my little pig, I will be selling it off. PM me if you r interested ya!

Tweetie,
Congrats. It's BFP. Gyn will be able to confirm it for you. Don't worry.

Ladies, Yu En San at IMM is having a 20% discount. not sure about the other outlets. Was there for lunch and there was a very long queue.

Hi Tweetie,

congrates !! wow looks like we should all take a trip to US.whahah. Dun worry too much tweetie,relax and enjoy your pregnancy..!

Thanks for yr well wishes again.

Maple, will confirm with you again nxt week, ok? I still hv this not so certain feeling.

Vivian, yeah, its a long way for me esp with the infertility factors gg on. I didn't hv anything secret recipe and in fact, I was waiting for AF to come so that I can proceed with IUI since my dr say chances for both natural n IUI is super low due to poor soldiers and eggs. So i wud say if its really for real, then its a miracle.

Chevall, i will try to but for nw, nothing is confirmed yet, so hv this uncertain feeling. Haha, if pocket allows, u should go. Its worth it. U knw I hesitated to go coz I wanted to save up for IVF but in the end, I was really stressed up for TTC n work that i decided to go ahead and hack abt the bb since it is causing us so much stress n strain.

Tweetie, congrats! US trip seem to bring luck back.

Ladies - i have a question, i did mention that i O quite early this cycle (or never O) cos i tested CD 12/13/14 all faint lines suspect might have O earlier than CD12.
Today i saw faint light red blood threads when i wipe, seem that AF coming but today only CD22 leh, how come AF come so early? Last few mths, cycle is only 25 days. I used to have super regular menses, now gone bonkers liao, seem to have more and more prob. So wat u ladies suggest i do?

Tweetie, would you mind sharing with me how "poor" your soldiers are? My hb is having the same issue.
Me going on trips next mth too but without hb too. sigh.....

For those who had used the ovulation strip, may I know how do u define very faint line?

Is it only when u see very closely then u get to see a slight tint of purple or can be seen from far but slightly lighter than the control line?

Oh? That means babydust might be pregnant?? That another good news....Recently hear a lot of good news ya....Hope we all have good news....

hi vivian,
i am not sure too, but it best to be in good health for TTC.

u take on first day yah..then shoudl be okie bah.coz you have 10-13days for body to flush out the medications. drink more water yah
Panadol will be my last resort, usually will try to bear with the pain.

any case of successful TTC if one has blood clot during menses, esp on the first three days?

hi ceraine, i agree that we must be health when come to TTC. Usually i will bear with my illness, but as i was coughing badly that i lost my voice, i ate the medicine. I told doc that im ttc hoping he can give me medicine that is mild but he told me don't ttc first until im well. and who knows that cycle i was tested +ve, yet somehow, the baby was lost. so now im building up my health and get ready for ttc again.. not sure why from CD18, my temp raise, oh my, should be late ovulation..

Hi Ceraine,
Migraine ah? I dunno either..But migraine is truly unbearable, pain until vomit that kind right? Think mine should be normal headache bah..

joline- i O-ed one week later than normal O day suppose to be for my 1st mth after loss. that was my longest cycle i ever hv. total 35days.

I am already on the 20th of my CD.......
But have not ovulate yet..
Use up all the ovulation strip but yet to detect any LH at all....
Is this normal?
I have irregular cycle ranging from 31-35 days.
There's once the longest cycle is 37 day : (

JOLINE - sorry to learn of your losses.
where did you go to "tiao" your body?
hope to hear good news from you. Jiayou Jiayou....

i didnt tell my hubby about the medication and cant TTC for next cycle. i feel like going ahead.
but on second thoughts from what you say, i guess i have to put it on hold.

Dear gals,
Just to share with you all that I hd migraine since 9 yrs old. Have been living with it all my life. Sometimes it will strike 1 day before AF comes, will die, must lie down in a dark dark room and take super strong painkiller. The pain is so bad that i will see things in double and vomit as well..Then next day Af will come.
Migraines is triggered by alot of different food like wine or chocolate. Sometime, gals like to eat chocolate esp before AF comes, and this in the end will trigger the migraine. So watch what you eat, and probably you will find the cause of headache.

