(2014/08) August 2014

My girl first mth also like that. Till PD prescribed eye drop and it gets better. Now ok le.. my girl is yellow discharge somemore and only one eye..

Thank you Shirley for the advice. I will monitor for a couple more days and if it's doesn't go away, I will consult a PD:)

I haven't took up rotavirus. Maybe the next vaccine. I only gotbthe schedule after bb had her vaccine.

I feel so lousy lor.. was trimming her nails and the last final finger. I cut her. . I didn't even realised until I saw the mitten has blood. Though its not a deep cut but I stupidly tot becos I cut her nails.. thats why sge cry out loud. Only then I realised I cut her. Stupid mom

It's not easy to cut their nails! I only cut it once and decided to let my bb wear mittens all the way coz a bit too difficult to cut. Jiayou!

Thank you so much for sharing this! Life saver! We do it after every diaper change and baby is much happier now! :D

Most welcome axara..
I also had sleepless day and nights when CL left n my LO's stomach bloated like wana burst and tried all methods and this really helps.

You also can tried milk half way blurp and continue milk finished n blurp again..

I haven't took up rotavirus. Maybe the next vaccine. I only gotbthe schedule after bb had her vaccine.

I feel so lousy lor.. was trimming her nails and the last final finger. I cut her. . I didn't even realised until I saw the mitten has blood. Though its not a deep cut but I stupidly tot becos I cut her nails.. thats why sge cry out loud. Only then I realised I cut her. Stupid mom

Haha I did that too but no blood but she cried out super loud.. and now I trim her nails when she's soundly asleep!

my boys r light sleeper. touch them only will wake up. dare not touch them, less cut their nails, when it's so hard to finally make them sleep.

Hi mommies, does ur lo sleeps all day? My lo is coming 8 weeks old bb and he sleeps all day and night. Wake up to feed, pee and poo and during bath time. Wake up for like 30mins to 1 hr in day to interact. He has been cleared of jaundice when he is 6 weeks old. I'm a bit worried.:s

Mine sleeps most of the time too.. the period of time she's awake for interaction the whole day probably adds up to 2-3 hours? My girl never had jaundice so should be alright? She's most awake late at night. Tiring!

my boy used to sleep a lot until he's abt 4wks old. he's "spoiled" by my MIL who keeps on carrying him. now he can't sleep unless he's carried, rocked & walked abt. put him down only cry & cry, don't want to sleep. sigh.....

In my last check up PD mentioned that from week 6-8 babies tend to sleep a lot. My LO is week 6 now and last few days even I have been noticing he sleeps a lot.

What a relieve to hear that. My LO is 6 weeks now and she sleeps a lot. So much so that it worries me. However, during the night she will be quite cranky, is that normal too? Initially I thought it was because she slept too much in the day but if we refuse to let her sleeps in the day, she will cry too.

Tks mommies for ur replies! I feel so relieved! Yep, same here. My bb used to be cranky at night previously and I thought that's bcoz he sleeps in the day. We increase his milk intake at night and he seems to be able to sleep longer from 3 to 4 hours. Sometimes he is cranky bcoz of gas.

How lucky u are mummies. .. my girl wakes up frequently during the night for feeding ( i breastfed) then she is awake the whole morning cooing to herself then during noon she's a light sleeper needs to carry n lightest sounds wakes her up -_-" I barely can rest...

Sorry to ask what maybe a stupid question - what's the difference between taking vaccination jabs at Polyclinic vs PD, other than the cost, one's 5 in 1 vs the other's 6 in 1 and the timings?

Btw, do ur LOs stretch a lot and make little noises when they stretch? My LO does that since we brought her home and she nearly a month old now. I saw a PD yesterday and he said that it could be she's uncomfortable and trying to stretch out the gas in her stomach. He said it's related to my diet and that I should cut off drinking fresh milk. Does anyone have similar experiences?

Try using warm water and cotton pad to wipe everytime u sees it

Hi Shirley,

I have been wiping off the discharge daily and she's slowly showing improvement. Went to PD who said its a case of blocked tear ducts (not fully developed) - just need to massage from eyebrows downwards towards end of nose to loosen up. That seems to work...

Hi Shirley,

I have been wiping off the discharge daily and she's slowly showing improvement. Went to PD who said its a case of blocked tear ducts (not fully developed) - just need to massage from eyebrows downwards towards end of nose to loosen up. That seems to work...

Thats great. It will slowly go away and ur bb will have big bright eyes. All these take time.. don't worry ya..

Sorry to ask what maybe a stupid question - what's the difference between taking vaccination jabs at Polyclinic vs PD, other than the cost, one's 5 in 1 vs the other's 6 in 1 and the timings?

