(2013/11) November 2013

i bought some on ASOS.. i think their sizes are slightly bigger.. i bought their maternity maxi dress.. veryyyyyyyyyyyy long~..coz all the ang mo like super tall one.. until now i didnt wear yet coz lazy to bring to tailor and alter lei..

winkle, u are so slim. tummy not very big, not small either. can see that u r a pregnant woman.

fuzzybear, i stay in kovan, my mil stays in jurong. my office in bukit batok. so pass few days i will go over to her place look look see see when im free. so if i choose to stay with mil, i will prefer to move to her place rather than her moving to my. cause her place is near to my and my hub workplace. plus my place can get higher rental. anyway we havent decide on anything.

i got to agree with you that the cartoons are getting a little stupid. i only let my gal watch things like thomas the train, dora explorer, xiao ding dang...

Morning everyone!

@Winkle, woah! you're so small built! 5months liao still hav such a slim figures... great for you! Don't worry too much. Small size baby eventually grow very well. My 1st boy born full term at only 2.5kgs. Now he is bigger than his peer who born at 4kgs at birth!

@Fuzzybear, totally agree with you that cartoon these days are junk! For my sons even at this age, I refused to subsribe CN for them but only Nat Geo (education) channel. Shows in CN like "Chowder...Fern & Pern... Oggy & something... Spongebob" all are junk. Teach them to to be crazy than anything else. They only get to watch it in hotel's room which I can see they react really stupid over the show.

Winkle, waaaaahhhhhhh! I envy your tummy! No wonder I move so awkwardly now. My tummy juts waaaaaaaaaaay out more than yours! Oh no, how to regain any figure after I give birth hahaha!

Fuzzybear, my gal mainly watches Disney channel now. No violence. Think the most violent cartoon she's watched is the xi yang yang cartoon, in the hope that she will speak more Chinese. Agree some cartoons are quite stupid. Even I dislike spongebob.

Mummychua, like dat say ah....... No wonder your mil doesn't mind staying on at your home oh no! Some more you pop into her place now and then. Ha, my gal never used to know what was Dora until she went to K1. Peer influence starts young!

linxiaober, dun need to be so pessimistic bout travelling w kids. its ok to travel w one kid. we brought our gal to taiwan and hk when she was 10 mths and 16 mths. just tt w #2 coming along, i dunno if its still possible to travel. w asos, im actually quite pissed. the sizes are always wrong. when i get one size up, its too big. when i get one size down, its way too small. i think the sizes are not suitable for me. sigh...

regarding childcare, currently my #1 is taken care by my mil and maid. when #2 is out, i'll send my #1 to childcare during my ML. im intending to take 6 mths no pay leave till end of next year. not sure how long i can tahan not working (be it financial or my own emotional part), may extend or go back to work aft that.

mummychua, happy to hear the good news of your test. my girl is also a bif fan of tv now. she watches barney and i find its quite educational. she loves baby bop.

kayliz, all the best to your detailed scan. cant wait for mine next thu. i shld be having a girl. but will put off buying baby clothes till the detailed scan.

kayliz: yaa.. their maxi dress very very long... sweeping the floor liao...

fuzzybear, ankh, bless, mummychua: can see tummy.. but maybe some ppl scared to offend me so didnt offer seat to me haahha.. coz they donno if im preg or juz tummy too big.. lolz...

Winkle, i can't even fit into Mango's maxi dresses leh.. and i m 1.72m. :p i haven't bought the stuff i wanted to buy from ASOS cos when i wanted to, i started to bleed again.. haizzz. now thinking dunno whether to buy or not. anyway dun worry abt ur tummy size.. u are like me when i was carrying my #1. in the end my son was 3+kg at birth.

Mummychua, oh yes i recall that u say better to move in with her. then we all say 'nooooo u must be outta ur mind to wanna move in with her!' haha.. ur hb needs to talk to her lor.. hope u get this sorted out soon.

Bless, Mummychua, Ankh, sorry i don't watch tv myself. don't really like it unless they are documentaries. i do catch shows like CSI but in general i dun like to watch tv cos i find it achieves nothing for me. I cannot understand how ppl can get hooked onto tv serials. finished already then what? has no impact to my life either.. hahaha. that's why i dun let my son watch tv cos it has nv been a habit for me. i dunno what cartoons there are out there. but if he watches cartoons it will be on the Disney channels. If really have to watch cartoons, i prefer those feature lengths type like Finding Nemo or Toy Story.

