(2013/11) November 2013

Oh ya I have a problem..
Yesterday from afternoon to night time before I sleep my tummy was like erm.. hard like stone like that.. This is the first time I experience this.. Is it normal? No matter how much I talk to my baby he just refuse to "relax" and be like normal.. Now my tummy is pretty back to normal but yesterday that experience is abit Xin ku cos it feels like I m so bloated from eating too much kind..

Xiaober, I oso balloting for flat for 2 yrs. End up didn't get any. Perhaps I ballot area is old mature estate but is near my parents ma! Even go see MP, under e priority scheme, near parents oso no use. But I heard if u got bb, easier to get. Dunno how true.

My hubby oso dun wan buy 1st cos he said gt warranty den buy later. Cos e start date of e warranty will b later. True for stuff like breast pump & sterilizer & warmer?

Pinky: ya same as me... But I really hope to have my own flat.. I just went to see MP recently.. But HDB replied say not much priority leh.. Just put into get to put into two different scheme to have higher chances.. Crossing my fingers..

Is warmer a must get thing?

xiaober, i tink nuh have pre natal classes. u can go check with the hospital

Re: Clothes
i got clothes from Osh kosh. hubby ask his colleague to buy from states. got one cute jumper, but can onli wear like 9 mths onwards! haha.

Re: Balloting for flats
I was quite lucky to get a flat on my first attempt. we heard pple having difficulty balloting for a flat, so we decided to try our luck. tat time, hubby (then bf) was still in uni. our queue no was in the top 100 too. tink it depends on luck. mayb for matured estates, its veri popular. tats y difficult to ballot.

Pinky, good hv a good sleep after seeing doc. i don't think your boss should have any issues with you on MC. you are not well and its impt for pregnant ladies to have enough rest. praying for a speedy recovery.

congrats littleprince on confirmation of baby girl!

oh its WED! fuzzybear, update us on your detailed scan!

hopefully i'll be able to have enough time looking at bb tomorrow during detailed scan. the gap between each visit to gynae is too long... haha..

xiaober, yes I feel warmer is a must get item.
before getting a warmer to warm up the ebm, we always use hot water to soak the bottle into it.
but if the little fella delay in waking up, we need to change water again. With warmer, everything is a breeze...

hello mummies...it's finally Wednesday... busy week for me...

linxiaober (linxiaober) >
These are some I got from online, hope it helps.

http://thelovingmum.sg/2011/06/newborn-babys-essential-shopping-list/
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/2646020.html

Hospital Bag : What to bring
- IC & Doctor admission letter
- Pajamas gown
- Undergarments (disposable panties)
- Nursing bras + breasts pad (non-adhesive)
- Maternity pads
- Slippers
- Socks
- Face & bath towels
- Toiletries : Toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, soap, shampoo, facial cleanser, moisturizer etc
- Cosmetic Bag
- Books + magazines
- Fully-charged handphone
- Camera + Video camera
- Your go back home clothes
- 2 baby vests
- 2 pairs of baby mittens + booties
- 2 wrapping blankets

I think you just have to ask around, those which you do not need, then no need to buy.

attachment_icon.gif
New Baby Check list
NEWBORN_BABY_CHECKLIST-481403.docx (14.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Was checking out the Medela website.. now then i know they stopped selling PISA? I did a mini survey at the website and they also recommeded freestyle for me.

kitkat: okok thanks! i will go and check it out..

pinky: have a good rest! ya rest at home is better than go office and be worse..

febie: hmm cos i see my mil now warm the milk to my nephew is using warm water from the flask one.. so i m thinking if should get anot..

third3timemum: thanks! i will go back and keep a copy for reference..

Hello mommies! done with my scan! got there 20 mins early and was seen almost immed.. they took abt 30 mins to do the scan cos baby wasn't in the best position. had to do a lot of turning and shaking to get baby to move. all's well, though we can still see a ring of faint blood clot. Sonographer and Prof Biswas both said that's nothing to be concerned about. And yes, it is a gal! hb was so happy.. he kept asking the sonographer if she is sure that it is a gal. Made the sonographer point out how she could tell that baby is a gal. After that hb told me i can go and buy whatever I want.. so pian xin.. cos with my #2 he wasn't so generous.

