(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi summer,
Yea started this morning then continue till 12plus. But felt so much better after puking out, although only water...now my bag will always have sweets and tooth brush & paste along. I tot take cab can avoid ppl not giving up seat in public transport but realize cab only made me feel worse esp wen they rev then stop..

Kimmy, poor you. Looks like your MS is not only in the morning har. I know people said MS is very terrible, just hang in there!! Maybe have to avoid cabs for a while? ;)

Looks like mamil gold can be an option for me too, since they have choc flavour.. So it's between enfa choc or mamil gold.

Today i got mild headache, don't feel like eating anything, hope not a bad sign.. Anxiously waiting for next wk scan.. What a torture to wait inbetween scans..

Hi Ashley,
Ya the waiting can be very painful... Headache is normal and is a common preggy sign ;) I have it occasionally and read it in the books it's normal too!

I sms my Ex-Dr my result and he asked me dropby his clinic. he scanned again and said dont look good but still got chance. only sac and yolk, no fetal pole. if fetal pole is detect at least higher chance of seeing heartbeat. he did saw a tiny bit of something at the side of yolk, crossing finger it is the fetal pole developing. by measurement, I'm only 5wks 5days which I should be 6wks+. It could be a case of late implantation. nothing can be done now accept to pray for the best for next week scan. if continue to grow still hopeful. given proluton jab and utrogeston insert for additional support.

Hi peko hopefully it's just the case of late implantation.. My prayers are with you! Hope the proluton and inserts will help..

Morning everyone, its friday! Yippee!! Less than 5 days to my first scan.

Peko, great tat u hv seek a 2nd opinion. Be positive n talk to your bb. Hope everything will turn out well :)

Ron, how is ur trip to the bird park? Peifu u still hv energy, for me, cant walk or sit too long else legs or back v v tired.

Summer, mine is vanilla flavour but recently dun feel like drinking. Hmmm still prefer the cold fresh milk. Is it ok to drink tat?

Omg, nauseous is super bad for me today. Nearly wanna puke out while in public tpt. Here i tot its fine liao as i feel perfectly normal last nite .....

Morning ladies. Aother day to the weekend.

Peko - praying for you and your baby for next scan.

Tzac - I guess my pregnancy symptoms haven't kicked in yet (note to self: dun panic, dun panic), so just do what I can to entertain him. It was super fun, tho and got 30% disc using the NDP coupons. Hahaha.. Last time I went bird park was paktoh in sec3/4 I think!. hang in there for the ms!

Kimmy - I got a 2nd hand copy of the book. No pictures!

Morning everyone, Happy Friday!! Its the weekend.

Hi Ron >> hehe I managed to get the book too from Motherswork at Great World City. Love the things they have there. Bb stuff are all so pretty & nice to look at.. yeah, mine's the 4th edition with no pictures too! Wahahah! But I was so hooked on reading it then I read one shot till week 9. Very informative & reassuring. How are you finding it so far?

Hi Peko >
Got chance is good! Probably late implantation like what is being speculated, since embryos can implant any day from day 6 to 10

Hi tzac >>
salute that you are able to drink cold fresh milk. Haha I from young am unable to drink it myself. Its ok to drink it because we need the calcium because as baby develops, they take calcium from us. So if we don't start drinking & 'storing', then our bones can become weaker. Hehe if you wanna 'kill' 2 birds with a stone, you can choose those milk which states 'DHA' on it :D

HI tzac, can drink cold fresh milk. Just pour out one glass and leave it for 10 mins before u drink, not so cold. Read fm other forum, pregnancy milk can put on weight a lot compare to fresh milk. For my #1, I only drank pregnancy milk, baby come out at 3.8kg, scary...This time round, think I will drink fresh milk n pregnancy milk.

Kimmy, the waiting time at TPS in the evening was quite ok. I waited ard 50mins to see Dr Loh. I was the last patient that day.

Summer, your first one was 3.8kg? Wow.. My ex colleague also gave birth to her first: 3.8kg she said mostly because she craved for durian. Then for the second one she didn't any durian cos so scared, end up gave birth 3.6kg, still quite big also,haha.. I love chubby babies!!

Hi Summer >> thanks for the info on preggy milk

Hi Peko >> thanks for letting me know the waiting time. Yah, 50 min is really not too bad.

