(2013/01) Jan 2013

Me too! Will miss my boy when i was at work and sometime will just play video from my phone to ease the pain of missing him.. =)

Purplerain,
I went back work after 1 month of ML.
Also missing baby.. But staying at home with MIL everyday will make me go crazy!! Haha!! so I choose to go back work early. Cause she is staying at my place to look after baby till baby is older..

Hi mummies, my girl born on 01st Jan and me Same here like some mummies facing MIL 'problem'...
I also can't stand her comments made & insist on her ways...so hard to tell her off..sian
I even got comment frm her-'Dun let baby see u, let her see her grandma more' whenever I bring my girl over her hse. She wants my girl to get use to her when i go bk to work in June..
I Dun feel good over her comments but what to do..I can't quit my job but how I wish I can so that I dun Ned to rely on her!
If my mum still around,my MIL won't have chance to take care of my girl then I dun Ned to bear wif such comments!!

oh, another question, for those who are pumping at work, how do you keep your washed pump parts? do you dry it with kitchen paper towel before keeping or just store the wet parts into a air tight box? because I just found out that moisture breeds bacteria

Jaslyn,
I think it's possible for baby to last longer at times drinking the same Amt. my baby tends to be lasting longer if he's in a aircon place while sleeping.

As for pumping at work, I would store my pump after washing in a air-tight container and sterile it before using.

tnqhome,

I get very emotional when looking at the photos & videos, must be the hormones or after being a mum, easily get emotional~~

Brandon mummy,
U r lucky le... Ur MIL staying with u & help to look aft bb so u can se him everyday... I only get to see her on alternate days... *sobz*

Jaslyn,

As babies grow, think they will drink more bu u still have to monitor. ;)

Purple rain,
Yup! I know. Therefore will keep quiet if baby is look after my MIL. If she dun wan to look after then I in trouble!! Haha!!
Yeah! Will be able to see him everyday after I go back home after work. But still misses him.. ^_^

During my first one, mil not happy that I resign to look after bb cos she wants to look after. Thus she will always tell bb in front of me " ur mummy is a bad person ( huai ren)"

then when I'm pregnant with second bb, she told my elder son that I won't love him anymore once bb is born, thus the only way to get rid of bb is to send bb to her house then he can get all the love ...

The unforgetable incident is still the chicken pox issue, she deliberately mix my son with chicken pox child when I was overseas and elder son is under her care. At that time my son is already suffering from one month cough, so when he contracted chicken pox he was admitted to hospital for observation....from then on his immune system went hay wire, he became v v weak.. Was having post natal depression after first one is born

With all above I got phobia thus insist to look after myself no matter how tiring and big sacrifice to my career

Aspialle, *eeks.. thats bad of ur mil. but how do u know she deliberately let him mix with the infected kid??

Brandon_mummy, i oso dunno why the nurse told me cannot latch. funny lor! anyway i latch if baby cries at night.

Purple_rain, ^5! haha.. i oso prefer my kids closer to my parents rather than my mil. lol. my hb wanted his mum to look after our kids, but her hse oredi got 3 bil's children liao. plus mil is working, only got maid at home looking after the 3 of them, so we decided to leave my boys to my mum. i agreed that it is easier to talk/complain to my parents rather than mil.
for eg, cooking porridge, i tried to use natural favourings from meat stock, no salt content, no soy sauce, seasoning. but mil said put abit, no taste one lah. if not, porridge too bland, baby dun eat. i give up! luckily my boy not taken care by her. occasionally when we go over, then let her feed my boy (2yo). i cooked porridge, bring over when we go over mil hse for dinner. but she was very engrossed in watching tv, din really feed, my boy was running and playing ard with his cousins as well. She din even bothered to concentrate feeding, even though i tried to make my boy sat in front of her. after that she said is he drinking milk. i said yes. then she said ok lah, dun eat then dun eat, then later drink milk lor. *faintz*. after she said that, i brought my boy to kitchen, sat down and fed him! he ate lor!

mummy_wen, last time during my #1 confinement, mil kept asking me to pump out so that we know how much he is drinking. she said baby hungry, must make milk. cos i latching most of the time. for #2, when she came over during baby full month, i opened my freezer let her see! lol! she dun dare say anything abt my supply liao. haha. sometimes we go over her hse, she asked if baby was hungry, told me go warm up the milk, she feed him. i told her i latching him. i din bring milk along. haha.. anyway she more interested in watching tv.

