(2013/11) November 2013

Mawanab, ya I still haven't decide which hospital to go. Oops. I wan Mt A but Dr Tham encourage tmc. I haven't go Mt A hospital tour yet. So this issue stilll dangling lo.. haha..

Kayliz, cool down! ! Hope u let out all ur frustration aldy. Ur team leader really cannot make it le.. I wonder how she climb up to e position? Ur boss cannot tell meh?

Plush, wow.. ur hse is ready? U will b so busy w e hse n bb. U intending to move in before e due date of bb? After ur detailed scan, u can immediately start shopping! Since u aldy at paragon! Keke

hi mummies, i am silent reader here, enjoy your posts... am here to vent out rather to get clue what to do in my current situation...

i have a maid still on load period, this month is her last month of loan period. she complained about her health 3 weeks back, we consulted Dr, did X-ray.. the reports says everything normal... but she says she wants to go back home now.. i am kinda lost now wat to do.. i spoke to agent, he is suggesting to leave her in agency so that she can mingle with other maids n get motivated to earn.. which i find it ridiculous as she would be more spoiled mingling with others and she can't assure that she will change her mind. they say to give try, if she still haven't change mind then to send her back n give us replacement with no notice time for me.

i am contract employee with no maternal benefits, so after i pop i would be at home permanently until i find new job.. but due to maid problem i am thinking to resign now as i dont have back up and dont want to take another new maid train, and end up paying huge amount of loan

i really dunno what i should do, or if am doing right... so for time being thinking to put down papers tomorrow in office and give 1 month notice... after 1 month i send maid to agent...

i was really willing to work till i pop so that i have some savings for baby, seems like i have no luck

sorry for long n boring post...

Xuan : try doing some pelvic tilts and child's pose, they may help to ease the discomfort. I find them for me.

U can consider doing some pre natal pilates. I find them very useful for me for me as I tend to arch my back and hence causing lower back pain.

Spider veins on my legs appearing! Darn ugly!

RE: delivery hospital
Recently this topic came up between me and my hubby again.. Cos he was talking with his friend about tmc n mount a and his friend said that she didn't like tmc cos when she walk in she feel that tmc is not bright enough.. So in the end she choose mount a. Cos mount a is comparatively brighter than tmc.. Another relative of his say the passage way to the delivery suite is quite dark.. So she say she didn't have a good feel also.. So now my hubby asking me if I want to change to mount a anot..

RE: prenatal classes
Have everyone sign up for te classes? Thinking if I should sign up soon cos its over quite a long period right? 6 weeks I saw.. Any recommendation which class is good?

Plush: so happy for you that your flat is ready soon! I waiting for ballot news end July.. Hopefully is good news man.. Until now I can't buy any baby stuff cos there is no space in my room.. Waiting for space in the house but no one like interested to clear for me to prepare also.. And my hubby not hurry also.. Maybe I kiasu cos I want to buy if got good deal.. You must be excited to get new stuff for the house and baby! Remember to got taka baby fair to take a look!

Mawanb & Val: Thank you.

Fuzzybear: Thank you. We don't know if they are identical or not yet. If one boy & one girl then confirm is non-identical. Doctor says only way to be sure now is to do a DNA test when they are out. I'm kinda hoping they are identical which means this twinning was an unexplained occurrence.. If non identical means I got chance of releasing two eggs each time, that also means next time we try for a kid might have another two... If that happens then really dunno how man. haha. 

I'm looking to buy either the Medela freestyle or PISA. I'm torn between buying one off the shelf here for $700+ vs buying one from USA at $400+. Almost half price.. And according to http://iwannaspree.com/blog/sharing-about-medela-pumps.html, I can even take the USA set to Medela for servicing. 

Is the one year local warranty really worth paying almost double the price? Where did you all get yours? And does it breakdown or need to be serviced often? 

kayliz, your team lead is really CMI. how can she just sleep beside you while you are clearing up her shit. actually to be frank, in the corporate world, many of such people who know how to appear prominent at meetings are the ones who are promoted. I have an ex colleague, who really knows how to curry favour bosses, and appear in many projects. but the real work she will push to other colleagues to share the load with her. in the end, the boss also promote her cos she appears to be more "capable".

xiaober, aiyah, your hb pantang issit? most importantly is how you feel about each hospital, not how your hb feels about it. you are the one who is gg to deliver there. also, it's more convenient to choose the one that your gynae is based at.

