(2013/05) May 2013

Ikuko,
Exactly donate still got to pay gynae fee for cordinating with scbb. Out to earn. But my gynae is dun do this service so no way I can connect to scbb after give birth.

Only if u store with cordlife or stemcord, then gynae will definately do the service cos they draw the money from them as a service charge. If donate is free one, so gynae nothing to earn so dr will charge u or either do a good deed for u.
I think dr charge cos a lot of procedures by cordinating with bank storage n need to cut cord etc..

2K : my IFC will start from 2nd Sep.
so i thinking just take from 13th May and return work on 2nd Sep..like this no need to take extra AL.

no la...some gynaes will charge a fee for so call "processing" the cord blood for u. need their expertise mah.

my gynae do it for free and do not charge a single cent

hehe..dun scare me leh...ML i thought is 4 months ..than i know from HR only 16 weeks i already very depress liao...coz i thought i coming back in Oct..hahahah

i paid for deposit to start from Sep onwards. Need to confirm the date again 2 week before i come back. Will have an orientation to familise bb with the IFC first

Bbkk: Thanks for the info! Actually I did email them yesterday and some private number keep calling but keeps hang up. not sure if it's from them. cos I heard a lady's voice then i keep hello hello she cut off -.-! My gynae don't charge also that day I check with him. He said since I'm doing a good deed he will be more than willing to do something good as well.

ML: It's 16 weeks. So by August we have to go back to work alrdy =(

oh ya hor...by august need to go back work already. that is if i give birth in mid may.
sian dao....
shit then i have to tell ifc about sept enrolment

if take 13th May, ML will end 30th Aug.
checked with my HR

huh...really ah? I also thought i can go back to work only in Sept. Seem like i'll be back to work by mid-Aug sianz.

I'm new to this forum and am 32 weeks preggers. I'd like to ask if anyone had gestational diabetes or is diabetic before pregnancy? I am still worried this will affect bb but so far gynae says is ok.... Should I be worrying more and risk early labour from the stress of worrying?!

So if u all took after 13may , then ur ML is in sep.

Meow, yes I am with GD. Dr only ask me to control diet. Did u see any dr?

fabbie - haha, my 'next door' colleague already told me if my water bag burst, she will start screaming for help! hahaha coz she no children yet so dont know what to do plus water bag burst sounds v.terrifying! hahaha I scared everyone v.drama later make me gan cheong. Hmmm, my boss only asked if I am taking straight 4mths which I am. She never ask when I gg on ML lehs...initially I wanted to take like 1 week before edd to rest/relax but like abit wasteful coz already v.little time with bb le...maybe will consider taking my own annual leave instead. Closer to the date then decide again...hope with gynae's experience cna tell me agar agar when I will go into labour. haha.

I was just calculating, if I deliver on 24 May, Vesak Day (1 day after edd), the 16weeks start from the following working day right? I shld be able to return to work mid Sept...Either I take extra leave before/after ML...hmmm..

Mummies, just seen gynae and was advised to schedule c-section in 4th week ok Apr. now baby 35 weeks at 2.5kg. Is any of u was advise to have c-section?

Meow, my friend also have GD before. So long you take care of ur diet and good intake, it will be fine. Don't worry.

Btw, when calculating ml, do we include or exclude public holidays?

Also, to sidetrack abit, when you received hand me down clothings, and a lot of it are quite worn with yellow stains...how would you feel? Am i expecting too much? I mean I expect some of it will be quite washed out and more for wearing at home...but it seems like, out of the entire batch, only two pieces are fitted to wear to go out. I personally would not hand down pieces that are super worn to others.

BabyMaine: sorry missed ur reply. My appt on 10 april is at 5pm. I usually see him at the night clinic so that I no need to rush for appointment. Btw did dr tee call u yo monitor bb kicks? He did mot adk me to and my bb like very gentle, udually kick at night. Is this oki?

Movie:
I watched GI joe over the weekendbthrn realised it may be yoo loud for bb. She moves quite a bit during the show. Dunnoe if its too loud for her. I was worried for a while but colz says there is fine
Anyone knows?

So far my hand me down still okie..coz the bb grew too big and most of the clothes only wear a few times

I will wash them before letting my bb to wear..will wear at home lah..coz nobody care hahaha..go out than wear nicer clothes that i bought

If i not wrong, ML include PH ..count by weeks

Miin, i asked my gynae the same.question before. Basi,ally, it is okay as the noises generated within our organs are actually much louder.

JC, yah...dont know if its my expectation too high but prob quite shock to see that most have yellow stains on them. Can we breach bb's clothes. I think i will stock up on my own for those which he can wear out...hehe..more reasons for shopping.

Fabbie, I visited our gynae last mon too and he also scan here and there, ask got eat then go swap test then ask me baby got kick, must make sure baby kick more than 10 times a day.

Not like usually when he said baby head, baby tummy, good. So my husband got worried then on our way home just kept asking me is baby ok.

