(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Usagi, my bb is 11 weeks old. My maximum yield is 100 ml. Also not enough for bb. My mum also asked me to put bb at her place on weekdays. And for my own sanity, I decided to stop breastfeeding when I go back to work. I have 7 more weeks...

Koirc, did you try looking after them? I also never tot I can do it but the strong determination helps me abit.. I must say is really tiring..

I also can't meet the demand of my boys.. Somehow I feel very useless as a mother who can't produce enough milk for them.. Sigh.. My husband has been telling me otherwise but I still think like that.. Am still pumping every 2-3 hours depending on the boys hoping I can meet their demand but sadly no.. Sigh..

My baby only 1wks old since to have lot of issues. Now she on fm, 1 days 2x on bm. Her poo poo only 3x per day. Is that normal? N her eyeballs yellowish instead of white color. She failed her 1side of hearing test. Regretted that I didn't hire CL. My mum do confinement for me. But at nite I have to take care of my baby. I am dropped dead tired. Day time, my mum only help my shower her n on off look after her. Most of time is myself doing that. N my mum like to compare with my sis. Feel so depressed n helpless.

Thanks Koirc and Sade. I felt better voicing my woes here.

Babysmurf, I understand. I also never hire CL but my mum helps me in day. Initially, I cried when evening comes. Felt helpless with bb alone. Hubby can't help much as he said he tired after work n need to do MBA coursework.

The most tiring part is evening to next morning, having to feed n pump. If u feel can't cope, hire a CL now? Still not too late. Remember to sun your bb in morning n evening sun, then bb will be fine.

If I were to choose again, I think I might hire CL to make our lives easier. I did order confinement food to help lessen the stress. Jiayou! U should rest more in daytime when your mum is there so that you got energy for night shift.

Hugs to all mummies here! I feel you all when you talk about difficulties of looking after a bb, especially without CL. I didn't have one either but my hubby help out at night and later on my mil came over to stay n help out. I was quite resistant at first but eventually I was too exhausted and gave in. What kept me going was my friend telling me that the first 2 wks are the worst, and that it gets better after 6wks. Still tired, but won't feel so depressed. Hang in there!

Usagi, koirc, I bought Korean bags from SMH seller cos it's much cheaper - I used medela n Lansinoh n find both are good, but too ex!

Usagi, you are frightening me. I did not go bk gynae for 2nd review... oh dear..how to see not healing well? Your wound still pain? How to see have tissues growing?

Hope, sade, when did you all go back dr loh 2nd review? 2days ago i felt part of my stitch abit pain...then quickly apply cream tat they gv....now tat usagi said abt hers...im worried.

Koirc, my mil oso hv nuting nice to say abt and to my son. I will just ignore. Then when i carry my son back, i will tell my son that mummy loves him and ignore whatever grandma says. Mummy loves the way you are.
And yes my mum also likes to say "mummy says you cannot....." then when i carry my son i will explain to him why cannot this and that and purposely let my mum hear. Then will tell my son must listen to mummy...haha...so eventualli my mum just have to follow but it takes her time to accept. At the end of the day i just wan the message to get to both mum n mil that im the mother of my son so i decide whats to be done not
them.

Babysmurf, to clear jaundice most pd will suggest on fm as they believe bm dun clear jaundice fast. I insisted to be on full bm so my son jaundice was up down and eyes yellowish. but thats also becos his level was not in the danger zone.
If you notice, his upper gum in mouth will also hv tinge of yellow. Polyclinic wants him bk weekly for prick test but eventually i din after 2weeks cos its just too painful for him. As long as he poos n pees well and drinking well, i knw he will recover soon. My son practically poos after every feed. Then slowly to 1 poo after every 2 feeds after 1mth. From what i understand, baby on fm dun poo as much as those on bm.
Cos he is on full bm so his jaundice oni cleared at abt 2mths old. My pte pd told me not to worry when i see him when my son was 1mth old. Probably cos i was on tbm so expected to last 2-3mths. Whats your girl's jaundice level?