Xiaober, actually in this case ur doc will be more worried abt infection to ur bb. leakage means there's a hole in the amniotic sac. meaning bacteria can go in and cause infection!! not just a drop in water level leh.

My office here is pouring! Rain so heavy.. went to tabao fish noodle to eat. But still feel "empty" after finished eating. Do you all feel tt 2nd Trim tends to get hungry easily?

Winkle - You r so slim!! How many kgs have u gain so far? Tink all shld only goes to ur tummy..ur legs n hands so skinny oso....

Mummychua - u seriously considering to move in w ur mil? Staying together is different story. But of cos, is convenient to stay tgt as in she can take care of urs kids n oso cook for u. Is ur mil easy to get along?

Fuzzybear - u r v tall! 1.72. when ur detailed scan? Maybe after detailed scan, can buy ur maxi dress?

I oso like maxi dress but find it nt v appporpriate to wear to work. Had one at home n only wore once for dinner. haha..

Kayliz - Thanks! I got ur mail! I saw the list. Super long!! Sooo many things to buy!

Have fun seeing ur bb during ur detailed scan! I realised mummy one by one gg for detailed scan... y mine still so far!! Furthermore, now GSS, i cant get anything at all because i waiting for my detailed scan. Sighz

re: Cartoon
Since young, im a fan of TV. Watch alot cartoons like Care bears, xiao ding dang or even power rangers. LOL...I can sit infront of e TV to eat my meals. That's v bad lo...end up i got super high myobia. My parents were busy working & left me w my granny who dun care oso. So now, i will be a super STRICT parent to my child.

re: Stomach got wind, kept letting out air =x
Starting this week, i starts to have lotsa wind of cos letting out them as well..=x Dunno y. I wonder issit i change my breakfast by having cereal w milk? Does milk cause winds?

fuzzybear: u sooooo tall!! wahh! den ASOS dresses u sure can wear...they are for tall mummies like you.. im 165cm.. i wear liao sweep the floor..hahah..

Pinky: i gained 3kg from day 1 till now lor.. maybe this week another 500g - 1kg bah.. coz i feel a lil meaty liao..lolz..

ankh - LOL! Thanks for explaining! i like your last sentence!

Asos - If you are of normal built hor, size 10 should be ok (its the size i opt for, i am around 1.62m and a size S usually before preggie). Don't opt for just nice else you will run out of clothes to fit you nearer to delivery. For those dresses that are long, can bring them to those seamstress at market and alter the length (very easy altering wan) for a few dollars.

fuzzybear - i didn't want to go GP yesterday coz was really in pain and for a moment, i was worried if it could be contractions as the pain came and went. if really contractions, GP will refer me to KKH then even worse. thankfully, today so far so good. *cross fingers*

winkle, you are really slim! btw, i bought my peg perego at $599 too! didn't manage to check out any aprica strollers.

fuzzybear, yes, will start to think about childcare soon. think that's the most sian part of having kids.

Pinky, if you are lactose intolerant, then taking milk can cause wind. Either heat up the milk or drink other calcium fortified drinks if you're drinking milk for the calcium.

Pinky, Winkle, i can't fit into maxi dresses cos they are too long. I dun wear heels so may be that's why.

Pinky, my detailed scan is on 10th Jul. exactly 2 wks away.
i know my bb is healthy. what i m worried abt is more of placenta abruption. and this is def my last preg so dunno if i shd get more clothes. Yes, if u are lactose intolerant, u might fart more. Warming up of milk doesn't reduce lactose content though.

Littleprince, one way to determine if u are having contractions is to touch ur belly when u are in pain. if it is soft, then u are not having contractions. contractions cause ur abdominal muscles to tighten and harden up. watch what u are eating.. may be just eat plain stuff until ur tummy settles.

Manawab, yes better start planning.. like what most mommies have shared, some ccs are already full!

Snake_bb how are u? everything ok? no bleeding?

hello ladies... have not been posting.. just reading your post...

