(2013/02) March 2013

SBB: Good supportive boss that you have. Maybe take no pay leave then you can stretch your ML to 6-8mths?

C.Yang: Family support or additional pair of hands around the house is very essential as you will need the rest as well. As women besides caring for our family and giving our all we often forget about ourselves and tend to do things as though we are super women. We need to take care of ourselves as well if not will aged very quickly.

DoubleDee: Hugs and Welcome.

Baby2013: My son is also 21 months. I often talk to him before bedtime saying that how he is now a big boy and he is going to be a kor kor now. I bought story books about being a big brother and my hubby and I will tell him to kiss baby (my tummy) night night and sayang. Hubby will often lead by example then my son will follow. Not sure if he understands but he will kiss and sayang my tummy. He often says he wants a mei mei. =)

HI ALL

I'm a first time mummy too! EDD: 19 Mar 2013.

any advise of what food to consume as i m in mine 12 weeks.

will b doing the OSCAR Scan on this Friday. Bit worry.

so exciting, more mummies reporting here..
wahh. .seems that most mummies here are having boys here .
think a wider age gap is easier for the kids. say 3 years

I am first time mummy, my EDD 3 Mar 2013. Can add me to the FB group

New Mummies, please PM berrydelight your email to be added to the FB group. She's the admin who helped set up the group. =)

Boys or Girls as long as healthy that is what matters most. However a lot of us will want boys for the first one to save us the nagging from all the older folks. =P

Blueswimmercrab,
You think it's true? Are you facing pressure to produce boys? From my perspective, i think many people actually favour girls. Sweet, takes care of family, married but still always close to family. In my family, I can only sense that my dad favour grandson a little more than granddaughter. And my prc sil who thinks she scored a big fat A when she had a son.

I am not bothered cos my kids would carry my family name. And my in laws love both boys and girls.

At te end of the day, having a healthy and cheerful baby is most important. I just heard about my friend's newborn with a slight abnormality.

hi baa, no real pressure i guess. although sometimes i will hear random comments from friends / relatives that "its good if first one is boy, so no pressure even if next one is boy or girl" which assumes that everyone just really wants boy, and girls are an afterthought. sometimes i would also hear random comments like "its good if the older one is a girl and the younger one is a boy so the girl can look after the boy" which makes it seem like the point of having a girl is to look after her kid brother.

yah, i agree that girls tend to be closer / nicer to the family and sisters always tend to be closer than brothers. so i still dun understand this preference for boys.

Alyssa, I'm SAHM too with my no. 1 girl now turning 2 in 2 weeks time. Wow.. Your company is so flex that you can work 2x a week? Nice! I'm a freelance art teacher before I become a mother. I don't earn much so might as well let go and concentrate on taking care of my girl. Now I teach once a week. Same like you, I don't have much help when no. 2 comes. Just hope to be super mama as best as I can.

HIHI, blueswimmercrab, i like to have both gender coz it seems more complete...hahaha
the preference maybe be stemming from expectations from others : MIL , Mothers, friends etc. so when people say wahh, u got a son, that is good, then u will want to have.
sons are good coz when old, can help u carry heavy stuff, bring u see docs etc. Daugthers most idea is after they got married, they cannot stay with you... i guess mummy's boy, daddy's gal still weighs

but i got a fren whose first baby is a son and she wants a gal..so it is like u always want the other gender when u got a certain gender.

Speaking of baby's gender, being a traditional chinese, I always wanted to have a boy as #1 so that I feel 'safer' to have a boy to carry the surname. I felt disappointed finding out the gender at the checkup. Now with #2 on the way, guess everybody kinda hope it's a boy but strangely I don't bother as much as I thought I would be. I really love my girl so much and I think she's the sweetest angel on earth and I don't mind having another girl!

oh well, its the best to only have two kids, and i guess most parents want to experience the joy of having a son and a daughter.

for me, i really like the fact that i have a sister and would like my daughter to experience that but three kids sounds like a no no.

Hi mummies ( to be)!
Great to meet u here!

I already hv 2 boys (p3 & k1), so the handful who know abt my 3rd pregnancy seem to root for a gal for me. Actually, it doesn't matter for me, as long as the bb is healthy.
Only told a handful bcos mine is a high risk pregnancy n I will b taking amino test end of this mth.
I m a sahm since #2 but has a helper for 1.5yrs b4 I go solo.
This time ard, I have decided not to get a helper if I can diy.
I'd booked my confinement nanny bcos she is gd & thus v popular. I missed her vinegar pig trotter most! Ha...

HI Vamiga, v brave of u to go for #3 despite high risk! good mummy

blueswimmercrab: i guess it is a gender preference each person has. if u are happy with ur pref , then it is good . for me, i still have the old chinese traditional pref of having a boy and now wanna cope with gender disappointment..haha. though they say week 12 guess may not be accurate.
my husband seems not be bothered by gender at all he just say which gender is afterall, ur own kid. gals can also be trained to do boys' stuff... so i guess ur husband's understanding is impt too

blueswimmercrab, my in laws are not those who have any gender preference but it's my mum who thinks i shd give birth to a boy for my hb's family cos my #1 is already a gal. actually i would prefer another gal for #2, can save alot money cos alot things/clothes can pass down from my gal. and i think having 2 gals, they will be closer and will play more together. my gal had been telling me that bb inside is mei mei

Girl or boy I guess doesn’t matter ba.
Nowadays the society is slightly better liao right? Hehe..

