(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Koirc, how old is your boy? Maybe is just these few days that your boy is not having good appetite? Hope he will resume back his milk intake..

Why don't just tell your mil straight? Or get your husband to tell her?

Saralyn : you sound tired to me which may affect bm supply. Once I sneaked out if the house to go shop for a while , myilk supply went up. I guess stress also affect bm supply . Beside that, prob is amt of fluids and the interval of each pump .

Lil u hv to take good care. Is it mastitis? Do rest n just nurse n nurse to clear ur milks. Do pump too if din nurse. Yes it's v painful. Try to massage any lump away. Drink more water too.

Koirc hmmm, i din hv such pro before. Maybe change another brand of fm? My girl will drink n sometimes won't finish all the milk. But nv din she skipped any feed. Or is ur bb sick?

Koirc, discuss w pd regarding starting bb on solid. From what iread, bb system is not that mature before 6m. And even some bb at 6m do not hve digestive system tat is ready for solids. Esp if parents hv allergies, best to start them solid slightly later. Like what sade suggest, change fm? Mayb you can ask for samples...cos before 1 year old, milk is still their main source of food.

Dian tang, ya.. Really very tired.. I actually missed my 1am pump this morning.. Slept through the alarm! Haha.. 5 hours and my breasts were so full.. But I felt so recharged and got difficulties going back to sleep after that. Haha!

I'll, hope your engorgement is better now..

I brought bb to see pd. Pd said no milk samples to give cos bb under 6 mths. She suggested I try using spoon to feed and consider feeding cereal in another 2 weeks leh.

Koirc, another 2 weeks will be 4months old right?
Maybe cereal is ok bah. Cereal also spoon feed..so hope your baby will enjoy milk and cereal via spoon.

Reikibaby, bb is 4 mths next week actually. Now I feed bb in small portion - 30ml each time and he is ok. Just drank 120ml. But need to make 4x lor. :S

Lil Ponyo are u ok? Do u have fever? Blocked ducts and chills sound like wat happened to me. Check with ur doc what painkillers u can take. Hope u get better!

Koirc did PD say why? Hmm maybe u can start cereal and see if bb likes it? My Gf gave her bb cereal at 4 mth plus too. Jia you ok! Hope it's just a case of no appetite for your baby.

I am in 7wks after delivery. My mens go haywired. Last wk come for 4days with cramps n stop. Now is back again. I want to faint Liao. Any advise how to stablize my hormone.

Hope, pd said maybe bb just no appetite. Need to try to see what whets his appetite. I am hoping I don't start bb on cereal so soon. My friend also starts her daughter on cereal at 4mths old.

Thanks, Sade, Saralyn and Egg Factory, yes unfortunately got mastitis and baby won't latch. Just ended my 5th week after delivery. I had chills for 2 days before my right boob got unbearably painful and it was only then that I made the connection and revelation that I have mastitis. Called my doctor and he gave me antibiotics which is safe for lactation & breastmilk for baby. Meanwhile, I need to pump on time and make sure I clear each boob as best as possible. Thankfully, no fever yet. Been monitoring my temperature and drinking lots of water and rest as much as possible. My right boob is soooo painful but had to grit my teeth and massage, squeeze, massage, squeeze. Today is my 3rd day on antibiotics and I'm feeling much better. No more chills, boob a little softer and some parts are still painful. Breastfeed (well pumping for me) is really not easy. Really sick of pumping. Only the thought of baby makes me persevere. Jia you!

Oh and it doesn't help that baby started Week 6 now and could be growth spurt or something but he is so cranky. Hardly slept last night. Yawn...

Saralyn, ya your fluctuating milk supply sounds like fatigue to me. It is really amazing how rest restore milk supply for me. Are you looking for a live-in nanny to look after your boys full time?

Koirc, glad that you consulted doctor regarding feeding baby. At least now you have peace of mind

Lil Ponyo: u must be suffering . Guess we need a lot of perservance for bf. today my breast pump die off in the morning and I quickly go and get a new pump .

Lil ponyo, I also find bf tough. Next week starting work n now I am starting to stretch my pump into 4 hr interval. Pumping at work is a luxury. The thought of work load stresses me. But my bb only turning 3 mth next week. I got to endure a bit more for bb.

