(2014/01) January 2014

正中平 this TCM shop sells concentrated birds nest. Everyday or every other day eat a tablespoon is enough. But it's also costly, I think $70 per bottle though they have buy 2get 1 or 25% off offer frequently.

I think all birds nest quite expensive.. The more affordable ones also not sure if quality is gd.. Maybe can consider alternatives like white fungus like what GBOB cooked.l. Apparently nutritional value similar?

wah not cheap also hor! yalor. i think i better guai guai stick to white fungus lar... btw is there a limit in taking the white fungus soup that GBOB recommended? weekly?

正中平 this TCM shop sells concentrated birds nest. Everyday or every other day eat a tablespoon is enough. But it's also costly, I think $70 per bottle though they have buy 2get 1 or 25% off offer frequently.

I think all birds nest quite expensive.. The more affordable ones also not sure if quality is gd.. Maybe can consider alternatives like white fungus like what GBOB cooked.l. Apparently nutritional value similar?

I also like to buy bird nest from them. always have bundle discount. buy the mid range one.. not bad.. for gift oso not that expensive..

I find HK cheaper.. my hubby made me buy 3 pairs of birkenstock for him and mothercare there cheaper as well. I always stock my cosmetic stuff there.

Depends on what items lor.. some can buy some cannot.. their environment is so similar to SG.

Anyone heard of Pin Yu birdnest? Those in bottles. Is it good? My fren has discount and wondering shld get.

wah not cheap also hor! yalor. i think i better guai guai stick to white fungus lar... btw is there a limit in taking the white fungus soup that GBOB recommended? weekly?
Maybe can take white fungus weekly then only in third trimester spend more for birds nest? :) many tcm recommend birds nest only in third trimester actually.. Some say baby will have better complexion, but I also don't know if true. :).

Another alternative may be hashima 雪蛤, but I don't know whether gd for preggies? Any mummies take before?

I think ginseng can also cause bleeding, so not so good esp for those who have had spotting..

I agree with joyandpeace, for second trim mayb can spare our pocket abit n just take white fungus once weekly. Dnt take too much also. I think moderation is still the key word even in terms of "bu". Last trimester then spend more to take bird nest lor... i took hashima last week too. I googled n I read that hashima contains alot of hormones so also cannot take too much...

Too raw hor I don't think I dare to eat wor. Later waste
Hi deary, I think what Twinnie meant is double boil the bird nest just by itself with rock sugar will do. Don't add other ingredients eg. Red dates, ginseng, dried longans etc. I think that's what she meant if I'm not wrong :p

Maybe can take white fungus weekly then only in third trimester spend more for birds nest? :) many tcm recommend birds nest only in third trimester actually.. Some say baby will have better complexion, but I also don't know if true. :).

Another alternative may be hashima 雪蛤, but I don't know whether gd for preggies? Any mummies take before?

I think ginseng can also cause bleeding, so not so good esp for those who have had spotting..

okie! noted will try to take it weekly. Think i just stick to white fungus ba for the 2nd tri. Thanks joy!

I agree with joyandpeace, for second trim mayb can spare our pocket abit n just take white fungus once weekly. Dnt take too much also. I think moderation is still the key word even in terms of "bu". Last trimester then spend more to take bird nest lor... i took hashima last week too. I googled n I read that hashima contains alot of hormones so also cannot take too much...

GBOB, yea lor. I think i just stick to white fungus. Sometime is like kiasu scared bb nvr get the "bu". Cos for first tri, i din gain any weight. Scared bb not nutritious, so 2nd tri try to give more nutrition.

Err.. where to get Hashima? i dun rem see it before ler

Hi deary, I think what Twinnie meant is double boil the bird nest just by itself with rock sugar will do. Don't add other ingredients eg. Red dates, ginseng, dried longans etc. I think that's what she meant if I'm not wrong :p

yes you are correct.. hehe sorry if i didnt emphasie properly. :)

ya lucky godblessmybb pointed out coz i dunthink and never heard that bird nest can eat raw :eek: Not sure those other ingredients like red dates, pao sheng will absord bird nest nutrition but we can eat the dates and pao sheng mah. As i will take dong cong cao too biweekly...i will eat dong cong cao, pao sheng and lean meat as well (as it will absorb dong cong cao's nutrition as well).

My dad is discharged from hospital!!! Like.... FINALLY!!!! Hope he wnt wail at night... My dh keep asking me don't use any strength to Jagar my dad but hor... Difficult leh... Just now my helper help him walk to the wheelchair n he didn't really aim properly n sit on the wheelchair at the edge!!! I gotta help abit leh... Now I feel so guilty cos I used abit of strength just now... Geez...

ya lucky godblessmybb pointed out coz i dunthink and never heard that bird nest can eat raw :eek: Not sure those other ingredients like red dates, pao sheng will absord bird nest nutrition but we can eat the dates and pao sheng mah. As i will take dong cong cao too biweekly...i will eat dong cong cao, pao sheng and lean meat as well (as it will absorb dong cong cao's nutrition as well).

that would be quite funny
to eat bird nest raw !! save alot of work lei
to double boil prolly takes abt 2 hours.. to eat it raw.. 5 mins? :X haha

hmm can eat the dates and pao sheng..but advisable not to put anything is the best..
but i still see some pple puting dates and stuff.. so confusing.

