(2013/02) Feb 2013

angie > haha. maybe the word 'abortion' is written all over my face without me knowing it?? and only seen by the nurses and gynae?

omg xinyue, is it cos you look really really young so they thought you are there for an abortion? or maybe that gynae specializes in abortion?
how can he just shrug of spotting as normal and not do anything about it?
at least my gyane is the better be safe than sorry kind.

hi twinkie: actually i'm not sure if that is a good gauge ahaa..i just use it cos i've some more kits left..ooh i bought the kits online very cheap only about $1 per strip.

http://tiny-shop.blogspot.sg/

i bought it from this shop but via gmarket...think can purchase from the blog directly too..

xinyue: thanks so much for the pre-warning! i do intend to 'shop' around first and try out a few gynaes before settling on one. are you super baby faced? am quite horrified that he seems so dismissive!

silver: thanks for sharing!
good idea to get cheaper ones if we intend to test often as a resassurance. pharmacy sell so ex.

twinkie, cramps are normal cos ur uterus is expanding to make space for baby. Unless it's really acute or accompanied by bleeding or if it's a contraction-like pain, then shld be just part of pregnancy pains. If u really wanna be sure, taking blood test would be more accurate than HPT.

ya actually luvnhope is right, cramps are normal as long as it's not severe or painful and not accompanied by spotting or bleeding then that is ok.
cos the uterus expanding..
i was cramping quite a bit last week too..then it stopped le...

Hello silver..
maybe I look really young, was 25 yrs old then. i have ppl telling me I looked like I was 20 or 21.
no idea. As it was my first one, being ignorant and all, plus the terrible cramps and spotting.

hubby and I panicked. Just search for gynae nearest to his house (totally no idea how to 'shop' for a gynae. no colleagues to intro. relative's gynae too far away from us). Thus we landed at Jothi's clinic. JOthi prescribed me duphatson (unsure of spelling) and folic. Bill came to $200++.

My next visit to gynae also happened abruptly. Had heavy spotting. So this time, we searched for gynae nearest to my house and have stayed with him since then...

I just confirmed BFP with the GP doctor this morning. EDD est ard early feb. Doctor even asked me wants to have dragon baby or snake baby.

I tested myself the pregnancy kit yesterday twice. Once in the office and got BFP. I was alittle surprised as we did not really plan, just go for natural. Later, bought another type of pregnancy test kit and brought home to test. This time, after tested and seemed it looked postive, brought to let my hubby see and confirm. My hb looked and looked and also dare not confirm if it was positive, asking me to see doctor (GP) to confirm.

Btw, I have a gal whose 5 years old now. So will have a 5 years gap in between. Actually, I have a twin boy but unfortunately, he passed away in 4mths old. So my hubby said he had came back to us.

Now sourcing for a gynea who must be experienced as I have a complex pregnancy during my 1st pregnancy.

Btw, is it normal to have cramps on and off?

twinkle > no prob. do not want other ladies to experience what I had. hmm.. my current gynae does prescribe pills for bad cramps.. maybe u can check with urs?

Dilemmmagal: welcome to the thread

LuvNhope & silver: my cramps are worrying me now more i guess cos the frequency is slightly increasing. sometimes i get sharp pains /aching (on off but not persistent) at the right side, just above the hip. last night scared myself while thinking about ectopic.

xinyue: dr. kumar sounds uncaring
good that you changed doc!

Twinkie, I'm Indian leh.. All thanks to my father I have hair everywhere.. Sian.. Initially thought of shaving.. But didn't want any blade touching me ..

Luv, have yet to. Plan to go sch 1st wk, aft that see doc and hopefully get hl.. Will kk give? Hmmm

Xinyue, 200+ just for duphaston and consultation is really ex!!

Dilemmagal, i also have a 5yo gal! It'll actually be a 6 year gap by the time bb is born, lol.

