A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

all,

appt is this coming Thursday, tomorrow too short a timing. he expected the results to be poor but not that severe lor. he can still take the results, and told me sure can SOLVE ONE..hopefully lor

me now going home,c annot concentrate on work, need to think things through..talk to you gals again when I reach home

Micky,
Sorry to hear about that...no matter wat,u need to be strong...
dun think so bad..i'm sure there is definitely a remedy one...

i know is hard,but try not to think too much..

Micky,

I dun know what method they tried, but I ever heard that drink stout could improve sperm count. Maybe ur hubby want to try that.

Micky,

Sorry to hear that...But its not definite yet...See the urologist first, mayb its not the worst. If possible, go for a second test to confirm...U take care and be strong ok...

Hi SSL & ladies,

Just fyi...I once ask my gynae if i need to take jab for Hep A & B since i'm ttc. He says dun need as it won't affect the baby.

Hi Micky,

Stay calm and dun worry too much. Sometime, one SA test doesn't mean it's the end of the world. You haven't really find out more information and whether there's any solution for it. A lot of things will affect the result, dirty bottle, your hb condition not fit, etc. Go to urologist and take advice from him on the tonics to take to improve the condition, test for a few more rounds, things may not be so bad.

Hi SSL,
I went for mumps, measles & rubella jab in Feb (three mths before my wedding). The nurse told me that for this jab, you can't get pregnant in the next three months. Anyway, I'm on my way to try to get pregnant now. As for Hep A & B, it is not necessary. I went to TTS Traveller Centre, they can advise you on all sorts of immunisation. Are u saying that u want to hv a baby next yr or to concieve only next yr? If to concieve this yr, it's better to go for yr MMR jab soon.

Hi Mae & Giggle, dun be upset okie. All of us here are TTC so let's encourage & support each other.

Hi Micky, pls be strong for yrself & yr husband. I believe he's doesn't feel good hearing what the gynea said as well. See what the urologist hv to say first and things might not be as bad as it seems.

Hi Micky

Sorry to hear about the result. Just try not to imagine the worst and see what the urologist has got to advise on Thurs. As a man, ur hubby may not show his worries/fears infront of u.

Hi forgetmenot, Ob-rider, Giggler, Kis

Thks for your replies.

Maybe I'm too kiasu. Like to find out this and that before i make certain important decisions. After hearing all your comments, i'm happier as i dont intend to take so many jabs too. heehee

Hi Linda,

I knew about the 3 months no baby time frame after the rubella jab. Same applies to the chicken pox jab.

I didnt want to take that CP jab initially but understand that if you kenna CP during your first trimester of pregnancy, u will need to terminate ur pregnancy. It happened to my ex-colleague and it made me want to take that jab. For my BB lor.

Hi Sue,

I was also told about this MMR (Mumps, Measles and Rubella) jab by my company GP. But i think i had mumps before liao, so not sure if its alright to take this one agan.

I plan to conceive next year, not this year, thats why planning to take all those jabs lor. GP say can take all at one go, but must be separate arms otherwise it will be too strong for one arm. hahaha

I probably take one first, then wait for one month and then take the other. Cos not sure if got side effects or not, especially for the CP jab.

Hi Sue, actually I not very sad lah. There's always a next cycle to try lor. I'd like to have positive thinking, makes my life easier.

Well, I'm really glad that I got this forum to let out my feelings abt TTC. I don't really talk to my friends abt it cos I don't want them to keep asking me the result ie got bb already? I don't mind answering them but a bit drag lor. Thanks all of you here for your support and encouragement !!!

Hi Gals

Like to check with all of you. Must I get doctor advise to take Folic Acid? Or I can get it from any parmancy. Hubby is allow to take.

Thanks for advise

Hi Jenny, you can get folic acid from any pharmacy with prescription. I think NTUC sells the cheapest. For hubby's part, I'm not sure leh.

Hi Giggler,

I dun think it need prescription cos I just got mine from NTUC last week. 100 tablets of 5mg Folic Acid at @$2.50. The indication on the box states 1 tablet a day.

Hi Jenny,
Hubby can take according to the article posted by Linda previously. I bought mine from Guardian, it is more ex than NTUC. 50 tablets for $2.50

Me too is TTC. Have been trying for 6 cycles.

Would like to check with you, how did you manage to persuade your husband to go for sperm count check? Have asked my hubby to go, but then, he simply refused. I really dun know what to do with him.

I've already did pap smear and ultrasound (to check my womb) and everything is ok.

mango, my hubby also doesn't want to check. But I didn't insist also cos I got the same thinking as him, that is, leave everything to God.

I guess it's quite difficult lor cos it's kind of ego thing.

Hi Giggler,

That's what I think too.

But then, at least if anything is not rite, we can still do something. Rather then wasting our time away.

I think I must be thinking too much and this is really making me experate.

I got my folic acid from guardian. It was their own brand and its orange in colour!! er... tot its supposed to be yellow??

maybe diff brand diff colour. does it matter?
Whow, NTUC one really cheap.

Will buy from there next time

Hi gals.....

