(2015/11) Nov 2015 Mummies

Better consult your mil whether she can help u during your confinement period.
You also need to know whether your mil will meet your request during your confinement period.
Wish child. I think if food wise I can cater from those confinement food catering. But I afraid of having shower no body take care of the baby.. but anyway it's still too early to say anything. Just wanna make sure everything ok for the baby first. Quite paranoid and worried...

Most likely I will get a confinement lady if financial its ok. =P
I will asked my friends to recommend confinement lady. But mostly they went to confinement nanny agency.
If u not happy with the confinement lady at least u can change. U no need to source for another confinement lady during your confinement period.
My mil and mom wont be able to help me. And also I doesn't agreed with their confinement laws during my #1.
Haha~ I feel like I'm a caveman during my confinement period. Furthermore I breastfeed and couldn't shower its really driving me crazy.
I need confinement lady allow me to wash up myself and help me to handle bb if bb has colic =p

ya, think I'll set aside some $$ for CL as both my MIL and mum unable to help me also, they need look after my brother and sis-in-law's babies :(. As this time round I intend to just stay on the bed to recuperate and let CL do the rest, I think it's better to get a CL bah. My mum did confinement for my #1 and I didn't really rest well. As a result, I had terrible back pain after few months and it came back every few months.:(

But $3k+ is beyond my budget... think I should check for agency's rate.

Wish child. I think if food wise I can cater from those confinement food catering. But I afraid of having shower no body take care of the baby.. but anyway it's still too early to say anything. Just wanna make sure everything ok for the baby first. Quite paranoid and worried...

I agree if u cater confinement food catering is cheaper and that would mean doing your own confinement, shower when your baby is asleep or when your hub comes home to care for the baby then u jump in shower fast fast come out. if u r pandang kind, just prepare cool boiled water and everything use cool boiled water. :) if you not pandang kind, confinement is actually a breeze. :p I talk so easy hor but my hub was my confinement nanny, he took care of everything. this time round, I maybe alone.

wish_child i'm going on next Sat, which is supposed to be my 7 week, see any difference anot,will update again.
Ya 1st consultation usually very fast one.
Waiting till you see the little heartbeat, i think that is the most overwhelming things to see. :D
HEHE.. Yap. I think if I saw the heartbeat my tears will drop ba. =P
2 weeks faster come..

Wxr_bb, If u going to cater for confinement food, u can try their trial confinement catering. I don't know how good is catering food but heard some catering food the food is cold when u received it.
Don't worry too much and think positive. I understand your paranoid and worries so do I. Jiayou

ya, think I'll set aside some $$ for CL as both my MIL and mum unable to help me also, they need look after my brother and sis-in-law's babies :(. As this time round I intend to just stay on the bed to recuperate and let CL do the rest, I think it's better to get a CL bah. My mum did confinement for my #1 and I didn't really rest well. As a result, I had terrible back pain after few months and it came back every few months.:(

But $3k+ is beyond my budget... think I should check for agency's rate.

Hehe. Me too. My previous confinement I didn't sleep well and take care of bb. Pump milk n carry bb. ><
My #1 is difficult bb, she has colic she will cries from evening - early morning daily. But she sleep well during daytime.
I hope confinement lady can do everything for my 2nd child n I handle my #1.

I agree if u cater confinement food catering is cheaper and that would mean doing your own confinement, shower when your baby is asleep or when your hub comes home to care for the baby then u jump in shower fast fast come out. if u r pandang kind, just prepare cool boiled water and everything use cool boiled water. :) if you not pandang kind, confinement is actually a breeze. :p I talk so easy hor but my hub was my confinement nanny, he took care of everything. this time round, I maybe alone.

You are so lucky, your hub do confinement for you. My hub sleep and bother much. Only come home from work and carry bb a while then do his thing.
Last time I had mastitis fever I still need to take care my girl with no1 help. My #1 confinement is quite bad experience. lol.

