(2013/04) April 2013

Morning mommies!

Feeling better Angela?

Kimmy, we look forward in hearing good news from you in the near future! jiayou jiayou!

Re: HUSBANDS
Oh well, ytd was probably my lucky day! My hb got home early, instead of hiding himself in the toilet for an hour, he started reading story to our son instead. Then, he actually tucked my son in ytd, while i relax relax in the living room til I fell aslp.. It was the most beautiful slp I ever had in months! Haha...men are really hor..So this morning, I purposely smsed him to 'thank' him for doing all those things ytd and hope he could keep up with the good work..Wish me luck! If not his phone sure kena! Haha...

Daphne:
This is my #2..my tummy was already fat and flabby before I got pregnant..so now some of my mommy friends commented I look like 4 mths pregnant...zzzz...

I had maggie mee for dinner too!

Just rcv result from clinic..hcg level dropping from 5000 plus to 3000plus..going to see gynae to discuss option..very painfulto know I've loss bb..

doramum and kimmy: so sorry to hear that. hope you have a good recovery. rest well!

daphne: gaining weight is good but not too much too soon. must be gradual coz we are not eating for 2. haha

whether your tummy starts showing sooner or later depends on how toned you were before you got pregnant. the more toned, the slower to show. and vice versa.

for me, mine started showing the moment i gotten pregnant. this is my #2 - already can see tummy but not as big as when i carried #1. i wasn't toned to begin with :p

ggchua,
just to share, when i was preggie with #1, i couldnt take maggie mee at all. but for #2 and #3, its ok. maybe your bb dun like maggi mee, so just stop for the time being or till your 1st trimester is up.

Shirley,
Sorry to hear that, best consult gynae asap

sam: ya.. i think so too. lol... suddenly i lost my appetite

Maxlene, glad to hear from you that bb is growing well. Until now i still dunno if i should go for OSCAR or not. dilemma.. Maybe should just go for it for a piece of mind.

doramum and kimmy: really sorry to hear about your lost... Have a good recovery and bu back your health. hope to hear good news from both of you soon..

Shirley, are you ok? do see a gynae soon... Hope everything goes well for you..

Hi Lee - great to b same EDD .. So mean u are at 8 weeks 5 days as me ya. But yesterday my scan can't see the legs n hands leh.. Maybe hiding frm me.

what is OSCAR ?

shirley, dont give up hope yet. maybe gynac can do smth abt it. we will pray for u

doramum, sorry to hear that, please take good care n we hope to see u here again very soon.

ggchua, i went expo on weekend. Medela freestyle selling 799! i wana faint.

Can - ya I think better to consider doing to hv a piece of mind for the rest of the pregnancy. What do u think of Dr Tan? I find her very aloof n she seem to be rushing for time during the consultation. When I ask her if my BB ok, she reply I can't tell u if bb is ok or not right now.. I was like huh? What she mean wor.. seem like she can't b bother like that.

ggchua,
Ur friend selling so cheap for madela double pumps? can consider wor..

Maxlene,
Which Dr. Tan ar?

Mocca,
Yeah so freaking exp lor the breastpumps..it would be good to be like my friend, bf exclusively for 6 mths, everytime her baby hungry, just lift her top hehe..she dun need to pump or to sterlise those mafan equipment at all..so convenient...

mocca: medela freestyle is better than what my friend is selling. my another friend bought her medela freestyle from amazon that was only half of the retail price.

rachel: cause shes my very close friend
she bought it around 4 yrs ago for only $200 plus. so far used less than 10 times. she told me now retail selling $300plus..

i think i will go for breastpump cause i scare my baby will bite my nipple until rotten! hahha

Mocca Mama, OSCAR is a test combines of several factors to compute the risk of Down's Syndrome. These factors include maternal age, neck thickness, blood test reading, mother's smoking profile...

Maxlene, I find her rather rushing too! its my 1st appt, and i heard that 1st appt is usually the longest of all the visits. but our time in the room was like super speedy.. welcome, sit down, thunder speed ask a handful of questions, then do scan. see bb. measure the length of bb, tell us the EDD then advise on the taking of folic acid and vits, then ask me need mc or not, pass me brochures on OSCAR. then.. that's about it.

We then stop to ask a few questions. Her answer was like 10yr serials answer. Short, fast, sweet. I don't know if my slow reaction and mind did fully understand her or not. Then we left the room, while waiting outside, i told my hub, wah. "jin ho tan" (she is earning good money leh!) super speedy, we are out of the room le.. overall i find her ok. but then, maybe lack of a bit of PR skills. haha!

ggchua,
Just a gentle reminder hor...I also bought my madela swing almost 4 years ago, but honestly speaking the motor very bo lat oredy. So if can, better get a new one...Heard Madela can accept trade-in for Swing for $100, was thinking if I shd do that..

