A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Good morning! very sianzz today. Tomorrow still need to work half day. Travel agency has yet to confirm my ferry timing.sighz..will call them in the afternoon

I do agree that it depends on fate between out gynae and us, and not to forget our own destiny. If we are fated to have children only later, then it will happen to be that way. Can only hope and pray...

I ovulated already, so don't need to dance so hard liao. cannot help but feel like this mth no chance also..

Soft/Linda,
ya lor, dun think too much. Just relax. Perhaps go for a short getaway over the weekend.

My girlfriend went to see the physician at jurong east and she was detected with cyst and referred to CC. She went thro the operation. after that she told CC that she wanted a baby and CC prescribe her some multi vitamins, and before she knows it, she's pregnant. now a mother of a 6 mths old healthy baby boy. it really depends on luck, this kind of thing.

fmy,

i thot sperm count no need to worry so much... Ai yoh, u like tat quite stressed...See so many docs...Take it easy lah...In my opinion, no need to do lah, most impt thing is the sperm count mah..Tats wat my urologist say leh.aniway, my hubby did tat op bcoz of extras veins ard the testicles, so op was suggested so tat the heat ard the veins will not kill the sperms... U better take it easy...I hope u need not do the test...

Btw, giggler, how old r u? Dun get so stressd lor..I worst than u, got 2 pregnant colleagues whomm i faced everyday, 1 juz gave birth...Parent,PIL keep on stressing me until i fed-up...They told me better go checkup since no gd news for so long..But we r oni married for 7 mths mah...Now oredi ask me to see doctor...But i did go & see, juz never tell them mah...FED-UP with them!!!! Why life is juz so difficult for us!!!

Monkey,
i agreed with Giggler,fr ur story,maybe u r preggie...will keep my fingers crossed for u..remember to update us aft u see ur gyne tomolo..

wat time u gng to see ur gynae??

mi these few days did not dance cos i'm not feelin well..

Giggler/fmy,
my workplace is near to u gals leh..i work in cityhall,n i stay in bt batok..

Micky...must be in the "enjoy" mode liao cos tomolo gng bintan...

Monkey,
No lah. Not seeing so many doctors but just getting a 2nd opinion. See wat the gynae say tonight. If necessary to op for the extra veins, he is all ready to do it. Anyway me quite relax now and not so bother abt this matter liao. Really got no time to think of bb now cos need to settle my new and old hse leh. Now me attending YOGA class which is held in my company. Find it quite useful and relaxing leh.

Forgetmenot,
Better take good care of yourself hor. Yur health is more important leh.

Mickey,
Must be real happy now cos going Bintan tomolo. So envy.

Anyway, 1 more day to go b4 weekend is here.

Hi Monkey,

Hope to hear good news from you. Dun give up. Give you tonnes of BABY DUST.

Hi Linda,

Me also want to go Korea, but new house is under reno, need $$$, hence this year no hope liao. Your AF not here yet, may be .....

Hi fmy,

I have seen DR Chen b4, find that he doesn't know how to put pple at ease, instead feel very pressurised with him. Remember my first visit with him, he already asked me to do laprasocpic (not the right spelling lah) and also to remove a 2 cm fibriod. Not only that he also sound very serious as if my condition is very bad. That night I could not sleep, felt very terrible. After visited him for few times, I gave up. Thinking seeing him will make me more stress, even if I can conceive, I think will not be successful too cos too stress with him liao.

Now hoping the chinese physician can help me. Will try her for awhile and see how. My SIL used to see her when she had 2 M/C b4. I don't think my SIL has PCOS, she can conceived naturally just that cannot keep the pregancy till full term. She now gave birth to a chubby baby girl already 2 years old.

All the best to u.

monkey, me older than u lah. I'll see the no. 3 next yr liao. My hubby is worse cos he's 8 years older than me. hhahhaa.......... But we're very lucky cos both our parents don't rush us for bb lor. Not like u. I can imagine if my mom/mil kept nagging for bb. It's not something within our control what! Why don't u share with them abt your gynae visit? Let me know what happen since they're so concerned abt u.

