(2013/11) November 2013

Thanks Val. Have you started prepping your #2 to baby's arrival already? Are they too young to understand? I tried to interest my boy in having a didi or meimei, but he said he don't want

Kayliz - I used to have fish soup few times a wk during #1's time, but some people told me not to eat too much cos most stalls use batang fish which we can't eat too much.. I'm not sure if true or not, but i guess have to force ourselves to spread out our diet. If i hv my way, i'll be eating tom yum and laksa every day - this baby seems to love spicy and unhealthy food!

piggie, i think it depends on the kind of fish they use.. cos we not supposed to eat the bigger types of fish cos they tend to have more mecury in them. Most fish soup stalls use batang, but i not sure if it's a big or small fish, so i guess just try not to 'overdose'! But i realise that dietary restrictions depends on individual risk appetites also.. i've friends who still eat sashimi when preggy.. super envy, but i dun dare to!

Wow the thread v busy!! Been long time since in here!! Need sometime to catch up! Haa

Congrats to mummies who are in trim 2!!
And those still in trim 1hang in there! V v v v fast you will feel energetic again!

SY,
Agree, think they are very excited that you are expecting again but they kind of fail to understand your fear esp when the last 2 pregnancies didnt end well. You must be strong too, keep telling baby to be good and grow healthy and you are waiting to see him/her when full term. I feels talking to baby helps. =)

Sei,
Haha. I didnt crave for chilli during my #2 and she is a lit chilli padi. Keke.

Sheep,
I will let my gynae know why i wanna reject la coz even nw nt taking iron supplements i already have a harder time with my bowel as compared to pre pregnancy liao le. If takes cfm constipate! I will let him know i intend to supplement in other form such as veg and hope he will approve =p currently, i am only taking obimin. Hehe.

Fuzzybear,
Are ur boys attending sch or u have any helper/help at hm?

Kinderbueno,
This is my #3 =p during my 2nd preg we prep my boy by bringing him to gynae visit, shows him photos/scans of baby, tell him he gonna be a big korkor and he will have a younger sibling to play with and for him to dote on and of coz the baby will adore him. We also bought storybooks on arrival of sibling and read to him. We try to get him as involved as possible witj the pregnancy. This rd, we did the same for the kids. I have friends who told me the kid will feel the diff more if is 2nd child coming along. If 3rd child the 2older siblings already used to one another so they tend to feel the diff lesser. Hope its true but still have to beware of the kids feelings too...
I also took alot of fish soup/noddles during my previous 2nd pregnancies.
Re: unhealthy food
Must try to cut dwn on unhealthy food and dun overeat. I piled on 20kg during my 1st preg!! >_<

kinderbeuno: really? omg.. but i love it so much.. and now thinking about it i wanna drool again although i already had it for lunch. haha. must control liao!

SY: my sil has twins and only 6 mths old.. But she already dismantled her baby cot &amp; packed 2 big bags of infant clothing for me Liao... Lolz! I don't even hve the mood to do any shopping coz was feeling nauseous &amp; tired all the time..

Sel: I ate lots of spicy food before and during preg.. Hehehe... Maybe my bb will be fierce too!

I onli felt once or twice onli lei.. Maybe too small to feel regularly...

Fuzzybear,

Oops just saw your msg.. hehe.. Glad to hear your scan is good, hope your doc will advise you further on what to do about the blood clot.. When is your review of oscar results? I only went in for my scan at 5 plus.. Bb was very active today and we were pleasantly surprised when the sonographer switched it to 3D mode for us at one point.. The NT measurement is 1.3mm.. Gotta wait for review on thur then i'll know the ratio..

Kayliz, every women different but since it was same as #1 then nothing to worry

I'm taking fish oil, Multi-vit and calcium now
only problem I have is the fish oil keeps coming up and makes me want to gag
wondering if Scott's emulsion just as good?

Ladies, what question should I ask a confinement lady? Meeting up with 1 this Saturday, recommended by my friend. Malaysian - Aunty mei yan

Priscilla: i take my fish oil before bedtime.. But i find it easier to swallow fish oil than the normal vitamins coz it just glides down the throat.

Morning ladies, I just occur to me that I might get bad Oscar result. During the scan we did see the nose bone but the nt measurement is at 3.1mm. Which I just realised it's consider as high risk. Plus the weird call from tmc lab asking if I'm diabetic. I called my gynae abt that but according to them it's a standard routine question. Did anyone else got ask this question?

I'm kind of freaking out here. Been thinking abt it the whole of yesterday nite. How long do we normally have to wait for the result?