Rachel - Dr Tan Kim Teng from Kkh. Happen to hv same dr as Can..

Can - ya both my appointment super fast too. Less than 15mins I m out Liao. My hubby say fast mean no problem with me n bb.. So should be happy, why bother so much. Anyway my hubby is a very optimistic guy lar.. Very easy contented type.

rachel: ya! i saw some reviews on the motor too.. and the life span is pretty short. $100 for trade-in sounds good..

Ling,
I highly doubt that! He not interested in these motherhood thingy one. Most probably he saw my fb post where I complained long-windedly about 'someone' being stuck with his hp until the son and wife also feel so neglected..But so long he changes for the better, and keep up with the good efforts, I really dun mind lol....

my tummy also showing.. think becoz fats from #1 brought forward plus bloated stomach.
ytd i had nasi padang with my colleagues.. ate chilli.. not spicy.. but end up rest of the day stomach burning inside..

suddenly got craving for avocado juice.. so feel like having it now.. but lunch time is 1 hr away..

I don't want to sound like a wet blanket but I have read that home electric pumps are designed for 2 yr shelf life so ur buying second hand at considerable risk. The is also problem of bm collecting at the motor part which is not possible to clean.

can: oo thanks for explaining! not sure if i need to take OSCAR test or not, see wad gynac says.

rach: i was planning to ask my boss if i can work from home, so i can be like ur friend. immed feed, no need pump out so mafan. But chances r very low, bosses dont like that idea one.

ggchua, ya my friend told me to invest in good pump. if nt makes u very tired n waste time. time become very little when become mummy. I also looking at amazon, but dun dare buy anything yet till my bb is stablised.

bb(lybaby): Thank you. No worries. I also had to ask ask around for recommendations.

Kimmy: Take care. Thanks for sharing. A good doctor is really important. Glad that you finally met one that can really give good advice. Rest well and hope that you will recover soon.

Maxlene: Yar same. My last scan, bb only 1.74cm. But can see the shape of the hands and legs on the screen. The gynea zoom in to show us. So interesting cause 1st visit was just a dot and 2 weeks later so different. So fast!

Can: My first visit sounds like yours also. Think the gyneas are all so busy.

Last night i vomitted when brushing teeth. Sigh. =( Lately feel like vomitting everytime i brush teeth. Morning or night also felt the same. I only brush my teeth, not even tongue. How? Anyone also like that?

Never sleep well last night too. Keep waking up. Tired now...

hello mummies...

my tummy is showing slightly...but it looks like I ate until very full so far, not really preggy looking for now. I lost 1kg when weighed myself at the last gynae visit, maybe due to eating lesser due to no appetite. Recently get hungry easily but can't stomach much things, scared I puke. Gagged really badly in office toilet this morning, hope I don't scare pple walking past hahha... my volume of gagging gets louder each day.

Lee: thank u for sharing ur exp! i also saw a small dot 2 weeks ago. I hope tonight i will be able to see smth like u... is very comforting to hear from your exp.

sunflower: let think of the good side. tummy growing means bb is growing well. n we get our priority seats in mrt n train faster too!

Lee,

You arent alone, for which of my pregnancies, I dread brushing teeth, always worst off in the 1st tri. Should be better from 2nd tri onwards.

My last use for breast pump is 3 yrs go .. That means its likely not able to work well already? Where to do the trade in?

I think even if u plan to direct bf, shd also standby a pump bah to express out excess milk and stimulate more?

Lee,

Me too!! Always felt like vomitting whenever i brush my teeth esp my tongue. Duno isit we have sensitive tongue?? Morning i sure puke & d feeling is worse coz nt eaten any thing yet. I even change my toothpaste to those kiddy kodomo ones. Kaka

Rachel,

Where can we trade in our old medela pump? Mine also swing bt no power ljao. It trade in, d pump must be in workable condition? I tint i need to get new pumps, if we buy from amazon can we buy local warantty??

Ggchua, medela twin electric doesn't have much good reviews. Heard that the suction is not that gd and that it's v noisy.. Try pisa or freestyle.
My Pisa served me well for 12mths.. I pumped exclusively for my girl and stopped at 12mths.. My medela warranty card doesn't have the 'date chop' so my warranty starts when I brought it for my first servicing to check my suction powder..