Micky, I feel that "Luck" plays an impt part too. Alot of people tell me that I'll get preggie very fast after I removed my fibroid cos a few of friends are like that. They got preggie 2-3 mths after the op. But for me, 5 mths liao still no news. Mayb I didn't try hard enuf lor. Sometimes I really bo chap one. hahahahaa.............

Monkey,
remember to update us of your visit ot the gynae. keeping my fingers cross for you, maybe you preggie liao!

fmy,
where is your new house? agree that new house + renov will cost a bomb! burnt a big hole in our pocket when we got our new flat..

Hi fmy,
Prior to discovering I was pregnant, I had VERY creamy tan colour discharge. But normally before menses, i get white-yellow sticky rice texture discharge...like what i am getting now. So that's why I think it is AF coming.

Hi Vera, Hi Soft,
No lah, I am not counting on it lah... Won't be so "sharp-shooter" cos didn't really baby dance a lot these days.... Also dun know when I ovulate.... Can't remember liao....

Read that Christopher Chen is a Senior Fertility Doc in Gleaneagles...Appear in this month's issue of Young Parents to give some advise on conceiving... I agree that diff people will have diff fate with the same doc....

Hi giggler,
Not to worry lah. Like I have always said, I tried for 6 months. And I read in magazines and books and websites that only after one year still no have then see a gynae. I reckon stress and lack of baby dancing are the 2 main factors that stopping the numbers of babies....

Hi Fmy,

I was diagnosed with PCOS and probable endometriosis and my husband varicocele by Dr Chris Chen. We went through laproscopy procedure to remove endometrosis, fibroids and some cysts and my husband's varicocele problem and I conceived the following month. I am currently 11 th weeks pregnant. So don't give up. there is still hope for PCOS ppl.

Vera,
Totally agree with u. I feel so pressurized and streeful when CC talk to me. It sounds like Oh no, u really have to do the op or else no bb for u. I also couldn't concentrate for a few days leh. Luckily my hubby told me not to bother by wat CC says. Still carry on with the chinese physician. She told me that I cld have bb but it may take times. Continue to take her medicine and continue to bb dance when its time lor.
Yur hse under reno, where is it?? Maybe we cld be neighbours. Nevermind lah. Yur hse is more impt than to go Korea leh. Once u settle down in yur new home, then plan for the trip lah. I know that it really burn a big hole in yur pocket if everything need big $$$ come at the same time.

Giggler,
U will be seeing the no. 3 next year. Aiyo, I have already seen it 2-1/2 years ago leh. Dat day my MIL happen to ask us abt the bb thing but we manage to siam the topic man. Phew!!!

Micky,
My new hse in Punggol. Have not collect key yet but soon lor. Now planning for all the renov work. Wah not easy man. All abt $$$$ leh.

Hi autumn gal,
U did all the procedures at Dr Chen clinic? How much it cost for yurself & your husband to do the procedure? Is the procedure very painful?

Hi autumn gal,
Forgot to say something to u just now in the msg. Too fast in clicking post. Anyway CONGRATULATIONS to u. (GONG XI GONG XI)

That's why I consider myself very lucky cos our parents never pose us any qns abt bb though my hubby quite old liao. I really thank them for being so considerate.

fmy, the op is not painful at all. In fact, u won't feel much lor. It's the healing process that's torturing. I mean for me lah.

hi claire

maybe i superstitous kind. can you tell me from where did you find out that monkey baby born in 3 or 4 month is obedient?