Good morning all mummies.. need some changes on my EDD and Gynae i'm seeing .. EDD changed to 30th Nov 2013, switched to Dr Regina at GynaeMD@clementi as its nearer to my place and i really love the way she explain to us and showing us our little one. she even save the photos and motion video into a cd for us to bring it home ! however hospital to deliver i will have to choose later lo..

Morning mommies! At my doc's clinic for my jab. My MS seems to have changed cos I m now nauseated immed upon waking up. Evening I still feel nauseated but no puke. When will it stop? I used to be able to stomach my pills cos I take them in the morning. Now I'm just throwing it up.

Mummychua, what did ur gynae say abt ur combined risk? Have to look at both the NT thickness and ur blood test result. Don't just look at one.

Min, it's ok! I left abt 5 too. Gd that ur NT is quite thin! I think the sonographer was more worried abt the haematoma I have. She kept taking shots of it. Got the attending doc in to see it too.

I think what I have is a subchorionic haematoma like what some of u have except mine is very big. I did read that these would usually resolve by itself but I will have a higher risk of preterm labour and miscarrying. Haizzz

mummychua: most of my friends get their oscar results the next day. but i rem our clinic did not received my report as soon, might be due to a PH at that time. a gentle reminder that our clinic will not be calling to inform u the test report if everything is ok. if u're worried, may want to request clinic to give u a call once they receive ur report, just for reassurance...

feeling so bored and no mood to work. been surfing net since i reached office and purchased 3 books online. lol! looking forward to lunch time..

fuzzybear, continue to think positive thoughts alright? jiayou!!

Lynn, our EDD is so near
mine is on 29 Nov. glad that i've got company in 1st tri... seems that most mummy are alr safely into 2nd tri. Will you be gg for OSCAR?

kayliz i'm feeling bored at work everyday. haha.. yest even took last min pm leave cos my hub on mc. in the end we went to eat n spend my pm leave napping. lol..

xuan: so good! my leave is pretty limited.. only left 2 days MC (due to my bedrest in 1st trimester) and personal leave left less than 10 days for the rest of the year coz i took a week off for my vacation.

haha i dun often do this.. it just happen that i have half day leave to clear, n was feeling lazy on a monday.. =P

the rest of my leaves i plan to keep till 3rd tri then clear bit by bit..

by the way mummies, when are u planning to start taking your maternity leaves? before edd or start exactly from delivery date?

xuan: This time, i want to take as near to delivery date as possible. For #1 i took 2 weeks before EDD, was practically doing nothing throughout. I would go shopping but quite boring coz everyone was working &amp; i was alone all the time.

xuan..haha I'm thinking of taking maternity leave only after I give birth..hehe..
but I heard towards end of last trimester might feel really too tired and not sleeping well so might be hard to resume work as per normal.

wana save as much leave as possible so can spend time with the little one..

regarding fish oil, my tummy doesn't seem to digest it fast enough, whenever I take my fish oil I can taste the fish oil in my mouth whenever I burp even hours later loh.

mummychua: can try call n check. cos if not u will keep feeling worried..

RE: maternity leave
yea i'm also planning to only start taking maternity leave on the day i deliver. but as a 1st time mum, not sure wat to expect, eg tiredness of 3rd tri, back pains, etc, esp with tummy exploding by that time. haha..

the headache part is u wont know exactly when u will deliver. may be early, may be late, may be exactly on the edd. i scared if i take my maternity leave early but deliver late, then i'm just wasting those days when i can spend more time with my bb...

for those mummies who have taken Oscar, do you see your gynae for routine checkup after that? or just take Oscar only?

my Oscar is this Fri, am worried too if everything is ok. if sonographer gives some indication during Oscar, can ask gynae during checkup to get some comments first while waiting for blood test results?

i have passed 12 weeks and so far so good, i could feel baby's heartbeat and occasional movements around week 10 actually when i prop myself at a certain angle and press gently on my tummy. maybe coz this is #2 so i can tell if its a movement from baby.

mummychua - just call up to check, calling is free mah. who knows? maybe they have been too busy to call you?

maternity leave - I will take very close to edd this time. when i took then for #1, i started 2 weeks before edd because i thought maybe will give birth early and i was very tired to go to work daily. who knows, i delivered 3 days after edd and only had 6 weeks (ML was 8 weeks then) with #1 before returning to work, so sad. so if you all can, don't take so early then can spend more time with little one like what silver mentioned.

oh yar, if you decide to work till edd, better pack hospital bag early and standby just in case ... i will probably leave in my car so that if i happen to need to deliver during work, can grab my bag.

ya lor i find it abit pointless to start taking maternity leave too early n end up spending the time slping n staring at ceiling only.. haha.. >.<

littleprince: after my oscar i din get to see my gynae. will only see him 4wks later after my oscar appt. i have the same gynae as mummychua n our clinic practise the "no call means good news" policy. lol.. kinda irritating i feel.

yay! finally another mummy who can feel bb's heartbeat thru tummy by touch! i keep thinking how come i seem to be the only 1 who can experience this. actually, my hub is the 1 who can feel it better than me. =P

I just called, see I'm Kan Chong. They say if the result is bad they will fax the result over immediately but till now still no fax so it should be ok. Official report will be send to them abt 1wk later. Maybe I will just call again next Monday. Got a uneasy feeling on this. Haiz. Maybe it's better not to take Oscar. Do already make me so kanchong.