Daphne, Sam, Mummypooh: Thanks for letting me know that it's normal. Do you all have any ways to make it feel better?

Mummypooh: Does changing toothpaste help?

Try medela service centre for trade in.. Not v sure if they accept it. But that's the only medela service centre in sgp. It's by mums&babes..
The service centre is at SECOM building, toh Guan east road,,

Lee, can try not to concentrate ur mind im brushing teeth? Take ur mind off elsewhere instead.. And perhaps u may try less foamy toothpaste. Darlie, Colgate has quite a lot of foam.

Lee,

They have different flavours, i bought strawberry ones. Its a bit sweet. Bt @ least nt as bad as colgate. V minty. Maybe u can buy a small tube & try it out? Trial & error bah.

Oooh I tot I was the only one..always vomitted when i brush teeth! But mine is those herbal toothpaste with vitamin c, but too bad still makes me vomit! Haha...

Re: Madela
Yeah I heard Madel'a service centre is oppo Jurong IMM Bldg...can call them and check? I agree that we should not buy breastpumps too early since it eats into our warranty period. I only bought my swing the day I got discharged from hospital haha..

afternoon all!

I've been eating a lot lately cause it helps with the nausea when I eat. The moment i stop eating, I will feel very nauseous -_- so far I've put on almost 1 kg.

Just came back from clinic.. confirmed lost bb.. have scheduled for a dc tom morning..life is So fragile.. gonna miss my little beanie lots lots..

Reddish, mummypooh: Ok. Think i will change toothpaste. See if it will be slightly better.

Mocca: Update us when you get back.

Shirley He: Sorry to hear about your lost. Rest well and take good care.

Afternoon all!

Shirelle: Oh, i also eating when i feel hungry. Once i feel hungry, i feel nauserous. Too full, also feel like vomitting. So far, i have no vomitting, i am not so sure if it is good sign.

trinity: dont think so much! just treat that you and your beanie has no fate? i lost mine once too. you cannot keep thinking bout it if not you will end up like me. took years to get over. my gynae told me its better to find out the problem earlier.. dont sad okay. hugs!

reddish: thanks for the recommendation! i will go research more bout it

shirley: sorry to hear that. take good care of yourself

shirelle, apple: me, too! i told my gynae i keep munching to keep the nausea at bay. she cautioned me about this - excessive weight gain. haha! so i am trying to snack on healthy stuff. another way of curbing my nausea is to sleep. the moment i get up, i feel nauseous already

Haiz my nausea came bk again leh but Thankfully Hv some appetite ... I munch till nothing in my house to munch Liao

Trinity
Time will heal everything k ... I believe if he is meant to be urs he will be back for u. Also heard that after MS , u will also tend to be more fertile but must wait till at least after ur first cycle bk normal.

lee: thanks, i hope mine turn out good like urs =)

Trinity/shirley: sorry to hear about ur lost. my friend shared wif me tt is better to find out now than later where u can feel the kicks n movement.

rach tay: how the swing pump, is the power good? i saw is cheaper than freestyle. not buying yet but wana do some hk first hahaa

hellooo...

how is everyone so far?

sorry to read some mummies have lost their babies. Take time to nurse your sadness and try again! Big hugs! Take care and may you conceive soon with a sticky bb!

My ms is getting worse. Today really bad.. i already vomit twice. 1st time, immediately merlion after taking my medicine at my workstation and i dirty my office carpet. super grossed. 2nd time is immediately right after lunch n chiong to the bathroom. feels super tired after the 2 vomit saga.

For pumps, i highly recommend you to have local warranty. I used medela freestyle for #1. less than 1 month, the motor died on me. Thank goodness back then hb insisted i buy locally even though it cost more. We were able to get the shop to send for repair and they loan me another set during the repair period. Else, I seriously duno how can i cope without the pump.

There are also good reviews on Avent Duo pump and ameda. The reason why I chose Freestyle was i need one that can operate on battery as my co has no nursing room and I always pump in my car when I was back to work. But suction power of Freestyle lose to PIS or avent duo.

Mocca,
The power for Medela Swing can be adjusted one. I always turn to the maximum and it was OK for me, just a bit noisy to my liking.. HB said the other day he could still hear the motor sound right until today haha...

Marekkebb,
Wah FreeStyle exp sia...think the most expensive one should be PIS liao.. Avent one good? I think they are much cheaper than Medela right? Some of my friends used Pigeon ones, told me dont waste time and money on Pigeon pumps..