(2013/08) August 2013

hmm..hey guys have any of you experience the below??

These 2 days I have been waking up with stomach pain and needing to go to the toilet immediately to release my bowels. After my breakfast, I would also experience stomach pain and have to go to the toilet again. Yesterday evening time, I puked out my lunch.

I am not sure if this is normal. My stools are somewhat lose. Before pregnancy I have irritable bowel syndrome, could it be the cause of it?

Not sure am i having diarrhea/ food poisoning or its normal?

pink sapp: the expo fair is over.. the next 1 shld b in july or sept.. i hv checked the expo events calendar but couldnt find any info.. probably they hv yet firm up a date
will let u noe when theres expo fair hehe..

wlilian: hmm i didnt.. put i still puke my lunch ytd.. i dnt pass motion everyday wor.. maybe 2-3 days once.. i aso hv diarrhea at times during pregnancy but as long as ur tummy is not super unbearable i think she b fine.. u can call ur gynae for advice too

hi ladies, anyone here getting cl thru confinement agency? If so, which one did u enage? My cl last min cant help me. I had called up PEM but read bad comments on them.

serene: i hv engaged my cl.. recommended by my neighbour.. i didnt use PEM cos there's lots of bad comments n feedback.. think u shld go for recommendations by mummies or ur frm ur frens.. as they hv used them before

Hi! I'm new to this forum! This is my second pregnancy and my oldest child is now 17 months.

Anybody selling or know ppl who are selling Moses Basket? Thinking of buying that for my baby. Thanks! Nice to meet all mummies here

My gf went to the taka fair and she says there are not much good deals..

Combi products only 10% off and a lot of stuff not available.

There are no booth for mustela and gaia for mommies who want to buy bath lotion and stuff..

All in all the fair is quite disappointing according to her.. Was planning to go down on Friday for a shopping spree. Guess can save money this time round..

Isetan also having baby fair but not much..

Best suggestion is to wait till great singapore sales for better deals..

Just need to let it out: I now have very little stamina so instead of taking my girl by train from queestown to hougang every morning (i push her pram), i have been taking cab at least for two mornings to hg and 2 nights to go back, thats at least $22 to $25 a trip which is about rounded up to $100 a week. Means in one month i have to spend $400 a month if this continues.. $ shiong man!

BabyS: sigh me too.. I also take cab very often now, and your journey is very long and shiong some more~ my hubby said, if have baby, this kind of money cannot save one.. Just bite the bullet *pat pat*

Lyra: welcome~

nowadays im also v lazy. Every night, i will take taxi home from my parent's place after visiting my son late at night. Every sat will take taxi to go for my swimming class at orchard. hahaha... last time didnt spent so much on taxi. now super spendthrift. hehehe...

Does anyone know of anyone who drives from Queenstown to Hougang on weekday mornings? Looking for carpool for my daughter and I. Willing to pay.

if anyone is interested or know of parties interested, pls email me at [email protected]

First time mum here. Have you girls gone for your 16week scan? Did you see the sex of the BB? Mine will be next week and I'm super excited.

I was feeling very tired during my first trimmester. Appetite wasn't that fantastic but no morning sickness. I can feel that my appetite and energy is picking up now. I used to sleep thru the nite but now always have to get up at least once in the nite to pee.

There is alot of queries to my to-buy-list :

1)Stroller : Bar handle or 2 handles

2)Bottle Sterilizer : Are there still ppl doing the conventional way of boilling it in a pot of water? Is it more troublesome to manage it this way?

3)Baby Carrier : Manduca Vs Babybjorn? Someone told me that Manduca supports the hip well whilst Babybjorn doesn't

4)Breast pump : If I'm still pumping after getting back to work would it be good to have a Duo pump which claims to save lotsa time. Should I get a manual pump for just after birth before committing myself to a electic one?

I hope some experienced mummies out that can help me out.

Could the admin pls add me in the facebook page...pls pls pretty pls

Yvonne, i prefer the electric sterilizer, cos i rather spend time watching baby then watching fire. Hahah. With the sterilizer, i can put in all the parts, turn it on and walk off.

