(2013/05) May 2013

Robinson sale only for member ah? for public got discount a not?

no start on coconut yet but that day my in law do lou hei, she got put coconut meat inside. Only eat 1 piece nia.

Sleepyskies: I'm using Ergo organic. Not Beco.

Shirley: If you can afford it, then it will be good to be a SAHM. It will be fulfilling for you.

babbie: Yeah the new law is that all pregnant women are protected, cannot anyhow sack without any valid reasons at any point of the pregnancy.

I think drinking coconut water is said to make bb clean after birth. There is a type of coconut we can drink, is the young type right? Not the old type. I cannot remember.

JC: if u dont wear nursing bras then when u outside how u feed? pull up or take out whole bra ah...
u will kalang kabok at times leh...then if u holding bb, very hard to unlatch or latch the bra back.

debbie: yes...the bm contents prob suits baby more than the toddler. but dont forget our toddlers are exposed to more kinds of food. it will still make out those that they need lor. this is what i find.
and then hor..bm still contains some antibodies that FM do not have mah. so sort of balance up.
u can give 1 feed bm 1 feed fm to your toddler mah..right?

but seriously i think bm really help to build up my kids immunity and health...
its proven for my case..

bbkk: now then u think of bu abit too late leh. by 3rd trimester, u should stop all kinds of tonics.
my mil brew dang shen black chix soup for me every 2 weeks. and my mum made me birdnest also every 2-3 weeks.

reddish: Wah, ur Coy's so nice to pay in full the 16 wks? Then how are they gg to claim from the govt? so nice of your coy..

wrt coconut drink: was drinking it wkly aft 37 wks.. then this time round, hb said to go buy those canned coconut drink coz he said tt easier (prev he need to open the hole on the coconut wh's pretty tedious and tough).. will they have the same effect?

wrt stroller: Look @ this news on yahoo.. http://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/aston-martin-silver-cross-buggy-pram-%C2%A32000-most-expensive-155109325.html the stroller costs 2,000 pounds sia.. crazy..

Shirley: Think like what the mummies said, best to play safe.. tho guess tis unlikely tt the grandma will harm the child etc.. but in normal times, if attending wake, will bring along an angbao then stuff the 石榴叶 or promengranate leaves inside.. then bring it along with ya.. then when at the wake, there'll be plates of small bites with red string, tie the red string on ur finger, then when gg off fr the wake, what was advised was nt to say, Bye Bye to anyone, just walk off can ler.. along the way home, discard the red string and the red packet with the leaves, sorta signify the throwing away of the bad stuffs etc..

read somewhere that the tying of the red ribbon on the belly is to protect the bb.. but what to do with the red ribbon, there's like diff sayings when I read online prev.. some said to keep the string and next time tie on bb as protection, wh sounds like 'Huh??!?!?'

Maybe if ya were to really attend, try nt to view the coffin or what some said as 瞻仰遗容?

Whatever ur decision is, once made, dun think of other stuff ler..

http://taiwanxifu.com/2012/05/23/chinese-pregnancy-traditions-and-taboos/

charliebrown: not the young type but the old type of coconut. as in not thai coconut. those msia type. husk is green then chop until white can put on table one.
not round thai coconut.

old folks said drink coconut when bb come out will be clean. as in not much those white white stuff. anyway to me, no harm la. just drink lor...quite shiok actually.
i drink around 34 weeks onwards. 2 per week so i take about 6 coconuts.

2K : i haven't thought of this yet leh..haha...maybe when i go shopping this weekend than go @@

the midwife was telling us during the breastfeeding class that sometimes when her kids about to fall sick, she will feed them with BM also..got the antibodies can help a bit

3rd trim should stop liao ah for tonic? My mum make me bird nest every week..this is 'lun', not 'bu' right. The rest i never take.

morning ladies...

Would like to enquire: IFC:

Current arrangement is for my mil to look after the baby after i go back to work. But there is a concern of whether she can cope a not, cos her leg isnt very well and I'm not sure whether she can cope with a infant... So was thinking to let her 'try out' first and if worse case, will send baby to IFC.