BabyG, not sure leh. Prob can lah.

twinkie, actually if you're already 5 weeks plus, why dun u go for a scan and put your mind at ease? Shld be able to see the sac liao. Then u'll know whether it's ectopic or not.

Dilemmagal: I remembered you..!! Seen your posts years ago..oh my..you're expecting again..? Congrats..!!!! Worry not..it's normal to have cramp on n off..just no constant pain/cramp or follow with spotting/bleeding..

Xinyue: Oh dear..must be quite an experience for you..glad you've found a gynae that you're comfy with..

twinkie, ic.. can arrange a visit in your fifth week lor. Then no need to wait so long. First preg, sure kan cheong. I saw my gynae in Week 5 for my first one too.

BabyG: Not too sure about that..as diff brands will have diff ingredients..best to google the brand and check out if contents are safe for usage..? My gf went for waxing at those beauty salons though..

angeline > yup.. thanks to jothi, so when i met the second gynae, i know which is good which is not.

luvnhope > $200++ for consultation, v scan, duphaston n folic. did i mention the consultation takes just 5 min?

twinke > let's say.. different ppl, different encounters. I have noo fate with this doc. definitely there are ppl who find him good.

hmm.. can only hear heartbeat and blinking star on the machine at week six. before that is just the sac? think the clinic dont want u to waste ur $$ also. normally 1st consultation not cheap.

xinyue, cos twinkie's worried abt ectopic, so suggest to her that she can scan earlier to see the sac (and the yolk). Then she won't worry herself sick.

luvnhope > ops. sorry miss that out. an early scan helps to determine whether sac (and yolk) in right place, am i correct? but if see gynae at week 5, some gynae will do vaginal scan instead of u/scan?
jothi did a vaginal scan for mine at 6th week, while my current one did a u/scan for my 5th week

xinyue, think diff gynaes diff practice. My previous gynae would try tummy scan first then if cannot see clearly will do v-scan. Actually i think v-scan easier in earlier stages. Otherwise u have to keep full bladder, such a torture! I think i did v-scan for quite a number of weeks b4 can see clearly via tummy scan.

Oh, and yeah, if u can see the sac in uterus, means can rule out ectopic liao. The presence of the yolk indicates normal healthy growth.

Date of conception can be on day of ovulation or 2-3 days after ovulation, depending on when ur egg and ur DH's soldiers meet.

But usually if u wanna calculate EDD, u shld calculate from Day 1 of your Last Menstrual Period. Shld be abt 10mths from then.

Xinyue: My first gynae consultation fee came up to $300+ dated 5 years ago..it's just normal consulting, scanning of sac, folic acid pills and that's that..Well..that's when I'm 5weeks..

Actually..I'm thinking of whether to change gynae not coz rather ex I guess..all along I thought it's the normal range as I didn't go check around 5 yrs ago..so just took in my MIL recommendation and settled on the first gynae..well..he's really good..man of few words, fatherly figure, all smile too..

angeline > I see. mine was 2 years ago. to me, that amount, i cant afford in long run. i need to take into consideration which hospital can the gynae delivers in. current gynae charges me $100++ for consultation, scan, folic n ustrogen.

Hilo to all!!!

Miracle,
I did my BHCG b4 too when I was @ dpIUI 16 & 18.
My level was 756 & 1929 respectively. Will u be doing another test the day after? To c whether it's doubled? maybe yr gynae has different protocol.. Nonetheless, 500+ is a good level.

Choco> I lost weight during my first trim for my #1.. Coz of MS and lack of appetite.. Whole pregnancy, I only put on 10kg.. But my boy was slightly premie, came out at 36 weeks, so I never really reached the final stage where people say they get really big.

Luvnhope> Regarding the priority for P school thingy, my friend said priority is only given if the younger one is in P1 while the older sibling is still in the school.. If graduate already then no priority.. Not sure if it's the same for all schools, the school her kid is in is very popular, maybe more stringent?

