(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Mofmm: my mum keep chasing to go for walk don't lie down. But cannot help too heavy to walk ard. Now eating also be coming a chore. Eat bit by bit later my girl sure wake me up at midnite. Eat abit more, tummy super bloated n hard.

You Tehan another 4days n all ur funi syptoms will be gone. Busy with your twins. I don't know still need to Tehan for how long. Thinking whether can ask dr tan just to burst my balloon. HAhaha

Thanks ladies
Wow quite a no with tps eh
N so many of u in ur 3rd trimester liaos
So exciting
Waitin 4 bundles of joy 2 enter in2 e world
Woohoo

N nidellia I same as u
Got right butt pain too

Girl Girl: Congrats to you.

Babysmurf: Im 35 weeks now. about 4 more weeks to go

Reiki baby : Thanks for your info.

HanaHuiyi: Welcome aboard.

Lil: Did you manage to shortlist any maid?

Mofmm: When is your turn? Are u excited?

Ladies: Do you have milk immediately after giving birth. Im just wondering what if i have no milk then do i have to feed my baby with milk powder?

Hi ladies, hope you had a great weekend!

Nidellia, congrats on seeing baby heartbeat. It is so surreal, isn't it? To have another being growing inside you
Yes, those waiting game between doctor visits are quite a challenge, especially in 2nd trimester after it becomes only a monthly affair!

Hanahuiyi, congrats and welcome to the thread! Wish you a smooth 9 months ahead!

PSP, sometimes the scan is clear, sometimes it is not. I think it really depends on the position of the baby. As for the hair, we had to take the doctor's word for it because we could tell but I think he determined that by the fuzzy line around the head. LOL! Thanks to you, my maid search process is going on very smoothly. Thank you!!!

Babysmurf, how are you feeling today? Don't worry, I'm sure you can do it and push out your baby

PSP, yes shortlist one already! Very happy. Wonder whether I should just go with her or ask the agent for more options to compare. Will talk to agent for her opinion.

For what I know about breastmilk, is that it will not kick in until 3-4 or 5 days later. In the beginning it is just colostrum which is enough for baby. But sometimes if not enough, yes will need to supplement with formula milk. Think the nurse or lactation consultant at the hospital will advise you. I'm planning to wait until after delivery for advice to buy formula milk.

Dian thanks! I'm with Dr Su Lin Lin. Going for my wk 28 scan today. Hope my babies have been good n growing well
I asked abt supplements cos I think guardian has promo for calcium pills so prob get from guardian to save $$

Psp: my bm kick in very slow so I supplement with fm first or bb kep crying .

Small bunny: I am eating caltrate . I think cheaper to buy from hosp unless guardian has promo . Are u given iron and fish oil too?

Alison, my bm kicks in on d4-5. I guess depends on bb size. Mine was big bb so pd suggested to gv fm. Also if bb jas jaundice then pd suggest supplement w fm to prevent jaundice from escalating. Where are you delivering? In TMC we get to choose which brand we wan and they will feed baby so dun worry so much.

Thanks Ladies. Im abit worried that i dont have enough bm. Shld i get a bottle of the formula milk or most hospital do provide.

Im delivering in TMC.

Dian I'm only on caltrate n iron. Dr told me up to me to buy DHA at any pharmacy.

Unity n guardian having promotion so bundle set much cheaper than nuh.

Min81: Hihi sorry I forgot to reply. So you are in your 2nd trimester now, time flies! Things should be more stable now. Are you seeing Dr Vasoo too? Btw are you having one or two baobei? (sorry haven't been keeping up with posts...)

Good that you are cutting down on the progesterone gradually. I remember that my doc told me to stop all shots and pills suddenly and I had some spotting. But everything was ok.

As for me, I'm waiting for D day which is in a few weeks' time, feeling a bit scared. I went to do foot reflexology as my feet are so swollen and aching. Was a bit apprehensive at first coz I heard that pressing certain acupoints can trigger labour contractions. But I the reflexologist said it's ok and she was gentle on me. In the end nothing happened lah.