Reikibaby, u dun scare. If everything ok, I would have been discharge at first review and only see gynae back one year later. Coz I not ok, that is why kept going back. If u ok, your gynae will ask u see him one year later so u dun scare yourself. I can now only cross my fingers. Hope my wound heal by 3rd visit. U can't see your own wound but you can feel. In my case, the wound near anus so when I bath I could felt that area super raw.

Babysmurf, make sure you sun your baby everyday twice.. 9am and 5pm.. The jaundice level will drop as time goes.. But make sure it doesn't go up to avoid admitting her to hospital for sun tanning. One of my boys had quite high reading and the pd made use rent the light back home to sun him.. She was saying if the level was abit higher, then she will have to admit my boy.

Saralyn, I tried looking after my bb for one day and I cannot take it. I get stressed out when bb cries! I really admire you all who can do it especially those with twins. Really not easy.

Reikibaby, I will try next time. Yesterday my hubby did that to MIL, telling baby "ah ma says...". I told hubby she won't get the hint! Haha...

Anyway I am zombified today. Hubby traveling today so I had to do night duty. Bb woke up at 12, 3 and 5! And then 7 again. Now sleeping on my bed and don't wanna wake up! I am so shag!

Koirc, your baby wakes every 3h at night?
Actually its just a matter of adjusting our time and work to their sleep schedule. Slowly you will see a pattern like which part of the day where baby will just drink and sleep and when they will just want to be cuddled or play on their own. But if you are intending to be weekend parent when u start work then go get mum to help in the day now. 24h shift its not easy. I always look forward to weekends cos hubby will declare those are my off days. Yesterday hubby was with bb alone for 2-3 hr. When im back, he just cant wait to pass baby to me. Then he commented that im so 了不起 to be able to handle bb alome whole day.....haha...i feel so good.

Koirc, he wakes for night feed ah?

Reikibaby, he says my healing power slow, I say maybe I too tired didn't get enough rest.

Thanks bb abt the milk bag.

Ladies: Can i ask the mother if your CL allows you to wash your hands with water or have to use rice or vinegar to wash your hands?

koirc ya its v tiring to look aft bb, but soon u will get used to it. its only the start of motherhood.. jia you!
some babies r more easy to look after some r not.

reikibaby u r one great mum.

Hi ladies have been missing for awhile haha.
Reiki, I'm due to go bk for review mid June. U? By the way did your baby sleep thru the night? Mine suddenly wake up at night more quickly... I'm wondering if its growth spurt? Read that growth spurt will be around 3 months and she's now 10 weeks.

Sade, you also supermummy to look after your bb yourself too. And somemore working mummy.

Alison i will use warm water.

Hope, i havent make appt w him yet.
My baby will have one last feed at abt 10plus then wake once at night abt 4 then nxt will be abt 7/8.
Still waiting for the night he sleeps throughout. HahA

Reiki, I see. That's Gd! My bb usually wake up once around 2-3 then wake up again at 6/7.... But last few days she woke up more. Today will increase her feed abit see if she finishes Hee. Me too waiting for the night she sleeps through haha!

Reikibaby, you're so lucky! Did you set bb on routine? My bb always changes. His last feed used to be at 10pm and then he will wake up at 2am then 6am. Last week he slept through one night and I was so happy! But now, wake up at 12, 3 and 5-6!

Usagi, 3am he woke up but don't want to drink. Had to carry and rock him back to sleep. :S

Sade, yes, motherhood is tough!

Hope, my bb is 11 weeks. I see no growth spurts. Instead, he's drinking less...

Hope, usuali give 150ml which is his current amount. Last night blur dh gv 100ml, then bm/fm, all dun make any difference. Just that with lesser last feed yesterday, he woke up at 4 very angry. Lolz
Once brought him out then he super tired when home. Had last feed at 630pm and slept like a log for the nxt 10h.

Reiki & all other mummies, when you all say last feed does it means you will wake your baby up to drink even thou is not their feeding time? N at what age does your baby only wake up once per night?

My boys wake up anytime.. No specific time for them.. That's why I am trying very hard to set routine for them..

Sade, thanks for the info on how long the milk can be stored.. Another qn.. How long can heated ebm be left outside? Sometime they can't finish and I can't bare to throw my precious bm away..

