(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hi ReikiBaby: My gal on both bm and formula. I pump out bm and bottle feed her. Bm day time if I manage to pump out enough for her and night time is formula so that she she sleeps longer at night. Not very successful in latching her.

Koirc: If your bb not comfortable with the faster flow, you got to change back to the old teat. Upgrade the teat only once bb seems frustrated with the slow flow and suck very hard.

Saralyn: oh not easy to take care of two babies. Did u plan to get extra helper?

Mofmm : it was quite bad initially. These few days I am better . But still tears when alone pumping milk. I tried to play with bb more often and I forget the post natal blues .

Kittykatty: may I know how much your girl drinks now? For both bm and fm? I also doing the same as you now for my boys.. But they seem to be waking up very 1.5 - 2 hours screaming for milk again. I read for fm, we should give abit lesser than bm as it will expand in their stomach.. I tried to up their volume but kinda worry is too much for them..

Saralyn, baby will not drink more when they are full. My pd said used 3h as a gauge. So you can try increasing my 5ml-10ml each time till baby feeding interval is 2.5-3h.
When i was giving bm n fm at week 1, the amount i gv for both will be the same. Or fm can be lesser than bm by 5-10ml. Cos newborn poos and pees alot so and also by week2-3 they hv growth spurt so will drink more. And also boys drink more. When i just delievered, the pd told me to increase milk by 5ml every 2-3days. Alot trial and error to figure out the right amt our boys need.

Reiki, thanks for your info.. My pd also told me the same.. My boys are 3+ weeks and they are drinking 90ml of ebm... Which I think is abit too much for their age.. Even with 90, they are asking for milk again very often

Saralyn:I am also giving ard 80 ml for bm and 70ml for fm. Doc advise is the volume to feed = baby weight x 20 . My bb boy also scream ard 2 hrs for milk if he feed on bm.

Finally had time to post....

Baby girl had a bit high level of jaundice... Past week was a learning journey.... Bb stayed for a day at kkh nursery for photo therapy and jaundice improved from 221 to 176 .... Today went back to polyclinic to check and level dropped to 138 ..... Happy to see her drinking more and sleeping ....

Next week I m gg back to let Dr Khoo remove stitches.... Scare pain pain *_*|||

Saralyn: My gal is drinking about 110ml for bm and 100ml for formula now. Sometimes she zzzz before she finish the milk. Same as ReikiBaby I also use 2.5 - 3 hours as a gauge too. If bb show sign of hunger anything lesser than 2.5 hours frequently, perhaps is time to up the milk intake a bit. If not very siong, to feed bb so frequent especially the wee hour.

Ladies: Just to check, how frequent should bb poop? My bb only poop every alternate day recently. Should I be concern?

Girl girl: Congrats
Welcome to motherhood.

Thanks Dian tang.. Is very tiring to feed every 2 hours right? Shack!

Kitty katty: thanks for the info! We tried to but alittle worry for 3+ weeks babies to drink 100ml of milk.. Anyway I just bottle fed them 100ml now.. Hopefully can last for 2.5-3 hours.

Can I check if any of you experience the problem of milk collecting under the bottom of nipple when you pump with Medela ? Quite a bit of my milk seems to be wasted this way - trapped between breast shield and nipple like a lubricant?
Wondering if the breast shield is too small? Wonder other than KK pharmacy is there anywhere else I can go to get fitted for another shield if necessary?

Saralyn, dun worry. Boys tend to need more. My boy drinking 100ml at 2weeks old. As long as they are not drinking alot and vomitting out then we arent overfeeding them.

Kittykatty, my boy is also poong on alternate day. I know some who dun poo for days. Cos you mix fm n bm so shldnt be an issue with this poo pattern. If fully on fm then maybe bb is heaty, but on bm its normal. As long he is not constipating and poo poo yellow seedy (cos on bm) or bit of greenish (cos of fm) then our bb shld be ok.

Mofmm.. I have the same issue.. So I will tend to lean forward when I pump and after pumping, I will lean more forward to take out the shield.. You can get different sizes of the shield from a lot of places.. Mum & babes is one of them or you can go online to buy too..

Reiki.. Thanks for letting me know that.. At least I don't feel so scare now..
status now is slightly over 2 hours... Hopefully the don't scream for milk in another hour..