Soooo sleepy after lunch..... -_- .. i have been so lazy lately.

I think my tummy is big because of the food I eat and the fats I have.. have to curb myself from over eating at times.

Btw mummies, have you all started drinking those formula milk for pregnant/lactating mummies? I have bought a tin but I haven't started drinking it yet.

Wrinkle, wow you are really slim and envy that u only gained 3kg. I have put on 7kg at 21weeks with this pregnancy already!! Last pregnancy only gained total of 11kg and tummy also very small..now ppl guess more accurately cos my tummy much bigger though bb size comparable to my previous pregnancy. Guess all the weight is on my ba ba arms and thighs..just worried that nausea will come back in 3rd trimester which was why i could not gain weight with #2....fingers crossed..

millie: maybe i puked alot, so i put on weight slower than others.. but now im eating very well.. so starting to gain already.. late bloomer...

Fuzzy bear,So far thanks god.No bleeding.Just feel back aching.How abt u?
Will be doing my detail scan nxt Friday.Hope by then my placenta is shifting up.

Winkle u really have small tummy.No need to worry abt weight gain.As long u breast feed,u will slim down.I started drinking milk starting of 2nd trimester. Cos my #1 was born below 3kg. I really hope #2 can hit 3kg. Heavy bb easier to carry and take care.

Thanks Kayliz and Ankh!

Kayliz i pte msg u my email add. Looking forward to hear from u.

Winkle u r looking so slim still!

It's an irony for me. This is my #1. Initially i was hoping my bump will show soon, and worry that baby not enuff nutrients so i eat alot and drink alot of milk! at abt 18 weeks i put on a total of six kg. Now i am super worried abt how to lose weight after birth.

I went for pilates class today and my instructor was commenting i am losing some stamina and arching my back more.

tsktsk. super worried when i grew bigger!!!

asos is having sale. i bought some knee length dresses. Hope i can wear them till delivery!

have a good dinner everyone!

Arissa: I started drinking about few weeks back.. But I dun drink them everyday.. Maybe alternate days or when nights that I m hungry and dun want to eat solid food.. So I will drink that cos it is quite filling for me... But my bro told me not to drink everyday cos that time my sil drank everyday and put in weight very fast... So now he advise me dun drink everyday though suppose to drink twice..

Winkle: your tummy really quite small compared to mine.. Lolz.. Think that's my normal tummy before getting pregnant.. But my hubby keep saying its okay to have small tummy now cos when 3rd tri the baby will gain weight very fast and that is where your tummy will really be big..

Yay u started to gain Winkle. U must be really slim to begin with. I have just managed to gain back the 4kg I lost only this week. So just about pre-preg weight now. But my tummy is way bigger than u and everybody is giving me seats in the bus.

Arissa, I have got a lot of samples of maternal milk from my gynae's clinic. Haven't really started on them becos my appetite hasn't been gd. What I recommend u to do is not to drink the recommended amt cos it is sooooo sweet. Say it says 4 scoops to 250ml of water, I recommend u put like 3 scoops will do.

Snake_bb, glad to hear that all's well with u. Ur placenta is completely covering ur cervix?

Have been stuck in a jam for the past 45 mins. Bus only moved like 800m!! Urgh!

linxiaober, ya..i worried that i will bloat very fast by starting on the milk powder.. i will just drink on alternate days then..

fuzzybear..i am also stuck in Jam.. was stuck in PIE, now crawling out from Eng neo to find alternative route back home...

i want to reach home soon.. working for 11hours straight for the past 2 days really tires me out...

Arissa: ya maybe you try two scoop first .. The brand I take is 2 cup scoops.. But I mix it with milo cos the vanilla taste makes me feel like I ate three Mac ice cream.. So I reduce the two scoops to not that full n mix milo.. Dunno if the effect will reduce but at least I can finish it..

Any one queuing for Mac? I just walked over to the nearest Mac at my house here... The queue is horrible!! My friend at cck outlet sold out le.. My house here de got police car turn in to maintain the order I think.. Cos I saw the car turning in.. Please be careful if you are queuing okay?

arissa, I started drinking the milk once a day since start of 2nd tri. I prefer anmum as the vanilla taste is not so strong as other brands and doesn't taste so thick or sweet. For mummies that don't like the taste of milk, they have chocolate flavour too

Weight-wise, so far I gained about 6kg at 21 weeks. Mummies, I think don't need to worry too much about weight gain now, as long as it's from "good stuff" and not empty calories... you can always lose it later on with bf and exercise!