I can't wait for my 1st appt to come too...... next sat seem so far away.. .o_O
Hehe. Next sat very fast will arrived. Maybe next sat u can hear bb heart beat le. Yesterday I went to see gynae because my ms is getting bad and I thought of go there n get some medicine.
But end up no medicine being prescribe for MS >.<

Hehe. Next sat very fast will arrived. Maybe next sat u can hear bb heart beat le. Yesterday I went to see gynae because my ms is getting bad and I thought of go there n get some medicine.
But end up no medicine being prescribe for MS >.<

Ya most likely can see heartbeat already.
Try to drink ginger tea, i heard can ease MS.

@wish_child @Wxr_bb cold confinement food can be heated up. their containers are microwaveable and some companies food portion is big that u can split for 2 meals. :)
and yes you can trial the food before u order actual package. :)

You are so lucky, your hub do confinement for you. My hub sleep and bother much. Only come home from work and carry bb a while then do his thing.
Last time I had mastitis fever I still need to take care my girl with no1 help. My #1 confinement is quite bad experience. lol.

yes I m blessed that my hub is a hands on hub and father and he understands our limited finance abilities. for this no. 2 he even want to save on the confinement catering and cook for me. I asked him check his leave first because he had many annual leaves to clear for #1, now that he change company, might not be same. :) I have already book ppl to cook pig trotters vinegar and bird nest for me. :p I kudos to you mommies who handle baby alone, its really not easy.

Wow... Pig trotters vinegar and bird nest. Hehe, wait until my #2 hit 2nd trimester then I will source for pig vinegar too. I love that. But heard it only can start eat after 15th days of confinement?

huh...I didn't follow how many days, someone cooked one big pot for me and deliver to me 3 days after my delivery and I just eat. yums yums....

haha, ensure hub drinks lots of water ok, or else he will nose bleed. too "bu".
Wahahaha.. Then let him nose bleed hehehe. Last time my hub enjoy my confinement food. He eat all the pig kidney and liver for me as I don't eat.
My mil cooking really very good and yummy. But too bad I cannot tahan her confinement laws. hehe.

huh...I didn't follow how many days, someone cooked one big pot for me and deliver to me 3 days after my delivery and I just eat. yums yums....
You make me drooling now. wahaha.. I missed eat pig vinegar.. But during pregnancy can eat? =P

Ur hubby is so gd! I doubt mine will b able to do 10% of it. Lol.

Haiz, my new flat will be ready latest by oct, I hope I can move in before my delivery. But then will be so far away from my mum n mil, and don't think my hubby wan to hire confinement lady due to the cost. I very scared that I have to handle the bb alone.

woa!!! like that either u don't move or you hire CL, or else very shiong for you especially if your hub is not helping. the nights are more tiring and you will be sleep deprived. whats your plan for infant care when you go back to work or are you sahm? if sahm, then its ok can slowly pick up routine, if going back to work, 4months maternity leave also not enough for you to recover sleep unless you put your infant into infant care early. if you don't move and stay with in laws, then you have to tahan confinement laws.

Better move in after delivery. At least u have help of your in law if didn't engage confinement lady. =)
Rest really very important. It really cannot "bu" back one. Until now my girl 4yrs old I still feel im lacked of rest. hehe.

Hello all!!! I am back in sg...
Can I tell all of you, I love my country, I love my government, I love my hawker centre, I love my house, my bed, my TAP water.. My bed, my family my friends ;)

The morning sickness is killing me .... Hahahaha just to see how many of us is hearing the heart beat and at which week? I am considering when to go see the doc hahahaha

Read about all the CL & foodie!

Sorry I'm v noob but pig trotters and bird nest to be eaten after 2nd tri or during confinement?

I just gotten my keys and also rather busy settling reno but as preggy cannot handle reno stuff, hub will be very busy to settle all... I think confinement wise we might also ask my mum and mil to help...

Hello all!!! I am back in sg...
Can I tell all of you, I love my country, I love my government, I love my hawker centre, I love my house, my bed, my TAP water.. My bed, my family my friends ;)

The morning sickness is killing me .... Hahahaha just to see how many of us is hearing the heart beat and at which week? I am considering when to go see the doc hahahaha

Welcome back to SG!