Yvonne: welcome~
i'm FTM too, planning to get manual pump first, then maybe borrow different electric pumps from friends to try try before buying one...

BabyS: hahaha watching fire... luckily mine is induction cooker so can set timer...

btw, is anyone here planning to buy a car...?

Yvonne,

1. Stroller: iirc, bar handles are strollers which folds in half which is more bulky. 2 handles strollers are more compact when fold.

2. Steriliser: For the first use, I will boil in hot water first. subsequent sterilsing will be in my steamer, solely for milk bottles. Boiling in hot water is better, but it requires you to watch the fire..

3. Baby carrier: I have a baby bjorn and beco buterfly 2. The baby bjorn does not have much cushioning for the shoulder pads, so when baby gets heavier, it will be a strain on your shoulders, but it does have a back support. It does not have lumbar support, which i feel that it is impt in weight distribution. The material is also thicker. The beco butterfly 2 is quite similar in design to the manduca. I bought beco becos the lumbar support for manduca is at the waist, whereby beco is resting on top of the hip area. You can go to this store in united square to try the carriers first before you decide which one to buy. They have all the brands available.

4. Breast pump: I have both a duo electric pump and manual pump. The manual pump helps in clearing engorgement. Buy if you want to pump manually, your hands will be very tired.

Hope the above info helps you. Personal opinions only..

I bought avent steriliser, but i prefer conventiinal way of boiling. so steriliser ended up in storeroom. haha... this time round, with confinment lady, will bring out let her use. haha..

Stroller, i have both type, bar handles and 2 handles. Both works fine. no difference for me.

For breastpump, if you intend to pump v long, good to buy dual pump. for a start, maybe you can get a manual one or hand down pump to try first.

hehehe... even though, i have enough cash to pay for 50% downpayment, i dun intend to buy a car. with only 2 kids, it's still managable to take public transport.
no maid for me too.

Angela:
i wanted to go down and buy the baby cot, seems that the flyer that was share here was quite interesting. Went to the motherfair care yesterday @ habourfront. Quite disappointing also...i think the best one is still at expo... would be excited to go expo again...

BabyS: know what you mean...

BabyS, Ellen, Angela and Catherine.....tq so much for the advises.
I think it would be good to go down now and try and carriers before tummy become too big. :p

Becos carrier seems to have brighter colours as compare to Manduca. I love bright colours!

Yvonne, i'm going for my "16th week scan" next monday. actually by LMP i'll be 15 weeks on Monday, but my ultrasound always about 1 week faster. Am coaxing baby to be cooperative and open legs big big so that i can see.. i am excited to buy baby stuffs..except i dont know gender yet!

baby carriers: i thought don't need to get too early cos in the earlier months baby's neck also not stable yet?

breastpump: duo electric better ba.. save time. especially precious night sleeping time, especially working mums with "day shifts" and "night / baby shifts" after the 4 months maternity leave..

Strollers: i see till confused. what should i look out for in a stroller? how light is lightweight? front facing / back facing better? wheels? adjustable incline?

Steriliser: i will clean my philips food steamer and use it to steam bottles. it's v big and i won't need to watch the fire. but of cos if the CL or my mum or MIL or maid wants to boil, i'm not going to stop them either. haha.

Car: i'm a lazy bum, though i still take public transport from time to time, i cannot imagine life without a car..esp w a kid coming. haha. luckily we bought during the early years. think about 2006/2007 when COE only 10K+. but of cos that also means our COE running out v soon and can't change car for the time being. (also lucky for us we bought our house in 2007 when prices were starting to increase a lot, but still relatively manageable..)

Catherine: with no maid who takes care if your kids ? Parents, infant care or yourself ?