Hi fmy,
Our procedure requires day surgery so charges includes gleneagles hopistal fee. My procedure I think is about 6k overall. I think dr Chen's fee is about 3k. My hubby's procedure is about the same price but can pay a few thousands through medisave and insurance so not that bad at the end of the day.
The procedure is not painful at all and can leave the hopsital after the op on that very day. In fact I went to the gym two days later.
I am actually glad that I went to Dr Chen coz I feel that if there is really a problem I would want to get it solved ASAP. I agree I was really stressed up during the period of time. But the laporscopy op removed my mild endometriosis, cysts and fibroids which I think could have stopped me from conceiveing. I also confirmed from the surgery taht my tubes not blocked. I heard from ppl that fibriods could even coz miscarriage even if pregnant. So really thank God it is solved. Oh yes for your infor, I think there is no op to remove PCOS although there is a procedure known as ovary drilling but there is some of side-effects.
Dr Chen is famous for his varicocele op and his procedure is unique, simple and effective. For other doctor, man with varicocele will usually be referred to a urologist and the varicocele op is a rather major one (which includes removing the testicles and putting it back!).
Hope it helps

Hi autumn gal,
U say the fees is payable thru insurance. Wat kind of insurance is that?? How much is the fees payable thru medisave?

dun scare urself lah..Operation scary leh...I was diagnosed wif PCOS with Dr Chan Kong Hon, but he say no need operation..When i took clomid, I hv nice eggs produced mah...Western is alwaz recommend operations, tats 1 thing no gd abt western..

Take medicine first lah...Wat if do oredi, not pregnant oso leh...In S'pore, no $, can't survive, even if bb come oso no $ ah...

Autumngal,
CONGRATS TO U!!! Happy for u, & take care...Wishing u smooth pregnancy + delivery.

Hi everyone :)

This is the first time I am posting under this topic-will like to say a big THANK U for regaling me & touching me with your "trying to conceive" real-life accounts.
I have been following this thread for awhile and I must salute to u all for daring & wanting to "embark" on S'pore womens' "national service".
Especially to the regs like Linda Thea, I was soo happy for u when I learned that u were expecting and felt for u when the unfortunate happened.
To the rest of u-I think u gals are wonderful and dun give up! JIA YOU all the way...!!!
Thank u all for the openness to share, care and support each other.
I believe that each and everyone of you are blessed and will make such great moms in the very near future!
Maybe next time I can "officially" join this thread when its my turn to "embark" as well :)

Cheerios!

Hi fmy,
I think I paid up to 2k through medisave and the rest my insurance company paid for it. It is a hopitalization insurance.

Autumngal,

my hubby went thru varicole operation oso in April. He did both side, oni slit 2 sides of his lower tummy part. Juz a abt 2 cm each side. Not to remove the testicles. The urologist juz tight some veins connecting to his testicles oni lah...1 wk MC though...But no as big as u say...My hubby oso went thru a day surgery... Cost abt $3K. Its called a bilateral vacriocle surgery...Mine oso did in Gleneagles...Wow, $6k for ur hubby oso, mine half of ur price... The urologist beri kind, he knew tat we r quite young, so not much savings..Charge us $2K for his fees, instead of his usual $2.5K.... HEE!HEE!HEE!

Hi autumn girl,
What is endometriosis and varicocele ? Heard that for pple with PCOS when they are pregnant, for the first few months need to go for hormone jabs.

Hi fmy,
My new house in Serangoon. Can start planning for reno before collecting keys. Once keys collected can start reno start away. Plan ahead will reduce some stress. Reno is also any big headache beside $$$$.

Hi Autumn gal,
Wat kind of hospitalisation insurance is that? Care to tell me more abt it? Which co did u get the insurance from?

Congrats Autumn Girl!!! Here's wishing you a smmoth and safe pregnancy!!! It simply makes all pain, tears, $$ worth it isn't it???
All the best.... For how long did you try before u went to see Dr Chen?

Hehehehe...Monkey, you also sama with me hor?? I also scared operations... Must open up us leh...
Really admire the people with courage to go thru it... Maybe diff doc wld recommend diff things lor....

Hi sugarchoc,
Are you thinking of joining us soon??? Really hope to see you TTC-ing with us. It is good to share each other's experiences so we all can learn.