My dad is discharged from hospital!!! Like.... FINALLY!!!! Hope he wnt wail at night... My dh keep asking me don't use any strength to Jagar my dad but hor... Difficult leh... Just now my helper help him walk to the wheelchair n he didn't really aim properly n sit on the wheelchair at the edge!!! I gotta help abit leh... Now I feel so guilty cos I used abit of strength just now... Geez...
Dun worry too much GBOB..abit of strength is fine la..since we r in 2nd tri liao..Bb is well protected..mummies w oreid #1 or #2 liao sure always haf to use strength oso..although we try not to..
Hub jus bought bottled concentrated birds nest fm Eu yan sang too..no one to boil for need bo bian..will jus take a spoonful everyday or every other day on empty stomach..save all e trouble..n these r without anything added..even rock sugar..

GBOB, maybe move the wheelchair to him next time instead of letting him walk over? Sometimes after discharge from a long hospital stay, elderly pple can become very weak.. Few steps also may fall sometimes. Ask your helper to use one hand to hold on to his pants at the back-- works like a harness so that one person alone can help prevent him fall. Or can try getting him a walking stick if the hospital didn't give him one. :) take care.

Don't feel guilty. I still do my laundry and hang them inside (can't do outside anymore)...sometimes, I ask htb to come over in order to help me do my laundry. Sometime he get mad because I exert too much effort.

hmm can eat the dates and pao sheng..but advisable not to put anything is the best..
My MIL sponsored the birdnest. My htb said that it's an expensive kind so i should eat...hehehe, but I'm really not used to this stuff. One thing i proven though, i prefer a chilled (cold) birdnest than hot one...less smelly for me...i read somewhere that birdnest should not have any funny taste, but for some reason it taste and smell like a raw egg for me... :S

Dun worry too much GBOB..abit of strength is fine la..since we r in 2nd tri liao..Bb is well protected..mummies w oreid #1 or #2 liao sure always haf to use strength oso..although we try not to..
Hub jus bought bottled concentrated birds nest fm Eu yan sang too..no one to boil for need bo bian..will jus take a spoonful everyday or every other day on empty stomach..save all e trouble..n these r without anything added..even rock sugar..
Ai ya me v Cham la.. High risk cos of my cervix. So doc kept warning me dnt walk too much dnt squat dnt carry heavy stuff... Zzz... The concentrated bird nest good ah... No need so troublesome..

GBOB, maybe move the wheelchair to him next time instead of letting him walk over? Sometimes after discharge from a long hospital stay, elderly pple can become very weak.. Few steps also may fall sometimes. Ask your helper to use one hand to hold on to his pants at the back-- works like a harness so that one person alone can help prevent him fall. Or can try getting him a walking stick if the hospital didn't give him one. :) take care.
Yo joy, ya that was my intention but my helper say must "train" my dad according to the physiotherapist... Must try to let him walk abit.. That's y we didn't wheel him to the bed n asked him to try walking instead. He did it but abit tough cos he abit weak n not stable... N how m I not to exert strength to help him wor... I so worry he will fall... My helper quite well trained in taking care of him alrdy n she knows abt the pulling the back of his pants... Just that she isn't that big size n strong... Lolx

Is it true that taking too much bird nest baby will get asthma? Wanna have it for baby for good complexion but I scare baby will have asthma,

GBOB, yea lor. I think i just stick to white fungus. Sometime is like kiasu scared bb nvr get the "bu". Cos for first tri, i din gain any weight. Scared bb not nutritious, so 2nd tri try to give more nutrition.

Err.. where to get Hashima? i dun rem see it before ler

I also dnt know can get from where. I just go dessert shop n order one bowl n eat. Lolx

Yo joy, ya that was my intention but my helper say must "train" my dad according to the physiotherapist... Must try to let him walk abit.. That's y we didn't wheel him to the bed n asked him to try walking instead. He did it but abit tough cos he abit weak n not stable... N how m I not to exert strength to help him wor... I so worry he will fall... My helper quite well trained in taking care of him alrdy n she knows abt the pulling the back of his pants... Just that she isn't that big size n strong... Lolx
Maybe try letting him sit on the bed edge and do leg raise exercise for a few days first.. Build some muscles then easier to walk. Of course if can walk more will be good but in hospital got physio n nurses to assist.. Whereas you must take care of baby also. Take care. :)

Thanks joy!! Good suggestion. Will try that :p

Is it true that taking too much bird nest baby will get asthma? Wanna have it for baby for good complexion but I scare baby will have asthma,
I've not heard abt this. But heard if too much bird nest bb will easily have phlegm next time. Dnt know true or not. Lol

My dinner tonight... Ma chiam bb porridge... My fav! Got ikan bilis, dry scallop, chicken thigh meat, tomatoes & peanuts..... yumz yumz....Next time I worry I might snatch the porridge from baby! Hahaha

hi mummies, just wondering any mummies still experienced mild cramping at lower belly, dont know isit i walk too much today, have been having a nagging lower mild pain at my lower middle belly.

hashima is very cooling. dun think can take

my mil cook birds nest on its own with rock sugar only. but the amount she put in is scary, like porridge, drink liao i wanna puke. been on strike agst birds nest! hahaha!