Did I read correctly, you are not having confinement lady? So you're going to cook your own confinement food while taking care of bb? My DH is very hands on too but i think there's a limit to what he can do. We are extending the CL for one more month, as we are not engaging a maid. So after that I will be on my own.

PSP: hey our due date is around the same time. You are very well prepared. Do you feel Braxton-hicks contractions? I have been feeling them the past few weeks when I walk. It's not painful, but a bit freaky sometimes.

Any special exercise to do to help with labour? Some people told me to walk a lot, some told me not to walk so much or my feet will be swollen...hmm... so confused. Some said do squats?

Hi Ladies, on Sun night my waterbag burst - warm trickle followed by a gush. Went to 24hr O&G with a towel between my legs. At L and D, I was found to be 3cm dilated and partially effaced. The Dr ordered an emergency C sec. Hubby not allowed in.
Babies were born 1 min apart each about 2.2kg. Twin B we t To Special Care nursery for the night for observation.

Colostrum came in a matter of hours and I have been using syringes to collect while supplementing with FM until BM comes in fully.

Feel so blessed holding them outside me and the nausea and vomiting completely stopped.

MofMM: congrats on the birth of your twins! 2.2 kg is a good weight.

Also thanks to Mofmm, lil_ponyo, whiteclover, tutu, smallbunny and others for sharing about the CL Ang Pow amount. So I understand that welcome Ang Pow can range from $20 - $200? Hmm... still deciding how much to give..

Mofmm: got feeling your baobei cannot wait till the schedule date heehee. Congrate. So is dr tan in time to do for u?

hanahuiyi, so when is your edd?

lil ponyo, thanks!! really amazing feeling that a life is growing inside me.

Mofmm, wow congrats to your delivery of the twins!!

Mofmm, congratulations on motherhood!!!! Good to hear your babies are doing well and of good weight! Well done! And yes, congrats too on the disappearance of your nausea! That's a cause for celebration in itself!! Take care and has swift recovery!!

Babysmurf, you're next!! So exciting!!!

Thank you ladies for your warm wishes!

Babysmurf, yup GirlGirl and I are neighbors on 8th floor hehe.
Dr Tan just delivered n left when i arrived at L&D. He ordered the emergency C sec and came in 2 hours later straight to the OT where he delivered the babies. You are next in line to pop! Wishing you a safe n smooth delivery at KK - service here has been wonderful. The lactation consultant came in 12 hours after I popped and taught me how to massage. Nurses here helped me hand express (painful!) and got colostrum out. Rented hospital pump and now pumping every 3 hours in hope of being able to feed EBM.

congrats mofmm n girl girl. good weight for ur twins. its a double joy for u. enjoy ur bundles of joy now.

psp I din buy any fm before delivery n neither did I bought aft. I did research which type to buy in case of no milk. do latch every 3hr aft delivery, n if possible latch immediately within 2hr after delivery cos bb most alert then. n nurse bb before crying as crying is a late sign of hunger. bb only need v littlle for the first few days as they have reserve. n the colostrum is v good for them. I read before an article n it mentions that bb cries during first few days doesnt mean that they r hungry. but it can also meant that they r scared cos they r getting used to being out of the womb. so its necessary to cuddle ur little one more often n also have more skin to skin contact. as long bb can pass out meconium then its ok. its good to read more in order for bf to be successful. jia you.

Hey Egg Factory, long time to see! How are you feeling? All ready and prepared for baby?

Mofmm, good that your colostrum kicked in so fast! I was just reading up on it yesterday because I was worried it may kick in slower for c section birth. Jia you on breastfeeding! Take care!

Girl Girl, congratulations on the arrival of your baby girl! Enjoy your bonding time and confinement!

Babysmurf, ya getting excited. But this week, I'm more excited about starting my maternity leave this Friday! Woo hoo! 3 more days of work left!