MKB, i think leaving the maid at the agency for a few days is a bad idea as she will learn all the bad tricks from her fellow maids. better send her home and get a replacement if you still want a maid.

manawab, just curious, how much does it cost per night in a Suite? wah, your hb really knows how to spend money to pamper you. then no need to ask him whenever you buy clothes for baby lar, I'm sure he wouldnt mind. also, you are ftwm mah, you earn your own keep.

pinky, it's two nights in the ward for natural birth. delivery room, you are only there for the delivery process, after that they will push you to your ward to rest.

ankh, good good. you have very good self control, never buy anything from fox. wahahah. i was telling fuzzybear that i was walking to the food court to tabao my lunch and Fox was like in the middle of my path......so....ahaha.

Morning! stormy weather so nice to slp.. but massive jams everywhere today.

Cool down Kayliz, it's not worth it. there will always be dumb ppl that get pushed upwards cos they are depending on our intelligence to support them.

Xuan, no choice lor.. like u say we have to tahan until we pop.. my previous 2 cases were rather extreme but that's cos i have naturally very loose joints. so when i m preg everything gets even looser. i m not a gd example to use.

MKB, erm u have another kid? not too sure if u have.. i rather work until i pop and try my best to beg someone to take care for the last few mths. as u say u have no maternity perks so the last 4 mths of salary can help u when the baby comes.

SBmummy, haha ok. i think u shd be able to tell if they are identical when u pop. Moms & Babes were selling PISA at $599 and FS at $699 when i checked 2 wks back. they have the local warranty. Yes u can bring in any Medela sets for servicing.. if there's anything major u pay $100 for servicing fee. I got my Medela from US 5 yrs ago and it is still working very well. i need to get it cleaned though. hasn't broken down before, though it is my paranoid fear that it will break down soon. But i have frens that bought FS and due to some battery probs, they had to get new sets. could be particular to that batch only because this was the first time i heard of such a thing with FS.

fuzzy,sn, thanks for your comments... yes i have 2.4 months old son to look after.. how about this current maid? should i send her back to agent or to her hometown? very confused... i have no intention of getting new maid... current maid is already started chasing about agents feedback, on process on her return... very stressed envt at home and in office due to some release this week

any idea how the process if i send maid to agent? should i still need to pay her accommodation n maids levy while she is with agent? i doubt agent will send her back immediately as they can still earn agent fees making her work to another employer... anyway its not my business.. I just dont want to end up paying levy and for her accommodation in agent place.

MKB, your maid is the main caregiver of your 24months old son? hmm. maybe you might want to send your son to cc instead. your maid doesnt seem like she wants to continue working anymore. No point keeping her at your home as she might cause more harm. as to whether to send her back to her country or back to agent, im not too sure as i dont have a maid.

SN, yes she is the main caregiver of my son... hmm, still thinking, am clueless though.. CC near my house are full, i have registered online, must be waiting list but will take few months to get seat i believe... i will still give a try if i can get CC in neighborhood... thanks for your advice..

Here's what i will do MKB. I WON'T send her back to the agent, i will send her back to her country. The agent does not have an agreement with u to take the maid back. u dunno if the agent outsource her to another place or what. moreover the only reason why she is allowed into SG is because she is under ur employment, not the agency's employment. Why shd u make her life easy? Send her home and make her realised that her action has consequences.

If u send her home and do not have anybody to take care of ur son, then no choice u have to quit. i agree that u shd send ur son to at least half day cc. will be tough for u to take care of 2 kids alone when ur baby comes.

Ankh, shoooopppping time!!!

Gd luck Mummychua! update us after ur scan!

Pinky, i also asked Dr Tham abt delivery hospital. after he said that he can respond to emergencies within a couple of minutes if i deliver at TMC, we then decided to deliver at TMC. not familiar with Mt A. and tot may be better to deliver in a familiar environment.
hope you make your decision soon. if decided TMC, can get discount for Mrs Wong's class.