Don't feel guilty. I still do my laundry and hang them inside (can't do outside anymore)...sometimes, I ask htb to come over in order to help me do my laundry. Sometime he get mad because I exert too much effort.

My MIL sponsored the birdnest. My htb said that it's an expensive kind so i should eat...hehehe, but I'm really not used to this stuff. One thing i proven though, i prefer a chilled (cold) birdnest than hot one...less smelly for me...i read somewhere that birdnest should not have any funny taste, but for some reason it taste and smell like a raw egg for me... :S

might be taste bud issue. now fresh milk and grilled salmon which i always loved, smell foul or sour to me. i can't even have my beloved cheese cos i will wanna puke

hi mummies, just wondering any mummies still experienced mild cramping at lower belly, dont know isit i walk too much today, have been having a nagging lower mild pain at my lower middle belly.

moi! chked wif gynae on monday nite, he said likely to be uterus stretching. he is not concerned unless thr is spotting/bleeding :( pain la, i asked for 1 day mc to rest. lol

ya :( is a nagging pain, had so much bleeding during 1st trim and already come so far, so now got abit of aches i will jump at fright :( looking forward to my detail scan !

yes you are correct.. hehe sorry if i didnt emphasie properly. :)
Haha donno how to tell my mil lei. She feels all those ginseng are nutrition stuff n I like hiam tis hiam that. Not nice lei. So juz hope that Korean ginseng is safe to eat. Furthermore she keep say I'm weak not enough nutrition

hmmm, i heard ginseng isnt really good for preggie mums to take, something to do with its properties and blood circulation effects , korean ginseng im not sure but i know most preg mums stay away from ginseng.

Babe also to ask your helper to b more alert? Highlight to her that your dad nearly fall down n b more attentive next time. Or ask her stay close to your dad n hold on to him whenever he's walking?

I noe it's hard. Not possible u seeur dad nearly fall down but do nothing. Hope your maid able to handle your dad well n u no need to help again

hmmm, i heard ginseng isnt really good for preggie mums to take, something to do with its properties and blood circulation effects , korean ginseng im not sure but i know most preg mums stay away from ginseng.
Ya that's y I told her cannot take pao shen cos might cause contraction she sounds abit unhappy le. She's being nice to me cook bird nest so I also don't wanna appear like act queen. U get what I mean?

Den she also gd enough say she's using Korean ginseng. Ask me check can anot. If cannot let her noe use what ginseng.

Babe also to ask your helper to b more alert? Highlight to her that your dad nearly fall down n b more attentive next time. Or ask her stay close to your dad n hold on to him whenever he's walking?

I noe it's hard. Not possible u seeur dad nearly fall down but do nothing. Hope your maid able to handle your dad well n u no need to help again

Hi deary, my helper is actually helping together with me jagaring my old man when he was walking this afternoon. My dad is quite heavy. One person will have difficulty handling him esp now his legs r weak after his fall.

Now I only pray hard hard he won't keep on shouting the entire night. He has been shouting almost every half an hour once... Really need God to bless me with limitless patience.... Sigh...

Hi deary, my helper is actually helping together with me jagaring my old man when he was walking this afternoon. My dad is quite heavy. One person will have difficulty handling him esp now his legs r weak after his fall.

Now I only pray hard hard he won't keep on shouting the entire night. He has been shouting almost every half an hour once... Really need God to bless me with limitless patience.... Sigh...
It's such a difficult situation for u now. Or try what joynpeace says train his muscle first.

Your dad shouting because he's feeling pain?

It's such a difficult situation for u now. Or try what joynpeace says train his muscle first.

Your dad shouting because he's feeling pain?
Nope. He just shouts now n then for my helper. Sometimes shouts for me. He cnt really sleep well at night n when he wants something, he shouts. Plus he's deaf so he can't hear how loud he is. It's v tormenting for me cos we can't have peaceful sleep. He shouts v v v loud.... :(

godblessmybb - be careful if u need to carry ur dad & r u staying with ur dad? u seem like a good cook and i like bb food too hee...but now after pregnancy, i quite scare of puree thingys...duno why.

i will sometime not really cramping but a heavy type of feeling feel duno izit placenta...at times i scare if my movement too vigorous will drop it (touchwood). I also can't wait for my detailed scan this mth end!

might be taste bud issue. now fresh milk and grilled salmon which i always loved, smell foul or sour to me. i can't even have my beloved cheese cos i will wanna puke

My tastebud changed too when i on lst trim...used to love bread, red bean, pumpkin which i can eat daily but i can't stomach it at all. Now ok leh...ur tastebud still not ok till now? Found that i prefer savoury food than sweet now..i used to like sweet than savoury.