PSP. don't worry about not enough bm yet. Try first and see
There are a lot of help and advice on hand at hospital and even this thread! I've learnt so much just from the mummies here!

bb (belbel), how was your recent visit to Dr Foong? Your c sec wound all healed now? This Sat will be my final visit before my delivery next week!

MofMM: Congrats? Take care and rest well.

Egg Factory: Long time didnt hear from you. How have you been?

Thanks Sade, Lil and the rest for the advice.

I was told to take coconut juice a week? Any idea what is it for?

Mofmm,

Congrats on the arrival of your twins! Enjoy motherhood!

Hi Egg factory,

Great to hear from you
Wow you're due soon too! Still remember we started chatting when you just bfp.. Time flies! You must be real excited, gonna hold bb in your arms soon.. I'm seeing Prof Mahesh now, you're with Dr Chua right? Mine is 1 bb, but still very happy, just pray for bb to be healthy.. Mm our current plans are to order confinement catering so meals are taken care of and 1 less worry.. We'll think more abt it as the pregnancy progresses..

Good luck Babysmurf! Trust in Dr Tan - you won't feel pain during c sec...
it's a good day for your baby girl to arrive! Wish you a smooth and safe delivery!

Thank you ladies for your kind wishes!

Congrats, ladies!

Anyone heard of EuroRider baby carrier? It's quite cheap from Amazon. I wonder if it's any good.

Lil, wow I can't believe you are going to deliver soon. How time flies! You must be excited and busy preparing for the birth of your boy

Wanted to tell you, there is no confinement food option to tick in the daily menu, you have to ask for it in the "Remarks" portion - also can ask specifically for fish and papaya soup to increase bm. I also found I was starving in the middle of the night, I didn't know can ask nurses for snacks and milo and I just tahan till morning. Don't worry about colostrum coming in - what helped me was asking for skin-to-skin contact asap after going back to my room and getting bb to latch on. Oh, and I asked for the free limousine service to send me home - quite shiok!

Last visit to Dr Foong was bittersweet! Happy that my c-sect wound has healed really well and can resume normal activities/exercise, but I was really so sad when Dr Foong said "well, see you in a year's time for PAP smear". I nearly cried when saying goodbye..haha..

Koirc - I bought 4 carriers.... at the moment, the only one that my gal will stayvin is th I-angel hip seat. I think itwill be at next week's baby fair.

Sade, thanks for the contact

Must be earful hearing your gal's screaming hahahaaa..... but feeling blissful too isn't it?

Yes yes, started work. Today's the 4th day. Trying to get use to pumping in toilet. Can only keep milk from 1st pump, 2nd pump need to discard as equipments are not sterilised

How r u doing? Does your girl sleep thru the nite? Mine record is 6hrs

Whiteclover, wah! u bought 4 carriers ah? I tried the sling type but it wasn't comfy at all! For me as well as bb.

Usagi, I kiasu a bit leh.....scare hot water not enuff to kill germs hahahahaaa..... but seriously, using hot water sufficient ah? Ya lor, wasted and the best part is my yield is beta than at home! Arrggghhh....

Lil_Ponyo: Hi, I'm 35 weeks now. Got the things prepared but mentally still not prepared, hehe. So you started your maternity leave and are resting at home now? Are you with NUH? Wonder if any of you ladies will be my neighbour...

PSP: How is your new maid doing? How are you feeling now? I'm having water retention so wrists are painful and fingers are stiff. Sometimes a bit painful/clumsy when doing housework. Didn't know that this can be a pregnancy symptom too.

Min81: Happy and excited for you. Soon u will be able to feel ur baby move. Prof Mahesh gonna be your OB/gyn too? Yes I'm with Chua. Hmm my friends did advise me that as a first-time mum, it's better to have a CL/relative around. They can give us tips on things like bathing, changing diapers, feeding or coping with certain unexpected things, I'm not sure what, but I think I'll be quite panicky without someone experienced around.