Ankh, LOL u really gonna let ur baby go naked in Dec? hahahaha.. i m gonna just let my bb wear her kor kor clothes.. then get a few girly stuff for her. but i think i will go crazy shopping..

Little Prince, i think once u have PISA or FS, u won't bother using ur Mini Electric! will be much easier and faster using the new pumps. :p aiyah i really dunno if i shd get another one leh.

Xiaober, ur hardening of the tummy is called Braxton Hicks contractions. http://www.babycenter.com/0_braxton-hicks-contractions_156.bc
Quite normal to feel it.. i have been feeling it since early first trim. what u can do is not to lie flat on ur back. turn to ur side and curl into a ball. will help relieve any tightness. As for getting a pump, seriously i dun even think abt warranty when i buy these things. if they wanna breakdown, they will break down. why worry abt such things?

Pinky, do u drive? i think best u get FS.. the suction btw FS and PISA not really a big diff.. just need to increase the power (which will hurt ur nipples). dun worry abt it. i think it matters only if u have super a lot of milk. most first time moms produce abt 1-1.2L a day.

Manawab, yes thanks for remembering! ur detailed scan is tmr! must be feeling so excited. what time will it be?

Febie, haven't seen u around. really busy? there were some mommies asking abt GD. aft drinking that gross glucose drink, how do they test if u have GD? via blood or urine?

Kayliz, no more PISA? really? what's their new model?

Re: What to pack in hospital bags
I think mittens and booties are very impt. cos in the cold aircon bb's extremities are very cold. plus their nails are very sharp so best to protect them from scratching themselves.

fuzzybear: the suction between freestyle and PISA is not a big diff ah? i thot PISA suction is significantly better that's y i dun mind the extra weight and prefer PISA. but if u feel that the suction difference is not very significant, then i may reconsider n get freestyle instead le. cos the weight difference btw the 2 is quite huge. lol..

fuzzybear, congrats on the confirmation of a healthy baby girl!!! you've come a long way and i think it's a huge relief for you that baby is alright

my detailed scan is in the afternoon tomorrow. yes, i rem yours cos it's one day before mine.

Copied this from June's thread for everyone info.

"Hi Elaine, I gave birth at TMC on 18th Jun. I paid a total of approximately $ 4000 in cash (medisave deduction of $2100; so my total cost is actually $6100 ) for a standard 1 bedder room with companion stay for 1 night (although the package is for 2 nights but because I dont want to stay for another night and doc said I'm fit to go back with baby). This is normal delivery with no painkiller at all, even laughing gas. Baby had 3 injections (bcg, hep b and forgot another one). Hope it helps."

Looks like you're free to discharge if no complication.

Fuzzybear, congrats on minimal blood clot and ur gal! Yes, shop shop shop! Haha, think this one will be daddy's girl. Not even out yet daddy already spoiling her.

Pinky, out of the 18 pcs, 2pcs for jie jie la. The dresses were so pretty I couldn't help myself. On sale, can buy
Then balance 16pcs for 3-18mths, so at least something nice every few months for #2.

3xmum, thanks for the lists! I realized my aggaration for what to get for newborn very bad. So many things can't remember.

These few days I've been having craving for spicy foods. So ytd bought curry powder, today bought chilli sauce. previously the spiciest thing in my kitchen was ginger. Cravings can come in now meh? For #1 I didn't really have food cravings leh.

Congrats fuzzybear! Seems that most of the third time mommies who have two boys are having a girl finally
Now you are close shop with no regrets. hahaha.

wah ankh, you bought clothes all the way to 18 months?!!!!! wah seh. really a systematic shopper. i only bought till 9 months i think. but i might end up having the same problem, 0-3 months nothing to wear. wahaha. i find it so bo hua to buy 0-3 months clothes. how come not having man yue? i actually dun like such celebrations as well, more stressful than fun. but i think family tradition will require us to have a man yue. haiz.