ML, i will take only after birth. Coz wanna to total breast feed. Anyway xuan, most of the time Dr phua won't allow u to overdate due for many days. I was induced the next day when my #1 didn't come out on time. Anyway my gal is quite big sized so I also don't want to wait. Scare cannot natural birth.

Mummychua, could the diabetes question be based on your blood test?testing of glucose level was part of my blood test. I took my Oscar on a Thu morning, only received the results on Sat morning. Think when test results are relayed may depend on how busy the nurses are. And yeah, Oscar results must combine w blood test results.

Fuzzybear, wow, u got SCH? Sounds like u got the right treatment. Dunno if possible, just try rest more. Just also wondering, maybe the additional progesterone worsening your MS symptoms? Cos side effects of all these support meds are basically MS symptoms.

mummychua: how come our clinic says different things to different pple 1? tt time when i gan cheong n call to enquire, they told me tmc only courier out the report next day, so the clinic may not receive it immediately, esp since tt time there was a PH. but now they tell u official report is only sent out next wk... they make me quite confused sometimes, in the end i just ignore. lol..

by the way mummychua, i've been wanting to find out, do u know if dr phua is pro-natural or pro-csect? is he the kind of gynae who always try to induce labour? cos alot of the reviews i saw say that they were induced.

my gynae appt is after my Oscar so i shall try asking my gynae if i am told of the measurement and see if i can get some info earlier. else i think i will be dead anxious to have to wait till next week for the news.

xuan - even if you don't touch tummy, you can actually see the tummy having trembles on its own when you prop up. but i don't like the feeling of baby like "pinching me fm inside" or "get electrocuted", very annoying when i get a fright from that. is that the somersaults some of the mummies mentioned?

mummychua - so its good news for now, don't stress yourself.

hello mommies. so many postings yesterday. I have been busy at work. Read about the Laksa YTF, feel like eating that, but food court standard is bad. there are only certain stalls whose laksa YTF can make it.

got one colleague asked me to walk over to her desk when she was the one who needed to ask me things. duh loh, if you are the one who needs to ask my things, shouldn't you be walking over. I always find it rude to ask pregnant woman to walk over, oh well, maybe she still cant see my tummy yet.

littleprince: i dun see the trembles, only when putting my hand on my tummy then can see abit. i think i'm quite "wood" to the things happening in my tummy. i dun feel anything 1 leh.. my hub is better at this. haha.. the other day he said he felt some bubble like movement or dunno wat when he touch my tummy. i only say "have meh?". hahaha...

ankh, actually the blood test got nothing to do with u being diabetic or not. its just testing for free beta hcg and papp-a. i used to work for the company selling the equipment for the blood test. that's why im confused and worry why they called to ask if im diabetic. if they are testing for glucose, they should ask patient to fast but i had a full breakfast before the test. according to my clinic, this is a standard question which they forgot to ask me before the test. did anyone here got asked this question during the test?

Xuan, like that how? should i call again. haiz. its the young malay gal that answered my phone call. i still got another 4wks before i see dr phua leh.

dr phus is pro-natural, in my #1 thread there another mummy who's under dr phua which insisted on c-seat but dr phua object and changed her thinking. so she end up natural. but i dont think he enjoy having his patient overdue, so will recommend to induce. you can reject if you want to wait. i did wanted to wait but i started to bleed on my due date. so the next day just go hospital and induce. if you need to be c-seat, dont worry, i hear that his sewing skill very good.

mummychua, maybe can tell the clinic to call u once they receive the report. then u wont have to struggle abt when u shld call them again to check..

thanks for the detailed reply on dr phua! i havent really thot of my birth plan yet, only know i want to go thru natural if possible, so it's good to know tt dr phua is pro-natural n will only induce n do csect if necessary. guess i will just leave my "big day" to his professional advice. hehe...

piggie, my report from TMC, got four ratios under each trisomy tested. I look at the adjusted risk ratio.

