A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Cheri, CG
yes sounds really stressful. i jus hope cay and kate will enjoy sch and that i wont give them too much pressure. now easy for me to say i'll be very relax w their studies... but who knows when the time actually comes maybe i'll be more stressed out than them ;)

must be so nice seeing N getting better in the water

im still trying to coax cay to go to the pool

Elmo
hahaa u v funny leh!! can jus imagine u really jumping into the pool

Chinatown
hehe prolly gg chinatown later to get into the festive mood...
any of u went alr? not sure where to park

Lin
You can try China Square, then walk to Chinatown (Temple Road etc).
Alternatively u can park at People Park multi-carpark.

Lin
I want I want to go to Chinatown also!!!

Will go soon with D
Every year we go, we will usually either drive n park somewhere not so near or take train

Is 16 Feb a public holiday?

Back to work. My 2nd week. More documents on my table. But still not into the mood. Everyday just look at the clock and can't wait to go home!

CG
Will pm you my mobile number. We can do lunch one of these days. I just tried Hog's Breath today. Very good ler!

Cheri
Did you manage to "spot" F1 in school today?

Cy
My F2 seems to be faster than his korkor in everything and anything! And totally opposite of F1. He's slim and agile. Clingy and whiny! Haha!

re swimming
F1 wanted me to go down to the water with him. So bo bian. I did. And after 1 hour, I was even more tired than he was!

re nap
I wanted F1 to skip his nap, but it didn't work. When it reached 4plus, he would be very drowsy, and would just doze off either on the sofa or go to his bed himself. I wanted him to sleep by 7pm, if possible. Ha ha haaaa.

Hooray! I just checked on MOM website:

* As Chinese New Year falls on Sunday 14 February 2010 and Monday 15 February 2010, the next day, Tuesday 16 February 2010, will be a public holiday.

elmo
yes, it's such an amazing moment, isn't it? i can imagine how u feel! i was ready to chide J for doing that too cos i thot she'll probably sink & choke haha...when i spoke to N abt it after the lesson, she gave me a look that says 'what's the big deal?' gosh!

yf
hahah ur son 'dao' leh...my ger came back to tell me FX did not wanna hold her hand wahhahaah...i told her maybe u r too eager, he got scared kekeke

re dropping of naps
these few days, she has been skipping her nap. The critical period is betw 6 to 7 pm...must try to keep her active & occupied. Yest nite, she succumbed & fell asleep during dinner. So we let her sleep for 10 mins then woke her wif her fav Caillou cartoon...she managed to sleep at 9.30 at nite. Today, din nap at all so slept at 8.45 pm...not bad, i'm happy hahha

lin
J works in chinatown area so no chance for us to go gai gai there. cos he's so bored wif the place after having lunch there almost everyday. He will buy all the CNY goodies there every year.

re zoo water park
N had a bit of dry & peeling skin on face after her trip in HK. The skin was oredi on way to recovery when we headed to zoo on Sat morning. Played in the water park then bathed her there. But she came back wif a v v bad rash all over her neck, forehead, sides of face. Itchy & she scratches! sigh...

Brot her to pd & she confirmed that it's a bacterial infection from the water park. Says that cos some kids may hv gone in wif their home clothes, bare bodied, urine in it etc hence the bacteria is more than a normal swimming pool, for instance. Now she's on antibiotics cream & oral antihistamines. We suspect that cos her skin had 'open wounds' & is dry so it made her more susceptible.

my fren oso told me her dd had a bout of hfmd once after going to the zoo's water park too. Wonder if it's coincidence or the place is really a bed of breeding bacteria.

Cheri
Oh dear! Hope N gets well soon.
Compared to Sha, Nate's skin complexion is not as good as hers, a couple of time he gets rashes, and I have been using the cream named: Betnovate-N, so far it is very effective. I use it as his diaper rash/heat rash too.

cheri
Hope N gets well soon.
Yes, it was amazing. She was very calm. When I praised her, she was in cloud 9 :p
S has been napping again but slept really late at night. So yesterday I decided to keep her awake n she KO by 9.10pm ;P

K's both big toes got really dried n thicken skin. It started with just really dry skin then it cracked. Brought him to pd n was told it's the sign of 'hong kong foot'!!! All we can do is just keep it clean n alternate the shoes. I've been applying corticosteroid cream but no improvement. Any suggestion?

Cheri
So sorry! My F1 IS abit 'dao'. To family members also. Need abit more time to warm up. Btw, I don't think they're in the same group, are they?

Did you give any feedback to the zoo?
It must be a breeding ground for all sorts of bacteria!