Fuzzybear, I just briefly read thru the thread. din follow everything. ya recently work load a lot.

usually for glucose test for GD is thru blood not urine. Urine high in sugar I'm not so sure...
for glucose test, 1 tube of blood drawn before you consume the orange drink, after finish drinking, wait 2 hrs again and go for another blood test. they will draw 2 tubes this round and you can leave. they will keep you posted on the result.

Congrats on having a princess...
this thread quite balance of prince and princess.

Xiaober, maybe you can ask the rest of the mummies here... for me warmer is a must.

Thanks guys! i will need to see my gynae on Sat. think he will scan me again to check on the clot. can still it inside me and sonographer spent a lot of time looking at it. Sonographer did comment that my tummy no fats so very easy to scan the baby even though she wasn't in position.

I am soooo excited to start shopping! have already ordered 3 diaper bins! :p but i will be having back to back meetings today so no chance to browse online.

Xuan, say u turn PISA on to power setting 1, prob FS will be power setting 2 to get same suction.. really not much diff btw the 2. as u increase the suction setting, PISA's suction will be stronger but really nobody set it to so high.

Thanks Febie for explaining how the GD test works.
Hope things ease off at work for u soon.

Any of u will be getting push present from hb? my male cols were stunned when they found out there's such a thing.. :p

Fuzzy-gd to hear that blood cot reduced.
Wah, yr hubby must be really happy la, daddy's girl liao.
Hehe
Mawanab-All t he best for tmr detailed scan.

thks for the well wishes, mummies!

linxiaober, warmer is not a must for me. if you want to save money, maybe short list the model and don't buy first. you can try soaking in hot water and if you think baby cannot wait, then send hb out to buy for you? its quite subjective and also depend on whether baby is patient or not. :p

fuzzybear, congrats! so happy for you that everything is alright and you got your baby girl! must celebrate yeah! wah, hearing what you said, i think confirmed i must go and buy PISA liao! diaper bins from where? to store clean diapers? what is push present? you mean hb should buy a pressie to reward us for all the pushing? hehe ..

mawanab, good luck for your scan tmrw! update us!

Saw the interesting discussion on breast pumps. Can mummies who have used the freestyle comment on it's durability? I'm in a dilemma to buy PISA or freestyle. I like the freestyle for it's portability but reviews on Amazon commented that the suction tends to weaken after 6months. Is that true?

Little Prince, u drive? if not then get FS.. really really not much diff.. i have frens who bf-ed for more than a year using FS. she is now bf-ing her 2nd kiddo, using FS too.. I say FS if u don't drive cos i carry PISA to take public transport. very tiring leh.. i weight it to be abt 1.3kg without milk inside.

Charmayne, I have not heard of this issue before. FS is a very gd pump just that u have to sacrifice something for its portability.

Re: Warmer
I find my lao ya Pigeon warmer not gd for warming up milk. took so bloody long.. but it was very gd to warm up baby purees esp if u don't use microwaves. However, SN intro me the Avent Digital Warmer so now i m very gian to buy it. I usually use hot water to warm up my bb's milk.. takes abt 5 mins.

Who's asking abt diaper bins? its a small container to store diapers.. usually don't have space to store a whole bag or u have more than 1 changing station at home (I have one in my bedroom and 1 in the hall). so just place the diapers, cream and wet wipes in the bin. This can be customised to different fabrics and also have ur bb's name on it. Interested mommies can contact this seller Little Angels on FB. U need to add her as fren to see her stuff though. She has customised beddings like pillow cases, cot bumpers, sheets, bean sprout pillows.
https://www.facebook.com/little.angels.singapore?fref=ts

fuzzybear: thanks for the clear explanation! so now i'm back to square 1, need to decide if shld get freestyle cos of the light weight or PISA if i'm more kiasu n want stronger suction. but as u said, the higher suction is rarely used also hor.. hmm...