Thinking of if there r other alternatives without hiring maid cos dun like maid staying in house but both parents and parent in law say even if infant care or them also need to hav maid around to do housework cooking and help out

Catherine: i've never had a car too but public transport near my area is really not so fantastic. Even calling cab also difficult (easily can call more than 30 mins and no response), so hubby is considering a car... plus next time he will be the one bringing the baby to infant care... hee hee

pink sapphire: i dun have parents help too and not intending to get a maid. current plan is that baby will go to infant care and will get part time maid for housework. Cooking i can probably handle on my own..

just btw, both hubby and I are working, and both our parents highlighted that it is a bad idea to have a maid, cos more than half of the time no one is around to monitor her. (i leave home for work at 6+ and back only around 7)

Pink Sapphire: my #1 is currently taken care by my mum. once #2 arrives, #1 will go childcare, while my mum take care of #2. im not used to stranger staying in my house. hehe.. so i dun want maid.

With no car, no maid, house fully paid up this year, i guess my only financial commitment is my 2 kids... raising kids super expensive in Spore.

1)Stroller : I've both types. No diff for me. I look at size (can fit into my small car), weight (not too heavy), can recline almost fully with full cover (for baby to sleep comfortably). Mine can back face but because the back-wheels are fixed, it's difficult to push the stroller at curves. So if u want back-facing, do get those all 4-wheels movable.

2)Bottle Sterilizer : I love my Pigeon sterilizer. Very convenient and fast. Just dump everything in and it will be done in 6-10mins.

3)Baby Carrier : Manduca Vs Babybjorn? A few mums I know who were using Bjorn had to change carrier when bb was 6-10mths coz too heavy and straining the shoulders. I used pupsik pouch up to 6mths, then switched to Manduca. I still use Manduca for my 10kg girl now. I feel it's better to buy carrier when baby is out coz then will know if it fits well, whether baby likes it or not.

4)Breast pump : I think it's still not too late to buy pump after u deliver. U can rent hospital pump to express out. Then buy the one u find suitable. I bgt both dual electric pump & manual pump before delivery. Brought the manual one to hospital but didn't use as the nurse encouraged me to latch. Then as I'm SAHM I latch all the time except for night I pump 1-2x. So my pumps all under-used.

Car: We have off-peak car so weekdays I always take public transport with baby. Thot of buying bigger non-off peak car but too expensive. So dropped the idea.

Maid: If sending to infant care but need help with household chores, yet dun want live-in maid, then can consider geting a part-time cleaner? For meals can either dabao or tingkat?

wlilian: can wait for expo fair.. Or lucky baby warehouse sale which is held every quarterly. The deals are rather good too..

Baby carriers: the initial few months i used baby safe sling to carry my boy. but he become too heavy for me to carry for long, so I bought a pre loved baby bjorn and thereafter a beco.

Strollers: There is no fixed definition for light weight i feel. As long as you are comfortable with the weight den it's ok.. I've seen a super light stroller at Robinsons before, about 3-4kg, but it sets me thinking how stable it is when my baby is in it..

Catherine: Tt's good, can leave all your money for raising your kids.

Car: I'm a FTM, though jobless now, but hb has to bring both kids to my mom's place in future, so without a car is inconvenient for him.. Hopefully the car prices will drop so that it is more affordable for us to change when the COE is up..

seababy also v light. and v cheap too.
but do take note, all light strollers cannot withstand heavy bags and stuff, it will topple...

Angela: you stay v far from your mum?

i went for my 16wk check-up on tuesday.. This time round will be a boy.

Monrav,i hv filled up the form the other day already for my details.

I agree strollers that are too light are very scary. Hmm so is there an optimum weight to get? Not too light and not too heavy? Lol

my hubby just said that last time when we were babies, our strollers are just like some simple structure with wheels and a piece of cloth, now why bother about light weight heavy weight.............. (-_-")

Baby20-manna: oops did I miss you out...I will update the details later okie...

Yvonne: I've already add you on fb...

Today just went for my 18 weeks scan and doctor says it's most likely a girl cos there's nothing sticking out and it's flat..does that mean that I can safely buy pink stuffs?

