A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Elmo
I just re-adjust Sha's schedule.
Let her take her nap earlier so that she can go for swimming lesson.
She will also be having her Phonics lesson at her school every Fri at 330pm.
Now timing have to move a bit earlier, just to ensure she has at least 1hr or 1.5hrs of nap.

Cheri
I'm glad that her PCF centre is using Jolly Phonics, (only a few branches in TPY).
Did you manage to get the complete set of Jolly Phonics?

cg
yes, i hv the complete set...still hv some extra copies to sell away haha but din really get down to it.

take nap earlier? nt as easy leh...she's just nt ready to sleep if too early too.

elmo
yes, ballet is fun for them cos they get to move, dance, jump etc wif other kids...N always horses ard wif another angmo girl in her class till both got scolded once by teacher hahah. N cried but the other girl comforted her telling her, it's ok, teacher will forgive us keke.

shopping is shiok but i love the food, conversations there especially too. Missed my mango dessert last nite b4 i slept. J can't believe it cos i've been eating that for like 5-6 times at least liao haha

Cheri,CG
I'm happy that S has been taking her nap these few days.
Her swimming is at 4pm on Tuesday so usually she will nap for an hour. And Friday I chose the later class which is at 5.15pm so she gets to nap 2-3hrs

Cheri,
Nice nice...aiyo..make me hungry..all the talk about food! Didnt know CottonOn is from Aussie..keke. No, dont know what to buy from Melbourne still. So, save the money I guess..:p The last time I went there havent have bb yet..so never notice what they have..keke. When you are there, find out what is good for online shopping?

Nap
Hm...my G cut down from 2 hours to 1 hour nap...but still can play till 11pm at night. Wakes up around 7.30am. In fact last night, she slept at 11.25pm...1 hour after lights off! But cannot cut nap entirely. Coz she generally looks tired after school in am. Ideally, wish she would zz at 10pm. Healthier timing..

Cheri
Sha finishes sch at 1030am, then I will let her have 30mins at playground w her classmates.
Bath then lunch at 1130 or 1145am.
By 1245pm, she will be inside her room.
At 130pm or 145pm, she will be sleeping.

Elmo
That's great!
Then at least you can have some time for yourself. How about K? His schedule is the same as S?

Cheri
Yes yes yes! Am thinking alot about Hong Kong food...especially their DESSERTS!!!

Joyfulmom
Ya I also noticed cannot cut her nap entirely as she will get so tired n cranky by dinner.

CG
K will be having the same slot 8-11am...hoping can get the place as I forgot totally about it n only went to register for him 2 weeks ago...no more vacancy but principle told me will try to get one place for him

how's life with the kiddoes! same ole here!

CY hasnt advanced much in whichever areas and CH still isnt talking much...but they are having so much fun with one another i really dun mind anything anymore.

meimei is crazy over imitating korkor and cy can be super bossy but sweet at the same time...

but last night meimei had the worst ever bout of vomiting...so hardle slept last night...think she vomited over 4 times in the span of 6hours...not projectile but still...argh..

cy woke up in the midst of the flurry but kept by my side obediently wo teasing meimei...but he was very gentle with meimei this morning...patting her and kissing her...hahahah...

hong kong
envy envy!!!! would love to go there again...

o btw strange enough CY rem his hong kong disney land trip..a little that is..we were in cebu (philippines) and there was this fireworks display..cy in his childish speech (okok he isnt that advnaed yet) said " the fireworks doesnt go bang bang bang, it goes pop pop pop here. the fireworks at disneyland went bang bang bang..."

hb and i were so amazsd that he actially rem..that was when he was 2.5 years there about...hmmm...

Cy was so so sweet.. I brought meimei into the room to put her to bed. Then saw the door open quietly and cy popped his head in saying night night meimei... Then after a bit he asked do you wan
me to come in to protect you? Then walked in and kissed meimei and told her don't worry I'm here to protect you, don't worry huh I'll be in the playroom ....

Yo!!

hehe forgot to come in and missed out on so much!