Koirc, i usuali tried to drag his feed in the day so that last feed will be abt 10 or 10plus. In the day, after feed, i wil let him rest and lie dwn for 20-30mins then will pat or cuddle him to sleep. When he wakes it will be next feed. So this will follow thru the day. But come evening he usuali nt tat coorperative. Haha maybe he knows dad hme so wans him carry. So usuali wont wan sleep but i still will pat n cuddle to get him sleep so that he follows a routine?

Hi Super Mummies, in less than 24 hours I will join your club
hee hee. Getting pretty nervous, not of the surgery but of the whole new life from tomorrow onwards!

Last night, my FIL gave us some Chinese names options he looked up. We didn't like them at all. Sigh, anyway, may I know which naming master would you recommend? Think we need to do some searching ourselves for more options. Thank you!

Koirc, you are not uptight at all! I think all of us mummies have an innate and fierce protective instinct for our babies! We carried them for 9 months and they are so precious. I already told my mum that I don't care how many relatives I offend, if I see something not right, I will just say it because my son's well being is more important than their feelings. Hopefully, you will be able to find a happy solution when you go back to work. It really is not easy.

Saralyn The most, for heated ebm i will only keep for 1 hour. but if can't finish, i will only use it within 15min. Cos for me, supply more than demand. Although v wasted to throw away, but it's free. I understand the heartache to throw it away. My hb threw expired milk for me. hehe.

PSP i dont have CL but i will wash my hands, cos bf sure have to be hygiene. I use either warm or just normal tap water to wash my hands. I rem you mentioned that you are looking forward to pump milk right, so must be hygienic.

Reikibaby, my bb sleeps through the night sin many weeks back, but till now i haven't sleep through yet cos need to pump. It's been many many months sin i had a good night sleep already. So tiring.

Lil Ponyo, so excited for you. Keep us posted soon. I wen to taomaobi for chinese name. $88 for naming, or $128 for detailed naming.

Babysmurf, yes must try to sun your bb front for 10min n back for 10min. soon the jaundice level will drop. Guess it's your hormones that making you unhappy now. don't worry, soon your bb will be fine.

Sade, how much are you pumping nw.
Now tat be wakes once at night we v happi liao. He wakes to remind me to pump. Lolx.

Lil ponyo, yeah!!!! Jiayou!!!

Reikibaby, my bb is very fierce and doesn't give warning when hungry. So I cannot drag feed otherwise it will be very difficult to calm him down. My bb like yours - not cooperative when evening comes. Plus bb is now drinking less than he is supposed to! He used to drink 120ml and then now only 60 - 90 ml per feed leh. So I still keep to 3 hour intervals.

Lil Ponyo, thanks for the encouragement. All the best for tomorrow. Am sure you're very excited now. Keep us posted!

Iil ponyo.. All the best and wish you have a smooth delivery n speedy recovery!

Sade.. Thanks for the info.. Ya..mis so heart pain to throw away..

Reikibaby i m pumping abt 120ml-180ml now. It's been four months alrdy and i think my milk supply has stabilised.

Koirc my bb is still drinking abt 80ml-150ml, reckon that at times, bb is like us, good n bad appetite. Don't worry as long bb is growing well then it's ok. My bb still drinks 3hrs during daytime. But at night it's abt 10hrs sin last feed.

I am really very happy my mum came to help me. I could take a 2-hour nap without any anxiety!

Sade, has your bb been drinking this amount or is it a regression? Cos mine is. He was drinking 150ml at one time then suddenly intake dropped.

Thanks ladies, will definitely keep you posted! Just went to the saloon and got my hair washed. The head massage was so shiok! Should have done it more often during pregnancy!

Sade, thanks for the naming recommendation! Will check it out!

Babysmurf, hope you are feeling and coping better. I also read that first 2 weeks are the hardest. Please hang in there and rest assure that you are a great mummy and doing your best. People tell me that babies are more resilient than we think. So don't worry too much. Take care! Hugs!

Koirc,i don't really know cos most of the time i latched her, but just that she can drink 150ml on n off. N her weight gain is on track. She doesnt finish her milk every time. But the most is 150ml.
Great that ur mum helped u and u can rest in peace. hehe.