My mum says maybe next appointment will change..lol is that possible...any mummies had this experience of 18 weeks seen as girl but 22 weeks change? I hope it won't happen...

monmav, i know the gender of all my 3 kids at 16wks. first boy,2nd gal n 3rd baby coming up is a boy.

Based on experience n fr friends, its usually when u can"t see anything at 16 wks its more likely to be a gal. but usually some gynae wont dare to commit bcoz afraid that its wrong n u will blame them. They will usually ask u to wait till detail scan to confirm 100%. There may be some mistake but the percetage of wrong gender is low maybe due to the machine blur n cant see properly.

Baby20_manja: thks thks...my gynea didn't ask me to do detail scan...but he just say most likely is girl..btw is it necessary to do detail scan?

Hi mommies, didnt sign in for few days, so many information updated

i have a friend whose gynae said is a gal. She bought all the pink stuffs, named her "Elaine". When she delivered, it was a BOY!!

Another friend, which is so ridiculous, gynae said is a boy,she was so excited coz FTM...but u know what...end up a GIRL!

For gynae who mixing up a gal came up to be a boy, somehow i think is making sense, but not the other way round. The gynae must be a bit young & inexperience to make such mistake...

Monmav: I thought detailed scan means the usual one at week 20~22?

Re gender: I have a fren whose baby didn't cooperate all the while.. So until delivery then they can finally know the gender hahaha

Sometimes the umbilical cord can be mistaken as the gun... That's what my gynae said..

And my mom told me... The whole family thought I was going to be a boy until I was delivered lol

monmav: that werid...hmm..cos i heard that oscar scan is optional but never heard that detail scan is optional. I heard my friend say detail scan is to ensure no abnomilities your baby have...they will count the toes, hands, then i heard shine light so that you can see the veins of the baby to ensure everything is contacted properly? (not sure if its true anot) really like very exciting. i having my detail scan on 15 march...really looking forward...hopefully my baby cooperative so i can see the gender...but seems like week 12 and week 17, doc like see nothing there, just lines so he is guessing girl...

Yuki @ east: that is abit sad..but maybe because the gynae might not be able to scan properly, i heard that only got guy mistaken as girl leh..cos the umibacal cord might be mistaken as the "penis"..lol...

BabyS, wlilian: yah, so shock right. I also heard of boy mistaken as gal, not the reverse. But watever it is, boy or gal, is still our precious. I'm FTM, so i guess it doesnt really matter (honestly....i prefer boy in my heart...hahahha)

btw, does any mummy know where to get cheap & comfty maternity leggings? I bought one at Gingersnap, very comfortable, and most importantly make u look slimmer...but a bit pricy, around $40. Let me know if you have any lobang ya...

any of you ladies feel sleepy one whole day despite having food 8 hours of sleep?

I go to bed by 11pm and only wake up at 7 am. In the night i will get up max 2wice to go toilet but will fall asleep immediately. I even sleep to and fro in the train. But despite this much of sleep i feel sooo sleepy like never sleep for days. Because of that i feel extremely tired. Is this normal..?

Usha: u r lucky that u can sleep.. I'm super tired all the time but i dont sleep well at night!!!

But the tiredness i think is normal..

Yuki: it's also possible for gal to be mistaken as boy because can mistaken the umbilical cord as the "gun"...

On leggings, just get normal leggings leh, no need to get maternity ones, that's what all my friends said... one of them mentioned that try to get those lower cut one so the waist band will be at the lower part of your tummy... more comfy..

Usha: it's very normal... dun worry.... my friend sleep at 10pm, wakes up at 8, never wakes up throughout the night and still feel sleepy the whole day,,

Yuki @ East: Hehe...i actually also want boy...

Usha: hmm..at least for me is lucky...during first semester i listen to one of the mummies and just ignore my urine need around 2 am to 3 am....then usually now..i can sleep through till 5++am then i wake up and pee...do feel tired but not that bad in the morning. The killer is usually around 4 to 5 pm onwards...i will start yawning and getting very sleepy...

Recently when lying down on bed have problem breathing already