Thanks Dian tang. Felt very good in the morning but now.. Sigh...

Mummies, need some help here..

One of my boys is super cranky since morning and he didn't want to sleep at all. Since morning till now only slept for 30 mins.. I can see that he is very tired but whenever his eyes closed, he will force it open big!! And start to be cranky and cry again.. The whole cycle keep repeating.. am exhausted now and I just broke down again.. Think is a matter of time I will get into depression..

I really don't know what is happening to him.. Is it because he is not full from nursing me? Or is he just being cranky? I am so worry his lack of sleep will hinder his development. His weight, height and head circumference is below the average since the last check.. And comparing him to my the other boy, he is much smaller size... How..

Saralyn, did you try carrying him pat him to zzz? My gal will be cranky when she doesn't take nap. Like what you said, she's very tired but can't get to zzz. For me the most effective way is to carry her and pat her and after that put her down in cot. We do this only when she is super cranky so thankfully hasn't been a habit yet. So now I always make sure she takes nap else night time will be difficult for us.

Lil, mastitis is horrible! Use warm compress or take a hot shower before pumping, it will help the milk stuck in the blocked ducts to flow. Please take care! I also went for breast massage to clear the ducts n it helped me tremendously. Let me know if you want the contact details.

Saralyn, hugs! It really is not easy looking after babies, cry it out if it helps to relieve tension. Think maybe your boy is cranky or going thru growth spurt? I read that babies need help to fall asleep even if they are v tired, you try carrying bb in upright position, pat him and rock at same time. Or use pacifier? I resisted using pacifier for many weeks but finally gave in at week 10 and it was a life saver..

Saralyn : could it be that the bb is still hungry ? My bb slept better after I increase the milk volume . Pacifier also helps . It is really difficult to know what the bb want . Got to trial and error .. Sign .

Hope, bb, yes I did carry him and pat him.. Upright position and rock, sway left right, use sling etc.. He just dont get into his sleep.. I already used up all my idea to put him to sleep. I gave him pacifier he used his tongue to push it out. He doesn't like it.. I gave him the fp soothing seahorse also no use.. Do you think I can bring him go see pd for not sleeping?

Lil, think I got the same symptoms as you afew weeks back when I went out over the weekend and never bring my pump along.. At the end, my breasts were so painful and hard that I couldn't even sit down and enjoy the Father's Day dinner with my family. I couldn't even touch them and the pain was so bad already. I went back and immediately apply hot compress and pump.. I pumped religiously throughout the night every 2.5-3 hours and till the next day then I felt better..

You must remember to continue to pump non stop.. Don't miss any session.. And massage it when the pain is bearable..

Dian tang, the thing about my boys is they still continue to nurse even when they full.. There were afew times I thought to let them nurse longer and eat till full full and end result, they vomitted when I unlatch them.. So, I just let them latch 35-45 mins every time.. I also suspected they are not full afew time and I gave in and fed them fm but they still cranky and didn't want to sleep after finishing the bottle..

Whiteclover, I told his pd during this last check that he always cry and arch his back. So she gave ridwind for colic and Zantac for reflux. I tried both on him but he still cry quite often. I highly suspect he Is over tired and so hard to get into his sleep..

LIl ponyo: How are you? Feeling better? Ya bf is not easy, we cant sleep more than 3 hours. I have to wake up in the middle of the night to pump the milk out. Jia You.

Saralyn: i agree with you. I went to see PD for my girl's jaundice and after 2 hours, my breasts get hard and very uncomfortable. I guess i have to carry the pump every where i go or have my girl to latch on.

Dian tang, let me try to give him the medication tomorrow and monitor. I will try to make sure he takes his nap in the morning no matter what.

This evening, after feeding them, I was so exhausted already and was so set to put my boy to sleep so I got to carry him, walk around and pat him.. I left my the other boy on the bed.. He was so cute.. He keep following me wherever I walk. If I were to walk away from his view,he tried so hard to turn his head or even body so that he can see me.. After that, I stood there tearing with my boy and told him to be a good boy as I was too tired.. He stared at me and smile! Haha.. Such thin really keep me going on.. I really don't know how I get the strength each day to look after them..

So all mummies, jiayou! Motherhood is really not easy!

