5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

valc,
as for cereal in bottle, better dont use avent as is not suitable, the hole size doesnt increases, only # of holes increase. i stop using all avent teats oreid, change to pigeon, and cut the hole size when put in cereal....
how much milk & solids is ash taking per day?

Jace photos: taken in Dec when she's @ 9mths old

1204121.jpg
1204122.jpg

cutie jace,
my boy is 13mo. yes, i've tried all kinds of food,smtimes lunch and dinner oso diff style/foods. i even tried serving him finger food..carbo,protein,veg all serve separately in those partition plates..but after afew mouthful feeding himself by hands,he will start playing with the food.

now my maid follow PD's advice and put abit seasoning and gv him soft rice instead of porr. i oso told her not to mash and mix it all up..can see small improvement,but still is miss and go situation.

msworri,
wat is roseola??? hope she recovers soon.

cutieface
my girl is not taking any semi solids except little mouthfuls. after the 1st few spoons she wun want anymore. she takes about 750mls of milk daily. your daughter looks a v good size!

valc,
ashley looks good size as well le....how old is she now, think 750ml milk too much, may b she too full, did u try to distract her while eating?
for jace, she ll not sit on her highchair when eating, need to play play lo....

sungrapes,
ya,think u shd give him soft rice with soup? u try pasta before? i realise jace oso like to eat rice, i feed her some when i have my dinner & she love it!

cutieface
oh yes, i do everything short of doing headstands. sing lah, play music, with tv, sit her upright to feed, lie her down.

sungrapes,
Roseola is also known as "false measles". BB will have high fever for a couple of days, followed by rashes.

My gal is almost to recovery...can see her appettite coming back a bit...but still need to coax to eat.

hi all, just a little update on anthea's routine check with the gastro spec today. she is 6.5 kg at 11mth, ht 69cm. 500g increment within 2mths, so i am happy. but doc said her low wt gain has affected her ht gain and her gross motor skill devt. sigh.. doc advised me to give anthea 100% pediasure, no more 50% with similac.. oh well..

how yr babies?? long time no hear from all of u..

hi edde!
so nice to hear of anthea's weight gain. she's almost 1 yr anyways. so the pediasure is appropriate for her. does it have alot of bubbles? my son's taking half pediasure half gain iq and got lots of foam. i think when ashley is 1 yr i will give all pediasure also. but do you know wat is it's nutritional content comapared with other types of FM? eg dha aha and all that stuff?

ashley is harder to feed milk these days now that she's older cos it's harder for her to fall asleep. so she struggles alot and cry and scream sometimes. frustrates the hell out of me. but she seems to be taking slightly more solids eg she likes pear scraped and in a jar. but still little compared with other bbies her age.

how is anthea taking to solids?

hi valc!

anthea is taking rice now... but she has been eating lesser too.. she spit out her food if she doesnt want it anymore so its impossible to even force feed her.

i din compare the nutritional content leh... but i have been using warm water to make milk instead of cool water as instructed for pediasure. dunno why must use cool water. isnt gain IQ for 1yr and above also?

how's ashley's wt now? amazing she can still put on gd wt despite her small appetite!

edde
wow! eating rice? when i give ashley cereal she still gags and chokes and spits up sometimes.

yes gain iq is for 1yr an up too. jared my son's taking it. ashley's taking enfapro A+. the last time i weighed her she's at 8.8kg. she shld be at least 9kg now? she's due for a weight check. we are not so fanatic abt weighing her now. actually i cheat by adding an extra scoop of FM into her milk. i hope it's alright. i stopped the nutricomp alraedy. how bt you?

valc, we stopped nutricomp few mths back, coz doc said since she is on solids, then no need for that liao.

anyway, abbott just called me. i asked her abt the nutrition content. she said pediasure has no DHA, AHA thingy added directly like other FM but the linoleic acid in it will help to generate. so its the same.

edde,
my gal's ht is not far away from anthea..only 71cm @11mth. Don't understand y your doc say anthea's wt affect her ht. is it because u and ur hubby are v tall?

hi mummies.... my bb is 5mths now & starts to refuse milk since 3mths+.. am been really vexed & this issue is getting progressively worst! he seems happier NOT to drink any drop of milk! *exasperated*

joining this thread to seek support...