Btw, do ur LOs stretch a lot and make little noises when they stretch? My LO does that since we brought her home and she nearly a month old now. I saw a PD yesterday and he said that it could be she's uncomfortable and trying to stretch out the gas in her stomach. He said it's related to my diet and that I should cut off drinking fresh milk. Does anyone have similar experiences?
Yes! My LO stretch alot along with the little noise! But if I cut off milk in my diet, it means cutting off my calcium intake? Is that really advisable?

6-in-1 is 5-in-1 + hep B. means u only need take 1 shot instead of 2. more convenient but more ex.

my boy stretches a lot too. tot it's normal. old ppl say they r "stretching & growing, will help them grow taller"? I think as long bb is growing fine, abit of stretching won't do any harm?

Really???
My boy turned 6 weeks yesterday. But hes been extra cranky all week. One day can nap whole afternoon, one day just carry whole afternoon. One night sleeps so well, the other night, just BAD.

Today I had to carry him and either let him latch or lie on me. The entire afternoon. I could not let go of him at all!!!!

Really???
My boy turned 6 weeks yesterday. But hes been extra cranky all week. One day can nap whole afternoon, one day just carry whole afternoon. One night sleeps so well, the other night, just BAD.

Today I had to carry him and either let him latch or lie on me. The entire afternoon. I could not let go of him at all!!!!

same same. jiayou!!

Me too.. usually from 12pm to 10pm.. probably the shift ended with her completely knock out.. otherwise is light sleeping throughout that last 10mins. Sometime I can't even have a nice toilet break. Lol.

Hi mummies, how do you find time to pump when lo had to be carried for many hours? I missed many pump timings because of this... and lo doesn't dl...

Is it the season of fussiness and wanting to be carried? Cos just last week, my boy was perfectly fine sleeping on his rocker by himself. This week, he's just so sticky.. Keep wanting to comfort nurse also!

Hi mummies, how do you find time to pump when lo had to be carried for many hours? I missed many pump timings because of this... and lo doesn't dl...

very tough. I gave up bfing very early on for my elder one coz no time to pump & can't latch. for this younger one, I try pump when my mum/MIL/hubby is ard & latch when no one is ard.

easiest way is to try get bb to latch again. get him to latch when he's not very hungry (e.g. show some signs of wanting to eat like tongue stick out, turn head when u touch on his lips, etc, but not crying/wailing yet). soon he'll know that there's milk at the breast & latch better. jiayou!!

Is it the season of fussiness and wanting to be carried? Cos just last week, my boy was perfectly fine sleeping on his rocker by himself. This week, he's just so sticky.. Keep wanting to comfort nurse also!

they start to become more aware of their surroundings, ppl & environment. may develop preference for certain ppl, certain carrying position, environment, etc. so will fuss when they don't get what they want. may also nurse more coz of growth spurt at ~wk6.

my hubby solely looked after my boy for the whole of confinement mth. now that he has started work & spent less time at home, somehow my boy don't like him to carry liao. hubby so sad. hahah.

6-in-1 is 5-in-1 + hep B. means u only need take 1 shot instead of 2. more convenient but more ex.

my boy stretches a lot too. tot it's normal. old ppl say they r "stretching & growing, will help them grow taller"? I think as long bb is growing fine, abit of stretching won't do any harm?

Hi Kopibeanie, thanks for the explanation of the difference:)

Agree it's normal for babies to stretch, esp if they are feeding n sleeping well. Re cow's milk, there are cases where babies react to cow's milk in mummy's milk so some ppl do avoid it.

Personally, I found this web page on lactation pretty useful. It's got information on some common things to avoid while breastfeed ing and why babies get fussy. Just to share - hope it's useful to you mummies:)
http://kellymom.com/health/baby-health/food-sensitivity/

Yes! My LO stretch alot along with the little noise! But if I cut off milk in my diet, it means cutting off my calcium intake? Is that really advisable?[/QUOTE

Hi Tiffy,

I am also reluctant to give up milk esp since I take it with my cereal for breakfast. I will try to eliminate first (as what PD tells me) and see if there's indeed an improvement. Will share when I see any signs.

