(2014/01) January 2014

Darbebe > Don't worry. Talk to bb before scan. I did that before my scan and bb was in the correct position all the while so my scan only took 15-20mins! Much faster than my waiting time. Hahaha. I just did my Oscar & blood test yest. Costs about $240, at NUH Fetal Care Centre...

Gm > Have u tried avent's breast pads? I find them v good as well, essier to find than Lasinoh in SG... But chg so many like v waste money hoh. Lol!

CL: That's cheap. Think i paid $356 or something for Oscar and blood test at Parkway East. But i stay in east so bo bian.

Nope, not tried that i think. Will take a look, thanks! I just go Mothercare and get. I am member of mothercare liao. Anyone want 10% or 20% discount (can't rem member disc rate liao), let me know.
Yah lor... heartache leh. I tried the reuseable one, useless lah. My friend use the shell but i think it's just weird lah.

Oh yah, any idea which brand of disposable milk bag is good for freezing breast milk? I am using Lansinoh as well which is pricey but it's user friendly and contained a lot of milk. It can stand. Some i tried actually broke and have to throw away whole packet.

wah, u gals bought so many things already??? so far I only bought bra extension... hahaha ... still very loss here....

I also nv buy anything la. Just the cream cos I scare haha

My gf used autumnz (dunno correct spelling not) breastmilk storage bags throughout the year that she was breast feeding. She say cheap and good.

Gm: I used perfection. One of the korean brand. Got temperature indicator. Like hot, warm etc. Pricing is ok especially if you buy more. I personally prefer it over other brands like pigeon etc.

Shan, Alexis is right. Its a handheld device for us to "scan" our tummy to detect heartbeat of baby. But i heard cannot use it too early as may not be able to pick up the heartbeat. I know ebay and amazon selling. Here locally i dnt knw where got sell though

Lynhope: Don't fret over not buying anything yet. I am having #2, that's why. When i was having #1, i didn't buy till 3rd trimester coz before that, went reccee. The thing that you need to look at now, is pram. Majiam like buying car. I (my hubby that is) took more than 6months before we decided which one we wanted.

Shan: I never heard that it comes with temperature. Amazing! As for the heartbeat hearing device, I have seen at Robinson but not cheap. Over hundred at least. I never have one.

Alexis, I ate once few weeks ago. I only ate the egg n flour nvr eat the oyster cos scared not cooked enough

Vee and GM, I wonder how much Robinson sell.

Alexis, u r v welcome. I'm not sure actually can eat or not lah. If u have bad ms better dnt eat oyster egg cos it's kind of oily ya

Bra extender can get from where ah may I ask? Abt how much? I heard there's some kind of band for us to connect our tight bottoms so that we can still wear them for a slightly longer period but must use clothes to cover zipper part, where to get this anyone know?

<font color="aa00aa">GBOB, bra extenders can find everywhere..mostly near e cashiers at departmental stores' lingerie dept..n e belly belt thingy tink mothercare or maternity shops like spring maternity will sell..but I din need those e last x round, cos butt oso grew bigger together w tummy so can't even pull e pants/shorts up..Haa. Ended up shopping online at old navy's maternity or asos maternity..</font>

I got my hand-me-down maternity clothes from my sil and a colleague. As for bra, I changed to nursing bra after my usual ones got too tight. I only bought 2 maternity dresses when I was in Taiwan long before I was pregnant. Underwear were my usual normal low waist kind. But after my csec, I realised I can't wear those anymore as it just at the wound.

I don't think it is necessary to get the fetal Doppler. Some got it because they were worried abt the heartbeat of bb. Some got it because they feel more assured when they can hear the heartbeat. It is really up to individual.

GBOB: I got bra extender for about 2 bucks from value$ shop in changi city. 3 in a pack, those with 2 hooks. Colors are white, black n beige.

Heard of Bella band? It's to enable you to continue wearing your fav bottoms. I don't have one as I just wear fisherman bottoms bought fr Bangkok. Try not to spend too much $ on maternity as they are expensive and most not nice. Doll dress and flare dresses can be worn after delivery as well.

Mummies, I'm in my week 13. Dun post much as was down with cold and fever last weekend. Think the haze was so bad That it affected my nose badly. Now waiting patiently for my next review and amnio. At times I Dun feel pregnant too.

Gbob, glad to hear that both you and bb are doing well. Jiayou!