sighz....

msworri, doc said coz anthea is severely underwt, dats why her legs are not strong enuf to crawl on fours and start to cruise or learn walking. but she also mentioned that babies will only walk ard 12-14mths old, so no need to hurry her.

my hubby and i are not tall at all. i am 1.6 and hubby is 16X. but according to the percentile chart, her ht is crossing the line. maybe dats why. she is bornt 51cm, by rite now she shld be taller.

charsiew, hv u visited any spec? try reading our archive, we hv seek many advice from many sources. maybe u can try?

edde,
since anthea is taking porr, maybe u can try her on frog's legs porr...heard is good for strengthening babies legs and maybe use Si Sen herbs to boil soup to increase her appettite.

edde,
anthea still willing to try harder solids... for my gal, gave her some bread she'll start gagging...give her coarser porr she also gags...everything must mash...sigh.

edde
yes, at her age it's not possible to force feed anymore. or sleepfeed. she's not that easy to trick anymore. after 40mls she will like scream and fight if i try to force it on her. damn hard now. i use tricks like tv(she likes elmo) musical toys, lights, my hp ringtone to distract her. it used to work, but now Ha! i feel like killing her sometimes. so bad. it seems like i spend my whole life feeding her. that's all i ever do. try and try and try. sometimes so angry.

msworri
my girl also gag when i give her solids. till now she still does. other bbies in april thread which i belong are eating cheerios! but at 10mths she's better altho still qt a struggle. argh!

Valc,
There are times when I tried to ignore the gags...but most of the time I gave up, not because I fear she'll choke, but because I fear she'll throw out whatever that I took so much effort to stuff into her stomach!! Sigh... maybe I should try out harder solids in between meals....

edde, wat's anthea weight now? tot her milk intake has increase after u try pediasure? btw,pediasure is for > 1 yr, how come u oredi started anthea on tat?

Valc, so ashley wt 8.8kg @ 10 mths? tat's good wt. btw, wat do u mean by adding extra scoop of FM into her milk?
For Jace, she has not been drinking milk from her bottle since 1 mths ago, me oso very worried, so, i add milk to her cereal, oats, mash potato etc to increase her milk intake, may b u can try tat too? The heinz "muesli & apple" very good to add milk...

msworri yes i have heard of that but not yet try. now i add pig ligament in her stock, heard it has the same effect!

valc, dun kill yr baby! haha! ashley has her own agenda heehee...

cutie, anthea is 6.5kg now. she has pediasure + similar since mths ago. my PD and gastro spec advised us to do so. they said ok wor. she drinks more than before now but still not as much as average kids lah... but i dunno if this has anything to do with pediasure tho its kinda sweet coz vanilla flavour.

hey mummies, got this mailer from wyeth

public forum on "prevention of pneumococcal disease in children" @ meritus mandarin (orchard)

8 mar 1pm to 5pm eng or chinese session $10/adult with free goodie bag, interested call katherine or shoo fern at 67337666

and mummies who are interested in trying out pediasure, you can call abbott for a free 400g sample tin. abbott even sent me a pediasure complete recipe booklet which comprises a few nice dessert recipes for children! amd a $2 off voucher for pediasure. can look for elsie.

u can try gvg ur bbs finger foods for snacks to let them practise chewing and getting used to harder foods.

i gv my boy cheese cubes,crackers,cheerios etc. he might not actually swallow them,but its gd for him to get used to the harder textures. it takes a while for him to adapt,but now he's able to eat soft rice.

my frend's 6mo bb used to take similac,enfalac and he dun like it. she chg the FM to NAN and says her bb likes his milk now. the same thg happened to me last time. so my conclusion may be tat similac/enfalac is too 'gao', too full of added goodness,makes it hard to drink.

comments on whether it is too early to teach a 1 yr old toddler about proper behaviour and whether it is too young for them to receive physical punishment?

my bb still pushes away every spoon of porriage and it is still a war and power struggle every meal. I'm really v tired already. How can I make my child eat willingly without other temptations and distractions (such as toys, TV, etc) needed? I also tried letting her participate in feeding herself., but it didn't work. Will skipping the meal totally do the trick? Are they too young to understand the rationale behind skipped meals? Sigh.....