Meanwhile, here's a list of non-dairy calcium sources which may interest u:). Btw I am continuing my calcium tablets from pregger days.

http://kellymom.com/nutrition/vitamins/calcium/

Wonder if fellow mummies have this episode as us..every night we take a long while to put our LO to fall asleep, sometimes almost 2 hours before she finally fall asleep. We have a bedtime routine for her, and its been like that since 5 weeks ago. It seems that my LO got some problem falling asleep by herself, even after a milk feed before her bedtime and we placed her down onto her cotbed with her already fallen asleep, she would either wake up with her eyes again bright open or wake up in a short while only to find it difficult to fall asleep again. Her eyes would be tiny but just take a long while before she dozes off. We were told not to pat her to let her fall asleep (because this would mean we have to pat her everytime she needs to sleep), so at most we would just touch her fidgeting legs to comfort her that we are around. But to take so long to accompany her to fall asleep every night is hmmmm quite unimaginable next time if I start work.

Then I also contemplating of letting my LO sleep a distance from me, or i sleep on a mattress outside the baby room with the door ajar because her small noises/grunting sounds whole night is really depriving me of sleep...urgh...on average, the person on night duty only manage a 2 to 2.5 hours of sleep per night with all her sounds... wonder how long will my LO outgrow making these sounds when she sleeps (now she is gg to be 8 weeks old)

Oh by the way, do any of fellow mummies have this problem with baby having hardened stuffs in and at the skin outside the ears......hmm, not ear shit to be exact, but maybe because didnt clean properly or hurt the baby's skin when clean too hard during shower....now my bb got this hardened stuffs inside, outside and behind her ear, i very worried during how to clean now.... the confinement nanny says use baby oil to apply then use wet cotton wool to slowly clean day by day, but like not much signs of improvement :(

My boy has this hardened/chipped off skin at his ears. It looks like his skin is too dry so I just clean/wipe it during bathe time as per normal but apply california baby cream at his ears a few times a day. It is improving slowly but I have to keep applying consistently otherwise it would come back. I suspect is his skin is too dried due to staying in aircon room all day.

About to hard to fall asleep part...I think pacifier works like wonder...if you don't mind letting LO use it. My LO has a very bad temper and always use his hands to rub against his eyes/ears/face when he is agitated so it is impossible for him to sleep as this state. But he would calm down and slowly fall asleep when I give him pacifier. But need to hold the pacifier at his mouth for awhile coz he would spit it out quite soon due to his temper...

Wonder if fellow mummies have this episode as us..every night we take a long while to put our LO to fall asleep, sometimes almost 2 hours before she finally fall asleep. We have a bedtime routine for her, and its been like that since 5 weeks ago. It seems that my LO got some problem falling asleep by herself, even after a milk feed before her bedtime and we placed her down onto her cotbed with her already fallen asleep, she would either wake up with her eyes again bright open or wake up in a short while only to find it difficult to fall asleep again. Her eyes would be tiny but just take a long while before she dozes off. We were told not to pat her to let her fall asleep (because this would mean we have to pat her everytime she needs to sleep), so at most we would just touch her fidgeting legs to comfort her that we are around. But to take so long to accompany her to fall asleep every night is hmmmm quite unimaginable next time if I start work.

Then I also contemplating of letting my LO sleep a distance from me, or i sleep on a mattress outside the baby room with the door ajar because her small noises/grunting sounds whole night is really depriving me of sleep...urgh...on average, the person on night duty only manage a 2 to 2.5 hours of sleep per night with all her sounds... wonder how long will my LO outgrow making these sounds when she sleeps (now she is gg to be 8 weeks old)

Hi there, finally fed time to sit down n read with forum entries after so long!

my LO is 7.5wks old and experiencing the same thing you described! It didn't help when we have just moved to my in laws' place recently (tt is another story altogether also). My LO also makes a lot of sounds at night and I always jolt out of bed and rush to the cot initially. Soon I realised tt she can fall asleep again after stirring for a bit so I continue sleeping ~~

I can totally relate to the part abt putting her down! Sometimes I rock her for near 1hr and the next thing u know, put her down she open her eyes n smile at u! Dunno Wana cry or laugh! Sometimes she will cry la till I carry her up~ Wonder weeks app states tt our LOs could be going thru a leap now though!

My mil say baby sold sleep in buoy or YAolan because her arms and back are aching from all the rocking n carrying... Anyone using Yaolan or buoy? My only concern is the shaking if not done properly might harm the baby. ...

I told my mom.. even I rock my girl until my arms break, I will never put her into a yaolan. Cos my nephew scares the hell out of me. Lol.. thats 4 yrs ago.. he refused to sleep anywhere except yaolan and my sister basically have to bring the sarong and metal rod out to whoever house. At night. He doesn't want to sleep on mattress or bed except yaolan and the maid basically have to sleep below him cos he needs to yao all the time. That really freaks me out alot.

