A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

hi wisteria

Which EYS branch that she normally in ? must i get her consultation or any other EYS sinseh will do ?

Hi lina
She is based at Paragon. However, I didn't ask for her. She just happened to be on duty. You can ask the nurse to assign any fertility sinseh to you. But if you intend to ask Dr Xia to recommend good Shanghainese sinsehs to you, I suggest you do it diplomatically. TCM doctors don't like patients to compare diagnosis or prescriptions with other TCM counterparts. Their professional ethics are very noble one

In my opinion, those doctors who consult in Singapore might not be the cream of the crop ones. The Masters remain in China...You can also find out more about Fudan University Medical Centre (Obs N Gyn), Ruijin Hospital, No. 1 Maternity and Infant Health Hospital and International Maternity and Infant Hospital in Shanghai. YOu can try expat maternity centers like Beijing Family United or Sino-American if you prefer not to queue with locals.

hi fizz, will OPK be able to tell if our ovulation period is over? yeah, have been actively ML/BD
how does blood test or scan help in this?

hi wisteria, thanks for helping me in this. really appreciate it
are you using the online charts to monitor your bbt? i used fertility friend when i was doing my bbt for the first time several months back.
yar, i also remember that temperature will dip before ovulation and rise after ovulation has occured. but my chart seems to go yo-yo leh, though i have CM, so i am confused.
somemore, this time round, i forgot to take bbt on a few occasions and only started from CD15
not disciplined this time round, guess i was enjoying BD more nowadays

implantation only takes place about 14 days after BD, right? so, the bbt on the 14th day after BD will be critical?
i have long cycle days, max is about 60 days
my bbt today is 36.27. this is driving me crazy!

my hubby is also working overseas. i left my job recently to join him so that we can BD at the right time, hopefully

so, what are you doing now since you are no longer working?
100mg clomid seems high leh. i took 50mg when i was ttc for the first time several months back. though i strike at my first attempt, it lead to a miscarriage

hi regina, welcome to this thread
AF = menses; BD = baby dancing (making baby); TTC = trying to conceive.

hi lina, how did your gynae check for irregular ovulation? why didn't you follow your hubby overseas since he will be there for 2 years? can BD all you want if you are with him, then no need to be so stress especially your cycle is irregular.

hi katherine, you can try charting your temperature and use ovulation predictor kit to determine your ovulation period.

Hi beautiful...Ah, you didn't take your BBT for the first 14 days? Then it wouldn't give you a holistic picture already. But I'm really lost as to how to advise you cos mine is 28 days, so it's clear-cut that I have 3 phases altogether: menses, pre-ovul, post-ovul. I'm planning to travel with my hb this wkend to BD lor, what else can I do as a fulltime BD-er???!! haaha! How about you, where are you living?

I also agree with you that Lina should just quit her job and join her hb in Shanghai to BD. That's why I recommended some reputable gynaes there for her consideration...

Hi Lynn,

I went to his clinic at 10am and left the place at 11am so I don't think I see you. I still have one more jab to go and after that, see what he says...whether he will be helping me to conceive, I don't know but all I know is we are fighting with time. My endo grow super fast, within 1 - 3 months, it can be as big as a mushroom.

Hi Fizz,
I tried TCM before but it doesn't work on me. My Gynae doesn't recommend zong xi he ping, though he is a believer in TCM but he said we shouldn't mix chinese and western medicine together. Now my only bu is chicken essence (drink it 3 times a week) and will start taking Dong Chen Cao from Jan 06 onwards.

Hi Wilma,
Don't feel sad over me lah, actually I am used to it already. My friend once asked me, how can we survive without children cos she said it is very boring only the 2 of us. Actually couple can also do alot of things together. But, never put me in a room surrounded by preggy women, hehe, I will go crazy. That always happen to me when I visit my Gynae!!! Feel like committing suicide on the spot! Sorry too exaggerating liao.

Hi Riushiki,
I think once the endo is remove and before it grow back, there's still chances of preggy. Don't worry too much.

Beautiful,
Positive OPK, then BD liao lor, mia tu liao haha. Then most probably you chart your BBT incorrectly. Good Luck. I read in another thread knowing that you have MC twice...you are that kind that can conceive but cannot hold the pregnancy so have you check with you Gynae why? Weak womb? This is crucial.

Hi lily, ok will let you know when we are going but probably will be next year cos we still want to try naturally for a few months first and c how.. we are taking supps now, dont know if it helps..

hi hopeformiracle, sad to hear about your plight.. can i ask why the womb need to be remove due to endo? cannot just remove the endo mah?