Mummies who bought stuff from ASOS, are there extra costs or you pay the total item price on the website? How long is the shipping time? I haven't shopped on ASOS before, planning to buy a few things.

winkle - when we are in our 3rd trim, our bb n our weight will shoot up very fast. So maybe is oso good to not to gain so much weight in e begining? Cos i gt a fren, e gyne commented e bb too big, cannot go for natural delivery.

Fuzzybear - i tot ur height is most suitable to wear for maxidress even wo heels.. 1.72m wear maxidress still sweep e floor den what abt e rest of us.. keke..

But i guess we r already in our 2nd trim... e placenta should b more or less stable? Dont worry/think so much k, tell urself it will b fine! And yes u n ur bb will b fine!! =)

Fuzzy bear & ankh - I drank milk alot before preg and was okay with it. Dunno y now having lactose intolerant. Weird. Or maybe i kaisu went to change e brand to Marigold bcos got DHA. Lol.. Shall change back to HL and see if im still lactose intolerant.

anhk - calcium fortified drinks are like? Soyamilk? My sis told me dun drink soyamilk if is a boy cos e boy will become "niang niang". Dunno how true..But i immediately stop drinking soyamilk le...

Re: maternal milk
Issit a must to drink maternal milk? Cos was given multi-vit & calcium supplement to eat. Is it sufficent? I have a sample at home as well but dint try cos i scare too heaty.

linxiaober - ya! i oso saw e Mac Q this morning was long!! Didnt q for HK cos already missed a few HK le... so no point collecting le... haa

maternal milk, during my #1 my gynea told me that there's not need for those maternal milk coz they are providing the nutrients as the multivit. although i do take them during my #1 but i dont plan to do it now. i stop drinking milk for sometime liao other than those they put in my coffee.

pinky, soya milk has phytoestrogens and isoflavones, compounds similar to the female hormone estrogen so that is why ppl avoid giving it to boys. but i suppose a little wont harm. my theory, eat all thing in moderation. but soya milk do cause indigestion and bloating.

i too getting very gassy too. very paiseh to pass gas in office coz some of them is quite stinky.

fuzzybear, u r really tall. if u cant wear long dress, which mummy here can. rare to have gals at ur height.

bruising, i just found 3 not big but very dark bruises on my legs. dont rmb banging myself anywhere near the area, esp 2 of those bruise are in those difficult to bang area. should i be getting concern? i did my FBC during my gynea visit 3wks ago but no call from them yet.

snakebb, linxiaober, angie: ya lor.. tats y people at work keep asking if i eat enough food for bb anot =x later if my tummy balloon i think they will say y i eat so much hahaha..

Fuzzybear: glad to hear u are gaining back ur weight le! u still puking anot?

Pinky: i think i will gain very fast from now onwards liao... coz i really can eat! we shall see in late oct..lolz...

angie: sent!

maternal milk: i only drink normal HL milk. coz i find the maternal milk hard to dissolve that i always drink the "clumps" which is yucky..

I havent had my prenatal vit and calcium pills for very long. they r too big and i cant swallow them. i only take fish oil..

ytd at the clinic while waiting for my detailed scan, there is this lady beside me who was sitting with her legs crossed. her hubby kept scolding her telling her not to cross legs coz it is bad for the baby... really meh? i sit crossed legs all the time leh.

kayliz: my cousin told me not to cross leg also.. not good for blood circulation.. i also donno... but i still cross my legs when i sit... but as my tummy grows i find it uncomfy liao..

How's everyone today?

@Winkle, you're not short either at 1.65. I'm only 1.58 ley. U wear liao sweep the floor, call me over then I'll be mopping the floor!!

I'm too still crossing legs but whenever I do that (habit) i can immediately feel baby kicking towards the squeezed side then I'll just let down my leg. Guess bb prefer more space bah.