i've heard alot abt the "push present" but am not intending to get hub to buy me one. hmm dun see a need to leh. baby is a present for us both le, n my hub has been very nice to me during my pregnancy so far. to me that's sufficient le. maybe if i have very bad ms or have to go thru alot of difficulties next time i may ask for 1. hahaha... but touchwood lah! =P

RE: warmer
like wat littleprince suggest, i think i will shortlist a warmer model 1st but wont buy now. will try the old fashion mtd of warming milk 1st. if very troublesome or take too long a time then i ask hub to go buy it back.

congrats to all mummies on the good news from detailed scans!!

fuzzybear: no new model, just discontinued lor..

For my 1st child, when she was a newborn the 0-3 mths clothes were still too big, she could wear them up to 6-9 mths.
I stocked up too much rompers that some ended up unworn or only worn only once.

Now I dont really believe in buying "bigger clothes" for my kids.

If buy bigger clothes, they cant wear now, so i keep. By the time they can wear, they already have more and more clothes and each clothing also worn for 2-3 times only.
If buy bigger clothes and let them wear now, it looks so sloppy coz the clothes are oversized. Then when they start to fit nicely in them, the clothes color/prints already faded and look like old clothes.
So i normally buy clothes that fit well, since i shop regularly, dont need to keep stock.

fuzzybear, no push present from my hubby la. If he can keep #1 occupied I'll be more than happy.

SN, I've got too many things going on yr end. If in laws really want man yue, then they go ahead lor. Me and bb will just turn up as guests of honor hehe. My parents most likely will not mind whether we have it or not.

so happy to hear that all mummies passed detailed scans.

fuzzybear, i alr got hubby to get me a push present! hahaa... cos it's a bit pricey, he said it'll be the only present i get this year i.e. combine bday, wedding anni, push... i'm fine with that.
what are you getting hubby to get for you?

SN,
No worries! Thanks for taking pic of the menu still =) ya, guys more qincai coz they been thro NS so have taken worst food before =p yes, fish is nt consider seafood so cant ask them to change. So are u going to cont tingkat??

Mummychua,
Oh...baby big head means u need more stitches aft delivery. Gd to hear tat its a good scan and baby is healthy =)

Mawanab,
Ya lo. Sizes really oos fast. So if u really like must quickly buy else can wait for price to drop further. 

Plush,
Congras on a healthy baby boy =) a timely present for the anniversary =)

Ankh,
Woohoo!! Ur shopping mood has been unlashed!! 

Littleprince,
Gd to hear ur placenta is alright nw. Really a load off ur mind and congras on a healthy baby =)

Pinky,
If i dun recall wrongly, u get to use the delivery suite for 12hrs (or is it 24hrs??) and if u cross that timing u get charged extra. So yes, if u chk in delivery suite at nite and only deliver next day or aftnn that nite is not charged as 1nite in ward.

Xiaober,
U are experiencing braxton hicks. Usually happen in the late 2nd tri/last tri closer to delivery as ur body gets itself ready. I have it abt 2x this rd already and i thot its still too early to exp it. Since nt tat frequent i just dismiss it.
Its nt a must to have the milk bottle warmer. U can use conventional method which is using a bowl of warm water. Dun use hot water as it will kills the nutrients in the bm. Personally i prefer to use warmer =)

Fuzzybear,
Congras on a healthy baby GIRL!! Finally wish come true for ur hb ya =) U can start shopping for her now. Festive seasons coming! Lol. Hehe. The blood clot getting small??

fuzzybear, i drive so i am ok with the weight/size, more concerned on suction! thks for the info about diaper bin, it was me who asked.

kayliz, so you mean PISA is discontinued?

Thanks mummies for the wished. Satisfied pizza and pasta cravings yesterday.

Looking at all the posts on BP, I have started to look into it. But I stil hv no idea what type I need. Hope to see some demo at expo baby fair.