Anyone has any idea whether i need to register my intention with the IFC now? And also, can i put a expected month which i may put my baby in?

wai wai (sloth) - Hi 5! hahhaa.. lets watch out our diet together... me 29 and im so sad.. hit 10kg liao.. but as long as bb is doing well. aft that then work hard to loose weight!

JC: yes...all tonics should stop by 3rd trimester. cos wont go to bb already. anyway there is no proven facts that bird nest has any benefits.
my mum just said good for bb skin...so she prepared more this time round since i am having a bb girl.

btw mummies...the benefits of bm also must see what u eat during the bf period.
like my sil..she always drink cold can drinks during bf thus her bm is not quality milk, her kids always suffer from cough although she bf for 6 months.
so must also see what food u took during the period. i got cravings for coke one, but then i try to limit 1 per week only.

i fully agree with 2Ks. You have to eat 'properly' then the babies will have all the good benefits.

my aunt use to drink those peel fresh orange juice while BF, her girl always have cough.

I'm a mom from the June 2013 thread and thinking of organising a group buy for Studioplay(previously SeanLau) package. I have organised one for my 1st child together with >30 mums before. If you are interested, please pm me or email me at [email protected]. Minimum no. for this groupbuy to go ahead is 10 mums. All interested mums will be notified by email once this groupbuy is confirmed. Please introduce your friends to this so that we can enjoy more benefits. If we hit 30 mums, more discounts can be expected. Thank you.

I'm only doing groupbuy for their Wall Art B package(original price: $280).

Please take a look at their works @ www.studioplay.com.sg and see if you like their style.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Studioplay.com Groupbuy promotion</font></font>

WALL ART B (Original price: $280)

- TWO PAX

- THREE IMAGES

- ONE 8" x 10" PICTURE WITH FRAMING

- TWO 5" x 7" PICTURES

- SIX 4" x 6" REPRINT PICTURES

- PERSONALISED DVD OF SELECTED THREE PICTURES

- TWO HOURS STUDIO SESSION

<font size="+1">For 10 mums</font>
<font color="ff0000">The groupbuy price is $250. Discount of $30 </font>

<font size="+1">For 20 mums</font>
<font color="ff0000">The groupbuy price is $230. Discount of $50 </font>

Other details:

- WEEKEND SESSIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT $35 ADDITIONAL

- ADDITIONAL PAX WITH INDIVIDUAL SHOTS CAN BE INCLUDED AT $50/PAX

fabbie - the Manduca selling for 179-200 is new one. I didn't know ergo so cheap at 70-80..

charliebrown - how's your ergo organic? good for your bb?

Coconut juice
- the dietician at my anenatal class says drink coconut juice is so that the bb will be cleaner at birth. not sure how true but I like coconut juice so I'll just start drinking hahaha.

fool4love
- I think you can register your interest with the IFC and let them know the estimated month you intend to enrol the baby. that's what I did - I already know I'll put baby in IFC after my 4 mths ML so I just tell the IFC baby likely to enrol in mid Sept (based on my edd of 23 may).

fool4love - better 'reserve' first than last minute have to find one. You can place a deposit first in case...like mine, the deposit is refundable if i choose to withdraw eventually.

sleepyskies : no comments from your parents or in laws about putting bb at IFC ah? my MIL shock big time when my hubby told her that no need her to take care. Than, one day she was at our house (i was not ard) and ask my hubby again why must put IFC...haha..my hubby also stress lah..stuck in the middle. He tell her don't bring it up again in front of me..my mum also nag at me say so young put at IFC

Xuan,
I like chicken essence. I currently take 1 bottle per week. I just drink bcos I like to.

Maternity bra,
I just wears those normal bras with no underwire (Sorella brand) and my new autumnz nursing bra. I have been wear those no wired bras since my 1st pregnancy unless I want to wear sleeveless. More comfy.

Fabbie,
I have ergo. Yes cannot face front. I used it until I am preg with the current one.

Coconut,
I din know abt coconut thingy and did not drink the previous round. Coconut has cooling effect, recently felt very heaty will be nice to drink some coconut.