Anyone buy any baby stuff lately? hiaz, I've not buying anything yet. Maybe becoz is #3 so we tend to be more relax and not so kanchiong abt getting ready :p

i bought lots and lots of clothes for my bb liaoz.. mummy is a shopaholic..so whenever i see very sweet rompers or dresses for infant i'll buy...hahaha..

Hullo mommies! had lunch? had some wonton mee but feel so pukey.. plus i keep burping my fish oil up.. so gross smelling.

Snake_bb, seems like ur placenta is partially covering or just touching the cervix (the opening is called the OS). gd chance it will move up!

Pinky, Mummychua, erm may be i dun really like wearing long dresses. like very in the way.. ankles feel like they are trapped. :p my dresses are usually midi length. hehehe. but the Mango dress i have is very long leh.. touching the floor when i wear it so i didn't bother to wear or have it altered. hoping i will grow taller!

Pinky, then u shdn't be lactose intolerant.. may be just change milk brands? i just make sure i drink 1 cup of milk a day for now. HL is my choice for high calcium need. Already taking DHA pills so i m going for calcium instead.

Winkle, i still feel nauseated. i know if i go and try throwing up, everything will come out. haizzz.. some days my appetite will be almost back to usual.. other days i m still eating abt 50% of my intake. eh nv wait for me to shop! LOL

Kayliz, how was ur detailed scan? all good? confirm gal?

I am starting to get water retention already. i think its my chairs cos they don't have much padding.. so cuts my circulation.. haizz..

fuzzybear: no need to wait for anyone to shop! juz grab watever u see! hahaha.. u will end up like me..cupboard collapsed once at home...wahahahahha... built in cupboard collapsed coz cldnt take the weight of my clothes... =p

i cut down alot on shopping already.. trying to see if i can become millionaire anot by saving on my shoppings.. heh~

Hello everyone..

I just had my detailed scan yesterday.. confirmed getting a meimei.. Mixed feelings.. like all my insecurities coming up.. cos i'm quite unfeminine, not very fashion savvy or graceful.. hope i dun pass these on to her and can be a gd role model. But otherwise, i'm quite looking fwd lah.. everyone says that daughters will be nicer and sweeter to their parents, so i hope that will be case!

Anyway, just to rant.. felt like slapping this guy who was talking loudly to his friends at the hawker centre.. i was queueing nearby and could hear every word.. he showed his friends a pic his friend posted on his FB - was a maternity shot, very tastefully done, the mummy only showing her big belly but top is well covered with a black tube that was not even very figure-hugging. The guy made a face and said loudly.. this is DISGUSTING! then went on to rant abt how people shldn't publicise such photos.. Felt quite angry lor.. who is he to judge and what's so disgusting abt people showing their pregnant bellies if they want.. it wasn't even nude shots.. hmpf!

Nah Winkle, i haven't started shopping cos gender not confirmed.. my hb is very excited though (cos he keeps thinking it will be a gal). kept asking me are there things that only gal babies would need. I told him no.. just clothes..

Where have u been shopping at? any gd buys?

kinderbueno: that guy from flintstone age la.. maybe he's a vampire from few thousand years ago..so very surprised on all these modern shoots..lolz..

Fuzzybear: i shop everywhere...from fairs to cotton on baby, GAP babies, H&M, those push cart etc...hahah.. as long they look cute and pretty and affordable i'll buy..

Need to let out my "wu yan".. I just posted in fb grp so those in the group will know what happened..
I on my way back to my mum's place via mrt. I didn't intend to sit initially but at JE stop quite alot of people left so I saw empty seat at the reserved seat so I took it though I m dropping off after 2 stops. The moment my butt just land on the seat, one Aunty came in and start 'eh eh eh eh' to me. As she is saying, she keep pointing to herself... She is obviously demanding me to give up the seat to her.. I really stunned for that moment but I still gave up my seat to her.. Just find that it was kinda rude.. Is there really no courtesy in the public transport? This is the first time I ever encounter such a situation. The best part was after giving up my seat, I purposely stood infront of her and my tummy facing her... (Yes I did it on purpose) and the moment she say my tummy and when I keep rubbing it, she turn her head and look at me again. Dan started talking to herself pointing to the poster and herself. And she got very BUSY going through her things in her bag.. VERY BUSY until its so fake.. And meantime she keep looking at my tummy... Seriously.. If she merely stood infront of me when she board, I m more than willing to offer my seat to her.. But why demand Dan act busy? If you think you have the whole right, Dan have that right.
Super speechless and irritated now...