SN, can't rem how much is the suite per night. but seriously, i'm really not keen to spend that kind of money. rather he give me the money to go slimming centre after delivery! hahaa...
as for the clothes, i told him i bought a lot of clothes online and showed him the cart. he just commented, why buy so early. sighs... guess i can only buy later.

plush, you have so many things happening at the same time! while you get busy with new house and preparing for bb, do take time to rest ok. hope you'll get a good contractor that can do up your new house without giving you too much headache.

mawanab, i think after the summer sales online, the winter clothes will be out.....so by the time you think you wanna buy....there will be no more suitable clothes for singapore weather le. hehe. quick tell your hb that :p anyway, you making hb pay for the online purchases issit? that's y must get him to approve?

Pinky - yup, we really hope to move in asap and settle down before del. currently staying with in laws and totally no space for more items..hardly have space to walk ard.
actually later noon is my fetal anomaly scan. is that wat the detailed scan is?

linxiaober - wish for you to get your balloting results soon with what you want.
it's gonna be super hectic but am so excited
when is the taka baby fair? what are the usual must buy items? haha.

Mawanab - yeah, we jus started to meet IDs last weekend. hope to find a good one soon and start on the next step.

Pinky: She joined the company from her previous as a lead, but besides being KPO with other people's affairs, she doesnt know a single thing. I am hoping to get transferred next year coz i requested for a change in job scope and will be under another boss. I am also supporting him at the moment and he is the zen boss who listens to classical music in his office. I like!

Mummies attending the antenatal class in TMC.. Can I trouble one of you something? Towards the end of the course they will start to sell some baby stuffs like towels, washcloths, swaddle cloths, etc. Im not sure if they still do, but if there is, can someone help me to buy the swaddle cloth? It is really selling like hotcakes coz the material is very good.. I bought 3 pieces previously when i attended the class but lost 2 of it when my baby kicked them off the stroller while we were out. Tried to get from the Parentcraft at TMC but it was always not available.. Can you PM me if you are able to help? Pls pls pls..

Sbmummy: actually most of my friends got the US set coz it is cheaper but so far never heard anyone complaining of a breakdown. Even if there was, I believe the repair charge should not cost as much as the difference if you paid for a local set. So overall still worth it. I already have a PISA but I am thinking of getting a FS too. Coz it is small, i can bring around when i travel or even when i'm out shopping without my baby, i can pop into my handbag and no need to rush home to pump. I intend to get from www.agapebabies.com. They are local sellers selling US sets but at least if there is anything wrong with the set u can still exchange...

SN/fuzzybear: I agree! I simply detest it when she talks like a PRO in the meetings. If anyone ask her something which she cant answer, she will very quickly direct it to us "XXX (Me), do you have any updates regarding the case that XXXX (boss) is asking now?" Sometimes I will purposely reply "Yes, as I mentioned to you before... and i have sent out an email to you. Have you seen that email?"

Mummychua, don't think will be early. Accompanying hubby for health screening at Raffles, we just reached only. Keep us updated on yr detailed scan and checkup!

SN, you've made an excellent point about summer sales!! ok, go back tell hubby.
well, not really get his approval la. but cos we pay for bb's stuff using a joint account, think out of respect for him, i usu ask him first before i buy stuff for bb. i don't ask him for "permission" if it's shopping for my own stuff with my money! hahaa...

kayliz, i will most probably sign up for the TMC prenatal class. noted that you want the swaddle cloths. will ask you again when class is ending. really hope i can register for a weekend slot.

Mummies who have the PISA, which type of bag do you go for? I referred to the link fm kayliz and saw they have 3 types of bags? Am wondering which is better.

Kayliz, can exchange if got problem? I read fm the website tt they don't allow exchanges?

kayliz, no probs! tks for sharing the link!!
i checked out the website link you provided - FS cost $530. another friend gave me this link http://megababystore.wordpress.com/ and their FS cost $550. both are US sets.
But for megababystore, they allow you to buy warranty (SG$600 with 3 months warranty or $650 with 1 year warranty).

as most mummies hv shared, actually warranty is not required right? if so, i'll probably just get it from agapebabies, without warranty. (agapebabies recommends PISA though... but think i'll still get FS for the convenience)

Fuzzybear, eh eh, why u encouraging me to spend money leh? But I already planning to go down later or tomorrow to Fox again wahahahaha!

SN, I gone case Liao!