Maybe God made mummies w short term memory..we forget easily abt the pain in trying to conceive, the pain during labor and the tiredness when raising a child. If anyone ask me if willing to go thru it all again, I will tell them YES

A little smile goes a long way.

Saralyn, my boy was like that and I used a method which is not advisable in case of SIDS. I let bb sleep on tummy and he could sleep very well. When we carry and rock bb to sleep and before we put him down in the cot, he will wail. So we tried letting him sleep on his tummy so he feel more "secured" and it worked. But someone needs to keep watching him in case he shifts himself and face downwards then it may lead to suffocation.

Being a mummy is really not easy. I think I am not so wei da. So although I would love to have a sibling for bb to grow up with, I may just stop at 1.

Hi Saralyn, sorry to hear of your troubles. I really empathize! I keep hoping things will be better but all mummies tell me this is the easiest part and things will get more challenging. I suppose the challenges will be of a diff nature but at least we have each other on the forum and Facebook for support and encouragement!

Lil, I can feel your pain. I had mastitis twice. The last time was really painful and for some reason, ducts get blocked even when I pumped regularly. I even hand express after each pump to ensure I clear the milk but alas. And twice I had fever. My first exp is same as yours. I get chills. I gave up bf the 2nd round. As they say, once bitten, twice shy. But I always felt that I should have persevered. So don't give up. Once the blockage is cleared, you will be fine. Takes a while but it will clear.

Ladies, I really cant stand my CL. She is here only for one week but i really feel like asking her to leave.

First, she doesnt tie her hair and wash only alternate day. Her hair always land on my girl face. She is always on the phone and ipad, when cooking, coaxing and carrying bb, she is on the phone. Sooner or later my bb will be as busybody as her cos she is always gossiping on the phone. And how can my bb sleep in peace when nanny is always talking and laughing loudly on the phone. She is basically 14 to 15 hours on the phone or ipad.

She doesnt do bb laundry cos i used washing machine. But this morning, i saw my bb mittens with some bb poop on it and mixing the wet hankerchief. She dumped everything in the pail and create a very unpleasant smell.

OMG.... She never listens to instructions somemore. I told her to use the Medela teats which is similar to our nipples so that bb doesnt rely on bottle but she always dont listen.

How am i going to tolerate her for another 3 weeks.

Anyone encountered the problem where baby is too attached to CL? Like nobody can stop him from crying besides CL... I feel so useless sometimes

Egg factory, baby usualli attached to the person who take cares of them most of the time. They seek comfort through that familiar smell they get whenever they cry and need comfort. If CL is always the one feeding,bathing and carrying baby then naturally they will be more comfy with CL. So a week before CL leaves, you have to take over the carry or ask hubby do it. Else once she leaves you and bb will have difficulty adjusting.

Whiteclover, bb does it again in cot while entertaining himself but he doesn't do it continuously. So I think it's not one-off?

Egg factory: I also experienced that cos CL is more experienced in carrying the bb and bb used to her carrying . After CL left a few days, it would be ok . Dun worry just rest well this month.

Hi Koirc, wow you bb can flipped already, that's great. I'm waiting for my girl to surprise me.

Same sentimental, when I was young I used to think I want to be a full-time mom and I want to have few children. Now I get the taste of being a stay at home mom, really tough. My gynae wanted to discuss with me about my only snow bb... I am doubting if I can cope with more kids, plus my age.. I may stop at one too...

Thanks mummies, my mastitis seem to be on the mend now. Pump, hand express, massage and squeeze! I even tried this ridiculous latching position with my baby that I read online. First I did it in my bedroom with the door closed so no one can see how ridiculous I look! I put baby on his back and I get down on all fours on top of baby and hang my boob on top of him. This way latching is easier and when he sucks, gravity also does its job and helped clear a bit. LOL!!

Mastitis is really horrible so I really empathize with mummies who had to endure it. And you, Koirc, for going through it twice! I remember what you went through and you HAVE persevered so much! Don't feel bad!

