(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

tronso,

just pm u.

Hazel,

hbs got time to watch hk serials from 9pm till 12 mid nite, he'll clean up the bottles and sterilize the stuff then start to watch from 9pm till 11pm then do nitefeeding, then after tt he watch from 11pm+ till 12am+.

Thanks so much Chris

Chris, Catherine, I Fed belle at 11 pm while she was still sleeping. But she drank only half despite that I fed for 1 hr, tickling her chin, etc. i actually woke her up eventually but she stared into empty space n dozed off in 5 mins again!! Her last feeding was 615pm. That means 4.5hrs fr last feed.. Sigh...

Your bbs u last feed at 11 pm n if they r sleeping soundly, they will finish till last drop?

Hazel ~ Thanks, later go n check my report. V mild movement on left and below belly button since I felt her moving whih also happened v late like 23 wks; but never on the right and back at all. I keep thinking this gal is so gentle.. I drink soft drinks or eat sweet stuff also no use. Can't feel movement. I think she moves as n when she likes but cant predict when..

Tromoso : I put on abt 8-9kg now, going to tri 3 next week.

Btw, I was told by my boss that we r not entitled to sick leave or hosp leave from week 36 onwards. We got to take as annual leave or maternity leave from 36 weeks. Is it true? So if not feeling well or need bed rest, dr loh gives mc or hl, also no use as company don't recognize.

Chris:I also wan the massage contact. Does she do pre natal massage?

When i step on my feet, I also feel pain at my base of my feet (not the arch). Not sure why.

Tanny, type of leave fr 36 wks pregnant depends on company's policy. MoM allows ML to start at 36w. Some company like mine, no restriction. Can take HL/mc till delivery.

Hazel, elis wakes up v easily. So far even if she is sleeping and milk bottle is in her mouth she will wake up. If she dozed off half way, chances of her not finishing her milk is v low. Now she is better. Juz feed her around 9pm, it can last her to 6am in a way it's gd I need to leave house latest by 7.15 to get to work.

Thanks Sisters

Was so tired yesterday , pardon me if I missed out replying of the replies

Hi Catherine, so far so good for Dr Ong, but hope to see him more, I am eager to bring my baby home as soon as possible but baby has to stay in icu for a week ,to ensure he gains weight and also to observe him. Dr Ong has been updating me about my baby situation. He says he will call me daily to update my baby condition.

Hi Hazel, boy
. The hosp has not mentioned to us abt the charges, I will be discharged today. I think the hosp will tell us to pay a deposit for baby icu charges. Baby is staying in icu level 2B.

Hi Sunbelle, tmc is full. Sometimes if u want a single bedder, you may have to downgrade. Many opted for caesarian, so single bedder and double bedders are full. I am staying in 4 bedder. Like what hazel says, can give hospital tour a miss
. Take the time to rest at home. Just go to patient service when you are in labour pain, they will guide you to the labour wards.

Hi Sisters, good to find a pd in advance. Dr Tham mentioned that there are 2 types of PD. 1st type specialised in preterm and more difficult cases like mine. Another type is the normal. But I can't really remember in details what he says. So I presume that if you are having twins, pls get one that specialised in preterm, tell your gynae in advance your preferred pd so that nurses at the labour ward will call the pd to stand by when you are delivering.

Hi Tanny, is it your heel that's feeling the soreness? This is actually quite common amongst females, especially more elderly ones. But increasingly, younger folks are getting it too.

What you can do to alleviate the soreness is to roll your heels on a hard ball, e.g. golf ball or can get those spicky hard rubber physiotheraphy ball. Try to also roll with your feet almost perpendicular to the floor, as that part of the heel is usually quite sore too, not just the base.

I can't recall who mention about feet arc pain. This treatment is very useful for such too.

I agree with Meryl. Initially I have doubts about the pd ie dr ong Woon hong that was assigned to me. Probably hazel case scare me with the charges. When I first met dr ong he is v different from what I expect. My worries were uncalled for. ESP when elis was warded for jaundice he came over to tmc to assure me it's ok and check on her though he checked her at his clinic. Choosing a pd is like gynae. Need those who will assure u. I also find his charges v reasonable. Like elis mthly jab, his consultation fees is only $35 exclude injections. My mum compared the medicine bill and consultation fees with my sis pd and told me dr ong charges r cheap.

Meryl, if dr ong dun call u, u call him at his clinic. His nurses r v nice ladies.

Catherine, belle gets woken up v easily during the day too. So bad until hard to make her sleep more than 30 mins. How to hv completely no noise? Not possible at all. I sweep The floor with magic clean stick also will wake her! My parents open the door n comes into the house she also wakes up! I wash hand in my toilet sink also cannot... Luckily at night, when she sleeps soundly. Ok, but wee morning will start again...