2K,
I still taking bird nest every week, must stop during 3rd tri? Will be week 30 for me from tmr. MIL bought a lot, but I always make more to share with her.

BM quality,
Agree with 2K that what mummy eats will affect BM quality. I ate very well during my confinement and I can see (or rather feel) that bm was better. More milky look. Then after confinement, just eat normal full, bm looks more diluted like that.

griny: yes...better stop the bird nest when u reach 3rd trimester.
reason - bb might have phelgm too if u take too much.
i read somewhere all tonics best consumed during 2nd trimester. during 3rd trim better dont take.

u can have yr bird nest after u deliver ah...

i have been taking 1 spoonful of bird nest almost everyday sibce 4mth + till nw when i am at wk 30. isit too much?

oh i must tell my mummy to stop le. my mum make me every week and my MIL make for me alternate week. Drink until my skin good good now ah...hahahaha

mine is the no sugar concentrated type from eu yang sang. thesalesger told me as long as no rock sugar added is fine

Debbie/xuan:
So far after 1 dosage of 2 pills last night, I am still ok. The only thing is that I doze off quite soon after that. I think it really make me very sleepy. Keeping finger cross hope no other side effect.

Bird nest:
I am drinking once a month too and a small smaal tea spoon every day during that month.mil says snall quantity us ok when I told her some say not good for bb (asthma, allergy) due to the feather in the bird nest but she says ok one ~ didnt one to go against her.

Griny I also wear the Sorella brand leh! No wire very comfy. I got more than 10 of that lol.

I didn't take any tonics cos scared will affect baby... Now too late to bu huh. I also like to drink chicken essence but at most once a week. I got a lot of bird nest (bottled ones), gifts from friends and some from company hampers... Those are not useful I guess?

any mummies doing maternity photoshoot this time round?? i made appointment @ 34 weeks... super excited... my first and last maternity photoshoot... i didn't take for #1...

oh dear...third trim cannot take tonics liao? i think this pregnancy i never really take tonics......can still take abit, or take already also no use liao?

2ks,
Cos during my second tri, I rem my mil make bird nest and some black black drink. Now I think back like not enough, so thinking to bu abit more now.. So means cannot drink Liao?

Ntuc got sell those coconut. But I rem is those brown husk coconut to drink leh.

Thanks ladies for your advice.

Would look around and register my interest then. I'm due early May. So september should be fine?

Tonics: I'm taking red date + longan drink for my low blood pressure. Hopefully that will spur milk flow as well.

2k, its those green coconut you found at the hawker centre rith. not the small one you find at pasar malam.

i am looking at ergo carrier.. cause can backcarry and can carry bb till 20kg.. at the moment i have bb bjorn carrier. good cause bb can face outward. but once bb reach around 8-10kg, super taxing on the shoulder.
i am thinking since ergo can carry on the bag will be like carrying a haversack???

Mummies who's using ergo? can advise.

Debbie: come to think of it. Yah when I ate 2 pills a day. I feel like vomiting. Now I reduce to 1 pill, better already. But I feel very tired eh =(

charliebrown: yah My mom also said drink coconut is baby come out will be more 'clean' She said drink those green color coconut eh. Not the small small white husk one. you can usually find them at those coffee shop or hawker. sure got sell one =)

Bird Nest: I ate quite a bit during 2nd trimester. Like wt81, I took 1 spoonful every morning - those boiled type. now drinking a bit of can chicken essence and bird nest. My gynae told me don eat too much la. So I don dare over consume also.

babymaine: u taking which photographer? i intend to take also...
#1 &amp; #2 i didnt...this one i think i will.
going for a lady photographer who took my #2 shoots. very patient lady...but her studio very the far at commonwealth...
she adviced me to take during 32 weeks leh.

blurdopey: yes..those fruit stall outside have already...just drink outside...no need chop yourself

2K,
Icic… will have more phlegm. Ok will stop eating after today. Still have some left over in the fridge.

Chiro,
10? Wah so many? I have only 3 sorella and 2 autumnz.

