(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Babysmurf, all the best and wish you a super smooth delivery! Wah the 3 of you all neighbours! So fun (but it's not like you can hangout and have coffee together. Ha ha!) Exciting times
Still can't quite believe this is all happening to us! Take care and keep us posted!

bb (belbel), thanks for the tips and reassurance about colostrum! That is very helpful! Yes, I am also getting the limosine service home. Ha ha! Did you use their baby carrier in the limosine? I know, time flies right?! Really can't believe it. Happy to hear that your wound healed nicely. My gosh, I almost tear just reading what you wrote about Dr Foong! Isn't it funny that we can get so attached to our doctor? Ha ha!

Egg Factory: Don't worry, I don't think we will ever be mentally prepared! Ha ha! In the next few weeks, your tummy will grow much bigger and faster! That's my experience. I feel like my tummy/baby just grew and grew in the last couple of weeks! No, I'm still working but only until this Thursday. Can't wait to nua at home! I'm at Gleneagles.

Hi all, i am back at home.

Was scheduled to induced on 18/5 with prostin. Notti girl make me pain pain...ok tahan till 4cm dilated, then wait till 7cm. But doc and senior midwife checked liao... BB head down but face presentation up so very dangerous for normal.... so hv to go for emergency c-section .....

Recovery was ok. Like mofmm mentioned, the hand express colostrum.was painful.... my girl likes to latch on but she tends to bite my nipple and sometimes play ....

Whiteclover, I am actually deciding between bjorn and manduca. My friend got EuroRider which is VERY cheap. I wonder if it's any good.

Chevy, if it's boiling water, it's enough to kill germs. I just went on one-night staycation over the weekend. I used the hotel room kettle to boil water and sterilize the pump.

Chevy yes it's blissful at times, but noisy too. Haha..
4th day at work alrdy, that's fast. It's v wasteful to throw away hor. Actually, for full term bb, it's ok not to sterilise every time when pump. My friend ony sterilised once per day using pigeon steriliser and then the rest of the day she washed it under warm soapy water. So ok de. Anyway SG tap water is drinkable, so I reckon its ok that don't have to sterilise every time. I read through my ameda pump manual and it mentions to wash it with warm soap water and air dry it for next use. If u r worried, then u should only use one set of the pump for one session and the other set for 2nd session. That's means sterilise 2sets n use as a single pump during each session.
Of cos we r more ks so we sterilise everything. For me, I will sterilise and then keep in a box n before pumping will use some hot water to wash it again before pumping.

I had also bought the sling, but the weather lately is v hot so din use it unless going to shopping. Haha.

Whiteclover, wow 4 types, u really know how to spend money. Hehe.

Usagi fever on actual day. Do check with ur pd. they will advise u. For my pd, she told me to give bb fever syrup aft the jab. N to monitor her temp 6 hrs later, if it's high fever then to give fever syrup again.

Babysmurf, oh tml csect, tats fast!!! All the best.

Chevy, i oni sterilise once a day. U mean u sterilise btles n pumps every use? Wow! I dun even use wafm water to wash. Haha

Usagi, ermm... not all bb will get fever. Maybe just monitor. And keep baby cool esp in this hot weather.

Thanks Sade and Reikibaby.

By then I will be working in July, so need to think to take 1 or 2 days of leave.

Chevy, I also sterilize after every use but either with boiled hot water or use the pigeon sterilizer. So hor u dun need to throw la. Heart pain de leh.

Nidellia: my edd 15dec. Is urs also somewhere near there?

Sigh next 2 days of work gonna be xiong 4 me
Today got nerf and tomorrow need bring youths for 4hr trek
Hope body can tahan

N grats 2 mommies who ve just given birth!
Make me so look forward 2 mine that still seems far away

Hi HanaHuiyi I don't think you should be going for a 4hr trek! Do listen to your body n not over exert yourself n don't get over heated especially w weather being so warm. Do take care of yourself.

Egg Factory: Im doing well, just get tired easily and restless. Still working. When is your due date?

babysmurf: How are you now? Jia You

Koirc: Do you wake up every 3 hours to express milk? Im looking forward to... ha ha

Lil: How is your selection of maid? I also intend to work until last week of my due date.

Hi Hanahuiyi,

Does ur boss know you're preggy? Don't think you should be going for a 4 hr trek leh.. Take care ya..

Hanahuiyi, mine edd is 6 jan.

Ya I also feel U should try to be excused from the trek. It might be too strenuous on your body.

Alison PSP, that's positive thinking. Gotta pump every 3 hours... tiring! I feel like my life has been reduced to 3-hour blocks!

PSP, I shortlisted one maid already and the agent is now checking with her how soon she is able to join. In the meantime, trying to see if any other candidate is suitable just so that we have more options. Sometimes with maid, really is based on luck. How is your maid? So far so good? I'm soooooo busy at work lately. Worked till 9pm last night trying to clear my work and prepare my handover.

Night time pumping mummies! Your ladies are so cute, Ya, it would be good to have livechat, ya? Like a Night Time Pumping Chatline

Koirc: Ha ha. Jia you.