Hi Lyn,

How long does it takes ur menses to come after D&C? Frm my gynae, he said abt 6 to 8 wks frm MC.

Now i'm 5wks frm MC, can i start to take supplements (which consist of folic acid, Vit A, B etc)?

You have been drinking red dates water right? How to prepare? Can teach?

Hi Apple
U also just had lap ? Same as me .. today is exactly one week since the ops :x On 3 weeks MC :x

I don't have any symptoms of Endo at all. Just a bit of spotting so decided to go for a checkup. Then realized I got this disease :x

Can we try for pregnancy or die die must go for hormone therapy first ? My gynae said 95% will come back if dun go on HT ??? True or not ? And do u girls know the cost of hormone therapy ?

Hi Riushiki,

I have friends like you who don't have any symptoms and end up knowing they have endo. It is not a diease, erm, can't say really what it is hehe.

Who is your Gynae? It is up to you whether you want to take the jab or not. As for me, I listen to my gynae and take the jab for 6 months but even if I take the jab, there's no guarantee it won't come back. Chances are still 50-50. But if your endo is not servere, maybe you can try ttc first. The cost of the jab is about $350 - $400.

hi hopeformiracle, after hearing your story i also quite scare.. wat are the systems of the endo other than spotting? is manageable pain during menses a sign that something is wrong? and how to know whether got these growths anot? i did a pelvis ultrascan last year which showed a blood cyst but a rescan 6 months later showed tat the cyst was gone.. but i am still worried leh.. i saw a gynae last week who says that not necessary to go for another scan cos most likely the cyst is not going to grow back within a year.. should i trust her anot? thks

WEnt to see KKH Gynae yesterday about my complications. She told me the reason why Dr Frong cannot my maturing eggs is bcos probably it is hiding behind the bowel or intestine. My progesterone show a raise means that I have ovulated after my 1st round of Clomid. She just me not to listen too much and start to stress myself.

But on my CD12, Dr fong cannot find my maturing eggs and told me that I did not ovulate. He told me progesterone lvl doesnt tell much and ask me to increase my dosage of clomid.

I am so confuse now. Who is right and who is wrong? OR should I go for a 3dr opinion?? It is really a headache now!!

hi beautiful and wisteria

thanks for the recommendation, i will try to pick the correct fertile period to catch my hb but it is a no-no to quit my job and join him.

Hi Rain

Personally I wld prefer to stick to jus 1 gynae for at least 3 mths...till sometink proves me wrong...many of these med diagnosis r based on experience n judgement...so itz no surprise tat views may differ...n note tat yr kkh gynae cldnt confirm whether if yr eggs r REALLY hidin or not...y dun u go bac to 1 gynae n do another rnd of scan durin yr next cycle...

My gynae oso gave me conflictin opinions as to my gp once...but she proved to b rather accurate in predictin my cycle...so i still trust her up till now...as the sayin goes "xin (4) zhe (3) bu (4) yi (2), yi (2) zhe (3) bu (4) xin (4)"...

Hi Fizz,

Actually I have been seeing KKH since August. Went to Dr Fong just to scan my eggs as KKH did not do it for me. So Now, me and my husband is still wondering which gynae should we go to. Bcos we are so confuse now.

I just need some advice and I know its out of the context here. It might also serve as a note to all of you who are working and ttc.

I have been terminated by my company while I am at the end of my 2nd month maternity. I told the company that they cant do so. My manager (the boss's sister) told me that she read the employment Act through and through and said that she can do so.

What happen to the law of singapore who is suppose to protect the women?

I tink my mense is FINALLY reporting after CD50...got some brownish PM spotting...yippee!!!...
...I can finally start n look fwd to ovulation next mth...cross my fingers tat I'll ovulate...

My menses will be due these 2 days according to my last cycle of clomid. Now, I have "pulling" feeling on my lower abominal.. So I should be here these 2 days.

Hi Apple,
After my first D&C, menses came 10 weeks later. After my second D&C, menses came 4 weeks later. It kinda vary... I took a lot of supplements immediately after the D&C
For the red dates drink, just buy those seedless red dates, split into half and boil for an hour. Then you can drink already
Actually immediately after your D&C, you can take heaty stuffs. Can add dried longan and black dates to the red dates and boil. But now 5 weeks already, I think it will be too heaty already.

Hi sunflower,
After my surgery for fibroids and endo, I see my gynae once every two months to monitor
That time my gynae recommended that I see him once every 3 months for 3 years.

Ice:
I believe YES, they can because you've completed your 2 mth maternity which is provided in the Contract of Service signed btw you and your Employer. Some companies provide for 3 mths, how abt yours? If no, then they can terminate you at the end of your maternity leave.