Hi Vera,
Endometriosis is a condition when there is a backflow of blood into womb during mentsraution. The blood can be deposited any where in womb which might result in inflammation and finally sterility (depending on where the blood is deposited). Endometriosis can only be confirmed with laproscopy.
Varicocele occirs in man where the blood flowing from the testicles back to the heart backflow back to the testicles and results in the destruction of the testicles and thus the sperm will decrease. Varicocele also cause premature aging of the testicles.

I am not sure whether jabs is a must for only PCOS pregnant ppl coz my gynae jabbed every of his patient during the first trimester. But it is better for PCOS ppl to get injections as PCOS ppl have problem producing oestrogen and progesterone required for the maintencance of fetus (during the first three months, mother's ovaries produce these hormorne).Dr Chen will stop the injection after the third month coz the placenta will be mature enough to take over the function.
Hope my infor helps
Hi Monkey,
Thanks for your blessing. Your turn will come soon.
Glad that there are other varicocele op available... if not all the man will really suffer! I was doing some research on the net on varicocele and those operation mentioned is really disgusting. My husband was really grateful that his op is painless and less intimidating. Dr Chen charges is less than 3k, the rest are the hopsital charges. You don;t have to pay for the hospital charges?Wah! your doc really kind got discount! I think we were too distressed to ask about discount during that time.

Vera,
Ya. Both me & my hubby planning the renov now. U know wat! I have to do the planning for my parents flat too leh cos they will be shifting to the new place the same timing as us. They have chosen a unit opposite our blk.

Hi Linda,
I tried for about eight months before seeing Dr Chen. Before seeing him, I was consulting another gynae who did not diagnose my PCOS problem and was told that I was perfectly fine. He gave me two rounds of clomid (100mg) and still didn;t get pregnant. That is when I decided to see other gynae. Yeah! you are right about the anxiety and worries about getting pregnant. NOw I am worried about miscarriage...Sigh..don;t know when all these worrying will stop. You have conceived before so i don't think it will be a problem for you to conceive again. I read from a book that it is very common to have miscarriage with the first pregnancy. The risk of miscarriage will not go up after the first. Infact, ppl theorize that after the first miscarriage the body would be more ready and conditioned to carry the next child to full term.
Hi fmy,
I bought mine from prudential and it is called hopitalization insurance. The rest I am not very sure coz my husband handles all these stuff. Maybe you can call up prudential insurance to ask.

Hi Osmosis,
You dun worry too much. Think you shld be on good hands.. Just be good girl and listen to your doc.
You will be over your 1st trimester soon!!!

I know that there are a lot of women out there who have had m/c and then successfully carried their next child to term. As for me, well, I leave it to fate.

i've just went to see gyne yesterday, he gave me clomid to take. he said gotta take during day 2-6 of menses and then baby dance during dunno day ? to ? Me short memory & couldn't really recall..

Could some enlighten me on this? Anyone here taking clomid?

someone uses Elle in this forum.. so i put another E infront.

Hi autumn gal,
Dun worry lah. The doctor will take good care of you. In the meantime, take good care of yourself too. 1st trimester will be over very soon. BE HAPPY!

hi autumn,
CONGRATS!.. u r very lucky!.. And of course you brought hope to us, PCOS victims.

Yesterday i also heard my gyne tell me that worse come to worse if clomid doesn't work than he would have to do ovary drilling..!.. that word drilling really makes my hair stand!.. I really thought of the elec drill man!..I wonder how its being done..
What is laporscopy?.. How do they do it?
So envy you.. your dream comes true.. may i know how long does it take for you to conceive (i mean the time lapse , starting from the very 1st day you look for Dr. chen till the day you conceive..?

autumngal,

when ur gynae prescribed clomid to u, did u ovulate? Did u managed to see ur follicle? Did he monitor u...For my case, when i took clomid, i managed to ovulate, as i can see my mature follicie going to rupture... So i dun noe whether did u ovulate har? Kinda of scary to think of going for op for those suffering PCOS leh??? Can u enlighten me on tis...No lah, the whole op comes to abt $3K lah after minus the medisave...How to claim thru insurance? My hubby cannot claim, as op is due to fertility which is not cover by insurance...