Plush, must get work schedule from ID/contractor, specify deadline, and give yourself minimum two weeks buffer. Dont tell ID/contractor about your buffer period! Usually reno will experience delays. Give reason why u must move in by certain date like auspicious day, sell old flat so must move out (but I think can tell not likely in your case) etc. Else ID/contractor prioritize other people's reno over yours. Better still if can add in penalty clause in your contract, which is to penalize contractor/ID for overshooting deadline although I think not practised for home reno.

Gd luck for ur scan later too Little Prince. My PISA is the tote bag. Depends on ur office attire.. i agree that a backpack is easier to carry but tote bag looks more stylish. as for the motor, it is identical for all 3 types of bags so it is more on the design factor.

Manawab, just buy lah.. i think u are buying necessary items for ur kiddo, not spending money frivolously.

Kayliz, i also very scared my pump will break down on me leh.. i did think of getting a FS but this is my last child, hard to justify the cost of another pump. was telling SN that if i do buy another pump i have to bf for at least 18 mths.
Your boss sounds like a dodo lor.. hope u manage to get ur transfer man. i just moved to be under this new boss and already i BUAY TAHAN her. haizzz.

Manawab, just get FS if u don't drive. I prefer PISA cos i need a lot of suction. :p

Ankh, happy shopping! hahahaha share with us what u bought!

Mommies interested in getting swaddles can consider this brand. super big pieces man: http://www.adenandanais.com/shop/swaddles.aspx

Fuzzybear, thks. Can the motor be removed for all bags or only certain bags?

Actually, I am not sure if I want to buy a pisa coz I realized my 9 yr old double electric medela pump is with my sil all these while and she has passed it bk to me. I used it for 6 mths for DS and my sil didn't bf my nephew for long. I intend to bring it down to the svc ctr to check if the motor is still working well. Any idea if the suction for the double electric is as good as the pisa? A similar medela double electric pump is selling at Spring Maternity ard $300 I think.

MKB, these are my thoughts...

For me, I will not want the maid to take care of my baby anymore. Because her heart is not with me. I will try to ask her to work for me slightly longer till my new maid comes along. If she is willing, then I dun really care if she goes back to her country or change employer. That is, if she is agreeable.

But if she refuse to work for me any longer, I will want to send her back home. But not sure if the maid has a choice or its up to us.

Last time when my maid suddenly want to go home, the agent gave her an option to either go back her country or change employer.

You already paid for this maid's loan. Are you able to get it back if you return the maid? Or you are only allowed to change maid? If can only change maid, then its better to continue working.

Pinky,
Congras on ur healthy baby boy and may your cough go away soon =) yes, like ankh, natural delivery is 3d2n. Usually when u sign delivery package there is no 1n stay package de. Which i have nv seen before la.

Mawanab,
Since ur hb wanna pampers u, just enjoy urself =p indeed suite/single bedded u get to enjoy more privacy.
Aug sld have another round of summer sales but sizes either run out fast or limited sizes left.

Ankh,
Yes. Natural delivery is 3d2n. For #2, when we signed the package its 3d2n la. Aft delivery, i asked my gynae if i can just stay 1nite coz i wanna go back to accompany my boy. So gynae checked and all ok and pd says baby also ok so we got discharged aft 1nite stay. Hosp refunded the bal of the payment to us. I duno if 1st timer can request for only 1nite stay nt.

Kayliz,
Hope u didnt got to work till too late last nite and manage to get a gd nite rest.

Plush,
Congras on ur new place!Have fun with doing up ur love nest =) i actually like the process of decorating up my house. Although tiring but its fun and interesting to see ur home transforming =)

val, paiseh, i havent been too motivated to take pics of my tingkat dinner. so far the dishes were not to my liking but my hb thinks it's great. men really have much lower expectation of food. anyway, here's the menu for this week for your reference. one problem is that we hate fish, and you can only request for no seafood but cannot request for no fish because they have fish almost every other day leh. gosh.

8579551.jpg

detail scan, everything good for bb. the lady who scanned for me is very nice, explained and showed me everything clearly. she took extra effort to check bb heart as my NT measurement during Oscar is high. bb was super active during the scan, so i end up having to take a 30min break before a 2nd scan. bb head is big too, on 90 percentile. happy that everything is ok now.

linxiaober, just got back from tmc so i must agree with ur hub's friend. tmc is 'darker' and 'gloomier' compare to mount a. perhaps u can try going to hospital tour before deciding.

mummychua, congrats on having a good scan!