They will just pay you retrenchment benefits.

oh wisteria,

Thanks for the note. no wonder my employer wants me to return the handbook to them immediately. i was reading through on the maternity benefit. It states that if i have completed 270 days of continuous leave, which i have, the company shall grant up to 90 calendar days of paid maternity leave. Cant believe i am dealing with such sleaze balls!!!!!!

thank you thank you

hi wisteria, yar lor, i no discipline to take bbt this time round. i forgot to take today's
i always will get up from bed then realise that i have not taken my bbt. by then, too late liao cos i have risen from bed... horrible...
i am in taiwan currently.

hi hopeformiracle, you are right about my MC history. gynae said nothing wrong with my womb leh. i also worried that i don't have enough HCG level to support a good pregnancy
any suggestions?

hi rain, thought dr fong is quite good in his diagnosis leh...

by the way, what is endo? how can one know if she has endo?

Hi Beautiful
No suggestion except that once you know you are preggy you must consult a gynae asap to get some kind of jab to help support pregnancy I guess.

hi miracle..

hw r u?? so long didnt talk to u already..

AF haywired again.. today already CD65 le.. still not here yet.. anyway have already book appt to see gynae on xmas eve to get med to induce
if report earlier then will scan to see if my PCOS worsen onot.. if yes then got to request for Metformin too :p

guess can only start TTC next year liao.. keke
GOOD LUCK TO ALL THE TTC-ians.. and as i say NO STRESS ok
ML is an ejoyable thingy.. not just to make BBies

Hi beuatiful,

Yes. Heard that Dr Fong is very good for the infertility. But Dr Sheila in KKH is also quite good as she is the head of infertility dept. So I am so confuse now.

I am waiting for my period to come so that I can try the next dosage of Clomid. Although Dr Sheila told me to stick to my 50mg of clomid, but I will listen to Dr Fong advise to increase it to 100mg.

Do you know of any harm in increasing the dosage?

According to my last cycle, my period should come tomorrow and I have the cramping and pulling feeling my in lower abominal since 3 days ago.

I will wait till my menses here that I decide which gynae to go ahead. You see, Dr Sheila is my primary gynae. But her queue is about 2 mths and waiting time to consultation is about 2-3 hours.Dr Fong is more expensive than KKH but the queue is a week and waiting time is about half to 1 hour. I know both of them is quite good on infertility.. So I am in a delima now. Which one shall I listen to?

Someone told me it will be good to listen to Dr Fong as he is cannot see my maturing eggs in my ovaries.

Will discuss with my husband again over the weekends since my period will be coming over the weekend.

hi rain,

saw yr posting abt KKH and FY. i have seen both KKH gynae (dr SF Loh) and Dr FY and i would like to share my experience between the different protocols that both gynaes use.

For KKH, the protocol is usually 3 cycles of clomid. 1st cycle comes with a day 21 blood test to test progesterone levels. high levels mean u ahve ovulated. and if the 1st cycle shows ovualtion, u dun need to be monitored again till the end of the 3 cycles - which could take up to 4-5 months of waiting and not knowing for sure that you have ovulated as the blood test is not conclusive.

It is possible to have high levels of progesterone and not ovulated with good qaulity eggs.

i found that out when i saw dr FY in my second cycle. It is via ovualtion monitoring that the doc found out that the follicles have not grown not big enough to release the egg, hence no ovualtion and no chance of conception is possible.

thus after that, i did my follow up with FY and managed to concieve in my third clomid cycle to 4 tabs a day and via IUI. However due to some unknown reasons the pregnancy did not last and i lost my baby last month at 8 weeks.

my point is that going to pte gynae though more expensive can offer results faster than KKH which has a longer waiting time.

Hi Babymaking,

Thank you for your advise. In this case, I will followup with Dr FY in future and forget about Dr Sheila. Actually, I quite trust Dr sheila as she told me so sure that I am ovulating and ask me dun think too much about it.
So I will Call Dr Fong tomorrow to book a appt to scan my follicles.As I think I saw some spotting just now so my period is coming tomorrow. He ask me to see on on CD12 to scan my eggs again. Do you think that I should scan it on CD8,10, 12 .... or I should scan only once at CD12?

Hi Baby,

What is the dosage are you with Dr Shiela and Dr FY?

I started with 50mg and Dr Fong increase it to 100mg(2 tab) only.

Why are you taking 4?

