(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

saralyn yes one side. now I nurse her n pump at the same time. save time. as for screaming n crying while feeding, my girl used to be like that when she was one month plus. n its always during the last feed. she will scream n cry while nursing. v scary, I fig its wind in her tummy. hence I added rid wind in her ebm n she seems better aft taking it. had went thru few nights before adding rid wind n its like a magic.

Sigh.. It happened again to my boy.. This time I realised if I nurse him alone without his bro he is ok.. With his bro and on the nursing pillow he scream n cry so bad!!

Sade, same! 7+ is their last feed too and is always the crying one.. I thought is gas and I burp them but it only work sometime.. Sigh.. I will take your advise and feed him ridwind. Hopefully there will be improvement..

Bb, I last fed them at 4.. So there was a 3+ hour gap which my boy doesn't normally last that long in day time.. So I assumed he is hungry but just doesn't want to drink

bb wow 7pm. what time does ur bb wakes up? r u working? cos for me, I reach home ar 8pm aft work n dinner. then play with bb for awhile n then do housework n bathing n hence bb sleeps ar 11plus. trying to let bb sleeps earlier but due to my own late sleeping pattern, its seems like v difficult to let bb sleep early. gotta to try to let bb change her timing to at least 10plus.

yes its a reminder to all of us that we r really blissful to hv our little ones in our arms now. no matter how tiring or frustrating it is now, it will pass. guess the older they become, the more difficult to handle. eg when our kids r teenager, sure will hv lots of arguments... etc

Sade, he wakes up around 3am for another feed, then sleeps again and wakes up for the day 6-7am. I'm working part-time, and on the days I do work I get home pretty early by 5pm. Bedtime routine for bb starts at 6pm, after he goes to bed then I have dinner, shower, etc. Downside is that I have to wake in the middle of the night for a night feed - but since it's my hubby who usually gives the bottle and I have to pump anyway, I don't mind the 3am feed

Actually bb was the one who starting to set his own bedtime, he would sleep for long stretches if his last feed was after 5pm. So I worked around that and decided that 7pm would be a good time!

Sade, how do you nurse and pump at the same time?! Wow, pei fu

Saralyn, hmm I see...for me the other reason why bb cried and screamed was because let-down was too fast and bb couldn't handle initially...I hope the ridwind works for you

bb oh I see. no wonder u can settle bb to sleep at 7pm. I think the earliest I can put my bb to bed is by 10pm.
I just started to nurse and pump at the same time n in this way, my let down is faster for the pumping side. should hv tried it earlier. hehe. my bb is abt 6months old soon. I used to have fast letdown too n I rem bb was coughing almost choking while nursing.

Psp: I washed my hair using the herbal water after 10days. My max n blow dry. Then I wash every 3-4days once. Long hair n June is the hottest mths

My bb only 2mths. She on fm every 3hrly. Last feed ard 11pm next one she will ask is ard 4am. Then 7am. Normally put her sleep on high chair during the day. Ard 9pm I will bring her sleep in her playpen in the room until next morning ard 9.30am.

Sade, mine will be at 8.45pm with last feed at 8.15pm.
Then will have nightfeed at abt 1.30am. And the next at 6am.
I read that it will be good if baby sleeps 12h at night then plus those day naps to add to abt 15h a day.

I ever tried latch and pump...not easy leh.

Babysmurf, oh you stop bf? Through medication or naturally??

Initially I didn't wash until day 7, when my CL comes she says can wash hair and bath everyday using herbs so I hv been washing for 2 weeks. But last week I started hving rhuertism on my right hand and leg. So I stop bathing and washing hair. Only wipe my body with herbs. Now hv to do acupuncture twice a week, hopefully it will cure.

Today is my 30rd day, I don't know whether to continue until Day 40.

Rekibaby: my bm very little like 20ml every pump. + Some issues with my hormones. on tcm have to give up. Stop for 5days Liao. Felt little engored. Only pump out to release engorement.

Psp: I also have the same issue on my hand. Then I stop my hair wash. Change from every alt day to 3-4days. Wash with the super hot herbal water. Then no problem. Just another 10days to go continue la. Since you have ruhertizum. Don't blow cold air. Keep yourself warm. I still wear socks n slipper at home.

Thanks Babysmurf. I've been wearing socks and slippers since day 1 of confinement unfortunately still can't avoid rhuertism.

Hi all sis here, I need your advice. Currently I'm week 36 pregnant with twins and my hubby and I planned to do csect on 1 aug. However, since last night till now, i keep occasionally having this uncontrollable leakage (dunno isit urine or), not a lot but enough to soak my pantyliner. Is this consider water bag leakage? I don't feel any contractions till date but I'm suffering from PUPPP. Should i go hospital for a check or wait till full blown water bag burst? I dun really want to waste a trip to hospital if its not ready for birth. Both babies are still active in my tummy.