Jaslyn, i will wash my pump parts after next use, then sterilised with hot water for next use.

jaslyn > ops.. am one lazy mama. I will just wash my pump parts, keep in an air tight container till next feed.

nickole > sama sama la.. my MIL also more interested to watch tv then 'look after' my boy. but she is crafty.. she bribes my boy with unhealthy snacks and toys whenever he or she comes over...

aspialle > ur MIL is more like a MONSTER IN LAW. The boy is her grandson.. why treat him in this way?

sighhh.. it seems most have their fair share of ILs related problems during confinement for #1..

Xinyue,
Their generation think that the younger u contracted it the better, so when he is down with pox, she is not apologetic at all... I swallow the madness and try to pls her when I'm back from overseas but yet she gave me black face as if I offended her. She even threaten my maid, saying that certain things cannot say...till now I still trying to pls them becos I love my hubby

Aspialle, your mil is so horrible. Sorry to say that.
Didn't your husband do anything?? If it's my husband, he will surely make noise even if it's his own mum.

How many of u started to give baby try solid at 4months??
What kind of food is suitable for 4months baby??
I'm planning to give baby start at 6month. But dunno what my MIL had in mind..

Brandon mummy
My hubby did not do anything, he just kept quiet. I also dun expect him to oppose his mum, that will make things worse. I'm always the one to force him to call home to his parents... Also I'm always the one to see what to buy over when we visit them on weekend. U felt I had done my part, if they still do not appreciate or dislike me, it's their choice.

Brandon Mummy,

I hope to wean at 5-6mths... To start with a little first, like apple or potatoes puree. Cos now she still drinking 120-150ml every 3/4 hourly, sometimes will reject milk too... Dun think she is ready yet.

Brandon_mummy > How about giving the FRISO CREM a try? It is supposed to be smoother than Nestle Celerac.. Hmm.. I was told by PD and polyclinic nurses to start giving solid at 6 months....

Aspialle > Ok.. Sigh, ended up both you and your son had to suffer. Yeah, you have done your part. Sounds like your MIL has gone overboard at times.. Your husband sounds like mine, they will just keep quiet..

Had bad nightmare n waking up with a sprained neck, can't move, if uses strength it hurts. Went to tui na and vomitted on the way. Elder son is down with flu too, haiz all happening at same time

Gosh! It's been a crazy 1st week back at work! And to think week 2 is just round the corner! Jia you mummies!

Weaning:
Intend to feed solids only from 6mth, prefer to wait till baby's intestinal tract is more well developed before introducing solids, especially if baby is taking in milk/emb well so far thus no rush to intro solids.

Sterilising in office:
I sterilise the Medela bottles and caps at home so no longer sterilise them in office. For the funnel, will soak in hot water. Am thinking to bring my Pigeon compact steriliser to office to sterilise the funnels. Haha actually come to think of it when we feed formula milk, baby also takes in boiled and hot water so it should be fine to use these to rinse/soak the pump parts right?!

Aspialle,
Take care and get well soon! Hope things also improve when you maid starts work.

LeesStreet,
My baby last month took the 1st jab for 5 in 1, the nurse nv mentioned abt it. And I use the CDA acct to pay.
Maybe I check again during this month end jab.

From the website they mentioned the 5 in 1 fully subsidized but dunno if all poly clinics offer...cos further down they put a list of poly that offer this service. The nearest one to my place not listed! :-(

The hep b jab is not subsidized tho

how much u paid brandon_mummy?

I took the 5 in 1 @ CCK polyclinic but was not subsidies leh..
Total I paid $180 for both 5 in 1 & rotavirus.
Forgot the individual cost. Need to go back check receipt.

It been so long since i'm here! Hopefully every mummy coping well with kids while work. :)

Its time for Jan mummies to meet up anyone? hee

Btw, Anyone experience bringing 1 toddler and baby(5mth) to new zealand winter time? i'm gg on june with whole family. Anyone care to share the experience? as in how many clothing i should give my 5mth bb to wear.