Actually I feel like taking 3 or 4 to make sure that I will be ovulating.

hi Rain,

let the doc decide when to go back for ovulation scanning cause from the first scan, he will be able to estimate when the egg will be released.

i was on 100 mg with KKH for the firtst 2 cycles with high level of progesterone for the first cycle, but no eggs released in both cycles.

dr FY upped the dose to 4 tabs which is 200mg. this is the max dose of clomid.

dun take too much clomid as it drys up cervical mucus (if u going for IUI, this doesn't matter) ,not to mention any side effects like mood swings etc etc will be amplified with a higher dosage.

Babymaking: Glad u see u back in here. I hope u had a good rest. I'm alarmed to hear that your RE has given u 200mg. I was given 100mg and felt really depressed over the first 7 days on the medication. I can't imagine how moody I can be if I hv to take 200mg. May I know what the doc say was your problem?

My menses not here yet. Do you gals have regular period after your clomid? My first clomid is 25 days. So I expect my AF to arrive on satuday.

I have a little brown discharge on friday and I thought AF will arrive on Saturday. Then Saturday is clear and some more my cramps that last for the past 3 days are gone. Today, little cramp that last for little while. I went to toilet just now, my panties has a few little little spotting like blood vessel. Only a few and tiny ones which is less than 5.

Dr Fong told me I didnt ovulate this cycle as he cannot see my matured eggs. Sigh, I really dunno what happen to me now. Seems like everything is so confused to me. I think I will monitor for the next few days.

Hi Rain, I also see Dr. Sheila Loh at KKH. juz my feedback, though she is good (head of infertility), she is really too busy. Waiting time to see her ranges from 1 hour to 4 hours. Last week i waited for almost 4 hours and saw her for about 10 to 15 mins only. What is more, usually have to wait quite long for the next appt. I am trying IUI in mid december, if not successful, prob will switch to private gynae next year,cos no time oredi...hee hee age catching up, KKH is too .

oh yah, btw I took 2 cycles of clomid last year under another gynae. the cycles will be quite accurate 30 days but the flow will be lighter, only total of 3 days compared to normally 5 to 7 days.

Hi Dawn,

Thanks for the feedback.

Yes. My AF is lighter than before my first cycle of Clomid of cycle 25 days. Normally is 3 days, but on my 1st cycle is only 1.5days.

Today is my CD28. And my cramps come back again. The cramping feeling like my AF will come at any time. Keep my fingers cross. Will keep you updated.

Hi Rain

Wld u wanna do yr HPT for a confirmation?...me too...I finished my Sunolut (mense inducin med) since 11/11/2005...n I've been spotting since last Thurs...sianz...how I wish tat I'd get it over n done wif...

Hi ladies...

Does anyone of u noe if itz okie to take EPO durin the TTC period?...issit safe for the 2WW period?...my mense used to arrive on the dot last time when I was takin it...so I stopped as I prefer my mense to come on a 5-week instead of 4-week cycle...tinkin of takin it now to regulate my mense...is EPO or BFW better?...can BFW b taken when yr mense is here?

For those of u whose hb r takin androil...the TCM fm EYS whom my hb 's seein said tat androil actually sends a message to the brain tat there r sperm producin hormones...hwr...once androil's stopped...the brain wont tell the organ to start producin spermies immediately again...as the brain still tinks tat there r still enuff hormones for sperm pdtn...till the hormonal lvl falls...so the qlity of spermie may fall after the androil course is completed...tatz wat happened to my hb...1.5 mths into androil...his sa test was fantastic...1 mth after he stopped androil...it's more pathetic than his pre-androil test...

Jus to share some info fm the TCM...

Hi Fizz,

I dun have the courage to take a HPT now. I hate disappointment. I think will wait for a few days more.

And my lower abominal cramps have this pulling feeling again. Sigh... If my AF not arrive by end of this week, I will test it..

Hope I have a chance to test it.. Keep my fingers cross

rain,

first cycle no scanning, only blood test result. which indicate that i have ovulated with 100mg (2 tab) of clomid. but later on in cycle 2 with the same dosage, there is no matured eggs, though gynae did say the blood test will be positve as there are growing follicles.

thrid cycle, up the dose to 200mg(4tabs), gynae can finally see the eggs growing and maturing.

wisteria,

thks for your welcome. i had loads of side effects with clomid at 100mg for the 1st 2 cycles, but it was fine with 200mg with the 3rd cycle, it could be because the body has gotten used to the side effects and ha adapted to it.

in fact cycle 3 was very smooth.

Hi juju,
Thank you for replying. I would love to buy it from polyclinic. But i dun think i have the time to go there to buy, as they only operate during office hours and i have to work... Do u know of any website that can ship preseed to singapore?? I dun mind paying for the shipping charges..Thank you once again.