Elmo
'hong kong foot' at such young age?? Haha
Smelly or not? Hehe

Cheri
SIM just called and told me that if it's an SIM member who recommends a fren for the membership, s/he'll be entitled to some member-to-member promotion, which is some voucher. I don't know what voucher it is. Are you keen? If yes, email me your hb's name and NRIC

yf

Is it the SIM membership that you are speaking about? Can share its benefits? Cos I have been asked a few times if I wanna apply but each time haven't had the patience to read thru the benefits & terms & conditions. Tks tks

thanks. the rash is still there but so long as she's in air-con environment, she's ok. But once she perspires or feels hot, it flares up & she will scratch again...hv told her sch teachers to keep her indoors (no outdoor activities) & to stay away from paint, glue or playdough till she recovers. she's like a piece of ice now, cannot let her melt hahah

u apply betnovate-N whenever he has rashes only? is that a prescribed med? she has Bactroban med from the pd for normal rash. But for this bout of bacterial infection, doc says need stronger antibiotic med.

elmo
N's big toes seem to hv this problem too..i dinno it has got anything to do wif HK foot. just thot it might be cos it's dry. i realized when her shoes get tight, it does peel again. Nt sure if it's a coincidence.

is corticosterioid cream a steroid cream? if not wrong, steroid creams must apply sparingly as it thins out their skin, creating further problems in future.

So far, i will wait till she's asleep at nite, then moisturize the big toe's peeling area wif v strong moisturizer, then put on sock. it does seem to help..(i'm using the Eygyptian magic cream now but any strong oily moisturiser (vaseline?)may help too) the peel will heal & cover up after 2 nites. If K wanna peel it, then u may wanna put on a plaster for him. But this is what i did, u may wanna check wif the doc again since the cream he gave did not work.

yf
they r born in the same year so yes, they r in the same N2 group. Noorsiah told me FX is adapting v well leh, no tears or separation anxiety

PMed u J's info details oredi.

aishite
J got the lifetime membership free at the launch of the scheme (maybe cos he was the first batch of graduating students). So far, we hv not utilised them much besides using their One-North pool (has a good size slide water playground for the kids too) & attending 2 movies screenings. The movie screenings were v good..think pay abt sgd6 per adult for the blockbuster movie in GV on a weekend inclusive of light buffet dinner/bites somemore. & of course, to qualify for a discount of N's childcare fees.

yfuang
No, it's not smelly. Just a term.

cheri
K's pd didn't give him anything to apply. Was told that just keep them clean n dry n alternate the shoes. It wasn't improving so I used the corticosteroid cream once in a while only. Didn't want to irritate it further. I do use lots of lotion n moisturiser, usually after shower. It's not getting worse but not better either. So far he doesn't peel or scratch them, but will stick up his legs n show us his toes n 'complain' :p

elmo
gee N will peel them whenever she sees any skin hanging out...sometimes it will end up bleeding hence plasters for her r necessary.

Cheri
Betnovate-N is a prescribed med.
So I have to ask my sister to go JB to buy.
She helped me to buy some when she went Bangkok earlier.

Cheri
I must have got it mixed up with N1 kids. I didn't have much time to sit in the class and get to know his frens and teachers. I only know who teaches what subject. When his enrolment was confirmed, my job was also confirmed in the same week. F1 is used to full day program. He was also on full day when we were in china. In fact, he used to do 'homework' too, from the china school. He was abit clingy on the 2nd day, but the teacher managed to distract him. As long as I'm not there, he'll be fine

Chinatown
hehe went last evening... nothing much to buy but then we jus wanna bring the kiddos there to feel the cny mood
well kate seemed to enjoy it v much.. was v smiley thru out

as for cay... expected.. dozed off in the car and was kooning in the stroller thru out the whole trip -_-"
ooh but i bot a really cute lil pong-pong qipao for kate... surprising this one looks expensive type.. not those cheapo looking ones.. cant wait for her to wear it on cny

CG
hehe in the end i oso not sure where we parked... think its next to og

Elmo
keke yes yes i rem u told us D likes to go chinatown during cny to get sardined

hope nothing serious w k's toes... and not itchy else will be so uncomfortable for him

yfuang
wow u're like cy... aiming for the kiddos to sleep by 7pm!
definitely mission impossible for cay... if he sleeps by 7pm means he's jus taking his nap

Cheri
oh dear... sounds bad

after hearing dunno whether dare to let cay go in or not
he's been saying he wants to go to the zoo again after watching some kiddos prog

yfuang
Tks for the brochure.
Not looking for anything in particular actually, but since I lecture there part-time, which means I hang around there a fair bit, so simply exploring to understand the benefits of this membership.

Any idea what's the cost of the membership? tks

Yfuang
Can save $200 every month is very good!

Cheri
N's school fee is around $600 for half a day program after the discount?
Can buy the cream in SG, but need a doctor to prescribe.