You gals are funny.. Trying to predict gender already? I really hope for a girl this time, since #1 is a boy… Every time I go kids clothing shops, I get so upset that I have a boy, nothing nice to buy compared to the girls.. But I comfort myself by telling myself I saved lots of $$!

Twinkle: Maybe will be twins..!!!!!!!

Xinyue: That's why I'm thinking whether to change my gynae this time round coz since this will be my #2.. so more or less..will have better knowledge compared to my 1st pregnancy..so yup..still sourcing for gynaes around though hubby prefer me to stick to my previous gynae..

Hi DHM..!! How're you feeling..?

Hey everyone,

This thread is moving too fast for me to keep track.. How about everyone re-introduce themselves? Then I will try to create a table to keep track..

<table border=1><tr><td>name</TD><TD>edd</TD><TD>birth order</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>gynae</TD><TD>area </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>North </TD></TR><TR><TD>DHM</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkie_joy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xinyue</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>god bless our babies</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luvnhope</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babygalore</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dilemmagal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Silver</td></tr></table>

Okay.. I only entered the names I see on this page, no offense if I left you out k? :p

Btw, area refers to where you stay.. So that easier to find play dates next time.. Hah.

For me,

expecting #2. stay at North east (Punggol).
Edd 02/02/2013. deliver at Thomson.
Gynae: Dr Choo Wan Ling
working mum... =(

Thanks Ying (leely), it will be lovely for the table. cos the thread also moving too fast until i cannot catch the ball &amp; also the short form. LOL..

Luvnhope: Yup..my #1 was delivered in Mount A..ermm..not quite a pleasant experience though but well..I guess it's only to certain nurses or perhaps they thought we'll be gong gong blur blur so kinda intimidate us..? My gf just gave birth last month and not a good experience too..(Oops!!) But neverless..I'm still going back for my #2..

Hi Ying, pls add me too!

Edd: 18/2/2013 #1 KKH Dr Sadhana staying in Punggol.

Dhm: I wasn't asked to repeat blood test again but tomorrow must go back to KKH to get extra med to help supportthe pregnancy and go for scan 2 weeks later. I can't wait!

Angeline,
Hilo.. hilo..
Ya, pls share woth us re:the experience in Mt A. Thinking of gg there for delivery, if possible.
Me ok leh. So ok until sometime wonder am I still preggy... Was telling my DH how come MS hvnt strike me... *choy*choy*...
I only hv hunger pangs, different cravings different days. Today, my DH brought me eat roast duck n char siew. Yummy! Juz now had a big bowl of yong tau foo with alot of sweet sauce, yummy!
I oredi thinking what to eat later for supper, haha!!!
Sugar coated crackers with milo, whahaha!!!
Now I only look fwd for my Monday scan.
Hopefully got good news to share!

Ying,
Thks for doing the chart.
Prob I will update my details when I go for my scan on Mon. Thks!!!

Miracle,
OIC...
R u on Utrogestan too? I was on this support since after my IUI. It has been giving me bloatedness since. I feel like a frog...

Hi Luv, estimate nia. The girls in the ivf forum gave me a link to calculate the edd. Hahah.. When go for scan then ask and confirm again. Heheh.

Dhm, yup, because i conceive through ivf, so during the 2ww, was already adviced to start on the utrogestan. Yah, i am also quite bloated now as well. Must be the side effects of it. I really hate it cause it's so oily and causes alot of discharge. Lol..

Twinkie / Godbless:
Yup I put my agarated O-date as Conception date too.
I hv friends who swear by the chart but of course there are some who didnt get an accurate outcome!
All these tests are for our entertainment only. Haha!!

Xinyue:
Ur prev gynae is horrible!!
I cnt believe one, esp a gynae can be so insensitive to a happy mom to be!
Glad tt you found another good one!

Ying:
I'm SAHM too.
Will update my details aft I went to the doc.
Thks for doing up the chart!