Aniway, 2molo i go see gynae & see wat he says...

Hi Monkey,
Yap, currently staying with PIL. How about u ?

Hi autumn gal,
Thanks for the info. You already 11 weeks, everything should be ok. Take Care

Hi fmy,
Wah, quite 'siong', got to plan 2 houses. When will you been getting your keys ? Now singapore sales can get things cheaper. I used to love shopping but now shopping for the house make me sick of shopping, comparing prices, brands and so on.

When you going to see chinese physician again ? Me probably this weekend.

eelle,
i was prescribed clomid also, this is my third cycle taking it. was told to take it on CD2-6 and start dancing on alternate days starting from CD12 (originally he said CD10) coz my ovulation always happens on CD14 or 16 after taking clomid. and last appt with my gynae shows that me ovulating, can see the follicle. in fact, i think i also did ovulate before taking the clomid. maybe gynae wants to improve my egg..??

ladies, all the discussions abt surgery makes my hair stand leh and i did not know that it will cost sooo much! was thinking that it will only cost like few hundred bucks..
me mountain tortoise..

autumn gal
congrats! wish you a smooth pregnancy..take care

Vera,
According to HDB ECD is end 2nd qtr of 2003 which is June 2003. Probably early July shd be getting the keys. Ya lor, note quite but very siong to manage 2 flats. Nevermind lor, take it easy. Ya comparing prices, brands etc this while. Actually quite sick of it already. I used to love shopping sooo much but now a bit sick leh. Anyway, I just visited the chinese physician last Sat. Will see her again next Sat cos the prescription is only for 2 weeks.

Giggler,
Depending cos me and my hubby took the medicine she prescribe. For me its around $50 for 2 weeks supply and for my hubby it depends. 1st visit his medicine is abt $60+ but the 2nd prescription is $160 for 2 weeks supply as she had given his dong chong chao + some other herbs.

Hi fmy and Giggler,

Normally I see her every 4 weeks cos very lazy to go down. Hence I normally take 4 weeks medicine and cost about $80+.

fmy,she sees both u and hubby? Her medicine must brew one? I can't stand smell of herbs leh. I can't even stand chicken essence.

Hi fmy,

I wanted my hubby to take the medicine. But he got G6PD, afraid cannot take herbs. Anyway, my hubby is taking Vit E and Bio Zinc.

Giggler,
Dun worry. I aso hate to brew herbs. Last time I ever brew until my pot burnt cos after a hard day at work, thus too tired to watch fire. Her medicine is in pills and powder form. For powder, jus need to mix with warm water then can drink already. Quite easy but u must be prepared, the taste is awful. OK lor want to succeed, how awful aso need to take. Heeheehee!!!

Hi Giggler,

Her medicine no need to brew one. It comes in pills and powder. The pills are easier to eat, no herb smell. But powder a bit bitter.

fmy, are we taking the same type of medicine ?

fmy, I don't think I can stand the smell now. I think I'll wait a few more mths then see how. I want my hubby to go and see the physician with me cos who knows it may be due to his problems. Cos I've already checked and everything looks alright.

Vera,
Wat type of medicine did she gave u???
Now me taking the following:
Morning - 1 pkt of small pills (this pills will make u go to the toilet everyday).
Afternoon - 1 pkt of powder mix with 1/2 cup of warm water.
Night - Alternate A & B (A - small pills and take 1 teaspoon, B - 2 big pills)

Is yurs the same as mine???

fmy,Vera

Last time, me oso the same medication..I noticed she prescribed the same pills to others oso...

Giggler,
wait for a while first, then u gauge whether u want to see the chinese gynae....Well, it doesn't work for me..

Giggler,
Dun worry lah. Initially I aso very scared of the smell. Actually, its not so scary. Jus need to drink it like yur normal bitter tea lor. Shd be ok one lah.

Advice u better get yur hubby to go wif u if u have decided cos my colleague went alone on the 1st visit and the physician ask her how sure she is that its not her hubby problem. She prefer to see both parties (Nusband & wife).