Val, noted that the Aug sale may have limited sizes. even now, some of the cute clothings are left with only premie sizes.

Littleprince: I meant not exchange if faulty.. if i received the item with the box dented or whatever, at least I can still request to change...
My PISA was second hand, i didnt get to choose the bag but mine was in the backpack which i find it quite ugly.. But whichever bag it comes in, the pump can be easily removed as it is attached by velcro. So I just buy a smaller handcarry bag to put the pump and my icebag together.

Fuzzybear: same lor! Coz i already got a pump but FS is easy to carry around ma. Maybe i will stick with my current pump 1st, before I return to work i will see how.

hello mummies, just back to office after detailed scan. its a boy! wanted a girl and so was and am still kind of disappointed on the way back. but am happy for a healthy baby. my gynae will go thru the results on the 18th! cant wait for that appt. baby not cooperative too and took awhile to scan thru completely. I had no time to stay back as had to be back at work.
baby super active and playful, the lady said. must be like the daddy! I guess, I can look into the shopping items now. :p Its our 2 yr ROM anniversary today. looking forward to a gd dinner with hb.

Mummychua, thumbs up for your detailed scan!

Plush, same for you!
healthy bb good. Look at it this way, your baby's wardrobe won't have overkill of pink tops, pink shorts, pink dresses, pink shoes, pink hairbands ;p

Phew, shopped like mad just now. Went to compass pt Fox kids, shopped, then realised first level atrium also Fox kids sale, lagi cheaper than upstairs, shopped some more! Think in the end got about 18pcs, 2pcs for my #1. And then rushed back home to fetch #1 from school.

Hiya, actually thought I could get some bb clothes back from my cousin, but turns out she's delivering, also a girl, in Sep, not Jul like I'd thought, so I'll have to restock bb clothes from newborn to at least 24 mths. Looks like I'll be cheonging all the fairs now. Think my hubby can start fainting. Wallet and muscles called into action hahahaha!

Plush, happy anniversary!

Me back fm detailed scan too! TMC is so quiet today afternoon, my detailed scan was exactly on time and took 10min only, gynae appt took only 20min including waiting time. Best part was, my placenta is ok now, not low like what he mentioned before. And, I put on 3kg! Baby is at right size and measurements average for most of the organs, gynae was satisfied with my report. Phew! A load off my mind and yayyy, time for shopping!

ankh! 18 pcs!!!!! you are really like me! when we start to shop, we really buy in bulk. lol! otherwise, we don't buy at all. wahahahah. just the other day i was delaying my shopping....then i started buying from Carters then Gymboree then Fox......i need to S.T.O.P.liao.

SN, yeah lor, before I had kids, I used to shop twice a year; GSS and post CNY sales. I actually hate shopping. But this time must shop to pre-empt next year's busy periods. #1 will start primary school and mid yr hopefully we can shift house. I don't think I'll have time to properly shop till next yr after Jul. Next stop: online shopping! Where got Gymboree sales? No la, don't STOP yet la, I need a shopping companion now to make me feel less guilty hahaha!

Little prince, yay, shop! I very naughty hor haha!

I think this pregnancy I've only gotten new shoes and two pairs of leggings. Every thing else has been for the family, especially the kids!

Congrats MummyChua, Plush and Little Prince on ur fab detailed scans! What's the gender of ur baby Little Prince?

Little Prince, like what Kayliz said, all the PISA motors can be removed. but hor i find that the bag they provide is just nice to fit all the cooler bags and funnels in.. i have never taken my motor out cos i scared i spoil it in the process. U have mini electric? i think if u can exact a lot of milk then u can use it. but i know PISA is a lot more efficient.

Kayliz, haizz i still thinking if i shd get another.. my pump is already 5 yrs old. out of this 5 yrs, it was working very hard for 25 mths.

