Anastasia: Hi hi! May I know how do u have ur #1 & #2 so quickly when u have PCOS? Did u take any drugs or conceived naturally? I have mild PCO and have been ttcing for the past 10 mths

Btw, Clomifene or clomiphene (trademarked as Clomid) has become the most widely prescribed of all fertility drugs. It is used in the form of its citrate to induce ovulation.

It is used mainly in female infertility, in turn mainly as ovulation induction to reverse oligoovulation or anovulation such as in infertility in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), as well as being used for ovarian hyperstimulation, such as part of an in vitro fertilization procedure.

I will b doing my follicle tracking tmr. I wonder if doc will issue mc for e appt? Can anybody advise?

TTCing>> Seriously, I do not know. I can only say that I'm very lucky and blessed! Actually, I had PCOS all along, just that my gynae only revealed this to me recently! But she said my case is mild, so as long as I don't put on too much weight, should be ok. For both my #1 and #2, I conceived naturally. Both conceived only after 2 cycles. For #1, I only monitored EWCM. For #2, I monitored EWCM and tracked OPKs. But cos my cycles are long, I will calculate my fertile period using my shortest and longest cycles and will BD alternate days, on the day of +ve OPK and the day after. So my BD period is really quite long, so as not to miss out any chance!

I read that OPKs cannot be used by some women with PCOS cos it will give false positives (i.e. several positives throughout the cycle). But for me, I only get +ve once a cycle and it's also around the time that I get EWCM. So I know that OPKs work for me.

Anastasia, you are indeed lucky

I believe it's just a matter of timing and "luck" to see you strike or not.

At one time I got polyps when I did my regular check. My gynae kept reassuring me that the polyps will not hinder chances of conception, and I wasn't really trying then. Some months later, when I saw the gynae, polyps gone till today. My gynae kept reassuring me I'm OK and healthy "down there". Just that prolly my mounting stress levels are thinning my very chances of conception.. so gotta kerb that

Avis: Most private clinics should be able to issue u with a MC even for follicle scans but again,it depends on your gynae. Better check with ur clinic first.

Anastasia: For my case, it is mild too and I m slim (of normal weight, BMI : 18) and I have my AFs every month, but I do not know why it is so difficult for me to conceive. I think it is also the stress of seeing most of my frds expecting babies so easily and fast after marriage.

I dun use OPKs for now as I am currently seeing a new gynae for follicle scans and jabs.

How long have u been ttcing for your #3?

Hi all, new to the forum and this thread. Unfamiliar with most of the acronyms used, and pretty much clueless. Looking for folks in similar situations to walk the journey together; I've been married for nearly 7 years and have been seeing a gynae for fertility issues. Gynae says I'm having ovulation problems, and it has been a few months since I've been going to him.

I am back to CD1. My AF is just came today (3 Dec). Having bad cramps and feeling frustrated again for another failed cycle. haiz... T_T

Shery>> Yes, I agree that often, whether we manage to conceive is a matter of luck. We can be doing the exact same things cycle after cycle, but we only strike in one particular cycle.

TTCing>> You are definitely skinnier than me! My BMI is 22, it's always been like that cos I always lose all of the pregnancy weight from breast feeding.

Do you know whether you ovulate each cycle? Cos having AF each cycle does not necessarily mean that you ovulated.

And yes, I agree that stress plays a huge part in being able to conceive. A couple of my frens were stressed over work and couldn't conceive. But once their job peak period is over, they will conceive.

Actually, I just started trying for #3. This cycle is my first cycle. I'm going to see my gynae soon for her to check if everything is ok. I know she will probably say yes, cos I have track record from the last 2 pregnancies. But I'm quite concerned over the late O from last cycle, and the most likely no O for this cycle. Chances are, she will say nothing to worry about since my cycles have always been long, but I think I need reassurance from her, rather than reading up so much on the Internet and scaring myself unnecessarily.

pinjie, did u go and see TCM? Mabbe they can help strengthen your body?

I'm just waiting for AF to come either tomorrow or the next day. I could feel a twinge on my right liaos.

I am new to this thread too. Am glad there's someone like me who is learning about all the acronyms in this thread and most importantly, pple who are TTC. I have been TTCing for 1.5 years. It is getting more disappointing everytime AF arrives. I hope this cycle is the ONE!

Wordsmith and Deeply Loved>> Welcome!

Don't worry about the acronyms, you will learn as you go along. Hopefully your TTC journey will be short and you get your BFP soon.

For a start:

CD - cycle day
O - ovulate
DPO - days past ovulation
AF - auntie flow aka menses / period
BFP - big fat positive (ie positive on home pregnancy test kit)
BFN - big fat negative (ie negative on home pregnancy test kit)
HPT - home pregnancy test
OPK - ovulation prediction kit
BD - baby dance (ie sexual intercourse)

Really think my af something wrong. 1st 2 days got flow but half of usual. The 3rd day nothing whole day until night. 4th day got clots. Think the tcm messed up my cycle!
And I am still having bad backache. ..

