(2013/06) June 2013

Hi Esther

Feel so relieved,, I m going with tour. They will be going hot spring.. I dun go in shd be ok ba.

I tink I will be seeing dr Lawrence ang since it near to my place

I also tested positive mid Sep. However, as a first timer, I dont know what to do now. Do I go to any gynae to check now or wait a while more?

Can 2nd time Mummies advise how much it will cost to have a baby? I read alot about signing packaage with doctors, $500-$800 estimated. How does this works?

I was recommended to go Gleneagles's Dr Fong. First consultation $90 and ultrasound scan $50. Package from 16 weeks onwards in $800. 20th week onwards detailed ultrasound is $110 each time. Delivery is $1300.

Do we need to ultrasound every month as the due date is nearer?

Really confused now so will appreciate if anyone can advise pls..

For mi,I cancel my trip..suppose to go Orlando Walt Disney on 17 nov(11w4d) to meet my hb(he is going next fri for work)
I dun think I can manage my toddler in Tt long flight..

Big rice,

I m seeing dr don Wong at Admiratly mrt station(recommend by my frez) e package starts fr e day u see him..$660..I did not sign with him as I have not see e sac n hear e heart beat..I like e part when u see him 3times before u sign e package,he will offset e diff..eg:3x$100per visit..u top up 660-300=330..no gst..
$660 is routine checkup..do ultrasound..do not include Oscar,detailed scanning n strep b..u can claim $450 for e package u paid when u delivered ur bb..

I delivered my boy in tmc last apr..total hospital bill 3d2n 5.5k..assisted delivery with vacuum(head too big)..after medisave,we top up abt 2.3k cash..based on 2 bedded..hospital packag increases every yr..

We do ultrasound every mth..I think until week 28 then fortnightly..week 34 onwards weekly..

I noe most clinic charge fr week 16onwards..week 4-16..on average per visit its abt $150..

Hi big rice.. Yes usually when u r closer to the due date ur appts will go from every month to every two week to every week as gunae need to check ur water bag level n ur cervix for dilation.. As for other months of the preg is a need to see ur gynae every month as they need to measure bby size and heart beat to make sure everything si normal n growing in normal range..

Cheryl

I met him once only..so far not bad..young chap..kept askin u whether have questions..was v surprise Tt he converse to u in mandarin..

Btw this weekend has bb fair at expo..selling bb cot,stroller,car seat,diaper n fm

Jc haha my main purpose there is to check the price for pampers n milk for my no1.. On the way check price for some
Breastfeeding accessories for no2..

Hello all mummies, congrats!

I tested positive and went to a Gynae on Monday. Calculating from my last menses, I should be 5 weeks. But when dr did a scan from the size of the sac he say should be only 4 weeks. So I'm a little worried that something is wrong. Anyone seen a Gynae and have same experience?

He also started me on hormones pills to be safe. Plus I'm traveling this Saturday, he ask me to take a hormone jab before leaving to stabilize the baby. Is it normal to take hormones pills?

Hehe, got fair must quickly go see got anything cheap to grab.

I'm going too ....wana go see if got cheap deals for milk powder for my elder one.

As for seeing Gynae, I think no need to see so early.....I'm only seeing end of this month when i'm about 9 weeks ba. Meanwhile just take note to rest and eat healthy. Actually I cannot remember how i took care when I had #1. Am still drinking my milk tea but not everyday la...wah i'm going to miss my teh xi le! ;( Gota start to cut down on my caffine intake liao!

Hi shan congratts!!

The scan is jus an estimation.. U could have ovulated late or the scan dun show the full size so gynae onli can meaure wat he sees.. Dun worry 1-2 weeks diff is normal nothing to worrk about

Jc..

My purpose is e same as angel...lookin at nursing top n bottom..

Shan,

At least u have seen e sac..dunno y at this point of time,I m always worry of ectopic preg n no heartbeat.. 16oct faster arr..

Cheryl,

He operate day n night session..

Kis i also have the same feelings!! I think we read too much about those things tat can happen.. I read too much feeling so paranoid.. I realli hope fri i can hear the heart beat i will be 5w5d according to lmp.. Its kinda early to detect but still possible.. I got so paranoid till the extend tay i bought 3 digital with conception indicator to keep track of the no. Of weeks..