Plus I vomited a lot recently. Worse than 1st trimester so I am like forcing myself to eat more. And on maxalon to stop the vomiting but still not helping.

Anyway, eat durian like got one kind called "Hong Xia". I ate le, the following week, baby is like 300g more in adv in term of weight. Now at wk 34-35, baby is 2.5 kg on scan so I quite rest assure.

So don't worried too much. Your baby will be healthy. =)

re maternity leave, can check from mom website as there is a calculator for us to key in birth date of baby and auto calculate when will our ML ends

Fabbie: dont worry lah...try to eat more this week and I m sure baby will be fine

sleepyskies: lol even now. if theres a pregnant lady beside me telling me her water bag burst i will be scream also lor.. LOL i remember that time i haven't got kids. im like thinking water bag once burst it will be like a running water tap flow non stop. haha

Meiliew & belle: thanks
i still have 5 more weeks. omg.. im so stress i need to eat more!

Eva: u saw him last monday? so its not me but his talking suddenly change? hmm damn fan lor! next monday going to see him again.. shall see what he will say.. ya i just ate durian and bought milks to drink. now it seems like im seeing him every 1 WEEK which i felt abit too fast… u gals now see gene 2 weeks or 1week?

Ikuko : sometimes ppl too hao xin but they dun QC when they pass things to ppl. If it is me, i wont bleach infant clothes. I planning to machine wash ..if bleach, must hand wash and wash many times..wer got so much time

Why not u consider using those as wiping clothes, bibs or towel to catch drool? Like this wont waste

JC, perhaps they didnt qc bah. maybe i'll get my helper to wash a few times to see the stains can come off.

Hi ladies.. hv been a silent reader all this while. Am in wk35 now, edd 2 May.

Babbie...just to share my experience with y. At wk33+, my baby also measured small. Only 1.8kg+.my gynea sent me for another round of growth scan to make sure all r good n blood flow to baby is ok. Also, was given 1 wk of mc for bedrest.. according to my gynea, rest is more impt n will help in baby growth rather than food intake. So if u can, try to rest as much as u can n lie on yr side to increase blood flow. I also hv to count bb's kick n chart it daily..so far he has been very active so
Small baby is ok as long as healthy. .加油!

Hv also been taking durian n beef..in hope of beefing up the lil one. .am on weekly visit to gynea now.. to monitor baby's growth closely.

ikuko: i also got alot of hands me down. those yellowish with stains one, i just throw away. i wont bother to wash la. cos those are milk stains. dirty mah.

some is they already pack away long time ago then it turn yellow when it was kept away, so they wont know mah...

ML:
My understanding from my company’s HR is
- 1st 8 weeks ML is counted as calendar days which includes Sat, Sun and PH. And will die die have to start latest once bb is delivered. This 1st 8 weeks have to be taken as a whole block.
- Next 8 weeks ML is counted as working days which mean I only have to take the ML on the working days (work 5 days a week) and would not need to take ML on Sat, Sun and PH. Therefore, for mummies who work 5 days a week will be entitled 40 working days ML (if work 6 days a week will be 48 working days) and can be taken flexible.

Ikuko,
I guess most of these stains are breast milk stains and they may not meant to pass down. Bcos when they they 1st wash and dried the stains are not there but may be due to storage for sometime the stains appear. Plus probably they din check them when they pass them to u. That is what happen when I brought out my #1 clothes when I decide to wash them for my #2. When I 1st kept away there are no stains. Maybe you can try washing and put them under Sun, might help.

Ikuko: i also got quite a few with yellowish stains. Will just wash them... and let baby wear at home... Esp those for 0 to 3 months one.

I was told not to buy too many clothes for 0 to 3 months cos it's such a waste. So i will just let baby wear whatever is still wearable la. Anyway, i expect baby to puke milk and make the top even dirtier...

I wont bleach baby's clothes too.

Re: Hand down clothings
I didnt get any hand down clothings coz I am the first to get pregnant among my friends and relatives. haha. But my boss did say she will pass me some stuff coz she just gave birth late last yr..so am waiting for her stuff now. Btw, silly qn - for newborns (0-3mths), do they need to wear a top at home if I intend to swaddle the bb? Just diapers and swaddle enough? I scared bb too hot if I still make her wear a top and I swaddle her..

Post-delivery massage
I know the massage ladies will apply oil on our body and massage/wrap etc. Its also best to leave the oil on for awhile and not wash it off. My qn is, what happens if bb cries for milk during the massage or after the massage where my body is still oily? Can stop the massage halfway, wipe away the oil and latch bb? Or do you pump first to standby?

haha I realise nw I have alot of last min panic attacks - must figure out how to use breastpump, steriliser, organise bb's wardrobe/fridge/kitchen...

fabbie, I am seeing him next monday too in the morning. Yours is morning or evening appt? Mine is 2 wk for now. But now week 35 so I think next appt onward will be weekly.

sleepyskies, I am same like you. First child among friends. Nothing much to have from hand down clothing. Got so many things need to learn.

sleepyskies: i got let my bb wear a top at home even though she is swaddled.
bottom no usually unless at night.

when i go massage, i usually prepare expressed bm for my CL to feed. its very disruptive to stop halfway to latch la. and the ML wont wait for u also.