Babymaine,
Enjoy your shoot ok and dun be shy. I taken during the maternity shoot @32 weeks in previous pregnancy. Very fun and I dun regret it. A very gd memento for me in my bump look. The photographer even put one of my photo in her main page. I think take 1 time is enough for me. But dunno want to take newborn or not. #1 taken her newborn b4. This time round I confirm will family photo when bb can sit up. Have not taken studio photography for the whole family yet.

sleepyskies ergo 70-80 as in 2nd hand de. lol

griny/charliebwon: ergo is it good? when can i start using ergo when my baby is out? carrying with ergo back wont be pain or hot mah?

2ks, griny - era from cottony photography... she told me 28 - 34 weeks... but i feel my tummy now at 30 weeks still not big enough ma... so i drag until 34 weeks lor... i'm thinking of bringing my 2 girls... my daughter and my furkid... i'll be doing semi- nude shoots...

blurdopey: u wouldnt want to sling yr baby when he/she reaches 20kg la!
no matter how good a sling or how exp a sling is, its still taxing on our body and our back. esp women that had given birth before, whether took epi or no epi doesnt make a difference.
a sling is not meant to carry long hours...
its still taxing on our back on long term...

bbkk: if u want u can still drink la...but i know all tonics should be consumed during 2nd trimester. its the best time to absorb the benefits.
3rd trim i stop everything, including bird nest and the dang shen tonic.
i cant remember why...but there is a reason...
maybe reddish will know??

as long not those round thai coconut....

JC
- haha. my parents know my intention is not to let my in-laws take care so although they say so young put IFC and so exp, they nv say much. My parents stay far away and my mom is still working so they cant look after bb. My mom did suggest I consider getting a maid instead since IFC so exp.

My in-laws stay nearby so my FIL offered to look after bb for us. But my BIL's family of 4 is staying with them, I told my hb no space for bb's cot and stuff lehs. it wld be good if my FIL can come over my place to look after bb but he also needs to cook and look after my BIL's 2 pri sch children and my MIL so we can only put bb there. When my hb first told my FIL don't need him to take care of bb, my FIL nv say much. But like your MIL, he also asked my hb (when I'm not ard) why don't want let him look after bb..own ppl take care better etc. my hb just say coz he old liaos shld enjoy life abit..nw I nv hear my FIL say much abt this so I think shld be ok bah. haha.

Your MIL wants to take care of your bb for u is it?

sleepyskies: try to maintain good relationship still with fil. cos u will still need their help. esp if bb falls sick in ifc. bb tend to fall sick during initial period.
but then, yr fil got take care of infants before or not...cos its really difference.
even my own mother also dont dare to handle babies till now even though she is a grandmother of 4.

Fabbie,
I prefer carrier than slings, easy to setup and use. I will use sling when bb is smaller and will use ergo when bb head is stronger. Mine is ergo original (galaxy grey), material is mainly canvas, I feel that can be quite hot when used outdoors but I used mostly in aircon areas like shopping malls. So still ok. If not you can get its organic series, heard that its not so hot.

Babymaine,
Hi5! Same photographer! She is very friendly and approachable lady. She took my maternity and NB photos. That time when she took my maternity @ 32 weeks, she still commented quite small. Gd thing was still turn out ok. She has a 19 months old son if I am not wrong.

Babymaine/ griny: Where is this photography place at? I'm still thinking to take maternity shoots a not. mmm...But definitely taking the NB shoots for BB. But still haven't find one...

Xuan,
Its called cottony photography. She has no shop. Her studio is at a industrial building I forgot the name. At AMK ave 5 (off Yio Chu Kang Rd area). Mine was taken 2 years back, not too sure if she changed location or not liao.

my tummy shape not nice to take maternity shoot..maybe ask my hubby to take lah. He spent so much $$ on those big big camera. Must put to good use!

Sleepskies : ya. My MIL ask me to put and take bac once a week. My parents stay near to me but my mum say she don't want to retire yet.

If put at in law place, i have to go everyday and by the time bring bb home, what time liao. I won't bear to put there and bring back once a week only. Slowly, i won't go liao..sure lose the bonding than what for have baby right?