msworri,
wen my boy does thgs he shouldnt do,we will juz say "NO" in a very deep tone. he understands wat is no actually cos i always telling him no means cannot do. but of course, he will always try his luck. he noes sign language so it helps wen i sign to him,thgs like "dirty". smtimes oso will gv slight slap on his palms, esp wen he wans to touch the sockets or dangerous thgs ard the hse..so much so tat he will offer his hands to me wen i scold him! cos he expect his 'punishment'. but bbs this age will sure act up cos they dun quite understand y mummy and daddy dun allow them to play with certain thgs. they r easily distracted, so juz distract them with a toy or smthg.

i read tat they throw tantrums to get attention most times. so if its a behaviour u dun wanna encourage, then u shd juz ignore them. wen they realise they cant get to u by acting up , then they wun do it all the time.

abt feeding struggle, r u gvg him too much milk/snacks b4 his proper meal?u try skipping his afternoon milk, gvg some fruits or pc of cheese instead. my boy oso like tat, gv 2 much milk then dinner dun wanna eat,spit all out. after 30mins, i will stop completely. no pt forcing him to eat,make me fed up oso.

sungrapes,
dont know whether my gal understands no or not... she'll stop a while, look at me and give me that cheeky face, then continue doing what I didn't want her to do...most of the time, I've to remove her from the scene to stop her....haiz.... there are times she'll struggle and yell and kick her legs when I tried to hold her tight or carry her away from the scene...behave just like a spoilt brad.
my colleague told me to "spank" or use cane...but I wonder its effectiveness...

Wow...ur son so obedient...will even let u "punish" him...hahaha

dinner was 3 hrs after her afternoon milk...thought they suppose to be hungry right? actually, how many meals do they need by now? We fed her at an interval of 3 hrs...2 meals of porr, 2 bottles of milk+cereal in the day...too much? I tried giving bread, she'll take only a bit (less than 1/4 pc)...then I scared not nutritious, so give milk again...

msworri,
kids will always wan2 test their boundaries..tatz y discipline muz b consistent..can b very tiring. My boy will oso throw tantrums,smtimes will squat or lie on the flr,refuse to move or stand up. i juz pick him up,let him cry lor..after awhile he will stop cos he noe no point crying since he still wun get his way. the best way is not to gv him any attention like coaxing or cajoling him. juz gv him silent treatment while remving him frm the scene,wait till he stop crying, then explain to him in soothing voice. he may not understand wat u say,but he noes the tone of voice is different.

i ever witness in public how this daddy discipline his son.His son pushed tis little girl...so his dad told him off,ask him to apologise to the girl,n he started crying real loud. the dad then brought him to this corner of the mall and made him stand there till he decide to stop crying. then the dad went back to his table continue eating his ya kun roti and drink his kopi,all the while he juz ignore his son's crying, tho he still has him in his sight. after like juz 2mins, his son juz stop lor..the dad then went n collect his son back n evthg went back to normal..quite cool,like Supernanny leh!

MEALS
my boy oso take 2meals aday,lunch and dinner. morning smtimes he wakes up late, i will gv milk. if early then i gv cereal mix with milk and fruits.i feed b4 8.30am latest cos lunch is 12pm. then afternoon if i wanna gv milk,itz b4 3pm,n i gv only 4-5oz. if he nap til after 3pm,then i gv water,no milk. smtimes afternoon instead of milk, i gv him a pc of cheese or snacks like cheerios,fruits..then he will have early din at abt 5pm.else his normal din time is ard 6pm.

maybe u can feed her at 3.5hrs interval? or reduce the amt of milk per feed? or u try skip 1 milk feed for a day and c if she's hungry for solids..if she is, then u r probably gvg 2 much milk loh.

i oso like u, scared not enuf nutrients,then always wanna gv milk. but after afew times of tortous feeding,i told myself muz cut down milk else i go crazy feeding him his solids.

sungrapes,
Disciplining kids in public is a challenge to me indeed! Becos I tend to be more cautious of how pple sees me.....last time before married, whenever I sees how some parents scream/drag/pull @ their kids, I couldn't understand y these parents treat their kids in such harsh manner and kept reminding myself not to b like tat next time....but now seeing my bad tempered bb, it seems v difficult not to "join" in these group of "bad parents"!

based on wat u give for ur boy, think I perhaps gave my gal too much milk in between (every feed is abt 6-7oz). :p

msworri, sungrapes,

how old are your babies? so, how much milk do u give per day in total?