Adeline: pls go to delivery suite. Waterbag leakage very dangerous. Maybe need to deliver earlier. babies can be under stress also. My water level low no leakage ended up c sect.

Hi ladies need some help here. I realise I'm having blocked ducts. Suddenly felt lumps this morning and its hard and pain when I massage. Don't know why coz I have been pumping regularly. Anything I can do besides to pump more frequently? I'm pumping like every 3 hours and it feels like the initial period. Tml is Monday and hope will clear by then else may not have the luxury to pump so often.

Hi hope. Try putting a hot but not scalding wet towel on your breast and massage n pump at the same time. I remember when I visited a lactation consultant once n saw a lady with very bad blockages. The lactation consultant helped her massage the breast n pump and massage and pump..very tedious but think that's the best way.

As for myself, my problem is not enough milk. Baby already drained both breast till they are flat and limp, yet he is still hungry. 3 hrs after a feed, my breasts still feel soft n limp...aside from fenugreek, anyone got any recommendation to up supply?

Hi, heat will relieve block duct. I used to take a hot shower then massage harder will in shower. If ur baby can latch, latching is better than pumping. Baby can usually clear a block duct very quickly.

To increase supply, i took some fenugeek. Drink lots of liquid- fish soup, water, fruit juice, etc. after baby drink, do pump another 5-10 min. With increase demand, supply will increase. But think got one day gap or so. Need to be patient. Feed more freq and longer.

Hope, use warm compress or take warm shower, then massage to press out the lumps. massage before and during pumping. Must take care that the blocked ducts don't become infected

Hi ladies thanks for the advice! Just took a warm shower and massage in the shower. Now pumping and hopefully will be able to relieve the lumps! I hope I don't need the help of a LC... Praying hard!

Hi marble, I took scared tea but not sure if it helps coz I took it from the beginning for 1 month then stop. Drink lots of fluid and some says oats help.

Thanks all sis. I went to hospital on that day to check and was immediately told that my water bag has burst and was dilated 3cm. I had to go for e-csect on the same day! Both babies are born healthy, weigh 2.9 and 2.8kg each at week 36 and 3 days.

Hope, reminds me when I got mastitis a couple of weeks ago. I saw the lactation consultant for my block ducts and she said baby is te best pump. Other than that hot showers, hot compress and really squeeze & massage before and during pump. Sometimes pumping is not efficient, so after pump, continue to express. For me, I can usually get another 50ml total from both boobs by hand expressing after pump. Another thing I did (which drew laughs here when I last posted it!) was to lie baby on his baby, I get on all fours on top of baby, dangle my boob on top of him to latch. This way the suction and especially the gravity really clears the ducts. Just do this behind closed doors so no one sees you in this ridiculous position
hope it helps!

Bb, I saw dr f on Friday for my final review but my af came two days before my appt so he was not able to do a Pap smear. So I need to go back and see him again in 6 weeks time. You got a good bedtime routine for your boy! The fact that you can have social life after he goes to bed is amazing! Just 15 mins of latching from 6.45pm to 7pm is enough to lasts him till 3am? My bay is coming to 8 weeks now and his routine is still all over the place. The good news s that the evening crying is pretty much over (touch wood!). He drinks 90-100ml of ebm but still needs to get up every 2-2.5hr to feed. So I'm amazed your bot can lasts so long between feed on bm!

Saralyn, hope your boys' crying is better now. Did rid wind help?

Mummies, I'm still eagerly waiting for baby to smile at me. I think I saw a hint of smile today when I baby talk with him. Hehe, until the day he gives me a full blown smile, I'll take this little hint of smile first! I was so happy that I almost tear!!

Adeline, big congratulations and welcome to motherhood! Have a speedy recovery and enjoy bonding time with your babies!!!! They have great healthy weight !!!

Adeline, congrats and enjoy motherhood!
Lil Ponyo, I stopped latching free confinement lei and baby is already 4 month plus. Trying my best to make the ducts go away. Did u have fever then since u were down with mastitis?

hope better try to clear the block ducts away. did u delayed any pumping sessions lately? what is the longest duration? me try to drag till 7hrs now cos getting tired.

Lil good to hear that. soon ur bb will smile at u. maybe u should try to bottle feed ur boy more ebm during last feed so that he can sleep longer. how r u coping now? has ur cl left? maybe u can try to set a routine now sin ur bb is 2months old liao.

bb I m still amazed that ur bb can sleep so early. hehe. so u dont go out late? me always go out with bb n come home late on weekend hence my bb always sleep late.