Morning mommies, I have a terrible rash on my neck and tummy area. Any suggestions as to what is good to apply and will not have any negative impact on baby? Thanks for advise .

morning mummies..... had my oscar done yesterday.... bb not in the right position and i have to keep coughing to get bb to face up...... finally done after 2 hrs inside coughing and trying hard to keep the urine from coming out cos sonographer kept pressing hard on it to make bb move... so far things are ok..... but bb a bit big for the week so ask me to monitor my sugar level.... sigh..... so now will wait till 1 month later than can see baby...

kmy, i also had major rashes breakout on my back.... more like pimples type.... gynae say it's hormonal so gave me a cream to apply..... if you are seeing gynae, maybe ask them for the cream then.

Lynhope, Gbob > dun fret about buying bb stuff, can do slowly, somemore now online so easy to buy things deliver to your place, can buy anytime! Like Gm, this is #2 that's y already know agar agar what to get loh. My #1, I bought most of the stuff only after bb is out! Hahaha! Pram included.

I think buy baby carrier more useful than pram in the beginning... Cos when my bb was just born, I'm so afraid the pram suspension no good on rough surface bb head will pain. Siao mummy right? Haha... First time bo bian lotsa worries...

Gm > for breastmilk bag I tried Lasinoh but there was once when warming up I realised the bag leaked. Cos the warm water outside all murky white. I then tried mendela. V good, I really like. Also can stand and thicker than Las but v exp. Lastly I just use pigeon. Feel it's cheap &amp; ok lah.

Shan > where can you get perfection? Sounds good to hv temp indicator!

Experienced mummies can I ask your advice on what kind of baby carrier is gd for newborn then? I've read that sarong carriers not so good as baby's neck bent too much but structured carriers like manduca, baby Bjorn not gd for baby's legs.. So now quite confused haha

Mummies, I will join you all on fb after first trimester k.... when bb is more stable....

RE:tight pants.
I read somewhere that we do not need to buy the hoops to loop around pants button. You just need to use the elastic band that you use to tie ur hair for it. Serves the same function and saves $.

Daphne, Have you been taking a lot of sugar filled food? Im so afraid of feeding bb wrong stuff but I love potato chips. Haven been able to quit totally....

Thanks girls for the advice on belly band and bra extender.

Yo nidellia, thanks dear.

Hi hi daphne, glad your Oscar scan went well after all. Must b torturous holding your bladder

joynpeace, actually sarong sling is very good and good support for the bb neck.... unless you put the neck out of the sling then no support but if you put whole bb inside the sling, it's good. bb carrier cannot be use or better don't use on newborn.... only when their neck is more stable then use.... i feel manduca is quite good and i even use it on my #1 when she was 3 yrs old..... but overall, i'm pro for the sarong sling or mums in mind sling..... i used it for both my #1 and #2 till they are 2+ yrs old cos that time travelling to places that is not stroller friendly but then the only cons is the weight on the shoulder as it's all on one side so need to master how to use the sling on both side....
so basically i use both manduca and the sarong sling but manduca is very under-utilized for me cos i think it's very hot for the bb and both my girls hated it and prefer the sling....

Paiseh, post again, super forgetful nowadays....
Would like to learn to crochet (coz feel like making baby mittens n booties)

Any mummies noe where to learn but not too expensive or anyone here already noes and willing to teach me?

Nidellia, hope u are alrite now! I was down last few days too.. having fever and block nose :D

btw u will be delivering at KKH rite? under dr tan hor?

happygal, actually i have not really been eating a lot of sugar filled food leh but during meals, i prefer to eat plain rice or just plain bee hoon with nothing or just meat cos i eat veg sure merlion... so i guess the carbo will turn to sugar and hence bb bigger? but i find it strange too cos my portion is not huge..... right now i can only take in half bowl of rice max and can never even finish a full meal.... so hor, i really don't know how come bb is bigger..... but i do eat quite a bit of preserved ginger and preserved orange skin (chen pi mei) so maybe the sugar also from there...... so now i hope once my ms subsides i can stop all these too..... counting down the days when i will just stop vomitting fully....

CL: you are right. Baby carrier is much more useful esp when in malls. My hubby and i love walking in the park so we got pram first as too hot for the baby in carrier. I got the sleepy wrap from Novena (Baby Sling &amp; Carrier). It's a great place to shop for baby carrier/wrap as they will demo and give advice. I have 3 baby carriers.. 1. sleepy wrap 2. sarong like sling (free from cot purchase at kiddy palace) 3. munduca. She sleeps with a snap of finger when she's there. Said to mimic the womb. I walk round the hse when she refused to sleep.