430 am that feed, I woke her up. She stared blankly into space n when I fed up again, she dozed off!! She drinks v fast in first 15 mins coz hungry. But after that, she wun suck anymore coz stomach half full already.. Sigh..

Meryl, I just checked belle's bill, icu level 2B is $400 a day for the bed. But after adding up all the miscenallous, it comes up to at least $1500 a day! Belle stayed in all 3 levels, Level 3, 2B and 2A.

Hazel, belle is v sensitive. I can do all that u say and elis can still sleep. These few days she want to b bear hug to bed and can't let go. Once I put her on bed or rocker she wakes up in 10 mins then have to start all over again carry walk whole house tiring!!!!

Thk u baby journey..;) call to change my appointment..

Hi tromso
I hv put on 6kg to date..;) when is ur next checkup?

Hi meryl
Thks for ur advise.. Is pd Doc Ong specialise in preterm bbies?

Hi Hazel
Can advise how much is belle total bill after discharge? She stay for one week right?

Hi sunbelle
I agree with the rest, no point to do the tour in hospital as most rooms r not available for viewing n only the suites. I only go see one suite, tts all.. Not even the labour room is for u to see.. Btw, r u seeing doc Loh monthly or three wks once now? Whts ur bb weight during ur last scan?

Hi Chris
Can i hv ur massage lady contact num too? If she comes to our home, $20-30 is reasonable..;)

Went for my checkup recently at 28th wk, one bb at 1.6kg n another baby at 1.2kg.. Doc Loh just say big bb for one of the twin n i am worry will cause preterm.. The date shows tt first bb is already around 31th wk.. Am curious if bb size big but born earlier, do they still need to stay in nicu? As i see many case of bb stay in nicu is due to bb size small?? Want to check with doc Loh more detail but he so busy n chase us out.. I told him i start to worry again as nearer to edd, he say now i should not worry instead since at 28th wk le.. Not sure what he means.. Anyway, my checkup will be biweekly again.. Am thinking on when shd i start to rest fr work?

Btw gals, kiddy palace got promo on New born pampers..3pkt for $19.90. Btw, i am blur again, may i know when shd we use the blue destin cream n when shd we use advent nappy rash cream?? Which one is for daily frequent use?? Thk u..

Thanks Catherine. Will take note when visiting Dr Ong.

Hi Hazel, does your bill includes Dr Ang? I just spoke to another mom in the ICU, heard Dr Ang 's knife very very sharp.

I fainted looking at my own hospital bills, nearly 6k for 4 days in a 4-bedder room. All the med, ctg and supplies bills seems way elevated. Dr Loh charges only 25 bucks for CTG, but Thomson charges ard 4-5times more. Dr Loh fees very reasonable and would consider cheap at his level, less than $1500, Dr Ben Tham also reasonable.

J03, advent bottom balm acts as a barrier cream to prevent nappy rash. It is rather light, like lotion. Destin blue colour nappy rash tube usually used for night coz we do not change bb's diapers every few hrs. It is much thicker. I usu use mamy poko diapers for the night after I wipe belle at 7plus - 8pm. I will use destin blue tube. I wun change belle's diaper until 9-10am next morning unless she poo in the night or early morning. Destin has a purple tube which is v concentrated n we used that when belle has nappy rash when she was at he hospital! Both NICU TMC n in KKH when she was warded bronchitis she has nappy rash. Why? The nurse dun apply cream at every change n dun change soiled diapers prompty.

As for the bill, tell u later.

Meryl, PD's bills r billed separately. When belle was in level 3, dr Ang changes $300 a day! Level 2b & 2c, $100 a day if I didn't remember wrongly. Later I go find the bill n shows breakdown.

Meryl, my 3 days stay in premier single bed, natural delivery was $6k too! Yes v ex! Dr Loh charges me $1800. More ex than u, coz u know why lah.. More attentive to my needs! Even go see belle in nicu though he is not a PD! Hahaha

Dr Ang is also a neonatalist n pD. belle's KKH surgeon said she is quite gd! But, I dun like her

Belle's NICU charges in TMC is $8290 for 7 days. Some days she is charged twice for 2 different NICU levels. Coz she was shifted downwards a lower level. Eg morning, is level 3, after level 2B. Both levels r charged for that day. So $8,290 is made up of 3 level 3, 5 level 2B and 1 level 2A.

Dr ang's fees is another $3210.

So, belle cost is $12,500!! Plus my delivery of $6k, total spent is $18,500.