Hope Ure feeling better already? I've read so far they managed to hear heart beat at approx 7 weeks...

Hahah I just called in for an appointment! And I got it at 20th April I am like huh... So late ahhaha by then I can see baby moving ;)

Chewiee ... Yes I am feeling better just being in his country ;) ahhaha

As for renovation I removed my bed, and took it down to move back my mums house during no1 pregnancy- she came out totally fine and pretty perfect ;)

For my no2 I renovated the whole house throughout tri 3, she too came out pretty perfect.

My take to traditions and superstitious, throw them all out of the window except when it makes complete sense like rest more, dun carry heavy things, as for the rest, I was known to tell my relatives to speak into plastic bags if they decide to tell me things that haven't gone through their brains ahhahahah I am quite naughty with my words, but I blame it all on the hormones...

If u need to renovate, do it, but U must be prepared that it's noisy and tiring however if the end product is worth it, do it ;)

Ladies, I ordered confinement food for my #1 before cause no CL. But forgot the name of the catering coy. The food is very nice and portion is really big. Food is delivered warm as well. For those interested, let me know. I can go back and check my old files (3 yrs back).

I didn't have CL for my #1, super regretted! I stayed with inlaws, and mil insisted she can help. Yes, she helped and I appreciate that. But alot of things she isnt very familiar (e.g. breastfeeding) or forgotten them. You will hear comments like "why u don't give baby water?" etc....With all the post-natal blues, u can go crazy. The way to take care of a baby is rather different from the past. Hence, I would suggest for first time MTB, engage a CL if possible. My hubby took leave for my confinement but he collapsed after a week. It is not easy to handle a baby, bf, logistics stuff (washing, sterilising), etc. Just my views :)

And forgot to mention, not enough rest will affect your milk supply. And when milk supply is affected, your mood will be affected. Moody affects milk again. It's a cycle.

woa!!! like that either u don't move or you hire CL, or else very shiong for you especially if your hub is not helping. the nights are more tiring and you will be sleep deprived. whats your plan for infant care when you go back to work or are you sahm? if sahm, then its ok can slowly pick up routine, if going back to work, 4months maternity leave also not enough for you to recover sleep unless you put your infant into infant care early. if you don't move and stay with in laws, then you have to tahan confinement laws.
I'm a ftwm. My hub n I are staying at own hse as both our plc has no space for our stuff. So when we have our own plc, it will be an issue on who will help to take care of the bb when I go back to work. Anyone facing same issue as me?

Kaxin.. Luckily my new place is approx 5-10 mins drive from my mum's place where we are staying now. But both my parents & in laws are v pandang and told me not to go to the house when it is renovating. I can only go back to see if I already ask the worker to stop for my visit.

I hope to move in mid May where just nice first Tri will be over by then...

Wow this is Ur #3! I'm a new MTB.. My #1 and I'm v noob still so trying to read & find out more info too :p

when I was pregnant with #1, I helped my hub fix things twice!!!! and my son is still very handsome. :p @chewiee intake of bird nest and pig trotters vinegar can be during pregnancy and confinement. they say if take bird nest during pregnancy, baby skin smooth smooth, cheeks blushing de....

@magc really! Pig trotters is good for?

Someone also told me that drinking coconut juice during e last 2m of pregnancy will help bb to have smooth skin too haha. Bird nest wise it was advices to me to drink in moderation, not too much?

I'm a ftwm. My hub n I are staying at own hse as both our plc has no space for our stuff. So when we have our own plc, it will be an issue on who will help to take care of the bb when I go back to work. Anyone facing same issue as me?

no problem, I'm ftwm too. I was staying with in laws when I had my #1, in laws work so no one help me with baby. when baby is 2months old, I send him to infant care thinking i'll be back to work although I have 4 months maternity leave but my company was short staffed. however, my company graciously ask me finish my 4months maternity leave for better tracking coz I only have 1 FC and she overlooks HR as well, so I have 2 months time to myself while baby remains in infant care. :p better to trust infant care centres than maid and nanny, unless u have contacts for trusted nanny around your area. find an infant care centre that is spacious and not small small, aircon or no aircon is individual preference. where do u stay? one thing about infant care centres is be prepared baby will be sick every month because other children also sick and go infant care de. but after awhile, baby immunity build up, everything will be alright. :)

@magc really! Pig trotters is good for?