Elmo
I have no idea where I got the impression that athlete's foot is smelly!! Not that I ever smelled one myself ;P

Cg,
Nope, it's $750 after government subsidy and membership discount. Original price for full day is $1250.
I have yet to comment whether it's a "good" school and I hope to believe that there are no "bad" schools in spore

Last night, I asked F1, so did you learn how to hold a pencil? 'cos I informed the supervisor that he hasn't mastered it yet. He said, this way, demonstrating it to me with his little fingers. I've been trying don't-know-how-many-donkey-times on that and he refused to do it. In the china school that he attended, they only teach the kids to hold pencil when they go to K1. At least I see that the teachers took very immediate action on my concern.

yfuang
keke must be fr tv lah... tat athlete foot is smelly

but there prolly is some truth to it?... maybe if not treated properly or long period in covered shoes will worsen the condition and cause it to smell?
anyway must wait for cy to enlighten us ;)

yah telc is slightly more ex than the usual cc...
was so tempted to enrol cay last time after hearing so much fr cheri
but the price pfwah...

still contemplating whether to change sch for cay after the 2nd term (paid alr)
it's not that the trs are no good... in fact i find them v frenly and energetic bunch
but cos they hv v few students and mostly younger than cay so i'm concerned abt the interaction he gets esp when he prefers to mingle w older kids
cos can tell he's not v enthusiastic abt sch but will still go

btw tats v gd tat F1 managed to learn it in sch over a matter of few days vs u trying to teach him dunno how many donkey times

lin
oh dear, cay slept thru out the Chinatown outing...v anti-climax hor? must be so funny when he woke & u r all on way home liao keke

yf
full day is so much cheaper esp when u get the ftwm subsidy (double of a non-working mum)...imagine, i'm paying $640 every mth for half day prog for 4 days per week (N doesn't go to class on that day per week when she has her ballet or now art enrichment). This is after deducting the SIM membership discount & non-working mum subsidy...grrr, i'd better not compare the price diff hahah. Shows how much more the govt wan women to go back to the working force after they give birth.

N oso managed to correct her grasp of the pencil thru the sch's help. I did not really do much.

lin
haha send cay to TELC lah since u r living nearby too...N will b so thrilled to hv another fren as her classmate.

Yfuang
hahaha ya probably got the impression from tv :p

lin
hee cay so cute! Alot of time S will nap right away when we reached town then wake up 2-3hrs later we are on the way back...hee quite poor thing hor...
I got S a qipao too
and one for K too...what do u call those for boys one???

We went shopping during the weekend.
Showed her a few qipao but then she gave me an unsatisfied expression.
Told me she did not like it, not nice, even asked me not to buy it for her.
Said she wants me to look for a simple red long dress for her, and a pair of red shoes.

As I was looking one suit for Nate, so I thought it is also nice to buy qipao for her.

Looks like this is the another stage when she wants to pick her own clothes n accessories.

Hi mummies! so surprised this thread is so alive n well!
Cheri
Kai is not attending enrichment right now, just like ning at this age. Oh think ning had s&d in sch as mil wld drop her there then she went for tea and I wld pick ning after work.
Few days back, mil sugg let ning go to Learning Lab, or kumon or I Can Read(they are just opp my new place) but I am not keen at all.
Ning had an assessment by her teacher and was told her reading age is 9yo. I was pleased but she said she's not the best, her friend is 9y2mth!
Sigh...

Oh yes, brought the kids to seng kang riverside to feed fish. Ning n I went in morning and brought Kai in the evening. Nice!
Evening was nice as we had the luxury of time...

cat
wow, reading age 9 is fantastic! esp since she had just started reading nt too long ago

how do they assess reading age? using those reading lists ah? haha sorry, i've nvr taught lower pri so dunno abt this.

cg
my mum got N a silk qipao dress from beijing when she was there recently. So no such headache for me this year. it's a really soft & sweet piece. One is enuff for each year as N only gets to wear it once during CNY hahah

Cheri
Ya, ya, I felt the pinch too 'cos I did some calculation for 3 kids' education! I think we better stick with 2 incomes for contigency, though my income is really a peanut la. For the sake of the children, I'm starting to think whether I should go back teaching...ha ha haaaa

Cheri,yf
yes I think phonics really helps!
I'm glad I didn't force her earlier n risk killing her interest.
I'm also very happy that she's able to do beautiful chartwheels on her own although she no longer attends gymnastics lessons.
So, I think timing is really important.

Cat
When I was in china, the kids there were taught phonics too, in F1's school. Materials are not commercial, but created by teachers (foreign) themselves, approved by the local education municipal bureau. I have not seen how our side does it with phonics. But theirs is very elementary, starting with 'a' - /a/ - apple! And very communicative approach.

Do chartwheels on her own??? She drew it herself??

yf
spoke wif their Eng tr yest..she says our kids at N2 will b learning letter sounds this year for phonics..no blending yet. They hv been intro to letters, tracing of letters, words beginning wif particular letters etc since last year. So quite a relaxed pace lah. Seems that N & FX r in diff gps though. cos group is too big now hence the teachers need to split them up & they swap EL & Ch classes after 40 mins of lessons.

cat
yes, timing is so crucial isn't it? just that we've gotta keep testing from time to time to c if they r ready. When do u plan to teach kai phonics? do u think he'll learn it earlier than Ning did?

Gals
How to teach phonics?
Me, super old-school, only let her read Peter & Jane, wa ha ha....but well, she's reading 70% of many books by herself now. I don't really track any progress, think I am too slack in this aspect. But well....so many things to watch over, it will all slowly pan out, I think

For me, it's the values now that's supra important to me....respect, honour, shouldn't always wanting to be first (cries if she comes in 2nd), understanding her God's-given talents n gifts are there for a purpose tat kind of stuff