Hey mummies: is drinking milk really good for baby? #1 i had coffee everyday and hardly any milk. She turns out alright. Wonder if should do something different for #2.

GBOB ya quite torturing holding the bladder. somemore at one point when bb just refused to face up but kept facing sideway (which make me happy cos i can see the full face haha), the sonographer ask me to and release my pee slightly but cannot full release.... wah imagine on a full bladder and i just have to let go in like 2s and hold it back..... she say if i let go all then i got to drink and wait for my turn next cos got another patient behind me and dunno how long the patient will take..... so no choice, i just let out a few drips and quickly go back in and sonographer say why my bb still don't want to turn and kept pressing and pressing on my still full bladder...

Gm, milk got calcium which is good for us. for my #1, i drank a lot of milk.... basically a milk junkie.... for my #2, i cannot take milk cos i see only i will vomit..... not even my multi-vits and fish oil... for my #3, also no milk yet and just started multi-vits and i again cannot take fish oil cos simply cannot stand the fishy smell... maybe when my ms is over then i try the oil again....
and i don't see the diff between my #1 and #2 but i realized that what we don't like will be also what they don't like when out. My #1 is a milk junkie and #2 hated milk.... haha....

Gm, I dun really drink milk too.. kopi o once a day for my #1 oso turns out ok hee *keyword is moderation and since we will be havin calcium pills soon.. no drink milk shld be fine

Daphne: I am taking only folic acid given by the doc. Extra multi-vits and fish oil are nece? Rem that doc only prescribe the fish oil and calcium later in the stage of preg. Should I take now?

I love eggs before i had #1 and when preg with her, i hate eggs. She is bit sensitive to egg, will have rash if she eats it.
#2, I love eggs again but hate anything that is grilled. I need it fried.

Have a friend who cannot take milk during preg and baby turns out allergic to diary stuff. Weird huh.

<font color="aa00aa">Gm, milk is gd for e calcium..but Gynae gave me calcium pills oried in case I can't stomach milk..n he says rather we eat e pills than drinking too much milk ESP maternal milk..it's fattening n scared will put on too much weight..Haha. #1 I drank coffee throughout too w occasional milk, no calcium pills oso..she's ok now too..hee.
Regarding carriers, I've tried slings n pupsik pouch n carrier..can't seem to get e hang of slings, pupsik pouch is q easy when they're small, n yes carriers r gd when they're slightly bigger..manduca n ergo n beco carriers r fine for e bb cos bb is in sitting position, but some like bb bjorn e bb's legs r actually dangling..so it's not gd for their development..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Gm, Gynae started me on multi vits n fish oil n calcium in addition to my folic since wk 8..I tot its abit early too but since he say I jus take lo..mayb u can ask ur Gynae during e next visit..</font>

Daphne, doesn't sound to me like a lot of sugar leh. Hahaha... hopefully ur MS will stop soon then can hav a healthier diet.

Gm, milk is good but I can't stomach it unless it's flavoured. My gynae did give calcium, fish oil and iron supplements since wk 6. He also did mention that a cup of coffee a day is ok. No need to worry abt it.

Hmm, how come some of your Oscar scan need full bladder? Mine asked me to empty bladder first. Thus can see bb comfortably. The sonographer just need need to prod the baby by nudging bb, no need me to cough.

Wow u all so fast start multi vits. I only start when I finished 12 Weeks. Doc only gave me folic acid n duphaston before that.

Whoa... seems like my gynae is giving me basic stuff. Will ask for them next round. Thanks gals!

haha.. old wives tale say that coffee will make baby darker skin and milk fair skin.

Nidellia: I also did not have full bladder. I actually emptied out before I went it coz urgent liao.

Gm, my hubby says sleepy wrap not manly enough for him to use haha... Is the sleepy wrap hot to use? Looks like need to wrap a few layers..

Joynpeace: yes.. it's like a wayang thick cloth.. super long and thick. I recommend going to the shop at Novena to try. It is hot. Yes, not manly at all. These men ah!

So enlightening reading u gals' posts

I started my multi vits n fish oil since last week (week 8). Gynae say can start taking after first trim but no harm taking earlier anyway so he ask me I wan or not.