I am afraid my bb, 1 yr old does not have sufficient milk cos i m spoon feeding her milk now, she just refuse to drink from the bottle since 2 mths ago(i suspect is teething as her front tooth just erupted recently).any of you experience that?

hello hello! hows everyone
guess all the babies are grown up and healthy!

my boy again dun wan milk. each day only take 2times milk - 6-7oz each.. midnite feed and early wee morning feed. so bobian, in between i give cheeses, cakes, bread, biscuits, cornflakes and whats not. i guess sungrapes is right. they are already on solids. no pt forcing them to eat and drink, eat and drink. heres my son's meals :

6am - milk 6-7Oz

9am - bread with cheesespread + cheese or cake + cheese or cornflakes milk + cheese or chwee kueh + cheese or biscuits+cheese+raisins. sometimes he even eat kueh teow out from my hubby's plate (but i wash it with plain water so that it wont be too saltish)

12+ pm - 1 chinese bowl porridge with meat, fish and 2 vege

3+/4 pm- cheesespread bread/biscuits + 60mlyoghurt

6+pm - 3/4bowl porridge or cereal (so cereal have at least 6Oz milk!)

7+ - 3-4 tablespoons rice with us (and he eats whatever we have on our plate tog with us. here he will feed himself.

12am - milk 6oz

so my boy actually only drink about 400ml-600ml milk in a day. (600 only when evening time take cereal with milk instead of porr)

cutie face - think of ways to sneak in milk lor. milk with cereal for dinner sometimes, milk with cornflakes for breakfast. thats as much i can think of

clarrisa,
what brand and type of cheese can be given to 1 yr old? I didn't dare to give cheese to my gal.

my gal takes cornflakes and biscuits, but only less than 10 pcs(for cornflakes) and 2 pcs (biscuits). Your boy can finish the whole packet (small box quantitiy)? Do you serve cornflakes into the milk or serve separately? and I suppose the milk cannot be warm right, else the cornflakes will not be crispy?

hi jace,
my bb boy is 15mo. After 1yo, their food shd be largely solids. milk is supplement,minimum intake abt 12oz or 360mls per day.

juz let them eat watever they wan,watching out for sugar/salt.

my boy have cereal with milk 5oz for bfast, afternoon milk 4-5oz, 6oz b4 bed. smtimes, midnite will drink 5oz. im trying to cut down on his milk so he will have mre appetite for his solids.

cutie,
my gal is 14mths. Average ard 700ml of milk a day.

Spoon feed milk is very tedious and will take a long time, bb may not have the patience. Maybe you can try introducing straws to her? Those times when my gal refuse to take bottle, i offered her to use straw, though she will only finish 1/2 the milk, but at least better than not drinking at all.

if not, then u gotta try cheese and yogurt like the other mummies in this thread do....though I've not tried that yet.

hi sungrapes,

my boy also refuse to drink when he was 3 to 4 mth. now he is 6mth now and yest i took him to PD for his injection and weight dosen't increase only 300g from 4 to 5 mth. can u sms me ur PD contact no? i intend to bring him to c ur PD for 2nd opinion. my no is 97490782. tks

mary,
juz to share smthg with u. my bb last time drink enfalac,similac. he dun like it till i chg to NAN. then he loves to drink finally. my frend oso had the same problem till i told her abt NAN. she chg the FM and her boy likes it 2.

maybe u try chg FM??

working mummies with maids,
can u pls share how ur schedule is like during ur days off and after work? how hands on r u with ur bbs? wat aspects of bb care do u let ur maid handle?

my collegue say there r certain thgs shd let maid do, like putting the bb to sleep. but i feel with the amt of time im away frm work,wen im off, i shd take over as much as i can.

i do evthg except cooking. i feed,bath,play with him,bring him out to beach, playgrd daily subject to weather. i oso do marketing.smtimes, feel like i got no life. but if i try to relax,i feel guilty for not doing thgs for him.

is it my own time management not gd or wat? pls do share so i can get an idea of wat is 'normal'. m i doing too much or too little?