Anyone experienced this b4?

I think i'm out for the month. I have been checking BBT for the last few days, and there is a plunge down for this morning...

AF is making its way, as scheduled...

Reiko,
I had that i think 2 cycles ago. I was somewhat spotting during 1st day, 2nd day AF flow. 3rd day nothing. 4th day it's back. 5th day completed. Usually it takes 8 days to complete. But I don't use TCM...

Thanks Anastasia for the warm welcome, and for taking the effort to explain what the acronym means.

Hi Deeply Loved, jia you!

To all, I've been thinking of turning to TCM to seek alternative remedies for my ovulation problems. Clomid seems to have messed up my hormones (I now have three medium-sized ovarian cysts instead of just one) and my gynae has issued one round of oral contraceptives to 'reset' my system, before resuming clomid.

Any advice on TCM or does anyone have similar problems that I'm facing?

ReikoHopes: According to gynae, through ultrasound scans. I don't exactly know what it means. Suppose my gynae dumbed it down for me. Hoping the cysts will go away, as I have cysts in both ovaries, and that's not good news, for cysts affects growth of eggs and in turn affects fertility.

Those who have been seeking TCM help, who do you go to? What's the average cost like? I'm thinking of going to Eu Yang Sang @ Paragon (they have two fertility specialists there), but I'm guessing it will cost a bomb.

Hi there! Welcome to all new joiners to this forum

Do provide me with all your details eg last AF, O day(optional),CD/DPO & Avg cycle length if you wanna be updated in this table ok?

Jia you everybody! ^^

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Updated on 04 Dec 2012 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>last AF</TD><TD>O day</TD><TD>CD/DPO</TD><TD>Avg cycle length</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Anastasia</TD><TD>09-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD26</TD><TD>30 to 40</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>alice</TD><TD>05-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD30</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Annie Chan</TD><TD>30-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD5</TD><TD>28 to 30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>bbz_rainbowz</TD><TD>11-Nov</TD><TD>28-Nov</TD><TD>CD24</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>energeticsnake</TD><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD50</TD><TD>25 to 26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>faith</TD><TD>30-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD5</TD><TD>26 to 34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>GBOB</TD><TD>28-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD7</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>jas</TD><TD>13-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD22</TD><TD>34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>jhw</TD><TD>08-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD27</TD><TD>34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>joce</TD><TD>30-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD5</TD><TD>33 to 34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>JV</TD><TD>03-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD31</TD><TD>43</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>May-25</TD><TD>13-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD22</TD><TD>32 to 35 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>maomi</TD><TD>01-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD4</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>min81</TD><TD>09-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD26</TD><TD>31 to 34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>pinjie</TD><TD>03-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD2</TD><TD>33 to 37</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>reikohopes</TD><TD>30-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD5</TD><TD>28 to 30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>shery</TD><TD>08-Nov</TD><TD>22-Nov</TD><TD>CD27</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>shiying41</TD><TD>10-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD25</TD><TD>30 to 34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>TTCing</TD><TD>13-Nov</TD><TD>28-Nov</TD><TD>CD22</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>09-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD26</TD><TD>32 to 34</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>babykk</TD><TD>08-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>30 to 35</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>berries</TD><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>28 to 30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>happy-mrs</TD><TD>24-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>love16</TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>31 to 33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>shan</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>33 to 35</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>shirley</TD><TD>03-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>24 to 29</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

wordsmith: Nope... it is the first day of your last menses, eg if your last menses started on 1st Nov, that is will considered as ur last AF or LMP (Last Menstrual Period).

Ok, i need TCM contacts. I stay in Woodlands. Any good TCM to recommend? Hopefully someone who can speak English...

Hi there, I am also new.. really impressed by the knowledge and all the terms you use! I try to conceive already almost 2 years (1Y10mths) and still nothing.. Thinking about IVF in the beginning of next year... Do you have any recommendations for doctors or clinics? Currently I see a doctor at Thompson Medical Centre...

Good news for myself! Detected a positive OPK this morning and just before lunch!
So looks like this cycle I will ovulate late again! Today is CD26. Not fantastic news since late O can affect implantation, but better than no O rite? Haha, I'm trying to be positive

Wordsmith>> Not sure about vitamin B3 and calcium. But the TTC thread that I was on previously for #2 had some super knowlegeable and experienced mummies. They said that ladies with PCOS should NOT take royal jelly and nuts. And if your cycles are already long, do NOT tak evening primrose oil. Hmmm, when I got time, I will check back that thread's history to see what knowledge was imparted back then. Oh and they also said that Blackmore Conceive Well was good for all ladies TTC. Coincidentally, I tried Conceivewell that cycle and I actually conceived my #2! I'm not sure whether it's really due to CW, since I didn't finish one box and got pregnant, but no harm giving it a try if you don't mind the cost. Regular price is $46 per box which lasts for 28 days only. Now watsons got 20% promotion

As for TCM, one of my frens who TTC for 2 years finally conceived after trying TCM for 4 mths. She and her hubbie went to the TCM at Chinatown / NTU. For those of you who are keen to try this TCM, please PM me yah? I don't have the details yet, but should be able to get from my fren.