Secondly for taking medicine when sick, I always suggest don't wait until cough jialut jialut then take medicine. By then the virus already spread to the entire respiratory tract and you will need stronger medicine or anti-biotic to clear it. This is even more troublesome.
Once you feel not right, quickly see doct. Nowadays, most of tht flu medicine is relatively TTC safe. The only things you got to watch out for is the anti-biotic. But usually amoxycilin family is ok, unless you are allergy.
Panadol is TTC fine, gynae allow me to take panadol now if he says i have fever or pain. Just highlight to doct that you r TTC.

I am also prone to sickness, and actually I strike when I am done with flu.
TTC is tough enough, don't trouble yourself with so many negative thoughts. Let go of them. Be more relax, it will happen.

BTW, since we are women, and we belong to YIN, our bodies usually will be weaker cos we have menses. So try to stay away from cold food. Pls don't take too much cold drinks. If TCM says your body is cold, and hard to conceive, take it lightly. Don't harp over it. Trust me, 8 out of 10 gals will get the same diagnosis.
Cheers Up!!
JiaYou

Oh alien...thanks!!
Im not aware that a woman can ovulate without hv surge detected in opk...
But guess i pro did not ovulate at all as im clean and dry all the time. No cervical mucus at all.
I had long CD and being kiasu, I started tusing opk from the 12th day..till now still Neg.
Is there any chances that i actually ovulate before the 12th day.
I had my last menes on the 10th...end on the 14th
but i still see spoting on the 17th of march
im totally confuse already

alien, thanks, yah i should think so this way..

ceraine, since u mention every time u will have cough and flu, why dont u see specialist? something must be there to cause that. Allergy that cause flu? coughing is due to lung part. better get it cure first. Blood clot is fine but that time i went Eu Ren Sheng at JE, the sinseh said its fine as long as not alot. If alot, he said something abt tube got problem. i went to him when AF came, so wanted to get him tiao my body and also cure my urinary infection. he said that its important to cure urinary infection coz it affects my kidney and lung and kidney directly affect me to conceive. However, i have stop going to him because the medicine din help in my illness. i went to my fam doc to cure it

Tweetie- Glad that u made it naturally.... so i guess the secret to succeed is to relax...

Ladies- I tink if we are TTC, can ask GP to prescribe medication tat is safe for preganancy. But im not sure if panadol for menses is safe?

DarEve, I also have long cycle days and irregular too. In the past, i also kiasu so start testing on the 11th day, in the end, waste so many sticks and sometime got nothing. So now, I only start testing once I start to have EWCM. Usually, it takes a few test from the day the first discharge comes to the day I can test +ve on the kit and then a few more days before actual O. Its always a long wait for me cos my cycle is between 30 to 45 days.

may i know when is the best time to take fertility pills?
i had seen the doc but he told me to see him again during my next menstrual cycle to get the pills... will it be too late to take now in order to conceive? today's the 16th day of my cycle.
thank you in advance

mooniiie- you are abt to O le. After O, doc might prescribe you hormones pills to strengthen the womb in case implantation occur.. i nvr take fertility pills before so cant advise you on that

DarEve- you may wan to try Pre-Seed lubricant if you find too dry for BD. talk abt opk, i think i am the most kiasu liao, i started testing on CD8... hehe.. our body temp will raise once we hv ovulated. so did you find yourself more "hot"?

Oh ok thanks babyhope.....Really hope i have not ovulate yet so that mean still have chance to get Pregt : )

But 20th day seem too long already even though i have super long cycle day.

Im lossing hope as the next cycle is going to being soon : (

DarEve, I understand what you mean. I always feel short-changed abt my long cycle days cos on average I have less chances in one year than someone who has 28CD. Thats why, each cycle is very precious to me too. But don't lose hope, if you worried, just BD everyday for alternative days for now lor.

HOt???? ya i'm hot, very hot.
Because Im so angry and disappointed why i did not ovulate at all for this month : (
Feel so lousy now.

I'm dry because I don't see any cervical mucus at all...

hi alien,

thks for your reply.
i went for ultrasound scan last week and again 2 days ago but doc said my follicle is the same for both times, so he suspected that i'm not going to ovulate for this month, that's why advised me to take fertility pills.

will i get cervical mucus if i don't ovulate?

i just hope to try again for this month rather than wait for next cycle to take the pills.

by the way, where do i buy ovulation strips that you gals are talking about?
how does it work?