Angel: How's your Dr Irene? Was your 1st delivered naturally or C-sect? I'm looking for a Dr with really good C-sect stitching. Was considering Dr LC Foong at GlenE.

Shan991: I'm taking progesterone pills and injections too. I think thats the hormones you are referring too.

Hi ica its my first time with dr irene actually.. My first was with gordon tan also from gleneagles.. Didnt realli like the way he handles labour.. Tats y the change.. My first was normal delivery.. How to see if the stitching is good or bad?

hi tanerica! if you don't mind me asking, is there any particular reason why you're looking for a doc with "really good c-sect stitching"?

ica
if u dun mind chop chop gynae. u can try adrian woodworth... he is my previous gynae... if not tat i have move to sembawang, i will continue to see him. his c-sect stitches is good.

Cheryl..

Many mummies took dr Lawrence Ang cos he charges e same as dr Adrian..I dun like him lei despite he is near to my place..

Angel,

Keep us updated on ur checkup..I rem seeing bb sac via vaginal scan n hear heart beat at week 6.5..

kis
ya, somemore he and adrian good fren... somehow i dun really like the clinic. too cramp.. plus no nite clinic.. most likely will see dr don... plus i see his charges oso quite reasonable rite

Cheryl

My frez now 10.5week seeing dr Adrian..she quite like him despite her first #1 pregnancy..say he is man of few words n chop chop style..I find e charges reasonable compared last time I see dr Wong Mun tat at bukit gombak,he charges mi $642 after gst fr week 16

I also like night clinic so my hb dun need to take leave..dr don Wong clinic is small too..share counter with e clinic..

Kis
Ya I like Adrian too. Really good though not much words. My hb was saying if not feeling well and have to travel to cck is very mafan...

One thing abt don is got nite clinic and sat clinic. Can save leave

Cheryl: yup no hot spring.

Big rice: for mine, my doc dun offer package but his charges are quite low. Everytime my consultation is like 50+ with the ultrascan. Closer EDD then will visit like once fortnightly.

As for medical bill, for my elder one was due to emergency c-
sect so I have to top up ard $1.2K. 2nd one I have to top up another few hundred. Both in TMC.

Shan: congrats! It's quite normal to take hormone pills. My sis is an air stewardess so doc also gave her to stabilize.

I've changed my plan on visiting the gynae, initially was tml but scared can't see anything feel disappointed. So told HB postpone another 2weeks.

Hi Cheryl, I'm oso going Taiwan too in Nov...i guess gota give the hot spring a miss le! And food wise i think gota control oso! Haiz....go Taiwan cannot anyhow eat!

I'm only going to see my gynae end of this month, so see if she will give the green light to travel.
Do you think we need to take vaccination shot? Dunno now preggie can take or not?

As for Doc....I'm with Dr Goh Shen Li....going back to her for #2 as i find her very nice and friendly, stitching also good! So don't think will change gynae.

Actually I saw Dr Irene for my 1st gynae visit at KK but i find she is those chop chop type, don;t want to say too much and so happen she is leaving KK. Then she ask me to choose....either follow her to Gleneagles or switch Dr. So i choose to switch to Dr Goh and I'm happy that i made that decision.

So anyone of you going to the baby fair tomorrow?

my hubby is very urgent to go see. I told him don't keep his hope too high coz haven't scan cannot confirm anything.

we been trying for very long le. so now positive, he very excited.

hopefully everything is fine...

should i continue to eat my conceive well pill till i see the doc on sat?

I can't go to the fair tml coz tml is children's day so my elder is going to stay home so no way am I lugging 2 tods to the fair.

Jc: everything will be fine.

I am quite paranoid although this is my 3rd pregnancy. I tested 1 day before my menses due and on the day that my menses due. Both show a very faint double line. I will be testing again this weekend and hopefully can see a clearer double line and able to join your. Now I should be at 4 weeks only.

My 1st 2 kids are both boys. Elder one this year is 6yrs old and the other one 3.5 years old. Now hope to have a girl.