Eva next monday? im going too! i can see u there! around what time u going? usually my time will be 930 to 10am =) ya this week 35week so next monday will be seeing him

sleepskies: usually Massage lady come. baby will be with caretaker wont be with us inside.. if nobody the massage lady will help u. thats for me la. hee

watashi: okai will take noted of that. thanks ^___^

Maternity Leave Calculator:
http://www.emcl.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Default.aspx

fabbie: I see Gynae every 2 weeks. Last time was 3weeks. Don't worry too much. Probably you can try beef and durians like most mommies mention. Thou my MIL restrict me touch beef (which I've no idea why?) but I still eat once awhile. cos they said can really boost up baby's weight.

Ikuko: I've got quite a bit of hands down clothes as well. Those with serious yellowish stains I didn't bothered to wash, I throw away. Cause they really looks too old & dirty to be worn. But little yellow stains I will still let baby wear at home. Shopping clothes I bought it for baby myself. I won't choose to bleach baby's clothes also.

sleepyskies: wahhaha! I also haven't figure out how to use the breastpumps! LOL! As mention by 2Ks, sy mom also said at home wear top + swaddle enough. only night need change long pants. Cause their body temperature not the same as us. they get cold easily...

Thanks mommies
I think I need to buy more long pants for 0-3months...I only have 1 or 2 nia. *gulp*

Eva - hehe, thats why I am so thankful for this forum, can ask alll the qns I want and with all the mommies' different experiences, I can prepare myself better. Although no matter how much you read/learn now, it wont prepare for that moment when its just you and baby alone. hahaha!

Xuan - thanks for the link! Hope my bb comes out on Vesak Day, 24th May or later (but thats after my edd of 23 May liaos) then I can take ML till mid Sept!

Btw, besides the 6days of childcare leave, we are also entitled to another 6days of unrecorded childcare leave right (meaning no need child MC also can take)? I recall my colleague telling me but I cant rem...

Xuan - haha, you still looking for good stretch mark cream ah? I give up liaos, I just use whatever I have (Clarins, bio-oil and my gynae's cream) coz I realise the new/fresh marks will not go away even if I apply the creams twice everyday. The marks, although just appeared few days ago, will just become red and stay there...Hopefully like some of the mommies shared on FB, the stretch marks will lighten and fade away after awhile..

sleepyskies: for this baby...the CCL will be prorated.
think the most 1 or 2 days nia. u wont be given whole 6 days la.

xuan: i been using clarins stretchmark cream...but i finished already and i dont intend to buy...so i am using my balance pigeon cream.
but i heard bio oil good leh.
its cheap anyway..can try

griny: Yeap, the first 8 wks of ML needs to be taken as a block whereas the remaining 8 wks can be broken up.. Think for ML, I'll most likely break it up esp when early Aug has PH.. haha, so will apply till before PH, then continue with another stretch for aft the PH.. heh heh..

Btw, wrt confinement herbs, anyone has any recommendations of reasonably priced fresh herbs? Coz am hoping to start the search for the herbs by next wk or so.. How to store the herbs? Need to be refrigerated or can keep in storerm if tis still in their sealed packaging? TIA! =)

Xuan, seems like i need to throw away quite a fair bit of clothes cos most are stained quite badly..like 3/4 of the clothes are yellowish.

Will need to get more pants too as i only have a few.

Wow, the calculation of the ML seems quite complex...will need to plan it carefully to maximise it.

bewildered: u can search for archive too...previously already shared on what kinds of herbs.

and there is no fresh herbs in singapore la. all are dried ones.
anyway herbs need to be stored in fridge. otherwise all will spoil. definitely cannot keep in storeroom even though sealed cos of moisture

Sleepyskies: yah!! Sigh but I also half way give up liao. I also applying whatever I have - Cocoa Butter, bio oil and elcanyl. LOL!! Just being desperate. My Edd 25 May eh. LOL!! One day before Vesak day. ROFL!

SCBB: I just called cord blood bank! Meeting them to sign form on this Thursday! =)

2Ks: Yah. I'm using them alternatively. Change here change there. LOL!! Clarins that time people tell me no use so I never try eh =( jidan I should have buy n try.

ikuko: if you looking for cheap long pants you can go to bugis the si ma lu there. There is a wholesale shop selling a lot of baby basic clothing. Those wear at home sleep one. but they sell in half bulk - min. 6 pieces (same design) around $13. I bought them for my boy. Cause a lot of pass-down are rompers!! No long pants for him also so I just buy 6 pieces at one go. $13 only! like one piece $2 only. You can go take a look =)And hor, the quality quite good eh! They outgrown very fast. so I think buy cheap cheap one last them some time quite reasonable =)

Address:
SHEN KWONG TRADING CO.
Blk 269 Queen Street. #01-246
Shop is located at a corner, near a public toilet.