Lil: less than 24hrs u will join us.

Baby went for review jaundice level shot up super up to 200+. Under feed my baby. That y no much poo poo for her. Now up her intake to 60ml.

Lil, so excited for you! Jia you n update us when you can!

My bb also slept from 11-5 plus last wk, but this wk has gone back to waking up every 3 hrs for feed...dunno how come he seems to be moving backwards..

Hi Lil Ponyo, all the best for tomorrow! Do keep us updated ok?
Congrats on your new purchase

Hi Babysmurf, let me know if you need a CL - my CL has a group of CLs she works with and can recommend one to you at short notice. I extended my CL for another month, taking care of them at the night plus 3 hourly pumping is too tiring. Almost died the first night. Now at least I can rest, look into insurance policies for the girls, return favors etc.

Will post more - have to pump now

Mofmm: I staying with my mum. N she doing confinement for me. Just that the nite time feeding alone is killing me. Lucky yesterday bb very guai. Wake up every 2-3hrs for feeding. Daytime she can sleep longer. Now have to get use to this lifestyle. cos soon or later when we return to work. at nite i also have to take care of her. Poor girl Tmr have to go back for jaundice test again. Heart pain. Poor little foot.

Ladies: can we mix 2sessions bm togather. My 1pump still cannot meet my girl demand. I can only yield 40ml. But my girl is taking 60ml already. If give 40ml bm, I like short change my girl. Haizzzz scratch head.

Hi Babysmurf, yup I am bone dead tired from the night expressing. Now 11pm pumping later 2am then 5am then 7pm have to get up. So tired I can't think straight.

Today I also went to Polyclinic for the twins' jaundice test. Make sure they don't jab on the same heel as before. Check for little bruising around the heel from previous jab

Mofmm: I didn't go with my girl. Is my mum n hb bring her.
Quick check with u. When u remove the dressing? I cannot remember is 1wks from discharge date or what. When u going back for dr tan's review?

Babysmurf, tot test for jaundice once a week. Hw come yours so close. Yes you can mix 2 sessions of bm. Or in a session, you can feed 40ml bm then followed by 20ml fm. But easier if you mix 2session bm and gv it to her a one go.

Mofmm, try rest mre in the day. Sleep when bb sleeps. Cos theres not much you can do. With CL u shld be resting more.

Reki: sat tested 85. Today test 200+. Dr want to monitor 24hrs is still high have to go back to Kkh. N under feed her also. She only poo once today. Haizzz. Dr encourage to continue bf her

Congrats to all newly promoted mommies...

have been MIA for a while, reading the forum in silent.

Babysmurf, I didn't have CL, and my mum is not in good health to help me. My aunts asked me to hire a maid and don't need CL. In the end, I started bathing my bb 3rd day home from hospital. I'm handling the bb from day to night till now. Cos maid said she not experienced. I really regretted not having CL. At least I could have good night sleep duing confinement and reduce the chances of touching water.
Now I'm pretty used to the 3hr routine day through night.
I have decided to send the maid back to agency. Cos I'm already quite tired dealing with bb, I don't want to deal with a maid, though she can help out with house work in morning. I'm jealous cos she have more rest time than me and still have so much time to read the newspaper when I don't even have time to sleep.

Koric, you've done so well thus far. I have stopped BF for a long time as I could never get enough, only a few drops each time. My bb on FM since birth. My bb drinks rather little compare to yours and others bb. She drinks at most 85ml. Her feeding time varies, sometimes 2.5 sometimes more than 3 hr. At night she'll definitely wants milk ard 1-2am and 4-5 am then the 2.5 or 3 hourly routine kicks in.
I'm also so shag, thinking of sending her to infant care when I work part-time.

Thanks ladies! Going to try and sleep now! Will keep you posted
lots of nervous energy running through me!

Znatasha, long time no see! You are supermum too, handling baby by yourself. If I remember correctly, you work around Tanjong Pagar right? Recently Lifejourniz on Craig Rd wrote to me saying that they have vacancy but I've already booked infant care at another centre. Perhaps you can enquire with them. Best to start looking earlier and book first and then you can decide later if you really want to send baby there. At least you have a place as backup. Take care!