Mummychua, strange leh, my blood test results included glucose (random) testing under diabetes mellitus profile section. But my blood test also tests for a lot of non related oscar stuff like hep B, rubella, HIV etc. Maybe out of the three test tubes of blood drawn, they only used one for Oscar blood test?

Little prince, I saw my gynae after my Oscar, she just asked me if I saw the bb during the scan. I don't think then she even got any reports from the lab yet. Only got the hard copy two weeks later at gynaes clinic when I had to see gynae again.

SN, er maybe u don't have a lot of belly fats so tummy not so obvious yet? I look like 4-5 months pregnant already in the mornings. By night time looks like I added on one more month. My friends last week commented I looked big for three months. Boohoo, too much tummy fats before this pregnancy started, despite the weight loss in first trimester!

ankh my blood test for hiv, hep B n etc were done during my wk11 visit to the gynae, before my oscar test. maybe different clinic practice differently? some do it together with Oscar, some separately with Oscar..

xuan, actually better not to have birth plan. i know alot of ppl who had detail birth plan end up not having what they planned and got angry with themselves. my plan is to go with the flow, do whatever that is good for bb.

ankh, u mean those tests are do together with Oscar? i dont think so leh, cos i nv pay for them. tmc wont help me to run free test rite? if they run for hiv they will need to ask for my permission rite?

bb bump, i start having my bb bump now but by wearing all those loose clothing, no one started asking if im preg. saw my sibling for some cancer screening this morning, they didnt notice anything either.

Fuzzybear,

Are you still on leave? Must continue to rest well k, try not to strain the body and avoid squatting..

Ankh,

Yesterday my Oscar test only required 1 tube of blood.. The other things like Hep B, rubella, etc, i already took it before my ivf so the doc said no need to repeat.. So i guess ya, actually only 1 tube needed for Oscar to check free beta hcg and papp-a like mummychua mentioned..

mummychua: ya lor.. plus i noobie, 1st time mum, better not plan until too ambitious. just go with the flow n listen to doc's suggestions. dun want to put myself thru unneccessary long hrs of labour also..

u mean ur siblings dunno tt u're preg yet? my bb bump also not showing.. most of my friends commented tt they are not preg but their tummy is even bigger than mine. lol...

Mummychua, sit tight. Cannot do anything until results come. When is ur next appt? Hang in there and come and chat with us more.

For me, my doc scheduled me to see him this fri. My blood test results shd be out by tmr. Since I'm gg to get jabbed, he requested for me to come in. Plus I think he wants to monitor the size of my SCH. My doc will always call no matter what's the results. That's how gd his bed side manner is. His thought on this is that we paid for the test and it is done for a reason so we have every right to know the results as soon as he gets them.

Re: maternity leave
I think mommies expecting their 2nd or 3rd kid might wanna start only after you pop. I find 16 wks not enough to use with 2 kids!! Ur time is split btw so many kids that u barely have enough time to rest urself. For my 2nd preg, I worked till the day I pop.

Ankh, hrmm may be the extra progesterone is making me sick. Dr F told me I can stop my utrogestan cos it's making me very dizzy. My bp is super low too, at 80+/50+. Anyway I stopped one dose of utrogestan and didn't puke this morn. Appetite seems a bit better.

xuan, ya no one in my family knows. cos my elder bro just got diagnosis with nose cancer so i find it very awkward to announce now.

1st pregnancy normally shows very late. during my #1 my tummy look so small that most ppl cant tell that im preg until im near to the end of my 2nd trimester.

fuzzybear, my next appt is at 4wks later. that's why im feeling so uneasy. ur doc very nice leh. how i wish my clinic do that too. esp now with high nt measurement.

Fuzzybear, I also saw a blood clot next to bb during my 10wk scan, but since I wasn't spotting and bb was growing well, my gynae wasn't worried as it usually self-resolve itself. During the 13wk NT scan, I forgot to ask about it but the sonographer didn't mention it so it was probably gone.

Re: blood tests
My gynae did mention that if I'm doing oscar, they will do the routine first tri tests (HIV, etc) together so you only get poked once. Since I opt out, I did the tests at 6 weeks.

Re: maternity leave
Mine will be a scheduled c-sec due to some pre-existing conditions, so will be starting after delivery for sure.

hello mummies... very busy this morning because was on mc yesterday...so many things to read..wahh..

i'm super duper tired now.. and feeling nauseous..

i've been eating very unhealthy food since day 1 lei.. coz i'm experiencing from very bad MS.. i juz eat whatever i can take in like ice cream, fast food, char kway tiao, roti prata etc etc... really hope to feel better soon so i can start on a healhtier diet.. sighhhh...very guilty towards my bb.. =(