Lil: i agree with you. sometimes maid is really based on luck. My maid is a transfer maid, initially i was very worried. But she is doing well, most importantly, she is clean and tidy. Are you looking at new or transfer maid?

Btw ladies, do you all give your babies water to drink huh? I have read that water is discouraged below 6 months but the old folks kept saying should give bb water.

Koirc: I was informed by my lactation counselor that giving a baby younger than 6 months old too much water can interfere with his body's ability to absorb the nutrients in breast milk or formula.

It can also cause his tummy to feel full, which curbs his desire to feed.

Dian tang, u only pump once at night ah?

Koirc, same here. I felt I miss my complete night rest before preggie. Every 3 hrs interval plus night feeds so effectively I sleep less than 2 hrs each round.

Usagi, usualli i pump before slp at abt 11plus. Then will wake once at night to pump when bb wakes. Dh will feed while i pump. Initially i pump every 3hrs n finds it very tiring the nxt day. So now with oni one pump session at night. I hv better slp though still not enough...but that 5hr slp better than 3.

Koirc glad to hear that you are still pumping. Usually if on tbm, no need gv water. But if do gv fm, i think its alright to gv a little.With such hot weather now, i will gv abit once awhile. Esp when my mum keep nagging that her grandson's lips dry...lolz

Congratulations Babysmurf!! So good that you managed to breast feed too! Have a speedy recovery and enjoy time with your girl
Yay!!!

Psp, I have no preference for new or transfer maid but no choice leh, no transfer maid available. Just checking, would you ask your maid to help out one day a week at your mum's place? Or is this illegal?

Rekibaby: my girl abt 3.3kg. Waterlevel low n scan weight 3.5kg. So e- c sect. Only mange bf twice. Baby got running nose have to stay at nursery put under warm.

Koirc- is yr baby on formula or bm? If bm, don't need to give water. If formula, little bit water is ok cos formula is more heaty.

Have heard of some unethical CL who feed newborn water at night to avoid waking up to feed them.

Congrats babysmurf.

Reikibaby, u are so blessed. Hubby do night feeds. My lazy hubby dun do. Come back eat dinner still expect me to put his dishes in sink n wash like hawker centre.

I am still sad my left breast so little bm. Only 20-30 ml. Quarrel with hubby coz he left a bit in bottle of my bm, never finish the little precious bm that I pump for bb. He dun know the pain. Dun know how to feed ah.?

Lil: No, in the end we just carried him in our arms, didn't use the car seat at all. My hubby tells me, good thing he is secure, otherwise sure get jealous of dr foong! haha...

bb (belbel), ha ha, that's funny because my husband said something similar! He even went as far as telling Dr Foong that I'm in love with him and that I'm always in a happy mood after seeing him! Lol!

Thanks bb. How is your bb now? Did u feed your bb the fever med after jab? My mother says can feed bb drink some pao seng water b4 jab to help cool bb. Dunno correct or not. My bb taking his jab in jul.
I am worried also, that is why thinking if I need to take 2 days al.

Lil: My hubby has a few colleagues who were also under dr f and they all adored him - my hubby ask what's dr foong's secret that his patients all seem to be under his spell? Haha...

Usagi: I only fed baby fever med when his fever developed, and put the cooling gel pad on his forehead. Right now he is ok, but will monitor him closely. I know that low-grade fever (his was 37.8) is common after jab, but still feel worried..Hmm your bb taking jab in july only? Cos you delivered a few days after me only right..who will be looking after your bb? anyone you trust?

Bb, my mum lor. I delivered on 14.4.13. I brought bb to polyclinic not pd. so the jabs are in bb 's 3rd month. He had his 2nd hep b though.

Congrats Babysmurf on the arrival of your little princess - will try to walk by later this morning to visit you both - me discharged today (Thurs) as extended by one more day to rest more n CL only coming on Fri morning.

Pumping every 3 hours is so tiring but happy to see more output on day 4 though long way to go from filling a bottle. Praying my milk flow will kick in soon instead of just droplets on funnel bottle. Nurses here are v pro breastfeeding but my nipples are too short for baby to latch so in doing pumping and using syringe to collect.

Babysmurf, bb in good weight. Yah must keep bb warm at all times. Cannot drop below 36degree.

Usagi, cos day time im alone taking care of bb. So if night he dun help me i very kelian. Haha n i told him that night feed its his only bonding time w bb. Else wait nxt time bb will call daddy last.
Yes i will b very annoyed w dh if he waste my bm. So when he cant get bb to finish up he will inform me immediately so i will do the feeding. Every drop of bm very very precious.
My mum also told me abt gving paosheng the day before jab. In the end i din gv cos worried bb be too awake to slp tat night...haha bb dun slp means we dun slp. But in the end my bb was ok after it. I let him slp in aircon rm. Then gv him some water to drink. And will chk his temp every 3-4h. Was paranoidn kept feel tat bb hot but dh will assure me bb its normal temp. So use a thermometer to get peace of mind.