Cheri
yes yes so envious
only been to hk once in my 30 over yrs of life and i really enjoyed the shopping there!
my fren was crazy over their chu qian yi ding instant noodles served at those cha chan ting

and they really displayed pkts of chu qian yi ding instant noodles at their shop front hor..

Elmo
oh u're getting a place for K to where??

CG
when u're trying to get sha to nap is nate in the same room as well?
i think i give up on making cay nap le

Joyfulmum
hey ur girl is jus like my elder... can last more than 12 hrs without nap -_-"

CY
CH isnt talking much? means she can at least say a few words right?
kate no leh... for a girl she's v slow... at most can manage only 'apple' and 'octopus' and tats abt it

ahh yeah cy is so sweet to his meimei

btw wat happened to ch? stomach flu?

wen
honestly, i'd rather she drop her nap than sleep at 11 pm. Esp since she's gotta wake at 7.30 am the next morn for sch. What i know many do is schedule their dinner earlier at abt 6 so that when it's abt 7, their 'sleepy' time if they dun take nap, u can engage them in activities. Eating/chewing somehow makes them sleep faster haha

lin
kate is slow in speech? i rem N hardly spoke much until she's abt 2. waa can say octopus should be v good liao leh...3 syllable word.

hehe i like their maggi noodles for breakfast too. But their luncheon meat & egg sandwich is still my fav! N loves that too...we ate it for quite a few mornings.

yy
that's so sweet of CY..he's starting to show his big brotherly love.

Lin
Getting a place at Kinderland CC.

Lin,CY
K is trying hard to talk but very limited. So far he can only call mommy, daddy, jiejie, Summer, mama, star, ball...and think he can say "what's that?"...very funny!

CG
Thanks for the link. Is Sha doing any program there now?

Cheri
Ya me n D also like their breakfast...instant noodle with egg & slice of lunchen meat and with cup of milk tea...yum!

Strawberry Shortcake, LIn,
second you there re nap...

Cheri,
I tried to let her skip nap but she can get carried away towards late afternoon. Tiredness causess her to be more restless and 胡闹 - lack of self-control. Can be really difficult to control her if have to bring her out for social events. :p Somemore, without nap still can last till 9+pm. But generally in less pleasant mood. So now try to get her to nap by 1pm and wake her up at 2pm. But need to see if can get her to sleep by 10ish and wake up next am at 7 instead of 7.30am. Fat hope? :p

CG,
The dance classes look cool. Don't think my gal can go traditional ballet class yet..even if she turns 4. Am begin to wonder if I should just let her try modern dance in future. Well, or ballet when she is 5 and hopefully, more disciplined? Ballet gives me the impression of the need to "perfect" the art. Girl is likely to monkeying around. :p Brought her to see a teacher recently. She was more interested in creating her own moves and asked the teacher to follow her!

Elmo, Lin
ch can hardly say anything except papa mama apple and bubbles.. That's all.. But cy oso so I guess genes bah.. We are a reticent lot hahaha

Joyfulmom/Elmo
I'm looking at the Creative Dance.
Unfortunately they only have lessons on weekends.
I asked her many times if she wants to learn ballet, and her answer was always "No, I don't want"

Elmo/YY/Lin
Sha also walked at 16.5mths old, and she also talked at later stage.

Cheri
We will have dinner at 7pm. 8pm let her shower. 9pm, bedtime stories, by 930am or 10am she sleeps. Nate wakes up at 730am, he is our alarm clock :)
These are weekdays routine.
Weekends will be different, as all of us wake up late, sleep late

YY
CY is so sweet! He will definitely be a good big brother!

CY
S's speech is faster than K. Think generally boy is slower?

CG
Think I better not sign her up for any program now...sure kena from D :p

cg
N was like sha's timing 2-3 weeks ago. But recently, it doesn't work anymore. I'm letting her drop her nap so that she can sleep earlier at nite. But i've made a pact wif her that on those afternoons when she feels really tired, she should b honest & let me know so we can take a short nap tog hehehe

i'm hoping this will work. Just like the wearing of coats in winter hols overseas. Once she feels hot inside shops, eateries, etc, she'll refuse to wear her coat. We've given up on nagging or scolding her cos she'll just insist on removing them. she will now auto tell us & ask for her coat when she feels it's cold. I oso respect her wishes when she wants to remove the coat.