Hopefully my baby wun have devil horns like what my hubby say.. Hahaha cos he kick me when I stood up from the seat..

super sleepy. nowadays seem to start having insomnia. during my last pregnancy, i had quite bad insomnia, i could be tired but just unable to sleep. This time round, i can sleep but if i wake up to pee at 4am, i wont be able to go back to sleep. last night i woke up at 4plus am again, but i force myself to go back to sleep without going to the toilet, managed to sleep till morning. sometimes i wonder if you just feel like pee-ing cos of the the baby pressing on your bladder but you actually dont have much water to release. It's just the feeling of wanting to pee.

Re; Upcoming Baby Taka Fair

in case some of you not aware yet, there's a taka baby fair from 24 July 2013 - 11 august.

any idea if there's anymore baby expo after that?
thinking if we shld start buying and stocking up at the taka fair le...looking at the super long list of things.omg..so stressful for first time mummies!

Hmm so its ok for me to drink marigold milk? because i don't like the taste of powder milk.. very artificial tasting :/...

linxiaober... some aunties are just plain rude and selfish.. thinking the whole world owns them. Did anybody beside you let up their seats for you instead?
Anyway acting busy shows that she is trying to hide her shame and guilt with her actions - very pathetic actions just because of a seat.
Good that you didn't engaged in a argument with her.. no point "dong tai qi" over such uncivilized aunties.

SN, I also always go pee at least twice every night. But i am quite happy to wake up and pee remove the strain and the urine from my body. After that I will drink water before i head back to bed again to prevent dehydration.. so far I do not have major issue heading back to dreamland.. maybe because i know that i will wake up late and go in office slightly later :p.

Fuzzybear, how do you start to observe yourself having water retention? I know how to see serious cases, but I am not sure for the mild cases.

Silver thanks for the info! I am gonna chiong my way to the taka fair! Best time for us to start getting serious and buy the things we need.

@Shopping
I have bought the medela pump, pigeon milk bottle sterilizer and combi stoller for my baby. I have not yet settle the car seat, furniture and baby cot. Clothes wise, I am waiting for pass-downs and gifts from my sister *hee*.
Mummies, is baby cot or playpend better? I am not sure which one should I get.

hahaha Winkle, u are really in a shopping mood.. hehehe.. gals like got a lot of things to buy hor.. happy shopping! i m hoping Mothercare's rompers got discount.. their rompers quite gd quality.

Silver, at Taka fair, there usually will be bundle deals for the steriliser.. like buy a steriliser will throw in free food warmer, bottles etc.. quite a gd deal.
also usually there are bottles exchanges for Pigeon and Medela. bring in ur old bottles for a discount on the new bottles. I usually bring my old bottles for trade it. Can grab wet wipes, nail clipper, nose aspirator (for cleaning nose boggers) etc.. u shd do some research on what car seat and stroller u want and compare prices.. usually during the Taka baby fair, Baby Hypermart and Baby Kingdom will also have sale.

Arissa, u can drink any milk u want.. try drinking 2 glasses then.
Erm i have very skinny and narrow feet. I can see all the metatarsals of my feet usually.. when i have water retention i can feel my skin getting stretched out and tight. can't see my bones either. when i press really hard at the flesh around my ankles, the flesh will dimpled down and a depression will form for abt 3-5mins.

As for cot and playpen, i prefer a proper cot for good back support. Playpen seems too filmsy for me.. plus i intend to convert the cot into a toddler bed. Car seat i recommend that u get one that can seat from 0-4 yrs old. not those bucket carrier that Maxi-Cosi has.. cos bb would outgrow that within a yr.

fuzzybear: yes everything was all good at the scan. bb in good position too and i got a "bonus" photo of her full face in 3D. And it is confirmed a girl! I just bought some newborn baby girl clothes. The tiny sizes just brings back memories.. so cute!

linxiaober: yucks, that aunty is too much... but what about the rest of the passengers? How come all also act blur?!