Ivf insurance, I only claimed bk $1000 plus

My gf stayed in single bed 2 yrs ago in tmc. Tried natural delivery n subsequently ended up emergency c section. Her delivery brill was 5 digits.

Meryl, though level 2B is $400 for bed alone, similarly, med, supplies, etc r v elevated! Well, KKH is defintely much cheaper for special care, aka level 2b

Catherine, I think belle does not sleep well in the day. That's why she is v conscious of the surroundings. V different to when she is in her first mth. Sleep n sleep n nothing can wake her even in the day... Carrying Elis n walk the whole house? That sounds familiar.. Wonder why they like that, end up they also sweaty n sticky!

Meryl, shouldn't u b happy yr pd is not dr Ang if not yr pocket will have a bigger hole? I asked my gynae b4 if dr Ang is v ex. She did not directly admit but told me she heard about it. That's y she din recommend me dr Ang. Though some patients of hers specifically ask for her.

Hazel, only my mum can pat Elis on her bed. Today I told elis if she dun sleep tonight I will not bring her out. It was easy after her 1.30pm feed I walk about 15 mins she dozed off. Now put her in air con room. Too hot for her to sleep in the living room.

Tromso, thanks for informing me. I stopped seeing her after I BFP cos my gynae said no herbs. But hor.. i won't be able to understand. I speak no chinese.
.. how I wish all chinese programs got Eng subtitles.

Catherine, fr 130pm to 3pm, carry n pat belle to sleep. Put her Down 4x aftrr she sleeps n everytime she will wake up! Now then succeeded... Hope she can sleep longer instead of Just 30 mins

Hazel, I was so scared too when i put her down. She moved a little I juz stayed beside her and keep patting... Now at least she is settled and I can nap a while too. My stupid upstairs neighbour kids r running like a gorilla... She will wake up v soon. Feel like kicking the ass of the 2 gorillas.

Joanne, I feel u should not keep worrying. The more U worry the more bb r affected. Like I shared I m so stress at work what do I get? A difficult bb! Worth it? No!! I worry when elis was born and warded.. Juz trust that bb have the fighting power. If yr worry is about pre term bb then like what Meryl says get a gd pd that u feel comfy in. U also must weigh the pro and cons when it comes to cost... This issue no one can help u. Personally I feel tmc may not b a gd choice for pre term bb besides its so packed now! Smile and enjoy yr weekend

Hi Meryl, when did you request to downgrade to 4 bedded? Just wondering for such emergency cases, need to decide by when before it's too late, and stuck to 1 bedded.

Cool cool, no worries. It's so heart warming to know tan sb tcm did miracles for you, if only I didn't have to go through IVF too hee... I only took for less than half a year and started IVF. You are not with dr Loh right? He only approves tan sb for tcm. I heard he's going to pay her a visit at her clinic. Nice folks these 2 drs

Mummies, how my FIL puts my then 2 nephew babies to sleep was, he'll carry them close to his body, lower his body plus baby onto the bed, stay in that cuddle position for a couple minutes, then very very slowly peel his body off the baby. If he simply puts them down and pat, won't work too.

Heee...I just saw dr Loh on ch 8 news, commenting about the new IVF drug (I think it results in fewer jabs/ dosage). He's actually quite fluent in Mandarin

Tromso, it does not work for belle. Not all bbs r so easy.

Belle keeps crying this afternoon when mum took care. During feeding, also fuss big times n dun wan to drink. Dunnl EYS wrong with her! V v v sianz to keep hearing that she is the most difficult bb she has even taken care! She is the 7th bb mum took care incl the 3 of us her children.

Tromso, there is no such thing as downgrade in pte hospitals. In pte hospitals, all charges are pte rates n same rate regardless the bed u choose. Ie, not peg to the no of beds u chose. The only difference is the bed cost pay. Meryl chose 4 bedded when admitted. Most likely coz the rest of the beds r full.

I see...looks like may have to wait till she finally gets a bit easier to handle. Hope she'll outgrow this soon and everyone can take their minds off then.

Btw Hazel, understand you are seeing acupuncturist for your hand right? My gf has neglected her hands' aching sensations after childbirth and has developed into rheumatism (will get sharp pains before it rains). I was just wondering if you could share your sinseh's contact with me, so I could pass it on. Thanks!!

Tromso, not seeing any sinseh anymore. No time to go q. I ho eys chinatown branch. Long q. Wkends worse. My is due to poor blood flow coz of belle. It will no recover unless i stop carrying her. Not possible right?

Thanks for the contact Hazel. Hope your hand can get more rest once you start work. Work has work hazards, baby has baby hazards too...sigh...

Joanne, my nxt appointment is on 22 May. Yourself?