Saralyn, hugs!! I can understand what you are going through. And some days are especially bad. Your boy sounds like my boy. Inconsolable crying (mostly evenings) and we don't know what he wants. His whole body would stiffen and he would push so hard away from me when I tried to hold and sooth him. Yesterday, I was up since 2.30am because my boy won't sleep. Then I found this online and it helped reassure me that baby's crying is normal and okay. I think all of us have tried whatever tricks & tips we know of to sooth baby already. But sometimes it still doesn't work So this article has helped me gain acceptance and hence mentally prepared me to handle it better. Hope it helps you. Jia you! You are doing a great job!
http://purplecrying.info/
http://gulliblenewparent.blogspot.sg/2011/07/explanations-for-your-cranky-baby.html

Usagi, all the best when you go back to work next week! I'm planning to stop pumping when I return to work. My HR already told me there is no where to pump in the office. All rooms have big class windows with on blinds. And our toilet is pathetically tiny. They told me I walk to the nearby shopping center and use their baby room. This is not practical for me. How to stop work and walk 10-15mins to the shopping center and pump?!
BB, thanks for the offer of the massage contact. I'm good for now and hopefully won't need it ever!

Mofmm, funny, my SIL was just telling me that too! Like "oh you think this is hard, wait till he turns 2, 3, etc". Sometimes I wonder why mummies of older kids can't empathize with us new mummies.

Egg Factory, my baby is like that too because CL spends a lot of time with him. Don't worry, CL will leave eventually and you will start taking over towards the end of the month! For us, we have CL for 2 months. So now in our 2nd month, we take over night duties 2-3 times a week. Some times not the full night but from 3am onwards. Like a tag team. It's good training for DH and I too because we still have the chance to ask CL the next day if we have any questions.

PSP, there there, hugs! Can you hide the other teats and just leave the Medela ones? Ya, I would be upset too if my CL is on the phone most of the time. That's not very good of her. If from agency, you can get replacement. If she is really upsetting you more than helping you, you may need to discuss with family/DH if you really want to ask her to leave or to have a talk with her. So unpleasant, I know.

Lil, omg, that's funny. :p

Reikibaby, I didn't witness the first flip. It was my hubby who told me and then this morning when I went to the cot, he has already flipped himself. So I didn't see the action per se.

Btw ladies, any of your babies turns cranky in the evening? My bb always wails at around this time. Hubby said maybe he's afraid of darkness cos he always cries at the evening time. Could it be true?

Koirc, my boy is exactly like that. Cries between around 7-10pm every night since Week 4. The "period of purple crying" article that I attached the links above wrote about that. It's very normal for babies cry mostly in evenings. In fact, right now my son is screaming his head off. CL is trying to sooth him.

Reikibaby, dian tang, lil ponyo: ok thanks, yes i am gradually taking over her duties like feeding, bathing. But i feel tired easily, can't imagine round the clock duties. We have CL for 2 mths too. So many things to learn.. bb puked his milk past 2 nites, realized my feeding style is wrong.

Lil ponyo , glad you r recovering from mastitis.

Koirc, I did that too.. Let him sleep on tummy too.. Every time I put him down he is awake..

Anyway, thanks alot mummies. He took his nap quite regularly today and he is a happy boy just afew crying here and there which is his sign of wanting to sleep. Putting him to sleep wasn't hard too! Infact he fell asleep by himself twice today on the bed without me carrying him. So happy today!

Mofmm, ya.. All people telling me to prep for worst.. I was thinking to myself now is not the worst? I thought my life will get better as they grow older.. One of my gf gave me an example.. When they know how to flip, you have to constantly keep an eye on him!

Lil, the feeding position is really funny! Haha!! Glad that you are feeling better! Thanks for link! Will go read it later..

Egg factory: I suggest you take a good rest in ur first month as u feel tired . Leave the taking care bb chores to the CL . U can slowly take over at the second month . My CL do everything for me until the last week , I do the bathing for bb for practice.

Lil Ponyo: glad u feel better. Ha ha ur method is funny but who care when it can works

Koirc: u must be thrilled to c the bb flip

For the darkness, I usu on a table lamp when he is sleeping especially when he is alone in the room .

Saralyn, ya! My bb also always cries when we're about to put him down. I wonder when he will get better with it cos it's going 4 mths already!

Dian tang, the lights were on. Just the sky turning dark...

Koirc: oh I see ha ha.. My bb also feel insecure when we are not ard him . Especially he will wake up when we are up . Strange he can sense noone is beside him .. Ha ha