My father in law actually wishes for a granddaughter. Cos he got too many boys.
So he got disappointed when we told him it’s a boy for my 1st one. But well.. he still loves him though.

Me preference to boy la. Not cos of traditional. Cos I guess easier to manage on their wearing and toys. Haha..and further more, he is very sweet to me. Keep telling me he likes me la.. if I said I don like him, he will said I cannot don’t like him.

I think carrying on the surname doesn’t matter. Cos in the earth, so many ppl already carry the same surname.
Maybe its from the same ancestor. Who knows. Most importantly I think is they grew up to be a nice person with nice character.

Just my point of view la.

random

Oh.. my hubby yesterday so upset with himself breaking bb milk bottle.

My son before sleeping will said good nite daddy, I love u.
Than daddy don want to hiew him after he broke it. My son than said, baba cannot hear huh? I so loud already.

Actually I put the milk bottle there for him to wash. Ops..

maybe i am sensitive, but when i was growing up, i often felt that my brother got away with more stuff just because he was a boy. not sure whether that contributed to him being more spoilt and demanding. i guess it is very natural for most mothers to prefer boys actually (maybe its the X-Y chromosome thinggy that ensures that boys actually are more like thier mothers than fathers).

Blueswimmercrab
When younger, my mother also preferred me to do hsework than my brothers.
So I always dictate my brothers to do this and that so hse work is been shared and well.. I guess my brothers were obedient towards me cos they dotes me too.
When canning, my mother always canned all the 3 of us with me canning the most.
I think cos my dad dotes me more. Haha.. but I always hide behind my brothers. They always protect me.

But well.. luckily, they are not spoilt and demanding. Haha..

Just to add, in the end, when grow up liao, when we got any problems, 3 of us always stands in together. Like protecting each other.
Well.. I better enjoy this moments now cos my brothers is still single.. Haha.. time will tell when all gets married.

i agree with sbb, my surname is 陈... chin chin chai chai on the streets also can find one anyone with the surname...

i think my ILs are keen for a boy... haiz... sianz... suddenly, i have no preference for boy / girl liaoz..

aiyo, all, my husband's surname is kuah ( guan), this is rare so i wanna to carry the family name. though he had already 2 nephews and my in-laws are not particular abt having a boy for my side. my husband had 2 brothers and each have a boy liao. same as blueswimmer, it is my mum who feels i shld have a boy , then will fulfil the duties of wife.. shake head...initially my husband only wants one child, and first one gal , he is also happy but my mum said shld at least try for #2, for a son..aiyo... if another gal , maybe she will be disappointed ;)

bbGender
ahhaha.. my hubby is the only son. ironic thing was, my mil doesnt care gender of my bb when she know my #1 is a girl. even before im expecting #2, she also tell me. dun worry abt the gender, girl also good. hubby also don bother, cos his surname is LEE, he said so many LEEs in singapore, scare for what. but am the one who is hoping for a boy. hahha!!

Rgdg gender: if really ve to choose, i'll go for gal. My parents ve 3gals including me, my hb side 3boys including him. I look at the way things r over at his side n my side, i think i rather all my kids r gals :p. But my hb seems to prefer boy, somehow both his bros 1st born is boy, so i guess he feels that he must ve too. Guys, sometimes really can't stand their way of thinking.

But... Ultimately, as long as my kid is healthy n normal, i happy.

Hi, reporting in

Currently 12weeks preg. My gal already 23 mth le.

This time the tummy balloon so fast n big. I looks like 5 mth preg now lol

@I loves babies: my hubby also Kuah but is Ke... ya very unique surname

@Gender: I prefer gal, but afterall baby healthy can le.... my MIL also wan boy despite tat she got 4 grandson le.... she super disappointed wen my first is gal, but i super happy lol

I love babies: thanks for your compliment!

All these r fated, so just hv to take them in our strides & try our best.

Dh is e only son after 4 older sisters, so I did feel e pressure of having a boy when preggie w #1.

Hi mummies, this is my #1. Currently i'm 15 weeks preg. Have been a slient reader all these while

@Gender: Though we have our own preference, I guess at the end of the day, boy or gal doesn't really matter. Cos all we hope is that the bb is normal and healthy

hows mummies today?
the past 3 days no seat in the morning. today finally got a seat after i went to different cabin. haha.. i accidently kick a guy shoes when i going in. he immediately stand up and gave up his seat.

the lady beside me is eyeing for the seat and she gave up hope when i said thanks to the guy. haha..

sbb; this few days, i heng ar..took train got ppl give up seats to me... hahaha...

i realise my tummy for this #2 is much smaller then my #1 leh...