Saralyn, when 3h is up, they will scream for milk. My boy does that and i will ask him why cant he just wake and smile to me instead of screaming for milk. But then i realised that if he smiles when wake, i will probably drag and not feed him. Haha so i told hubby the babies leant to ask for milk in a noisy way. My boy will cry like he was being abused each time he wakes for milk. Very scary. But now he is 2mth plus, he tones it dwn cos he will suck his fingers when he is hungry. If we continues to ignore him then he will gv that last loud reminder. Lolz

Girl girl : my stitches dissolve after a few days . The only thing to remove is two knots on each side . Dun worry it is not painful at all .

Breast shield : I also faced the same thing . Is it due to the shield size is not correct?

Thanks Saralynn, it works better though it is painful for the back and the C sec wound to keep leaning forward so the milk will flow.

Hi Diantang, Thinking of getting one size smaller as I think the aerola is being pulled into the shield...must go n find the Medela promoter and see if can test the diff sizes.

Hi GirlGirl, for jaundice must make sure the babies get sufficient sunlight...I went polyclinic today too for jaundice test. Nightmare carrying two babies out. Do you have to go back for repeat visit? How come you need to go back hospital to remove stitches? I thought b4 we go back they change dressing and snip two knots at the side?

Hi Babysmurf, yup the first night back is the most awful. Hope you feel better soon. The swaddles come in useful? I am using about 12 pcs for the twins now.

Mofmm, babysmurf, are you all wearing the binder at home? It helps to reduce the pain. Try to rest more when not pumping. Cos getting in n out of bed will cause pain at the wound.if you can rest more n less movement for 1st week at least, the wound heals much faster. Then at least from week 2 onwards can move abt but still avoid carrying heavy things n no squatting.

Reiki: haha! I will do the same if he wakes up smiling at me.. I will take it as he is not hungry yet so will not give him his milk. Haha.. Anyway thanks for all your advices.. I managed to drag their feeding time to 2.5-3 hours last night.

Mofmm: yup.. Is very tiring.. I get shoulder ache badly now from all the constant pumping.. Guess is a bad design from medela? Do you realise even after pumping, you still can hand express quite alot? I feel the pump is not doing a good job.. Because of this, my each pumping session is around 30 mins and not the 15 mins..

Mofmm: what is the size u are using now? Most pple is the standard size . Can buy online from smh seller .

I also got body ache from the pumping . Breast also swollen though use the cream . Guess it is part of motherhood . Really looking forward to my massage session in June !

My girl also went back to polyclinic to do jaundice check. Have to go back for review on tue. I only manage to pump 20ml n baby always asking for milk every 1.5- 2hrs. Since birth, she always crying for milk even after feeding at hospital. Faints.

I wearing binder at home. But still painful but can move ard. So many things to settle. Her full mths stuffs, dr review appt for girl n myself.

Hi saralyn,

It must be tiring taking care of 2 babies.. Jia you jia you!

Babysmurf,

Congrats on the arrival of your little one!!

Lavendar,

Sorry for the late reply.. How are you doing? My MS is getting worse as i go into my 2nd trimester.. Sometimes i feel guilty for not being able to keep my food down when i'm hardly eating as it is.. Worried that bb not having enough nutrients.. But just gotta tell myself to stay positive and not be paranoid.. Hmm for 9 wk scan, think Prof will still use vaginal scan.. For the oscar test, usually done ard wk 12-13.. I paid $235 in total for the scan and blood test.. Your next appt coming soon? Enjoy seeing ur bb!

hi min81,

I tot normally ms getting better into 2nd trimester? My nausea also getting serious into my 8 weeks,before that only nausea during evening but now whole day feel nausea, but I never vomit only feel nausea.

My next appt with Prof is 7 Jun got a bit delay as Prof on leave recently....long long waiting ....Is Oscar scan optional or compulsory? and I heard of NT scan too....what is different for this 2 scan? Have u done NT scan? I'm still blur blur with those scan, have u sign package?

Babysmurf: slowly slowly. U need to rest more now
At least for first 2 weeks .my CL always ask me to rest but my brain got full of things to settle after delivery . Now my last week of confinement , I manage to settle most of the things like baby shower , baby injection appt , full of endless buying lists .

Babysmurf,

Now the sight and smell of any food puts me off, especially meat.. Will try my best to eat..

Lavendar,

Actually every pregnancy is different so MS will differ too.. There are those with no ms, some only 1st tri, some puke all the way.. Haha.. So it's luck i guess.. The oscar test aka NT scan aka First trimester screening (all the same) is optional, definitely not compulsory.. But it's just a simple abdominal scan at Fetal Care Centre and can see bb so clearly so we just went for it.. The sonographer was very nice and we got a nice clear scan and even saw bb in 3d/4d view.. Hubby said it's like buying a $235 ticket to the best movie ever.. hehe
Oh the package will only come in later at abt 20-22 wks..