Adeline, congrats and welcome to motherhood!

Lil, good to hear that the crying has stopped - your bb will be smiling in no time
Bedtime is bb's only routine, his feeding/sleeping pattern during the day is still all over the place! He used to have a last feed anytime between 4pm and 7pm, until I decided to try and "persuade" him to have a night-cap at 6.45pm as part of his bedtime routine. He's a pretty fast drinker, drains each breast within 5-8 minutes. Your boy is still young, it was only at abt 10 weeks that my bb started to extend his feeding time in day to 3-4hours and at night to 6-7 hours. He drinks between 130-160ml ebm at night now. Now I'm trying to settle his morning routine, but unsuccessful as he has his morning feeds at vastly different times :0

Sade, I do go out late - but just not with bb! haha...the latest I get home with bb is 6.30pm. The one time we tried bringing him out for dinner, he went to bed at 9+pm and messed up his night-time sleep for a few days, so I decided that would be the last time! So now he doesn't go out for dinner with us. And on Sundays we can only ta-bao as helper is off and 5.30pm dinner is too early for us.

Sade the longest I drag was around 7 hrs which is at night and when I go out. So body should be used to it I thought? Hope I can clear the ducts soon myself and don't need go seek help from LC. Abit Sian actually with the blocked ducts.... Pls faster go away!

My bb feeding schedule and sleeping time were not fixed yet. Messy messy..he always wake up early too .. like today he woke with me when I wake up to pump milk .. ha ha

Adeline; congrats and have a good rest

Adeline congrats! Wow your babies have fantastic weight! So exciting to have another twin mummy here. What are the gender of your babies?

I'm waiting for nuh confirmation as to whether I'll have my c sect tom. Can't wait to see my 2 boys!

Lil, happy to hear your boy is not crying anymore! And yes just take that as a smile! Haha. Soon he will be smiling at you jon stop whenever he sees you..

My boy still fuss abit here and there during feed. Luckily he also cried badly over the next day morning bottle feed.. As least i know is not about my breast/insuffient milk which causes him to fuss.. We concluded that it stomach wind/discomfort for him.

Adeline, welcome to motherhood and twins somemore! I'm a mum of twins boys! What's your twins gender? Hope we can share our experience and learn from each other.. Taking care of 2 is not easy but is really rewarding.

Small bunny, all the best to you too!! Suddenly we have afew twins mummies here now!

Bb, you did such a good job in setting the routine for your boy.. For my boys, they got no schedule at all in the day. Is so messy.. Want to set one for them soon..

I Intend to drag my pumping interval from 3 hours to 4 or even 5 hours now.. Will this drag cause my supply to drop? Currently I only pump 4 times a day.. 10pm, 1am, 4am and 7am. I realised this is really way too tired for me already.. For the past few days I can't wake up for the 1pm pump.. So thinking since my boys are coming to 12 weeks soon, can I start to drag the interval and not affecting my supply.

Somehow I have come to term that I am happy with what I can produce now. I know soon my boys will not have enough bm to drink during the night and I will just give them fm.. Pumping at night is making me way too tired that I can't have a good time with my boys in th day coz too short temper dued to no rest.. Actually I wanted to give up bf totally alot of times already.. Thinking less one items on my plate means less stress and I will be a much happier mum and will enjoy my boys more..

Congrats Adeline! Your babies are of v good weight indeed! Enjoy motherhood.

All the best for your upcoming delivery Small Bunny! Do keep us posted!

Hi Saralyn, I'm exclusive pumping and have dropped the night pump altogether. I pump 5-6 times a day now and despite dropping one session and sleeping 7/8 hours a day, my supple has maintained and even increased. Previously was 1.3 liters then up to 1.5 for a few weeks then 1.6 and yesterday 1.9.
I read somewhere that our body capacity to produce milk will match babies needs. Hopefully this holds true! I use FM for one night feed but as far as possible, EBM for the day.
It's great that for 12 weeks your boys have all EBM - that's a lot of sacrifice on your part esp the lack of sleep.

Mofmm, you are doing so good! I am not pumping in the day coz I fully latch them till 7pm which is their last one. Only last few weeks then they are on full bm.. Last time they will have one fm in the night but since then they did not wake up for that feed so no need to give them.. I am hoping they can have as much bm as possible but at the same time worry that by dropping one pump session the supply will go down..

Since you are not pumping at all at night you don't feel engorged? I am worry of this too if I drag long interval.