Cheri
They are behaving like a young adult.
One disadvantage is when they don't take their afternoon nap, then we can't take too :-(

Joyfulmom
Have you asked about Tumbletots at Tampines?
They might have something similar?

Elmo
Her phonics is a one year course. For Chinese enrichment program, it is going to be continuous lessons for her too. And swimming is another long term course. Hence creative dancing etc, will have to put it on hold. If not I will see myself being so busy to send and fetch her around.

<font color="ff6000">Just to share some methods I use</font>

1) When she whines
We tell her "You are whining, pls tell me nicely what you want to do".
This method helps her to calm down, and knowing that whining does not help her to get what she wants

2) When she is rude
We tell her "You are being rude, what is the correct way to say?" It encourages her to think, and she says "Please" and "Thank you"

3) When she don't listen
We just ignore her nonsenses and crying. After 10-20mins, she eventually stops.

The most important: All of us are using this method to teach her. And I'm glad Eve is also using this method.

This whole week, she has been very polite and seldom whines to get her own way.

In addition, earlier I created a "square" on the floor. Each time when she don't listen or misbehaves, then she have to stand there for 20mins. Tried twice, and she does understand the rule and reason why she has to be there. And when we are outside, I ask her to go to a corner to stand, and the louder she cries, the longer she have to stand. Hence she stops quickly, knowing others are watching her.

Speech
oh cos i tot girls generally faster... some more she got gor gor ard tot will pick up faster oso..
anyway not that im in any hurry ;)

Elmo
u gonna enrol K in cc? when he turns 18mths issit?
but isit gonna be accompanied prog? im oso contemplating finding a playgroup for kate when she turns 18mths next mth

Cheri, CG
u guys are v disciplined! make pact.. haa i dunno made how many w cay liao but he always failed to honour them one

Lin, Elmo
eh think in my family generally has gotta do with genes... Slow speech period. But good life I hope buahahaha

Lin
cy has been getting impossible to disciplined too.. I hate it when I shout at him coz I always get headache a
fter that.. But it's been nearly a daily affair now.. I know mothers who advocate no shouting but sorry to say haven't been able to do that

CG
S's chinese lesson is very good. Her speech has improved so much after 2 weeks...now hesitatinig if I should withdraw her from the class after this term...

Lin
Yes enrolling K in cc when he turns 18mths in April. It's not an accompanied program. I will just drop him off at 8am n pick him at 11am.

CY
Sure good life one lah
Just use finger to order people around kind of life

re chinese &amp; phonic lessons
r these extra lessons on top of their current curriculum? if so, why do they need them if there is oredi quality daily exposure in sch &amp; even more if we speak the lang wif them at home? i'm curious cos N's sch doesn't do any extra chinese or phonics lessons. They only hv jap, gym &amp; art, i think.

Cheri
Her daily 2hrs at PCF is mainly for her to socialise.
Each day, they have 45mins of lessons, the rest are playtime, snack time, music and art time.
We hope to help her to build interest and better foundation (better grammer, better vocabulary) in languages, and progress to good creative writings.

Elmo
Why withdraw her? Since she is enjoying Chinese lessons.

cg
45 mins only? will it increase substantially in the kindy years then? how to do 2 langs wif such lil time? i always thot pcf is famed for preparing the children well acad. if so, how do they do that wif so lil time focused on actual lessons?

Cheri,CG
Yes, the chinese lesson is on top of her 3hrs program.
I wanted to withdraw her from the lesson as it's abit too long hour for her. It's everyday lesson from 11.30am-1.30pm, which means she stays in school from 8am-1.30pm.

Elmo
No wonder you plan to withdraw her.
If Sha is in the half day program, G won't approve to let me enrol her to phonics and chinese enrichment lessons then.
Now she is still in daily 2hrs, and with school holiday, so he is ok with the plan.

elmo
ya, that's a real long time to stay in sch..almost like pri sch hours liao. Is the chinese enrichment conducted by their own centre teachers? if yes, then may not be essential at their age now.

one of my chief concerns abt starting enrichment for academic subjects so young is that when does it stop then? cos things will get tougher as they progress...in future will be tuition etc..nvr ending.

