(2013/05) May 2013

Hi Azel, glad you could pop in here to update us - was thinking of you. Your babies are of very good weight, esp for twins! Hope you have a smooth recovery and an easy confinement period. Best wishes!

Congrats Azel! Well done mummy for a pair of healthy twins
have a good confinement!

My check up was ok. Dr says to start massage in another two weeks.... But im dying for a massage... Thinking to start in 1 week...

Pig pig: mine was c-sect... I will try to start in 1 week time... Dr suggested to start in 2 weeks time but I can't wait anymore... :p

Nemo: I think it shd not be an issue if yr baby can consume. At this young age, we are advised to feed on demand normally... So if they want I guess it's ok to feed....

I love babies, Azel: I heard that another disadv of using sarong is that if motion too vigorous might damage the baby's brain as the organs still soft.....

Pinkberries: thanks. Yes I did engage a CL to help out with my confinement. Totally can understand now when u said that u cant stand the heat n sweat! How are u n ur twins?

MofMM: thanks.. Any update on ur bb weigh? Did you check wf doc on the steroids jab?I'm still on painkiller but I'm adjusting the dosage according.. I think it will b a better confinement period if the weather is better.

Dreambig: Thanks.. I aso wan my massage soon! Haha.. Need to check with my gynae coming Thursday.. May be you can ask ur massage lady to b gentle around the wound. Noted on this Sarong disadv too..

Hi Azel, no update cos no more ob visits/scans after that last visit. My doc didn't tell me to go for steroid jabs, just a blood test the day b4 the morn of the C-sec. How many milk bottles are you using? I prepare 8 first hope it's enough for 2 mouths. Standby another 4 in a starter kit....

Congrats Nemo and Azel!

Dreadbig and Azel: Yes, I heard of the disadvantages . In fact, it really depends on how to use it. My MIL used it for my elder one when she was 2 months old until 2 yrs old. MIL juz pat her back when my elder slept in sarong, not shaking. My girl slept well in sarong coz felt more secured. However, I haven't resorted to 'sarong' becoz i am worried that accidents might occurs since my elder one is very active and always wants to 'play' with her baby brother

Yesterday was a long day as my CL went to JB to get re-entry. She went out at 830am and came back about 2pm...so i had to look after bb by myself, my wound even gets painful again after a busy day

Azel: congratulations on your newborns! Hope you are coping well. Concentrate on recovery and feeding your babies.

I started my massage on the third week after my Csec where the external wound has already healed but internally still feels sore.

Azel: Congrats!!!! Speedy recovery! Take good care Ya? My mum will be away for a week. I am back at my own place already. Trying to cope. Hubby buys food for me when he can Else I will take oats or bread first.

MofMM: good to hear that your gynae didn't mention anything abt the steroids jab.. Ya I went for the blood test one day b4 my c-sec too.. I am breastfeeding my babies as much as possible, only feed them FM at night. CL used the milk bottles to make FM for babies and feed them using spoon, so in total I used 4 bottles so far.

I love babies: thanks! I had a long n tiring day yesterday as one of the bb keeping crying non-stop
We fed her n ensure that her diaper is clean, but she still keep crying n crying.. duno what is wrong, poor gal.. Are u feeling better now, with ur CL back? Rest well!

Twinstar: thanks! Yes trying my best to recover quickly n feed the babies as much as possible. Haiz, I guess that I may hav to wait slightly longer for the massage. Will check with my gynae this Thursday..

littlebabysmurf: thanks! Oh ur mum will b away so long.. Must take care of yourself too.. Jia you!

Azel, my wound is still painful as I think i bend down too often when taking care of baby, and so my wound was slightly stretched. I try to bedrest as much as possible hoping i will recover when CL leaves.

My boy wakes up almost hourly, i also can't figure out why. He didn't cry much though, juz made some noise...He sometimes would get back to sleep after burping or patting but wouldn't sleep long hours....My Cl said she applied small amount "bao ying dan' on his tongue and he seemed to get better after that.

'dirty blood': Mine is on and off (very little), will get some discharge after bfing or having wine..fyi

Azel
Thanks and congrats!!! I can't imagine latching both babies. I m very lazy and will express the BM.only latch mayb once or twice after midnight if baby still make noise after feed.

Dreambig
My last c sect was 4yrs ago.
Decided on VBAC as i might want no 3(hoping for a boy cos of my hubby but if still gal,i ll stop anyway) but kanna 12stitches in the end and butt still pain after 5days.

I m supposed to start massage today but postpone to next week cos very difficult to enjoy the massage with the pain down there. Hope it won't be difficult to slim down later

I love babies: are u still on binder? Get ur CL to help you as much as possible.. I stopped using the binder yesterday, hoping that my muscle will get used without any assistance. But I think I slightly stretched myself today! Haiz.

What does "bao ying dan" does? Where can we buy from?