Hi twins mummy, I had 2 girls.
today the babies dr told me that both babies are developing jaundice and the two main reasons are 1. their blood type (A and AB type) and 2. they are premature and their liver not fully develop. She say maybe the babies need to stay on while i discharge, so i ask her if i can bring the babies home and get her monitor at polyclinic that is near my house. She dont recommend it and tell me the worst scenario that would happen if both babies jaundice are not taken care well. They may need photo therapy or even change blood (worst scenario). I look at my babies this morning and they still look quite radiant, not really yellowish. do u gals have the same problem? I hope the babies can go home with me.

Mofmm, WOW your supply is really good? I remembered that you mentioned you took medication to boost supply at the initial stage. still taking now?

Koirc, hows your soild feed for baby? what did you start with?

Sade, can share what solid food did you start with for your girl?

Hope, when are you starting solid for you baby? During baby's 4mth checkup with PD, he suggested that baby starts solod between 4-6 months,dun exceed 6 months. So im probably starting when baby turns 5.5 months....

Adeline, my boys got jaundice and one of them stayed an extra day. The one was discharged with me. But during the first pd visit, his jaundice level was very high n we had to rent the light/bed home.. He was put under the light for 3 days at home.

Hope yes, do pump more now to clear your blocked duct.

BB, oic. So you leave baby with helper when u go out? Is your helper a maid?

Reikibaby I also started my bb on solid when she was 24weeks and now she still don't really eat the solids. I started her with brown rice cereal and then apple n then carrots. But she only eat brown rice cereal. so now i only gave her brown rice cereal.

check out this website for baby food:
http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/

sade, my pd mentioned to introduce veg before fruits. cos fruits tend to be sweeter so once they tasted sweet stuff they aren't keen in veg.
thanks for the website.

Hi Saralyn, your boys PD from TMC too? The.blood test result for.the babies are 6.5 and 7.5. anything below 10 is consider safe but PD want to do prevention and decided to let them do photo therapy today. Is it costly to rent the lighting home?

Marble: You can ask doc to prescribe med. I am on Domperidone & Fenugreek. I had to stop BF for a few weeks coz of mastitis and fever and this made my BM supply almost gone. Now I'm rebuilding my supply and it is gradually increasing. How much Fenugreek u take?

Hope: Yup, I also had hard lumps, so I used the warm towel to massage and pump, and the lumps are gone now.

Ladies: Anyone knows of a good tingkat caterer? For SAHM. Pls PM me, thanks!

Hi hope. I just ordered myself some sacred tea. Will try it out. How many doses or days u needed to take to see results? I ordered 2 packs, only last 10 days. Hope I won't need to go on it longer as its quite ex.

Adeline, yes.. Mine is tmc pd.. My boys were around the same reading as yours n she put my boys under the lights.. But the next review one of my boy reading was 13. She told us if above 14, we will have to admit the boy. We were asked to rent the thing back. If I am not wrong one day rental is $80/90. Is 3 days package. We extended another day coz my boy was still quite yellow then.

Egg factory.

I tried raw fenugreek n fenugreek capsules before but feel their effects on me rather limited. Tried motilium before as well, also don't think it works that well for me and besides I didn't like the fact it was synthetic...

For fenugreek, when I was on it, I took 2 caps 3 times daily..I think. That was a few years ago so memory not so clear now..

Reikibaby, I intend to ask PD next month and maybe let baby try 5 month plus?

Sade, thanks for the website. Yah trying to pump more now but abit hard coz taking care of baby alone.

Egg factory, how long did u put the warm towel and massage? How long does it take for the lumps to dissapear?

Marble, Im not sure coz I took it once I get home. Drink about 3 cups a day. Yah lor it's quite exp lei. Hope will work on you!

Hope, I didn't have fever as the inspection probably has not happened yet. I got bad chills though and my boob with the blocked ducts was soooooo painful I couldn't hardly touch it. I called my doctor and he prescribed antibiotics for me to prevent infection. It is safe for breast feeding and only for 5 days. Just keep pumping and squeezing and empty your boob. All the best!

Sade, yes I'm planning to start baby on routine from now on. My CL left last Friday. On the days she left, baby was so cranky, won't sleep and kept crying. After one day, DH and I were so exhausted that we hired another CL! She is starting this wed. Think it's better for baby that we are refreshed and happy than being exhausted and tired.

Bb, my boy is still drinking only around 90ml. Wonder when he will up his intake as he has been at 90ml for a couple of weeks now. Really can't wait for his smile. Right now, I see his smile when he is sleeping and it is so precious

Saralyn, good job on fully latching till now! Sometimes I think my baby just latch for comfort before his nap which is pretty bad habit. Trying to find other ways to lull him to nap during the day. Sleep is so nice, I wonder why my baby just doesn't like to sleep! Especially when he is visibly tired.