Gd to hear that you've gained 6kg now, catching up with the rest of us...Hee...makes me feel guilty for putting on more weight than you but only singleton

hazel,

if clariss is hungry yup she finishes the milk till last drop even at 11pm. Cos hbs will wake her up before feeding her. But if she's too tired she'll drink till left around 10ml.

Tanny,

is normal to feel pain at the base of the feet, cos of the weight our feet are carrying when we preggy so its impt to get comfortable shoes. For me, i switched to wearing flip flop brand sandles cos more cushioning.

Mine is posterior placenta grade o, back facing i think, whatever it means.

Now left back side sore when walking.. Getting heavier I think. Right side nothing..

me n hbs have decided to send my dog off this sun after having a discussion with the vet. Both me n hbs cried just now. He hasn't being eating for days cos whenever he eats he vomits out everything and vet also commented tat he has being very strong to hold on till sooo long and our heart aches to see him suffer.

hazel,

does acupuncture help in relieving the numbness? ya EYS always very crowded, i used to go to their paragon br for fertility treatment 5yrs ago..altho got appt still got to wait 1-2 hrs.

hazel,

how's belle ? is she asleep? mine also wake up at the slightest noise...nowadays she doesn't sleep tat long hrs cos at in-law's place and quite noisy there cos stupid dowager always on the tv full blast eventho her great grandaughter clariss is sleeping...beitahan.

catherine,

i'm soo tired this whole week...cos clariss keep wake up in her sleep around 4am+ and then "coo coo baby talk" then doze off...and if not she pulls out her mittens at nite and suck her thumb till very loud can hear her suckling sound till i kena woke up a few times...faintz told my in-laws why can't she sleep quietly.

Chris, belle is half way to dream land... After I carry n pat her while she cries n fusses for 30mins. Clariss dun sleep as much but at least she will sit there or lie on bed n entertain herself. Belle can't. Today, even when my mum feeds her in the PM, she will cry n fuss half way thru the milk. My mum cannot put her down at all and she does not want my dad. Everyone is v frustrated.. My parents n me too! I really wan up cry.. Why is she sl difficult? She only slept fr 3-330 today. After that wide awake n fussing

Accupuncture is not miracle, no numbness didn't go away after 1 treatment. My numbness is due to poor blood flow n back issues. All inter connected. How to be better if I constantly need to carry belle? Like now, she is sleeping in my arms already. At night, sometimes I hv to carry her like this n sleep if she keeps fussing in bed. If not, when she is fully awake, worse still!

Hazel, dun give up on belle. I had a hard time too. Or I should say once a week she will b difficult. I told her this morning she is 11 week old and if she behave we will go out at night which she did. Happy with her sleep. We went out as promised. Told her in the car we r gg to c her toys she quietly sat in her pram when we reached. We could even eat our prata supper and go to a fren house. She behaved well but when she saw the cat my fren has she cried. Could b bcos she is scared of the cat or it's past her bedtime. give yrself and belle more chance and time.

Chris, y is dowager like that? So inconsiderate. I start to bo chap elis when she make noise at night. I will juz sleep. Like what u tell me if i wake up to look she will think its playtime. We want to watch movie on funshion in the bedroom but she juz would not sleep. Sigh... No choice can't watch have to show her we r sleeping

Hazel, my husband always tell me to create atmosphere for bb to sleep and set up routine like when to play, study, sleep. Told him v difficult. All I did is to ensure everyday I exercise with her, sing nursery rhyme and teach her numbers and abc. Juz now she does not want to sleep cos I m not in the room. She juz fuss even though hubby pat her. Cos her routine is I m always in the room sleeping waiting for her after hubby pat. Once I step in she diam diam and smile.

Meryl, yeah that's gd news!! Yr bb is a great fighter. What r u doing at 3am?! U should really rest b4 yr prince comes home. Who's doing yr confinement?

Chris, we tug elis to bed v late yesterday cos we drop by a fren house to give them angpow for their wedding. She only slept past midnight and screamed at 1am! I was too tired so hubby coax her. We made a huge mistake to come back so late. Lesson learnt next time must b home latest by 10.30pm and dun intro new things to her at night. Not sure if my fren's black cat scare her. Juz saw her bed she kicked her blanket, pillow and bolster that should b beside her all r thrown to the edge where her legs r. Beanie also no where at sight. Mayb under blanket. Horrible sleeper. Lucky i put on her socks. Oh ya I saw some nice shoes at Tom and stefanie yesterday. Gg to taka later to c if I can get her at least 2 pairs of shoes for my cousin wedding.

Hazel, I should b returning work earlier than u. Big boss is gg on leave.