According to online calculator, my edd should be on the 12 Jun

Hello girls thanks for the reassurance.

Mrs GUI I heard pregnant cant take vaccines... Better check with the dr agin.

Btw, the Gynae that I saw is Dr Douglas ong at mt e. anyone seeing him too? My first bill was $300. A bit ex hor... My friend recommend me to see adelina Wong. So will try her after I'm back from trip so can compare the costs.

Hi kome.. Congratts!! Faint line means u r preg!! Its faint cos its still early n hcg level is not high enough for the line to be darken.. I took my 4 days before period due n also faint line.. Mine was so faint that it was barely visible..

Hi Angel,

Ya, tested on the 1st pregnancy and it was really so faint that i thought my eyes playing tricks on me, thats why i went to get 2 more test kits to confirm. Haha.....but i am thinking maybe the test kits are of cheap type might not be accurate.

Anyway now only the 2nd day of my menses due. Normally my menses is quite regular but i got a miscarriage in late July so not sure if my menses is back to regular or not.

Kome
I felt u. I oso got mc on mid aug... Menses haven't come back yet and I preg.. My strip are the cheap one so it abit faint. Yesterday try the cb preg colour Change tip n the digital one. The line was rather clear., the digital one come up 2-3 preg.. Was quite relieved.,

Hi Cheryl,

Congrats to u, so fast preg? My gynea advise me to start trying only after 1 cycle of menses. CB digital test kit is quite expensive. Mother of 2 already, don't think i need to spend that. :p

Have u started taking folic acid?

Kome
I am a mother of 1. Lol. That digital was left over from aug one.. Just use loh. Haa. Ya already start folic acid very long already

Cheryl,
U are fast. Not too sure where I kept my folic acid, need to search around. Hehe.........got it from gynea after mc.

Kome
My folic acid was given by the hosp when I discharge. I think I need to buy more folic acid.

Does anyone knw which preg vit is gd? Or I dun need to start first?

Cherly
I don't think u need to start so early. For my first 2 pregnancy, gynae only gave me vit when i am in 2nd tri.

Shan,

My forum mummy recommend dr Douglas Ong to mi but I wanna save money n see dr don Wong as his packaging starts on first visit

KIS... Yes so I'm gonna compare price as I'm worried in the end will become too expensive.

Cheryl, my Gynae also started me on preg vit... I think you can start taking if you want to.. Should be no harm.

Shan,

My frez kept seeing her gynae during her #1 pregnancy..most every fortnightly..each visit cost 100plus..she told mi she spent abt 1k plus before signing e package at week 16.she is high risk pregnancy as she has 2 womb..she was worry cos 1st pregnancy..kept going back to e gynae when she is worried..

I have another frez who sign package too but i felt very inflexible..after u sign,only can see e gynae like 10 times..anything above Tt,u got to pay..she got to plan well when to see him..headache right..

B wise who u choose as ur gynae if u want good n
affordable..

Cheryl,

Sorry to hear abt ur m/c..take good care this time round..

First time dun need prepare anything ba jus remember ur lmp date can le..

Wat Gynae will do is take ur ht n wt, blood pressure, probably a blood test, ask for ur lmp date, scan transvaginally or by abdomen, heart rate is able to detect, check for fetal pole if still early preg, measure the size of bby to determine how far r u.. Let u noe possible edd date after tat q&a

Hi mummies i jus had my appt.. Well bby is still small.. Was given the dhupatson to stablize the preg more.. Was concerned about blighted ovum.. But gynae say everything looks normal.. Next appt on 15/10 which is my hub bdae.. Hopefully by then can see heart beat

Angel,

Now bb v small..can't see them yet..my appt 16oct..

My hb bday on 10 Oct but I doubt can see anything by then..

Any good buy in bb fair?

Hi shan yep gynae is irene chua..

June mummies fyi i'm at expo now.. Pampers price are no dif from ntuc offer price cos the booth is from ntuc it self.. Milk powder not much price diff also.. Also from ntuc

Hi all, i've tested +ve yesterday morning and my LMP is on 28/8.
this is my 2nd time of pregnancy and i hope this round is a smooth 1st trimester.

Gmabateh!