Congrats to all mummies for their detailed scan.

fuzzybear: thanks for the info! i wish i can curl up in office.. haha think my boss will be in a shocked if i do it.. congrates fuzzybear on your baby girl!! Hahaha your hubby must be very excited! cotton on baby and fox have some sale.. can go and see! my hubby keep tempting me with girl girl stuff when inside is a boy boy.. =='''

RE: warmer
maybe i discuss with my hubby.. think he will probably stick to the old style method.. sometimes abit bad to make him change.. hmmm..

fuzzybear>congrats on your baby girl!Hi*5, we are on the same boat, 2 boys &amp; finally a girl!

Jasline (jaslinegal) >yes, the avent warmer which SN recommended has been discontinued, according to this mummy whom I bought her avent warmer from,she said she had wanted to buy what SN recommended, however, Kiddy Palace told her that's an old model and discontinued, got it at quite a good deal I think,$20, she bought in March 2013, had to discontinued with bf due to work &amp; stress, pity. However, she lost the receipt, so even when the warranty period is until March 2014, I am not sure if I can still register the product, without a receipt. She's nice, asked me to bring it back to test if its working before transferring $ to her, but I paid her cash anyway, since she said she tested and it worked, I tested last night, it is working.

For those who do not mind 2nd hand items, can check out sgbabymall: http://www.sgbabymall.com/getSale.php?page=200, I bought it from there

This was what I bought :
http://www.philips.com.sg/c/avent-baby-bottle-food-warmer/21809/cat/

i think the forum "spoil market" a little. prior to joining my #1 thread, i have never heard of a push gift. neither of my friends who have given birth have heard of push gifts either. but after you know what it is, you feel like "demanding" one from your hb. haha.

huh? really discontinued already? then i must treasure the two digital warmers i have at home. i bought two last time to put one at mil's place (used to stay there over the weekend). but i stopped staying overnight there (hooray) so that extra one is now at my mom's place.

xuan, avent warmer can fit most bottles. the fattest bottle is tommee toppie which im not sure if it can fit. but other brands like pigeon, nuk, all can fit.

xuan>I think most bottles will be able to fit into the avent warmer, consider avent bottles itself are quite "fat"/round, you can always go to Philips to take a look before you buy it

SN>I think the "slow" warmer is not so bad la, the one I had before looks exactly like this, but the top is a dish in white, which you can warm baby's food, and it is still working after 13 years, but my sis is using now, so I don't want to ask her

Jasline>YES!I bought at $20, but taking a risk, as there is no receipt, cannot bring for servicing if anything happened before March 2014.

If you have time to browse through, still can get cheap 2nd hand items

There is also a Want To Sell forum here on SMH

Jasline: i think i bought at close to $100? that was in 2011.

thirdtimemum: I think this new version might have improved technology cos it states 4minutes on the website. The Pigeon takes 20minutes. So if it's as conventional as Pigeon, it wont be able to heat in 4minutes. But the digital warmer can do it in 3minutes. dunno if overseas Philips still sell.

Anyone interested in getting Braun Thermoscan IRT4250? I found this link on SMH, selling at $56 but its US set , so only got 30days warranty, 1 to 1 exchange, if you would like extended warranty, its 6months for $20, and 12 months for $40, yesterday, my Braun IRT4250 gave up on me when I wanted to check my 5years old temperature, had been using since he was born, also got US set last time, no warranty

http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/6728827.html?1373441307

If you are not comfortable paying first, I think you may pay cash during meetups at AMK/Bishan/Seng Kang if not wrong, in the evenings

I chose smartpac delivery, add $4.70, will be able to receive in 1-2days

SN> the very antique one which I bought 13years ago, take about 6mins if not wrong, not very long, and sometimes, it gets too hot without me knowing, so its actually quite fast to warm up

thirdtimemum, oh! antique one already 6mins? that's really very advance for a product 13 years ago.

jasline, 3mins is chilled ebm. Febm will take 10min? Not sure. I have not tried heating up febm directly because you will have to consume all at the same time. febm is normally in a milk bag of 200ml or so. i will bring down to chiller to thaw it first, after that i will separate into different bottles for different feeds and heat it accordingly. I think thawed febm can last 24hrs.