Giggler n Mango,
my hubby will not go for any check-ups one..cos he is those type of pple who is vv "positive" one..he dun think tt there will be anything wrong..

even if ask him to take vitamins oso quite hard..

sometimes,cant help feelin tt i'm the one who got prob,hence hard to conceive..

nvm lah..think "chuan dao qiao tao zi ran zhi"..

SSL,
i think is looks more like yellow..guess wat,my hubby's fren's wife is preggie..n her gynae gave her folic acid to eat..n looks like the ntuc unity folic acid tt we get...

we get 100 tablets for $2.50...imagine how much the gynae must hve earn hor...hehehe

btw,the instructions say eat one per day...shd take at which time of the day har?

Hi forgetmenot,

think folic acid shd be taken once in the morning, after food. but mine is orange one leh. from guardian brand.

someone gave me folic acid from GNC before and its yellow in colour.

thats why i puzzled??

Hi SSL,
mine is yellow & I bought it from guardian. dun think it's their own brand becos it's packaging is similar to my friend who bought it from Unity. Perhaps different brand different colour.

can u gals share the brand of Folic Acid u bought? do we need to ask the pharmacist at the pharmacy for it? cos i tried looking for it off the shelf but couldn't find leh. (or maybe i juz missed it

SSL,
wah, u so fast start to take Folic Acid already? me hvn't even buy it

forgetmenot, my hubby also same as yours lor. I didn't even try to ask him to take vit as I know he surely won't take one. He also very positive, always tell me that we'll have bb one but don't know when. I guess most men are like that.

As for folic acid, I got mine from my gynae. It's yellow in colour and we shd take one in the morning after food. That's the instruction my gynae gave.

Morning everyone...

Angelia,
u can just buy it off the off shelves. If you cant find it,u can ask the sales person to help..

the one i hve is ntuc unity one..100 tablets for $2.50..think guardian one is slightly more ex..

SSL,
i do not have a fix time to take folic one...i just pop one whenever i rememeber..but i hve stopped taking for a couple of mths liao..lazy...hehehe

gals, u know what i tell hubby when i give him vit c in the morning? is at 'u very stressed, here, take 2 vit c, vit c is an anti oxidant which help u fight stress, come baby, open your mouth, arrrrm' nowadays, he don't need coaxing liao,... will even ask me for it. u can do the same with your vit e and folic acid... kekke

my gynae said its very impt to flood the mother's body with a lot of folic acid 3 months b4 pregnancy so that when the egg is fertilised, immediately there is alot in the body for the baby,... so better be diligent with that.... she said actually folic acid is available in our normal diet but for prupose of conceiving, good to take more that's why need supplement.

Ob-rider,
isit?then i better be diligent in taking them.
btw,can men take folic acid??what effect is has on them?

Giggler,
next wk,ur fertile wk??must dance often liao..

Micky,
how r u??did not hear from you yesterday...like wat Giggler mentioned,hope everything goes well with ur visit today...

forgetmenot, i think no problem for hubbies to take it, but not nec. i asked my gynae,. that's why she said, it's available in our normal diet, so no need for hubby to take supplement since it's the baby or foetus who needs it, not hubbies.. but i have read b4 somewhere or is it from one of the gals here that it's good for sperms if hubby take it but not sure lor,.... for now i think vit e/c is needed for hubbies... cos antioxidants prevent the sperms from clumping together.... but also, i read that cannot take both together, else neutralise each other... maybe someone more professional can comment, but this is what i read last few weeks.

Afternoon! Phew! So busy today.

Micky, do update us after your visit to the doc today. I praying for you everything will be solved easily.

Hi Mango, Hi forgtemenot, Hi Giggler,
Hehehehhe...All our hubbies the same lah, it is the ego and face value thingy. My hubby goes like:"Huh? Go what go? No need eat lah!!! Wow lau, my sperm VERY strong one eh." HAHAHAHAHAHHAHA
It is like insulting him when I gently told him that sometimes men must go for tests and eat folic. Men and their penises....Aiyoh! Insult the men themselves never mind but cannot insult their little brother.
Think a lot of men like that leh....

linda,
ya ya ya.. my hubby oso like that.. hahaha...

breadtalk,
wow, that's fast!! u hope to be a mum ASAP is it? me juz went NTUC Unity to buy Folic Acid during lunch, will start to eat tmr

why such a big difference on the price of Folic Acid between diff brands? the sales person showed me the BlackMores brand and it's 90 tablets for $7+.. so much more expensive!!

Hi Linda, I agree lor. My hubby alway say No problem one lah. Sure got bb one of these days lah. So we'll just wait and see lor.

Hi forgetmenot, quite worried abt Micky hor? Hopefully the problem is not that big and the urologist has a solution to it.

Don't know what happened to Monkey also.....

angelia,

wished to be mummy soon...cos i already chosen baby over studies just last week....so must 'Jia You'!!

I also not too sure why there is such a difference in price ....other than brand names,I dun see why folic acids from GNC,NTUC unity or any other pharmacies...