Hi Ashley >> I heard durain helps make yr bb grow faster. haha my ex colleague eat so many durians that doc ask her stop cuz baby growing too big

Hi kimmy, Ron, care to share e title of e book u gals r reading? Wonder whether is able to borrow fr e library. For me, I been downloading diff preg apps on iph n buying those motherhood n parenting mag to read. Ha.

Mine appt at tps today is at 4pm. Shall c wat e waiting time den
if like 50mins oni den shiok ah. Haha.

Hi Bbliss >> its 'What to Expect when you are Expecting'. Very useful book and was recommended by a lot of preggers and mothers that it's one of the best books to read

Same! I also downloading diff preg apps on iphone! wahaha! I got iPreggo & My Pregnancy

Hehe, nice! I love appt cuz means can see bb again! Update us on your progress ya? Guessing Dr Loh should be in good mood today since its Friday!

Kimmy - I also got hooked now, at week 9 too so stopped reading for awhile to let body catch up. Good for 1st timers like us as it answers alot of our silly questions I think haha.

Bliss - it's available in library but always checked out. Can try to put a reservation. They seem to have sold out at many bookstores.

Ron - yes! I stop myself at week 8 to let body catch up too. Hehe. It does! It answers a lot of silliness we 1st timers have., I feel more informed too.

Yea, went to Borders, Motherworks at Tanglin Mall, Times bookstore, MPH all sold out, only left the Eat Well when You're Expecting which I heard from others is not such a necessary read...

Peko, stay strong ya. I goggled ard n there really such cases of late implantation. Since u mentioned tis time shld be 6 wks plus but measurement indicated 5 plus so likely could be e implantation timing.

Hi all, nice to see familiar faces here..hi Ron, PinkCapri, Kimmy, summer, Silsilly, BB_NN.. =)

Yup 'What to Expect when you are Expecting' is a really helpful book...I think the next book what to expect in the baby's first year by the same author is a good book too..

Agree its always an anxious wait for the next scan appt, even now, it is so for me, always keeping fingers crossed that all is well, can only relax when bb is safe in arms.can still rem first 4 mths, i keep getting sick with MS, flu, food poisoning and all, kept rushing to KK O&G in the middle of the night, then felt relief when could hear the bb heartbeat from the dopler..So hang in there girls!

Hi sisters, tink will try reserve it fr lib. If dun haf den may buy it. Kimmy, u said u brought it fr great world ya? Still got stocks left n hw much it cost?

Hi CLB good to see u here too :D Have been busy with work, but going to knock off too, so thought i will come in here and catch up on the messages and progress on all the sistas.

Hi Tzac >> today meetings after meetings for me, finally can be out for some fresh air, planning to race off a little earlier, will shut down 5 mins before 5.25pm and race home :p

Hi Bbliss >>
yep, bought from Great World level 2 (Motherswork). Still have 2 books left and cost $24.90. I wanted to borrow from relative initially but loan to another friend and she also preggy then another preggy frd got extra but I decided I can't wait until I 12 weeks to start reading..wahah kiasu!!!

Hello clb >>
So nice to see you here! hehe thanks for the reassurance...ya always very kan cheong moment between scans. Grr. I got craving for steamboat (the soup, mainly) and bak kut teh? Someone told me steamboat cannot because of potential bacteria from raw food?
Is tis true?

Haha Bbnn >>
I absolutely adore your counting down....

Ei kimmy, just now during shower i was also thinking of having steamboat for tomorrow! Really cannot have?

I think i have to start reading pregnancy books and apps too, been very blur and have to improve, hahah..

Clb, what caused your food poisoning last time? Your 4mth period sounded quite hard, luckily you passed that already.. Looks like i will have bad MS too, from now already feel quite unwell.. And i'm only on wk5!

Peko, don't lose hope, we pray that it's just late implant and you will see flicker flicker on next wk scan!

Hallo Ashley >>
wahah what a coincidence! Actually I think should be ok and bbnn said she ate it 3 times so far and she's ok! wahahahaha. Think the concern is more about food not cooked properly, or chopsticks being contaminated handling raw and cooked food together and all...hhe. I'm so gian for it. Each time I walk by I will smell & smell!!!

Now gonna eat rojak. Should be ok to right?

Rojak? Make sure you don't eat unripe fruits.. I forgot what fruits are in rojak, cannot have cucumber and pineapple too. Maybe end up you can only eat the yu tiao, haha..