Ok, mine has totally stopped so bait worried.

Hi.... I delivered c sect on 11 may.. older twin is a healthy 2.9 kg but younger twin is 1.77kg and still in nicu. Heart pain... :-(

Is there a fb group that I can join?

Pigpig: yes it is tough latching two babies, but have to endure lor.. Now I've CL to help me so I try breastfeeding.. Mayb after my CL has left, I may express my BM..

Azel: I'm fine, trying to rest as much as possible b4 CL leaves nxt week. My boys r still ok, CL taking care of them most of time, boys r drinking mostly every 3 hr, at times will b hungry after 1 hr. My gynae say e blood flow should stop in 2 weeks, but I'm still getting a little now. Think ur gynae probably clean your womb well. I'm using at least 10 bottles for my boys, didn't want to spend time sterilizing bottles e whole day.

I love baby: is it cos there's wind in bb stomach so bb can't sleep well? I c my CL burp my boys very often.

Leen: congrats! Hope ur younger twin can b discharged soon.

Hi all,sorry for missing in action. After almost pre term labour, I finally delivered on last dat. Baby is a bit small but all is well so far. I am teying to latch baby but she just does not want to drink. End up I express milk now, still trying to up the supply to match up to her input.

By the way, for those of you expressing milk, do you sterlize the breast pump parts at every feed? And do you all wash the bottles with detergent like pigeom brand? I feel that it is so soapy, end up keep washing and getting panroid.

There are ppl who wash n sterilize after every pump, others who keep the pump in the fridge and wash only after a few uses. Ultimately is personal comfort bah,i,guess.

Azel, no I am not on binder since my tummy has already been 'flattened' i guess it's unnecessary.

'Bao ying dan' is 保婴丹 which can help to relieve phlegm i think. Can buy from Yu Yen Shang.

Dirty blood: i think don't have to worry too much about it. Mine also stopped at 4th-5th day but got some discharge occasionally on and off after that. I did check with the nurse in hospital when I found that i had light flow (last time i had very heavy flow), she said it's common and just treat it as normal mens. (Last time, my mens completely stopped after more than one month.)

pinkberries84, i guess stomach wind could be one of the reasons why he can't sleep well. Blocked nose/phlegm also another reason. I did request CL to burp more fluently but she would only do it accordingly when I sat beside to monitor her. I cant control anything at night.

Sterlizing pumps: I did it after every pumping. Agree with leyash, it depends on your own comfort level.

Congrats Leen! Hope your younger baby will be discharge soon. Rest well.

Hihi good morning...
Difficult night with hubby sick n baby super cranky......

I love babies: I catered confinement food from chili Padi. Quality not bad but a bit pricey.

Congrats Min, take good care n baby will be fine so don't worry.
Congrats to Leen too. Hope your baby gets discharged soon..

Dirty blood: you guys stop fast.... I m still having some small discharge after 3 weeks.... How come....?

Sterilizing pump: I have a question actually... I saw at stores that they sell drying stands/racks for bottles. When do we use that? After washing or after sterilizing? Is it really necessary to get it?

Azel: Jia you.... I have so much difficulty just trying to latch n feed my 1baby.. Salute you for latching n feeding both twins...!

Dreambig, thanks for your info. Yes, all confinement catering is a bit pricey

Don't worry about the discharge, i also have some on and off currently.

The drying stands can help you dry off the residual water in your bottles after steaming i think. But I didn't use it coz i m lazy.

Cangrats Min!

All mummies and mummies to be let's Jia You together...it's a long journey~

Sterilizing pump: I wash it w cleanser and only rinse w hot water after every pump and maybe sterilize it after a few days.

Wash bottles: yes we wash every bottle w cleanser and sterilize.

Ya all mummies, jia you together!

My gal was admitted last night due to high jaundice level of 270.

i was telling my hubby,top pain (breast ) below also pain.plus still got to go thru confinement... aiyo really not easy ah.

But m quite glad tat this time round, i dun feel so moody like my ist one.hope everyone is free from post natal blues!

pinkberries: wow that is fast, another week n u r free from confinement. Haha. That means tt ur bb boys r almost 1 month old next week..

Congrats Min. Take care!

I love babies: I thou the binder is to support the wound (prevent us from over stretch the wound)..:p ok will go n look for the bao ying dan..

Dreambig: mine ended early can b that my menses flow is always v light.. My babies sometime dun latch properly too => painful! But I'm abit lazy to pump out n wash n sterilize. :p

Pigpig: I'm still monitoring both my bb jaundice level (both 220+).. Hopefully it'll goes down or remain stable. Haiz..

Drying stands: if it helps to dry off after steaming, is the bottles still sterilized?

Sterilizing pumps: I read that some parts of my pump has to b dry b4 used (prevent moisture from going into the pump). But after sterilizing, the parts are wet. How?