Min81, don't worry so much about not getting enough nutrients. Baby is getting enough. I was like you, all meat puts me off as I got into 2nd trimester. I ended up being vegetarian for a couple of months. And I only like salad and veg sandwich from Subway! Lol! I tried to supplement with more milk and turkey for protein. Take care and hopefully your nausea will get better after week 20.

Dian tang, so fast, you're in final week of confinement! Is your wound healing well? You are so efficient settling most things already!

Mofmm, ya work is work. It's just that I (well all of us) have never been on such a long leave before so it was a little hard to let go. I'm glad that I managed to settle everything so now I feel more at ease about leaving work and focus on baby. On other note, DH and I bought an apt last week so everything is happening at the same time. Good to hear that your CL is good. Caring for twins isn't easy so remember to take care of yourself too!

All mummies, I read with much interest and awe about your knowledge and experience through trial and error about feeding baby with bm and fm. All of you are super mummies!! I hope when it's my turn, I will know what to do too. Right now, I'm still clueless. My plan is to learn as I go, hopefully that is enough!

2+ days to go!! Can't believe it!

Lil: Jia you. Will be carrying your little one in hand. I lazy mum. Most of the time give baby fm. I only pump 2x per day. Heehee bm is like desert to her. Now each pump I manage to have 40ml.

Ladies: my girl birth 3.3kg. When do we need to increase their vol of intake. I already give 40ml but she like always not enough. Asking for milk every 2hrs.

Babysmurf: based on my pd , the volume of milk is the baby weight x 20 as a reference .

Lil Ponyo: it is truly tiring that when you need to pump every 3 hrs, ur brain thinking of what u shd settle , got to think of rest ur body for more milk , got to entertain visitors and many many endless marketing to buy dur confinement . After this month , I got to see if I can continue with bf , handling the bb when he is crying , etc .. Motherhood is tough! Enjoy ur last few days if freedom

WhiteClover: Thanks for the infor. My bb today break record, 3 days than poo poo. I realize she is cranky when he don t poo as tummy seems to have lots of wind and she is letting go lots of gas.
Which milk bottle are you using for bb now?

Hi, ive been using the medela pump and save bags, double zipper lock, so not bad, quite good, i store them standing upright in the freezer first, then when they are all frozen, i transfer them to a tupperware container and lie them flat to save space.

Am about the try out the pigeon milk storage bags, will update if they are gd too.

Kittykatty - practically tried all brands already but my baby very resistant ovr bottle. Daily, at most she will only take 10ml fom bottle. Am still trying. Planning to try spoon feed n see if dje takes

usagi I m using the lanisoh milk bags. I have extra 2packets. I can sell it to u cheaply. but I will advise u to use storage bottles n just chill it in fridge. can store up to 72hours. better than frozen milk.

Usagi, your bm up so much that you can freeze? Till now my supply=demand. No freezing as yet.
If you can gv ebm daily then put in chiller. Cos better than febm.

Min, ya.. Really tiring to look after 2.. I'm only looking after them in the day.. Night time is by someone else.. Can't imagine if I look after them the whole day.. I no need to sleep..m

Jiayou k.. Soon you will get to see your baby and carry him/her.. All is worth it at the end!

Dian tang, woah.. You also last week of confinement? Me too.. When did you give birth to your son?

Usagi, I'm using boots one.. From Thailand.. So far no complain.. I got another one which is lanisoh.. I haven't use that yet so no comment..

Sade, you need ebm put in fridge can last for 72 hours? I tot is 24.. That's why I freeze those left over at the end of each day..

How about frozen ebm? How long can we keep them?

Lil ponyo, 2 more days!! Excited?!? Haha.. I still remember mine so well.. Everything happened too fast!

Saralyn : did u engaged confinement lady to help? I did but until next tue . After which I have to take care the night shift Liao . I gave birth on 4 may .

Lil Ponyo, I think we were all as clueless. Even till now I still don't know what my baby's crying for sometimes. My bb is really fierce. He doesn't give warning when he's hungry. Sometimes need to wait for milk to warm up but he will be crying his lungs out!

I am now feeling stress. 7 more weeks and I am returning to work. Still haven't sorted out who will take care of bb when I go back to work. Really don't want my MIL to take care cos I don't feel she can do it.