Ankh, 18 pieces??!! are they for newborn? haha dun get carried way and buy like 6 mths onwards.. wait ur bb come out have no clothes to wear.. :p

Plush, one set is on body suit in this pack. if u are buying separates then it means 1 top and one bottom. http://www.carters.com/carters/5-Pack-Short-Sleeve-Bodysuits/VM_111A038,default,pd.html?dwvar_VM__111A038_color=Blue&cgid=carters-baby-boy-collections-little-layette&start=

ankh, same here! before i had kids, i only shopped twice a year during the year end and mid year sale and I will buy like 13 over pieces each time. I don't do window shopping at all. I shop with an aim in mind ahaha. Carters and Gymboree are both online lor. hahaha. now really no time to even buy from shops lar. your next stop should indeed be online shopping. heheheh. cannot lar, i have to stop liao. think i spent close to $400 altogether liao....

bunnymummy, yes i paid maid loan, she will be completing her loan by this month end... i am not really interested in getting new maid as i need to pay maid loan again, training, and my son needs few weeks to go with new person... this is like i or my hubby needs to be with him so that he gets to know new maid... i did same with current maid too...he is very shy type, not easy going... since i work only till oct, later it will be $$ pbm to have maid, sending my #1 to CC next year, and new baby with 1 income..

Fuzzybear, haven't bought the newborn clothes yet! None available just now, most likely have to top up at the bb fairs and Waterloo st. Hehe, if bb really no clothes, just be buck naked until daddy quickly do some emergency shopping la. Don't think she'll be seeing anyone besides grandparents and uncles till CNY. No plans for man yue this time. I just want to snooze my way thru the first few months as much as I can.

SN, aiya.......

ohh, i forgot to share, my baby is a girl.

fuzzybear, my double electric then did serve me well for 6 mths but I didn't have a lot of bm, had to put in a lot of hard work to express. that's why i am thinking of getting the PISA to use at work (if the suction is more efficient for me) and keep the double electric at home for use. am thinking of buying the US set since its cheaper and my 2nd set of pump. eh, we buy together la! :p

SN: not he patang.. He just feel that maybe I should consider other options also... My doc operates in both hospital.. In fact he also recommend mount a actually.. And I dun really have much opinion also cos first time mah.. Hahaha I never been to the hospital tour also.. Maybe I should consider going..

Plush: I wish I can get a chance! I have been bto-ing for like 2 years... Never got a chance to even get a number close to choose flat.. Hopefully this time under the priority scheme there will be chance.. The taka baby fair is on 24/7.. I also have no idea what are the must get things.. Haha hopefully some experienced mummies can share? I remember there was a list posted earlier.. I see if I can find tomorrow during my off day and I repost again ya...

RE: prenatal classes
Anyone knows if west side have any prenatal classes? Cos I see is only mostly at amk or tmc.. Thanks!

RE: nursing pump
When would be a good time to purchase the nursing pump? My hubby say its too early but I dun want to miss the offer period.. Trying hard to convince him that certain things can buy now..

RE: things to prepare for first time mummies
I remember there was a email shared earlier on the essential things to prepare for first time mummies? Can someone send to me as well? So that I can prepare to buy during the taka fair.. Thanks!!!

Hello mummies! On MC again today . Have taken MC for 3 days in June. Dunno my boss will b ok anot tt I took so many MC recently. Yst my cough worsen, spent half e night coughing n only slept 2 hrs. Now at clinic waiting for my turn. 2nd trim not a honeymoon for me at all. =(

Re: bb clothes
Wow.. ankh u bot 18 pcs of clothes aldy! I holding back cos my coll n relative said can pass down e clothes. Wait till I collect from them den see there's a need to buy more. Of cos will buy man yue, xmas, cny clothing for bb boy!

SN, u aldy spent $400! All for ur boy? Dun biased ah.. muz split half half for ur bb girl oso.. keke

Fuzzybear, hm.. PISA is cheaper n better suction but con is heavy n bulky. Dunno shld I get Pisa instead. But I scare dismantle wrongly den e whole thing cant work den jialet.

Congrats little prince! Got a healthy bb! Monday I went tmc for detailed scan was so crowded! Even my gyne clinic was crowded as well! My report show tt e legs n hands n tummy r slightly above average which means longer legs n hands n tummy!! Haha..

Happy anniversary plush! Hope u had a nice dinner yst!

Congrats mummy Chua for a healthy bb!

Sn, ur family dun like fish? Fish is good.. mus eat more fish.. So e menu will change weekly?

Val, so e 2night stay doesn't include delivery period? Wat if like I check in hospital like night time den deliver e next morning. E bill will b counted as 2 night stay? So e 1st night at labour room nt counted right?