Kimmy n Ashley, I think as long as food is cooked properly, shld be fine. I think I got food poisoning because I bought some economic rice fr coffee shop when it was quite late , so food prob sitting there for whole day Liao.... I got my ms at week six, now 5 mths ms better, but i still have ms in morning, doc says maybe due to twins, so I still take anti vomit pill. So try to eat when u dun feel nauseous, n take what u crave, better than not eating at all
.... But the cabbage n white stem vegetables cooling, so try not to eat too much.

Clb, hope your MS is much better now. Wow, twins!! I like!!!!! Is your tummy super big? When will you know the gender?

Cool, thanks clb! Ya think as long as food cooked properly should be ok right... Cuz am thinking of eating shabu shabu tmr. hehe but I will make sure I cook the meat well... ;p
Happy weekend my lovely sisters! xoxo

Just sharing. I had very bad experience of ms n it always happen when the sunset. I can puke from 8pm to 5am. N get motion sickness easily which trigger my pukng sensor.

I realized certain food make me more nauseous Like dairy products n anything w coconut milk like lakes. U may want try n observe what you eat n see whether there is certain kind of food that make u feel sick.

I also found out that eating very cold icy stuff like biting ice cube, that give u brain freeze kind, will break me away from the dizzy nauseous feeling. Cos the nauseous feeling sometimes stay with me for hours. this is one way that can make me feel better quicker

I never eat ginger, then my bought me this sweet preserved ginger bits that I keep it w me, it really helps to stop the nausea feeling n vomit. But I still don't like ginger. Only take it when I really cannot tahan.

My puking starts to ease when I m into week 13 probably once a day in the evening. I m week 17 now, it reduced to about 2-3 times a week.

So just hang on in there. You will get better.

Hi clb, nice to see u here. *wave*

Hi kimmy, it is adviseable not to eat bak kut teh cos the soup contain dang gui. Think steamboat is ok as long as the food is well cook. For rojak, I think someone did mention can not eat during 2ww cos of the prawn paste, its toxin, not sure now can eat or not.

Happy weekend to everyone.

Hi Nell,
Thnks for sharing yr experience! How did u manage to wait patiently for each scan during 1st tri? Haha. If my ms is reduced from vomit to bad nausea, I already start wondering if everything is ok down there. Haha

Hi summer ,
Thanks for yr tips on the bak kut teh, I shall tahan and substitute w other stuff then. also notes about the rojak, my dh reminds me that since this pregnancy didn't come easy so hence I should watch what I eat just to be safe and also be cautious... ;)

Kimmy,
I didn't really "wait" leh. I see my doc every sat morning whenever I m in town till week 12. Then alternate Saturday. Not really waiting cos the weekdays pass so quickly plus I m so busy at work. I normally fly out on the weekends that I dont need to see doc. So keep yourself occupied so your mind won't wonder too much. I get paranoid when I was on mc at home, then everyday thinking what is the little one doing in there. So I give up n decided to cancel my leave n went back to work.

Hey, I record every scan w my iPhone from the first scan. So every time I miss seeing the little one I can play back n amaze at how much she has grown from the first flicker.

U try to record it the next time u scan. U can ask the nurse to record when she scan n play back on the screen after you are up.

Hi ladies, *wave wave*... hehehe.. Happy I can join this thread.. I just called my pte gynae.. She dun wan see me..
She say 4 wks can't see anything.. So ask me not to waste money.. Min 5 wks then can see sac..

Hi hopeful, congrats n welcome!!!!

Hi nell, since u fly frequently, may I ask did u feel any uncomfy during the flight? Thinking of gg to a short trip during sep school holidays.

Hi Summer, flying short distance ok. Not much discomfort. Only get backache when sit too long. Generally, I find 3-4 Hr flight still ok. Anything beyond that better to take biz class for better rest. If not, then try to break the trip into 2 with stop over. I m flying to hokkaido next weekend but will do a transit in HK. So shorter flying time.

Try ask for extra pillow or blanket. Cos u can use it for your back. Drinks lots n lots of fluid to prevent dehydration n also force u to get up n walk to pee. Avoid soft drink, makes u bloated. The gas can be really uncomfortable when u encounter turbulence. I threw up all the bubbles.

Go take breaks lah. Pregnancy is a long n stressful journey. I m plan to fly till end of 6 mths.