Same loh, my hubby's brother family of 3 plus elder sis also staying with them in 3 room flat. For so long no take care of bb, suddenly got a bb around and if bb cranky at night, will wake up everybody. i think no 1 will be happy lah

sleepyskies: I saw ur order on the carrier. The lady replied me...she can order today. U wanna proceed to ordering?? U email her better. she reply faster there...

Wah!!

just googled cottony photography and saw the pics... the preggie ladies all look very sexy...

Probably not taking... hoping to take when i have #2

fool4love: ya. Way too sexy!! haha!! so nudy. LOL!! My hubby said he don like me to showcase to other pple =( *young but oldies thinking!*

griny - same... she started out small... i still remember she saw my daughter's newborn pics on forum and PM me to ask if she can take pics of her... that time was just $90 only... house visit... i'm happy for her that her business has grown... got sponsors and studios... her reg address is AMK, but her affiliated studio is in Sin Ming... i like her too... very friendly and approachable...

sleepyskies: I got the original BECO (discontinued already) and the BECO GEMINI. That time when I buy, BECO not commonly sold online so I did my own spree with mommies in my group. Buy from US amazon and ship in via vpost. now BP got sell. This seller reliable and carriers ERGO &amp; BECO. Price for BECO, ERGO and Manduca roughly the same, about $160-180. IMHO, carrier don't need to have too high weight limit cos by the time our kid 18months we won't use carrier already as they will be walking/running. http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5417812.html?1362019709

bravado: cen get online http://www.allemom.sg/index.cfm

wai wai: That time for #1, usually we wash every 2 days by hand. bb clothes usually light and dry fast. 10-15 sets quite ok.

coconut: i just started drinking at 30 weeks. for #1 i started abt 36th week. 37/38 week a bit too late cos by 38 weeks some of us might already pop.

shirley: oh yah other than the red string/ribbon around your tummy, also need to follow the usual things that u do when you attend funeral. like tying the red string around finger, wipe your face hands etc with flower water before entering house, bath with flower water etc. And cannot go too near the coffin.

maternity PS: I booked mine with studioplay on 35th/36th week cos now tummy still very small LOL. Got the pacakge at $168 which is the baby fair promo (UP $420). But most likely will buy back all the photos which will be another $400 oops. studioplay is more famous for infant and toddler shoot and not so much for maternity. but this time round I more concern about family shoots together with my #1 and they are very good with kids so I decided to go with them. They did the toddler shoots for my #1 and it was a wonderful experience.

baby 1st year: I agree with reddish that it would be good if we can spend as much time as possible during the 1st year of bb. cos really alot of milestone during the 1st year which we won't want to miss. For me, after going back to work after ML, I decided to take part-time so that I can spend more time with my kid till he's at least 1 years old. Was considering no-pay leave but my company has part-time scheme so I opt for that instead. Had to bear with the pay cut and benefit cuts (leave, bonus etc all cut) but well worth it. On the days that I am not working, I will bring him on play dates or classes. Used to attend music classes together with charliebrown! of cos not easy taking care of bb on our own. working is much easier i think. but the memories and experience is worth it all

2Ks - I am still on good terms with my FIL..just that I find their place quite messy and dirty. Told my hb I cannot imagine putting baby there with all the dust..next time baby learn to crawl liaos will pick the dust and hair to eat! Maybe I think too much but I rather put IFC lahs.. :S Oh, my FIL took care of my BIL's 2 kids since they were babies so I think shld be quite experienced. But hors, old folks old liaos sometimes quite forgetful (he say 1 thing nw, next week can insist nv say) and I think take care of nb quite stressful so last time my FIL sometimes will lash out at my SIL which I feel quite is quite poor thing.

JC - I agree..better bring baby home everynight if not slowly bb will get use to sleeping with grandma/grandpa, wont miss you/your hb so much. For some couples, they prefer like that then they can maintain their current lifetstyle (go shopping, movies etc..more freedom i guess). Yah, having a bb around the hse really not easy esp night time and with a big family.

Xuan - I just got back from a seminar! I go see her reply nw! haha