Val, i will still continue the tingkat for a while, until it's proven that the dishes all not to my liking. haha. they claimed they have 200 over dishes and so there wont be repetition so soon.

Xuan, i think for portability sake, get FS. lugging it to work to and fro is very tiring plus u are already tired from having to take care of a bb. FS has in built battery pack. PISA don't so u always need to bring ur adaptor along. for me i have to rush to find meeting rooms to pump. i can tell u it really wears u down.

Re: Push present
a push present is something ur hb gives u for giving birth cos seriously he can't do anything but to watch u. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Push_present
Manawab, what did u ask for for ur push present? wahahaha.. actually it doesn't have to be ex.. it has to be meaningful to u. some of my frens requested expensive diaper bags like LV's Neverfull and even things like Rolex watch.

Re: warming up ebm
I use hot water. Let me just say once u express ur milk out, the nutrients inside will definitely start to degrade. But the rate of degradation is so slow and insignificant that it isn't something to worry abt. If u want to use hot boiling water, make sure u swirl (not shake) the milk continuously so that u do not scald a portion of milk. any form of warming, be it with hot water or with warm water or with warmer, as soon as the temp starts to increase, ur rate of degradation will increase. By swirling the milk, u ensure that it doesn't over heat it. so yes nutrients will definitely be lost when u express milk but the rate is really insignificant.

Jasline, i prep my milk in milk bottles so just warm up in bottles. if u are asking abt FEBM, i thaw them first either overnight in fridge or just leave it for an hr in room temp. Then i will transfer to bottle and store it back into the fridge to feed within 24hrs. won't recommend u to warm up frozen BM.. takes too much time.

Haiyah no more digital warmer? damn.. then i might as well stick to the normal warming method.. works for me.

I realised i m staying later and later in office since i got back to work. haizzz.. still in office now.

Oh ya thanks for all the well wishes. The clot is definitely going away Val. so i m happy.
hope it doesn't reoccur. the gd thing is my placenta isn't low this time around! can go for natural!

Xiaober, if u get Braxton Hicks in the office, just change position.. dun worry abt it.. its nothing bad. however, pls note that if u have more than 4 braxton hicks per hr, u shd contact ur gynae. speak to ur gynae the next time u see him.

fuzzybear, hubby got me a Rolex! hahaa.. he said he's been thinking of getting me one. just no reason to buy such an ex gift. tot i can give to my kids next time too, so didn't mind receiving it. i agree that a meaningful present is enough. its the thought that counts.
don't work too late. i'm leaving in a while too.

btw, what's a wash cloth? i keep seeing it in the check lists. also a receiving blanket. what is that? same as a swaddle cloth?

Thanks fuzzy bear analyse Pisa n FS for us. I dont drive. So FS would b suitable for me.

Congrats to all mummies who went for detailed scan!

Fuzzybear, oh no... ur little girl wil b e princess of e family. Daddy gg to dote n spoilt her.. I feel tt daddy tend to dote girl girl more.

Mawanab! U got a really ex push present! Wa.. I did request for a push present but was ignored by my hubby. Haha.. he would rather save e money for bb.

Re: warmer
Pigeon warmer v slow in warming e milk? So avent is better? But avent warmer discontinue? Ahh.. den how..

For FS which can operate on battery right, we charge the battery at home before bringing the pump out? How long can the battery last? If it runs out of battery, can we plug in the adapter to run on electricity outside?

Morning mummies.

Thank you for all the info on pumps. From what I gather, FS is better for portability. 

After I deliver, I'm planning to take additional no pay leave till babies are about 1 year old. So I'm more inclined to the PISA cos technically I don't need to bring the pump around. But what happens after that... 

For those who were pumping past a year, how regularly do you have to pump? In my mind, after one year of moo-ing, I think I would probably be like a super cow with endless supply and only need to pump once in the morning and twice at night... Is that the reality and will pumping only 3 times a day work? or will the supply just not keep up anymore..