Someone also told me that drinking coconut juice during e last 2m of pregnancy will help bb to have smooth skin too haha. Bird nest wise it was advices to me to drink in moderation, not too much?

I have no idea what pig trotters is good for, just eat coz I like it. haha. they say drinking coconut juice during last 2m of pregnancy is for easy delivery and smooth baby head no grey grey substance on baby head or something like that. I forget if bird nest need to drink in moderation tho. maybe one week drink once or twice?

can I ^5 you @xrmomi, my mil took leave on the 3rd n 4th week to take care of my confinement because she dun wan have stranger stay in the house so I cannot have CL, then I oredi cater confinement food and she still cook extra food! but she nvr interfere in baby affairs because she dunno how to bathe baby! thank God I ask my hub take extra leave to bathe baby and I close my room door most of the time so she wont come in and disturb because she thinks i'll be topless busy breastfeeding baby. haha. but she don't msg me when she go out like for half the day. -_-|| she suppose to prepare herbal bath for me but she put empty pot there and I have to refill water n bathe myself and pour away the heavy pot of water myself (this is NOT advisable), once she wanted to bathe baby but I have to pour away the bath water myself. she do things halfway I have to finish it for her. so I'm quite relieve this time round I'm alone.

I have no idea what pig trotters is good for, just eat coz I like it. haha. they say drinking coconut juice during last 2m of pregnancy is for easy delivery and smooth baby head no grey grey substance on baby head or something like that. I forget if bird nest need to drink in moderation tho. maybe one week drink once or twice?
During my no1 I had very bad cough and couldn't take strong medicine. So I took bird nest twice a week for a month. Really helps for cough.

coconut water is drink during last 2 weeks before deliver..dont think is 2 months..

birds nest also eat in moderation..i heard some said it causes asthma to the bb..but i feel everything in moderation.

can I ^5 you @xrmomi, my mil took leave on the 3rd n 4th week to take care of my confinement because she dun wan have stranger stay in the house so I cannot have CL, then I oredi cater confinement food and she still cook extra food! but she nvr interfere in baby affairs because she dunno how to bathe baby! thank God I ask my hub take extra leave to bathe baby and I close my room door most of the time so she wont come in and disturb because she thinks i'll be topless busy breastfeeding baby. haha. but she don't msg me when she go out like for half the day. -_-|| she suppose to prepare herbal bath for me but she put empty pot there and I have to refill water n bathe myself and pour away the heavy pot of water myself (this is NOT advisable), once she wanted to bathe baby but I have to pour away the bath water myself. she do things halfway I have to finish it for her. so I'm quite relieve this time round I'm alone.

haha yes, I was wishing to be alone during my #1 time...I also closed my door most of the time, but i will always hear knocking on my door "why is baby crying? open the door...u latching, nvm open the door..." Relationships can turn sour during confinement...
Hehe me and my mil relationships turn sour after my confinement period. =P
When I latching she sit infront of me, last time so silly keep pump and pump.
End up my frozen milks become her beauty product. Most angry is my milk been give away to relative without my notice.
So this time just standby 4packs of frozen for raining days. If no more supply just formula milk.
Formula milk = more rest and sleep. easy to fix. save trouble

But now all types of food has no appeal ;(

Ya I feel cl is important and those pantang that makes me more stress up and totally crappy and nonsensical is a big big No no. But honestly U need some character to be released from the clutches of pantangs.

My cl for no1 almost fainted when I told her, the next time I hear U tell me my breast milk is not enough, I will give you a box of plastic bag. please speak it into the plastic bag. And throw it away before it reaches my room. I never hear that again.