Cheri
True, things will get tougher as they progress.
Like my neighbour's daughter, Pri 4, she has to go to the tution centre, 4x per week.
As she is weak in Maths, Science and Chinese.
Each time she sees me, she always complains about it.
As tution centre gives her more homework to do.

CG,Cheri
I enrolled her cos most of her classmates also attending. Yes it is from the centre teachers. Now after just 2 weeks can really see the difference. She is able to speak well &amp; read the poems 'by heart'...

CG
Ya, she has really improved! In fact, heard from other mothers that their child also improved after a few lessons...not bad hor.

<font color="ff0000">MUMMIES
Chinese New Year is coming!</font>

<font color="ff6000">Shall we organise the CNY gathering (steamboat) on 16 Feb Tuesday, 5pm @ my house?</font>

1) CG and family
5)
6)
7)
8)

CY, ELmo
hehe wah like that i dun mind kate 3yo then talk... means guarantee good life

CY
yes i know wat u mean... how not to not shout when my blood vessels r bursting?!
sometimes shouting is for my own sanity

Elmo
wow thats great tat S enjoys chn lesson so much

cay finally has a chn tr... but i dun hv high hopes of him
can converse in simple mand i'll be v happy alr
i'm oso thinking of enrolling kate in playgrp but she's super duper koala... if unaccompanied sure cry for the first few weeks one

cheri
for a tr u're v cool
i tot most trs will sure wan their kids to be accademically prepared for pri sch

CG
hey thanks for the open hse

i let u know again ya

elmo
r the chinese teachers in S' sch all china natives? cos N's r &amp; i hv observed that all of them do teach v well, r v dramatic &amp; the kids love them. Wonder how r our local ch teachers r compared to them.

lin
maybe cos i'm a teacher, i understand how packed their schedules r going to be years later. Even for those who hv good foundation &amp; r doing well, there will b supplementary classes to go to. Even though these classes r optional for the above average kids, most parents would still opt in cos the rest of the classmates would be attending &amp; would get extra/additional exposure.

Cheri
Oh dear! U mean those students who already hv good foundation &amp; r doing well, there will b supplementary classes to go to? Sounds stressful!

Lin
hahaha ya then Kate will be good life ler :p
I won't say S really enjoying her chinese lesson. She has been fussing over staying too long...but she does enjoying reading out the chinese poems n singing new chinese songs to us everyday :p

Cheri
Not all of them are china natives. Her previous one n present one are both local. Only one of them from chinese lesson is.

cg
of course. Cos there's always room for more improvement ;) schs &amp; parents alike will hope to 'maximise their potential' hehe

i rem the parents of the better students used to be sensitive abt the usage of the word 'remedial classes' when we write them wrongly in the consent form. They insisted it should be 'supplementary' sigh...

MUMMIES
Chinese New Year is coming!

Shall we organise the CNY gathering (steamboat) on 16 Feb Tuesday, 5pm @ my house?

1) CG and family
2) elmo &amp; family
5)
6)
7)
8)

jts
yesterday, N's swim teacher did sthg new wif them during the class...it happened so quick that i did not hv the time to snap any pic. But it was pretty amazing to me.

She got the kids to lie in the water on their backs, wif arms &amp; legs all open like a 'starfish pose'. The parents r supposed to just support them a lil behind their backs to keep them afloat. Kids were told to close their mouths &amp; just relax...J decided to let go of N after a while. She was just floating there on her own, for at least 10 secs! it was amazing to watch,esp for a non-swimmer like me!

MUMMIES
Chinese New Year is coming!

Shall we organise the CNY gathering (steamboat) on 16 Feb Tuesday, 5pm @ my house?

1) CG and family
2) elmo &amp; family
3) cherisw &amp; family
5)
6)
7)

cheri
S is doing that also...I was very amazed as she was able to float there all by herself for at least a minute. When the instructor let go of her, she was calm n relax...and he actually turned n talked to other kids!!! My heart almost stopped n was prepared to jump in anytime! But he was so confident as he turned back n gave me a firm look!