Anna>> Welcome
For IVF, I heard that Dr SF Loh is good. He used to be at KKH and now I think he is at TMC already.

Shery,
u can try my tcm dr su from bukit batok if u ok with the location... she is said to help many couples conceived successfully after years of trying... u may want to check her reviews via google first before trying

Anastasia: congrats on testing positive O, u use cheap opk or cb digital smiley face? do you normally O this late? How long is your cycle?

Did u take any drugs or what or you O naturally?

Strawberries>> I'm using the clearblue smiley face type of OPKs. The ones selling in SG are super expensive, I think around $75 for 7 sticks? So I buy mine from Amazon. Only USD 35 for 20 sticks. Even with shipping costs, it's alot cheaper.

The thing is, I've not had much experience in tracking when I ovulate. For #1, I only monitored EWCM so I actually don't know when I ovulate. For #2, I only used OPK for one cycle and I conceived in that cycle. For #3, I only started using OPK from last cycle (during which I Oed on CD23). But since my cycles are typically long (between 30 to 40 days, and sometimes even 45 days), I guess I usually O late.

I didn't take any drugs, so Oed naturally.

shery

I speak mandarin with her because she is a taiwanese.
But she can understand and can speak english well.
she knows all the gynaeological terms very well too.

Anastasia: Happy for you! I use the smiley face OPKs too, but I never tested positive. Always have to go to gynae to get a HCG jab...

Anna: Welcome! Which gynae do you go to at TMC? I'm at TMC too, seeing Dr Cheng LC.

Hello ladies.. i'm new here, and TTC-ing as well!
still 3 days away to my AF but being a kiasu singaporean.. i did a test last night using clearblue +/- test kit at around 730-8PM, was negative at first glance, but after 5-10mins, a very very very VERY thin faint positive line appear on the kit, not really convinced, did a 2nd try and turned out negative.... so i'm not sure if i'm preg or not preg =X

i've also attached the result.
7846427.jpg

winkle: wow! test again later?

anastasia: yes, it's supposed to simulate/induce ovulation. in my case, it's supposed to tell my body to release the eggs, since my body doesn't seem to be able to do it on its own.

winkle>> CONGRATS! This is DEFINITELY a positive HPT! I had this when I tested for #1 and #2 days before AF was due. Grab baby dust from you! Haha!

wrinkle, why dont u test again tmr using first urine? tot to test for pregnancy, best is use first urine has it has the highest surge?

good luck &amp; keep us posted!!

winkle>> I just read that you saw the +ve about 5 to 10 min later. You should do another test again, but this time, make sure that you do not have excessive fluid intake before that. Best to test using first morning urine. But I think you should be preggie, if not, your first test wont show the +ve within the 10min. The second test was probably -ve cos your urine was too diluted -- now it's early stages of pregnancy so you need more concentrated urine to see a +ve clearly.

Thanks ladies! i realy do hope this is a real BFP!!! but do not want to get my hopes high first...

May25: i did the 2nd test using first urine this morning and it was negative
.. so very confused now =x!

hmmm confusing and frustrating esp all of us are praying to hit the jackpot.

why dont u visit a GP...or test again tmr.

yaya.. very frustrating with the wait... but still have to wait.. no choice

will try again tomorrow or on Thursday and hoping AF will not come!!!!

winkle, mabbe ur next urine was too close with ur first and ur HCG level was not accumulated enough for your 2nd urine that's why it's negative. Plus ur HCG levels may be really low at this stage since ur AF is a couple of days away.

Anyway, a positive is a positive

Hi Anastasia, happi to hear tt! So tonite must bd!
I read abt PCOS.. N suspect I have it.. I have been trying for #2 coming 2yrs soon and yr 2011 I had 2MCs.. Til now no luck as I havin irregular cycle like 60days like tt.. This cycle is my 2nd try of clomid.. Went for follicle check on cd12 and cd16 with 1mature follicle which measured 20mm.. Not sure this cycle I'm ovulating or not.. Since yesterday my temp dropped so I'm feeling abit dishearted.. Need some advise..

Just went dwn to watson and there's no disc for the conceive well pills..

Hi Wordsmith! I am at Dr. TC Cheng =) He seems to be very professional but always overbooked... Thinking if it is a good idea to do the IVF there... Did you try it? Or you would try to consieve naturally?

Winkle>> I read the instructions of the HPT that I have at home, same type as yours. It says that you should disregard the results after 10min. If you kept to the 10min window, should be a genuine BFP. If you can tahan the wait, test 2 or 3 days later. The HCG levels would have increased a lot by then, the plus sign should be very clear.

Just to share with you, when I tested positive for pregnancy for my #2, I was 12DPO. AF was about 2-4 days away. I tested in the late afternoon and the plus sign looked the same as yours. When I tested with first morning urine the next day, it was a clear cut positive.