Wah envy u sweet dream , my hubby won't go travelling with bb. I used to wait till my elder son is 6 before we travel, that's a long wait

Hi aspialle,

I feel kind of regret cos so many things to buy/bring! Go there like hard to enjoy with the lil kiddos. I hope this trip will nt be too stress for me esp still need bf baby.

Wa turn 6 really long wait. When my elder soon 1yr plus I brought him to Hk/taiwan. I feel overall still not bad. Still able to manage n enjoy. Bt of cus 6 yo, will be even much more easier without stroller along. u try to ask yr hb agn.. hee..

Today went mil hse. My elder son haven recover from his flu so I ask him to wear mask. My mil ask him to take out... Next thing she carry my baby and sit beside him... I'm so boil... Last time already mix my son purposely to get chicken pox, now she wants bb to fall sick is it??? Really dun understand where got grandparents want own grandchild to fall sick one

Huh!! U put both elder n bb at mil hse everyday? May I know last time yr son got chicken box? She shouldn't do tt!! Bb immune low easy caught virus if elder have it. U might wan to talk to yr hubby to say mil? My elder son CC got hfmd n chickenbox case I dare not let him go sch till for a mth cos of bb home. But I was lucky mil able to tk care of them.

Yr mil might not know the risk. Try explain to her. if not ask yr mum or look for nanny to look after?

I went to visit mil only , we don't go there everyday. Last time when my elder son is 3 , he got chicken pox. Thanks to my mil, she deliberately brought him out with sil kids who got chicken pox, they also go arms ard arms when taking photos, all these happen without my knowledge as I was overseas. Explained to her before I used to isolate the kids when they are sick, esp need to wear mask. However she don't believe me that my son took so long to recover. He took so long to recover, thanks to them mah, he was hospitalized when he got chicken pox becos he was already sick with one month cough then still contract chicken pox. His immune system v weak, often fall sick and takes time to recover..

They don't think they are in the wrong... That's the problem. Haiz they always think its common for kids to fall sick and it's ok to play together

I just back from Malaysia. I will not consider it as holiday as bringing back my boy to meet my relatives. It was really a tiring trip as I cannot stick to bb schedule, and since we are meeting up with friends and family members, bb used to carry all time!! My head is big now to get him back to previous schedule.

Aspialle, maybe you can skip in law visit next time when your kids sick? Skip a week should be fine right?

My son will take weeks to recover. That's the problem, if dont go, they will think we are finding excuse. Sometimes if we never go , they will come and same thing happens. Headache

Today bb sneezing whole day.. Wonder if he is ok... Haiz
I have the urge to call my in laws to "thank" them urgh... So frustrating

I have the following brand new items to sell. Please contact [email protected] or 97440444 to quote your price if you are interested.

1 X 6 piece Breast Shell Set
1 X Moisturising Nipple Cream
10 X Breast Milk Containers 180ml/6oz - 1 set
2 X 125ml/4oz classic feeding bottles with 0m+ teats
1 X 125ml/4oz classic feeding bottles with 0m+ teat

Aspialle
Blocked nose can use saline nasal spray although difficult to spray if bb active

If not can use oil burner put tiger balm instead of essential oil...don't apply directly on bb cos I read somewhere not good for bb

aspialle,

I just brought ds to pd yesterday because he not able to finish his milk due to block nose and he got cough too. The pd prescribe Iliadin Saline Drops and cough syrup for him, but I only give him saline drops.

no cough but think dried mucus stuck inside nose and cannot suck out. due to teething he is more cranky thus the crying causes the mucus

aspialle > I brought mine to the PD last Sat as it seems that he was sneezing and coughing away. He still is now. Turns out, he has bronchitis. PD sucked out his phlegm and put him on the neubiliser, gave him antibiotics. Due for a review tomorrow. But nurse told me I can delay the review till this sat if there is not much coughing or crying from baby...

Was told by the PD, I have to call him right away if baby were to develop a fever or if baby coughs badly.

Xinyue
I see, poor thing. Sayang n hugs for ur bb. Where ur bb catches virus? For me I think I will monitor , his drinking n every other thing is normal. Just that can hear sound when he naps, breathing hard cos nose is blocked.