Hi kimmy, jus to update u on e tps waiting time ydae. Appt at 4pm n get to c dr loh at 530. By right everything would haf been finished be4 6pm but as I need to get e pregynl jab therefore there some delay. So by e time everything completed n leave clinic at 630. Haha... Seems tat my waiting time is longer than one of e sister who get to c him in juz 50mins time. Wonder whether izit is a fri as ydae got shortage of nurse!!! Tat y waited so long for my jab.

As for steamboat, can eat la. I checked wif dr loh on any diet restriction, he said juz eat wat u like but no banana, papaya,pineapple n blue cheese. I asked whether can eat spicy food, he even told me if I wan eat sze chuan spicy steamboat oso no problem. Haha....

Ydae he oso very good mood. Cracked lots of lame jokes. Even he has lots of patients waiting to c him, he still spend time to tok n joke wif u so it really makes u feel relax n comfy.
Asked him if can gif me dha tablets, he said dun nid take so early and asked me relax la, for him his mama oso din take dha n he still end up in medical school. Haha....damn funny man.

Btw, when ur nex scan ah?

Anyway, gals here. Can eat whatever u craving for now but bear in mind, everything to be consume in moderation ya
Happy weekend !!
dha

Hi hopeful, welcome!! And nice to see u here ;) haha ya 4 weeks can't see anything, don't worry, 1 week more got sac! U intend to go to ur pte gynae?

Hey Nell,
Thanks for the tips. Ahh u see doc every week no wonder. In kk is every 3 weeks thats why the frustrating wait! Haha! Thank goodness my pte gynae sees me every 2 weeks. Good idea, will video using iPhone next time, more convenient to see than referring to cd or scan photos. Congrats, u got a little princess!

Hi bbliss,
Thanks for updates on tps waiting time! Hehe
Ok la u got to see dr Loh in 1.5 hrs, better than my 2.5 hrs wait. How come u need to get pregnyl jab? I tot now if jab is progesterone jab, did dr Loh explain why? Hehe ya he said no papaya, pineapple, banana & blue cheese.. But I told him
I ate banana leh then he said dun eat in front of old ppl ah! And no del Monte! Hahah. Looks like u had a good visit! That's nice ;) my next scan w him is 7 sep, so far away... When is yours?
Wahaha I like the DHA joke he cracked! I wish my kid to grow up as smart as him loh! Hahaha

Bbliss, also thanks for checking on diet requirements! I can happily eat anything Liao!

Btw, am meeting nell for coffee tmr in town. Anyone else keen to join in? We can chit chat! SMS me at 96700779 ;)

Enjoy the weekend!

Bbliss, huh? Can't eat banana n papaya ah? Me eating everyday. 2 bananas n 1 papaya. Until my colleagues ask me whether I m feeling too horny...

Hi Nell, ya. Dr emphasize no pineapple, papaya, banana. And I read fr mag, these r oso under "no no" category in early stage. But which trimster r u in nw? Everything eat in moderation la. Everyday with that amt of quantity seems bit too much.

Kimmy, to clarify is progesterone jab n nt pregyl. Too many terms tat I oso confused. Mine is on 2nd sept

Kimmy,
luckily it's a gal. My hubby worried I might go for another one if this is boy again.

Summer,
how weeks will you be? Shouldnt need a letter if your tummy is not too big. The airline won't let you fly if u r not well n likely deliver on board. So normally 7 mths onwards they may not let u fly if u don't look well. But that day I fainted at HK airport SQ chk in counter after I get my boarding pass. I think too stuffy n warm there, the counter gal freak out n ask me how many months, I said 3 n half. I thought they going to stop me cos I m flying back alone. But they didn't. Anyway, I was well when I board.

Another thing is that the immigration may not let u in if u are close to delivery, like US if u deliver there become citizen. I suppose to bring my boy to NY after his PSLE in October. Check w the embassy they say 6.5mths still ok. But now I worried too long flight. 24hr. So need to chg destination.
Is your tummy huge? If not don't, wear too body hugging clthes n they won't notice.

Hi Bbliss, I only started eating lately hen in second tri. Will cut down

Btw, you all can try Efalex for DHA. Though my hubby n the rest of my in laws don't seem to think it works. They said the same thing as what your doc said. Anyway I Bo chap. I learn about DHA 8 yrs ago when my son was detected with multiple learning disabilities at age 4. He cant even hold a conversation a 4 yrs old. The therapist prescribe Efalex as supplement for his brain. He is taking it till now. It is also good for adult n folks. He is able to go to normal primary school n now taking his PSLE n recently got a offer w SOTA.