Just now I went to living room, saw her carrying bb and fell asleep on sofa. Bb slid down and was sleeping on bended knees! I wasn't very happy seeing that but hubby's been saying I am being too uptight. So I also don't know if I am really being uptight.

Koirc, what your mil did was very dangerous. What if bb slide further and fell off her lap? Your hubby shldnt take it so lightly. Y not just inform mil that your mum will look after baby? Will she be upset? But it is easier and better to hv just one person looking after baby. Cos your mum and mil have their own ways of looking after baby... maybe just talk to your dh and let your mum take care.

Dian tang, supposedly I have a cl but because of my early delivery she couldn't make it.. So my mil is helping me now for the night shift. I will take the day shift..

Oo.. Our babies are 3 days apart..

Koirc, I understand the mil issue.. Even with just barely afew weeks staying together and seeing her taking care of my babies I already not very happy in some ways.. But I can't tell her so I went through my husband.. Somehow my relationship with mil is not very good now..

Am getting a maid now to help up.. For maid, at least I can tell her what to do and how to do.. Mil cannot and can only close my eyes..

Usagi, I wanted to ask the same question too. But I wanna know which storage bag is cheaper. Haha... I am using Pigeon now.

Reikibaby, I also freeze my ebm - one or two packs cos bb's on fm at night. So my ebm at night will need to be frozen since he may not get to drink it within the 24 hours. I bring up to the chiller to thaw if I miss a pump or bb demands more than what's given.

Reikibaby, I think MIL knows that I prefer my mum to take care of bb. I have let bb stayed over at my mum's place. Just now she told me she cleared one room at her place and I can leave bb with her when I go back to work! :'( I agree that having too many caregivers is not a good idea. I am trying very hard to convince hubby.

Saralyn, totally! I also went through my hubby to tell her. But hubby feels being sandwiched sometimes.
I hired a maid actually but she's been here for only two weeks so need to let her familiarize with our routine first before allowing her to take care of baby. She does help out once a while though.

I am going crazy with my MIL. She always says negative things to bb. Like bb never smile and she will ask "what are you unhappy about?" Then when I tell her not to let bb do certain things, she will tell bb "Your mummy don't let you..." Everything is mummy don't allow! *angry*

Koirc, try closing 2 eyes and you will be happier.. I can't and that's why I decided to take over and look after my boys during the day.. Hope i don't get any ache in my body after my confinement since I didn't rest well enough..

Fer, thanks.

Reikibaby, Sade and Koirc. No!!! My bm supply still pathetic. But I working in jul and my mum says leave bb with her for weekdays. I am troubled if so my night ebm how? I dun have enough bottles. Then morning if I go to give her ebm might as well bb stays with me. Argggg. Is nightmare. Then they not supportive. Says why so xinku with bm, just fm good what. U grew up on fm!!!!!!!!!!

Today went see gynae for 2 time for 6th week review. Die! My wound not healing well. Need to see him in 2 weeks time for 3rd check . He said my tissue grew more, might need restitch!!!!!!! Bad day.

Then I ate the med he gave to increase bm ma, got so sleepily that I miss my 3 hr interval pump . Whole day like pump at 4/5 hr interval. Not helping leh. Felt upset.

Reikibaby. At least u meeting demand. How much is then enough. Now I am into my 6th week but I still generate so little ebm. Maybe only enough to feed him for morning till early noon. Each pump only Ard 30ml to 60ml max. Pathetic.

Sade, thanks for the offer. If I buying will let u know. I haven think thr how to survive when I go to work in 6 weeks time.

usagi sure no pro. ya its not easy cos till now I m still trying to get used to being a ftwm. 6 more weeks n u r back to work, thats fast. u should buy more bottles instead. I m using 7 bottles and I dont really freeze my milk anymore. cos all my efbm were not been used at all.

saralyn yes read that can store up to 5days but its most ideal till 72hrs for chilled milk. as for frozen milk, 3-6months. both have to keep in at the back of the fridge. a local lactation consultant told me before up to 4days in fridge. 0-4deg.

koirc u have to think carefully who will have to take care of ur bb when u r back to work. not easy cos sure have conflicts on ways of taking care bb. ya I agreed with saralyn. I also cant close my eyes n had been taking care of bb for few months. n now bb always cry at pil place. made me so heart pain.

Saralyn & Sade, unfortunately I cannot close two eyes. Yet, I am not capable enough to take care of bb on my own.
I only hope my hubby will agree to let my mother take care... I am so happy my mum is coming over tomorrow!