But again.. this is individual la.. every child is different. I just didn't wanna risk it

I can feel u...My girl coming to 8 weeks has the same pattern ..making noises or she being carried to sleep just when u thought could put her in her cot she opened her eyes n in a short moment she cries as though had left her there very long...

Kind of hard to sleep without her, as I breastfed her she would wana suckle all night, that fine as I'll just leave her beside me suckling n I'll sleep if not I won't have to sleep -_-"

Its really a relief hearing fellow mummies share your experiences in this forum :) Now every day is a challenge for us haha as every day my LO behaves differently, good days and bad days....but am glad she is now 2 months old already and growing well :) Yup, I am using Yao Lan in the daytime, even though me and my hubby refused to use it in the first place... no choice for us, our LO wasnt getting any sleep in the daytime and initially she at least let us carry her in our arms to catch a 1 - 1.5 hours sleep in the day, but gradually, she wakes up and cry every 5/10 minutes whenever she fall asleep in our arms...and it wasnt quality sleep at all for her...so in the end, we had to bring out the yao lan from our storeroom and at least she managed to sleep well during the daytime. But I try to place her on her cot or those non-vibrating bouncer whenever she falls sleep after milkfeed so that she wont forever be 'shaking', and thankfully, she has been fine with not sleeping in the yao lan during those occasions. Nightime also, even though we take a long time to tuck her to sleep, at least she sleeps in the cotbed overnight. But i think it is really an individual choice whether to use yao lan since different babies have different preferences and may cultivate different habits also.

By the way, I went to see my PD concerning my LO's hardened skin and inflamed ear, and he told me that it is a form of ezcema that babies have, that may grow on the ears, eye brows, forehead or scalp (which they call 'cradle cap'). He gave us some lotion and after applying on the inflamed area, she recovered after 2 days, very fast. But i think she has some slight cradle cap also, so i will try out using baby oil to apply thinly and use a soft brush to comb it out before shampooing her to see if it works...

oh I will be placing my LO at nanny's place after I go back to work...

can I also check with fellow mummies,...recently my LO has been crying and moaning after mouth of her bottle feed, and if I continue to force her drink, she will drink but in 2-3 mins, will moan/cry again..then if i take the teat out, then she will cry also...then place it back to her mouth she will drink again only to cry/moan after 2-3 mins...and the cycle repeats....urgh..she used to be a good drinker until 1-2 weeks ago, and now every milk feed takes like 45 min to 1 hour :S

Did u help ur girl release the air as she suck? Mine too.. and we realised that the tit suck until flat. We will just need to rotate and pull out abit to release air so she will need to suck so hard. Sometimes may be the milk powder didn't desolve enough and got stuck at the tit. Just don't pull out the whole tit. Once totally out.. abit difficult to push it in especially the last 1 ounce..

If feeding takes that long.. u may wanna poke the tit slightly bigger with needle. Half way through can liao. Don't poke through the whole thing. The flow will be too fast. After we poked. Feeding is faster. From 45mins to 20mins. Depending how hungry ur girl is.. my best record is 10mins. I was impressed. But thats like only once so far. Lol

Shirley, thanks thanks...i think i will try to poke the tit to give it a try, to see if it helps and not due to my LO's tantrums.. now every milk feed is so torturous to me :(

could be gas, try burping ur girl whenever she cry/moan then feed again. else could be flow too slow. can either change to a bigger size teat or juz don't screw the bottle collar so tight & flow will be faster.

think I read somewhere before that feeding shld take ard 15-20mins. shldn't be so fast too. but depends on bb la. my elder one got no problem finishing his milk in less than 5mins. now younger one takes abt 15mins & needs to be burp once in awhile.

My guess is gas also. Try to burp her or use gripe water. My LO is much better now after using gripe water for 2 days. Now after drinking when I put him sit upright he will almost burp himself immediately without me stroking his back. Less cases of milk spitting up and I don't see his "I'm in pain" expression also. Tummy also softer now :D

P.S. my LO finishes his 120ml milk in 10 to 15min most of the time

Hi everyone, I'm wondering how do you locate nannies nearby your homes? I may be having problem getting people to care for the baby when I go back to work so would like to start sourcing for a nanny, but don't know how to start.

U go downstairs see auntie with babies can go forward and ask them if they have friends around here is interested in looking after baby and leave ur contact number with them. These auntie network very big de. Lol. They will really ask around for u and in no time. . U will receive call.. lol.. this is how I got my nanny who just lives at the same block as me. Hehe.

Boy still has gassiness. On and off at night can't sleep. He doesn't cry. Just groans. I've tried medicated oil, burping him, massage.

Is it v bo liao to see PD for this?