Winnie
i only got the seat normally is after work.
cos tummy looking bigger. and than last cabin last door, normally the ppl won give up seat to u. thats what i found out. but last 2nd and 3rd door if i go in sure got ppl let me sit. haha..

hiding tummy? haha.. good leh. cos don need to slim down so much.. haha..

Gender,

many pple ideally want to have a 好 , but ultimately healthy, safe and carry through the full term successfully is the most important. Heard of friends having miscarriages, no heartbeat, stillbirth or even preterm delivery. Nothing beats the healthy and safe delivery of a child. Boy or girl, still our own kids, still so much joy we have with them. As long as they dont fall sick , stay happy we are happy. The moment they fall sick, we worried sick. Once they reach teens, be it boy or girl, its the toughest stage to guide them. After married, it still depends. I heard of boys very filial to their parents even though they married.. i also heard of girls dont go back to their parents house only until chinese new year.. so be it boy or girl, its all individual characters and upbringing their future to be. Eventually still hope ur own kid to be healthy.

sunflower: well said!!
I think most consensus is saying healthy etc is good. but humans usually are greedy, expect this and that...
anyway, my gal is turning 1 in a few weeks time. Haha, busy organising her bdae party, she will be upgrade to be a 'jie-jie' next year. i ask her wanna a didi or mei mei, she doesn' seem to understand and kept on shaking her head...haha

Yeah, agreed. Well said, Sunflower.

Acert45, is your gal a Sept 2011 baby? Mine is turning 1 tomorrow! Thought I'm the one with the closest gap.

I puked right after I came out from the train 2 days ago. Luckily I have many spare plastic bags in my bag. A kind old man passed me a packet of tissue before he got into the train. I was just wondering how ppl would react if I were to puke in the train itself. Nobody gave seat to me the entire journey. Then told hb and wonder if I would have been 'stomped'.

im abit emotional when comes to gender, cos i have friends with all sorts of experiences and i personally experienced almost preterm labour that actually its really a scary experience for me. The fertility rate is so low now because actually there are many pple who cant conceive at all. Or there are also many others who tried years to yearn for one. So we should be glad we had kids. Having our child is so much joy. Really felt the happiness level rise even before having a kid. So i feel there is no need to compare. More things to stress when they start growing.

im so sleepy aft lunch..feel like falling asleep leh...waiting time to go home only..
i ate lor mee juz now but im so thirsty tat i finish one bottle of 500ml water.. now my tummy is flooded with water....

re:gender
my hubz and mil wants a girl~ for me, as long as healthy can liao.....

So sleepy after chicken rice lunch, this morning din have my usual dosage of coffee, had ice milo instead.....

1 more day to weekend~~!!

TKH: YES, my gal is a September baby.
re:puking, even im in week 14, i still puke a lot. esp in the morning/lunch. I cannot eat too much, can only eat say half full , else will surely puke out everything. my gynae said this is normal and cannot help much. she said wait for another mth...

TKH
Oh my.
That is what im most afraid of when at outside and alone.
There was one time, I was thinking in case I puke, I shall push the people out of my way but of course, it will be very mafan situation. Haha and I don have a plastic bag. But the old man was nice. 

I love babies
My 1st one I puke until I 16 weeks leh. Sian…….
This mrn don kw why, mrning whole day feel like puking. Jiatlat. Luckily after eating few biscuits I felt better.

Re: Lunch
I had yong tao fu than packet 1 vegetarian pig trotters black vinegar for teabreak.
Jst eaten down and my aunty colleague said it taste so different. Haha..

Hmm... I had a bad experience puking in the public at a company event for #1... I felt super embarrassed that I dirtied the place. My hair and dress... Yikes... sorry, it's gross! So I make sure I have many plastic bags with me all the time now. And it's already the second time I puked at the MRT station already for this pregnancy! Sigh... And yes, that old man is really nice. I'm keeping the tissue paper. Will show and tell my baby next time that despite many ppl pretending to be sleeping in the mrt, there are still many kind souls around. =)

Brought e boys to lunch at ikea today so bz till n now.
This pregnancy is really different from e 1st 2. I was nausea whole day, esp evenings & was v exhausted. Only much better since e wkends but then allergic rhinitis flared up so coughing badly w blocked nose despite med n nasal spray.
To think I was able to work n take 3x a wk evening classes during #1. Machine really old le. Ha...

Now that I m feeling better, need to start shopping for maternity & nursing wears le. Yippee!
Any lobang/ recommendation for plus sizes?
Saw pyjamus posted on 8 june 2013 here. Wonder how to check sizes?
Anyone started on stretch mark cream? Which brand is better?

sbb -does bad morning sickness signal the gender of the bb? Hahaha.. i still die hard got the hope that it shall be a boy this time.

re: vomit, very jialak for the first few weeks, i bring plastic bags and whenever puke , will take out. sometimes, no time to take out plastic bags, i will just find one corner and puke, couldn't care any more. then rush to the toilet. v bad. i had actually lost 1.1 kg this time round. got to weigh again and see any weight gain/loss at my next gynae vist at the end of the mth