Then when my aunt came and see my baby and gave me her 2 cents worth of how she brought up her children, I told her, her advises are of the 50s, keep it for women of her age. And I told her to inform all the rest who are visiting to mind their tongues cos my baby cries usually when they say wrong things or when they stink; hardly it's because it's hungry. Ahhahah

My mum was so busy apologising hahah for my post natal blues ;)

And for my no2, I said no visiting just send in ur ang baos Ahahhahah my mum really shook her head. I even got my hubby to keep my mil away till full mth ;) i threaten to go really crazy. By 5mth preggy I told my hubby I do not want to see your parents till 8mths later.

So I was very happy with my rest, cl ( I told her to stay in her room and not appear till I call for her), my bb, my ang baos....

Everyone just thought I had serious Blues ahhaha I had a ball of my time ;)

My 2 cents worth huh ;) I feel confinement is a time needed greatly to rest and recover, can't stand nonsense robbing that time away. Ahahah so terrible ;)

And as a disclaimer I am usually a very sweet person ;) so yA we are still a happy family and everyone really thought it was post blues.. It was just I drew my boundaries

But now all types of food has no appeal ;(

Ya I feel cl is important and those pantang that makes me more stress up see totally nonsense with a big big No. But U need some character to be released from the clutches of pantangs.

My cl for no1 almost fainted when I told her, the next time I hear U tell me my breast milk is not enough, I will give you a box of plastic bag. please speak it into the plastic bag. And throw it away before it reach my room.

Then when my aunt came and see my baby and gave me her 2 cents worth of how she brought up her children, I told her, her advises are of the 50s, keep it for women of her age.

My mum was so busy apologising hahah for my post natal blues ;)

And for my no2, I said no visiting just send in ur ang baos Ahahhahah my mum really shook her head. I even got my hubby to keep my mil away till full mth ;)

So I was very happy with my rest, cl ( I told her to stay in her room and not appear till I call for her), my bb, my ang baos....

Everyone just thought I had serious Blues ahhaha I had a ball of my time ;)

My 2 cents worth huh ;) I feel confinement is a time needed greatly to rest and recover, can't stand nonsense robbing that time away. Ahahah so terrible ;)

wow! i like your character....haha...but I don't dare. I had serious blues during my #1...was only better when I see my own mother (but i staying at inlaws house).

Hehe me and my mil relationships turn sour after my confinement period. =P
When I latching she sit infront of me, last time so silly keep pump and pump.
End up my frozen milks become her beauty product. Most angry is my milk been give away to relative without my notice.
So this time just standby 4packs of frozen for raining days. If no more supply just formula milk.
Formula milk = more rest and sleep. easy to fix. save trouble

You're quite calm. If my milk is given away, I would scream. Every drop is soooo precious...

Cool Kaxin, I kudos to you.. I must learn from u le.. My confinement was horrible for #1, following confinement law, made me cry everyday.
My Mil, mom and grandma say not enough BM, end up I keep pump and pump to flood the fridge. =P
Last time my mil still bring a big 50cents coin to place on my girl's belly button and wrap with cloth.
Said will helps to let the navel looks good. *Faint*.
Lot of weird weird saying really make my eyes big big..

Hahah breast milk are so so precious! So precious ;)

I thank god my mil is a very very non intrusive woman, imagine with me asking everyone to shut up during confinement and I find them giving away my breast milk; I am quite sure I will make her squeeze her breasts till milk comes out... Ahhahaha gosh these people are just so oblivious! But well ;) life goes on and it will pass I tell myself that all the time

You're quite calm. If my milk is given away, I would scream. Every drop is soooo precious...
Haha. I screamed and jump up top of the roof. But no use, the milk already given away without my knowing.
End up I vent my anger on my hub. My hub said nvm its ok. Make me so pissed off.
I told him every 3hrly told him to do hand job and collect all his "precious" and I discard see how his feel.
Haha end up he *roll his eyes*