ms worri - i give babybel, cheddar, emmental.. heard my PD says theres hi calcium cheese. dunno what that is though. i started giving cheese since 8-9mths old.

sungrapes, i am doing what you are doing. as long as I have time, i will spend them with my boy. cooking, cleaning, washing i leave it to the maid. marketing, i do it together with maid and my son. i feel tired too. so i pass down some tasks to my hubby! like bathing, rough playing, swimming. during which, i take a break. hopefully when your hubby does the tasks, you wont feel as guilty? i think its recommended. at least father has a part to do in parenting too.

clarrisa, thks for sharing. the thg abt my hb is tat he's not very hands on with our boy. till now he hasnt even bath for him once,same for feeding.. changing diapers even monkeys can do. wen i ask hb to play with our boy, he will juz sit there in silence watch bb play without any vocal encouragement or participation..after 5mins he end up reading the papers, leave my poor boy there playing by himself. i smtimes worry abt their bonding part. Aiya! talk abt this make me very frustrated,esp wen i see other daddies havg so much fun being involve in their child's play. i ask my hb accompany bb to the gym class is like asking him to die like tat. and i pointed out y other daddies so keen but u like kena torture?? breaks my heart, u noe.

clarrisa, sungrapes,
How are you able to add so much milk into the cereal? wat brand of cereal do u use?
I am only able to add max 3oz of milk into my ger's cereal, if add too much milk, then is very watery, no more porriage-like texture.

clarrisa, sungrapes,
How are you able to add so much milk into the cereal? wat brand of cereal do u use?
I am only able to add max 3oz of milk into my ger's cereal, if add too much milk, then is very watery, no more porriage-like texture.

sungrapes
sorry for not responding earlier. i guess you feel this way now becos you are still adjusting to the change in routine. wat i do for my son when he was the only one was almost everything. i wash bottle, cook for him, bathe him, feed him, and play with him. i had absolutely no time to do anything else, even go to the toilet to pee. so my case is really the extreme end.

but now i let the maid cook, wash bottle, bathe him, sometimes feed him and play with him even. i've delegated alot of duties to her now so that it gives me more me time.

i guess it's a matter of balance of how much time you want to yourself and how much time you want to spend with your kid. only you will know where is that balance.

how's work? i'm going frisco in may. there on 19. any chance you on the flt?

cutie jace,
i use heinz brand and make according to the instructions. 1 full serving is 5tbsp with 4oz of milk. smtimes i add in fruits puree as well. the consistency is ok leh. i guess it depends on how much cereal u use. anythg less then 5tbsp with same amt of milk 4oz will be 2 watery.

valc,
but u got 2. i only got 1,so smtimes i cant justify letting the maid do evthg,feel quite guilty y others can do it but i cant. i have this mindset tat since i gv birth to him, then i gotta b the one to take care of him. u noe some mummies say they let their maid do only hsework, bb they will look after themselves. wonder abt how they can manage. my home very small, not much chores to do, cant ask the maid to clean windows evday rite?smtimes, gotta rack my head find thgs for her to do. she oso quite gd life,by 9pm can relax in her rm liao.

work? same shit,different day.

im gg to frisco via seoul dep 30apr-7may. miss u by abit. sure go factory outlet and shop rite?? i did the moscow/houston last mth.spent like 1k there buy clothes for my boy. i gotta sit on my cargo bag to close it!

thks for sharing ur views.gd to have some support here.

enjoy ur trip.

actually i dun spend as much time with the kids(2 together) as i did with my son(1 of him). now i spend alot more time on the computer. hahaha

i think your maid shld help to bathe, feed, cook, wash, change diaper for your son. you can do all the playing with him
that is if you like lah it's really up to you or how much time you have or would like for yourself. now that you are working you'll need to recuperate from work also. some mummies also let the maid do all the baby minding like feeding, bathing and even playing with him/her. so dun feel bad if you do. jus make sure that watever time you spend with him is quality.

wow! houston moscow. lucky you. i dunno where is the factory outlet in SF leh. do you? but i've done too much online shopping with shipping to the hotel. my hb is going to freak out big time. i'm right now into craft and ordered alot of supplies. i heard there's this ribs plc house of prime rib that you jus cannot go to SF without having it. and there's a sushi plc sushi mambo that is supp to be v good.