Hubby's condition is azoospermia, that is absence of sperms. This is due to no vas deferens (the tube that transmit sperms from testicles to ejaculation). Only way out now is through ICSI, advanced method of IVF. But uro asked my hubby to do blood test to ascertain that there is sperm in the testicle for surgical retrieval. no sperm duct was in born for my hubby case. no way to reconstruct

now hopefully the blood test results is good and we will proceed for ICSI.

Hi forgetmenot and Linda,

I think my hubby also like that. Man and their ego thingy I supposed.

Know wat? My hubby can even tell me that "Is your fault lor, who ask you dun do OS on me." Thaz so ignorance. Me really buey tahan. Ever since when, having OS, will improve on men's fertility?

Micky, so how u feeling now? Better? At least your hubby is willing to go for test and you can solve your problems asap. As u can see alot of our hubby not willing to do that one. So even if it's their problem, we can't do anything also.

mango, your hubby really ignorant (sorry huh). I've never heard that OS will improve men's fertility leh.

Ladies, I've read an article in Streats and there's study saying that some women ovulate more than once per mth leh.

Hi Micky,

Glad to hear from u...Dun be too worry or sad, will affect health one. So, urologist also cfm ur hubby's condition. Try not to take it too hard, and hope that the blood test result is good. Take care hor...

Hi micky,
You both must take care. Think your hubby also quite upset. Like what giggler mentioned, at least he willing to go for such tests and all leh. I am sure God will a way out for you. Be patient for the time being and take care of your own health also. When will the uro be doing a blood test for your hubby? And if were to undergo ICSI, when you think it to be? Keep us updated of your progress yah?

MANGO!!! Your hubby trying to be funny with you is it??? Or maybe he means that if OS he will feel better & thus perform better? kekekekkeke.... Maybe u suggest to him also that by doing OS on you, it will make you fertile also and see what he says? kekekekekke.....

Hi giggler,
Yah, it is true that ovulation do not happen on the dot. Afterall, women are not robots...cannot be working on a mechanical basis right? Sometimes we ovulate once, sometimes twice, sometimes we dun at all...

Hi Micky,
Glad to hear from you.Agreed with what Giggler said,at least ur hubby is willing to go for such tests and find a remedy asap.
Keep us updated on your progress,okie??

Take care of urself...

Mango,Giggler n Linda,
what is OS?

ya lor..sometimes buay tahan my hubby...always say no prob one...so positive...

Hi Linda,

Do u mean that we may be ovulating more than once a month even though our AF only comes once a month?

If AF comes, does that mean we are ovulating?

Hi micky,

Hope that the blood test result will be good.
Dun not worry, at least now you know where is the problem and there is a remedy. I believe God has chosen a path for you to produce a healthier baby.

You may also seek a chinese physician for a second opinion. I saw on TV8 that a couple also has zero sperm, after several treatments of acpunctures, he got treated and finally got a baby.

Hi Angel, I'm reading a book and it mentioned that some women ovulate during menses too. The book says that actually AF and ovulation works separately. it gives eg. like AF and ovulation are different political parties. Sometimes they both agree on the same ruling, sometimes they don't. This book I'm reading is quite informative. I just started reading it and I'll post whatever I've learnt here.

Hi Micky, you want to try Chinese Physician. I've heard what Vera said also leh. I think I saw them at one of the programs on TV. I think it's Thong Chai Hospital if I remember correctly.

Hi forgetmenot,
OS = Oral Sex.

Hi Angel,
Having AF doesn't definately means one has ovulated. AF is present simply cos there is no need for the build-up tissues inside our womb for pregnancy. Once there is a pregnancy, the embryo produces some hormones to prevent the womb from shedding its lining which is needed for pregnancy.

OIC. Thanks for the info. I always check th eweb on ovulation and AF issue ans seems like both are related. That's why I tot if u got AF means u are ovulating 14 day b4 that.

Micky,

Dun worry. The blood test shd be ok. Actually ICSI is quite common nowadays for those couple who have poor sperm. They will retrieve the sperm and inject it into the egg and let it fertilised. It is actually an additional procedure in the normal IVF. I have done ICSI in my IVF last year too cos the gynae suspect the sperm is not strong enough to swim to the egg, that's why they have washed the sperm and inject it into the eggs which they have retrieve from me.

Like what Vera say, maybe you could try the chinese physician cos I heard that Chinese herbs can do some miracles jus that it will take a longer time. Jus be patient and dun give up hope, okie.

Micky, everybody have said the same thing..... so don't worry and i suggest taking a break and finding out more about alternative remedies, like the acupuncture thingy... don't rush, u still young... don't worry about MIL and others. now whenever anybody ask, just look at hubby... u don't have to answer them liao.

hey gals, i saw in newspaper today that Guardian has 50% discount on a ovulation kit,.... First Plan i think, anybody used it before? if it is so cheap, think i don't need to get from internet liao.....

Hi Sue, Angelia & forgetmenot,

Mine was guardian brand. its in a box with the guardian logo and colour. I was also surprised that its orange in colour. Last time I saw they have yellow ones but its in those zip lock bags.

Btw do we need to stop taking folic acid when we are having menstration?