Everyone let's jiayou together!!!!

I end up using tissue to dry off the parts of pump that cannot have water. Cos those parts (my pump) not in contact with milk, so i figured why not.

Last time the lactation consultant at mtA said baby suckle is best way to rid the block ducts. Otherwise use warm wet cloth to wipe.

Eh...why my baby's jaundice level is different from you? Doctor said his level is 8.7 when discharged (10 is abnormal).

Drying stands: After washing or sterilizing? I am not sure actually, should be ok to use in both ways i guess?! No matter it's still wet or dry, i will use boiled water to rinse the bottle and parts again. Juz my own preference lah..

Azel, yes the binder is to reduce pain when our bloated tummies will cause pressure on wound. esp when getting up from bed, the loosen muscle will 'float' and cause pain. That's what I think lah...not sure whether it's correct or not:p

Sterilizing pump: for medela pumps, the tube has to be dry. Can juz run the motor to dry e tube without the funnels if u c water / vapor in e tubes. Other pumps I'm not sure.

Drying stand: personally I feel drying stand defeats e purpose of sterilizing. If after sterilize still put on stand, wouldn't it become not clean?

Dreambig: ya best way to relieve block ducts is to latch on bb.

i also realise bb is developimg e habit to latch to sleep especially at night, i try to stop latching n so n to bump bm out all the time. Only bfing once or twice during day time to avoid engorgement. Latching for hours might not a good habit i think as nipple may b sore from prolong sucking. I feel tat bottle feed is better as i know how much he drink n can better control.

When bb mouth keep like trying to find nipple to suckle, i give him pacifier. He will spit out or push out, but i use my hand to hold there for a while n then he will start to suckle e pacifier lor.. No choice.

Min
I sterilised after every pump. I wash with pigeon detergent n pour hot water over it.

I loves babies, jaundice level of 220 (the high figure) is usually used by polyclinics. Private hospitals give an lower figure assessment.

Azel, my bb has high jaundice level too. She was diagnosed with 8.9 at the hospital. Few days later at the polyclinic her level was almost 190. Had to be admitted for photo therapy. Now even after several follow up her jaundice level is 220. Im trying all sorts of method.

Tried giving her pearl powder, fed her with red date water, sunbathing and shower her with "ng kee" (yellow sticks).

You can try.

Hi all, thanks for the reply. I Sterilize the breast pump parts after each use but I scare I overwork the sterilizer ( avent brand). I express milk like every three hourly so that to stimulate supply since this is only the first few days.i think I just carry on.

Oh yah my medala pump tube got water too, thanks for the tips, I should run the motor to clean

My baby a bit yellow too, trying to sun her every morning. Can I know when do you all bring her to poly clinic to check the level? When see her very yellow or? So stress, not sure when need to push the panic button and bring her to doc. Any advice pls?

hi everyone.. im oso a May baby mummie.. my son was born on 9 may..my eldr boy is 4 this yr
i ve been a silent reader all these while..

juz to ans the que abt sterilizing..
we dun ve to dry the parts after sterilizing coz the water is sterilized water.. so its safe for bb.. we juz ve to make sure the tubing are dry after pumpimg...
pluck out the tubes from our bottles n let the motor run till u see no vapor inside.. to prevent mould..

its a terrible mth to ve confinment due to the horrible weather!! lets all endure mummies!! jiayou!!

Hi min
Yes. I was advised by the pd after delivery to go to the polyclinic for follow up.

If ure uncomfortable just bring her for a checkup

I love babies: I aso duno why the value for jaundice is different.. I've been using 100 values in hospital.. Like beanie mentioned, mayb I was delivered in govt hospital (NUH).. For the binder, that is what I think so.. Will ask my gynae later today.

Beaniee: not v sure abt the actual value.. Doc told us the value changes each day.. But if bb hit 243 now, they will do a blood test for confirmation and admit for therapy if the values r high.. Last night bb gal was v yellowish, we quickly went to hospital, but the values r still in 213 & 227.. So tml need to see doc again..haiz

Min: I went to hospital for follow up check-up. I am aso learning, but doc say when the legs turns yellowish, we shld b more alert.

Thanks for the tips for sterilizing pump!

Dreambig: I massage the area n latch on bb..

Yvonne: yes I aso realize that my bb starts to latch to sleep (using my breast as a pacifier).
I aso agree that it itonot a good habit cos prolong sucting introduce air n sore nipple.. *sob sob*

Nicolieaa: congrats! Yes it is a terrible n horrible month for confinement ..

There are so much things to learn. It can be so overwhelming for first time mum like me. My baby is 5 days old and at some feeds she is taking like 40ml of milk when average is about 40ml. It is about 2.5hrs apart, is that ok? I have problem catching up with her for my breath milk. Getting so stress up. Anyone any idea how to increase breast milk supply? I have been drinking papaya doup but I does not see to work.